Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

roadtonowhereWhat an inept West Indies Cricket Board and a bunch of jokers for selectors on a road to nowhere. I just happen by chance while turning around in the kitchen, to hear one of the selectors say that hardly anyone was at Kensington Oval watching the cricket and that it was very disappointing.

Well, what do they expect? Bajans are very knowledgeable about their cricket and if the selectors continue not to select the best team regardless to whom they are playing, even if we qualify as a minnow like the current West Indies team; then West Indies cricket will always be at the bottom of the ladder.

How can you be playing One Day Cricket against teams like Australia and South Africa and not be playing your best players like Gayle, Russell and Simmons because of a dumb archaic rule? You are playing at home and have the advantage of calling up other players to fill the void such as opener Kraigg Brathwaite, J L.Carter or the Barbados wicket keeper S O. Dowrich who scored runs against the same Australians and yet the selectors continue to play the same team, game after game.

How can you say that you select a team for the first four games? What happens if you lose the first three, are you saying that you are not changing the team? No wonder the West Indies Cricket Board continues to do as they like because they are not accountable to anyone but themselves. One thing for sure, I know that I am one person, who is not going to watch West Indies cricket or breakup my nights rest to listen to commentary about a bunch of second rated cricketers.

I have not gone into Kensington Oval since it has been remodelled because of the poor standard of cricket, and I cannot ever see myself going to watch the West Indies, unless the high standard of cricket and cricketers that I grew up watching, return from those glory days when cricket was cricket. It is sad to see that my boycott in 1992 at Kensington Oval against the board and its selection policies improve has gone to nought.

126 responses to “West Indies Cricket Dilemma”

1. That commentator, i’ll bet, lacked the intestinal fortitude to call for the firing of the members of all regional bodies.

If ever there was a metric of institutional failure it must be the management of WI cricket, in all ‘territories’, as measured by plumingting attendances over many years.

They have savagely destroyed all that was WI cricket. We have been consistent in calling for the use of a certain device from the French Revolution to make these matters right. LOL

And this is what is wrong with Barbados, the Caribbean, too many people are frightened for too few elites.

2. 215/3 ………………. beaten again………………3 times in a row!

Fire the Board/s.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE FELLOWS HAVE RECENTLY BEEN PLAYING A LITTLE BETTER, EVEN IF NOT AS WELL AS IN THE GLORY DAYS

4. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Gotta be up at 3am and just got out of the shower after wasting the whole afternoon watching this disappointment of a performance.Even though I knew how pathetic our bowling is(particularly the so called fast bowlers) I didn’t expect such apathy. There are girls that play softball here that pitch quicker than anyone in our squad. Yet they persist with short pitched bowling. I propose to let Pollard take over as captain. The vacant spot can be taken by Ashley Nurse. 282 runs and the captain turned in a performance reminiscent of batting practice.

5. Most cricket boards in the Third World are roiled by political infighting. Read the newspapers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa.
    The excuse that cricket is mismanaged, and that the selectors are not choosing the best players is BS. The reality is that the sport has become more technically precise and demanding than it used to be, and “raw talent” is no longer good enough to produce a winning team. You need quiet discipline and a lot of brainpower as well, both of which are in short supply among the West Indian lower classes, which produce most of our talent.
    We should scale back our participation in international cricket — there are too many matches — and let individual players make money working in other countries.

6. chad99999 June 21, 2016 at 9:18 PM #

The excuse that cricket is mismanaged, and that the selectors are not choosing the best players is BS. The reality is that the sport has become more technically precise and demanding than it used to be, and “raw talent” is no longer good enough to produce a winning team.”

@ chad99999

I have to agree with your above comments. Many people argue about WI cricket based on emotion and not statistics.

The reality of the situation is that these “best players” people always refer to, have been representing the WI for a number of years and the team has been languishing at the bottom of the rankings for the duration of years these guys have been playing.

Let’s look at one of the so called “best players,” Dwayne Bravo, who has been around WI cricket since 2004.

164 ODIs with an average of 25.36
    60 T20I…………………………..24.51
    310 20/20s………………………25.50

After 10 years of ODI cricket (2004 to 2014), Bravo has 2 ODI centuries.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Chad45 your statement is obviously meant to be provocative and draw response so let me oblige. When you state emphatically that “[y]ou need quiet discipline and a lot of brainpower as well, both of which are in short supply among the West Indian lower classes, which produce most of our talent.”

And preface it with “”The reality is that the sport has become more technically precise and demanding than it used to be, and “raw talent” is no longer good enough to produce a winning team” you surely are being deliberately provocative.

Cricket no more requiring of discipline or brainpower than when Clive Lloyd started his revolution. It can be argued that a lot of the ‘discipline’ and cricket ‘brain power’ seen today was first exposed and implemented in a big way under his guidance: the dedicated physical training; mental skill development (Dr Webster); targeting the captain of the opposing team and so on.

In fact let’s be honest and say that those metrics started under Kerry Packer and Lloyd built on them studiously…as other have built on what he did and gone to higher levels.

And of course the amount of cricket just fundamentally demands better fitness and discipline but we had all of that before others were as diligent.

So to suggest that West Indians ‘lower class’ is incapable of meeting that challenge when we fundamentally are the ones to start that ball rolling is ridiculous. Very few of the cricketers of Lloyd and Richards era were NOT from your so called ‘lower class’.

8. well well well

9. @de pedantic Dribbler
    I am not trying to be provocative. The West Indies needs successors to Clive Lloyd, who can improve on his methods, but we have not produced them.
    For winning matches, bowling is even more important than batting. Compare the bowling you see today with the deliveries of Curtly Ambrose and Charlie Griffith. Case closed.

10. when u have people at de top, who never plaed marble cicket, shell sheild cricket, fudda moe gully cricket , what inspiration can they give to any cricketer? not let me ask this: who aussie, englishman, sri lankan, indian, etc etc gine coch w.i to beat their own? when we rule de roost for years in test & odi cricket? man let we get back to de …..

11. Tickets were expensive (although I got mine free) nevertheless, I gave mine away and went to St. Martins Bay..! My way of protesting against the selectors..!
    The snapper meal was quite nice!

12. We do well in the shorter form of the game because our best players hone their skills globe hopping to play in the best tournaments. It explains why we perform poorly in Test cricket. Also the Future Homes approach by the ICC means we will never have money to develop the game.

13. “For winning matches, bowling is even more important than batting. Compare the bowling you see today with the deliveries of Curtly Ambrose and Charlie Griffith. Case closed.”

Although what you write have some merit in that sides have to be bowled out to obtain a result; on the other hand if batsmen do what they are paid to do like the Australian batsmen yesterday then batting proves to be more important. In times past good batsmen used to bat no matter how good the bowlers were. The fourth test match played here at Kensington between Australia and West indies in 1964-1965 is a case in point. The Australian openers put on 382 and Australia scored 650/6 against a high powered West Indian bowling attack including Hall, Griffith, Sobers, Gibbs. The West Indies replied with 573. This was generally the pattern at all levels of the game because batsmen used to bat for long periods and very often matches were drawn which eventually led to the introduction of sixty and then the fifty over format because there were growing complaints that test cricket was becoming boring.

14. I fully endorse your comments above Artax

15. I think the board and selectors should bite the bullet and fire Jason Holder as captain. while a captain is as good as his team; a captain more than anyone else ought to be an inspiration to the team. He ought to step up to the plate and lead the way thereby earning his keep. Mr Holder is either underperforming or cannot perform. He seems to have bitten off more than he can chew. An already depleted team cannot afford a non-performing captain.

16. Hamilton Hill Avatar

There is a culture of indiscipline that runs throughout West Indies cricket,and it is very bothersome.Case in point.In a previous game we saw where Keron Pollard was ran out by the keeper’s throw to the now let’s end.That was the third time he had lackadaisically jogged through for a single. In yesterday’s game he did it again, only this time he was actually facing the play.As a senior member of the team such is most unacceptable. Then the idiotic and most uninspiring defense of score that by any standard would have provided a fighting chance.

17. The Brazil soccer team just failed to get past the first round of Copa America.

And the manager was unceremoniously fired, immediately on return to Brazil.

Now, West Indies cricket has been dropping players and firing managers for decades and still failure persist, as can be measured from attendances.

We say this management problem is too deep to be fixed by the usual methods. We have to get to the root, employ the basic principles used when we were successful, with adjustments. But the management structure, as presently exist must be rooted out, ruthlessly!

18. ..Cricket is an elaborate, antiquated, nonsense-game that has outlive any 20th century usefulness it may have had.
    ..Then there is no such entity a ‘The West Indies’, so any such ‘cricket team’ is an assault on our common sense, and guaranteed to crumble.
    ..Nobody in the region knows anything about marketing sport, so attendance depends on people being so bored that they end up at cricket.
    ..Finally, by paying such high salaries to players- INDEPENDENT OF PERFORMANCE, selection has become a matter of ‘sharing the money’ around, – rather than putting winning combinations together.

In sum, …a lotta shiite.
    Cricket is infected with the same disease as politics and governance in the region.
    …so much so that even confirmed brass bowls have lost interest…..
    Not even AC went….

19. @ Bushie

You don’t have to be brutally correct.

Yuh gine tek way everything from dah one time! LOL

Give some of us some space to dream………..live in ignorance nuh

20. Bushie

You must be careful dey don’t start calling you a nihilist.

The nihilism is what the world has imposed on us all.

But the person who used that word in relation to Pachamama may include you as well.

21. Bushie

Did you know that the ICC gave the WICB(C) responsibility, 25 years ago, to develop cricket in all of the Western Hemisphere.

Not unlike all other systems.

25 years on ……………………… nothing.

Yuh right as shite but we are the people who recently wrote about ‘No Humans’. It’s better for you to make this case than us.

We agree 100%.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

balance June 22, 2016 at 5:55 AM #
    I think the board and selectors should bite the bullet and fire Jason Holder as captain. while a captain is as good as his team; a captain more than anyone else ought to be an inspiration to the team. He ought to step up to the plate and lead the way thereby earning his keep. Mr Holder is either underperforming or cannot perform. He seems to have bitten off more than he can chew. An already depleted team cannot afford a non-performing captain.

=========================================================================
    we had sammy as non playing captain for years
    give Jason a chance and leave him alone. thank you

Bush Tea June 22, 2016 at 7:08 AM #
    you are correct when you opine ……Cricket is infected with the same disease as politics and governance in the region.
    …so much so that even confirmed brass bowls have lost interest…..

your mention of AC is blasphemy

Cricket began as a game when the English milk maids would throw pebbles to hit their three legged milking stools called “wickets” which one of the maids sought to defend. It has developed to what we know and is now played in nearly every part of the world today, and in the most remote and picturesque locales.

Cricket is not a game and requires a great deal of discipline to be proficient thereat.
    We have a legacy of athletic players from the days of Constantine
    We had skilled players who became proficient by playing a lot. We lost some games and we won some games while playing what was called ‘Calypso cricket.”

LLoyd was fortunate to lead a team filled with “county cricketers” who learned the vageries of playing every day in changing conditions to which they learned to adapt. They had the trainer to keep them fit, and the scholarly Dr Webster, who had also played lots of cricket. Also at that time salaries were increased a lot- a major incentive.
    Post LLoyd, the selfish Lara destroyed the work ethic of the team by having the trainer fired and demoralising team mates by his lack of man skills.

it is amazing the facilities for training and practice that is available to would be cricketers in many parts of the world, China included. We are far behind

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Our problem is that we are seeking results so much that we seem not to work on processes to get there.

I once had a Pharmacology class in which I told the students
    1- come to class and listen carefully
    2- go home and read the power points twice
    3 work through the quiz I have given you for each class

I over heard one moron saying “I not learning anything.”

2 week later the jack ass was heard in the lunch room saying “We learning in truth, I can answer all the questions in this book.”

Diligent following of proper proceses will reap rewards

24. One of our problems in WI cricket is that we continue to confer “hero” status on indiscipline, inconsistent cricketers who want to do as they please, only to be represented by regional prime ministers, such as Gonsalves of St. Vincent and Mitchell of Grenada.

“Marvelous” Marlon Samuels, as the media likes to call him, made his ODI debut against Sri Lanka at Nairobi, on October 4, 2000. 16 years and 182 ODIs later, “Marvelous Marlon” has 10 ODIs centuries. Yes, 10 ODI 100s in 16 years.

Kieron Pollard’s first ODI for the WI was against South Africa on April 10, 2007. As one of our “best players,” Pollard averages 25.77 after 96 ODIs with 3 centuries.

Pollard has made a name for himself in the 20/20 format of the game. But after playing 45 T20 internationals he averages 22.13 with a high score of 63 not out.

After playing 312 Twenty/20 with his highest score being 89 not out, Pollard averages 31.25.

Jos Butler of England, for example, played his first ODI against Pakistan on February 21, 2012. During his 4 years on the cricket scene, Butler has played 71 ODIs with a high score of 129, 4 centuries and averages 36.36.

If we are honest with ourselves, we must admit that Samuels and Pollard are failures, and it boggles my mind that we continue to call these guys “our best player.”

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Artax
    what you have said can not be refuted
    Contrast this with the advent of Haynes in ODI and test cricket or Gordan Greenidge or Kalicharan in tests

26. @Artax

You comment is factual but it is not where the problem is rooted. The player is the outcome come of a process that calls for several inputs.

27. I must admit that the WICB is indeed deserving of criticism.

Mike Findlay was appointed team manager of the WI team for the tour to England in 2007, on May 3, 2007. There were reports of some players exhibiting bad behavior, which Findlay wrote in his report. The bad behaved players’ were retained and their identities kept secret, while Findlay was not given an opportunity to manage the team thereafter.

After seeing WI team lose the 2011 ODI world cup semi-final to Pakistan by 10 wickets, then Coach Ottis Gibson expressed the view that the senior players should have shown more commitment to the team’s efforts. This caused Chris Gayle to cuss Gibson and the WICB.

This is the same Gayle who, as captain made similar criticisms of Ramdin, Pollard and Dwayne Smith, when they made poor shots to be dismissed resulting in the WI losing a match.

Mounting pressure from heads of regional governments, especially Gonsalves of St. Vincent, forced the WICB to fired Gibson. He was immediately retained as England’s bowling coach. Our loss…. England’s gain.

Rather than discipline players for bad behavior, the WICB prefers to keep their identities secret and allow them to remain in the team.

Gayle openly said he does not believe in curfews as stipulated by team management. Fans agreed with Gayle, using the “analogy” of Sir Garry being able to party all night and score runs the following morning. Once again, the WICB bowed to pressure.

Shiite, how anyone in a sane frame of mind could dare compare Chris Gayle with Sir Garry Sobers? Okay, some would argue Gayle has two triple centuries (317 against SA, match drawn and 333 against SL, match drawn as well). Yet , and the end of both series, he did not gross 400 runs.

These are examples of why a spineless WICB should be CRITICIZED continuously.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Artax
    you are speaking of discipline which leads to consistency– you can not be refuted

I had a Zoology teacher at BCC. i dont know if I learned any ZOOLOGY from him. But one day while he was not teaching he released one of the greatest teachable moments in my academic career

He said when I was at Mona preparing for finals in Chemistry, I knew that I did not know the Group 4 elements in the Periodic Table, so every time I went to the bath room I took my book and read about Group 4

4 years later when I was preparing for finals in Chemistry, coming up the exams when Redifusion came on at 6 each morning, I studied 2 of the transitional elements for an hour each day, and I did that for 4 weeks.

Similarly I did the same thing when preparing for the HISTOLOGY SPOTTER. i BORROWED A MICROSCOPE AND A BOX OF THE 5O TISSUE SLIDES WE NEEDED TO KNOW

i READ 10 SLIDES EVERYDAY ALONG WITH THE TEXT FOR 5 DAYS PER WEEK. IT WORKED!

DISCIPLINE APPLIED CONSISTENTLY LEADS TO SUCCESS.

29. To expand the point made earlier about how the ICC Future tours program that has added to the problem of WI cricket. The big markets like Australia, England, India etc get to keep money generated in their markets. The downside obviously is the negative impact this has had on the finances of the West Indies. This has the knockon impact on coaching programs at the lower levels and other ancillary support. Then there is the cost of sponsoring competitions to support development and related. Cricket as a sport has changed, we have many of our best players not interested in 4 day cricket, in fact several have retired. The thrust of BU’s perspective on cricket is that we must widen the discussion from only focusing on the player or captain. A well organized system will produce the best players.

30. David

Those are well thought out reasoning.

The kinds of excuses we hear from bureaucrats all the time.

If these were the problems. Problems which could have been foreseen no doubt, then you must tell us why in 25 to 30 years the WICB has not been able to develop the vast north American market. A market, dollar for dollar, has more potential than the former colonies in Asia, as mentioned by you.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PACHY

Why does Root COOK Kohli Williamson Smith Warner etc perform consistently WELL and our players perform consistently POORLY?

32. @Pacha

Yes we have an irrelevant governance structure, yes we lack resources, yes we lack a semi / professional league to engage our home based players, yes we have a dwindling spool to select from, yes we have societal norms that have shifted etc etc. Hope you get the point.

33. GP

When a team performs poorly………………management or leadership must take the blame.

The WICB has never taken any blame, paid the requisite price.

We don’t know that we want to make such a broad comparison, they will be exceptions.

For example, Jason Holder is/was potentially the best all-rounder in the world. Instead of nurturing him, on and off the field, the mismanagement of the Board in making him captain before he had fully established himself and his individual career, and be able to command a play in his own right, is likely to ruin maybe the best talent in a generation, at least since Lara.

GP, you supported that decision while we made the argument as outlined above. Are you still wedded to the view that Holder should have been made captain then?

So the answer is, a misguided leadership of the organs of the WICB for the differentials you cite.

We see the PM of Grenada, we think, seems to agree that the whole Board structure must go.

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

pacha
    i like jason man lol

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“For example, Jason Holder is/was potentially the best all-rounder in the world. ”

Beyond him being, as you are, a Bajan, may you supply any evidence at all to support this outrageous statement?

36. @ Georgie Porgie

David BU wrote:

“To expand the point made earlier about how the ICC Future tours program that has added to the problem of WI cricket. The big markets like Australia, England, India etc get to keep money generated in their markets. The downside obviously is the negative impact this has had on the finances of the West Indies.”

Do you know the reason why “The big markets like Australia, England, India etc get to keep money generated in their markets?”

Cricket similarly to any other sport is also a business, and as with any business, the stakeholders have a priority to make the product viable to maintain a demand. Several international companies and media houses sponsor cricket and would obviously want to realize a return on their “investment.”

One of ICC’s commercial partners, for example, the Star Group, comprising of Star India and Star Middle East, is the ICC’s global media rights partner. “The Star group has defined India’s broadcast media over two decades and today broadcasts more than forty channels in seven languages, reaching more than 650 million viewers every week across India and around 100 other countries.”

Cricket Australia has approximately 17 commercial partners that are actively committed to the ongoing promotion of cricket in Australia. If you were to analyse the magnitude of this sponsorship, you would realize that WI are way, way behind.

Let me give you an example. “Accenture is the Official Digital Technology Partner of Cricket Australia. They provide Cricket Australia with digital transformation capabilities in support of their drive to provide enhanced digital experiences directly to cricket fans. Cricket Australia now offers fans a high-quality, feature-rich live streaming service that enables fans to watch domestic and international games played in Australia on the go, via their mobile, tablet and digital enabled devices.”

Do you honestly think the WI cricket team could ATTRACT such SPONSORSHIP and be HIGHLY REGARDED in the ICC’s future tours program, when:

• The team, inclusive of “the best players,” is often beaten within 3 days of a test match.
    • The players are suffering from “chronic inconsistency.”
    • The players often “snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.”
    • The team has been languishing at the bottom of the rankings for the past 20 years.

With this in mind, the WICB has not been able to establish any programs to facilitate and sustain the development of WI cricket.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WELL SAID ARTAX

38. @Artax

It does not matter how revenue is generated in the big markets the problem for WI remains. The ICC at the stroke of a pen may determine how money is allocated between members just like how FIFA and the IOC do it to keep less financial members afloat. On the flip side we have the asinine arrangement where most of the revenue of the WICB is distributed to the top tier players, the balance left for development.

We continue to blame the captains and the players who have to globe trot to pay their bills. The problem sits squarely with successive boards responsible for the leadership of cricket. Leaders are suppose to lead.

39. @Dee Word

Want to read your views on this subject for obvious reasons.

40. “For example, Jason Holder is/was potentially the best all-rounder in the world”
    Nonsense

“Instead of nurturing him, on and off the field, the mismanagement of the Board in making him captain before he had fully established himself and his individual career, and be able to command a play in his own right, is likely to ruin maybe the best talent in a generation, at least since Lara.”

makes better sense

41. @ Jeff
    …by using the word ‘potentially’, Pacha’s evidence need only be his subjective judgement.

Wuh potentially, Bushie could become the ruler of the whole world…. 🙂
    …or at least the bush-whacker-in-chief.

42. @ Bushie

Thanks. And we think that ‘potentially’ you would be the best ruler of the world too! You will potentially do better than most.

@Jeff

We liked/like him the same way as a lot of people. For example, we thought Carl Hooper was one the prettiest batsmen to ever play, but he never made much. A near total failure.

And we still dream about the 300 plus Lawrence Rowe made at Kensington. Or Lara’s 151 against Australia with Warne and Macgrath coming at him all day and the night before.

Seriously, we believed Holder had potential. Our basic point however is that because of the culture of mismanagement and politics of the WICB he is now potentially a failure, as has been many before.

It was GP who supported him when he was made captain. We thought he should have been given more time to be trained in management on the field and to develop his own career to command his place in the side. Before becoming somebody’s wet dream in the Board’s political shenanigans he knew not of.

43. @ Jeff

And Holder should not be unique, we should have a cadre of players with leadership potential given the required training, exposure.

The Board must stop seeking to use the captaincy as a mechanism to control what happens on the field.

44. Answer this question to appreciate a significant problem for the managers of WI cricket.

Why is the WICB forced to issue NOCs to our best players?

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

can anyone tell me why does Root COOK Kohli Williamson Smith Warner etc perform consistently WELL and our players perform consistently POORLY?
    why is marvellous Marlon and Bravo so consistently POOR

ARTAX WHAT YOU WROTE BELOW IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    Do you honestly think the WI cricket team could ATTRACT such SPONSORSHIP and be HIGHLY REGARDED in the ICC’s future tours program, when:

• The team, inclusive of “the best players,” is often beaten within 3 days of a test match.
    • The players are suffering from “chronic inconsistency.”
    • The players often “snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.”
    • The team has been languishing at the bottom of the rankings for the past 20 years.

With this in mind, the WICB has not been able to establish any programs to facilitate and sustain the development of WI cricket.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82496/simmons-satisfied

Listen to this cricket failure speak. The man is of the same ilk as a certain sardine tot retriever

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David when you see your friend the sardine tot retriever show him this report so that he would learn how thoroughbreds write odes to hero doctors.
    Note that the author obviously know the person and about the person.
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/23/dr-anne-st-john-a-medical-gem/

48. @ GP

OK, we generally agree.

How do you see this failure impacting on Jason Holder, as captain, player?

Is it now fair, for him too, as a sometimes captain, to take any of this blame.

And if he is worthy of some blame, how could this effect his once bright future.

Always remembering that you were a stalwart supporter of his elevation. And please remember, that as captain, there is the principle of collective responsibility.

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Pachy
    i DONT SEE SIMMONS HELPING JASON
    THE BOWLING COACH MIGHT
    BUT JASON HAS TO HELP HIMSELF AS AN INDIVIDUAL ACCORDING TO THE PRINCIPLES I ENUNCIATED WHICH I LEARNED FROM MY ZOOLOGY TEACHER
    HE HAS TO DAILY PRACTICE ELEMENTS OF HIS ROLES TO THAT HE BECOMES ADEPT THEREAT

I DONT KNOW WHAT HE COULD DO FOR THE COLLECTIVE
    ALSO I AM NOT SAYING THAT YOUR OPINION MAY NOT BE CORRECT. LOL YOU MAY VERY WELL BEE CORRECT

50. @GP

So why would he be captain if you think he can’t be helpful to the team. Other individuals.

This is anathema to all the principles of teams, team roles. What they call leadership principles.

Why does he, Jason, have to be captain to develop himself, as player?