It is of concern to many having to observe the charade playing out in the Lower House in the form of a No Confidence motion. The leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley has readily admitted that her side anticipates the motion will be defeated because the government side has the numerical strength and will toe the line. However, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley, if we understand her correctly, believes there is merit in a No Confidence motion to force government to publicly address several concerns expressed by Barbadians.

There is something very wrong about a government elected by the people being forced to communicate with the people through a contrived exercise. It is obvious this lot who ran on a transparency and corruption platform in 2008 with the late David Thompson as leader has since jettisoned that approach for one of governing by stealth. One can only speculate how Mara Thompson the widow, taciturn M.P. for St. John and anointed replacement feels about the state of affairs. There is a reasonable expectation by some that she would have become an advocate for many of the issues her late husband enunciated.

Several issues were raised by the leader of the opposition in the No Confidence motion which any responsible government should want to offer coherent responses with a general election less than two years away. There is the issue of the prime minister signing theย  Cahill agreement before the matter was fully discussed (with supporting agreements) by Cabinet. How about the decision to increase (reinstate)ย  the salary of parliamentarians by 10%? Several accusations about Mark Maloney and companies in which he has an interest flouting Town Planning rules were made. The decision by government to withhold the Article IV Consultation report. These are a few of the legitimate questions raised by the Opposition that represent the concerns of ordinary Barbadians.

Another issue of equal concern -Mia Mottley referred to it in her presentation- was the decision by the Governor of the Central Bank to release the Central Bank Economic Review for March 2016 on the same day the No Confidence motion was scheduled to be debated. There is the growing perception the Governor of the Central Bank has become too political in his role as Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados.ย  Surely Novaleen Brewster who has responsibility for corporate and communication business at the Centralย  Bank would have advised the Governor to change the date? The report was already overdueย  by two months and the correct decision for Governor Worrell to have made was to issue a press release BEFORE the No Confidence motion was debated to inform public discourse.ย  It is worth mentioning the accusations by the Opposition about the โ€˜sanitizedโ€™ language used by the Governor in his delivery of the report and omission of data has done little to ease the perception in some quarters the Governor has generated too much baggage in the role. BU will not repeat the point that at 70 years old his contract should not have been renewed against the decision by government to retire 60 year olds in statutory corporations. What we will say is that his antics and decision making continue to detract from the office of Governor and by extension the work of the Central Bank.

The second observation by BU was accurately summarized by BU member are-we-there-yet as follows:

It seemed somewhat surreal to me to observe the order of the speakers last night. The BLP speakers followed one after another. Then Kellman got up in a rather flustered manner and made his disjointed contribution. Then the other DLP speakers spoke, one after another, until the sitting was adjourned to Thursday.

I was wondering if perhaps the DLP plan was for no one on that side to speak and Kellman took it on himself to upset that apple cart forcing the other speakers to follow him or if it was indeed planned for the way it unfolded. In any case, can anyone recall if there was a previous occasion where on a debate on any matter, so many members of one side spoke and then a number of members of the other side spoke outside of a situation with a 27 to 3 majority.

Was this a strategy by the DLP to hear all the relevant arguments by the Opposition and then have 48 hours to prepare a response or did Kellman fortuitously force them into it?

It will be most interesting to see how the DLP speakers will react tomorrow. Will they avoid the numerous bombs cast by mainly Mia and Toppin or will they take them on frontally? What will be Freundel Stuartโ€™s defence to the almost concerted and plausible attacks on his credibility and leadership acumen launched on him by every BLP speaker so far that has also put the lie to the assertion that the BLP is a grossly divided party?

BUโ€™s simple observation is that if government intended to be effective in its rebuttal of the No Confidence motion then responses should, in great detail, address concerns raised by the Leader of the Opposition.

324 responses to “No Confidence in Governor Delisle Worrell: Governance by Stealth”

1. @Well Well & Consequences

It’s hard enough to try and change the ‘system’ from on the inside (of the party) so Maria Agard’s chances of effecting change from the Independent’s bench (seat) in Parliament is neigh impossible.

Maria’s face was so contorted last night, it switched between hurt and sheer anger/hatred. She has only herself to blame. She learned her first lesson in politics which is and always will be ‘friendship has no friends in politics’.

Mia went through the horn pipe too. In Mia’s early naรฏve days of politics OSA used and abused her.

2. โ€œThe only thing that we are really arguing about here is . . . a betrayal of the public trust and the gang-rape of the public purse. I am left to wonder, what is the purpose of this exercise if the real charge is that the extent of your sin is bigger than the extent of mine? That โ€˜yes, what we did was wrong but what you are doing is more wrongโ€™. Who can really come to these chambers with clean hands and righteous indignation? None,โ€ Dr Agard charged.
    โ€œAre we prepared to settle, term after term, for nothing more than an opportunity to tell the current administration how corrupt they are? To bellyache how they came poor and hungry to the house of assembly and now they are fat millionaires from parliamentary pensions and kickbacks?โ€Maria Agard

3. Wonder who write Agard script? The writing is not like the Maria we all know.

4. What was “supposedly”meant to materialise into this huge inflated corruption brought against govt ministers involved in Cahill fell felt like a pancake.
    Most interesting that with all the documentation and the conspiracy plots to bring down govt.
    The govt still managed to step over those burning coals of fire unscathed and with dignity in tact
    In the meanwhile Mia integrity still remains under public scrutiny for her failure to produce her LEC

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Past Zone, the reason why Agard should expose all the corrution, she got nothing to lose and Owen will use parliamentary privilege to keep the corruption against the people of the coubtry….alive and well, so he is useless.

Now it has been established by both Mia and Agard that ALL the politicians are corrupt and they continually sell out the people and taxpayer contracts to the same group of corrupt minorities decade after decade…the majority have a right to pressure them all for the next election.

6. Na na na na…..ac you dems are ashamed…….BU, Kammie Holder, the BLP, the Facebook group and we here on BU unmasked the corruption………….

You are shame, that’s all……na na na na na!

Wow, this is our victory! Alleluia! the dems are on the skids……..the end is near!

7. Tell me why,

I had the same thoughts as I watched her last night and I actually felt sorry for her.

She has reason to be angry as she has now realised that her time in Parliament is drawing to a close and those who were advising her to hold a hard line are now still in the bosom of the party and she is outside. Her bitterness shuld be directed at them not the leader.

You cannot effect change from outside, you have to be inside.

I do wish her well.

8. It has started, BLP to lead a March o. Thursday and the NUPW has called a meeting on Wednesday afternoon 2PM to discuss wage increases.

9. What does Agard voting against the No Confidence motion mean? Is she saying the question posed about Cahill is not her concern? What about the reinstatement of the 10%? Help BU to understand.

10. @ David,

I hope she is saying that she will not support the party that kicked her to the curb.

She criticized both parties so I will take her vote as the lesser of 2 evils.

11. David

Her vote defied what she said. How could she vote gainst the motion after what she said. Her vote was a protest vote to stick it to Mia. I watched her and I had never seen her before with the hatred I saw on her face. Sad!

12. @Hants

Based on her contributions she stands for justice. BU would expect her to vote conscience and not fall for what is politically expedient.

13. i ashamed no ! the cahill scam was going full throttle hereon bu document after document having the govt minister getting kick backs and heading to HMP, all hell was going to break loose based on the documents now in the finality or closing bell Nothing!
    Any how hope is still alive for the BLP as they pinned their hopes on the Union waging war against govt while Mia dressed in WHITE call out the calvary to wage her own battle
    it is beginning to sound like comedy central with donald duck in tow
    i Wonder how it feels to be driving a five hundred dollar motor vehicle and rubbing shoulders with the poor?

14. Repeat i wonder how it feels to be driving a five hundred thousand motor vehicle and rubbing shoulders with the poor

15. Let us lift the debate for crissakes. Why argue with a JA about Cahill at this point? The bottomline is that because of citizen advocacy the government was forced to abandon this project conceived to scam Bajan taxpayers. The government needed to wait for the right time to abandon the project with an election on the horizon. Let us move on, just remember to leave some scratch grain behind.

16. AS for Agard yes she stands for justice and her vote was a combination of an unjustifiable act brought against her and a conscientious directive to hold Mottley feet to the fire for blatant hypocrisy

17. @ David,

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac;

whuh kind of vehicle she has?

19. I was in bed when the PM rose to speak and I turned the TV off because I did not want his face in my bedroom.

Did he address the fact that he was the first person to sign this Cahill deal?

What a miserable looking man with a haughty snooty nasty air that thinks he alone can insult any and everybody.

I cannot wait for the election night when he has to concede defeat. I hope he has to beg for a ride to St Philip like Kamla had to do in Trinidad.

The man likes people tp believe that he is so clean but look how he is looking after his friends feeding off the fatted calf………….his campaign manager got $1 million for the Cahill mess and now his lackey will be paid $300,000 for 15 months work.

My goodness, these people have no heart!

20. Of course you want to lift the debate but when your Blog was littered with untruth and attacks and attempts to place govt ministers right in the firing line of scams and cahill corruption deals it was most appropriate and worth the effort for you and all and sundry to state
    Now that the govt has stated that the agreement was non binding or contractual the focus is no longer on cahill but hell and fiery brimstone is in store for anyone who challenges the conspirators or conspiracy theories behind the cahill stories steupse give me a f,,king break
    The fact is there is no big news about govt abandoning projects that happens every day however the big news would have been given all the illicit and illegalities coming out of Cahill and govt that Mottley would have bring to parliament the evidence whereby these ministers would have been caught red handed and sent to jail
    For what it is worth BU and Mottley failed miserably to show such corruption exist in what is now know to be a non binding Cahill agreement

21. maybe it is a Maybach

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Cahill scam got exposed and the scamsters had to scatter…people power….NEXT!!!!!!!!

23. Another point to ponder Mottley is a lawyer ????? But for the life of me if after seeing those Cahill documents how was Mottley not able to identify the legal notations and readily acknowledge whether those documents were signed contractual and binding agreements or not which makes me wonder how did she attained her LEC????

24. Sheeple Herder Avatar
    Sheeple Herder

Stay tuned it going to get dirty and deadly. When a man future is threatened and he has lost everything he has no choice but to take matters into his hands.

25. Kammie Holder Avatar

@AC, I am not celebrating for its better to win a war and not just a battle. We await to see what are the contingent repercussions of GOB abandoning Cahill. In addition. we have to see what is proposed from the Williams. The Minister Of Environment never talks about recycling which should raise eyebrows.

26. Kammie Holder Avatar

What Cahill showed is how the taxpayers can be robbed. Road construction and other capital projects can be one of the major conduits for graft in the absence of a Contractor General.

#ANewWay is coming soon.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Let it all come out, all the corruption, all the nasty things they have done for decades, the lies and deceit.

28. Kammie and those who opposed made the issue a war with a remarkable battle field of combative players pitting internal and external differences against each other. in the extreme the issue of waste to energy was caught up in a tenacity of political power brokers who laid bare any thing and every thing to derail the projects intent with daily saturation of half truth and misplaced connections of corruption which now revealed was not true
    As far as you believe you might have won something but that something pales in comparison to finding a sustainable solution to high energy cost and mountains of unattended waste worldwide a problem that cannot get better unless viable solutions are find
    The minister of environment recently stated a proposal to ban styrofoam well i Bellevue such a proposal is formulated from the concept of alternative solutions to waste although the result might be to an environmentally friendly society it has many built in challenges which places an economic burden to households

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There are no bribes in banning Styrofoam and plastics….Lowe could have come up with that idea years ago, but no it was Cahill scam, Cahill bribes….he must be crying in his soup. I remember people suggesting that plastics be banned as done in many countries for years.

30. as far as you are concerned any and everybody is a scam so listening to your razor tones about scams corruption etc is like listening to a donkey braying absolutely boring

31. “Coming soon to a bookstore near you is this BestSeller.” I am looking for a publisher for all these books that i have been writing recently.

http://imgur.com/T2aYMAz

Please be aware readers are warned that if you buy any of the books you will only be buying well designed hard back covers

The pages inside are all empty, EMPTY like the Minister of Fine Ants and the band of Dufuses have the Barbados Treasury

The price is also $70 or is that $7 or is that 7 cents? I am not too sure where to put the decimal point (wunna hear that employers at various establishments aroungd the island are refusing to hire students from the Garrison Secondary because they fear that the disease of decimalitis that Stinkliar has may be one that the whole school has?

Well wid all de money a fellow mekking even with that decimal point affliction, he ent got to go back to CPDC to drive a stroke, since he will now be driven in the Audi Q7.

I wonder if that has a siren? Ask caswell bout Bishop Sununu heheheheh

“Softly and tenderly Jesus is calling, calling for you and for me….”

32. Due Diligence Avatar

Pieceuhderockyeahright

It is great to see you back.

I pray that Jesus will be waiting a long long time for de ole man

33. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Lets not forget that an ex Politician with ,with connections to the BLP, is one of the major manufacturers of plastic bags in Barbados. Ban plastic bags now , and like the MP’s 10 % salary suspension, it will be reinstated later.

34. Due Diligence,

Your well wishes are much appreciated, if while He waits, my sojourn here might be painless, then I endorse that “Cou Cou” that you have kindly wished on me, however, and you may well ponder this, if one will languish here, above and beyond the suffering occasioned by these north bound ends of south bound cows, then it would be best to leave earlier, AS LEAVE WE MUST.

King or Pauper, Michael Jackson, or Putin, Donald Trump or just plain village character Uncle Jerkoff from Bank Hall, we all gine leave.

I see that you are still batting strong against the yardies as those that cluck for their feed.

We do not have long to tarry until they loose every single seat, We can only pray that the IMF and the other agencies have hope in the resuscitation that their ousting will permit and that the other clowns have what it takes to bring a rebirth of the economy.

Wishful Thinking that that is.

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet Piece

WHERE DE HELL HAVE YOU BEEN. HOW DARE YOU LEAVE HERE WITHOUT TELLING ME. I thought you were sick or had died. I asked for you and know could tell me anything. I hate you for putting me through so much worry, but happy to see you have return.

36. Rastarooster101 Avatar
    Rastarooster101

The reason the scam didn’t come to fruition is the incompetent ministers didn’t do their homework on the crazy Canadian bitch.
    What they fails to realise is she was pennyless and other than the money’s stolen from friends and family and of course the money stolen from technip and Liz Spencer all of which was used to pay a mortgage on a condo she couldn’t afford and not to secure the deal .
    The failed miserably in their due diligence of this scam artist.
    The minister’s didn’t get caught in the scam more by luck rather that by design.
    Her London lawyers TW should be struck off for their part in this massive deception.
    Have they written off the huge legal bill incurred in the orchestration of this scam.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Inniss sees no reason to bring down the Govt
    Added by Marie-Claire Williams on May 14, 2016.
    Saved under Local News, Politics

inShare
    Minister of Commerce Donville Inniss had readily admitted that Government has work to do, but has cautioned the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) that now is not the time for the economy and the society โ€œto be disrupted by any bringing down of a Governmentโ€.

Weighing in on this weekโ€™s BLP-sponsored no confidence motion against the Freundel Stuart

โ€œIโ€™m not disputing the fact that there have been challenges. I have constituents who tell me, and I witness, their challenges in meeting their daily expenses, in being able to pay the utility bills as you would be hitherto accustomed to; I talk to young people who remain deeply troubled about the university education for example and the policies that we pursued,โ€ he said.โ€œ

“According to the minister, NIS funds have also been used to invest in private enterprise, including the Clubhouse at the plush Apes Hill golf course.”

So why is DLP government taking bajan’s hard worked for pension fund money and investing in that crook’s Cow Williams’ Apes Hill Club when he dont like to pay the majority decent wsges and still see blacks on the island as slaves…what is wrong with these 2 bit crooked political leaders….and when will NIS people who contribute to the fund, if ever, see a return on their investments, when both Bizzy and Cow are so damn selfish and greedy.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…here is another scam, why is the NIS pension money involved in the Apes Hill scam, did DLP tell the people who own the money, the taxpayers, that they were going to give Cow their money in the guise of an investment, did the politicians consult with Bajans first and tell the the pros and CONS of doing so or did they just pick up the pension money and decided it’s theirs to do with what they want. When will the NIS pension fund see returns on their Apes Hill investment, there are much safer wsys to invest pension funds than with known crooks.

39. @Rastarooster101

What is the current status of Clare Cowan? How is she doing? Should we dispatch Alvin Cummins to seek this information?

40. Forget Donville Inniss instead focus on Mia torrid love to hate behavioral patterns of wanting to destroy the national interest of barbados to benefit her political fortunes
    Causing me to ask what was the sole purpose of Mia taking an issue of the rein statement of ministers wages and using inflammatory language of engagement especially when the issue was only brought to parliament for a discussion and not voted

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Seeing as Alvin is just across the way in Eglington…that should be a cakewalk..lol

AC…as corrupt as we all know Mia is, she is not the one currently in power, so that means the last 8 years of corrupt practices are sitting squarely in the laps of the current DLP ministers weighing them down and as we see in the last couple days…..really, really hurting…lol

42. Note that notice was given on the 29 April 2016 to amend the Renumerations & Parliamentarians salaries. Note this matter is down on the Order Paper to be dealt with at the next sitting (17 May 2016). Time will tell if the government retreats from ha is regarded as an unpopular and unsympathetic decision. In fact what it has done is to give the trade union effort more impetus.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 29th April,2016.
    Hon. J. D. E. Boyce:
    To move the passing of a Resolution to approve the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances)
    Order, 2016
    http://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/sittings/attachments/aec160611274f6f5fa724772bbff462f.pdf

43. Whinny A Dove Avatar

The 10% salary increase issue for the DLP member of Parliament is the major take-away for the motion of no confidence brought by the Opposition..

44. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

The march on thursday is critical as it will define the thinking of the electorate……should they fail to show….crapaud smoke yuh pipe.

45. CARACAS – Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro declared a 60-day state of emergency on Friday.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81209/emergency-venezuela#sthash.AtoIkH53.dpuf

46. Rastarooster101 Avatar
    Rastarooster101

@david
    She was last seen staggering around the lobby of the 4 seasons with her dogs in tow.
    She looked like a bag lady and totally out of place in the opulent surroundings .
    My contact at the front desk says she is living on fresh air smokes and shoppers drug mart.
    Where she is moving to is a state secret for now

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes May 14, 2016 at 7:57 AM

I doubt very much permission would be given by the police.
    If, per chance, it is given the cowardly Bajans would have upmost in their minds the threat issued by Herr Himmler Jones and would be very reluctant to expose themselves to Gestapo violence given what is going on with Jamaican-style gunmen on the loose.

If this administration can have the gall to consistently lie about the economy in order to give themselves an upward adjustment in their current level of remuneration do you think they would have any major reservations of giving instructions to SS arm of the DLP to crack a few heads and kill a few whom would be considered to be rabble rousers, criminals and over exuberant BLP supporters?

I am sorry to say but whoever come after this destructive lying preposterous lot would have an Herculean task of Sisyphus proportion ahead of them trying to put Barbados right again in order to reinstate the true value of its motto โ€œPride and Industryโ€.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Venezuela is the second largest supplier of oil, but corruption crippled them, does Barbados even have oil yet…ha..

49. WWC
    Methinks Venezuela’s brand of leftist politics is their undoing.It’s a good strategy to spread the national pie to include its thousands of poor but laws deemed inimical to good corporate governance,a political agenda that shows gives the finger to Washington and an embrace of known communist leaning dictators in North Africa,the Middle East and the Far East have all combined to negate any benefits the Chavistas and the Maduristas thought they could achieve in their lifetime.In this area called the Americas,Washington’s strategic interests and policies will always determine the colour of political outcomes even if in the short term they take a back seat and allow nature to take its course.The English Speaking Caribbean is not considered important,other than Washington’s need to keep their populations out of the USA,hence the occasional hand out to give them a slight economic leg up and even that is not considered a front burner issue.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Gabriel, as convoluted as it comes.