Mark Cummins - Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation
Mark Cummins – Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation

DAVID A. COMISSIONG, LLB (U.W.I) L.E.C (Hugh Wooding Law School)

Attorney-at-Law

4th August 2016

Mr. Mark Cummins

Chief Town Planner

Town and Country Development Planning Office

The Garrison, St. Michael

Dear Sir

Re: The proposed construction of a 15 storey Hyatt Hotel at Carlisle Bay

I write to you in my capacity as a Citizen of Barbados.

As a result of news reports published in the Nation and Advocate newspapers of Wednesday 27th July 2016, I learnt that on Tuesday the 26th of July 2016 โ€“ Barbadosโ€™ โ€œDay of National Significanceโ€ โ€“ Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts, staged a so-called โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€ and informed the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts and its local partner, Visions Development Inc. (Mr. Mark Maloneyโ€™s company), will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street, within the precincts of the UNESCO designated world heritage site of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, and abutting Barbadiansโ€™ beloved Browneโ€™s Beach.

And subsequently, in the Wednesday 2rd August 2016 Editorial of the Nation Newspaper, I (and all other Barbadians) were informed by the Nationโ€™s editorial writer that this project had received the โ€œall-clearโ€ from the relevant authority, and had met โ€œa range of stringent stipulations, whether environmental or structuralโ€.

As a result of the foregoing, I made my way to the Town and Country Development Planning Office on the afternoon of Wednesday 3rd August 2016 and asked to see the Public Register in which you are required (under Section 17 of the Town and Country Planning Act) to record information relating to applications for planning permission, โ€œincluding information as to the manner in which such applications have been dealt with.โ€

As a result of perusing the Public Register I discovered that the relevant application for permission to erect the said hotel was filed by Visions Development Inc. on the 30th of March 2015, and that it bears application number 0445/03/2015B.

I also discovered that the section of the Public Register which deals with โ€œConsultationsโ€ carried out in relation to the Application, and the section which records the โ€œDecisionsโ€ made in respect of the said Application, were both BLANK !

So much then for the Nation Newspaperโ€™s Editorial writerโ€™s assertion that the project had met a range of stipulations and had received the โ€œall-clear.โ€

(One is left to wonder why the Nation Newspaper has published such misleading information about this matter ! One is also left to wonder how Mark Maloney– in the presence of Ministers Sealy and Sinckler– could state that the construction of the hotel would DEFINITELY be starting in two months time! Clearly something is not right here ! )

Now, since it is clear that the โ€œConsultationโ€ process is not yet over, and that no decision has yet been made in relation to this application to erect a 15 storey Hyatt hotel at Carlisle Bay, I wish to draw the following to your attention :-

1) Some five (5) years ago I was approached by the prominent Barbadian business consultant who is behind this scheme of constructing โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ in Carlisle Bay, and he informed me that Browneโ€™s Beach is much too valuable an asset to be reserved for the Barbadian people, and that the plan is to construct five or six โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ right across the length of Browneโ€™s Beach.

2) Furthermore, during the 26th of July 2016 โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€, Mr. Mark Maloney advised the Barbadian people that the massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel is just the beginning of a proliferation of new hotel development in Carlisle Bay!

3) Browneโ€™s Beach is the central and extensive beach embedded in Carlisle Bay, and is an historic beach that is of tremendous value and service to the people of Barbados in general, and to the poor predominantly black working-class Barbadians who inhabit the many over-crowded, and in some cases slum-like, neighbouring communities of the City of Bridgetown and the greater St. Michael area. Indeed, for many impoverished and over-stressed working-class Barbadians Browneโ€™s Beach is their place of refuge and relaxation, their natural spa and health clinic!

4) The construction of a massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel in Carlisle Bay (abutting Browneโ€™s Beach) โ€“ to say nothing of the other 4 or 5 โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ that are being planned for Browneโ€™s Beach โ€“ is certain to destroy the very character of Browneโ€™s Beach and to turn it into an โ€œalien zoneโ€ in which the ordinary Barbadian no longer feels comfortable or welcome. In other words, we will run the risk of Browneโ€™s Beach being transformed into one of your typical West Coast beaches โ€“ beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them.

5) There is also the issue of the height and size of the proposed Hyatt hotel. The highest building in Barbados is the Central Bank โ€“ a building that is some nine storeys tall. Is it really sensible to erect in Carlisle Bay, within the precincts of our UNESCO designated World Heritage site, an American hotel that will dwarf and dominate every other building in Bridgetown? Please bear in mind that this hotel will be more than one and a half times the height of the Central Bank of Barbados! Wonโ€™t it significantly undermine the World heritage status of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison?

6) And how do you engage in the type of deep and extensive pile-driving that will be required to construct a foundation for a towering 15 storey building without emitting vibrations that will do serious damage to such neighbouring historic buildings as the Bethel Methodist Church, St. Patrickโ€™s Cathedral and St. Paulโ€™s Anglican Church?

In light of the foregoing I am hereby requesting โ€“ nay, demanding โ€“ that this application for Town and Country Planning permission to construct this proposed 15 storey hotel be subjected to a most rigorous and comprehensive โ€œEnvironmental Impact Assessmentโ€ procedure, inclusive of a โ€œSocial Impact Assessmentโ€ study.

I have learnt from the News Media that some consultations are on-going with the Barbados National Trust in relation to the implications of the proposed project for Bridgetownโ€™s UNESCO world heritage site status.

However, what I am requesting goes way beyond such a narrowly based impact assessment!

I am requesting โ€“ first and foremost โ€“ that the people of the neighbouring communities be consulted in Town Hall meetings, and through relevant sociological surveys and assessments. And when I refer to โ€œthe neighbouring communitiesโ€ I am referring to virtually all of the residential communities of the City of Bridgetown and southern St. Michael. I am also requesting that consultations be held with the churches and the various community groups and social clubs of the affected communities, as well as with the several environmental and heritage preservation organizations of Barbados.

I am also requesting serious and wide-ranging investigations of the possible dangers to other buildings in the vicinity of the proposed hotel, as well asย  an investigation into possible negative impacts on the aesthetics and amenities of the entire city of Bridgetown. ( And while you are at it, perhaps you can draw to the attention of your governmental colleague, the Chief Immigration Officer, the negative implications ofย  the Hyatt Hotel’s vice- President’s bold assertion that ALL senior posts at the hotel will initially be filled by expatriates !)

And even through it may only be the opinion of one Citizen of Barbados, please permit me to state for the record that I am convinced that Barbados will be making a grave mistake if it permits such a priceless national asset as Browneโ€™s beach to fall into the hands of foreign multi-national companies and to become the location of out-sized foreign-owned hotels, rather than to be reserved for indigenous Barbadian entrepreneurs and for locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that fit snugly into the national environment, and that radiate the unique charm, culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians!

It is with this conviction that I now hereby call upon you and the Town and Country Development Planning Office to engage in the Environmental Impact Assessment measures outlined and requested above in relation to the Town and Country Planning application reference number 0445/03/2015B.

I now look forward to hearing from you as a matter of urgency.

Yours faithfully,

David A. Comissiong

P.S Please take note that in light of the dire implications that this matter has for the entire population of Barbados, I am taking the liberty of sharing the contents of this letter with my fellow citizens.

202 responses to “Letter Marked Urgent Dispatched to Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins From David Comissiong”

1. @ Walter, as a member on the DLP your comments have been made after the facts.

Your use of the English Language is indicative of my point. If the first part of the sentence that I quoted had read “In situations like these, the Government of Barbados SHOULD…” I would concur that it was a reasonable argument.

However, regardless of the use of English is the first sentence, you nullified your argument when you added “Given the information presented, it appears that the government has decided to choose the route of economic development.โ€ No information was presented to the public yet Mark Maloney held a signing ceremony.

2. In all these posts, why has no one asked the question: what r-hole “historic” beach is Browns beach that Commie talking bout! When I was a lad, sand stop by the Govt buildings on Bay Street. They pelt my ass off the Harbour Police jetty to learn to swim in rocks underneath. No sandy beach in sight.

This beach is a new one formed by the old Hilton hotel construction. Commie is full of shite, and the very fact he refuses to see the wreck that is Venezuela should be a clue to his political slant and rational for writing this crap.

He keeps looking for attention and is the biggest brass bowl on this site lately. He want power like all the rest of the BDLP idiots, and he playing the social/racial and whatever cards he can to get it.

3. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Well Well & Consequences August 5, 2016 at 3:15 PM #
    “Walterโ€ฆthe government does nothing in the best interest of the island if they DO NOT consult the peopleโ€ฆ.their employers.”

Well Well & Consequences,
    If you reflect upon your above statement for a second or two, you will realize that it is not true.
    Could it be that you meant that successive governments have signed bi-lateral, multi-lateral, and international agreements on behalf of the people of Barbados without their knowledge, before or after? If so, that does not mean that not one of the agreements was “in the best interest of the island”.
    Could it be that you meant that many government ministers, throughout the years, could have communicated better with Barbadians about projects and thus reduce the amount of suspicion, cynicism, and scandalous rumour? If so, that does not mean that not one of the projects was “in the best interest of the island”.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One Person here made a most interesting comment among the other stellar observations

It was by a Mr. Clarke August 5, 2016 at 12:09 PM # who said

“May I, a citizen of Barbados, and fellow citizens become a signatory of this letter to the Chief Town Planner?”

David Come Sing a Song (that I like)

Get 4 lovely Bound books and have the words “Save Brownes Beach” emblasoned on their fronts.

Get your brethren from the Clement Payne Centre to Walk through Nelson and Wellington Streets, Bay Street and all those areas by Martindales Road and collect signatures.

Take two of the four books and Walk from Fontabelle Bus Stand to lower broad Street and nelson Statue to The ZR stand behind old Queens College

Fill up those books and after calling the Newspapers, the same nation to a newsconference with the rest mail them to UNESCO Heritage Committee c/o OWHC: The Organization of World Heritage Cities, 56 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec G1K 4A1, Canada

Create an electronic file – a pdf and email it to secretariat@ovpm.org

Unless of course this is “just all hot air and signifying nothing”

5. Apologies to the BU patriots but as a Diasporean I does read Canadian news sometimes.

http://news.nationalpost.com/news/canada/canadian-politics/former-mp-dean-del-mastros-26m-solar-venture-in-barbados-stuck-in-the-dark

6. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

heather August 5, 2016 at 3:35 PM #
    “@ Walter, …. you nullified your argument when you added โ€œGiven the information presented, it appears that the government has decided to choose the route of economic development.โ€ No information was presented to the public yet Mark Maloney held a signing ceremony.”

heather,
    I have tried to be very precise with the use of my language.
    “Given the information presented” – here is the information presented:

“As a result of news reports published in the Nation and Advocate newspapers of Wednesday 27th July 2016, I learnt that on Tuesday the 26th of July 2016 โ€“ Barbadosโ€™ โ€œDay of National Significanceโ€ โ€“ Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts, staged a so-called โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€ and informed the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts and its local partner, Visions Development Inc. (Mr. Mark Maloneyโ€™s company), will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street…….”

Now based on the information presented, would you not say that the government chose the route of economic development?

7. Blackman always has some old wives’ tale to tell

As if anybody considers him to be of any substance

Why don’t you try writing some more shiite ’bout economy, let us destroy it.

For there is nothing you can write about which is impervious to our arguments

If the people of Barbados were to make the mistake of putting a man exhibiting the symptoms of short man’s disease in parliament

They will soon come to know that Blackman could be nothing else but who FJS wants him to be – a lackey, as he seeks to live off the public purse.

We have been tricked so often that we should be, by now, able to spot the likes of the Walter Blackmans from many a mile. LOL

We hope everybody sees the 11-Plus mentality at work. Let us know how many words the BU people have incorrectly spelt today.

What he is saying today are the same things he will come to think about, God forbids, he gets into Parliament.

But Pachamama will stop him!

8. Shiite Hants … dem two del-Mastros look like they are straight out of a WWF promotional advert,,,, They have SCAM written all over their faces… ha ha ha
    This one will be VERY interesting …when the Canadian Newspapers dig into the lotta shiite…(which they will,.. given the political status of the Dean fella..)
    Bushie is looking for the collateral brass bowl damages…. when REAL REAL journalists get involved…

9. Agree with Bizzy on Del Mastro. Approve the project for them but approve for local as well.

10. But Bushie

Tell mah, were these people keep finding these types of ‘investors’.

Maybe it’s an occupational dynamic

Thieves gravitate towards thieves, just like sparrows fly with sparrows

But this is Walter Blackman’s government

there should a sanction for cavorting with people of uncertain character

11. David

You and Bizzy wrong

Give them all to the credit unions.

12. @ Walter..
    As man Boss …. you have been blogging so much shiite since your political “coming out”, that you would probably do well to take a leaf from your new boss (Froon’s) book and go to sleep…
    Shiite man … at least if you keep quiet, some of us will be tempted to hold on to your previous persona – when you stood up like a MAN against political and economic shiite….

What EXACTLY makes you think that you can now come and push this ‘AC-like’, yardfowl talk at the BU family just because you have a better grasp of English than does AC?

What!!??
    …so now BU has become your forum to endear yourself with your DLP pals in support of your personal political agenda…?

Steupsss..
    Political suicide!!!!
    You have done what Jesus REFUSED …when he told Satan to ‘kiss..’ oops..
    ….to “get thee behind me”

13. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David August 5, 2016 at 4:36 PM #
    “Agree with Bizzy on Del Mastro. Approve the project for them but approve for local as well”

I believe that local projects should be approved first.

14. So Walter what was up for grabs in the area that the government chose economic development? What else was being considered? A choice means that there is more than one option on the table.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Konkieman

You have in fact encapsulated what is wrong with Barbados in you post of 4 .00p.m

You said and I quote “…In all these posts, why has no one asked the question: what r-hole โ€œhistoricโ€ beach is Browns beach that Commie talking bout! …”

And within that statement I found my Eureka moment.

80% of the populations of Barbados HAVE NO EFFING CLUE what the 700-800 pages of those two documents that Steve Blackett signed to secure this designation, contain!!

I can hazard a guess as to your age and say that you are definitely past 60 and, given that you speak of swimming by the jetty as a boy, you are in your late sixties and early seventies if not older.

Secondary School education, at least, but I can’t “see” enough of you in your remark per social racial card to tell if you are black of bajan white.

What I do “see” and what frightens me is your lack of knowledge of what is contained in the document which can be seen at http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/1376

My fear lies in the assignation that you have accorded Browns or is that Brownes Beach highlighted by your comment “…what r-hole โ€œhistoricโ€ beach is Browns beach….?”

You know if a poll were taken of 5,000 Bajans this coming saturday in Bridgetown as to what Come Sing a Song’s case against the GoB and the Office of the Attorney General was, de ole man would bet that 50 people would know bout um, IF SO MUCH

I would hazard a guess that if you said “Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, an outstanding example of British colonial architecture consisting of a well-preserved old town built in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, which testifies to the spread of Great Britain’s Atlantic colonial empire….” not one of these people would be able to tell you where that came from Konkieman.

In fact I would hazard Konkieman that if you were to sing these words to any of the yutes in your house “…You have my heart, And we’ll never be worlds apart, Maybe in magazines, But you’ll still be my star…” that every on of them will be able to finish that Rihanna song better than our Leader of the Opposition is able to finish the National Anthem…(which by the way she does not know)

Did you know this?

“…Legal protection is provided by the Town and Country Planning Act, supported by the Physical Development Plan Amended (2003). The Physical Development Plan makes provision for five conservation areas covering different parts of Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison. While at present these planning provisions are technically adequate, legal protection of those parts of the property not covered by the conservation areas could be strengthened…”

As a matter of fact, even if you knew this, which i sincerely doubt, do you care…?

As a matter of fact let de ole man clarify this through thei “race card” question

I going put this question to Dr. Frazier who is credited as one of the lead Bajn white menses that compose the document

I going axe he if he feel dat since Brownes beach is part of the 167 hectares that is protected unner de designation ef he feel dat David Come Sing a Song is right to seek to stop that 15 storey abomination from being cuntstructd dey pun Brownes beach?

My rationale is simple, ef a white man say so, and dat white man got more ranking dan Mark Maloney, it may be dat we bajans gine concur?

Whu you tink Konkie man???

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea & Pachamama

Why you and Pachamama doan lef PPK alone???

Ten uh wunna hole on pun he scvunt almost a munt ago and tear he a next donkey and lef he whimpering in front de cuntputer (dat is whu hi is calling giggling) and now dat “he peeping out of the woodwork” as The Sage Anunnake said of his testing de waters, wunna latch on to he again?

Wunna going kill he?

I going watch and see doah if PPK going tek the bait of Angelique de Vampire who, having “time mek a change” lik up by dis Urgent dispatch now come to run interference pun David C article.

I soon expect PPK tuh tell she “why you doan google dem ingrunt questions dat you axing me doah and lef me scvunt alone?? you ent see dat I in a battle royale fuh me political life wid people liking me up whenever I surface me head and you inviting de ire of men like Leonid of de Fire Cats “wid sight beyond sight dat kin see my FJS replications”?

Get way from me Angelique, t . t . t . t. dem is crosses fuh you vampire self

Steupseeeee.

I like Mr Clarke idea doah, bout signing a real real petition (manually, not like de vampire online tingy) and as soon as Come Sing A Song get dem books ready, I gine sing de tings dem, twice, one wid me lef hand and one wid me right hand.

17. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Bush Tea August 5, 2016 at 4:44 PM #
    @ Walter..
    As man Boss โ€ฆ. you have been blogging so much shiite since your political โ€œcoming outโ€, that you would probably do well to take a leaf from your new boss (Froonโ€™s) book and go to sleepโ€ฆ
    Shiite man โ€ฆ at least if you keep quiet, some of us will be tempted to hold on to your previous persona โ€“ when you stood up like a MAN against political and economic shiiteโ€ฆ.

What EXACTLY makes you think that you can now come and push this โ€˜AC-likeโ€™, yardfowl talk at the BU family just because you have a better grasp of English than does AC?

Bush Tea,
    The blogmaster of BU gives all of us a chance to comment on any topic we see fit. I made a comment without mentioning the BLP, DLP, PEP, PDC, or BUP.

Heather quizzed me and commented on something that I actually wrote, and something that she could make specific reference to. I respect her for that. Your comments have not even reached that standard. I find that disappointing.

If I had left the DLP and joined your BUP, I would have committed political suicide. Yet you would have praised me lavishly and would have continued to parade me as a “star boy” along with Jeff and Caswell. That is the nature of the beast, and I fully understand that, because I no longer fit into your personal agenda, I must be damned, spat upon, and cussed. So be it.

You have your BUP. Elections are around the corner. You have 4 potential candidates so far: You, Pacha, Piece, and Watchman. Concentrate your efforts on amassing some more candidates, push the policies of BUP, and I will respect you for it.

Before you crawl back into your brass bowl, hear ye this:
    I will forever accept your lashes and your praises with calmness, and I will continue to express MY OPINIONS on BU whenever I see fit.

Peace be unto you.

Up and on.

18. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Heather August 5, 2016 at 4:52 PM #
    “So Walter what was up for grabs in the area that the government chose economic development? What else was being considered? A choice means that there is more than one option on the table.”

Heather,
    The government could have left the area untouched.

19. As long as one does not sing from the BU hymn book on would be cruicified and damn to hell fire. As fo ac could not care two fu..k ups what any one think about my comments my freedom of expression would not or does not depend on anyone grading be it likes or dislikes. So all operatives get use to my rants and raves cause there are many many more on the way
    Amen

Signed legion

20. Now back to Mr. Bait and switch Comissiong who have for the better part of his activism had been trying for years to gain political traction in barbados and a strategy to garner a substantial following
    Word on the street that this new modus operandi is way of operating in a more pleasing enviroment removing harden view which would soften and adress his negative image which has categorized him as a Socialist and a friend of dictators like a Chavez and Castro and late Muammar Gaddfi positioning him to be a possible leader for a viable and relevant political party in this country.

21. I love ac i know all the BU household loves ac. Right PDYR.waiting to see u make another poster of ac loving all of them too .Ha!Ha

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Walter….you know many people are fed up of rehashing what various governments have done or not over the years, but over the last 50 years there have only been but 2 governments in Barbados….so I will reiterate since they have been combined by those who are aware that there is only one interchangeable government in Barbados…DBLP…both interchangeable ministers from this government have this nasty habit of never consulting with the people before signing on to scams…read the Cahill scam etc. They even lie to the people denying the existence of contracts they themselves signed.

So tell me Walter, over the last 50 years, apart from menial jobs for the average bajans, loans that now drown the country in debt….exactly whose best interest in the 280,000 people on the island have been served….and by which ministers.

23. On Brasstacks today,Bizzy Williams shared with moderator David Ellis his concerns about the special concessions given to a Canadian company while he,a local entrepreneur is made to wait for approval to set up a similar plant.The question of finance and Bizzy,true to form said the banks are holding substantial Bajan dollars on deposit and not utilizing opportunities such as he is suggesting.When Ellis threw the curve ball,funding by Credit Unions as opposed to banking institutions,Bizzy staggered,totally unprepared for that suggestion,staring him and albino- centric others who think like he.

“Woody Bezan Selkirk, Manitoba
    DDM and cousin look like they’d steal your eyeballs and comeback for the eyelashes. Zero sympathy for anyone who’d do business with these grifters.”

Hants…I still love this comment about Del Mastros from the dude in Manitoba….lol

So Walter…you think local projects should come first, so where were you when Fruendel and his Fools secretly signed away the whole island to a crazy conartist called Clare Cowan from the Cahill scam of Canada, with the cockroach Bjerkham and others hiding in the shadows, gave her acres of land at 6 cents an acre and publicly lied to bajans about his involvement.

I am sure there were bajans like Cherry begging the government for an opportunity to help do something about the waste problem for years before this white Canadian crook smiled in Fruendel’s, Lowe’s, Kellman’s and the other idiot’s miserable looking faces.

Was Fruendel interested in hearing about local projects then, oh no, a white woman was smiling at him, what local projects what.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The credit unions better do not give the minorities any funding unless they secure ALL their properties as collateral, these minority crooks are all currently flying on bullshit and thin air…why ya think Bizzy is so bitterly complaining about Del Mastros, he wants to continue his parasitic ways undisturbed. ….dont want to share, hog at large.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As a tribute to the other paling Paling Fowl Cock

I forgot to include “He who disappeared spectacularly when the Cahill Fiasco was scuttled” after talking about “giving the technology a chance” and only recently reappeared when the smoke has cleared about the “Me Clare Who the Ef are you?” incident blew over.

Interestingly he came back with the same chant about “giving the Carlisle Project a chance” spiel.

He like he would like to give “eveybody a chance”

I hope that when the palm trees are dying he doan be under any one of them when it fall and suffer amnesia and wander into the Nazi/Skinhead Community in Canada with that same chant bout giving dem a chance too…

http://i.imgur.com/tLe71JR.png

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…

28. @PUDRYR

Can you explain the difference between BU household and BU family?

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

ummmmmmm…..

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

IF, and I reiterate the word IF, there is a difference it is a subtle one.

It would lie in “degree”

The household imputes all persons in the house be they friend or foe, slave or master

Family imputes a “commonality” of kindredness or blood bond or some “otherness” that is several degrees closer than household.

That is like the Marine Corps household and the brotherhood that is the SEALS, their point of origination is the same, but their inter relational bond is totally different

Or so the ole man would conjecture but do remember dat de ole man ent too bright

30. @PUDRYR

Au Contraire!

Here is the clarification, the household are the few who sit behind the BU dashboard. The family is the wider group who comment, submit articles and otherwise participate..

On Fri, Aug 5, 2016 at 11:15 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry David

I actually am guilty of something.

I did not read what AC said in its entirety, lolololol

I rarely do when “thing Hignorance Knows no bounds” is writing.

I just voter for her out of “be kind to animals week”.

Actually I vote for her when she says such ingrunt things that only a vote of kindness is appropriate, you dont have no links that say “steupseee” lololol

Seriously, she knows that the poster campaigns are good. SSS, BU, Colonel Buggy and me Grandson.

She can’t come out and say that “they are good and are inflicting great damage to the DLP standing, both in Barbados and further afield. Dem does tell her whu going one though.

But she will sometimes give a slight hint of “appreciation” for the items.

I only realised that it was she who used the word and of a truth, as begrudging as I will say it, I would miss her and Alvin if they stopped.

She makes me laugh genuinely and marvel at the same time as to her absolute commitment to the Party.

She is “an anomaly” and as wunna dun know dem tings does bother me to the nth degree. lololol

I question the “why”

Why in the face of such abysmal failures of these 8 years, can she be so steadfast in her support of the DLP?

why, in the face of the failure of so many social services, industries, economic programs, does she still support the DLP “household” of thieves and brigands?

It reminds de ole man of dat poem dat i does always remember de granchildruns saying “de boy stood on the burning deck, whence all but he had fled, and when his feet had burnt right off, he stood upon his head…”

I gone bak here looking for more bareneck chickens doah….

32. Walter Blackman said he thinks that local projects should be approved first.

That is BS! Or at least political pandering.

For there is no difference between the local elites and the foreign White people.

Blackman basically talking about the maintenance of the existing social order when it needs a radical transformation.

See wuh we tell yuh bout this pimp, pimping

Every idea Walter Backman could hold is desirous of death.

We say give all these projects to the credit unions.

And change the law so that they can more broadly participate in the economy.

They can use their own capital or mobilize from other international credit unions

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

ohhhhh, okay my bust.. I was not thinking…punch silly with the “thine Hignorance” peeples dem.

I actually came across a joke about an over enthusiastic fowl cock in a farm yard but it was not appropriate to interweave with the fowl that is observing the hen on the fence., heheheheheeheh.

Or should that be, “buk, buk buk buk, bukcawww….”

whuloss may GOD grant Barbados relief from these vagabonds

34. @Pacha

There is difference if you use foreign exchange as one indicator or it should be.

BTW have you noted the BITCOIN Exchange took a big hit?

On Fri, Aug 5, 2016 at 11:55 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

35. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Well Well & Consequences August 5, 2016 at 6:23 PM #
    “Walterโ€ฆ.you know many people are fed up of rehashing what various governments have done or not over the years……”

Well Well & Consequences,
    Most Barbadians would agree that various governments have done good and not-so-good things for Barbados over the last 50 years.

The world has changed. Barbadian society has changed. Government cannot do everything. The critical question now is: what contribution can each of us make in the areas of problem solving and national development? What can each of us do to help Barbados move forward? By each of us, I mean Barbadians living at home and abroad. That includes you.

Barbados has the “oldest” population in the Caribbean, and will face a portfolio of complex problems until as far as 2040. Some of these problems relate to insurance, pensions, longevity, gerontology, and health care for the aged. Our limited resources will be stretched to the “baller” and might very well “pop”. The solutions to these problems will require proper planning, understanding, and parliamentary action now.

Based on my education, experience, and professional training, I have decided to try and make a contribution, via parliament, by tackling these problems head-on. My first step in that exercise was to inform my political party of my interest in elective politics. Maybe I might succeed and maybe I won’t. However it turns out, no one can say that I did not try.

You would have noticed that instead of focusing on what they can do to help our country move forward, some persons have maliciously devoted their time and energy to cussing, scorning, ridiculing, and trying to stop me and others from making the contribution that our skills would enable us to make. Instead of getting up off their backsides and trying to do something meaningful and positive for their country, they spend every minute of every passing day bellyaching, and like helpless baby chicks, sit and wait in the hope that some saviour would pass by to ram some sustenance down their proverbial craw, and solve their problems.
    Such attitudes, spawned by the crab-in-the-barrel mentality, represent our single biggest impediment to national progress.

You would have also noticed that I have encouraged you, based on your scarce bilingual skill set, to see if you can help Barbados in any way. I use this approach on every Barbadian I come into contact with.

Whatever I can do to help this little island move forward, I promise you that I will do it. That is my focus, and it is a goal to which I now aspire.

36. @ Pacha
    That idea of requiring that all such mega projects be owned by Co-operatives is so intelligent, progressive and forward-thinking, …that it will NEVER even be seriously considered in brass bowl land. Not even those who are already experiencing the enfranchising power of Credit Unions are able to see the innovative and revolutionary potentialities…..

They are all much too imbibed with albino-centric, self-centeredness.

37. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman August 5, 2016 at 4:47 PM #
    “David,
    I believe that local projects should be approved first.”

Pachamama August 5, 2016 at 7:51 PM #
    “Walter Blackman said he thinks that local projects should be approved first.
    That is BS! ……..
    Every idea Walter Backman could hold is desirous of death.
    We say give all these projects to the credit unions.”

Pachamamum,
    If you give all of the projects to the credit union, will that nullify my belief? Will that make the projects “foreign”?

You are so blinded by hatred and malice that “Thine hignorance knoweth no bounds.”

Who would have thought that, as Barbadians struggle to stake a claim in their own country, a suggestion that Barbadian proposed projects should be given priority approval would attract such an asinine response?

Am I allowed to recommend the first person who should lose their head when your guillotine is ready to strike?

38. @ Walter PPK Blackman

You stated that English is not working for the watchman, Bush Tea and Thousand of Barbadian, maybe, but we know the bull shite language you are using in your effort to be a lackey of the DLP and feed of the public purse

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“now aspire?, now aspire….whu happen to “times afore time?” you wait till now to aspie?

Heheheheheheheh

But I lef you to Pachamama, and Watchman and Bush Tea

Leh de ole man continue on wid me belly-aching boasie.

Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison states “…Further work, as defined in the action plan, is required to strengthen the protection of the substance of remaining historic buildings and the propertyโ€™s overall spatial layout, and also to mitigate landscape changes that have already occurred in order to protect and strengthen the propertyโ€™s integrity and authenticity….”

It also says, quite unbelievably “…The Chief Town Planner has been identified as the Site Manager for day-to-day management concerns in the framework of the urban development plan and planning permission procedures. He also chairs the Barbados World Heritage Committee which meets on a two-monthly basis…”

Now from 2011 till now is 5 years which is 60 meetings, IF DEM STILL DOES MEET THAT IS.

I wonder if the UNESCO people was to axe fuh copied uh dem meetings @ 2016 pun Monday Morning effing dem wud be able to get dem before nex month?

Dem wud got to do de same ting dat de Commissioner uh Police doing wid de statements for Nazim Blackett matter and de falsification sorry creation of supporting contrived sorry compiled imaginations sorry information.

So back to the substantive and let us not get tied up with PPK advancing his previously stalled political campaign.

It would appear that David Come and Sing a Song (that I Like) has them by the short and curly since it would seem that this 15 storey building is quite at variance with “…the administration of the property and overseeing adherence to the principles of the Convention.

It would seem that said building is seriously in contravention with “policies and programmes for the conservation and management of the property…”

It would further seem that the stipulated “evaluation and monitoring of all matters relating to the protection and management of the property” has been thrown out of the window with this particular decision.

And it would seem like if David come Sing a Song (that I like) is showing that the various criteria for the UNESCO designation have been or will be seriously contravened since none of these initiatives per a 15 storey hotel “ensures that the management systems maintain and preserve the Outstanding Universal Value of the Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison property…”

It would be a most shameful thing is the GoB, current or future, we forced to loose the UNESCO designation, because of scvunts like Stuart Abundant Road or Lane and Mark Baloney but WTF… who gives a badword anyways??

Certainly not the revived PPK, nor Konkieman, mannnnn Come Sing a Song why you doan jes lef dese tings alone doah???

You stop de illegal fingerprinting, and now you want tuh brek up we Carlisle Bay ting too?

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Most Barbadians would agree that various governments have done good and not-so-good things for Barbados over the last 50 years.”

I commend your efforts Walter, but in all of this, please do not forget, that politicians present themselves to the people swearing on their mother’s and children’s lives that nobody but them can do the best for the country, create the most jobs…end poverty…., walk on water. ..and all kinds of impossible things, they also get a very handsome monthly salary from taxpayers to perform these impossible feats….that they promised.

The very next day after being elected…and most times before, with the vote buying, accepting campaign finance from business crooks….the corruption starts…..and continues for 5 straight years with bribetaking from said crooks and favors which dies not benefit the population, until next elections, which is now fast approaching. …so Walter, I am not impressed with any of the idiots in parliament.

41. @ piece

@ pachamana

Walter PPK Blackman running out of bull shite and want to recommend a person head for the guillotine, you know, he said English don’t work for the watchman, so put me right, is he calling the M of F coming budget a guillotine

42. Gabriel August 5, 2016 at 6:38 PM #

Didn’t hear brass-tacks but Bizzy isn’t interested in any credit union entry into commercial activity , are you insane, credit unions are where lower income people save their money which if used wisely begins to level the playing field and rattle the financial thrones of Bizzy and cronies. At present he’s one of a few who donates $30,000 to the Police training school without blinking.

Bizzy’s tactics appear simple if the foreign investor is not in cahoots with him or he isn’t a benefactor of the project he will curse the investor and bully the people and government into turning down the investment. He will raise environmental concerns, he will talk of locals being disadvantaged yaada yaada and a roll of pure shite.

If Barbados loses billions of $ in forex and gets an even worst rating as a bad place to do business tough luck. He as the Deltro guy opined will head off to a neighbor island and invest, mind you as a foreign investor, and receive his financial returns. St. Lucia and to a lesser extent St. Vincent have benefitted enormously from investors frustrated by our island because of garbage similar to what assaults our ears ad naseum from the Bizzy’s of this world.

Time to call a halt on the rassh*le bullshite that is killing the country, screwing up the economy, robbing us of jobs and forex. The anti foreign investment stance causes declines in our standard of living and gives Barbados the reputation as the worse place in the region to do business.

We see clearly its not only government red tape or civil servants who make investors jittery. Forces more sinister are at work and folks who love this country must stand up and say to Bizzy and his disciples David BU and paradoxically Commissiong that enough is enough.

43. I am not against foreign investors what I am for I for investment in local interests but in a manner that changes the landscape of Bizzy Williamses forever,

You ever sat down and talked to a few of these rich white bajans?

You would come to realize that AC is a brainiac compared to many of them, and I mean the stupid AC.

60 % of bajans earn less than $300 per week.

In 2016 that is slavery

Any government, be it DLP or BLP which cannot, in addition to refusing to enforce policies and practices that actively enslave bajan niggers, is a government NOT TO BE BACKED!!!

Comissoing is doing his part in his area of expertise and the rest or us need to do ours

44. millertheannunaki Avatar
    millertheannunaki

@ Walter Blackman August 5, 2016 at 8:05 PM
    โ€œWhatever I can do to help this little island move forward, I promise you that I will do it. That is my focus, and it is a goal to which I now aspire.โ€

The first goal you need to aspire to is to tell your party colleagues in no uncertain terms to stop lying to the same people your party likes to brag about the โ€˜freeโ€™ given to them up to the highest level; with you being the perfect poster child for the EWB project.

The same lies and crap we are hearing about the Hyatt Hotel were spewed about the Sugar Point Cruise Ship terminal earmarked to bring shiploads of tourists and hundreds of new jobs to transform Bridgetown.

One can only conclude that the same โ€˜transformationallyโ€™ infrastructural Cruise Ship project has been financially blown out of the water (politically torpedoed) just like the Revitalized Sugar Cane Industry state-of-the-art factory for Andrews has gone up in smoke caused by an imaginary cane fire which has its genesis in the Atlantic trade winds of DLP Cockamamie propaganda graft and corruption.

45. People seem to forget the pearhead development project./ This hotel is being built in that area. It seem that David Com. forgot that

46. David Comissiong is a brute he has no interest in barbados he goes to St. Vincent and campaigns for Ralph Gonsalves telling the people that barbados Govt is dumb and that Gonsalves is a man of vision because he built them a new Airport in a time of recession
    I guess his negative mutterings at every turn about this island is part of his civic duty he has left no stone unturned at every opportunity to downplay barbados progress while praising his socialist partners despite their failures towards their citizens
    He is a person not to be trusted he seeks noterity not for the best interest of barbados but as a stepping stone which will be beneficial to his own interest

47. artax

โ€œac June 28, 2015 at 6:13 PM #: Attack what! but if Caswell puts himself out there yes he would be hung out to dry on a bed of hot wooden coals. His history as being TWO FACED and a POLITICAL OPPORTUNIST depending which side the wind is blowing in his favor is well known across town and countryโ€ฆ.โ€

โ€œac August 5, 2016 at 6:25 AM #: NO bush sh..t Comissiong is not a Caswell for all the concerns that Caswell has I would be the FIRST TO SAY that his CONCERNS are GENUINE and are not liquefied with an ideology that are in alignment or closely tied to Socialist of Communist regimesโ€ฆ.โ€

wel well another bold faced desperate attempt by artax using a net to trap a crab. in a futile attempt to bypass and avoid the relevance and connections of comissiong political leaning to socialist or communist idealogies
    As far as i know and have observed Caswell brand of political brandishing is rooted in the Labour Movement and yes his opinions can be linked to political preference however removed from Socialist and communist ideologies
    i would not retract my comment based on the fact that what i previously stated about Caswell stems from Genuine Concerns or differences between labour and governance and and not formulated with intent to gain popular support or political advantages toward leadership of this country

48. @ Bushie

See what we tell you ’bout the Walter Blackman types

He pretends to be educated but lacks courage

what use is education if one has no courage?

We were part of a group of persons trying to tell Erskine Sandiford this, since the early 1990’s

about the Port, other so-called divestments, at that time.

We were in the meetings

And you know the results

Sandiford too, lacked the courage to at least give the co-operatives a few of the projects/institutions he was selling off then.

So we are not surprised that this Blackman is blinded by what he feels is the party line.

You must remember that he also has a few old people in the DLP branch to satisfy

poor fellow.

=======================

Should there be a need for a lamb whose head is required to bless the guillotine

this writer is prepared to be that person

on a few conditions!

that, beforehand there is a law mandating that the elites, starting with the 30 in parliament and those seeking to be, the political pimps and the corporate elites, will follow next day

and that somebody, of our choosing and with courage will be given the powers to implement the law’s wider application.

Have Walter Blackman make those arrangement and we will both supply that antiquarian device and set it up outside Parliament for the presentation of that ‘first’ neck.

We could never understand why people like Walter Blackman like living so much

all he is doing is preventing food from spoiling. LOL

==================

Do people really understand that some co-operatives, outside of Barbados, are much larger than the GDP of Barbados.

Blackman spent over a decade in Atlanta, he should know this

Be afraid be very afraid! Should this Blackman gets anywhere near political power in Barbados he, not unlike all the rest, will be prepared to take orders from the Bizzy Williams types.

For in the end that is all they really know.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

An offside..for the ladies.

http://ow.ly/m4ZS302Zc0e

50. The report in the traditional media that Stuart Layne will not be losing any sleep over the planned demonstration is disturbing.