Dr. Kenneth George, Acting Chief Medical Officer

Barbados Underground (BU) condemns the malicious act by agents using social media platforms to propagate the message that the new water meter installed by the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is responsible for the sudden deaths that have caused Barbadians alarm in recent weeks. Barbadians everywhere must have breathed a collective sigh of relief yesterday when the BWA issued a press release to dispel the false claim. The BWAโ€™s message was supported by the Acting Chief Medical Officer who indicated that โ€œโ€ฆpreliminary reports indicate that recent sudden deaths in Barbados were linked to โ€œthe usual causes of sudden death in Barbados and universallyโ€ฆacute myocardial infarction (heart attack), stroke, brain haemorrhage, acute pulmonary embolism (clotting in the lungs) and acute arrhythmia.โ€

The unfortunate incident affords the BU household the opportunity to offer a few observations.

Why did the government through its state agency the BWA require 72 hours to issue a press release to attack the vicious rumour? In the absence of a decisive communication strategy by the government and the BWA the rumour trended to an unproductive national discussion. We acknowledge that the BWAโ€™s Communications Specialist issued a statement a couple days ago. We also acknowledge she promised that the BWA would have held press conference.

Why has the BWA with its state of the art headquarters on the hill not posted the press release on its company website?ย ย  If there is another BWA website BU will retract. If the vicious rumour originated on social media why does the BWA not update its Facebook page as a good strategy to counter? Guess what, the BWA does NOT have an active Facebook page. If the late prime minister David Thompson were alive he would have instructed his people to share the press release with BU. He understood a little about managing information in the social media space.There is a lot the Stuart led government can learn from Joseph Goebbels who was a minister in Hitlerโ€™s administration.

To date we have had the BWA management condemning the vicious rumour. Chief Medical Officer George has supported the BWAโ€™s position based on preliminary reports. Guess what, the Democratic Labour Party through its General Secretary George Pilgrim has started another rumour.ย  In a media release yesterday Pilgrim hinted that the water rumour is possibly politically motivated to make the government look bad. If Pilgrim has evidence to support his โ€˜insinuationโ€™โ€™ BU urge him to take the evidence to the DPP.

Read full text of the BWAโ€™s release:-

Over the last few days, erroneous reports have been circulating in the social media, suggesting that there have been sudden deaths associated with lead from the new HYDRUS Ultrasonic water meters.

We want to assure our customers that there is no lead contamination of our water supply from the new meters or any other device attached to the water supply network. It should be noted that the procurement of these meters followed stringent guidelines, consultation and approval of the Barbados National Standards Institute (BNSI). We have found no proof of their being rejected anywhere.

In addition, the meters: โ€“

1. Are made out of plastic and brass connections that DO NOT contain lead.
  1. Are manufactured in Germany and have been tested and approved for use in the water supply industry for metering of cold potable water and hot water by the German Environmental Agency under the German Drinking Water Ordinance of December 2013.
  1. Meet or exceed the following specifications and testing methods as well as those in the following Standards: OIML R 49-1 Edition 2006 (E) and ISO 4064-1:2005(E)/BS EN 14154-1:2005 +A1:2007(E) Class C and Class E1 specifications including all annexes.
  1. Are also currently being used in the following twenty-two (22) countries: โ€“

Germany, France, Ireland, Spain, Austria, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, China, St. Lucia, Bahamas, Jamaica, Colombia, Brazil, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Australia, Guinea and South Africa.

The Barbados Water Authority is charged with the responsibility of providing water and sewerage services as well as the monitoring, controlling, managing and protecting the water resources in the publicโ€™s interest.

We take this mandate very seriously and over the years, we have provided and continue to supply safe drinking water that exceeds the World Health Organizationโ€™s (WHO) Drinking Water Guidelines and we have adhered to other appropriate industry standards in the choice of materials and equipment used in designing, constructing and operating of the entire water supply infrastructure.

The Barbados Water Authority in conjunction with the Environmental Protection Department (EPD), Ministry of Environment and Drainage and the Environmental Health Inspectorate of the Ministry of Health have a very comprehensive and long standing water quality monitoring program. This programme involves the bacteriological and chemical testing and analysis of water samples through the Government Analytical Services Laboratory and MDS Laboratories in Florida.

In addition, wide screen analysis of water samples is done on a bi-annual basis and includes testing for heavy metals and pesticides. The most recent samples were done in March 2016. Results from the water quality tests and analysis done over the years, show that the lead content in our water is below detection limits and meets the allowable drinking water standards. The analysis of the water samples is done through accredited laboratories. Furthermore, our water is classified as hard and tends to form a carbonate precipitate inside the pipes that would prevent lead leaching.

We again assure the public that the new HYDRUS Ultrasonic Water Meter manufactured by DIEHL Metering is free of lead and water provided by the Barbados Water Authority is safe to drink. (END)

113 responses to “Sudden Deaths in Barbados Linked to ‘usual causes’”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin..if you keep saying the government has very little responsibility it means they should not be getting a salary which, means that the taxpayers do not need the added expense of government ministers which means that the civil servants can do just as good a job or better seeing as they are the ones in the line of fire every day.

The taxpayers could do with those absorbitant minister’s salaries to fund health care, no one can keep paying for ministers salaries when they do not accept responsibility for their actions, do not engage their bosses who are the taxpaying people to tell them anything……and ignore the constitution and laws of the land with their bribers…that cannot work indefinitely, you do not seem to understand, the government ministers work fir the people.

2. @Bushie @David. I am with Bushie on this on the reaction of the aurhorities to the video was unprecedented. Look how long we laboured to get a response to Cahill. I do not condem it even though it was malicious. They worked with what they had. It was simple and effective and the goverment could not ignore it as they did with the Cahill scam. It was a stroke of brilliance.

3. Oh Christ..here comes this blp mouthpiece Heather endorsing.malicious acts of tyrrany by any means necessary against society. What next pipe bombs placed in strategic areas to be detonated ? Yes..

4. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

pieceuhderockyeahright July 2, 2016 at 12:27 PM #
    “all uh we BU-ians including Walther PPK, going get life imprisonment and another sort of probe.”

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    We are all delighted to know that Sister Headley, by virtue of not being a BU-ian, will be speared and not probed, whilst you are in prison.
    Oh, my bad. I meant spared. Silly typo.

5. Heather you are one brain damaged political yardfowl and to to even suggest the Cahill battle as an example as to how this act of terror can be a seen as a plausible and worth while action to get govt attention is maniacal

6. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Alvin, let me tell you again the Future Centre Trust is an independent environmental NGO which is funded by international grants. All board members are non paid directors while the day to day operations are done by a full time employee.

Unfortunately, Dr Denis Lowe has failed miserably in his capacity as the Minister of Environment – he talks pretty globally, but has not done anything for the environment locally. One only has to think about his role in the Cahill fiasco, which would have been disastrous for Barbados. How he could be elected as Deputy Chair of the UNEA is mind-boggling. Obviously, whoever ratified his nomination is oblivious to the environmental concerns in Barbados. Name one piece of legislation he has piloted related to environmental protection within our SIDS.

7. Aside from all the hysteria, we should be asking why was it necessary to change all of the meters?

This seems to me as another give away of taxpayer monies to another white company.

Why was there a rush to change meters that were working properly? To get rid of the workers who read the meters? Why not change the meters as they become defective.

I had some concerns and some problems with the badly dressed workers (the one I had problems with looked and talked like a real wild boy).

The next day after my run in with the obnoxious character, a very pleasant employee from BWA called but the name and number which showed up was “Innotech”. I asked the employee how comes Innotech number came up…..the employee said that even though the Innotech company {Water Resources some shiiite) was doing the installations, they still had a role to play. I do not get if Innotech was paying this employee or BWA.

Has anyone ever heard of this? A private company doing work for a government agency and employees of the agency are working out of the private company’s office?

There is much more to this than meets the eye….it was convenient that the lead message diverted the attention from the real issue!

What a jackass George Pilgrim is!

8. Truth be told, I think that the stress that this government has put Barbadians under is the silent killer. Stress of the DLP is the killer!

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Sargeant July 2, 2016 at 8:45 AM #
    Most deaths could be considered โ€œsuddenโ€ or there wouldnโ€™t be enough hospitals to host sick people. When I was growing up many people died of what in the local parlance was called โ€œbad feelsโ€ and what we have now is a spate of people collapsing and dying in public places and the local fish wrap rushing to print sensationalist headlines without following up to investigate the actual cause of death. Recently I read a story about a middle age woman dying at home and this was hinted at as unusual, as if we are only supposed to die when we reach some milestone known only to the editors.

THIS THE MOST SENSIBLE THING SAID ON THIS BLOG ALL DAY

Most deaths could be considered โ€œsudden
    THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

@Kammie Holder
    YOUR ATTEMPT TO EDUCATE THE JOKERS HERE IS VERY COMMENDABLE, BUT PEOPLE WHO COME HERE DO NOT SEEK TO BE INFORMED OR EDUCATED. AS ONE SAID HE COMES TO SEE HIS WORDS IN PRINT. OTHERS COME TO “CHALLENGE”

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Prodigal Son July 2, 2016 at 3:18 PM #
    Truth be told, I think that the stress that this government has put Barbadians under is the silent killer. Stress of the DLP is the killer!

THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN YOUR POST
    STRESS=> ADRENAL ACTIVITY=>RELEASE OF BETA AGONISTS=> WHICH AFFECT BETA RECEPTOR IN HEART.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC pimps…stop being drama queens with your mindbending nonsense. The terrorists are the ones squatting in the people’s parliament, ignoring the constitution and the people who pay their salaries..that’s the definition of terror.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/07/02/children-used-as-sex-slaves-us-report/

That is what the squatting ministers in parliament have known about for decades and done nothing about…why ACs and Alvin pimps, why is nothing done about this and ALL the government ministers know…what are they being paid for.

I may nit like it but can appreciate why Peter Harris and Mark Malonry are determined to take the country away from the greedy idiots squatting in the people’s parliament.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And with no legislation protecting children and vulnerable people on the island and with the US continually saying that public officials and at least one government minister is involved in trafficking people, just imagine what the likes of Maloney and Harris will do when the present legislation is so weak, ggovernment ministers refuse to finally implent and enforce laws to stop the trafficking and prevent any future trafficking of children and others on the island.

International agencies will soon recommend sanctions for you beasts.

14. Why have we not heard from the minister who is responsible for the BWA?

Instead we heard a political jackass spouting the usual dlp garbage out of George Street. what the hell does this have to do with dlp politics? George Pigrim was playing their usual blood sport politics as they normally do.

George Pilgrim does not seem to understand the difference between party politics and governance. The BWA fell down on this ……..either Dr Musa or the minister should have been out front not the poor PR lady!

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

DDT, the chemical has long been banned in Barbados, but are we seeing the emergence of another form of DDT, the Department of Dirty Tricks. Knowing the short attention span of many Barbadians, and their propensity to jump on the next band wagon that comes along, was it by accident or by coincidence,that this ‘Water killing people’ scare, took off like a jet around the same time that the authorities deadline to the illegal structures at Bushy Park expired.
    It is that easy to pull rock hard concrete slabs over the eyes of us Bajans?

16. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And of course the Prime Minister and his henchmen will rubbish this report,as they have done with so many others, including the Auditor-General’s.
    The US Embassy in Barbados has its ears closer to the ground, or the whisky glasses, than the Barbados government, whose ministers walk around with their heads up their arses.

17. @Kammie and Piece.
    Kammie you wrote a long piece on the need for emission standards and testing of vehicles, to ensure that they comply with emission standards. I SUGGESTED THAT INSTEAD OF GOVERNMENT DOING THE TESTING, THAT “CONSCIOUS” ENTREPRENEURS, WHO HAVE THE INTEREST OF TH EPOPULATION AT HEART, SET UP A COMPANY TO DO THE TESTING OF VEHICLES, AO THAT ANYBODY COULD HAVE THEIR VEHICLES TESTED (FOR A FEE) so that vehicle owners would be assured that their vehicles meet the required standard. I simply asked why it must always be left to government. Many garages are certified here in Toronto, and indeed across Canada, to test vehicle emission levels. As a matter of fact your vehicle cannot be registered (get their licence plates) without the certificate from a certified garage that the vehicle meets the required standard. Why are you folk so negative. I will not even reply to your gibe about Cahll, that is a red herring.If it is ten years from now, I predict that Plasma Gasification will come here..
    Prodigal,
    You ask: …”why was it necessary to change all of the meters?” When your government was in power people were complaining constantly that they were being ripped off because the water meters were not registering water usage correctly, because the type of meter being used also measures indices that were affected by air in the lines. The government (present) decided to pay attention to what the people were complaining about, and decided to change all the meters. Should they have changed some of the meters and not others? You people will never be satisfied until you are back in power. Dream on.

18. @ Alvin,

You are being sooo simple.

Why would an environmental NGO, with volunteer staff, and limited budget, discommode itself financially just to put in an air quality meter to determine the compliance of a motor vehicle?

Then having been disavowed of your initial stupid suggestions you shift into 3rd gear, raking a few gears in the process as if a crutch did not press the clutch, and suggest that a motor mechanic shop invest in this entrepreneurial activity “cause it does get do in Kanader”

Steupseeee

Just to entertain your folly fow a few minutes, what purpose would the certification serve? you see how minibuses drive round Barbados belching black fumes?

You does smoke ganja Alvin? I bet that that is legal in Kanader right?

19. I do not believe that the sudden spate of deaths are linked to anything sinister but we have been polluting our water and food resources for the last fifty years in the form of chemicals through spraying that i will not be surprised if there is a catastrophic fallout to the well being of the health of our citizens sometime soon. The unprecedented rise in the number of cancerous diseases especially among those of babybooming age should not be overlooked. Although the horse in this instance is long out of the stable if one examines the inside of mangoes which on the outside looks perfectly fit for consumption spraying in all forms should be banned with immediate effect if the imbalance is to be addressed for even animal dung seems to be already contaminated.

20. @ Balance

a superbly coded submission at 6.15 a.m.

You coded “The unprecedented rise in the number of cancerous diseases especially among those of babybooming age should not be overlooked. Although the horse in this instance is long out of the stable if one examines the inside of mangoes which on the outside looks perfectly fit for consumption spraying in all forms should be banned with immediate effect if the imbalance is to be addressed for even animal dung seems to be already contaminated.”

What you meant to say was

“The unprecedented rise in the number of cancerous politicians especially among the DLP party is alarming to behold. should not be overlooked.

Although the practice in this instance has long been obtaining in Barbados if one examines the system of governance and government conducted by the DLP and the BLP while external parties are shown a perfect economy fit for investment such FDi in whatever form should be avoided most aggressively with immediate effect if the corruption and ineptitude is to be addressed for even the wider society and community and common man on the block is already contaminated and the island is a cess pool of corruption”

21. These numbers were released by Dr. Adrian Lorde.

Adrian Lorde's photo.

Adrian Lorde

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…in case ya not aware, people are still complaining about being ripped off..cause ya see, many of the new meters do not read accurately , if they read at all…and instead of investigating, the joke inspectors at BWA tell the consumers, they have an underground leak, that when checked, turns out to be a lie.

There were issues in Canada with those same meters and they were rejected.

23. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

The problem with George Pilgrim and the current DLP stock is that they see themselves as more relevant to Barbados than anybody else. Trolling social media incessantly as they do has brought out the fact that they have seen more danger in the posts of Omar Watson than in these scare tactics. Foreday morning bloodbath. Water meter/ lead poisoning foolishness.
    They have all adopted the leadership style of FJS…….disrespectful silence unless it is directly about one a we. From day one the lack of Public Relations has been the Achilles heel for this bunch of SELF SERVING JACK ASSES!

24. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

Barbadians were reminded that they first had to suffer the sacrifice of Good Friday before they enjoyed the feast of Easter. To Whom It May Concern: If from around their necks came the MILLSTONE they would better celebrate the MILESTONE. Call the damn elections. Bajans ready to Tek Off Something And Pelt It Way………..wunna.

25. Well Well,
    If you want to walkabout something that was rejected, that is dangerous to Bajans, you should check out those wire barriers on the ABC highway. These were banned in Canada before the ABC highway was built, and the government of the day that awarded the contract to a Canadian Company to construct, wilfully allowed them to install these barriers. They cause death. I have a friend whose sister was decapitated when the car in which she was a passenger went into one of those crash barriers.They were banned and should never have been used, and they should have been removed. Even today so many years later they are still there. I find the Chief Technical officer at MTW very delinquent in allowing them to be still there, and even more so where, even after the crash barriers near the ‘Bermuda TriANGLE” have been publicized in the Newspapers, by the Road Safety Association, there has been no barriers, no indication of the danger of thaT STRETCH OF ROAD. SHOULD ANYBODY RUN OFF THE ROAD AT THAT POINT THERE WILL BE DEATH AND OR VERY HOrrIFIC INJURIES. CAN THE GOVERNMENT WITHSTAND A HUGE LAWSUIT?
    It is sheer lawlessness and dereliction of duty.
    Hamilton Hill, were you not saying the same thing in 2008, and 2013?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins July 3, 2016 at 6:20 PM
    โ€œThey were banned and should never have been used, and they should have been removed. Even today so many years later they are still there. I find the Chief Technical officer at MTW very delinquent in allowing them to be still there, and even more so where, even after the crash barriers near the โ€˜Bermuda TriANGLEโ€ have been publicized in the Newspapers, by the Road Safety Association, there has been no barriers, no indication of the danger of thaT STRETCH OF ROAD. SHOULD ANYBODY RUN OFF THE ROAD AT THAT POINT THERE WILL BE DEATH AND OR VERY HOrrIFIC INJURIES. CAN THE GOVERNMENT WITHSTAND A HUGE LAWSUIT?โ€

Alvin, (Walter’s new sidekick who is no longer the rose against thorn in the CLICOโ€™s side) we couldn’t agree with you more.

Would you also call for the immediate removal of the Coverley death trap which has proven its ability to claim young lives? Now how much is a huge lawsuit when compared to old Nurse Wilkinsonโ€™s claim?
    Would you also advise the dead childโ€™s mother to sue her Insurance company?

After all, the Maloney Promontory is a known illegal erection for which the same CTO and CTP have demanded its removal. So from the Bermuda Triangle to the Maloney Death Trap is just a short drive to Hades.

27. @David,
    According to Dr. Lorde’s figures the totals for both heart attacks and strokes for the year (2016) so far are down when compared with the same time last year. so as /David Thompson would say: “Don’t panic.”

28. @Alvin

That was the point of posting the information. Not sure how many have read the information and applied some basic comprehension. Of course they arek quic to spout emotional nonsense and spit vitriol based on who is the the commenter.

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David with respect Mr Blogmaster but Dr Lorde’s figures are too sparse to make any serious interpretations. The year over year decline is a good thing but….

But, what are the details for the last five years for the last 10 years?
    … are the trends down for those periods, about same , cyclical?
    … and of course one also needs to look at related types of issues like hypertension et al.

These numbers give an opening but more is needed. Alvin is an interesting scientist to adopt such a positive attitude based on such a minimalist two year data stream.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Well Well,
    If you want to walkabout something that was rejected, that is dangerous to Bajans, you should check out those wire barriers on the ABC highway. These were banned in Canada before the ABC highway was built, and the government of the day that awarded the contract to a Canadian Company to construct, wilfully allowed them to install these barriers. They cause death. I have a friend whose sister was decapitated when the car in which she was a passenger went into one of those crash barriers.They were banned and should never have been used, and they should have been removed. Even today so many years later they are still there. I find the Chief Technical officer at MTW very delinquent in allowing them to be still there, and even more so where, even after the crash barriers near the โ€˜Bermuda TriANGLEโ€ have been publicized in the Newspapers, by the Road Safety Association, there has been no barriers, no indication of the danger of thaT STRETCH OF ROAD. SHOULD ANYBODY RUN OFF THE ROAD AT THAT POINT THERE WILL BE DEATH AND OR VERY HOrrIFIC INJURIES. CAN THE GOVERNMENT WITHSTAND A HUGE LAWSUIT?
    It is sheer lawlessness and dereliction of duty.
    Hamilton Hill, were you not saying the same thing in 2008, and 2013?”

Alvin.., it’s not something I have ever been aware of…yet 8 years later, you have not petitioned your government to remove the death barriers that you are aware are deadly, has always been there. I drive up and down there while in Bim and do not know they exist as i am sure do thousands of others including tourist, you speak to government ministers, speak to them about the death and injuries waiting to happen as a result of them doing nothing to remove the threat to life and limb.

And for the 1000th time, I consider BLP an extension of DLP and vice versa, there is no difference in their indifferent attitudes to the lives of the people on the island, both groups care only for self, self-enrichment and what they could get from their sojourn as ministers who should be representing the people and not themselves….your above post proves my point.

31. @Dee Word

The point the numbers serve to clarify is that the sudden deaths of recent are NCD related. Agree that historical analysis over a longer period paints a more vivid picture of the state of pubic health. In fact the CMO promised to share the result of a deeper analysis.

On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 11:02 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

32. Whilst the numbers are more relavant than the tourists arrivals between January and March in the same two years, it would be more helpful to see some kind of measure for ‘sudden deaths’.

33. Ammmmmm….

Gents I know dat wunna chaps ent tek Lord statistics serious?

Boasie effing dem males and females for whom no ages were provided, were all 93, pray tell what use comparatively is the suddenness of said deaths if you ent dreading from NCD but you heart failing from old age?

34. @ Dribbler
    Alvin is an interesting scientist to adopt such a positive attitude based on such a minimalist two year data stream.
    What “Interesting scientist “what..??!!
    Alvin is an I******

Dr Lorde must have provided more information on his facebook release….
    Were all the ‘sudden deaths’ from stroke and heart attack? …no aneurisms, asthma attacks or other causes?
    How do the numbers compare with international benchmarks?
    What is the medium /long term trend? …what is it in other jurisdictions?
    What is a ‘normal’ rate?

Since he is being so helpful….
    Perhaps you may ask if he has any information on CLICO – was he not a Director?

35. @Bush Tea

Here is the string. Not on his friends list Smile

Annette Beckett Doc. Why then in 2015 did we not have the public spectacle of people ‘dropping dead’ as according to stats there were more deaths in men in 2015?

2 ยท July 1 at 2:29pm

John Herbert

John Herbert Did these people die? Not clear from the info given. We also await info on April to June.

2 ยท July 1 at 2:36pm

Tanya Staples

Tanya Staples Wow…that is an impressive drop in one year! What gives!

1 ยท July 1 at 8:54pm

Lynette Eastmond

Lynette Eastmond Thanks for providing this information. We need more of this.

1 ยท July 1 at 9:45pm

Julieann Greene

Julieann Greene Can we have the deaths linked to these diseases and do these numbers increase after ppl fall off the health n fitness wagon by the end of q1?

1 ยท July 1 at 9:50pm

Adrian Lorde

Adrian Lorde This is raw preliminary data. Annette, what’s happening now is nothing new. Our Social media has highlighted and the Nation reporting more. Note that more women than men had strokes and heart attacks. The age groups are not noted here, nor their ages. Up to 50% of those who get heart attacks may die suddenly.John, April to June will not show any increase in numbers of deaths. I don’t have the stats yet as to how many actually died. What I am showing that what has been highlighted now has been occurring daily in Barbados and occurred even more frequently in the past. There are 3 strokes every 2 days in Barbados! Our people are digging their own graves with their forks….and knives. The facts speak for themselves.

5 ยท July 2 at 2:40am

Olivia Phillips

Olivia Phillips I agree.200%..was arguing same in shop today…media media…omg

1 ยท July 2 at 7:27am

Julieann Greene

Julieann Greene It would be great to see the numbers for actual deaths when available.

July 2 at 2:43am

Adrian Lorde

Adrian Lorde Julieann here they are, from the NATION. Acting Chief Medical Officer, Dr Kenneth George, outlined these as acute myocardial infarction (heart attack), stroke, brain haemorrhage, acute pulmonary embolism (clotting …See More

Sudden deaths due to NCDs, says health ministry

nationnews.com|By Nation News author

July 2 at 2:52am

Annette Beckett

Annette Beckett So then the sudden deaths in 2016 are not alarming or unusual…they have just been sensationally reported!!!!

2 ยท July 2 at 3:02am

Adrian Lorde

Adrian Lorde Annette, correct. Has been happening all along.

July 2 at 3:09am

John Herbert

John Herbert Indeed we are digging our graves with our forks. Aren’t we also drinking our way there? Our excessive drinking and abuse of alcoholic beverages appears to be a real cause for concern.

1 ยท July 2 at 5:13am ยท Edited

Marvo Little

Marvo Little Thanks for sharing Doc

1 ยท July 2 at 8:54am

Maureen Graham

Maureen Graham Great info Doc . That is what the people need know.. thanks for sharing

1 ยท July 2 at 8:36pm

Sandra Forde

Sandra Forde thanks Adrian

1 ยท July 2 at 9:28pm

Shelley Parris

Shelley Parris Thanks for providing credible data! More always welcome.

1 ยท Yesterday at 12:07am

Harley Moseley III

Harley Moseley III It would be interesting to see which are 1st stroke vs repeat strokes

Secondary prevention is equally important in the grand scheme of things for all cardiovascular diseases.

1 ยท 12 hrs

Patrick Owen Estwick

Patrick Owen Estwick Thanks for the stats and facts Dr Lorde

4 hrs

Adrian Lorde

June 30 at 6:10am ยท

AddThis Sharing

ยท

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea July 3, 2016 at 8:47 PM
    Since he is being so helpfulโ€ฆ.
    Perhaps you may ask if he has any information on CLICO โ€“ was he not a Director?

LOL!! Cor blimey Bushie, you are so deadly and wickedly accurate with that one. Poor Adrianโ€™s middle stump gone with that yorker!
    The quack should try his hand at interpreting statistics to establish if there is any correlation between the suddenly diseased deceased and the number of โ€˜robbedโ€™ CLICO pensioners dying from stress and malnutrition.

If Greenverbs Parris, aka Sammy Pouchie, canโ€™t survive on his millions stashed away in the vault controlled by the mafia don Delisle how can we expect the poor CLICO pensioners who have been robbed of their life savings to fare?

In any enlightened jurisdiction those local CLICO directors would be facing some jail time to really rub shoulders and pick up soap with those sent up for dealing in marijuana.

37. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Kammie Holder July 2, 2016 at 8:51
    Most,if not all of the so-called Reconditioned Cars, imported in to Barbados from Japan , over a period of years, came in without being fitted with catalytic converters, after Japan had made it mandatory that all newly manufactured vehicles be fitted with Catalytic converters, and those already in use, be retrofitted. It was considered uneconomical to retrofit many of their used cars with the converters,and as a consequence, the converterless used cars were dumped on Barbados, and other third world countries, who do not have the first clue what Clean Emission means as it relates to motor vehicles.

38. @”Why did the government through its state agency the BWA require 72 hours to issue a press release to attack the vicious rumour?”

Because the government was foolish enough to believe that after spending billions on education that any Bajan old enough to read would know that lead poisoning does not cause sudden death.

Just less than 20 years ago we were all happily using leaded gasoline, and now we panic because some idiot with a smart phone says that lead is in the meters and that it is killing us.

Stupssseee!!!!

39. There are going to be more sudden deaths, many, many more. Because over the last 40 years or so we have given up our tradional foods and our tradional exercise. So many more of us are going to die before we reach three score and ten.

Data is already in in the U.S. (and you know how we like to follow all things American) that this generation will be the first where the life expectancy of the children will lower than that of the parents.

40. But who wants to work all day, walk a mile from the bus stop, and then cook a meal of stew food and fish.

Too much work.

It is easier to drive home in an air conditioned car and stop for some fast food on the way home.

41. There is a guy in Barbados who is 106.

Ask him how many times he has eaten at Cheffette.

Or at Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC).

Go ahead, ask him?

42. Met a “little” one this weekend.

6 years old.

145 pounds.

My mother was on her 10th pregnancy before she ever reached 145 pounds.

When this “little” one dies well before the age of 70, (maybe before 40) we will cry and call it a sudden death.

43. @pieceuhderockyeahright July 2, 2016 at 7:40 AM “I know that death is normal Blogmaster but…”

Yes Piece.

Death is normal.

Birth is normal.

Life is normal.

We were all born.

We are all going to die.

You can’t want anything more normal than that.

44. @de pedantic Dribbler July 2, 2016 at 9:07 AM “Is the poster…an absolute A-hole.”

The poster is …an absolute A-hole. (Correct)

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon July 3, 2016 at 11:20 PM
    โ€œJust less than 20 years ago we were all happily using leaded gasoline, and now we panic because some idiot with a smart phone says that lead is in the meters and that it is killing us.โ€

That “idiot with a smartphone” is no different from the same educated Bajans who believe that they can catch the โ€˜coldโ€™ from the rain or those that sprint out of the rain and gallop to be close to a fire.

Just remember that some of the greatest kill-offs in animal populations especially primates like humans can be ascribed to either badly polluted water or air.

The cholera epidemic in Barbados of the1850โ€™s is believed to have culled a significant slice of the population at the time, leading to the construction of reservoirs and associated transmission mains to bring โ€˜cleanโ€™ water to the city of Bridgetown and its surrounds.

The Montefiore Fountain is there to remind you guys of your dirty past. Next time you pass there just remember that Barbados is playing a game of Russian roulette with its public sanitation responsibilities by compromising its ability to distribute potable water effectively and collect the foul smelling garbage from the streets on which an ever increasing rat population now feels at home.

Donโ€™t you think that the drought conditions being experienced in Bim would result in greater demands being placed on the aquifers with the dregs and sludge from past pollutants finding their way to the spout of high daily demand?

46. @Past Zone July 2, 2016 at 11:22 AM “What was truly shocking is that intelligent people who know better, decided to listen to this foul mouthed, probably unemployed and low intelligence IDIOT as if he would even be in a position to speak from an informed position.The IDIOT was so dumb that he was using ice with his Guyanese white rum. But these things can be achieved with a $20 bill and a bottle of cheap green Guyanese rum. BARBADOS IS PACKED WITH IDIOTS.”

True, true.

Which is why the DLP got a second term.

And will likely get a third.

We are bloody IDIOTS.

47. @Colonel Buggy July 2, 2016 at 8:29 PM “The US Embassy in Barbados has its ears closer to the ground, or the whisky glasses, ”

Are you implying that the U.S. Embassy receives information from drunken informants?

If that is indeed true.

Then how accurate and reliable is the information?

Simple questions, from a Simple Simon.

48. Ok people.

Know your numbers.

No higher than 120/80

49. <120/80

Got it.

50. better still

112/75