markmaloney_markcumminsThe matter of Rock Hard Cement ignoring an enforcement order issued by the Chief Town Planner continues to crowd the news cycle in Barbados. The matter was scheduled to be addressed by the Barbados Court this week, however, to the surprise of everyone, we learned that Mark Maloney, the principal of Rock Hard Cement Ltd was not served (information for another blog).

Here is a copy of a letter sent to Mark Maloney, Chairman of Rock Hard Cement Ltd from Lystra Kodilyne, Attorney-at-law for Barbados Port Inc. The taxpaying public deserves an explanation!

115 responses to “Port Authority Inc Vs Rock Hard Cement Limited with documents”

1. david, the link goes to nothing, there is document. you might want to investigate

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Another discussion piece…..why is the marshall’s office famous for not delivering summonses on time and can never seem to find anyone on a 14×21 island to serve them a summons, it’s incompetence among other petty reasons.

3. @Golden Light

Thanks, it should be fixed now.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maloney is a liar….so who is surprised.

He is violating the terms of the lease and all three mortgagees can now cancel the lease of lots 3 and 7, there is nothing he can do about it as he is in direct violation of the contract.

He is too full of his arrogant self and needs to face reality. The Port, the landlords can remove the offending structures themselves and so can town planning.

Weak politicians, weak leaders cause these problems.

5. I keep asking and no one seems to know …….prior to 2008, who ever heard of Mark Maloney?

I heard only of him with Preconco and a roof tile company. How could he have built up 20 companies in 8 years off the backs of us the taxpayers? His company Assistant financial controller told Barbados the man has 20 companies and 1000 employees.

He has really done well for himself!

6. He got away with murder at Coverley building on leased lands and obviously thought he could do the same thing again on leased land. Who is to stop him?

7. Well Well

Remember that the court marshals could not find Leroy Parris either to serve him with the court summons either?

8. I hope and pray that the Chief Town Planner’s hands are clean and that he accepted no favours from Mark Maloney as someone posted on a previous post because this man is mad as hel

Did anyone hear that hypocrite Donville Inniss today? He behaves as if he is not part of this disastrous administration. He said he would not be part of any administration that wants to stifle businesses. ……shouldn’t he have resigned today?

9. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

Mr Maloney thinks that his “association” with gov’t gives him “implied license to do what he likes and wants to gives us the sob story that he is victimized because he is a rich, WHITE businessman…..Mr Maloney… the issue is that you are going into the realm of law breaking…just because you employ bajans and that you have introduced competition in the cement market..does not give you a PASS to breach laws……The question i will ask is…why risk millions of dollars on structures that you had no permission to build?..i will pretend to be naive and ask ….could someone be so arrogant?…did he think that he could “get away with it”? but that doesn’t sound like the behaviour of a successful businessman!!!! OR could it be that he was given assurances that he can go ahead without being scrutinized?..if so who in gov’t could give those assurances that he can risk millions!!!

10. Well I have to say to the financial controller. ….it would not only be Mark Maloney employees who are going to be out of work.

A relative of mine who works in government has told me that his department was informed that there will be job losses again and thet would be informed by month end.

Does Caswell know about this? Are we in an IMF program?

11. @DLPTV

He must have had some assurance from some quarter. I do remember that when asked about this same issue when Mark Williams was talking about the dangers of a cement plant at the Port, the Stinkliar was on radio saying that Mark was getting ahead of himself making assumptions as no planning permission was sought nor approved for any building.

12. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV June 15, 2016 at 10:40 PM #

…………if so who in govโ€™t could give those assurances that he can risk millions!!!
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Hold strain, your million dollar question will soon be answered.

13. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

The matter was scheduled to be addressed by the Barbados Court this week, however, to the surprise of everyone…..

The “everyone” implies those who are not aware of how the game is played. The more pressure place on Maloney, the more secrets will out. One Politician has already declared his hand. Popcorn anyone?

14. david
    there are a few serious issues identified in this letter from BPI to RHCL but the two most significant are-
    a. The tenant building without TCPO application/permission. (serious breach 1)
    b. Building without the consent of the landlord. (serious breach 2)
    What is shocking as that for months RHCL and Mr. Maloney was allowed to build on that site, a site that the Barbados Port Authority could see from its own building across the water and yet no one enquired or asked RHCL or Mr. Maloney a question until the TCPO issued the Stop Notices. Absolutely shocking.
    The board of the Barbados Port Inc, if not, the Chairman of the Board should have resigned already for share incompetence.
    Also the letter seems to suggest that RHCL and Mr. Maloney have commendeered areas down there on the water front and are going and coming as they like and locking off areas not leased to them.

15. 2007-8 The DLP came with the Hard Wood scandal
    2016-7 The BLP coming with the Rock Hard scandal

16. @Charlies

It seems that Rock Hard’s main defense will be that Ready Mix, a similar type business, operated from the same area for many years and therefore no approval was necessary.

17. david
    whether a ready mix concrete business operated from there or not in the past cannot trump the town planning act, which prescribes an application and approval process for development. Only a narcissis would believe that they could carry that scale of development for such a sensitive business activity without any planning application and approval process.

18. @Charlie

If the lots occupied by Rock Hard at BPI were previously used by Ready Mix to support CWC2007 and Port Extension projects don’t you think he has a strong case to test in court the rationale supporting the TPD enforcement order?

19. david
    the Stop Notices and the Enforcement Orders were issued not because the CTP refused to grant permission, the orders and notices were issued because RHCL and Mr. Maloney commenced construction and operations without proper and due process,………. failure to make and application and obtain permission.
    RHCL must follow the law, they are not a law unto themselves.

20. It is mind blowing yet interesting to see how some in barbados would set out to hijacked the development of barbados for self interest snd political gain

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Charlie;

You seem to have some inside information!

What prompted the CTP and by extension the MInister responsible for the TCPD and the Port Authority to now wake up from their apparent deep slumber re. the lawlessness of MM and take action right after the PM had delegated authority for this area to Darcy Boyce?

What prompted Mark Maloney not to renew Dwight Sutherland’s contract right in the midst of this melee? Note that DS has not claimed that his excision from the company was a result of his requesting such action?

22. ac
    For the first time I agree with you. I cannot believe that Mr. Maloney would put his self-interest and those of his political friends above the requirement to follow the town planning act. I also share your view that Mr. Maloney has hijacked the orderly development of Barbados.

23. are-we-there-yet
    I don’t have inside information, I have a bit of common sense.Reading the letter from Barbados Port’s lawyer it is clear that RHCL started operations and construction with either notifying the landlord or seeking their consent and did likewise with the office of the chief town planner.
    Barbados has always enjoyed orderly development that is what makes the landscape of Barbados so appealing in comparison to other caribbean islands.

24. @Charlie

It is obvious Maloney has been doing business with the TPD with an ‘understanding ‘. The other question is the role of the management of BTI in this affair.

25. Geoffrey Greene Avatar
    Geoffrey Greene

Can you expand on what was BTI’s role in this affair? I know nothing about BTI.

26. Geoffrey Greene Avatar
    Geoffrey Greene

The real battle here is this administration, the Stuart administration, wants to get projects going because elections will be in early 2018 if not sooner. The problem they have is they are not prepared to wait for due process so Mr. Maloney and others have probably been given tacit approval to proceed for the greater good of the DLP and the administration. That is what this is about……………….but remember this, we should have known this from as far back as 2007 when the DLP erected elections signs all over Barbados without regard for the TCPO laws of Barbados. As art stands now;-

Hyatt Hotel ain’t got no TCPO approval
    Andrews Factory ain’t got noTCPO approval
    GAIA Expansion ain’t got no TCPO approval
    Sam Lord’s ain’t got no TCPO approval
    Pierhead Maria ain’t got no TCPO approval
    Sugar Pointe cruise project ain’t go no TCPO approval
    Hard Rock ain’t got no TCPO approval
    Bushy Park ain’t go no TCPO approval

27. Geoffrey Greene Avatar
    Geoffrey Greene

So if this government ain’t got no projects and no policy initiatives how the hell do they stand a chance in the next elections? The simple answer is they don’t a chance and with every day that passes they become more and more unpopular amongst the bajan people.

28. Geoffrey Greene Avatar
    Geoffrey Greene

Danville Inniss should be shame. He could take the opportunity to take public officers and public officials to task for frustrating investment in Barbados but don’t have the balls to say that investors MUST follow the laws of Barbados. Well Donville is just another clown and if cajans knew of the shite he got himself into in Cuba a few years back they would be disgusted.
    One day the documents about who as some of owners Hard Rock Cement gone come out and everything will fall in proper perspective.

29. David, if that’s his defense, he needs a real lawyer. RHCL is not ReadyMix and the simple fact that he is constructing a building means he needs planning permission. If you knock down your house to rebuild it, don’t you need planning permission?

30. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar

It is a Bajan Scandal i tell yuh!!!!…..but this “issue” displays some of the worst characteristics of this DLP’s governance in particular and how business does go on in Barbados in general…..firstly WHO is it in gov’t could have reassured Mr Maloney that he can continue without obstruction!!!…..Mark Maloney getting too much heat now!!!…would he name the person!!!!…or would he fear a libel case and dont!!! Such a person in govt perpetuating a “two barbados” situation..but more seriously encouraging LAW BREAKING!!!!…but i am not surprised….this gov’t is so crippled by their own economic and financial mismanagement of this country that it seems that all you have to do is have nuff money and this govt will give you a PASS!!!….eg….look at Sandals…..given ungodly concessions unheard of in this country OR the Cahill scandal where no EIA was done but a MOU could be signed. This DLP “govt” becoming a law onto its own self… it is its own army of occupation and the poor man that they PRETEND to represent only getting trampled upon!!! Well i hope the POOR MEN and WOMEN can see the DLP for what they really are!!!…. it is just another political party….that would say and do just enough to win the election…but once in govt they couldn’t give NOT ONE ASS about a poor man!!!!. At least other administrations gave a small ASS!! but this POOR POOR govt so POOR it doesn’t…and not even pretending to either !!!!…..
    Also did nobody see way beforehand that Mark Maloney was building structures that not only were they in breach of the agreement with the landlord…but in breach of Town Planning regulations!!!!…don’t tell me nobody ain’t say nutting…..somebody had to say something!!!!…but like it does always happen in Barbados….because Mark is a BIG UP, WHITE, RICH fella linked to this govt…that nobody ain’t DO nutting….but Mark is still a giant ASS cause he know he wrong..was ordered to stop…and want to continue building his “complex” at the port…..Well if i was head of the Town Planning…i would have given my enforcement team some blocks of C4 and ordered that the complex be blown sky high!!!!….How DARE he defy my dept flagrantly!!!!!

31. I will bet dollars to donuts that this issue would end with Maloney given the go ahead to proceed .The political interference at play is a red herring and a “tell”as to why Barbados would always remain at the losing end of investors confidence.
    Who in their right mind would want firstly to fight all the noise and political confusion and interceptions by backward thinking politicos with a pedigree of selfishness and a full pledge agenda to destroy all gains achieved over fifty years of independence

32. Geoffrey Greene Avatar
    Geoffrey Greene

We agree again partner, Mark the shark will get his go ahead eventually but not before he is allievated of some ‘good coppers’ for his troubles. After all Barbados is one giant monopoly board and will you get $200 to pass go you also occasionally get sent straight to jail and have to pay some ‘good coppers’ to come out.

33. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the DPP’ my ass.

Enuff June 16, 2016 at 7:31 AM #
    David, if thatโ€™s his defense, he needs a real lawyer. RHCL is not ReadyMix and the simple fact that he is constructing a building means he needs planning permission. If you knock down your house to rebuild it, donโ€™t you need planning permission?

I have tried to explain this before, I will again.

Every residential, commercial or industrial piece of land in Barbados has the RIGHT to build buildings for those specific uses. TCP’s only function is to determine the conditions. They cannot tell you that you CAN build, they tell you WHAT to build.

So you buy a house spot. You hire an architect who knows the current TCP, EPD, Drainage etc. standards and you build your house to those standards. TCP sends you a Stop/Enforcement notice and you make an application to retain. If your house meets the standards the approval must be given.

The reason more people don’t do this is that the TCP Compliance Certificate is required for BWA and BL&P to make the services connections you need. If you don’t need those services you might decide to proceed with construction.

The above is true for all forms of development.

As I typed here weeks ago, Rock Hard is a storm in a teacup. The roundabout is just cock-knocking between two narcissists.

34. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar

@ David…..Mark may have had an “understanding” with somebody or somebodies but not with the TCPD or at least not the head of…..if so the TCPD would not be making his fuss…and if Ready Mix operated out of the same area..then all Mark had to do was to go through proper process then..but no….Mark with his arrogant self think he untouchable….well…i gine tell yuh..this govt will leave him out to dry..and let him take all the heat….but really and truly it is this govt that help created this Mark Maloney “monster”.

35. @ Are We There Yet

You asked a very interesting question that, in the face of the obvious acquiescence of the BPII and the erstwhile silence of the TPD bears closer examination.

“What prompted the CTP and by extension the MInister responsible for the TCPD and the Port Authority to now wake up from their apparent deep slumber re. the lawlessness of MM and take action right after the PM had delegated authority for this area to Darcy Boyce?”

Could it be what the stuttering Customs official hinted at?

Could it be the issue of such right of way and use of the port as one’s own playground, out of eyesight of the BPII, because clearly, with a building of this size, the directors of that agency could not see the illegal structure.

Maybe a careful question to the Office of the Attorney General and/or the Office of the Prime Minister regarding the interests of the Embassy/Government of the United States, in this matter and the “transhipment intimation” might shed some light on why Darcy Quisling now has been saddled with the matter for resolution.

Sometimes when we are staring at the matter straight on, like the blinkered vision of a donkey, circa 1970, used by a MTW road fixing crew, we cant see what is going on clearly.

Who or what has the power to stop what AC with her illiterate self is calling “national development”?

Who has the power to cause a pause in the autonomy of the Barbados Ports Inc? and cause them to seek, ostensibly at least, to demand in such circuituous language, that the leasee cease and desist?

Retribution indicated that Baloney either seem to be hiding from the Court Marshall, as is evidenced by the Nigger and Assistant to the Financial Controller being appointed as the spokesman for the 1,000 sunbaked niggers. (Wunna dun know that for a thousand uh we niggers to stand up dutifully in the sun, waiting on a team of reporters from Barbados Today, that all this was orchestrated!!)

We should not focus so much on what is being done AS MUCH AS we need to focus on what is being stopped from being done.

This is indeed a variant of that “Hammer TIme” shout of the 1980’s “Corruption TIme’

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal…I remember well, the day the court marshalls could not find Parris he was standing in the yard at St. Angela’s school waiting for his child…everyone on the island knew that except the lazy court marshalls….who take money not to deliver summonses, the island has turned into a disgrace, the justice system, a mockery.

It’s all the nasty corrupt actions of all involved will chase away honest, wealthy investors and jobs from the island….nothing else.

37. OFF TOPIC

Looks like Pornville is trying to cover for Bhana. Page 5 Barbados Today.

38. @ David

OFF TOPIC

Are the charges against Joyce Griffith Attorney-at-Law mentioned in today’s Nation related to the Cottle Catford saga or is this another matter?

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If Maloney is smart and not just arrogant and a con artist, he would name the government ministers who allows him to believe he can do anything in Barbados, without consequences, name the government ministers taking bribes, what does he have to lose.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal…I remember well, the day the court marshalls could not find Parris he was standing in the yard at St. Angela’s school waiting for his child…everyone on the island knew that except the lazy court marshalls….who take money not to deliver summonses, the island has turned into a disgrace, the justice system, a mockery.

It’s all the nasty corrupt actions of all involved will chase away honest, wealthy investors and jobs from the island….nothing else.

Dumbville is enabling criminal activities by business people on the island….since he was minister of health this has been going on….the brouhaha with the indian doctor who had a practice in the UK and Donville brought him over, paid him more than the CEO James and the dude never stayed to do any work at QEH…my good friend from Virginia was this dude’s executive assistant, she was left to do all the work and she was no doctor, dude stayed in England to take care of his practice there, my friend had to resign because she could not believe a minister of government would allow this.

When the doctor did appear in Barbados, him and Donville were always closed up in his office…..the doctor during all that time only appeared in Barbados 3 times. A bigger salary than the CEO, free house, free car and he did nothing, wasting taxpayer’s money.

Inniss is not to be trusted, he was moved from health to business and he still works against the taxpayers.

41. You can delegate authority but you can’t delegate responsibility.Both Stuart and Boyce know that…Are those Grotto apartments approved for occupation by TCPO?Are they built to TCPO specs?

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son June 15, 2016 at 10:27 PM #
    “Remember that the court marshals could not find Leroy Parris either to serve him with the court summons either?”

Prodigal son, you ought to change your blogging name to Columbo the BU Solomon.

You have wisely connected the dots and seen through a veil of light to identify the real shenanigans playing out behind the scenes of collusion and cover-up.
    Both Greenverbs Parris and the rough-neck don โ€œMad Mark where is my Moneyโ€ are in breach of the laws of Barbados; both are big bankrollers of the dangerous lying party and both have been given succor by the leader(s) of the same destructive lying party; both display a level of arrogance and blatant dismissal of laws of the land with an unparalleled level of impunity. And like Winston Hall the brother in crime both canโ€™t be conveniently found at their well-known hideaways or controversial business places in a little 2×3 puny island.

Once again the lowly public servant is made to carry the can of political putrefaction and corruption.
    There are three (3) Marks in the ring of the cement battle. One is a politically biased referee posing as the public watch dog.
    The second Mark a real public servant and paid gatekeeper who is about to lose his head as the sacrificial lamb and cover-up for his bossโ€™s abject laziness and incompetence.
    The last Mark the real law-breaker and purchaser of โ€œjusticeโ€ will soon, in true Shylock style, get his pound of flesh as demanded in the pending transfer of the beheaded CTP (the second Mark) to a PS position in a more innocuously ineffective arm of government like the castrated Housing Ministry.

Fumble might be a lazy incompetent lying sob but when it comes to the art of politics, in true Machiavellian style taught by his private mentor King-maker Cammie T, he really is the alpha dog among his peers, the real primate inter pares.
    OSA can verify that he, Owen, was outwitted by the dumbest of the ministerial incompetents. A classic case of โ€˜One Smart rat (OSA) being killed in a dark room by Two smart the blind black cat (Fumble)โ€™.

43. Gabriel
    Neither Grotto or Valery have TCPO approval. I am not even certain Mr. Maloney even bothered to apply for approval.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Old Baje…you noticed, why is Griffith still practicing law.

Why is the CJ not sanctioning attorneys who have 4-6 months to file a document and only do so the morning of the case, more often than not, just before the hearing or during the hearing, giving the other side no time to read the document, weeks after the deadline given.

Why are these things still being allowed by the CJ….Woodstock-Riley would have known the documents were to be served and filed..but still could not do it in a timely fashion….that is the example she is setting as disciplinary committee head….

People are being warned coast to coast, stay away from the lawyers in Barbados, stay away from the court system in Barbados.

That will chase away honest investors and jobs to the island.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…from reading the agreement, the 3 mortgagees have the power to tear up the lease snd remove the structure because arrogant Maloney violated the terms of the lease by not obtaining permission from Port Inc…..prior to building the structure. You cannot rent or lease a proprty anyehere in the world and build or alter without permission from the owners, toen planning csn sit back and watch port inc destroy the structure

The dumb ACs are pimps, you know that, they too help chase away honest investors and attract only the con artists, criminals, thieves to the island..

46. News Flash – Flour mill has petitioned the courts to discard charges against Rock Hard. They have come to the realization that with Rock Hard next door, it will provide them with an opportunity to introduce and market a new line of flour specifically targeting bakeries that offer Rock Cakes.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel June 16, 2016 at 9:18 AM
    โ€œAre those Grotto apartments approved for occupation by TCPO?Are they built to TCPO specs?โ€

How come Mark My Money is not attacking the other Mark the CTP for the non-occupation of those โ€˜well-appointed’ penthouses in the Woods?

We can guess he has his money from the illegally arranged liquidation of the Housing Credit Fund.
    So, who cares other than those ordinary Bajans badly in need of the much promised hosing solutions (HELP)?

Don’t be surprised if another Arch Cot ( a few stone throws away) is in the making. The old property was not called the “Grotto” for some exotic Italian reason only. Now who will be blamed for such a possible disaster should there be an opening up of a sink hole as a result of such heavy concrete structures on the surface of a fragile โ€˜bedrockโ€™? Certainly not a Mark; not even a Denis of a menace or a money-shark for a Lashley but a fumbling lying crook pretending to be responsible for urban housing!

48. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the DPP’ my ass.

Well Well & Consequences June 16, 2016 at 9:38 AM #
    Pieceโ€ฆfrom reading the agreement, the 3 mortgagees have the power to tear up the lease snd remove the structure because arrogant Maloney violated the terms of the lease by not obtaining permission from Port Incโ€ฆ..prior to building the structure. You cannot rent or lease a proprty anyehere in the world and build or alter without permission from the owners, toen planning csn sit back and watch port inc destroy the structure

The dumb ACs are pimps, you know that, they too help chase away honest investors and attract only the con artists, criminals, thieves to the island..

I expected more from you WW.

Do you really think for one minute that land for a warehouse was leased from the curator without said curator knowing it was for a warehouse?

Read the letter.

Every lease or rental letter includes the clause preventing illegal activity. It is a standard form entry.

The matter will not be determined until after the High Court has issued a verdict on whether the law has been broken or not. That will be years from now. The lease is NOT invalid because only an accusation has been made by Cummings.

By the time this matter is determined computers may be obsolete and your interest long-waned, such is our post-independence judicial system.

49. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Charlie June 16, 2016 at 6:40 AM #
    Mark Maloney has not learn a thing from Bizzy and COW Williams, who achieve their goals without open arrogance. They are past masters at keeping a low profile ,while the watchmen and super-intendants of the Barbados government do the running around with a bunch of keys ,a big stick,and a big mouth, believing that they are really the ones in control.
    Only 100 and something days before we celebrate 50 years of independence.

50. The board of the Barbados Port Inc must do the honourable thing and resign. Who signed the leases with Rock Hard Cement? What is management, what is the chairman was it the financial controller?