An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-white“If you open that Pandora’s box, you never know what Trojan ‘orses will jump out…” –Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobago’s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also “every creed and race finds an equal place”. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert “Bobby” Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornet’s nest with his recent call for an apology by the “descendants of white Barbadian slave owners” to the local “descendants of slaves”’; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morris’s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…”

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace one’s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright April 29, 2016 at 9:28 PM #

Who was the last white Prime Minister? barring David Thompson and Tom Adams, whom many swear are white peeples, who was the last one?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    The present one , it appears, internally.

2. @ Piece…
    Just when they say, “Peace and safety!” then sudden destruction comes upon them, as labor pains upon a pregnant woman. And they shall not escape.

But they never heed the wisdom of the old wise heads….

3. @Bush Tea April 29, 2016 at 10:29 PM “destruction comes upon them, as labor pains upon a pregnant woman.”

Labour pains ain’t that bad. Don’t argue with me. I have been there. You have not been there. And neither has the man who wrote that bit in the Bible.

4. @ SS
    Labour pains ain’t that bad…. and you like you ain’t that smart….

It is not about the EXTENT of the pains … it is about the SUDDENNESS.
    Cuh shiite SS, if we talking about DESTRUCTION …how are you looking at the level of pain…?
    Looka…
    You bedtime may have passed and impacted your attention span…. 🙂 LOL

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hong Kong refused to let a US warship use their port, only today.

6. Bushie labour pains do NOT stat suddenly (how can they be sudden when the lady has been expecting them for 9 months?) the pains start very slowly, very gently, so that quite often the woman questions whether this is labour at all.

7. Steupsss
    So how long have you known that the end is imminent ..and that our asses will be grassed?
    How long have you been feeling the baby kicking..? the belly groaning? Froon mumbling? prices rising… income falling…

Do you have your suitcase packed? Is the baby-father’s car wukking? You gotta doctor all lined up…?

It is the VERY best analogy that you can want ….of what is about to happen.
    Now go to bed and stop asking silly questions…

In any case, wunna ZR women does have babies and go to skin-out parties the same night…. so you probably ain’t know bout pain….

8. Bobby should know that blanket apologies are made by Gov’ts on behalf of a country or Heads of Organisations on behalf of an Institution, they would never be offered by some nebulous group to another poorly defined group of people.

Thus we get the US Gov’t apologizing for interning US citizens of Japanese descent during WW11, the German Gov’t apologizing for the atrocities against Jews in WW11 and more recently Japan apologizing for its treatment of so called Korean “comfort women” even Cameron got into the act by promising to apologise for Britain’s role in the Slave Trade. On the Organisational side we have had the Pope apologising for the activities of pedophile priests and the Church’s handling of the associated complaints.

I once heard Bobby deliver a lecture and part of that talk was the origin of the name “Ashby Land” in Oistins and Lodge Road, Bobby said that the name originated from a slave owner whose descendants were mostly black, in Bobby’s world would we would have cousins apologising to other cousins.

What would be the value of such an apology anyway, If someone claiming to represent “white descendants” of slave owners apologized to “black descendants” of slavery on Nov.30, would the black descendants lives be materially or spiritually different on Dec.1?

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

@ Bush Tea,

Whulosssss, hold muh, whuloss “it is not the extant it is the suddeness….”

You see why certain peoples ent gine like you?

You language is too deep!!! You ent call she a simpleton but…..

If you was to had was liken it to “how de mini bus driver does jerk de brakes sudden, while he craddling de van den peeples wuddah unnerstan you better’

But heah is a ting doah!!

Not only she say dat you nevah had labour pains, but me neider!! Whu I ent say nuffing bout me baby muddah, nor me muddah badword

Whu she brilliant!! Two men never had labour pains!! why dat is a Kate Jenner epiphany!!

You dun know dat she going come back and wash you way in gentle cuss!!

Bushie since dem tek way me license, I got to tek buses and ZRs and i doan want she tuh put me in dat seat near de door and leh de driver craddle me like a sack uh potatoes through the side door while dem dem the ZRs crazily

@ Simple

If a man gets a gender re-assignment and he get the thing romoved and theother thing installed, do you think that he/she ammmm I ent to shure now but is the newly determined female capable of having a child? I only asking cause you seem to know more about this thing than me or Bushie

And one more thing.

During the years and the wives dem (lolol) i can tell you that you hear that jobby dat you talk bout we doan feel nuh pain, you are dead wrong, some of us sometimes have all the birthing pains like if we were “pregelent”

A little levity for your consumption

A doctor in Russia, let us call him Ronald WeJonesing Romanavitch Sunabitck, announced a new invention of “Painless Child Birth” said machine transferred the pain to the father, and depending on the level of the pain you turned different shades of blue, and his first couple, with child came in and he decided to use the device on them.

Well during the birth the wife was in so much pain that the doctor, on the insistence of the husband, turns the machine to the 1st slot to aid with the pain while telling the man that he would be start to change colour as the pain got transferred.

Doctor turns device to 1 and since woman in more pain the husband says turn it to 2 which the doctor does but the husband, though sweating profusely, still in not changing colour or experiencing any discomfort.

More pain to the wife and the doctor goes to level 3, then 4, cause wife really bending up, but the husband is still a normal hue and is still hanging in there.

Wife still in pain so the husband turns the machine to 5, ALL, 100%, and the doctor now is amazed because he says “my man, given your wife’s pains, that going kill you but sure enough the man ent brek no more sweat and the baby is born.

All this leaves the doctor baffled, and he says to the man, “you are a boss, the strongest man that i have even met” He treats the wife and the baby, discharges them both and the couple leaves.

When they reach their house, there, dead on the lawn…is the next door neighbour Stiff and Blue like the sky on a day with no clouds.

Simple Simon You like you ent so right yuh!!

10. ac said

firstly Africa was not a country and africans were not selling their own on a large scale but those slave who were there enemies , In all fairness to blacks slave owners one can equate similar stories to the greeks and Romans or even the jews who were killing their own during the halocust… there are many crucial reasons that would exempt blacks from having to apologize for owning slaves with the biggest reason being that unlike whites whose trade was founded on supremacy and racism the blacks slave trade was built on a survival mode

…..

Not sure what ac had to drink, but that must be some strong brew… or smoke….

Talk about twisted logic.

Dang.

11. @Colonel Buggy ”Or is it a case of every man for himself?”

Wait Boss, you like yuh now understand how things does be.

When de money come in, yuh going see how it share…

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar

pieceuhderockyeahright April 29, 2016 at 9:28 PM #

Two little points.

I would wish to know why, given that none of the bajan whites are white why should be be insistent on hunkies who are niggers, apologizing to niggers who are part hunkies.

Will this be something like a wedding vow exchange where one party goes on bended knee and says “I do solemnly swear that I apologize to you” for all the things that i have done and then, we exchange places?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Chuckle……well said

This point has been made ad infinitum but Bim has a special breed of people who believe in fairy tales and relish the spouting of them……sorry to say the rest of the Caribbean will move on and leave the bimmers behind wallowing in their own vomit….BBs as BT enjoys calling the majority of us……..again never truer words writ below

Colonel Buggy April 23, 2016 at 3:40 PM #

One thing that I had noticed in Amsterdam in those far out days, was seeing blacks from the Netherlands Antilles running their own businesses in the city, while blacks from the British West Indies we fortunate to ply a business in London from a barrow or a stall in Brixton market.

13. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 29, 2016 at 3:01 PM #

It seems we all get whatever in a butch when there is race talk.

Here is the breakdown in simple terms: there is a mistrust between the races; it is rooted in a historical context of slavery. We need to discuss to arrive at a Christian understanding to grow a more harmonious society. Some of us have the capacity to achieve within the system such as it is, others will struggle given how the society is formed and BLACKS were enculturated.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Wuhloss….a christian understanding………….what a oxymoron…….the root of all the troubles Bimmers experience.

Bim will only progress as a secular society eschewing all religions,cults and belief systems.

David…..Becks defence about later day works is akin to the Jesus Christ story written over 80 years after his purperted life&death.

On one hand we proclaim the Griots….yet when the Griots of 50 odd years ago are quoted they are ignored……the hypochrisy of our little land……untill we learn to accept the truth warts and all we will go nowhere.

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar

SS

Have you read up on London Bourne yet and his slave ownership?

It would appear in extrapolating from your logic that it is ok for Boko Haram to rape and pillage their kith&kin in Nigeria,in other words once you keep it within the tribe its all right…….is my understanding correct?

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright April 30, 2016 at 2:29 AM
    “All this leaves the doctor baffled, and he says to the man, “you are a boss, the strongest man that i have even met” He treats the wife and the baby, discharges them both and the couple leaves.
    When they reach their house, there, dead on the lawn…is the next door neighbour Stiff and Blue like the sky on a day with no clouds.
    Simple Simon You like you ent so right yuh!!”

OMG, you make my belly hurt from convulsive laughter.

Piece, your sense of humour is out of this world. The older you get the sharper your mind becomes.
    Where did you get that ‘joke’ from? Did you make it up or ‘borrowed’ it from some ‘black’ comedy show?

One wonders what that feminist anti-man Simple Simon(e) has to say about the woman in your little story for comic relief.
    Guess she will be seen in SS’s eyes as beyond reproach like the poor virgin Mary of immaculate conception fame.
    Whom is she going to blame this time around? That ‘Sunabitck’ male designer of the ‘faulty first labour pains transfer’ device? LOL!!!

16. I know Simple Simon doesn’t need my help but “anti-man” is certainly not a term I would use to describe her. She strikes me as too smart to lump all men or all women into one category.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sargeant…..and they will US, Germany, UK, Spain , Portugal, etc do it again given the same opportunity and same circumstances. Give them 50 more years and they will be apologizing for Saddam and Iraq war, Gaddaffi and the strife in Libya, they could give a shit.

18. Piece,

You really need to step back from your Bushie altar. It is becoming embarrassing.

19. Sargeant April 30, 2016 at 1:41 AM #

Bobby should know that blanket apologies are made by Gov’ts on behalf of a country or Heads of Organisations on behalf of an Institution, they would never be offered by some nebulous group to another poorly defined group of people.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

and how many years have blacks been waiting for those apologies BTW would you suggest that countries that are headed by black govts should apologize for slavery on behalf of White Slave Owners

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As the European engineered slave trade was indeed genocide, theft of labor, rape…all manners of evil perpetrated for hundreds of years, by Europeans…..post Africa, after they took the slaves away to get wealthy at their expense, indeed reparations…NOT MONEY, is due and owing by those still benefiting today from slavery, from buckingham palace and downing street all the way down to the house of lords full-of-crap, racists, rapists, pedophiles and all the other pretentious fraudulent pimptitle holders….barclays bank, many other banks, lloyds of London….all the known criminals now pretending to be pure…we have not gotten to the US yet, but they also benefited and are still benefiting…

In saying that…and keeping it real

All the little fly by night thieves, descended from thieves and Barbadosed who replaced the bigger thieves and are wearing the same pimphood titles, the Cows and David Simmons etc, as the descendants of those who Barbadosed their ancestors need to return to the people on the island all that they have stolen, land, over the last 40 years, with the help of the dumb, pretentious political leaders who are status starved and suffer with title-itis, who should make sure that the racism, discrimination, exploitation and thievery they continue to condone, collude with and enable against their own people in present day…stops…and all that was stolen returned…ya’ll criminals.

That is me, keeping it real.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Donna April 30, 2016 at 6:24 AM #
    “I know Simple Simon doesn’t need my help but “anti-man” is certainly not a term I would use to describe her. She strikes me as too smart to lump all men or all women into one category.”

And that is exactly what she does; lump all men into one category.
    SS writings inflect the view that men think only with the ‘head’ below their waist and not with what is upstairs. If that were to be the case what then do women plan with? The fleshy gates to a man’s oily heaven?

Since you are not her advocate then a deeply religious person of the Judeo-Christian faith like you should be in a position to tell us who is recorded to have committed the first sin. Male or female; man or woman?

Her ‘black and white’ views of social relationships are at best purely simplistic.
    Idealism is best left to religious nutters; not interactions among frail generally dysfunctional creatures called humans.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Black governments who help the descendants of “white” slave owners and now take bribes to continue to steal from the descendants of slaves should not only apologize, but stop helping those Cows, Bizzys et al, steal from and disenfranchise their own people, make sure what was stolen in the last decades is returned, stop allowing huge contracts at taxpayer’s expense….for bribe money and campaign finance, break the cycle of voluntary corruption….AC.

23. Nice!

50th anniversary song.

24. Miller,

Don’t get me started on the Bible! I have to leave you shortly for a meeting at Codrington College so I’ll have to cut it short. We have long held that the Genesis story of creation is an allegory and not to be taken literally. In short they were written by MEN (for the sole purpose of putting the blame for EVERYTHING on women is my belief). We Anglicans are a funny lot so don’t try that one on me! We Anglicans grow and learn everyday to look at things in a different light. We are well aware of our human fallibility and are no SLAVES to strict literal interpretation of the BIBLE. The Bible is our starting point. We use the treatment of the Church up unto the present and reason to arrive at our current position. Just finished reading a book on Christian ethics I never finished reading while doing the diploma. If non Anglicans read it it would explain why we change our positions as time goes by. And it might actually make sense.

Simple Simon’s views on men are probably similar to my own. Some smart ones, some dumb ones. Some like Bushie and some others here on BU, who play the bowler rather than the ball and some like the Gazer and Artaxerxes who play the ball rather than the bowler.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Definitely a nice video.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ John Roett and team

ABSOLUTELY POSITIVELY FANTASTIC!!!

This is the type of revolution we need to show these dufuses the talent we Bajans have

27. Hope somebody does a SPOUGE version of the 50th anniversary song.

Nice lyrics and video.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gotta get Fowl and Zorro to do that Hants, they will nail the beat.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Neutering of a Mule.

@ Vincent Haynes

I am writing a book about the “neutering ” of this beast of burden which as you would know, is incapable of creating any offspring

Let me put a hypothetical to you today @ 2016

Suppose 5 Balance whites were to get up tomorrow and render an apology?

Suppose Sir Kyffin Barbados’ richest “white” man, that man Karl whatever his name is the historian fellow at UWI, Frazer, Bizzy, the fellow with the black wife and Fumble Stuart our white prime minister, suppose all five of them we to come to the newspapers and apologize?

Suppose Sir Kyffin, while in deep prayers at the church that he bought and funds, like Saul on his way to Damascus has such an experience of repentance to lead that faction, God bless his soul, what then?

You understanding me Vincent?

For 9 days, it makes headlines, Sir Kyffin becomes popular among the black peeple, and is grumbled at by the whites who are really black people, and nuff papers sell.

Sir Hilary who in his golden years now is seeking to become relevant, as all we ole men who now dining in brilliance in our respective areas of endeavor, now see one more fray to do “something” memorable for our respective eulogies, he going pompaset for nine day and den what?

You see whu de ole man saying?

And empty victory, full of hot air and signifying nothing, truly “The Neutering of a Mule”

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Not balance, Bajan Whites, this stupid iPad

31. @PUDRYR

What you excluded and is left to speculation is what it is speculative on your part. History is replete with what seemed to be insignificant events yet they triggered others of magnitude.

32. @Bush Tea April 30, 2016 at 12:16 AM “Do you have your suitcase packed? Is the baby-father’s car wukking? You gotta doctor all lined up…?”

But Bushiie. Doctor what. Car what. Baby father what. Suitcase what? Whom do you think has delivered 99% hundreds of billions of babies who have ever been born. My female kin and I that’s who.

We don’t need the male doctors and the child fathers half as much as you men fool yourself into believing.

That is the truth.

33. @ Piece & Vincent
    “…given that none of the bajan whites are white why should be be insistent on hunkies who are niggers, apologizing to niggers who are part hunkies”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie keeps harping on the fact that the issue is NOT about Black and White, (whatever the hell those two extremes represent wrt people), but about albino-centricity (AC).
    “Albino-centricity” is the tendency to think see life as an adventure in accumulating wealth at any cost. It infects Europeans, Chinese, Indians, Africans and quite possibly some ‘lost’ tribes in the Amazon jungle.

This characteristic has mostly been associated with, and perfected by, those of European descent. It drove their strong competitive spirit and militaristic adventurism during the ages of technological advancement and gave global dominance to those of that ilk viet armis.

Practically the whole world have subsequently become converts. We do not even realise the extent to which we worship money and ‘things’. Some ‘outsiders’ have relocated to the centres of AC in Europe and North America and now outdo the local ACs there in their thinking…. a certain Sargeant comes to mind… 🙂

The problem that we face globally therefore in 2016 is not one of hue, but one of greed, selfishness, spite and hate.
    However, while generally it is no longer possible to tell an AC by looking at them, in Barbados we have the additional caveat where those of darker hue humbly defer to their lighter kin – fully convinced of a need to ‘know their places’. This maintains a much stronger correlation here between ‘whiteness’ and ‘albino-centricity’ than in other places where there is less brass bowlery.

In short, even if we could all be converted into same-coloured mulattos today, we will still suffer from the greed and selfishness driven by AC….. just that the culprits would be less distinct from the general population.

The ultimate problem to be solved is therefore one related to the philosophy of life. We need to move away from the albino-centric philosophy and towards a community-centric, quality-centric, and God-centric philosophy.
    Otherwise we are just rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic….

34. @ Simple Simon
    It sounds like you would just ask the ZR driver to do a milk shake at the appropriate time, snatch out the baby, and continue to work as usual…
    Much respect to you girl….

35. @pieceuhderockyeahright April 30, 2016 at 2:29 AM “When they reach their house, there, dead on the lawn…is the next door neighbour Stiff and Blue like the sky on a day with no clouds.

Wait lemme guess.

The next door neighbour was a postman right?

Lollll!!!

36. It does happen so, Piece. It does sometimes happen so. About 5% of the time.

I’ll ask Artax the numbers man what is 5% of 8 billion and when he tells me I’ll tell you.

Even though it does happen so and even though people think it is the end of the world in those circumstances.

It is not the end of the world.

Human beings are incredibly, incredibly resilient.

37. @Bush Tea April 30, 2016 at 12:16 AM “So how long have you known that the end is imminent ..and that our asses will be grassed?”

From the beginning Bushie. From the beginning.

I’ve always lived wit that reality.

I am a pragmatic person.

38. Long. long ago, in the good old days when all 17 year olds were virginal. My friend “found” herself pregnant. And as the pregnancy got bigger and bigger she asked granny “but how will the baby get out” Granny of course was a wise woman/a sage and replied.

You remember how it get in there?

Well it will get out the same way.

39. Vincent Haynes Avatar

pieceuhderockyeahright April 30, 2016 at 8:33 AM

Excellent…..I take my hat off to you and DIW aka duh dribbler…..both of you have the ability to do a grand expansion/prolix on my words that is truly amazing…….let us hope that BTs BBs of Bim can understand you better than they can me.

Speaking of BT…..I am amazed at his re-classification of Albinos as a BT word passed down by the BBE to mean greedy capitalist and not melanin content……chuckle…..again what I have been saying for a long time.
    We will have to continue to differ on god-centric but agree on community&quality centric…..lets see how many will understand.

40. @simple Simon
    “The next door neighbour was a postman right?”.

Google the story and see that the milkman gets the credit 🙂
    GM

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC = Albino Centricity…lol…lol…lol

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…that is why in the 90s when my now adult daughter was then 3 years old and allowed me to know..”but Mom, I know I was in your stomach, but how did I get out”…I told her, everything, all about sex and penises and vaginas, the reproductive system, the whole kit and kaboodle.

She replied that if she had known that, she would have stayed inside the stomach and would not now have to walk….different era, different generation and lots of genetic memory.

I dont think I have to tell anyone what an informed and totally aware young lady she has turned out to be…priceless.

43. I would like the BU family to reflect on this question: Would there be a place in Barbados for Negro men of the calibre of a Bob Marley, a Malcolm X, a Marcus Garvey, a Martin Luther King, a Franz Fanon, a Stokely Carmichael, a Patrice Lumumba, a Joshua Nkomo, a Jomo Kenyatta and a Toussaint L’ouverture in 2016?

Sadly, there would be no place for these great men. Marley with his flowing dreadlocks would be viewed as a nasty and an unclean man and certainly would have been thrown in prison simply because he was a lover of marijuana; Toussaint, Marcus, Patrice, Joshua and one or two of the others would have been discriminated against due to their very dark complexions.

The rest of them would have been despised as uppity Negros promoting foolishness – end off!

Some people talk as if the word “reparation” is a bad word. We know that those descendants of the slave trade remain disenfranchised and very few of you appear willing to discuss this or to present an alternative solution to this group of people who should be renamed “the underclass”.

There is a great revolutionary leader located in southern Africa who became impatient with the British reluctance to pay reparations to his country: Zimbabwe. Mugabe decided quite rightly that it would be white Zimbabweans who would pay the price for Britain’s intransigence. He reigned terror on white Zimbabwean farmers to such a degree that many of them left. The few that remained decided that it would be in their interest to negotiate with their President in order to build a fairer society.

Mugabe used fear to subjugate white Zimbabwe. If you guys are serious about instigating change in Barbados you should adopt a similar methodology.

44. @Exclaimer
    First three paragraphs are excellent.
    We have a different opinion for the last three paragraph.

I agree with your assertion that these men would have been rejected by Barbadian society. I also agree with the reasons you stated which leads to the question “Are the problems plaguing Bajan society brought on by the fact that we focus on “surface qualities and big words, without trying to see the heart of a person”.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple,

It is an old joke that has travelled far and through many iterations lol.

The postman variant, in an age of email might not have been as vivid as the dead neighbour all power to helping your neighbour’s family planning exercises.

Ronald WeJonesing would have said that he was to be awarded a medal for increasing the population thusly.

I see that it is 9 in the morning and you are here posting, so does that mean you have weekends off?

According to Bush Tea, if you do work on ZRs isn’t Saturday one of the better days for business?

I like Bust Tea, I like the Sage Anunnaki, I like Prodigal, the Colonel, the Sargent, my man Hants (and his appreciation of music and tents) I like DPD, Amused, Jeff, Caswell, Artaxerxes Well Well, I love SSS. She is my Sunshine

Generally, reasoned positions presented by people, be they White, Lawson, etc, black, Indian, I does not matter, I will like them and put up my name to it, both of them.

As long as you love my country and its people and, in your own way, seek to improve the lives of fellow bajans, you got my vote.

You “jes cum” here but Bushie does not deviate from a position and has not done so in the few parsecs that I have been here so if that seems like obsequiousness to you, I am guilty.

With time, you grow to respect people and even though AC and Alvin Cummins may be yards fowls, you have to grudgingly respect them for their relentless support of the dufuses that are killing our economy

So Mia Mottley, she who brings the Troika and has purported bitten out other woman parts, would make you cringe Donna, but if you as a so called christian were to examine her you would grow to have a begrudging appreciation of the woman which is de facto like.

What I am saying is that I don’t parrot Bush Tea nor genuflect to his submissions it is Moreno that the chords he plays on BU s cyber keyboard are tunes that I say play your song sweet music man.

With time that like becomes respect, like that which I have for the Blogmaster but if you do pup I gine cuss you too

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya got that right Exclaimer and any great works created by these men would have been stolen by the politicians, banks, entities charged with helping their push forward..read, David Weekes… amd either stolen and sold or given to the Cows, Bizzys, Jadas, Maloneys, Tempros, Simpsons etc..for a car or a house, while completely annhilating those extraordinary geniuses who created their works, making absolutely sure that them and family never benefit from that creativity.

Professor Headley, deceased…comes to mind.

They refuse to rise above their sellout mode, those 2 legged beasts, posing as politicians and business professionals….none of them on the island have the stones or mental acuity, to do the right thing..

47. Bushy wrote,
    Shiite man Money B….
    ..There would have been no arbitrary division of Africa into unworkable countries.
    ..There would be no Middle East crisis – with the murderous Israeli albinos
    ..There would be no Slave trade
    ..There would be no World wars
    ..There would be no Hiroshima /Nagasaki
    ..There would be no 1% owning 90% of the world’s resources
    ..There would be no CAHILL, no Maloney bribes, no Bizzy scams

Bushy, the “Albinos” you speak of would have utilised their vast capabilities to deal a blow that the Hutus, Idi Amin, Mobutu, Bokassa et al would have respected enormously!

If those “Albinos” failed then the MURDEROUS, most corrupt bastards mentioned above would literally have devoured many black people in their cannibalistic ways which included feeding enemies to animals a la Bokassa.

“There would have been no arbitrary division of Africa into unworkable countries!”
    True BUT life would have been hell anyway!

“There would be no Middle East crisis – with the murderous Israeli albinos.”
    Get serious the ME been fighting for thousands of years! The Sunnis HATE the Shia not for God’s sake though.

“There would be no Slave trade.’
    Bushy, Slavery is NOT a White invention, so that is absolute nonsense. (Whitey may have been the best and most productive slave owners)

“There would be no World wars.”
    Why? Are U suggesting that Africans would not have invented Airplanes/ Airforce etc. Dont put Africans down there “leaders” love to kill THEIR OWN brothers far less whitey!

“There would be no Hiroshima /Nagasaki”
    Again you are suggesting that Africans could not have invented Nukes, why do U like brandishing an inferiority complex doh?

“There would be no 1% owning 90% of the world’s resources”
    TRUE! Those African dictators would be 10 fellas owning the entire Earth!

“There would be no CAHILL, no Maloney bribes, no Bizzy scams”
    Correct! The African DICTATORS would be feeding thousands to the Animals, indeed those they could not eat themselves, and with their supreme stranglehold progress would be nil.

Bushy, Wake Up, Drink a gallon of premium Coffee and cease Dreaming, nightmares.

48. The following is directed at all of you commenting from the netherside having not read Beckles’ article.

Hilarymorris

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ MoneyBrain April 30, 2016 at 10:00 AM
    There would be no Hiroshima /Nagasaki”
    Again you are suggesting that Africans could not have invented Nukes, why do U like brandishing an inferiority complex doh?”

According to the philosopher called B T, there would also not have been any genocidal campaign wage by the Japanese against the Chinese that put Hitler’s extermination excursions to shame.
    Unless Bushie sees the Japanese as albinos too.

BTW, MB, was Genghis Khan an albino too?