The failure of the West Indies cricket team to make it through to the semi final stage of the ICC T20 tournament appears to have caught West Indian supporters by surprise. One would have thought a team with the track record of the West Indies cricket team in the last 12 years would  NOT have provoked such an uproar. Surprisingly even the unperturbed Captain of the West Indies Chris Gayle was driven to apologize to the West Indian people. Bear in mind, Mr. Duckworth Lewis was very generous to the West Indies in the preliminary game against England. Does anyone believe the West Indies would have scored 190+ to win that game?

As expected the region’s media has been having a field day carrying several opinions of regional cricket commentators echoing the plight of the West Indies team and offering the usual feeble suggestions to the way forward. In a nutshell, much of the outpouring of opinions and commentaries in the various media can only be described as high order flatulence aka bovine excrement.

BU was reminded to check the International Cricket Council (ICC) website to seek confirmation of the West Indies cricket team’s current world ranking. To no great surprise there was confirmation that of the 12 teams with ICC rankings, the West Indies occupies a distant number 8 position behind Pakistan with Bangladesh in tow.  To paint the picture, the four teams which trail the West Indies cricket team in the ICC Rankings are: Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Ireland and Kenya. Again, did we reasonably expect West Indies to win the ICC T20 competition?

It is no secret the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has been in rebuild mode for the last fifteen years, since the glory years of the Clive Lloyd and Viv Richards era. The fact our teams have failed miserably for so long should reveal to our cricket administrators the urgent need to overhaul the blueprint; however no such luck if we are to judge from recent comments. Our administrators, media and fans continue to heap abuse on our captains, coaches, selectors and the WICB. The fact that we have sacked captain after captain, coach after coach, change selector panel after selector panel, and had new directors on the WICB Board in the last 12 years has done little to make clear the message that there are other issues which need to be addressed.

To be successful in the game today requires our cricketers to be consummate professionals. To become professional the system which we need to farm our cricketers must be designed, funded and managed to achieve the desired outcome, i.e. produce professional cricketers. Can a Barbadian cricketer who learns his cricket playing at Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) competitions or playing two day cricket on weekends, with the occasional regional competition thrown in, expect to compete successfully on a consistent basis with those teams at the top of the ICC Rankings? BU shouts loudly, NO!

Regional governments were suckered by first world governments into spending half billion dollars to build cricket stadium and infrastructure. A debt subsequent events has confirmed we cannot afford. Cricket is a sport which now competes with many others, especially out of North America. Our respective governments in the region cannot justify the current level of spending on cricket given the fading interest in the sport. Similar monies spent to improve football, a mass based sport would have been a more prudent decision. We however have some time for the other side of the argument that recent innovations in cricket on the limited-overs variety may breathe new interest into the game from non-traditional sources.

The point we hope to make is, the current model being used by the WICB is not working. Perhaps its lack of success reflects the dearth of leadership which prevails in the region. When all is said and done it is a game which has brought joy to West Indians. This is best summarized in the Dave Martin, Tradewinds classic Cricket in de Jungle.

And he turn to de crowd and he said very loud,
“let me tell yuh, allyuh talking about hit de man,
but allyuh backside inside de stand,
send some other jackass to bat, dis jackass finish with dat.”

46 responses to “Jackasses All Braying In Unison”

1. I am happy I was borned just the right time to experience some of the heyday of west indies cricket supremacy. Now and again I watch a few old matches just to reminisence on the glory days. To tell you the truth, I have sold off my emotional investment in the West Indies cricket team about 10 years ago that right now I couldn’t name five players on the team. I just couln’t handle the pain and embarrassment anymore so I detached myself from the game of cricket generally.

But the question I would like to ask is what went wrong? It couldn’t be that we are short of talents. Bim has produce some of the greatest cricketer per square mile in the world. Why are the youths not interesting in the game anymore? Where is the pride, determination and the killer instinct of former icon likes of Viv, Holding and Marshall in the present team? I am sorry but if we cannot get our act together we should wither the team and try another team sport ( probably american baseball ) because I am tired of talking about west Indies cricket team in the past tense.

2. Zion
    I was never an ardent cricket fan. I find the game rather boring. I prefer the 20-20 games now where you get a quick result but yet I’m no fan. I was around when Sir Gary and Wes Hall and the likes were reigning supreme. I think that the decline started around Richie Richardson captaincy time. I could be wrong. It’s a money thing now though. I mean, why go and brek a sweat, when I could go and play a lousy game and still be paid handsomely. After all. You feel that they would be more committed if they were paid according to how they perform. Just curious.

Anyway, I did and still do love Carl Hooper to every fault. He’s so sweetttttttttttt.

3. @zion1971

What went wrong?

US cable became a feature in every home and our youth became hooked on Michael Jordan and the like.

We also lost many of our males from the primary school level.

4. Back in the glory days which i have read and heard about those men had love of the game and country as a motivating factor in making them win. Those factors can’t be bought with money and it is going to be hard for west indies to recapture those glory days ever again because the motivating factor is Money and that alone cannot make a wining team.

5. David
    There’s cable in every home in Germany too but what I’ve noticed in Germany is that as soon as a toddler can walk he is given a football to play with. It’s a real thrill to see these little dots playing football and can hardly stand. So it is in their veins even before they know what the game is about. Don’t blame the cable. The youngsters just don’t seem motivated enough plus the nonsense that the WI cricketers are playing leaves much to be desired.
    The W.I womens’ cricket team seems to be just as pissy as the mens’ too. Maybe it is something contagious. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

6. Back down memory lane, feel the pleasure, then the pain…

Note the joy of West Indians in the Garner video

7. @Bonny Peppa

Maybe Germany is not a good example.

This is a country with a strong domestic football league where young Germans can pursue career opportunities.

Added to which we are referring to a people whose patriotism to the flag has been forged by war and other deeds.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

This same team beat England real bad in Antigua in October 2008.
    What was the difference then?
    Besides pay there was serious training and discipline!
    Cricket is more than a game. It is a discipline!

Disciplined players with relatively basic talent do well. e,g Larry Gomes, Chanderpaul etc.

Most of the players who played between 74 and 91 were professionals who were playing county cricket and had learned immensely from the players with whom they played.

I read an article recently in which Viv Richards spoke of the things he learned from the veteran Brian Close.

In contrast………..the talented Lara could not play a full county cricket season, nor have I heard of many saying that they have learned much from him.

Now I am not saying that this is the full story.

9. @ Bonny peppa you too bad. Carl Hooper was alright.

@ David. you probably right about the cabe invasion with american sport. I guess then it is a generational thing. We should then encourage the youth then to take up basketball . Remember their is some serious dough to be made in the NBA if you can shoot a hoop.

10. Are we serious? How can we honestly expect to achieve the same results as teams who have groomed PROFESSIONALS from early both mentally and physically with a system of professional sports tournaments and facilities on a continuous basis.

Let’s take Rihanna as an example, she is not the best vocalist Barbados has ever produced, but her talent was identified and more importantly NURTURED by professionals in a system which has a proven formula for producing superstars in that craft i.e. the US music and recording industry. Doesn’t this mechanism sound familiar to the county cricket system where many of our great cricketers from the region were able to overlay professionalism and diverse cricket knowledge e.g. cold conditions effect on the wicket etc on their natural talent? Do we have this important polishing process today? How can you honestly expect a man to work 40 hrs a week on a totally unrelated job, play 8 hrs of cricket on the same poor pitch, then expect to beat teams where the time spent developing their craft is totally different. We serious? Look at Dwight Yorke and the Trinidad and Tobago football team as another example. When they made the world cup 4 years ago, the key players were the ones that played in the MLS, EPL and SPL. It’s obvious man, we need our talented players to hone their craft in the best leagues of the world, which for cricket, clearly do not reside in the Caribbean. Truth be told, they never existed here. English county cricket has a FAR MORE IMPORTANT role in the West Indies success of years past than the WICB.

The only exception to this is Jamaica and Track and Field, where they have developed the facilities and training to hone local talent for world success. WICB needs to learn some lessons here in how to develop professionals!!!

11. Call a spade... Avatar
    Call a spade…

The West Indies no longer has a “team”: it has a fragmented assortment of 11 individuals, each striving for their own recognition and stardom. As long as they shine individually, that’s all that counts. If the team doesn’t win, it is “somebody else’s fault, because I held up my end.” With this kind of attitude, the Windies can only win on those days that all of the “stars” are in alignment. We need an astrologer to help us, not a coach. No coach will ever succeed; no matter where he comes from. GP is right: the major issue is discipline.
    We have talent, but talent is a knife: discipline is the whetstone on which is must be honed. Gayle is up and down like a toilet seat. He is a selfish player. We don’t need more Gayles; we need more Chanderpauls.
    Much of this is our fault as fans. We are so quick to reward stardom by putting people on pedestals and treating them as icons. And it’s not only in cricket. Particularly in Barbados, we still have a type of national insecurity that drives us to find heroes; we are in such a hurry to find them that one might even say we “manufacture” them. Our cricket players have cottoned on to this.

12. @Call a Spade
    Can you be more specfic on the word “discipline” for me it conjures up in my mind a correction for mis behaving , Look in the glory days of cricket these men were selfmade professionals . To them the game was more than a sport it was an art well crafted in their thinking, In order to achieve that spirit of thorough professionalism the player must be able to sustain a high level of unselfishness which cannot be taught or be discipline. The game itself becomes a way of life for them and the newgeneration of westindies crickets doesn’t have that kind of mechanisim.

13. The “one man show” mentality has been hurting the regional team ever since Brian Lara’s time; very little was done to resolve it then and it has only grown worse with new distractions such as the various 20/20 competitions and the IPL. These guys should take a leaf out of the USA’s Olympic basketball “Dream Team’s” book – they are all superstars of the game in their own right, but they recognise when to put their egos aside and do what is best for their country. That’s what this bunch of jokers presently masquerading as the West Indies cricket team needs to do.

14. @bajandave
    Never happen. love of the money supercedes there love of the spot

15. @ac Can you be more specfic on the word “discipline” for me it conjures up in my mind a correction for mis behaving

Pardon me speaking for CAS above, but surely ‘discipline’ in this context is quite easily defined.

The willingness, attitude and action to do what has to be done to excel in the specific endeavour at hand.

This is now necessary in anything, whether studies or sport, to excel.

That is life.

16. @Crusoe

The training of the art to a person to perform is all that discipline would have accomplished . However i agree that attitude is paramount in order for the person to deliver sucessfully and you either have it i.e good attitude or youdon’t.

17. Interest excerpt in the news this morning which quotes Captain Chris Gayle as saying that the series against South Africa will be the last opportunity for some batsmen to deliver. He went on to say that players from the West Indies A team will be drafted in and he named Darren Bravo. It is interesting that Gayle would want to name a player even before he is selected by the selector panel. What a bunch of jackasses.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe
    Surely the several meanings of the word discipline is to be found n any dictionary.

The etymology of the word is the Latin discipulus= a student.

The sucessful WI team of the 70’s and 8o’s included men who were disciplined in the game by studying its various aspects during several years on the English county cricket circuit.

Many tear away fast bowlers who went to England learned to cut thier pace and turn to swining the ball more. They learned how to use the atmospheric and weather conditions.

They learned how to acess cricket grounds in terms of size and shape and to adjust to suit. On some grounds it is possible to run 3’s and 4’s, etc

Discipline is about learning the several intricate aspects of the game. Cricket is the most complicated game invented. It is more than just bowling and batting and fielding. At the highest level thinking and patience and endurance are the disciplines needed to suceed. Many skilled persons dont make it at the very highest level because they have not learned these things.

O the other hand the most sucessful have.

e.g Greg Chappell said and practiced that PERFECT PRACTICE MAKES PRACTICE. He and his brothers praticed thier batting using a stump. They figured that if they could middle the ball with a stump they could middle it with a bat.Greg said he batted in thenets as if it were a test.

Gavaskar: The art of batting is to know which ball not to play. His discipline was concentration and patience.

Kallicharan; I stay at the wicket so that I can execute my strengths

Tendulkar had bowlers bowl to him from half pitch to try to improve his reflexes.

Richardson had men bowled bouncers at him over and over until he learned to hook.

All these men played lots of cricket and practiced hard.

THAT IS DISCIPLINE. THAT IS WHAT CRICKET AT THE TOP DEMANDS!

19. Question:

Does DISCIPLINE makes aperson want to PRACTICE?Or can a person PRACTICE without being DISCIPLINE?

20. Discipline makes the practice. Being out there with bat or ball, exercising, reading on strategy or studying for an exam, is all about having the discipline for the exercise at hand.

Without the discipline, the task cannot be effective.

Being out there with a batting machine when the others have all gone home, separates the men from the boys.

Discipline is not cursing the person who cuts you off in traffic , but taking a deep breath and sighing, moving on.

Discipline is not eating that extra portion of fries, because it is more fat clogging stuff, because it is one more pound of exercise that you cannot do.

Discipline is NOT buying that 40 inch flat screen, to replace your old CRT tuve, because you really cannot afford it, even if your neighbour just bought a 46inch flatscreen and laughs at your old tube.

21. AND discipline is taking the time, selfcontrol, to put on the ‘gear’ to protect your wicket and prevent unwanted pregnancy or STD, even if the moment is demanding much more pressing action….discipline is making yourself put the ‘gear on’, even if without is more fun!

22. @Crusoe
    So then if i may rudely interrupt your analysis. You are saying that over the years the westindies cricket team who have had different coaches have not been taught discipline? and if this is so why not? and if they have been taught discipline then why isn’t the team wining ?
    According to some postings here a person or team must have discipline to win,

23. Crusoe
    Phewwwww, boy dat is a lot a discipline ta got ta deal wid on a daily basis ya. But anyway, stupseeeeeeeeeee, I gine and buy my 52′ flat screen Sony tamorrr and anybody dat cross me in traffic gettin ‘buse. 🙂

But wait, Crusoe, you watch Waste Indies play this evening? I still crying all like now. De tail enders can’t bat and the real ‘batters’ can’t bat eitha. I dun wid dem. From now on I backing dem sexy Aussie man. We in real trouble Crusoe. I would scrap de entire team and start from scratch in about two or so years. We in real trouble Crusoe.

24. 04 PM

@Crusoe
    So then if i may rudely interrupt your analysis. You are saying that over the years the westindies cricket team who have had different coaches have not been taught discipline? and if this is so why not? and if they have been taught discipline then why isn’t the team wining ?

————————————————————
    True discipline comes from ambition. True discipline comes from within.

A man may teach, but a student may not listen.

I personally have no knowledge of the coaching, but results speak for themselves.

That said, Sir Viv himself made a statement a couple of years ago, that if he could have, he would have sent a couple of payers hom from South Africa.

What does that tell you? ‘If he could have’!!!!

I believe that the problem lies in both management and players.

For example could you see Ian Chappell, Clive Lloyd or even Rikcy Point, flying in to a tour a day or so before because they had ‘another engagement’ (Chris Gayle on last English tour)?

Answer should be rhetorical, obviously.

…………………………………

@BP’We in real trouble Crusoe’.

You know we in trouble, I do, the martians do, but sadly apparently, the WICB does not.

Sack? Make them the first to go. Pick a team of non-performers?

Problems start at the top.

25. Is there an explanation for why a player who has earned 7 noughts in 15 innings should play for the highest team in the region?

26. @crusoe
    True discipline comes from within! Agree!
    I made that point in one of my earlier postings .It must come from within in order for one to overachieve,

27. LOLOLOL who u mean David I at a lost! you serious nooooooooo that could never happen with the WI team LOLOLOOLLLLLL Nooooooo!

28. @JC

Read somewhere that the opener fellow has scored 7 noughts in 15 innings!

29. John Lovell here on CBC 100.7 fm. consolidating my said sentiments pertaining to these cricketers pay. They should be paid a regular salary and then paid an incentive based on how they perform be that individually or as a group. When a man gets ‘man a de match’, does he keep the money for himself or he divides it amongst his team players? Some clarification please.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Discipline is by definition something that is learned.
    A discipline is learned.
    Discipline is learned.
    The word “Discipline” is derived from the Latin discipulus, a pupil or student.

The game of cricket is actually a discipline. Its greatest exponents are/were STUDENTS OF THE GAME. That is why morons dont do well at it for too long. Their opponents STUDY THIER GAME AND WORK OUT THIER STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES.

Serious watchers of cricket are students of the game.Great cricket captains are students of the game and of their players, inter alia

At schools and colleges where it is played it is used as a DISCIPLINE to develop character, patience.

Those who were coached by Sir Everton Weekes at school in the 60’s will tell you that he instilled the DISCIPLINE OF RUNNING BETEWEEN THE WICKET. Students who did not “call” before setting out for a run, were GIVEN OUT!

In every vocation or profession there are DISCIPLINES or teachings that the DISCIPULI MUST LEARN. In my profession for example How to take a history, how to observe, how to palpate or percuss or auscultate, how to write up your notes by SOAP etc

How to understand that ALL WOMEN OF CHILDBEAING AGE ARE PREGNANT UNTIL PROVEN OTHERWISE, so as to avoid an ectopc pregnancy.

Discipline, and disciplines are learned always!

31. You can teach the person how to play the game which is different from instilling discipline . THe game has rules , which if the player is well coached would be able to follow, However there is no rule book for discipline , the player must have it within his or her mental capacity to be a true winner. The older generation of cricketers had it. It is not easy to be taught in the game of crickter , It is the same as having a Desire
    or a neverending feeling . It is something that lives within in the person themselves
    Teaching Discipline and having Discipline is as different as night and day.

32. @GP

Understood, but I think that there are indeed two ‘disciplines’ in this context.

The first, that you describe, a learned discipline to act in a specific manner, as in your example of running between the wickets.

There is also however, the discipline that comes from within, driven by ambition and drive, to get up and go, to do what must be done.

The ambition or desire is the will, but the execution to go to practice, or wake up early to study, is the discipline without which one cannot realise the ambition.

No?

33. After being taught to played the game the person must then have the discipline to practice to be succesful. But how does he or she do that if they dont have the discipline to practice daily. Can that be taught ? i however think the coach would do their part in inspiring the team focus on winning as a way of improving their performanceand making the team want to practice. By the way discipline is very hardwork when taught to master.

34. ac,

On this, you and I are on the same page, which is why I question then, have the selectors just got the ‘wrong people’?

Just because someone makes a few hundreds at country level, or takes a fnumber of wickets, does not mean that success will come at international level, which requires….discipline from within, desire.

Therefore, have we been simply looking for the wrong type of person?

35. @Crusoe.
    The selectors are using stastics is assessing the players performance. Now it may have to come down to the overall view of what is theplayer prepared to give up to win! That is theplayer would have to prove that they want to be a member of a team
    and not be a team member. However they are great players out there who are willing to do whatever necessary for the team to win and most of them are found at the grass root level on saturday afternoon playin”Bat and ball”

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe

If you check the dictionary and etymology of the word there can only be one discipline. It does not matter how ignorant and illiterste Bajans use the word.
    When you “discipline a child” what do you do? You teach him the dos and donts. In fact he becomes a “discipulus” a learner or a pupil.

Ambition and drive or desire or will, to get up and go, to do what must be done is another parameter all together.

If you have ambition and desire and drive but dont know how i.e if youy have not ben discipled or disciplined (discipulus) your ambition and desire is in vain. According to standard English discipline and ambition or desire are two different words with two different meanings.

Successful folk have desire and ambition but they have also been disciplined. From a wee lad I had the desire and ambition to become a doctor, like many of my friends, but then I had to go through the discipline of getting the know how. I sat under tutors and instructors who discipled or disciplined me (both of those words have the same root.)

Thats what learning Latin does for your vocabulary.
    I know of the abuse or misuse of the word in Bim. But we are not the only one to usde the language.

37. @GP,

From Merriam-Webster

>>Where is the
    Kiss of Death
    In the Bible?

Main Entry: 1dis·ci·pline
    Pronunciation: ˈdi-sə-plən
    Function: noun
    Etymology: Middle English, from Anglo-French & Latin; Anglo-French, from Latin disciplina teaching, learning, from discipulus pupil
    Date: 13th century
    1 : punishment
    2 obsolete : instruction
    3 : a field of study
    4 : training that corrects, molds, or perfects the mental faculties or moral character
    5 a : control gained by enforcing obedience or order b : orderly or prescribed conduct or pattern of behavior c : self-control
    6 : a rule or system of rules governing conduct or activity

Yes, technically you are right, except for 5(c) self-control. I think that is the alternate dimension to the state, that I am getting at.

That said, interpretations and vocabulary are indeed dynamic, no?

Personally, from my life I see two dimensions of the state. From your side, you interpretation would take it that my will to get up and go is purely a trained state.

But, I still understand the second dimension to be a matter, as above notes, of self-control, above that learned, driven by the underlying desire.

Example, while the desire is there, many would desire to run quickly between wickets.

But, a coach will discipline his charges, to move as soon as he hits the ball, turn in a specific manner, ground the bat always.

The charges, will practice at will.

However, the chrage who gets up at 6:00am before school to spend 20 minutes practicing, according to your interpretation is also disciplining himself.

But, the act of being out there and doing it, goes beyond either desire or trained discipline, it in itself is a dimension of discipline, to get himself out of bed, rather than enjoy the extra 20 minutes, to get out there, sleepy and sluggish and do what must be done.

That is not ambition only, that is discipline, a tool of ambition.

38. @crusoe

Well said !

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe

You wrote ‘Yes, technically you are right,” I know that I am right…and without looking it up! LOL

It seems that you are saying that the word and its etymology has undergone semantic shift!

40. ac
    but you watch de cricket yestaday? not me, I did watching de cricketers.. dem young boys real sexy hear. I love Pollard look. if dat is the right name. He get about the second wicket. talk bout tall, slimmmmmmmmm and sexy, but stupseeeeeeee, too young man. Bravo real sexy too. dem tick lips, oh my Goddddddd, but stupseeeeee, too young. Chris Gayle, talllllll, but stupseeeeeeeeeee, too big (botsy) and too young. but dem fellas look real goodddddddd. if only dem could play de game just as good as dem look. Pollarddddddddddddd.

41. @Bonny Peppa

Wud de hell am i going to do wed dem .They abunch of losers, Can’t bat can’t bowl!
    Dat doan wuk fuh me.

42. @ac ‘
    ac // May 21, 2010 at 6:50 PM @Bonny Peppa Wud de hell am i going to do wed dem .They abunch of losers’

All that takes from a loser to a winner is practice or ‘GP’s discipline’, with a generous dose of ‘our discipline’, LOL.

43. ac
    dem did a bunch a losers fa a good few years now so dat is why I doan watch de game, I watch dem. Pollard look real good doe.
    Poor Chanderpaul trying he best but he in got na back up. he khan bat by heself.
    Lord, I see Richie Richardson yestaday. My God, dat man still look edible.Lord, I imagine my legs embracing him round his neck.
    Doan lose na moe sleep ova dem fellas man. Da gun hardly improve time now and de 50 overs games. Da gun lose ALLLLLLLLLLL. Brace yaself.

44. Waste Undies, beaten againnnnnnn, as expected.

45. Beaten againnnnnnnn, oh my Lord.Darren Smith and Bravo, doan leh dem kill wunna hear? A chain is as strong as its weakest link. Dis ‘chain’ got in tummuch blasted weak links man. Lord, send a team dat could mek us proud again. Right now, I is a South African, Australian even a Pakistani. Any ting but a Waste Undies man. Dis team causing me tummuch pain. A cryinnnnnnnnnnnn.

46. Darren Sammy not Darren Smith. Who is Darren Smith? Sounds familiar.