An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-white“If you open that Pandora’s box, you never know what Trojan ‘orses will jump out…” –Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobago’s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also “every creed and race finds an equal place”. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert “Bobby” Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornet’s nest with his recent call for an apology by the “descendants of white Barbadian slave owners” to the local “descendants of slaves”’; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morris’s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…”

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace one’s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. Bushy,
    I usually use macro issues to Economists so they can fulfill there destiny of Regularly being Wrong! lol

U know that my reason for using examples is to make the point that not all whiteys cut from the same cloth. Why alienate all Whiteys? Even in Sth Africa some Whiteys assisted in the cause. It just is not all black and white.

2. meant to say LEAVE macro

3. @ MoneyBrain,

Back pay from 1940 will suffice.

This is a very interesting story. Remember all the pretty red girls I used to see on my way to kolij from the Lower Green.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80632/-scotia-banker-days-rosy

4. When Barbados attained independence in 1966 and adopted its own National Anthem,which contains the following words,

The Lord has been the people’s guide
    For past three hundred years

This is an admission which took the responsibility for slavery out of the hands of the European and into the hands of God.

5. Hants,
    Good story, I know of this fella, his mother in law was great friends with my mother, usually by phone. The rich whites never cared for the poor ones just as the rich/powerful blacks of today are brekking for demselves. This is typical Human behavior, really has nothing to do with race.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Colonel, they also brought the western bible into Africa and left owning most of the land and still sit on riches derived from the slave trade, while Africans are stilll holding on to the bible.

Blame the invisible guy in the sky for slavery, worked out well..lol

7. the concept that

Slaveowners = Whitey

is utter nonsense as ALL racial groups have historically had slaves of their own racial group.

Yes, Africans had White slaves too!

8. Blacks selling blacks as slave is another attempt by whites to excuse and exempt themselves from being executors of the slave trade.
    The fact being that if and when free black slaves sold blacks as slaves it was not a discouragement by the white slave masters who owned and control the bulk of the slave Trade but another way of developing a physchological appartus in the minds of blacks which even today serves whites handsomely to conquer and divide
    But taking circumstances reasoned by cause and effect lead by tremdous stress of not being fully educated or having no other developed skills to become economically sufficent ….thefree blacks left with having no other option adopted the same learning and economic mechanism affirded to them made easy and accessible for survival
    However of great significance one cannot forget what economic skills black slave owners knew was learned and taught to them by the teachings of their White Slave Masters

9. ac
    But taking circumstances reasoned by cause and effect lead by tremdous stress of not being fully educated or having no other developed skills to become economically sufficent ….thefree blacks left with having no other option adopted the same learning and economic mechanism affirded to them made easy and accessible for survival.

So black slaveowners are exempted?????? What about the Chiefs in Africa who sold POWs, criminals, or just enemies etc to Whitey—dem get a pass too? Poor chiefs had an alternative plan to kill such adversaries!

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences April 29, 2016 at 12:24 P
    “An African also owns Heathrow airport in London, unless he sold it. Africa has billionaires and millionaire like sand, many of them females. They now have a serious banking system and are becoming a business force to be reckoned with in the world..”

So how come Stinkliar and the contender for his job Pit-bull Estwick have not approached these people to bail out Bim from the imminent IMF jail instead of the former slave traders from the Middle East?

Which would you prefer to own GAIA? The Nigerian billionaire to turn it into a miniature Heathrow of the Caribbean or a sheik with a penchant for exotic “black cherries”?

You should ask yourself why would a Nigerian who made his billions by siphoning off the same billions from his country’s oil wells want to own an airport in his former exploiter’s homeland while his native oil-producing land has to import all its finished petroleum products. Why not invest in a state-of-the-art refinery?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…those African billionaires could very well be descended from slave traders, but they might not. Many of them dont believe that Caribbean people are of African descent, I dont know why since Africa was colonized FIRST, so they will have to tell me the logic in their thinking.

Maybe you should ask Sinckler to approach one of the really wealthy ones like Mike Adenuga, they love to flaunt their wealth, dont know if it’s something in the water, but most of them have the same mindset.

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Totally agree with keeping this conversation on the front burner…..hopefully we will realise that the war is between the haves and the have nots as opposed to those of different melanin content.

The former slave owners of Bim have long since left including London Bourne….

Please note SS he was one of the melanin rich slave owners,owning the Plantations of Grazettes and Friendship in St.Michael.

13. You people are crazy! After the apology then what…?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ MoneyBrain April 29, 2016 at 1:02 PM #
    “..the concept that Slaveowners = Whitey is utter nonsense as ALL racial groups have historically had slaves of their own racial group.
    Yes, Africans had White slaves too!”

True that!
    If you really accept the story in the Judeo-Christian Bible about the white Jews being enslaved for 400 years by ‘black’ Egyptians.

Since people believe everything about the dark continent of Africa is black, then Egyptians of old had to be dark of skin.

Even the old slave trader John Newton of “Amazing Grace” fame was himself enslaved by a black princess (Peye) of the now Sierra Leone and had to be the ‘white servant’ to her ‘plantation’ of slaves.

It is certainly a frightful phenomenon that a song written by a former slave trader could be the anthem of black Christian churches not only in the Diaspora but also on the dark Motherland.

If a wretch like Newton can be saved by the grace of his white god then there is hope that white Bajans can rejoin the Anglican Church and be converted by a black Johnny called Holder and be invited to Ilaro Court to receive the blessings of the black King Fumble.

You have to admit the world is not that ‘black and white’ as many of BU who see through rose-tinted glasses would like to think.

15. It seems we all get whatever in a butch when there is race talk.

Here is the breakdown in simple terms: there is a mistrust between the races; it is rooted in a historical context of slavery. We need to discuss to arrive at a Christian understanding to grow a more harmonious society. Some of us have the capacity to achieve within the system such as it is, others will struggle given how the society is formed and BLACKS were enculturated.

16. If Bush Tea is not materialistic why is it he wants my money

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman is against the money for reparations too, he thinks it’s begging.

18. How many posting on this blog read Sir Hilary’s response to Grenville Phillips letter? Respond to the point he made, why has Dr. Watson no taken into consideration additional data found in archives located in New York and Washington. His simple point is that if reports from soldiers of the time support that the rallying for the rebellion occurred at Bayleys then Bussa was large and in charge. We need Dr. Watson to be lucid in a rebuttal to Sir Hilary.

19. Well Well no this is reverse cycology, he is waiting for me to offer it ..then faster than a speeding cassava thief it would be gone. Then I would owe more money for not teaching how to handle that instant wealth and avoid all the trappings that go with it.

20. It’s a real pity so called educated people can’t accept the simple provable fact that there is only one race!!!

One could argue that It is not worth discussing and arguing with persons who just can’t grasp such a simple concept!!

I still try …. sometimes … mostly I fail …. I keep trying …. but experience tells me not to expect success!!

21. David
    Why do you hold white people in such high regard? I am perplexed by your craving for their approval.

22. @ Artax April 29, 2016 at 7:37 AM #

Are the TAX PAYERS of Barbados PAYING Bobby Morris to PERFORM the DUTIES of CARICOM AMBASSADOR or to give HISTORY LECTURES and talk shiite?

What is Morris’ TRACK RECORD to date since he was APPOINTED Caricom Ambassador?
    ……………………………………………………

You would be surprised, Artax to hear that one day I was at the beach and the Ambassador was also there. I exchanged pleasantries with him and then asked if he was on holiday. I said no, I am not going in today, I happen to have a personal appointment later today, I will just check in with my secretary.

I smiled and thought well, you obviously do not have much to do. By the way, was the fishing agreement ever finalised?

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Lawson, then ya better add more money for counseling along with reparations money.

24. @John

It does not matter that there is one race, what matters is that there is disharmony/mistrust between the races and as long as we draw collective breath there is a moral duty by one and all to address the issue. So believe there is one race if you want, how does it address the real issue?

#101comprehensionbeingpragmatic

25. LOL @ Lawson
    Luckily for you, Bushie wants neither your money NOR your blood…..
    else your donkey would have long been broke and bled.

You can rest in peace for the time being….
    It is not Bushie you need worry about, it is a bitch called ‘Karma’…

@ Miller
    Steupsss… !!

@ Ping (what happened to the Pong?)
    …an apology would suggest an almost frightening possibility …that a people who have from their very beginning been driven by the pursuit of money and materialism, may have seen the light of wisdom, and had repented of their greedy ways……
    IT WILL NOT HAPPEN – …..that would be akin to a tiger changing its stripes.

It would however, (if it could happen) open doors to less racial and class divisions in society, and lead to one in which a person’s character could be more valued than his assets….

@ david
    Missed Sir Cave’s response to Grenville…. where can it be found?

26. @Ping Pong

A big misread.

> @John > > It does not matter that there is one race, what matters is that there is > disharmony/mistrust between the races and as long as we draw collective > breath there is a moral duty by one and all to address the issue. So > believe there is one race if you want, how does it address the real issue? > > #101comprehensionbeingpragmatic > >>

27. @Bush Tea

P.10 Nation of the 28, 2016.

He treated Grenville ll real harsh though.

28. The city of Bridgetown Barbados is twinned with the red neck city of Charleston , South Carolina. An alliance which we Barbadians are very proud of, even relishing the names of the streets there, and the lineage of scores of States Governors. Are we going to exact compensation and apologies from the state of South Carolina, for the many ‘docile’ Bajan slaves who were relocated to that state when their masters had moved, lock, stock and chattel barrel there at the behest of the British King to use their ill gotten gains to develop the state of South Carolina, and knowing, that unlike the American slave, the tag- along ever faithful Bajan slave would seek passage on the underground railroad. Are we including the Gullahs of South Carolina,who speak with a Bajan accent, in this reparation kitty? Or is it a case of every man for himself?

29. Bush Tea
    this reparations/apology talk right down there with Caribbean integration. This could only mean that we are clueless, powerless and aimless.

30. @ millertheanunnaki April 29, 2016 at 10:09 AM #

“Now pray tell us, to whom are you and motor-mouth Morris making this call for an apology?
    Who or what represents ‘white’ Barbados?
    Is there an association called “The Former Slave Owners of Barbados”?

Are you making your call to COW & Bizzy?

Why not directly to Maloney and the rest of white financiers of the DLP who are not only enjoying the massive returns on their forefathers’ investments in the slavery business of yesteryear but also continues to benefit today from their investments in corrupt DLP black politicians”.
    …………………………………………………………………………

Miller, I could never understand how a man like Bobbie Morris (I used to believe his rhetoric) could run a campaign and take money from the likes of the white men he used to despise so vehemently.

He managed the DLP campaign where the best kept secret was that it was financed by three or four wealthy white men. I guess he would say like the PM that he did not question where the money came from…………..Stinkliar was the bag man.

Bobbie Morris continues to be a key man in this Fumble administration and sits quietly by and watch this government destroy the poor and middle classes by the heavy taxes imposed on them and the job cuts to thousands in the public sector. Remember in 1991 when Sandi cut the public sector salaries by 8%….Bobbie said in the House then when he was a MP,

………..”these cuts will never heal”.

Now he sits quietly by while the same white men get all the government contracts and would not protest that some of these rich contracts could share among small contractors………this was the DLP’s time to spread the wealth around. Instead, the wealth is still concentrated in hands of three or four white men.

These white men are now major directors on boards……..one of them, a man Barbadians hardly heard of before 2008 is in everything……..took over Bushy Park, taking over cement, took over highway maintainance, took over house building, took over the port operations by taking in his men to load his stuff whike the taxpayers had to pay the port workers as a result………and the list goes on.

Bobbie should shut the hell up…..he is a fraud!

31. Does Maloney sit on LIAT’s board?

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

yes

LIAT Board of Directors

Chairman
    Dr. Jean Holder

Directors of (Barbados)
    Mr. Trevor Mayers
    Mr. Irvine Best
    Mr. Martin Cox

Mr. Mark Maloney

Director of (St. Vincent)
    Mr. Isaac Solomon

Directors of (Antigua)
    Minister Robin Yearwood

Senator Lennox Weston
    Ms. Carolyn Tonge

33. MoneyBrain April 29, 2016 at 1:12 PM #

So black slaveowners are exempted?????? What about the Chiefs in Africa who sold POWs, criminals, or just enemies etc to Whitey—dem get a pass too? Poor chiefs had an alternative plan to kill such adversaries!

first removed your bigoted perceptions and be guided by causes circumstances and effect being the nexus of which blacks were involved in the slave trade by getting facts first
    firstly Africa was not a country and africans were not selling their own on a large scale but those slave who were there enemies , In all fairness to blacks slave owners one can equate similar stories to the greeks and Romans or even the jews who were killing their own during the halocust
    there are many crucial reasons that would exempt blacks from having to apologize for owning slaves with the biggest reason being that unlike whites whose trade was founded on supremacy and racism the blacks slave trade was built on a survival mode and most importantly certainly does not and cannot pass the test of supermacy and racist actions which were the building blocks for the Trans Atlantic slave trade, A trade where millions died having over 12million slaves sold in less than 400 years a crime so huge that it changed the genetic map of the world

34. ac

Actually, it was and is about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$, regardless of who the owners are/ were.
    The white slave owners counted the Slaves as assets like cattle, horses, tools etc, the supremacy angle was to “justify” their evil attitude. What we should strive to comprehend is that there is a significant difference in historical context as the 17/ 18th Centuries were nothing like today.

“Bigoted”= Reality that certain people dont want to accept?

ONLY Whitey can be wrong, deed and fate !

Self delusion is still delusion.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The politicians must always assign a crook, local or foreign to represent Barbados, why, who prayed for them.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And why must it always be a white or wannabe white crook…care to explain that one AC, it’s riddled in contradictions.

37. Bushie wrote,
    an apology would actually be a sign that the albinos have finally seen the light of racial equality….

How can albinos “finally see the light of racial equality” when Albinos in Africa are being murdered regularly to provide BONES for Witch Doctor’s potions?

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB. ..I think the Bushman meant the Albinos in the west, well schooled and nurtured in the art of hatred and racism….for centuries.

39. WW
    Let me have some fun wid bushy nuh. lol

40. @David “P.10 Nation of the 28, 2016. “He treated Grenville ll real harsh though.”

Grenville deserves the harsh treatment.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…MoneyB, you go ahead but dont be calling me for help when it backfires…lol

http://ow.ly/4ngk9Z

Everywhere people want to see the end of corruption.

42. @Artax April 29, 2016 at 11:04 AM “Your “simpleton” characteristics are adequately demonstrated by the content of your contributions.”

The law must be made to meet the needs of people, and not people to meet the needs of the law.

43. Have never fully understood the ‘new’ reparation movement. How long will we look for or expect reparations? Is this a next “American idea’ that has taken root in the Caribbean? Mr Jemmott gave me a good dose of West Indian history, but I cannot recall him mentioning “40 acres and a mule”.

44. Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.

Look to the USA and see there is some truth in this expression

45. The so-called slave owner class in Barbados should not quibble about paying out reparation to the descendants of slaves,as like in the yesterday of Back Monies payouts, by the following Monday afternoon, that money, some with hire-purchase interest, will be back in pockets, via their many businesses and services so heavily patronised by Barbadians.

46. @ Money B
    How can albinos “finally see the light of racial equality” when Albinos in Africa are being murdered regularly to provide BONES for Witch Doctor’s potions?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Have you considered the possibility that those African albino hunters may be on to something that the rest of the world misses completely…?
    Can you imagine – just for one moment – what our world would now be like if EVERYONE followed their lead….?

Shiite man Money B….
    ..There would have been no arbitrary division of Africa into unworkable countries.
    ..There would be no Middle East crisis – with the murderous Israeli albinos
    ..There would be no Slave trade
    ..There would be no World wars
    ..There would be no Hiroshima /Nagasaki
    ..There would be no 1% owning 90% of the world’s resources
    ..There would be no CAHILL, no Maloney bribes, no Bizzy scams
    Wuh WE would probably be living in Utopia all like now so…. only having CLICO to deal with…

LOL …when Bushie says ‘we’, ..he don’t mean ‘wunna’ though … if yuh get the drift… 🙂

Perhaps those enlightened African hunters are just ensuring that another set of ‘Gehazis’ do not emerge from Africa…. like they did in Bible times…
    You are a sensible fellow – so you should seek to be like the rich and wise ‘Naaman’ ..and get yourself properly ‘blackened’…. not like the greedy idiot Gehazi- who is the father of albino-centricity…..

47. Money Brain FYI A business needs two main ingredients to survive assets and product as a way of trading, The slave owners who were predominately white did not have to convince the slave of right of wrong as far as the owners were concerned the slave was a product to be put on the market and sold for financial gain
    Yes Money brain there was a financial benefit to the slave owner but irreparable damage at a cost to the slave which $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$cannot buy
    it is about time that you and others who feel no sense of remorse and laughed with scorn at those who demands an apology do some soul searching

to those having band aid cliches forwarding to blacks ,it would have been a wise and teachable moment in time if the white slave owners had taught the slave how to fish instead of using the slave as bait to catch fish

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Two little points.

I would wish to know why, given that none of the bajan whites are white why should be be insistent on hunkies who are niggers, apologizing to niggers who are part hunkies.

Will this be something like a wedding vow exchange where one party goes on bended knee and says “I do solemnly swear that I apologize to you” for all the things that i have done and then, we exchange places?

So Draxx Hall and all uh dem raped and pillaged his chatel and property as per the laws that Draxx and party wrote.

But I would want to axe a question, when was the last time there was a white man in the Highest House of this Land mekking the laws?

Who was the last white Prime Minister? barring David Thompson and Tom Adams, whom many swear are white peeples, who was the last one?

Why in a cuntry with 95% blacks can we, the wretched of the earth, in every single major position in the cuntry, not control our destiny?

You see why the white man tek de chains off our wrists, BECAUSE WE ARE STILL SHACKLED IN OUR MINDS

Any while we are here rehashing this non-issue that, merely because Bobby Morris and dat clown from UWI involved, should attest that this is a real non issue, the real issues which de ole man telling wunna behind Brexit, are happening befo’ our very eyes and we still cant see dem

https://youtu.be/74tptZytAgg

This was the reason Obama went to London NOTHING ELSE. Look at how David Cameron retracted all the bravado.

This is why Putin, after testing his newest fleet of death from the air, has withdrawn from Syria, so please let us take our heads out of our collective DNA “mixed up” asses and see as the world is gearing up for World War III

The best offensive is at a time when there are elections for a President, you must understand the nature of when a cuntry is weakest, Xmas, National Celebrations, and General Elections when the continuum of power is in shambles.

“I hear the sound of distant drums…

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And as if to underscore my point that the USofA has seen and is aware of an aggression in the USSR which follows the economic stiffling of the West and the *** here is proof?

“A Russian jet fighter that intercepted a US Air Force reconnaissance plane on Friday did so in an “unsafe and unprofessional manner” over the Baltic Sea, the Pentagon has said.

It says the fighter performed a barrel roll plane over the American plane.

It is the second incident in the Baltic this month in which the US has accused Russian planes of flying aggressively.”

The USofA is in the Baltic IN THE BACK DOOR OF THE USSR or whatever you wish to call it, Putin is not going to back down, if an incident starts.

Maybe we do need that madman Donald Trump after all.

Watch how quickly the borders of the US, Canada and the EU will close when it starts.

And look how we cant get water to some parts of Barbados for one whole year, imagine when supply lines from external suppliers falter how deep in the shy*e we going be!