Local authorities including the media remain  understandably silent about the the racist comment uttered by Top Gear Host Jeremy Clarkson. He was recorded muttering the nursery rhyme ‘’eeny, meeny, miny moe catch a nigger by he toe’.  After  vigorously denying he used the nigger word lo and behold he was persuaded to publish an apology. The reason for the silence in Little England is explained by tourism officials expecting great things having contracted to host the Top Gear Festival in Barbados on May 17 and 18. Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton of Grenadian parentage is billed to participate. No way the Barbados government wants the festival to be cancelled.

One of many reports in the UK media suggest Jeremy Clarkson is feeling the heat amid calls for the BBC to fire him. Clarkson must feel unlucky at the timing of his indiscretion which collides with that of Donald Sterling’s racist comment.

There is the saying if you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything. Barbados is a predominantly Black country and the Barbados government must know it cannot ignore this matter. Barbadians are known to be very forgiving of their politicians but in this case the world is watching.   Surely we deserve a response from our elected government? Does the government of Barbados a Black country believe this is mock sport? Barbadians continue to pontificate about Donald Sterling in the USA but appear to be giving Clarkson a pass just as he is about to pack his bags to travel to Barbados for the Top Gear Festival? Is this the kind of publicity we want to generate?

BU holds the firm view Jeremy Clarkson should NOT take the flight out to Barbados in a couple of weeks. There is a price he must pay for his indiscretion. His contrived apology is not enough to remove the insult to Blacks and sensible human beings everywhere. If Barbados – a 90 plus percent Black country – were to welcome Jeremy Clarkson to Barbados it would be a compromise to self which our Black forefathers should rightfully not forgive us.

213 responses to “No Thanks Jeremy Clarkson”

1. Racism could very well bring down the racist republican party in the US in the future, that is how toxic racism has become in the real world.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/fla-gov-charlie-crist-racism-reason-left-republican-party-article-1.1782910

2. @Millertheannakui wrote “Here is a possible solution to all of this backlash crap which Hants seems to be enjoying.”

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

3. miller this comment was too sweet ac had to re post it with a completion .,,,,,,What ,,more can be said about clarkson.long term contractual restraints might be impediments in how the situation is handle.the self inflicted damage is done.the black community has in no uncertain terms let their voices heard.now it is up to the white establishment those for whom he works to do the right thing releasing him of all contractual obligations regarding this upcoming event..but we that would never happen as in the face of all it the powerful tool called money trumps race ..color or creed..and if blacks don,t like or accept an apology then too bad as far as the white establishment is concerned..
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Now miller i knew you ar v biting at bthe bit to drag this govt into this debacle,,,,,,however this is not just a black and white issue,,,they are vshades of grey in between calledv MONEY…..unless those who hired him feels that an apology is not enough for clarkson to give to the black community and further action is necessary to show good faith ,then it ain’t a god damn thing that clarkson can do to prevent him from landing on the shores of barbados,,,,,,however having said that ,,theblack community in barbados and any or all whites can join hands with the same goal in mind to boycott the event,,,, that would send a message to the sponsors and his employers that more than an apology is needed but the need for Clarkson to withdraw from the event is being called for out of total respect for the black race …the action coming out of barbados and barbadians is what would remove Clarkson visit on this soil .
    BTW miller listen up mr negroman…..i couldn’t give two flying shits about car racing too uppity and lily white for me,,,,,,,i rather visit a local rumshop and support my black counterparts,,,

4. @ Ross
    now to you mr .ross,,,i do belive i met u in a past life ….you were a humbug then and you are a humbug now,,,,leave me alone ……get loss.

5. Seem to have touched a nerve.

6. Clarkson and others will have to learn there is a different way they have to use language in the context of how history has treated minorities. NOT Acceptable!

7. David

Is that just another way of saying ‘people should be more careful?’

8. It is unfair to the people who spent their money buying tickets for the car racing to ask them to boycott, it’s more prudent to ask Clarkson to go to another country that is not majority black, since he cannot contain himself.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | May 7, 2014 at 6:00 PM |
    “BTW miller listen up mr negroman…..i couldn’t give two flying shits about car racing too uppity and lily white for me,,,,,,,i rather visit a local rumshop and support my black counterparts”

Ac, I am not a “negroman”.
    The word nigger or niggra is a corruption of the word negro from the Spanish (possibly Portuguese) word for ‘black’ and initially used by uncultured illiterate rednecks living south of the Mason/Dixon line.
    Would you find it acceptable if Jeremy had said
    “eeny, meeny, miny moe catch a ‘negro’ by (his) toe”?

Maybe J C (like his local counterpart Maloney) is merely reflective of his poorer cousins transported as riffraff to ‘colonise’ America and socially rule over the slaves and natives.

BTW, you should watch the “Top Gear Africa” special and you might just give two flying shits with your uppity blackness except when in the presence of your white masters.
    Now ac who is getting the big contracts under the DLP if not the same uppity coloureds passing for lily whites?
    Certainly not the blacks like you who were promised their 40% share instead of 40 acres and an imported steel donkey!

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

The word nigger or niggra is a corruption of the word negro from the Spanish (possibly Portuguese) word for ‘black’ and initially used by uncultured illiterate rednecks living south of the Mason/Dixon line.
    ……………………………………………………………..
    And over in Germany ,the German for Negro is “Neger”, pronounced “Nay-gur” , I was well aware of the translation,and paid no attention to it , the few times that I was described as such, but it irritated my British colleagues, who assumed it was the American and Clarkson’s version.
    BTW , Do you realise that the famous movie star and ex Governor, Mr Schwarzennegger’s name when translated into english, means Black negro?

11. miller how much rum and coke did u consume before yuh posted that comedic response to me……steupse ………..

12. Colonel………with schwartzastupidnegger anything is possible and he is one useless racist to besides, lol.