It is of concern to many having to observe the charade playing out in the Lower House in the form of a No Confidence motion. The leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley has readily admitted that her side anticipates the motion will be defeated because the government side has the numerical strength and will toe the line. However, Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley, if we understand her correctly, believes there is merit in a No Confidence motion to force government to publicly address several concerns expressed by Barbadians.

There is something very wrong about a government elected by the people being forced to communicate with the people through a contrived exercise. It is obvious this lot who ran on a transparency and corruption platform in 2008 with the late David Thompson as leader has since jettisoned that approach for one of governing by stealth. One can only speculate how Mara Thompson the widow, taciturn M.P. for St. John and anointed replacement feels about the state of affairs. There is a reasonable expectation by some that she would have become an advocate for many of the issues her late husband enunciated.

Several issues were raised by the leader of the opposition in the No Confidence motion which any responsible government should want to offer coherent responses with a general election less than two years away. There is the issue of the prime minister signing theย  Cahill agreement before the matter was fully discussed (with supporting agreements) by Cabinet. How about the decision to increase (reinstate)ย  the salary of parliamentarians by 10%? Several accusations about Mark Maloney and companies in which he has an interest flouting Town Planning rules were made. The decision by government to withhold the Article IV Consultation report. These are a few of the legitimate questions raised by the Opposition that represent the concerns of ordinary Barbadians.

Another issue of equal concern -Mia Mottley referred to it in her presentation- was the decision by the Governor of the Central Bank to release the Central Bank Economic Review for March 2016 on the same day the No Confidence motion was scheduled to be debated. There is the growing perception the Governor of the Central Bank has become too political in his role as Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados.ย  Surely Novaleen Brewster who has responsibility for corporate and communication business at the Centralย  Bank would have advised the Governor to change the date? The report was already overdueย  by two months and the correct decision for Governor Worrell to have made was to issue a press release BEFORE the No Confidence motion was debated to inform public discourse.ย  It is worth mentioning the accusations by the Opposition about the โ€˜sanitizedโ€™ language used by the Governor in his delivery of the report and omission of data has done little to ease the perception in some quarters the Governor has generated too much baggage in the role. BU will not repeat the point that at 70 years old his contract should not have been renewed against the decision by government to retire 60 year olds in statutory corporations. What we will say is that his antics and decision making continue to detract from the office of Governor and by extension the work of the Central Bank.

The second observation by BU was accurately summarized by BU member are-we-there-yet as follows:

It seemed somewhat surreal to me to observe the order of the speakers last night. The BLP speakers followed one after another. Then Kellman got up in a rather flustered manner and made his disjointed contribution. Then the other DLP speakers spoke, one after another, until the sitting was adjourned to Thursday.

I was wondering if perhaps the DLP plan was for no one on that side to speak and Kellman took it on himself to upset that apple cart forcing the other speakers to follow him or if it was indeed planned for the way it unfolded. In any case, can anyone recall if there was a previous occasion where on a debate on any matter, so many members of one side spoke and then a number of members of the other side spoke outside of a situation with a 27 to 3 majority.

Was this a strategy by the DLP to hear all the relevant arguments by the Opposition and then have 48 hours to prepare a response or did Kellman fortuitously force them into it?

It will be most interesting to see how the DLP speakers will react tomorrow. Will they avoid the numerous bombs cast by mainly Mia and Toppin or will they take them on frontally? What will be Freundel Stuartโ€™s defence to the almost concerted and plausible attacks on his credibility and leadership acumen launched on him by every BLP speaker so far that has also put the lie to the assertion that the BLP is a grossly divided party?

BUโ€™s simple observation is that if government intended to be effective in its rebuttal of the No Confidence motion then responses should, in great detail, address concerns raised by the Leader of the Opposition.

324 responses to “No Confidence in Governor Delisle Worrell: Governance by Stealth”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81139/garbage-tax

It must be nice to tax poor people at will, why not make a list of all the taxes Lowe wants to charge and publish them all at the same time…get the population’s misery over with once and for all.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Those insane do nothings in parliament will as they are known to do come out saying what the opposition did and did not do 21 years sgo, they are stuck in blame game mode and cannot move forward…wait for it, just a few more hours.

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Creature of the Minister of Finance? Me thinks its more like Curly rejoining Larry and Moe. What is most bothersome is the fact that surely they know that many Barbadians are not bamboozled by their smoke and mirrors display, yet they persist.THEY DON’T CARE. They are daring us to do something about it. Why don’t we?

4. The airwaves hot this morning about the 10% salary reinstatement. Then add the proposed garbage tax!

5. $154million from commercial banks. This is Worrel speak for loans.
    $189 million “newly created money” Running out of money? Print some more!
    Another $71 million taken out of NIS. There goes the pension! How much have they taken since they came into power?
    Pension funds,businesses and “others”(who dey?) lent $109 million. On what terms?

The man is dangerous or senile or both!

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Has anyone else observed that even though the no-confidence vote has been marketed as a vote against the whole government, that it is being prosecuted as a vote against the PM by every opposition speaker so far. Chris Sinckler has barely got a few mentions. The spotlight hasn’t been on him.

If that is so, Freundel Stuart’s personal response to or avoidance of the uneering attacks is going to be perhaps the most important aspect of this chess game.

The man in the cross hairs is Freundel. The GoCB and Chris Sinckler are merely collateral damage for now, imho.

7. @ are-we-there-yet

You are very keen observer. The Cahill matter now haunts the Prime Minister as his signature on the VERY FIRST legal agreement (12 months prior to the 4 rogue Ministers signing the MOU) means that Freundel is now the full object of attention.

The Prime Minister watched 4 Ministers get a grilling and dressing down in the 2015 Budget from Miss Mottley and never once came to their defence or thought it necessary to tell the public that he signed the Head of Terms agreement in 2013 without Cabinet approval.

8. @Are-we-there-yet

Yes and no, the GoCBB is known to be a creature of the minister of finance AND the MoF serves at the pleasure of the prime minister.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Past Zone;

You said: The Prime Minister watched 4 Ministers get a grilling and dressing down in the 2015 Budget from Miss Mottley and never once came to their defence or thought it necessary to tell the public that he signed the Head of Terms agreement in 2013 without Cabinet approval.

That is perhaps the most telling point that speaks to the character of our PM. He and his surrogates might sell it as strategic. Others might view it as cowardly. We will have to wait to see which view prevails in the public domain as the tale unfolds.

10. @ are-we-there-yet

I am not certain it was or can be viewed as strategic. As a betting man I am sure that one of those 4 rogue Ministers, not being able to stomach the irony of Cahill, decided to release the documents necessary to show that the PM is a hypocrite, he and Darcy being the owners of that scam.

Of the 4 rogues the only person with a real motivation and intention to one day be prime minister is Chris Sinckler so to me it seems he would be the one to release the documentation to show that the Prime Minister was not being forthright on the Cahill scam.

11. His numerical age maybe 70 plus but his biological age, from the looks of him, may be much less. Maybe, just maybe, the GOB has decided to use this advance metric in strategic matters. LOL

They are unlikely to want to be accused of ageism, when it suits their purposes, would they?

Separately, When are these tired, trans-administration matters going to morph into real, substantive issues.

12. The Prime Minister watched 4 Ministers get a grilling and dressing down in the 2015 Budget from Miss Mottley and never once came to their defence or thought it necessary to tell the public that he signed the Head of Terms agreement in 2013 without Cabinet approval.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Look, we have to be fair.
    This man is so damn stupid …that it is altogether possible that he had absolutely no idea what he had signed …until he saw it all exposed and explained on BU….

Wunna playing that wunna don’t know how inept Froon is…. and how adept the Quisling is at manipulating the naive and the greedy ….

The man tricked Owen AND Thompson …. how hard could it be to fool a Froon?

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Thinking aloud;

Could we be seeing the start of an imminent collapse of the DLP Government?

Could it be that the initial DLP game plan for the No-confidence debate was to repeat the last NC motion’s rope-a-dope-Say-Nothing plan?

Could the 10% statement by Mia have been the unexpected impetus for a drastic change in plan that caught Tuesday night’s speakers by surprise? Were they also caught by surprise by the solidarity shown by the BLP speakers so far?

Might it be that they (the DLP) are now seeing the possible stark repercussions of those unplayable balls by Mottley?

Should we expect some strategies from the Freundel asymetric war kit to be brought into play to stop the match before it leads to a premature ending of the series?

Would it be in the best interests of Barbados or the BLP or the DLP to have the series called off now?

Could this NCV turn out to be more important and consequential than most of us thought?

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Part of the minister’s weaknesses lie in the fact that they did not think they needed brains or brain power to manage a country, they just thought the template of decades old scams would see them through, election after election…..now they have reached an impasse…….the electorate is more intelligent than the government. ..lol

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Past Zone;

Re. your 8:31 post.

I see and agree with the main thrust of your post.

The fine workings of the Cahill scam needs further scrutiny. Hopefully there will be more revelations as the debate unfolds.

16. @Bush Tea May 12, 2016 at 8:43 AM #

Look, we have to be fair.
    This man is so damn stupid โ€ฆthat it is altogether possible that he had absolutely no idea what he had signed โ€ฆuntil he saw it all exposed and explained on BUโ€ฆ.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

BT – you are BRUTAL(LY) honest

17. There is nothing unusual about elected officials signing things there have not a clue about. We too, do that nearly every day. The amount of information coming across our desks makes it impossible to read everything, but the civil servants should have served the people.

The USA Congress does this routinely. Only difference, the interest groups write the legislation. Unless the civil service is an interests group for the corporations. We wonder!

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha…you cannot give a good enough excuse why that donkey Fruendel would sign any legal document without reading it….one, he is an attorney, whether mediocre are not….. and that’s the biggest no, no, never sign anything legal without reading it……..two, he is the prime minister and could have had 5 people reading it to him.

It took me less than 15 minutes to read the documents, he could have read it in his down time, what does he do anyway…nothing

So in effect…he signed his own death warrant, without reading it, with all those assistants available to him, is that the excuse, well I am glad, just goes to show, he should never been pm to begin with.

19. Mr Blogger are-we-there-yet you does write too sweet and I does love what I reading but don’t think so aloud wid such wild thoughts.

What frigging imminent collapse cud this be of the DLP Government? Are you going to be on street wid some bottles of gas and rags to throw the first ball of protest against this tieffing government?

After all dis purty talk this week, what exactly do you expect that will topple Stuart and his mates?

If dem effing balls was so ‘unplayable’ wouldn’t the umpire send people back to the pavilion long ago? Jesus H Christ if you can bowl unplayable balls then WTF wud you not do so and get de man out?

You must excuse my Zulu but I does be confused by this Parliamentary dance.

Will there be protest Mr Blogger? Who gine brek-down de government Mr Blogger?

If talk had wings then the frigging House of Assembly would just be another effing airport…daily take-off and landing…rush to wait and then back to normal. Stuart doesn’t have to do one shite! Airport rush time gin settle back just now.

Should I kick out my tenant and burn the effng house as a protest yah think. No I don’t think so.

What are you going do? WTF to do?

20. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Brathwaite;

Yuh on de rite track, yes!

Seems like my post above has you frightened!

Be not discouraged, the spark that ignited various significant changes here and elsewhere is not usually recognized before it happens. I am merely suggesting that this NCV might have in it the elements that could lead to the ignition of such a spark in Barbados.

……. to be continued ……

21. AWTY,

These mimisters have said that they learnt the lessons of 1994 and it woud never happen to the DLP again.

They are not going to vote against their party…….but wait if Froon have them so mad, they might very well do so, they are all pensionable now. People like Sealy, Jones and Michael Lashley are now entitled to full pension while the rest of them are now entitled to 2/3rds.

Wait, did Darcy really trick Froon? I did not see him at the signing of the oil deal earlier this week a Illaro Court.

I thought the DLP said that the BLP was only tricking the people and that there was no oil in the waters off Barbados?

Crooked lying dems!

22. Hamilton A Hill Avatar
    Hamilton A Hill

Would have loved to see the opposition in their seats, just in case there needs to be some point of order/clarification that needs to be made.

23. Prodigal Son May 12, 2016 at 2:57 PM #

“I thought the DLP said that the BLP was only tricking the people and that there was no oil in the waters off Barbados?”

@ Prodigal

I remember David Thompson saying that.

24. Shouldn’t the government members be addressing the charges laid? Suspect average Bajans are not buying the rebuttals. What about Cahill? What about the 10% reinstatement?

25. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@David….that’s what I was thinking.Could only assume that the PM and MoF are the chosen trump cards.

26. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Did anyone realized that the ruling party took it upon themselves to make mockery at the allegations laid out by the Opposition during the presentations? – Loud laughter and cackling – they continue to show their lack of respect for the people.

Are the people going to wait for 2018? Are we going to wait until we become little Venezuela?

27. Alvin
    On another thread you wrote:
    …….Colonel Buggy,by the way let me remind you that over 50% of the people supported the DLP in 2008 and 2013.So everyone does not support you.Not even a majority.”
    Alvin, in reality in 2008,the DLP got 77,680 votes and more importantly 157,830 registered voters did not vote for your party.
    In 2013,the DLP got 78,566 votes however more importantly 170,458 registered voters did not vote for your party.
    In actuality your DLP government is a minority government and you should be grateful for the stupid system of governance that allow these incompetents to rule intelligent people.

28. WWC
    “Part of the ministerโ€™s weaknesses lie in the fact that they did not think they needed brains or brain power to manage a country, they just thought the template of decades old scams would see them through, election after election”

Simply brilliant.

Perhaps we have substituted the visions and aspiration of the past with a a corrupted template. Our template for politicians and political leadership have been replaced by one for those who seek to enrich themselves. These cardboard cut-outs wear the clothing and make speeches but are woefully lacking a vision of where the country should go.

29. Is it as embarrassing for the rest of the BU household as it is for me to listen to seemingly educated ministers and opposition members speak as though their education was terminated just short of the stand pipe? The “dissis” and the “dats”, “thrilldren” and “dem” leaves one to wonder if this standard is what we ask our children to aspire to. Can you imagine what a visitor to the island of a 98% literate society must think of the rest of us if our brightest and best are those paraded on television?

30. Another brilliant display of nothingness by the BLP/DLP.

31. FearPlay May 12, 2016 at 8:15 PM….. 98% literate society? Don’t make me laugh. Maybe 25 years ago. But now?

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The government ministers would never address the charges. To do so would be to tow the line between telling the truth and continuing in lies, which is the DLP’s current label. However, Mia should not have boycotted the house in anticipation of the incumbent response. I find that to be a stupid ignorant move. She should have stayed and let their presence alone keep the pressure on the DLP asses. Instead, she in her intellectual wisdom stayed away. This is why I have problems with this woman. That dark streak in her to do shite is always evident.

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Do you have any feeds on the debate. If you can please post them?

34. @SSS

The feed is controlled by parliament.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/videos

35. How can so many a$$holes come on BU and defend a DEMON?
    “You cannot sanctify a DEMON even if you dress it in white!” Those my dear friends are the words of a staunch BLP supporter who sat with and watched Mottley up close and witnessed how she abuses power.

A word to the wise- let the BLP lackeys respond.

36. a big Mout political campaign laid in Parliament by Mia a waste of taxpayers monies yet still not satisfied with the outcome decides to have a whimsical march as a demon dress in white
    Late in the night the allegations of illegal money transactions were brought to fore against Mia,who believes that her past history of corruption would be forgiven erase and forever removed from the minds of the public
    Her records during her years of public service can be described as reckless and what most can say is beyond sterile or pure . Dr agard presentation was note worthy taking her gloves off punching above her weight cautioning all looking and asking for change to be careful of the change makers
    there is no doubt that in the weeks and months ahead now the political lines have been drawn that there would be a fierce battle placing national interest against self interest

37. Th BU household is happy to hear that Cahill Energy is dead. Although it must me mentioned the PM posited some spurious perspective on the subject, something to do with a Bajan sharing a proposal to us plasma gasification in 200!

Can we say the No Confidence forced Lowe to come down from his high horse to communication to the citizens who elected him to serve?

Government abandoning Cahill project

38. Nothing came out that commotion laid in parliament yesterday which one can say that have or should have made a difference in the lives of all barbadains
    no solutions to the nations economy by the opposition barbados labour party except a pot pourri of name calling and the usual talking points which surely will be followed by the operations of gadfly political spin bowlers
    so what is the public left with today as usual to listen to more of the same and an opposition leader fighting with desperation to make a change that would satisfy her demonic version of change and self interest

39. A fair conclusion to be made after enduring the twitter generated by the No Confidence Motion this week is that no fundamental change has occurred on our political and social landscape since the DLP gained office. It is business as usual, many of the same tired arguments used by the BLP while in government are being rehashed by the DLP.

Around and around the mulberry bush scenario.

40. The fact being if the project was not done at some point and time Lowe or PM would have to make a statement of public awareness so there is nothing news worthy on which the blp can hang their hats.. the fact remains out there that the blp has not given any alternatives or solutions to a comprehensive program which can tackle waste and the high cost of energy

41. The next battle this government will have – and the country will have to endure – will be with the unions.

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Yes, David, you can say that. He obviously was advised accordingly to make sure that when his lips part that his tongue wait until his brain thinks first before he muddy up his already polluted waters, again. But, this chapter is far from over.

The PM has once again proven that he is just as much a liar and deceiver (though we already knew this) as Lowe, Sinckler and all the others. His silent routine will soon conclude because there is more against him than there is for him. He is contaminated goods!

If this administration believes that they can redeem some semblance of credibility by stating that their decision to abandon Cahill was because of public opposition and new revelations pertaining to problems this technology was having in some parts of the world, they better think again.

3-PM will soon have to break his ‘fith’ and come out from silence. Because, if he does not know it now he will soon know it later, that the next matter that will cause him to pucker in shame is his relationship with Leroy Paris.

Mr. PM if you are a deceiver, and think that you can hide behind pretence, sooner, rather than later, your fine pigs will come squealing to market. Right now you are on the verge of being exposed and there is no way in hell that anyone is going to believe that you are not on the take.

Pray tell that Leroy do not get squeeze because if he does, me believe he will squeal. What will happen to you then if he does, Mr. PM of honesty, integrity, truth and exemplary conduct?

43. People on BU wanted the Cahill project stopped, the government listened to BU. Aren’t you glad that we have a caring and attentive government that listens and responds?
    Thank God we do not have a DEMON leading the country but it seems that a DEMON is definitely leading the BLP by all accounts.

Wasn’t it Kerrie Symmonds that came on National radio and said that Mottley does not listen. Apparently she listens to Peter Wickham who then sits on a call in programme and repeats everything she says.
    #nevermottley #anybodybutmottley #NOdemons

44. The observation a pundit is justified to make is why PM Stuart felt the need to be strident in his support of Leroy, his friend. How is such politically helpful at this time? How are the policyholders feeling about it? Yes Leroy is his friend but for crissakes be empathetic to the plight of this group.

#bajanswantchange

45. David
    The problem is that Bajans prefer to talk rather than do, and as such will continue to Wait on Godot. The constant reference to the “system” is a get out of jail card. In every political system there is corruption, nepotism and some degree of opacity; but there’s also an active civil society . I mentioned in a post about “third” parties, that any new party basing an election campaign on transparency and freedom of information should be laughed at and that remains my position. What is required is PARTICIPATION and ENGAGEMENT and the former does not require changes to the system. A participatory and engaged approach to governance, government and governing would be far more beneficial than mere FOI et al because people become part of the process through budgeting, project selection, project appraisal, contractors etc. In essence, you prevent/reduce the ills rather than discover them after the fact. The FOI-Transparency-recall bandwagonism is aimed at furthering the “we vs them” mentality, and shows a lack of understanding or genuine interest in improving a system that requires “WE”.

46. Equal Rights & jUSTICE Avatar
    Equal Rights & jUSTICE

weak ass Stewart has to protect Leroy because Leroy knows where the skeletons are buried.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bajanfuhlife

You really think that the issue was just stopping Cahill? The issue is to stop this or any other government from executing an act of absolutism. What is there to stop them from wanting to go down another shite road decision in secret. Cahill is the victory but the battle for transparency and accountability is still raging. The government of Barbados must be held under legislation that makes them accountable and transparent in all matters of government business. Their credibility is shot to shite, so you cannot trust them to act sensibly on state matters and matters that can change the landscape of Barbados. That is when we shout the real victory has come.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/13/cahill-project-dead-confirms-lowe/

So much for the yardfowl and “ringworm” AC yammering about who has the power to stop Cahill scam…the people spoke and it ended…. ask Lowe.

49. There should be another No-Confidence motion next week.

This one laid bare the nakedness of Bajan leadership, so perhaps after a few such exposures, Bajan brass bowls will see the need to seek out INTELLIGENT and COMMUNITY-MINDED persons to serve as leaders…..instead of losers looking for fame and easy money.

With the notable exception of Maria Agard, who was probably only forced by circumstances to adopt a principled position, the exercise was one of extended shiite talk.

Essentially, the BLP, sensing the disgust of the people, sought to put government on the spot -and succeeded. …..while the Government, focused on issues such as getting their pensions in order, securing their nest eggs, and avoiding confrontation with opponents, continued in their election campaign mode – telling us all the bad things that the BLP did back then….

LOTTA SHIITE!!
    Agard summed it up well with the analogy of the sleeping idiot and the demon in waiting.

Gems were:
    …Lowe, looking EXACTLY like the dishonest thief that he clearly is…
    …Froon with his Parris friendship badge – how could ANYONE be so stupid…?
    …Stinkliar saying that he pays MILLIONS every January for the prison – BUT HAVE NEVER SEEN THE CONTRACT… (what a jackass…)

If Mia and the BLP were sincere about their wish to serve Barbados, then that party would elect a unifying leader who had NOT compromise themselves during the bad old days – with KNOWN scams such as Crab Hill station, VECO, Four Seasons etc…
    If they were genuine, they would ALSO call for the kind of GOVERNANCE changes that Agard spoke of….. instead of offering shiite promises and ‘covenants’ that are not worth the paper they are printed on – (like the ones that DEEDS hold)…

Bushie will not be marching ANYWAY behind Mia…and anyway, when the REAL shit hits the fan globally SHORTLY, we all will have too much to worry about to be wasting time trying to make silk purses out of brass…..
    …and those in Europe and North America will be in the eye of the shiite-storm…. mark Bushie’s word…..