Dr. Kenneth George, Acting Chief Medical Officer

Barbados Underground (BU) condemns the malicious act by agents using social media platforms to propagate the message that the new water meter installed by the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is responsible for the sudden deaths that have caused Barbadians alarm in recent weeks. Barbadians everywhere must have breathed a collective sigh of relief yesterday when the BWA issued a press release to dispel the false claim. The BWAโ€™s message was supported by the Acting Chief Medical Officer who indicated that โ€œโ€ฆpreliminary reports indicate that recent sudden deaths in Barbados were linked to โ€œthe usual causes of sudden death in Barbados and universallyโ€ฆacute myocardial infarction (heart attack), stroke, brain haemorrhage, acute pulmonary embolism (clotting in the lungs) and acute arrhythmia.โ€

The unfortunate incident affords the BU household the opportunity to offer a few observations.

Why did the government through its state agency the BWA require 72 hours to issue a press release to attack the vicious rumour? In the absence of a decisive communication strategy by the government and the BWA the rumour trended to an unproductive national discussion. We acknowledge that the BWAโ€™s Communications Specialist issued a statement a couple days ago. We also acknowledge she promised that the BWA would have held press conference.

Why has the BWA with its state of the art headquarters on the hill not posted the press release on its company website?ย ย  If there is another BWA website BU will retract. If the vicious rumour originated on social media why does the BWA not update its Facebook page as a good strategy to counter? Guess what, the BWA does NOT have an active Facebook page. If the late prime minister David Thompson were alive he would have instructed his people to share the press release with BU. He understood a little about managing information in the social media space.There is a lot the Stuart led government can learn from Joseph Goebbels who was a minister in Hitlerโ€™s administration.

To date we have had the BWA management condemning the vicious rumour. Chief Medical Officer George has supported the BWAโ€™s position based on preliminary reports. Guess what, the Democratic Labour Party through its General Secretary George Pilgrim has started another rumour.ย  In a media release yesterday Pilgrim hinted that the water rumour is possibly politically motivated to make the government look bad. If Pilgrim has evidence to support his โ€˜insinuationโ€™โ€™ BU urge him to take the evidence to the DPP.

Read full text of the BWAโ€™s release:-

Over the last few days, erroneous reports have been circulating in the social media, suggesting that there have been sudden deaths associated with lead from the new HYDRUS Ultrasonic water meters.

We want to assure our customers that there is no lead contamination of our water supply from the new meters or any other device attached to the water supply network. It should be noted that the procurement of these meters followed stringent guidelines, consultation and approval of the Barbados National Standards Institute (BNSI). We have found no proof of their being rejected anywhere.

In addition, the meters: โ€“

1. Are made out of plastic and brass connections that DO NOT contain lead.
  1. Are manufactured in Germany and have been tested and approved for use in the water supply industry for metering of cold potable water and hot water by the German Environmental Agency under the German Drinking Water Ordinance of December 2013.
  1. Meet or exceed the following specifications and testing methods as well as those in the following Standards: OIML R 49-1 Edition 2006 (E) and ISO 4064-1:2005(E)/BS EN 14154-1:2005 +A1:2007(E) Class C and Class E1 specifications including all annexes.
  1. Are also currently being used in the following twenty-two (22) countries: โ€“

Germany, France, Ireland, Spain, Austria, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, China, St. Lucia, Bahamas, Jamaica, Colombia, Brazil, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Australia, Guinea and South Africa.

The Barbados Water Authority is charged with the responsibility of providing water and sewerage services as well as the monitoring, controlling, managing and protecting the water resources in the publicโ€™s interest.

We take this mandate very seriously and over the years, we have provided and continue to supply safe drinking water that exceeds the World Health Organizationโ€™s (WHO) Drinking Water Guidelines and we have adhered to other appropriate industry standards in the choice of materials and equipment used in designing, constructing and operating of the entire water supply infrastructure.

The Barbados Water Authority in conjunction with the Environmental Protection Department (EPD), Ministry of Environment and Drainage and the Environmental Health Inspectorate of the Ministry of Health have a very comprehensive and long standing water quality monitoring program. This programme involves the bacteriological and chemical testing and analysis of water samples through the Government Analytical Services Laboratory and MDS Laboratories in Florida.

In addition, wide screen analysis of water samples is done on a bi-annual basis and includes testing for heavy metals and pesticides. The most recent samples were done in March 2016. Results from the water quality tests and analysis done over the years, show that the lead content in our water is below detection limits and meets the allowable drinking water standards. The analysis of the water samples is done through accredited laboratories. Furthermore, our water is classified as hard and tends to form a carbonate precipitate inside the pipes that would prevent lead leaching.

We again assure the public that the new HYDRUS Ultrasonic Water Meter manufactured by DIEHL Metering is free of lead and water provided by the Barbados Water Authority is safe to drink. (END)

113 responses to “Sudden Deaths in Barbados Linked to ‘usual causes’”

1. Anthony Davis Avatar

The question also is: Why did it take Dr. George so long to say something about the sudden deaths? It seems that everything must be hush hush until there’s no other way out but to let the populace know! I’m sure that everyone was wondering why there are so many sudden deaths. The Doctor should have said something when he saw how many were occurring regularly!

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Water meters being the source of the multiple deaths of young or relatively young persons gets it. Reasonable? genesis from multiple seemingly unconnected unexplainable and unexplained deaths occurring in Barbados a tourist destination.

Publishing the findings rather response on their official website would require some tact, since this will be a semi permanent record that can adversely affect that tourist destination destination reputation.

We must however accept that the multiple deaths of relative young, seemingly health people in such droves? particularly when no other Caribbean country has had such an occurrence, such would be a reasonable concern of citizens.

Let de ole man take this angle quite briefly.

Hemlock, belladonna, puffer fish extract, all have one common denominator which Socrates and Simon Bolivar attest to.

I don not wish to comment more since this can be construed as alarmist notwithstanding the ex Queens College? student on remand at Dodds.

What is factual is that we have had the deaths.

What is factual is that people are cocking up? and dying in strange circumstances

What is factual is that their causes of death have not been determined? and if determined, not shared.

In an island rock with such dependence on tourism, and with our main tourism festival weeks away, whether it be natural explainable death or a Dark Horse with a Pale Rider of the Botox variant type, one thing is sure is that this HAS FIRST TO BE MANAGED & SIMULTANEOUSLY INVESTIGATED and contained in whatever the circumstances

One would hope that we have begged our bilateral counterparts for the necessary expertise to definitively ascertain what is the cause and resources for anything else which we do pray is speculative

But to be is missive of public concern in the face of so many improbable? deaths is denying the normal response to people querying what is going on.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Makes people wonder when the governments on the island will finally grow up and act with maturity. After the third such death..read autopsy results….it was and is the responsibility of the government to have the health ministry put any rumors and fears to rest…before they started, giving the rumor mongers no opportunity to start spreading their poison, but in usual cover up mode they said nothing to the public…and gave the gossips license.

Government can take the blame, their jobs, in case they are not aware, are to stop the rumors before they start, not backwardly say nothing then when rumors spread like wildfire, opt for damage control, but will they learn from their stupidity.

The government is too lackadaisical in matters of national importance, it’s been a couple years tgey talked and talked, then rejected breathalyzer testing for drunk drivers, a very deadly mistake, now that the questionable CGI Insurance is introducing it, thr fraud Dumbville Innis thinks it’s a wonderfully unique idea….the jackass, the state is responsible for such initiatives to protect the citizens , not reject them as unimportant and when one of the local crooks implement it years later….expound on the genius idea, which is nothing new…goddamn idiot. When will government ministers start doing their jobs.

Will Peter Harris now hire police to stop motorists on the road who may be driving drunk.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/07/02/way-to-go/

4. there is nothing to say here!except that since this govt was elected there are some among us who are bound and determined to sabotage the national interest of the country with actions deem-able to those of terrorist activity
    The million dollar question in my mind are who are these actor/s of evilness and whose purpose/s are they serving and why now ?

5. @David
    TO answer all your questions, persons in “power” do not believe in communicating proactively. We are a society that says the more information I can keep, the more powerful I am. Lastly, NO ONE in power or authority appreciates the reach, leverage and advantage of the internet and social media for productive purposes. Actually, I think they could care less.

The mantra of Barbados is “when the going gets tough, keep quiet.”

George is clearly in election mode

Just observing

6. Yes important questioning as why it took so long for govt to activate a press release but the answer may lie in when govt knew of this malicious information. i would venture to say /guess that some of the mainstream media mostly might have accessed to the information first then relating such information to govt . The time period of when officialdom issued relevant facts on the bogus story hinges on speculation since no one has provide information as to when govt first knew of the malicious and political propaganda
    Hence as usual they would be always those who would prefer to lite fires while kicking the political can along the way

7. @PUDRYR

You have not read the Chief Medical Officer’s report in the press?

What we know is that the media has highlighted a number of deaths. The Chief Medical Officer has punctured the message that the number is unusual.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

AC, AC, AC.

This will fast grow into an exercise in futility if we go Dow your route of propaganda and bringing down this government track.

I affirm that I am contra the “DLP” but I affirm I am also the “BLP” and and LP (Leroy Parris or Labour Party) which is contra Barbadians.

Every effing paper has the death of these relatively young people blazoned across its front page when it happens.

3 really bab curse words and a fecundity, you mean that the effing guvment would have to wake up to a body in dem bed like the head of the prize horse in the Godfather to realize that there is a problem brewing?

We are an effing tourist defendant economy woman, you gots to be on top of things and by things I mean guvment business and not botsies and female rabbits!

More and more these people in power your DLP shows that after wunna get peeple help winning de general election, wunna was not prepared to govern, steupseee

This is like you saying to the people of Barbados post an infectious outbreak of a new variant of Ebola that, ” the Enmore clinic that you had set up next to St Ursula’s, was not ready for use and had fallen into disrepair, since government only became aware of the existence of the variant after malicious information was circulated about the disrepair”

Do wunna effing job and protect the people and stop doing this 9years of hush hus cause, in the age of the Internet, it is not working for you

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Honourable Blogmaster

I have not seen his press report yet and would have read it if I did.

But tell me, did he indicate that people falling down and dreading like flies while walking around was normal? in Barbados?

I know that death is normal Blogmaster but how many is it now?

Look at a For Immediate Release communique ” from the Office of the Chief Medical Officer. The following are statistics of natural deaths of Bajans over the last 12 month first disaggregated by parish and by age, we also have appended cause of death and location of death (at home, on a work site etc) in a second table but, for reasons of confidentiality, we had not joined the two tables. Readers will see that people of all ages are dying and, many did in their sleep or after strenuous activities etc and while rare, the incidence of death while just walking etc, as in the case of Dr. ***, happened in his garden post a recent operation on a collapsed lung. When such happens we conduct post martens etc but, where the part was elderly and or seeing a medical practitioner we perform these procedures…”

“In the case of police matters, blah blah…”

But that would be in cases where we have people who wuk King and on top of their job

10. Sir early morning ranting a d raving is not the answer , There was a a question of Timing brought to table in the article visa via govt response. it befuddles me as to what your reasoning be as if to say that a dead body found in officialdom bed would be a wake up call for govt to respond in a timely fashion
    Further more the article hovers over a fact of malicious findings which alters my interest of wanting to know who are the demons of these vile and vicious attacks on the country .A question which seems more pertinent to the overall safety of the country

11. corrections alters should be “alert “

12. Yet another discussion about to be destroyed because of political scales.

Goeorge Pilgrim needs to shut the hell up!

If he has evidence hand it over to the DPP or CoP.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC pimps…the maliciousness and rumor mongering strarted because government ministers sat on their asses and did not do their jobs, not even to put out a take care of health warning..Dr. Alert took it on himself to do that…read, the government enabled and feuled the gossip by doing and saying nithing…pimps.

BTW…did I not tell yall Innis and Harris were business partners. ..there he is bigging up Harris of CGI for doing what the government should be doing, securing the roads from drunk drivers….bit Inniss did not pus the legislation through parliament, it’s one of the island’s known corrupters he says will give it that push, what are the ministers being paid for….to big up crooks of course.

I would trust some of what social media say even some gossip mongers any day or anytime over Inniss or any other minister or politicians. ..gossiping did get results in this instance, it got the government to move it’s lazyass. I might not agree with everything said…but credit where it’s due.

Yall lazy, good for nothing parasites on the taxpayers.

14. The honourable thing to do is for all those on social media and websites to remove the offending articles linked to this matter and which have been proved too be malicious and untrue.Bear in mind the original story contained the word rumour.

15. @ David
    Barbados Underground (BU) condemns the malicious act by agents using social media platforms to propagate the message that the new water meter installed by the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is responsible for the sudden deaths that have caused Barbadians alarm in recent weeks.
    WHY are you condemning the ONLY action that manages to get our authorities to do their damn jobs?
    You are something else….. Boss

From the first time that Bushie heard that rumour (which ANY IDIOT could see was nonsense) it was clear to Bushie that it was an exercise in frustration by concerned Bajans ..who wanted some kind of response from those who have the facts.

That the bunch of jackasses were able to come up with releases in a few days tells us that we are dealing, not only with sleeping, clueless donkeys, but that they are a pack of lazy female canines too…

Steupsss…

Bushie is telling you now …that the reason why our Courts are as ineffective as they are, is that aliens and Anunnaki have taken over the minds of the top officers and judges, and the legal system is actually under the control of drug lords.

Can you put this SERIOUS rumour out on facebook ….PLEASE…???
    In a week we may even get a full official disclosure on what has gone wrong with justice for the last twenty years… and how it will be fixed…

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Your article is spot on!

The instigators of this despicable rumour need to apologize. Simple logic suggested that it could never have been due to the water or the new water meters and the statement from the Ministry of Health should put it to rest.

This is one rumour that has no reasonable attribution to politics.

17. Thank you Honourable Blogmaster

People dying is a fact of life no pun intended but people dying thus in “the open” so to speak, is cause for reasonable concern”

You know something Blogmaster the Caucasian understands damage control better than we do, to the degree that it is actively employed to disband any opposition or motion against anything that has happened, in utero.

Alligator kills white child, signs change? “We’re sorry”, “management will be doing X to ensure that y will not happen ”

Black man, similarly challenged “these are malicious lies” “the perpetrators are against Barbados, they are seditionists and not loyal” ” de BLP done it before” “where you does wuk, guvment? PS so and so fire such and such a body”. Dis feller Pigrim ent too bright.

I going ask Dr Georgie Porgie about the relationship between the percentage of while in your eyes that shows and idiocy. I dealing with too many statistics Blogmaster ad de ole man tink dat thyroid gland deficiency got something to do with it

18. @Bush Tea

What is scary is the validity given to a FB posting by thousands of Barbadians although the original poster who was clear to state it was a rumour.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…I am glad someone noticed…and if those same people had googled lead poisoning, which is a constant staple in NYC from lead paint, they would know the poison works it’s way through the body for years, affects the brain with damage……and other organs, but is not known to drop you dead suddenly…at least not yet.

20. @ David
    Rumour shiite!!
    PEOPLE ARE FED UP!!!
    Only a dumb, sleeping Froon can fail to see that….

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David at 7:15 AM # re “What we know is that the media has highlighted a number of deaths. The Chief Medical Officer has punctured the message that the number is unusual.”

Moreover, not abnormal generally the world-over.

I must admit that the details did not jump out at me when the deaths were first reported. So I was amazed by the wild comments that there was some sinister connection and then that said connection was water-meters.

I am always wary of @Pieces’ suggestions as often they portend so much more. However, in this case he does appear to be going off on a fast, carefree gallop.

@Pieces: A brief scan of the WWW showed a UWI Med School at Mona study (period 83-97) which actually gives the type of analysis you desire above. And of course that level of detailed analysis can be found in most ‘developed’ societies. Frankly I presume it is also there for Barbados.

For years we have been accosted about the failures of bad habits leading to diabetes and other illnesses. The stats are there for example which spoke to our high level of amputations. Even in that news release there were brief comparatives on sudden natural deaths in the last few years… and these recent deaths were almost the same for the relative periods.

Can there be a major issue to investigate? Maybe. But in the absence of anomalous data the speculative public discourse becomes standard scare mongering…

And opens the door to politicians and others to attribute all types of motivation.

BTW, in that UWI report Jamaica had experienced around 56/year ‘sudden deaths’ over the 15 year review period. Those numbers actually pale in comparison to our half year numbers of an avg 23+ based on the populations of the two islands but the review was also over 20 years ago so surely those numbers (with better analysis) have changed.

22. Most deaths could be considered โ€œsuddenโ€ or there wouldnโ€™t be enough hospitals to host sick people. When I was growing up many people died of what in the local parlance was called โ€œbad feelsโ€ and what we have now is a spate of people collapsing and dying in public places and the local fish wrap rushing to print sensationalist headlines without following up to investigate the actual cause of death. Recently I read a story about a middle age woman dying at home and this was hinted at as unusual, as if we are only supposed to die when we reach some milestone known only to the editors.

I am not surprised that a rumour has spread linking the deaths to water meters, water meters mean Govโ€™t so letโ€™s make political hay on the unfortunate deaths of people by promoting some sinister connection to water meters. If there is an effect there must be a cause even if the cause makes as much sense as the moon being made of green cheese.

23. Kammie Holder Avatar

The Future Centre Trust has expressed concern about the lack of more comprehensive testing of the water supply to the Ministry of Environment in keeping with international best practices. Recent hysteria by bajans came about because of a lack of info from authorities and a quest to know. I must say the understaffed government Environment Protection Department treats all information that is of public concern as national secrets. Below are some of the concerns I have raised in the past.

1) Roadside contaminants from vehicle exhaust

2) Chemical usage in water zones such as Bell area and a lack of proper policing for chemicals disposal . ( Saw heaving spraying of Sugar Cane fields next to Bell Pumping Station during heavy rainfall, EPD was nochalant about my concern)

3) How many of the Chinese imported cell phones meet acceptable WHO SAR levels?

4)Who checks that vehicles imported into Barbados meet international standards on vehicle emissions?

5)Diesel fumes has been link to a genetic mutation that can trigger diabetes and other endocrine ailments?

6) Chemical laden imported vegetables.

7) No one likes spotty bananas for infused gas ripened bananas look nicer.

8) GMO products have infiltrated the food supply.

9) Even the GOB buying inferior quality drugs

GOB WAS INSTRUCTED TO HAVE A SEED BANK 3 YEARS AGO BY DR…. AND IT WAS AGREED BUT NEVER DONE, HOWEVER DUE TO THE LAZY TALKERS OUR INDIGENOUS FOOD CROPS STOCK IS NOW AT AN ALL TIME LOW.

I will provide some further info on vehicle exhaust contaminants dangers.

24. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Lack of information leads to insecurity, and that insecurity is reinforced by rumours.
    (old military mantra)

25. @David
    What is scary is the validity given to a FB posting by thousands of Barbadians although the original poster who was clear to state it was a rumour
    +++++++
    Lies, damn lies and statistics. 98% literacy, that is one statistic that should be thrown out the window

26. Kammie Holder Avatar

ummary of Findings

Air Pollution and Human Health
    Scientific experts now believe the nation faces an epidemic of illnesses that are exacerbated by air pollution. These illnesses include cardiovascular disease, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, lung cancer, and diabetes.
    Children at Special Risk

The American Academy of Pediatrics has concluded that levels of ozone and particulate matter are high enough in many parts of the U.S. to threaten childrenโ€™s health. (1) Eleven million U.S. children live in areas that exceed one or more federal air quality standards; 9 million children live in areas where ozone standards are exceeded; 3.5 million children live in areas where the particulate standards are exceeded, and 2.8 million children live in counties where the carbon monoxide standard is exceeded. (2)

Elderly at Special Risk
    Cardiovascular disease, hypertension, diabetes and cancer are all ill-nesses disproportionately borne by the elderly. Nearly one-half million Connecticut residents are over 65 years of age.

Asthma
    Chemicals in vehicle exhaust are harmful to asthmatics. Exhaust can adversely affect lung function (3,4,5,6) and may promote allergic reactions and airway constriction. (7) All vehicles, especially diesel engines, emit very fine particles that deeply penetrate lungs and inflame the circulatory system, damaging cells and causing respiratory problems. (8) Even short-term exposure to vehicle exhaust may harm asthmatics. (9,10,11,12) Asthmatic children are particularly sensitive to air pollution. New England states have some of the highest asthma rates in the country. About 9 percent of Connecticutโ€™s youth have the disease. (13) Inhalation of vehicle emissions, even for short periods, may be harmful to asthmatics. One study found that children are 40 percent more likely to have an attack on high outdoor pollution days. (14)

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
    Vehicle emissions are particularly harmful to people afflicted with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), such as chronic bronchitis. Significant and replicated associations have been found between increased ozone levels and a range of adverse effects on the lungs, (15) and several studies have shown increased risk of hospital admission from COPD associated with high ozone levels. (16) There is also a relationship between the levels of PM10 and morbidity (17) in patients with COPD. These associations were noted in Philadelphia, where the major source of these particles is motor vehicles. (18) Fine particle matter is especially harmful to people with COPD (19, 20) and has been found to increase their hospital admission rates. (21) High levels of PM10 are also associated with increased morbidity among those with the illness.

Cardiovascular Disease
    Mortality and hospital admissions for myocardial infarction, congestive cardiac failure and cardiac arrhythmia increase with a rise in the concentrations of particulate and gaseous pollutants. (22) As concentrations of airborne particles increase, those with cardiovascular disease may experience increasing severity of symptoms, rates of hospitalization, and mortality. (23) The risk of having a heart attack is greater for people exposed to pollution from heavy traffic, as well as for those living near air-polluted roadways. (24)

Cancer
    Vehicles emit numerous carcinogenic chemicals. Diesel contains benzene, formaldehyde, and 1,3-butadieneโ€”all three are well recognized carcinogens. EPA estimates that vehicle emissions account for as many as half of all cancers attributed to outdoor air pollution. (25)

Diabetes
    Increasing levels of air pollution are associated with rising mortality rates among diabetics. Because of the overlap between diabetes and cardiovascular disease, the nature of this association is not yet clear. (26)

Air Pollution Increases Mortality Among Susceptible Groups
    Air pollution kills more Americans than breast and prostate cancers combined, (27) and the premature deaths associated with particulate matter pollution alone are comparable to deaths from traffic accidents. (28) Air pollution is a serious and growing threat to the health of Connecticut residents. We estimate that nearly one million of Connecticutโ€™s 3.5 million residents experience one or more of these illnesses, some without knowing it.

Vehicle Emissions
    Mobile emissions that are believed to present the greatest health risk to Connecticut residents include ozone, particulate matter, acetaldehyde, acrolein, benzene, 1,3-butadiene, formaldehyde, and diesel exhaust.

Ozone and Motor Vehicles
    Motor vehicles emit millions of pounds of hazardous pollutants into the air each year in the U.S., including volatile organic compounds and oxides of nitrogen (NOx). These chemicals form ozone in the presence of sunlight.

Fine Particulate Matter
    Fine particulate matter is a serious threat to human health. Fine particles can aggravate both heart and lung diseases. Those with diabetes, older adults, and children are especially sensitive. Fine particulate matter is responsible for several tens of thousands of premature deaths annually in the U.S. (29) and is measured at levels above federal air quality standards in Connecticut. (30)

Diesel Exhaust
    Diesel exhaust is especially dangerous, containing nearly 40 hazardous pollutants. The mixture contains carbon particles that are exceptionally small in size, less than one micron. These fine particles may be deeply inhaled into the lung and carry with them a collection of attached hazardous compounds. Diesel emissions increase the severity and duration of asthma attacks.

Diesel Emissions
    The California Air Resources Board concluded that diesel emissions account for the majority of cancer risk created by all outdoor air pollution sources in the state. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that childrenโ€™s exposure to diesel exhaust particles should be decreased and that idling of diesel vehicles in places where children live and congregate should be minimized to protect their health. (31) School bus particulate emissions sometimes exceed the federal PM2.5 standards by as much as ten-fold.

Averaging Air Pollution
    The government is allowed to average some pollutants across long periods of time. For example, PM2.5 is permitted to be averaged over 24 hour intervals, and the 24-hour averages are then averaged over three years, before compliance with federal standards is determined. The results mask serious high pollution episodes. Medical scientists have determined that much shorter-term exposures, measured in hours or minutes, are potentially dangerous to susceptible populations, such as those with cardiovascular, respiratory, and other illnesses.

Air Quality Monitoring Deficiencies
    Government understanding of the severity of air pollution depends upon what is being monitored and where the monitoring occurs. Air quality varies across space and time, and is dependent upon climatic conditions. It is poorest, but may not be monitored, where traffic is most intense, normally where highways slow near urban areas, near construction sites, and where trucks, buses, and cars tend to concentrate and idle: schools, hospitals, shopping centers, truck stops, warehouses, ports and shipping facilities, oil tank farms, rail stations, bus terminals, and where gas and diesel powered vehicles are used within warehouses or ships.

Diesel Fuel Consumption
    Use of diesel fuel doubled in the U.S. between 1982 and 1998. The demand for transportation fuel continues to rise throughout the nation, particularly for diesel fuel.

Fuel Economy Stagnation
    In the last 15 years, there has been little improvement in the miles per gallon (MPG) rating of cars and light trucks. The average MPG achieved by trucks has remained the same for the last 30 years at approximately 5.5 miles per gallon.
    Highways as Air Pollution Corridors
    Highways are recognized by scientific experts to act as three-dimensional corridors of air pollution containing many hazardous chemicals.

Fuel Oil Consumption
    Home heating fuel is essentially the same as diesel fuel, although the sulfur content is higher. Connecticut is exceptionally dependent on No. 2 fuel oil for heating purposes, and last year ranked fourth in the nation in raw consumption at more than 660 million gallons. By contrast, 230 million gallons of diesel fuel were used for transport purposes. Connecticut ranks first in the nation in fuel oil consumption per square mile of state area. This means that diesel pollution will be most severe where residential and traffic density are highest. It also explains the high particulate counts routinely measured in areas where population density is high and where multiple traffic lanes funnel into single lanes. Chronic traffic congestion leads to chronic human exposure to known hazardous air pollutants.

PM2.5 Non-Compliance
    Fine particulate matter in Connecticut exceeds federal air quality standards. (32) During the first six months of 2005, levels of fine particulates, or PM2.5, in New Haven, Connecticut, exceeded the federal standard for 70 days, roughly 40 percent of the time.

Ozone Non-Compliance
    The entire state of Connecticut exceeds the eight-hour ozone standard. (33)
    Connecticutโ€™s Dependence on Motor Vehicles
    Fewer than three percent of Connecticut residents walk to work, (34) and 45 percent of all Connecticut trips under a half-mile are made in a vehicle. (35) Connecticut residents spend on average 70 minutes a day in their cars, often breathing this polluted air. (36)

Connecticut Citizensโ€™ Proximity to Highways
    One in three Connecticut citizens live within a mile of an interstate highway. As many as 70,000 of those residents are under the age of five. (37) In addition, 37 percent of the stateโ€™s schools are located within a mile of an interstate highway. (38)
    Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT)
    C
    onnecticut residents own nearly three million vehicles, and travel nearly 31 billion miles each year. Each year residents put more miles on their vehicles in a year than ever before. The number of vehicles driven in the state is also growing. Between 1995 and and 2000, state residents increased the miles driven by 10 percent (39) and this trend is expected to continue. The number of Vehicle miles traveled (VMT) in the state is projected to rise by another 12 percent by 2010 and by 27 percent by 2025. (40) The increase in VMT in recent years has overwhelmed the technological advances made with respect to vehicle emissions reductions. (41)

Idling and Wasted Fuel
    The U.S. Argonne National Laboratory estimates that about 20 million barrels of diesel fuel are consumed each year by idling long-haul trucks. Estimated truck emissions total about 10 million tons of CO2, 50,000 tons of nitrogen oxides, and 2,000 tons of particulates. (42)

Natural Resources
    Canada estimates that idling a light duty vehicle for 10 minutes a day uses an average of 26.4 gallons (100 liters) of gas a year. Assuming Connecticut has approximately 2.2 million light duty vehicles, if idling time were reduced by 10 minutes per day for each, nearly 58 million gallons of gas would be saved per year, along with $145 million in fuel costs per year if one assumes that gas costs $2.50 per gallon.

Vehicle Emissions and Climate Change
    Vehicle emissions contribute to air pollution generated from the combustion of fossil fuels from many other sources, including the burning of coal and oil in power plants, incinerators, home heating oil, and construction equipment. The combustion of gas and diesel fuels produce greenhouse gases that are contributing to local, regional and global climatic changes. A recent study published in Science analyzed more than 900 scientific articles listed with the keywords โ€œglobal climate change.โ€ Not one disagreed with the consensus view that humans are contributing to global warming. (43) Little initiative is expected on this issue at the national and international levels of government. Connecticut has the potential to become a leader among states in reducing these gases.

Carbon Dioxide
    Carbon dioxide (CO2), considered the largest contributor to greenhouse climate change, accounts for more than 80 percent of U.S. greenhouse gas emissions. One-third of these emissions come from the transportation sector. (44) Carbon dioxide emissions originate almost entirely from fossil fuel consumption, and two-thirds of U.S. fuel consumption is used for transportation. (45)

http://www.ehhi.org/reports/exhaust/summary.shtml

27. The damage has already been done. The govt necessary initiatives to control the damage has been put in place by relevant sources. Those are the facts. Now what needs to be told and address with immediate attention by govt is a plan of action to find and arrest these monsters is presently undertaken. Nothing short beyond or above such actions those of which are the highest level of responsibility to its citizens towards safety would suffice

28. Kammie Holder Avatar

The BWA may need to address the blue pipe thats exposed to UV that causes oxidation of said blue pipe. Pipe should be buried at least 18 inches.

Those who love bottled water need to be concerned about the incorrect storage of bottle water for many are exposed to sunlight during storage and transportation. BPA is not your friend.

Where is BPA found?
    Polycarbonate plastics have many applications including use in some food and drink packaging, e.g., water and infant bottles, compact discs, impact-resistant safety equipment, and medical devices. Epoxy resins are used as lacquers to coat metal products such as food cans, bottle tops, and water supply pipes. Some dental sealants and composites may also contribute to BPA exposure.

How does BPA get into the body?
    The primary source of exposure to BPA for most people is through the diet. While air, dust, and water are other possible sources of exposure, BPA in food and beverages accounts for the majority of daily human exposure.

Bisphenol A can leach into food from the protective internal epoxy resin coatings of canned foods and from consumer products such as polycarbonate tableware, food storage containers, water bottles, and baby bottles. The degree to which BPA leaches from polycarbonate bottles into liquid may depend more on the temperature of the liquid or bottle, than the age of the container. BPA can also be found in breast milk.

Why are people concerned about BPA?
    One reason people may be concerned about BPA is because human exposure to BPA is widespread. The 2003-2004 National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES III) conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) found detectable levels of BPA in 93% of 2517 urine samples from people six years and older. The CDC NHANES data are considered representative of exposures in the United States. Another reason for concern, especially for parents, may be because some animal studies report effects in fetuses and newborns exposed to BPA.

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David at 8:21 AM # “What is scary is the validity given to a FB posting by thousands of Barbadians although the original poster who was clear to state it was a rumour.”

I am glad to see that you are a serious fellow when it comes to the power of the nuclear bomb of social media.

Now, excuse my facetiousness here.

But its not only the US, Russia and a few others who got this nuclear power but every bad-word JA like ‘one a we’. I don’t think you or any other blogger would accept even practical curbs or sanctions to stop ‘inopportune’ detonations and frankly I am not yet aware of any method to ‘un-ring’ the peel of a bell. It sounds, you hear it, you react, it eventually stops.

Apologize how? About what exactly? That they intended to create mayhem.

Take @ Well-well’s remark at 8:25 AM (which was exactly what came to my mind along with that Flint issue) and the stupid rumour is the worst kind of terroristic scare for a tourist dependent country like Barbados.

Is the poster ‘fed-up activist’ or really an absolute A-hole to perpetuate such a stupid and very ‘dangerous rumour’ .

Now the BushTea rumour is solid fed-up-ness. I too would await the press release from that one.

30. Kammie Holder Avatar

People no need to worry. What we have is greater awareness due to social media and a more alert mainstream meadia very sensational in reporting.

As a person in the insurance field I have seen a spike in death claims from. two a quarter to one a month

31. Now permit de ole man to do a cross track here regarding Non Communicable Diseases.

Dr Oscar Jordan, the late Dr J. Of the Maria Holder Complex at Warrens championed an active NCD management program which presents a comprehensive testing and management Programme for you me and Sam Pouchie to get a test on our health stats for $200

1/3 of the price of your Crop Over Costume!!!

Let the Management of that institution remark here on the uptake of what is the average out of four Digicel mobile topups and we will come to a better understanding of the priorities that our populace endorse over their health.

But you say a to say b.

You been to the Barbados Government Information site? What does it feature? Is this an information portal or a propaganda site

Do a search on how do I register a business

Fatal error: Class ‘FluidCache_Standalone_template_file_sub_content_template_business_877c4d0dd9d2e57a9a234b7187f96316e9bb5c4c’ not found in /var/www/html/typo3/sysext/fluid/Classes/Core/Compiler/TemplateCompiler.php on line 62

In fact go through the site and tell me if its layout makes sense to you.

Yet this is the gateway that is, in their words, “is the official communications arm of the Barbados Government.ย This Department is responsible for the dissemination of public information to the various news media and the general public.ย “

32. @Dee Word

The folly of this water meter business is that many who should know better shared the original post of a man saying he prefer to drink rum than drink our water. The same jackasses drink bottle water everyday and we know the stories published about said quality. It only takes one jackass to shout fire in a crowed room.

33. Kammie,
    Why do you think that the vehicles imported into Barbados would have different emission standards from those sold in North America?
    Barbados has over 115,000 vehicles registered. They are ALL imported.. What do you propose should be done about this? Enough information is out there, for everyone to know the dangers posed by emissions from these vehicles. Have you folk (Future Centre Trust) ever thought of setting up a facility to do vehicle emission testing? It would not take too much in terms of the equipment and your organization can work with government to do the testing, through your own facility. Why must you people always expect Government to do EVERYTHING?Stop complaining about Government and do something on your own. I have given you an idea run with it.
    As far as the “rumours” about lead causing people to drop down dead suddenly; or as has been said: “The Doctor should have said something when he saw how many were occurring regularly!” (How many? how regularly?) the experts; BU contributors, should have been able to dispel these rumours from the time they started. The “experts” should have been able to list the “causes of “sudden death”, in the absence of Post Mortem findings; such as pulmonary embolism, cardiac arrhythmia, stroke, cerebral embolism, diabetic complication, heart attack. There have been four sudden deaths within the last month, and each could have been due to a different syndrome. Investigations take time and it is unwise to issue bulletins prematurely. It is best to take time until ALL investigations; including laboratory tests; macro and micro, toxicology, and physical evidence, are completed before issuing definitive findings. People have gone to sleep apparently well and died in their sleep. Because it has happened during the day or in the open is not a symptom of anything sinister. And the idea of Water Meters being a contributing factor is the most ludicrous idea I have ever heard. Barbados has had piped water, through lead pipes since the early part of the century. If people can now express such concern about lead poisoning causing sudden death I wonder at their level of understanding about anything.

Colonel Buggy,
    “Lack of information leads to insecurity, and that insecurity is reinforced by rumours.”
    Our population has unfettered access to the internet. All information is on the internet. Use it to educate yourselves, check information for ourself snd dispel rumours individually instead of speculating.

34. Such malicious and vile actions should be stopped and not be encouraged or excused as some would like to suggest as the doings of fed up social activist. Such extreme activism akin to terrorist activity hell bent to derailed the economic future of a country cannot be seen as normal or tolerated as a normalcy which advocates a right to free speech
    Those who would advocate any of the above as rightful are playing into the hands of creatures of terror and ought to be aware of the dangers felt by society in general by such devious actions

35. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Will someone point the ole dim man to the offending blog per the water meters?

While I have not seen it tell me if a simple pop up by our BGIS per this serious issue not on our puerile BGIS site?

I am reading through Mr Kammie Holder’s list of environmental time bombs and I am positively shocked.

Read what he lists there!

In the absence of water the fool is thirsty.

We have to promote the dissemination of information to the masses of Barbados as a norm and a right.

It is alright to come here and talk about “fear monger ing” and all that pup but if Freedom of Information is not employed as a modus of normality and Freedom of Expression is now being subtly and not so subtly curtailed we are moving rapidly to being educated, technologically inventoried dufuses of the first order.

I does see water bottles going to people office in the back of a truck for the whole day in the sun. But Mr Holder is saying that the combination of sunlight and the bottle’s material can be harmful!

Wunna doan feel dat All citizens should be entitled to That? or the VIN number of a vehicle recalled in the States etc? Let us get serious man

Let fear mongering be the aberration to the norm where it is our norm that information is there for government, whom the people are, to see rather have easy access to as part of the norm of being governed

I am not asking for heaven but at least let a man know whu he dealing with instead of us here begging to be told what is going on

Disinformation is also a good tool but we shall see if the pattern of NCDs “regularizes” or changes

36. @ Alvin

Looka you

Future Centre trust must set up a Laboratory to duplicate The Barbados National Tandards Institute and monitor the compliance of the multiplicity of environmentally dangerous substances that the ministry and our EPA officials are supposed to monitor and interdict on as per their jobs..

We move from the sublime to the ridiculous with such ease.

If it is outlawed in America why is it allowed here?

That is the simple point That Mr Holder the Activist who, because of his successful campaign against the Cahill Potential Genocide Crew led by Minister Lowedown, destroyed.

Nothing was going to stop you Alvin and your band of murderers with regard to the WTF Assification project of unproven and costly and dangerous technology which was going to produce something more dangerous than lead.

Wunna tink dat people gots 9 day memories but some of our scvunts are cursed with a continuum of remembrance that would drive your hypocritical donkeys mad though you got remembrance too, only thing it is selective and totally supportive of the Demonic Lying Party.

All Power to the Posters and all Power to Barbados Underground

37. @ Pieceuhderock,

http://www.bnsi.bb/

38. @ David
    No mystery is right.

Someone once asked a ‘real real’ Bushman …”what shall be the signs of his coming back…”
    Among the signs he gave were…
    “…. there shall be signs in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars; and upon the earth distress of nations, with perplexity; the sea and the waves roaring; Men’s hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken.

This stress thing is a lotta shiite hear…?!!
    …and there are PLENTY reasons to be stressed…

39. @Bush Tea

Let us hope the muck up caused by the ‘rumour’ will mobilize our leaders to act. In this case there was no need for te Chief Medical Officer to have taken 3 weeks to issue a statement. Within hours the BWA or minister Eswick should have publicly addressed the matter.

40. @ David

What was truly shocking is that intelligent people who know better, decided to listen to this foul mouthed, probably unemployed and low intelligence IDIOT as if he would even be in a position to speak from an informed position.

The IDIOT was so dumb that he was using ice with his Guyanese white rum. But these things can be achieved with a $20 bill and a bottle of cheap green Guyanese rum. BARBADOS IS PACKED WITH IDIOTS.

41. @Past Zone

Here is the bit that makes you boil, that confirms we are into rhetoric.

Here is the DLP read the party responsible for government, calling for a probe. What jackassery!

's photo.

42. @ Pieceuhderockyeahright,

“Site off-line
    Barbados National Standards Institution is currently under maintenance. We should be back shortly. Thank you for your patience.”

Sorry if you clicked on the link hoping for a “fleur” but this is serious. I was hoping to find a recent test of pipe water in Barbados.

43. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

I just saw the item.

It came from Washington DC.

Three things.

It was “staged”

It was a comedy by some fellers on the bloc with serious content which could be misconstrued

But all that being said it show what mere seconds of “a message” done IN THE ABSENCE OF AN OFFICIAL STATEMENT BY OUR AUTHORITIES, can do.

It has circumnavigated the globe, 6,000 miles rather from Barbados to Washington and back, to the world of willing listeners.

A wise PR firm would have taken said video and edited it and made it into their own tool to deflate the well constructed joke/satire or dark genre homour

It is or should a lesson to the authorities that nature abhors a vacuum and like humour composed for the Daphnee Hackett production of Lauf It Off, it shows the power of the Internet.

A for ingenuity, A for Content, A for outcome.

The BWA rather the Ministry chap had to come out and say something.

If you politicians will not listen to us by one means, we will MAKE YOU HEAR US BY THE NEXT.

EXCELLENT OR WOULD YOU HAVE PREFERRED THE T&T EXAMPLE AT THE RED HOUSE MY THE JAMAAT.?

44. Are made out of plastic and brass connections that DO NOT contain lead.

Are manufactured in Germany and have been tested and approved for use in the water supply industry for metering of cold potable water and hot water by the German Environmental Agency under the German Drinking Water Ordinance of December 2013.

Meet or exceed the following specifications and testing methods as well as those in the following Standards: OIML R 49-1 Edition 2006 (E) and ISO 4064-1:2005(E)/BS EN 14154-1:2005 +A1:2007(E) Class C and Class E1 specifications including all annexes.
    Are also currently being used in the following twenty-two (22) countries: โ€“

Germany, France, Ireland, Spain, Austria, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, China, St. Lucia, Bahamas, Jamaica, Colombia, Brazil, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Australia, Guinea and South Africa.

45. “The most recent samples were done in March 2016.

Results from the water quality tests and analysis done over the years, show that the lead content in our water is below detection limits and meets the allowable drinking water standards.

The analysis of the water samples is done through accredited laboratories. Furthermore, our water is classified as hard and tends to form a carbonate precipitate inside the pipes that would prevent lead leaching.”

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I also just saw your picture of the newspaper ad

You see how stooped these people are?

It is as if since they have gotten into power two things happened simultaneously

One.

“A 165-year-old law in the United Kingdom that threatens anyone calling for the abolition of the monarchy in our case we replace this with government, with life imprisonment is technically still in force and this probe (which I wonder bears any relationship to the probes these ministers are taking) would suggest that all uh we BU-ians including Walther PPK, going get life imprisonment and another sort of probe.

Two.

Sometime in 2007 Barbados has passes a Bill and a prohibition against lรจse-majestรฉ since their Rise to Office

“The DLP shall be enthroned in a position of revered worship and shall not be violated. No person shall expose the DLP to any sort of accusation or action.” “Whoever highlights the ineptitude of the Democratic Labour Party, in any forum, shall be punished with life imprisonment or fifteen years whichever is the greater

Mia Mottley, Leader of the Troika in waiting has also adopted this lรจse-majestรฉ law in anticipation of her own envisioned rise to the throne as is evidenced by her own comments about ammmmmm …’respect for institutions more specifically the people in those institutions who would wiretap their own Prime Minister”

47. @PUDRYR

EXCELLENT OR WOULD YOU HAVE PREFERRED THE T&T EXAMPLE AT THE RED HOUSE MY THE JAMAAT.?

We should be very careful not to enter a place where the end justifies the means.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I see the water skit as a joke like how the interview with the terrorist with the news reporter with the subtitles is a joke or the one with the Iman giving an interview on the party of speech that F**k can be used as, jovially.

Charlie Chaplian comes out and slip on a banana peel and people laughed even though someone risks breaking their back

Man with false cast on broken cast fondling woman and causing her to slap other man, while demeaning a woman, was also a joke, at the time.

Throwing away water and turning off pipe with threat to stop water bill also joke.

Tourism destination or otherwise we can decry it as possibly having an effect on tourism but you know what, it is a wake up call to the powers that be that today’s world is a lot smaller because of the Internet

Soldiers understand war and the idiocy that was the Somme, while glorified by some, DOES NOT TRANSLATE INTO transposing a Maurice Bishop action here.

They must understand that they have a job to do and since we can’t tame them by the ballot box any longer since they now practice lese majeste, they have to know that they can be tamed by national and international shame and blame tactics or is such only reserved to Al Barack? because of the quantum of cash owed?

Redress and Equity