An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-whiteโ€œIf you open that Pandoraโ€™s box, you never know what Trojan โ€˜orses will jump outโ€ฆโ€ โ€“Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobagoโ€™s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also โ€œevery creed and race finds an equal placeโ€. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert โ€œBobbyโ€ Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornetโ€™s nest with his recent call for an apology by the โ€œdescendants of white Barbadian slave ownersโ€ to the local โ€œdescendants of slavesโ€โ€™; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morrisโ€™s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, โ€œnobody owes us a living. Itโ€™s a brave new worldโ€ฆโ€

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace oneโ€™s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. Wow. You remind me of how a Florida governor solved the climate change problem by banning the use of the words ‘climate change’.

To paraphrase the Bush Master a ‘non-point’ and utter ‘brass bowlery’

2. MoneyBrain April 30, 2016 at 1:45 PM “Simpy, U washing for Barrack now?”

Nah. He is old enough to do his ow dirty laundry.

I am washing for the FUTURE Nobel prize winners, who are all <10 years old.

can’t do for themselves yet.

3. Not so-called, Pieces. A Christian. Just not a nampy pampy one. What have I done here for you to qualify my title with the words ‘so called’ . Is only Bushie allowed to be Christian and tell it like it is? Wait, don’t bother answer! I dun know and doan care Because you (nor the Great Bush Tea) have no real say in the matter.

BU is no different from the very politicians you are criticising. If you were to form the government you would believe that only a few of you have anything to contribute. You would ridicule all those outside of your clique and end up repeating the same old tired ideas because you don’t pay attention to new persons and fresh ideas. Many of you have never considered the ideas but dismiss them according to who presents them. You DO NOT rethink your positions when somebody introduces some new way of thinking. You just stick to your guns. I have changed my views on a few matters from discussions here on BU. Sometimes I do acknowledge that a person with a different view has a point that is worth considering. Nobody is wise in all things and therefore cannot ALWAYS be right.

You give me a long list of people you like. Me, I just like good ideas no matter the source.

Boredom returns.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“This was in the main carried out by the Militia, as always composed of white men only too keen to exact retribution. In addition to slaves who were killed while actively resisting arrest,another sixty were shot out of hand. Later after the necessary judicial proceedings , fifty more were hanged, and as many”…..

Colonel…is it not interesting that it was always the poor whites and descendants of indentured servants paid to carry out these hunting down and assassinations of freedom fighters, that was when guns were put in their hands, they were still treated like shit and still thought of as inferior by the brits who controlled the island, but as is today, still see themselves as superior to the majority blacks on the island.

They are a minority of less than 10 thousand people on the island today, descended from those best, it’s mindboggling that both black governments and all the politicians and other black leaders, still entertain the descendants of these malingerers and thieves in their criminal activities, lies and wickedness and bend over backwards to help enrich them, what does thst say about the black leaders,.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*They are a minority of less than 10 thousand people on the island today, descended from those BEASTS……

6. @ Donna
    Wait … Bushie is a centipede or wuh??
    yuh mean everybody saying “kill’ee, kill’ee” ??!!
    How is it that in puting some licks in Piece …you find it necessary to deliver two drop kicks in Bushie’s donkey…?

…and too besides, Yuh wrong.

Most people don’t know their donkey from their face. The trick of good leadership is to have the wisdom to know, …and to know that you know.
    Some of the most vocal jackasses have the most destructive ideas, the best access to media ..and the potential to lead brass bowls to their destruction…. not picking on Wickky… ๐Ÿ™‚

Piece’s position of checking for long-term consistency; a history of success; a policy of selflessness; and an acknowledgement of one’s limitations, is a supremely WISE approach to the selection of those whom we should trust to lead us … even in thought.

….and of those we should avoid.

7. If there is only one race it is impossible to find a racist who is a member of that race, QED.

You could find a highly uneducated and ignorant member of the race who believes there are actually two or more races but that member is not a racist, just an ignorant uneducated member of a single race.

With the advent of Darwin whose theories some highly educated and brilliant members of the single race use to suggest people come from apes there have been images of for example the Irish, cast as monkeys.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-Irish_sentiment

The best the originators of the images could be said to be is evolutionists as opposed to creationists.

But most contributors on BU are evolutionists and would recoil in horror if they were branded as racists even although they seem to believe there is more than one race and probably merit the title!!

I have never heard of an example where an ape and a human produced viable fertile offspring so to suggest humans are descended from apes is completely illogical and shows up evolutionists as being pretty damn ignorant.

Of course, I stand to be corrected!!

I am however pretty confident this thesis won’t be meaningfully challenged because I know that many of the evolutionists on BU, they are not racists although they do not know it, do not read or search out knowledge!!

I am pretty comfortable with my creationism and am yet to see any real challenge posed.

It is possible for a member of one race to believe he/she is a racist but only if he/she believes there is more than one race!!

It is natural and human for members of a group to harbor feelings of animosity to members of another group, but racism cannot be used to describe this.

Japanese for example felt Americans were not human and vice versa during the second world war but that did not make either tribe racist.

Tribal perhaps is the word, but racist, absolute rubbish!!

Unfortunately, to be tribal is natural and sometimes results in propaganda which can be described as racist … but again, the propaganda can be traced to a few individual members of the single race who really don’t have a clue about their shared humanity and are purposely trying to stir up hatred.

8. The following article is worth reading.

WATSON K. – The journal of Sir Henry FitzHerbert kept while in Barbados in 1825

It deals with the 1816 revolt.

An absentee landowner visits Barbados in 1825 interacts with his slaves and describes what he sees on his plantation, Turner’s Hall, 9 years later.

It is in the 1998 journal of the Barbados and Museum Society, should be available at the museum bookshop or on line.

If I can find my copy I’ll reproduce an extract.

9. @ John
    If there is only one race it is impossible to find a racist who is a member of that race, QED.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Do you know of any humans who disliked, and were biased against, other humans – even those that looked exactly like themselves? …like ‘Hogfood’ for example…?
    Can you imagine that there are people who basically dislike other people…period!?

Why do you dig these theoretical holes….. and why keep on digging when you meet a suck…?

Everyone and their mulatto cousins, know that by ‘racism’ we ALL (except you) mean “that enmity between peoples of various hues, where those of lighter hue passed laws, used force and generally institutionalised a regime based on colour to dictate hierarchy….”

Tell us again why you want to renegotiate this definition …so that 6.9 billion people on this earth should come around to your way to seeing it….

Apparently it makes you feel a bit better about yourself to call it ‘tribal’ ..and to dismiss it as ‘natural’ … but you are wrong (as is your wont…)

If you do not like the word ‘racist’,
    …then perhaps you will agree that it is ‘brass bowl shiite’… !? ๐Ÿ™‚

10. @John
    On this one race, two races thing I am unable to see your point.
    And then you go on to mention creationism and evolutionists

The Bush man was very polite when he spoke of “theoretical holes

Words mean everything and then they can mean very little. In your world you have solved the problem of racism, by removing the word, but for others the word describe a bitter drink with a pungent odor.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Racism is a religion for those who are still hell bent, although they see after 1200 years of use, it is becoming futile, to continue to use racism, to control the 7 billion, give or take a few, people on the earth.

Over the last 1200 years, racism was used as a tool, a very dangerous weapon and a business to build the west and enrich a few at the expense of nearly 50 generations of people of African descent.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/albinos-malawi-face-total-extinction-expert-warns-article-1.2620796

The Bushman may have predicted correctly, however, how can anyone make this a ritual, it will be interesting to dig into history to find out, how, when and where it started, as we know it’s the black male carries the recessive gene that causes albinism, so, who started the idea of destroying them with the excuse that the body parts are mythical……I bet that gossip is centuries old.

MoneyB…want to visit Malawi, they are probably rich in resources.

13. Racism, Shadism, Religion, Politics, Classism are all likely to cause Schism.
    Humans too love division, fragmentation etc.

There are some on this MB who wont accept that hating others of a different race is likely to destroy themselves. Surely one’s focus should be on developing the best human you can be? One should be aware of history and if people like yourself/ family/ race or whatever have been treated badly/ victimised then understanding this reality should fuel your desire to accomplish more.

There are those who will gladly kill others over whose God is better or even over the SAME GOD, or even over one’s right to choose / change! How does that make any sense?

Humans dont want to think and research the facts thoroughly.There are actually people who like Hilary for Pres, especially females over 50, why? Hilary is fully aware of Billy’s many nefarious escapades with other females and yet she stays with him for one key reason– to stay on the top of the Political pile, as he is a master conman and can further her goals. Feminists and females in the over 50 set, should despise such a woman who is codependent.
    Notice I did not even mention that they have been allegedly been involved in 26 premature human exits that were not health related but involved “suicides”, “auto accidents” etc

14. WW
    I had 2 friends connected to Malawi.
    One chap was a native who I met at our Students Hostel in London, all the ladies loved him he was good looking man with a very happy disposition, the other fella was a Bajan who won a Rhodes Schol and eventually was a Prof at the Uni of Malawi. Both died in their early 50s!!!!
    Certainly makes me consider carefully. I have seen Africa in the distance but have not set foot on the continent just yet. Sth Africa and East Africa are the most magnetically attractive areas. I certainly intend to go.

15. A leopard cant change its spots the white race in Bdos isn’t going to admit to or apologize for slavery. Their argument is they too were slaves or indentured servants and blacks didn’t have it that horrible. Karl Watson plays George Washington in a reality show for the tourists. He looks the part. Washington was a racist slave owning American who if the British had put down the rebellion in 1776 would have been shot for treason. Don’t expect Watson, Fraser and that crowd to own up to the murderous fire and brimstone their ancestors placed African slaves though.

Hilary Beckles often flip flops but got it right when he scolded Watson on the white supremacist notion when it comes to Bussa. If General Bussa prevailed in the rebellion Watson’s ancestors may have been enslaved. Don’t tell Watson, Frances Chandler and Andrew Tom Bynoe that. The British who enslaved black Africans owe an apology and reparations like the Jews received after Hitler holocaust them. White Bajans should apologize to blacks for slavery. Slavery is the main reason whites have a stranglehold on the economy. Blacks have nothing to apologize for they were the victims of the worst genocide and human rights abuse in history.

The Prime Minister calls for more inclusiveness in the society he will get no objection from blacks. The likes of Watson, Frances Chandler, Andrew Tom Bynoe and Grenville Phillips will disagree with the PM.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB. .good luck to you, I have no burning desire to visit Africa for the simple reason that I am very afraid a mosquito or some other insect bites me and kills me…lol

So far, I have gotten, chickungunya and dengue in the Caribbean, was deathly afraid to catch West Nile Virus in the US… still have the chickungunya strain in my body, it lasts two years, so the last thing I will need is malaria or some other new fangled bite to finish me off.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now I remember who I was confusing Watson with, that other fraud and pimptitle holder Fraser, out and out fraud.

In and Out…that means the majority black population, including the sell outs for politicians, must be very careful of those minorities who will not stop trying to rewrite history in their favor, but to the detriment of the majority blacks on the island.

The people need to stop pretending to be subservient sheep and stop the crap.

18. @MB
    Humans dont want to think and research the facts thoroughly.There are actually people who like Hilary for Pres, especially females over 50, why? Hilary is fully aware of Billyโ€™s many nefarious escapades with other females and yet she stays with him for one key reasonโ€“ to stay on the top of the Political pile,
    As the Bajans of yesteryear would say โ€œyou like you got Hilary stuck in yer crawโ€. There is current blog entry about Hilary where you are free to vent your spleen, but it will either be Madame President or Ethelred the Unready. Given your fondness for the finer things in life yuh think yuh could afford to have the self- styled billionaire controlling your purse strings?

19. Simple Simon Avatar

Bush Tea May 1, 2016 at 1:45 PM “Do you know of any humans who disliked, and were biased against, other humans โ€“ even those that looked exactly like themselves? โ€ฆlike โ€˜Hogfoodโ€™ for example? Can you imagine that there are people who basically dislike other peopleโ€ฆperiod!?”

Cuhdear Bushie. You shouldn’t drop such hard licks in ohn this Blessed Sunday afternoon.

20. Simple Simon Avatar

@MoneyBrain May 1, 2016 at 6:06 PM “they have been allegedly been involved in 26 premature human exits that were not health related but involved โ€œsuicidesโ€, โ€œauto accidentsโ€ etc.”

So which conspiracy theory message boards have you been lurking on now?

21. Simple Simon Avatar

@Well Well & Consequences May 1, 2016 at 6:34 PM “I am very afraid a mosquito or some other insect bites me and kills meโ€ฆ,so the last thing I will need is malaria or some other new fangled bite to finish me off.”

Coming your way faster than a speeding bullet…Zika which will spread as far North as New Jersey before you can say Jack Robinson. Lolll!!!

Believe it or not I have not caught dengue nor Ckick-V, nor Zika yet in spite of living every day in the tropics.

22. Sarge
    At no time have I ever suggested that I have a penchant for the finer things in life.
    Interestingly, you Sarge have stated that or similar, on many occasions as you want to believe that it must be true, it is not. I am one of the least materialistic people you will ever have any form of contact with. Skippa, I have some shirts more than 20yrs old that luckily were very big when I purchased same.

The Clintons are dangerous, dirty, alleged murderers in a fair world would most likely be in prison for rape, molestation, etc

WW,
    I detest the mere idea of dengue, chicky, Zika and naturally Malaria.I was in Bim in Sept 2014 just before Chicky invaded and infected more than 50 relatives and friends. My good friend’s father went to Ghana and then Kenya as a professional in Sugarcane technology, he contracted malaria and died relatively young as it weakens the heart over time.

23. Simpy,
    U seriously believe Hilary has the character, attitude, personality to be a good Pres after Bill’s escapades of which she is CODEPENDENT, her track record with Benghazi/ email servers with highly confidential info/ 26 very questionable deaths??????????????????????????????

So your blood musseee like Hilary???????? lol

24. You really are insufferable. If you were a centipede I would have sprayed you already. NO I am NOT wrong! I do not blindly agree with every statement uttered by ANY MAN because he has been right on many other occasions. And I do not dismiss the opinion of ANY MAN because he was wrong on ALL other occasions. NOBODY knows EVERYTHING about EVERYTHING! And EVERYBODY grabs hold of a little truth every now and then depending on the topic being discussed. If after consideration ( after all, I do have my own brain) I cannot myself determine who is right or wrong I will assign more weight to the more credible source. Last week Pieces jumped on me for disagreeing with you and did not even stop to understand what either of us was saying. You may have managed to fool him that you have special powers. But I have proven you wrong before. Remember Jahan KIng and your assertion that the CCB could not take up people children so? You called me an emotional female ranting and raving. BUT RIGHT I WAS! They went on a rampage the next few weeks!

You Bushie, think far too highly of yourself and you have managed to convince a few others of your infallibility.

Enjoy your little kingdom. I am not a subject.

25. Donna, is that you?

Since your return to the halls of BU, you have been “shooting quite brutally” and scarcely missing your target.

26. Artax,

SSS and her campaign drew me back. The student/teacher fight made me dally a while.

I am not inclined to being a member of any clique and have suffered many times because of it. I have therefore had many occasions to study the negative aspects of group dynamics first hand. Saturday morning was one such occasion. At a meeting at Codrington College, I was assigned to a small work group. Now I am a free spirit that roams amongst the people never dallying long in one place. So I am never an insider but always a fringe member of all groups. Blank faces or turned up noses accompanied every suggestion I made. Nobody even addressed my suggestions but went on to the next person. Not being the type of nampy pampy person to sit through it I excused myself and let the clique work out their presentation themselves. Of course when the presentations were made the approach I had suggested turned out to be the recommended approach. Soooooo….. I saw their discomfiture and smiled.

Unfortunately, Bushie doesn’t even know when he’s been shot so I cannot enjoy his discomfiture.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…”wuh miss yuh, ent pass yuh”…lol

MoneyB. ..there is no tribal war more dangerous than the insects that can bite you and kill you in Africa, many people from the Caribbean went into Africa, got the malaria and did not last long.

Serves ya right Bushman, for wanting to continue to inflict morev motionally disturbed Fruendels and Carringtons and Sincklers and Lowes and Lashleys and Boyces and Parrises on the Bajan population through regular beatings of the student population, erroneously called discipline……for decades into the future.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*emotionally disturbed………

29. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

John May 1, 2016 at 12:40 PM #

Reminding you to look for the FitzHerbert extract.

Bush Tea May 1, 2016 at 1:45 PM #

Chuckle….you real hard ears though……when are you going to get it through your thick skull the meaning of “man to man is so unjust”,pigment,height,disability,wealth,poverty,education or lack off,belief system,different tribe,etc,etc have all been used at some time or other to justify humanoid prejudices to each other it is simply part of our structural makeup/DNA.

30. LOL
    Donna perhaps you need to stop telling us so much about yourself… you seem to have issues with those who do no agree with your ideas.. Not only with your sons teachers, but now with your Codrington classmates too?… and of course we all know of your BU differences…

Don’t you think you need to learn to live and let live? Is it that you are not inclined to be a member of any clique – or that you want to have control of the various clique?

Bushie has no interest or desire to have you or anyone agree with his positions…. shiite, Bushie himself may not altogether agree with some of them – it is just that common sense and BBE’s Laws are intractable… ..but a whacker gotta whack…

So just take it easy, keep your personal business to yuh self, and enjoy delving into other’s ideas and arguments….. there is no requirement of expectation that anyone will agree with you …and certainly not with Bushie….

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok Mr Bush Tea, let’s put off the fight for a later hour, because I must completely agree with your “Donโ€™t you think you need to learn to live and let live? Is it that you are not inclined to be a member of any clique โ€“ or that you want to have control of the various clique?”.——

I am absolutely blown-away by Donna’s rhetoric just as I am blown away by your perceptive analysis…. at times (oh lawd).

She says that she can play with aplomb the ball and not the man but as you pointed out her other actions suggests she does it not so well.

I have had disagreements with folks here but the only one that really shocked me was with @Artax because he shifted off the facts of the matter and was playing the same personal issues that are nonsensical. But that was incidental and I got over that in a Canadian minute (smile). I still respect the brother’s candor, penchant for details and objectivity… we move one!

@Donna really does come over with too much personal info as if trying it seems to validate bonafides on her views as it relates to children and Christianity etc. Why she perceives she needs to validate herself that way before she pontificates is beyond me.

As the poem suggests everyone here has a back-ground story – obviously some more profound than others. And as it also says …

“Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with ALL persons.
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to OTHERS, even the dull and ignorant [and the Bush Teas]; they too have their story.
    Avoid loud and aggressive persons , they are vexations to the spirit….

So for all of us who may think we are too good for the clique and who (myself like many others here surely) have had the experience of being an outsider and making recommendations that were dismissed even as they were finally accepted…please get over ourselves.

In order to be an effective leader we need to be an ‘INSIDER’; that’s obvious…otherwise we are no more than a gadfly who is always on the move basically becoming a flipping nuisance.

“If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself [any ex-pat docs out there]. ”

Good heavens we all get bored at some point with the trite BS paraded here but then we get doubly excited by the absolutely awesome revelations.

Live and let live.

32. In and Out May 1, 2016 at 6:25 PM #

Karl Watson plays George Washington in a reality show for the tourists. He looks the part. Washington was a racist slave owning American who if the British had put down the rebellion in 1776 would have been shot for treason.

Yeah, Washington owned slaves … like Sarah Ann Gill and had he been born a generation earlier Samuel Jackman Prescod two of our National heroes!!!!!!

It was legal at the time …. duh!!

But, unlike Sarah Ann Gill, Washington freed all of his slaves in his will in 1799!!!!

http://www.mountvernon.org/george-washington/slavery/ten-facts-about-washington-slavery/

Her slaves I believe got their freedom through the emancipation act a generation later!!

I stand to be corrected but am pretty sure that nobody on BU will do so because few actually will go and research it … I’ll give a hint, go and see if Ann Gill was paid any compensation for the loss she suffered when her slaves were emancipated by some white people in England!!

I think the late Leonard Shorey went and did the exercise a couple of decades ago.

It should all be a matter of record and available on the net.

The legal abolition of slavery and the slave trade is a recent experiment.

The legal standing of freedom from slavery as we know it has been around for less than 200 years.

Some white people thought it was a good idea and should be tried legally!!

They figured they were free and so everybody else in the world should be too.

Prior to these white people, slavery had been around for millennia.

All the people in the world couldn’t get it abolished, regardless of their colour …. well, Moses excepted and he had some major help!!!!

Truth be known, the white people who got the job done less than 200 years ago also had some serious help from upstairs.

In America, following Washington and all that mumbo jumbo about all men being created equal, a bloody Civil war was fought in which hundreds of thousands of white people died in order that freedom from slavery could reign there too.

Today, you will find that there are more slaves in the world than there have ever been at any time!!

I think this pretty well conclusively proves that slavery as a human condition is more natural to most humans than is freedom. …. QED!!

We should all be thankful for our condition and seek to help other members of the single human race, regardless of colour or any other difference.

33. John,
    Excellent!

34. @ John
    Today, you will find that there are more slaves in the world than there have ever been at any time!!
    I think this pretty well conclusively proves that slavery as a human condition is more natural to most humans than is freedom. โ€ฆ. QED!!
    We should all be thankful for our condition and seek to help other members of the single human race, regardless of colour or any other difference.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Very perceptive, …except that your last sentence does not follow logically.

Why should we be ‘thankful’ for a condition that naturally supports something like slavery? Given your correct analysis of the human condition (wicked, greedy and spiteful – to the extent of enslaving other humans for profit); AND the fact that the situation is even worse today than it has been in the dark past, … should we not be WARY of our present condition ….. and be seeking ways and means of changing that natural state…?

…and what are the possible remedies to such an ailment …would you suggest?

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John….many facts, but just as many whites died trying to keep the institution of slavery alive and well.

The slave master whites did not just get up one day and realized what they were doing to other human beings was most evil in it’s execution. .to be truthful, slavery in the south was no longer profitable, the cotton and tobacco industries, after hundreds of years, had run it’s course.

Europe and the UK found their belly full to capacity off the misery of slaves, those trips to Africa for slave replenishment were becoming more and more of a nuisance, sugar was no longer as profitable, whhy not let the slaves grow it themselves and send it over, pay them very little, build some schools and the slavescwill continue t8 believe they are free for another 100 years, a win win situation and they already had a grand plan, filled with money, status and titles to start their frsudulent scam of respectability, after being criminals rapists, thieves and killers….for centuries.

They were now liquid enough to open banks, insurance companies, massive shipping lines, massive airlines, massive train lines, build Europe and North America, still using slave labor, but with the nerve to now call the former slaves and their descendants, apprentices, still getting free labor, still stealing labor….still thieves.

As you said…everything is documented.

That is me keeping it real…

But it in no way takes credit away from those whites who gave up their lives trying to free the slaves, they were found everywhere.

36. BT

Of course we should be wary, let’s say aware ….. but giving thanks and praise means we are aware and are not taking things for granted.

We can’t complain if by taking things for granted we lose what we have.

37. Bush tea you are mincing words in your reply to John’s mealy mouth crap. John and Moneybrain cannot bring themselves to admit slavery of the African peoples was the worst crime against humanity in the annals of history. The brutal mass murders and capture of black Africans in the horrors of bondage for 400 hundred years makes Adolf Hitler blush. The German Nazi exterminated 6 million Yiddish the British and European slave traders and owners enabled the murder and slavery of 100 million black people. To borrow a George Bushism you are either against the genocide and enslavement of blacks between the 14th and 19th centuries or you are not. There is no middle ground. John and Moneybrain have two choices. A toddler can detect what their choice and that of Karl Watson’s is.

38. Well Well & Consequences May 2, 2016 at 11:50 AM #

Johnโ€ฆ.many facts, but just as many whites died trying to keep the institution of slavery alive and well.

Blacks too … Mauretania in Africa became the last country in the world to actually abolish slavery when it did so in 1981 ….. a bit late but just goes to show there are always people who will actually just say no regardless of colour …. we are all ….. after all …. members of one race!!!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slavery_in_Mauritania

“Slavery in Mauritania has been called “deeply rooted” in the structure of Mauritanian society, and “closely tied” to the ethnic composition of the country.[1]

In 1981, Mauritania became the last country in the world to abolish slavery,[2] when a presidential decree abolished the practice. However, no criminal laws were passed to enforce the ban.[2][3][4] In 2007, “under international pressure”, the government passed a law allowing slaveholders to be prosecuted.[2] Despite this, the number of slaves in the country has been estimated by the organization SOS Slavery to be up to 600,000 (or 17% of the population),[5] and by Global Slavery Index to be at least 140,000 (or 4% of the population).[2] Sociologist Kevin Bales and Global Slavery Index estimate that Mauritania has the highest proportion of people in slavery of any country in the world.[6][7] While other countries in the region have people in “slavelike conditions”, the situation in Mauritania is “unusually severe”, according to African history professor Bruce Hall.[2]

The position of the government of Mauritania is that slavery is “totally finished … All people are free”,[8] and talk of it “suggests manipulation by the West, an act of enmity toward Islam.”[2]”

39. The German Nazi exterminated 6 million Yiddish the British and European slave traders and owners enabled the murder and slavery of 100 million black people. To borrow a George Bushism you are either against the genocide and enslavement of blacks between the 14th and 19th centuries or you are not.

Actually you will find the number more of the order of 12 million, about 10 times less than your wild exaggeration over the 400 years of transatlantic slavery.

But if you were to look at Trans Sahara slavery you would find that this persisted from 650AD to 1960 …. also AD and removed as many if not more slaves who walked across the Sahara in chains to the Arab slave markets in caravans!!

There was no sea route.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arab_slave_trade

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

One has to be very cautious in thinking that the Caribbean is free of the descendants to the predators whose ancestors enslaved their ancestors. I am sure I posted on here that in the South it was recently found that 150 years after the legislation to free slaves was supposed to have been ratified, it wasnt and has only been in the last year or two.

Show me those documents where Europe made slavery illegal…did they really do it or only said they did. We certainly will not be here then, but do you know if 50 or 100 years from now and their descendants are broke, hungry, desperate and no longer in control of world economies, they would not do the same thing again….for self enrichment, greed and the pretense of superiority.

Are the blacks in the Caribbean, Europe and North America prepared for such a move.

I know it’s difficult for them to try any such evil in Africa again, without dire consequences, although many of the present day African leaders are arrogant, greedy, self centred and cannot be trusted…and what about the equally weak Caribbean leaders.

We can all agree that slavery is now more refined and will never die because of human greed, more refined modern day slavery means it has gotten worse.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…of course we know slavery is alive and well on the African continent and many blacks are instrumental in keeping it alive. Namibia in East Africa is also a very recent, but I dont know if totally freed from slavery country….the Germans were particularly brutal in keeping slavery alive on that side of the continent, just like the French and Belgians in the Congo….that why I dont think whites can make that lightening strike twice, but with the Arabs refusing to give up the self-enriching slave trade, one never knows what alliances may be formed in the future. …through mutual greed and hatreds.

You can guarantee that the Bushes are of German descent likevtheir relatives in buckingham palace and their ancestors would also have benefited from any slavery, genocides and murders…greed for money, status andvthe pretense at respectability.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As soon as you hear talk of Islam or some other shitty religion related to slavery, you know slavery is going nowhere…slavery and religion go hand in hand, they are tied together in evil, neither works well without the other, control their minds with crap and you can control a whole population.

Mauritania has decades, if not centuries, still to go, they are not ready yet, only an uprising can free those people.

43. @Donna May 2, 2016 at 12:46 AM “You Bushie, think far too highly of yoursef.”

Cuh dear Donna. You didn’t have to beat Bushie so badly this Blessed Mayday morning

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Got to instill in Caribbean people that the hands of the jewish people, were never clean…even in Barbados, they were allowed 2 slaves to a household.

“The most significant Jewish involvement in the slave-trade was in Al-Andalus, as Islamic Spain was called.[40] According to historian Alan W. Fisher, there was a guild of Jewish slave traders in Constantinople, the capital of the Ottoman Empire. The guild had about 2000 members.[29] The city was a major center of the slave trade in the 15th century and later. By 1475 most of the slaves were provided by Tatar raids on Slavic villages.[29] Until the late 18th century, the Crimean Khanate maintained a massive slave trade with the Ottoman Empire and the Middle East, exporting about 2 million slaves from Poland-Lithuania and Russia over the period 1500โ€“1700.[41]”

The Arabs have practiced slavery at it’s most abhorent, for thousands of years, the hardest thing is to know.

Everyone was involved, they all have extremely filthy hands and continue to do so, without fail.

45. In and Out

I do sympathise with the victims of Slavery regardless of their Race!(ie Black, white, creamy, brown)

How can I feel remorse for a crime that I did not commit? I hate the concepts of that institution called Slavery.

I have never ill treated Black people in anyway and always treated them as friends and equals. If I hated black people then why the hell would I bother to come pun here to assist in covering these topics from various perspectives?

What is the point of my apologising for a brutal past in which I was NOT involved or responsible for and do so to people who have been FREE all of their lives?

I am White, so should I also apologise to Jews because White Germans murdered 6 mn of them? I do sympathise with the Jews though.

Far too many black people are pre-occupied with Slavery, instead of finding solutions to their successful future. Bushy comes pun here BUT he made sure his nest is very well feathered, FIRST! True for other contributors as well.

Countless black Bajans have achieved great heights by having a positive attitude and working relentlessly towards sensible objectives. Those that just dont believe in themselves are usually proven correct. I know fellas that could hardly get a proper meal at home who went from nothing to success in the Law, Business, Medicine etc. Did they focus on Slave history? NO!

Crying โ€œwoe is meโ€ will not help. taking intelligent action will.

My cousins maid in the 1950s- 1978, had 11 children for various men, she was determined to raise them for success and did. All 11 achieved at least middle management status!!!! She had the correct S word in mind SUCCESS!

46. You can guarantee that the Bushes are of German descent likevtheir relatives in buckingham palace and their ancestors would also have benefited from any slavery, genocides and murdersโ€ฆgreed for money, status andvthe pretense at respectability.

Trump, perhaps the next president of the USA is also of German descent as I understand it!!!!

So what!!!!!

Some people are of German descent.

What science seems to be telling us is that all people are of African descent which means, you can guarantee that the “Bushes and their relatives in Buckingham palace” are also of African descent!!

Again … so what!!

I hope you are not suggesting we should discriminate against all people of German descent or heaven forbid …. African descent!!

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John May 2, 2016 at 12:06 PM
    โ€œActually you will find the number more of the order of 12 million, about 10 times less than your wild exaggeration over the 400 years of transatlantic slavery.โ€

On what basis are you disputing the so-called exaggerated figure of 100 million and replaced it with your overly conservative 12 million?

To say 100 million were taken from West Africa (the source of the Atlantic slave trade) is really an exaggeration that would suggest that โ€˜almostโ€™ the total human population of the region was captured and enslaved. And we should dismiss such hyperbolic outburst similar to Zionist claims to justify reparations for Nazi inflicted genocide.

So too should we treat your litotes of a claim that only about 12 million suffered such a fate.

What you need to tell us is whether your assertion of an order of โ€œ10 times less than 100 millionโ€ includes the โ€œmillionsโ€ or at least 30% of the cargo lost at sea and which claims to the Lloydโ€™s Loss Adjusters in London and similar Jewish business (members) houses elsewhere were made.

48. ” Colonial ruins are a fitting epitaph for the British empire”

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/may/02/colonial-ruins-epitaph-british-empire-commonwealth

49. Wait, so the old boys tagging to get rid of me? LOL. You two think you could tag team me with your old boys club shiitte. You people want to tell me how to put across my story now? Simple Simon also tells stories. Well Well tells stories. Pieces tells stories. SSS tells stories. If you don’t want to know mine you know what to do. As for disagreements we all have them here on BU. Wunnuh does cuss one another going and coming. Bushie tells you the same things I do. I hope you are amazed by his powers of perception when he speaks that way of you. As for playing the ball and not the bowler, I disagreed with you on Sports Corner and turned right around and AGREED with you on another post. Sooooooo….it ain’t personal.

Now….. I did not have a problem with them not agreeing with me on Saturday. I had a problem with their blank faces/stuck up noses and lack of acknowledgement of my words. I did not try to take over the group, I actually waited for ages and none of them wanted to start so I did. After their blank faces I did not attempt to take over I just excused myself and let the clique have their fun. So I don’t know where the “loud and aggressive” label part came in. Not my fault the fun didn’t last. This story I told because it was an example of group dynamics pretty much as I have observed on BU. It was meant to illustrate how the best ideas are often lost. That was the point I was making with Bushie. Your intervention here is another example of group dynamics. Thank you for giving credence to my point. Much obliged.

Now my place as I see it is not to be a leader of adults, but of children. (This I told Bushie when his “super powers” of perception were apparently malfunctioning and he thought I had potential.) So I don’t know why you believe that I must become a part of any clique to change anything from within. I get in early and lay the foundation. The fixing of adults is not my place. I leave the others to do their jobs. That does not mean that I am not entitled to an opinion. You will notice that my longest submissions are on children’s matters and I do not comment on many of the other blogs. I am not always well versed in the subject matter so I leave it for those who know and those who feel they know.

Mr. DRIBBLER, I am a story teller. It is who I am. I write stories. I perform. Don’t go reading anything into it. You dribble dreary “facts” I illustrate with stories. I am a happy gadfly. But a no nonsense gad fly. If you don’t like gadflies just follow your own advice. Live and let live.

But enough about me………. That is if you will stop trying to be a psychologist or I shall have to fly up your nose again.

50. On what basis are you disputing the so-called exaggerated figure of 100 million and replaced it with your overly conservative 12 million?

This is a number that all the so called experts trot out …. included Sir Hilary!!!!!!!!!!!!

“British slave ships brought 5.5 million enslaved Africans into their Caribbean colonies over 180 years” — Sir Hilary Beckles

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07-29/genocide-african-slavery

https://makinghistorymatter.ca/2015/04/01/reparations-for-slavery-in-the-caribbean/

… the BBC puts the overall figure at 12.5 million … ok, so I “exaggerated too”!!

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-34401412

…. aaaahhh boy, dis ting getting easier now … wouldn’t have to spend time looking up all dese figures and facts if dese people pun BU would just go and read them fuh dem selves!!

Instead of spending time looking for people who are dead to pay for the indignities of slavery give thanks and praise that people who also dead set out to remove it from humanity and give thanks and praise.

It is easier to be happy and rejoice than to sit around moping waiting for a non existent handout from dead people!!

Most people look for the Hand of God in the Exodus story and every year descendants of the freed slaves give thanks and praise for their deliverance by God, not Moses.

It is an example we could all follow.

Instead of moping about being miserable looking for a handout give thanks and praise and try to understand how God’s Hand freed your ancestors.

I have come to an understanding and every day I am in awe at the way He lit the paths of some of my ancestors to find the way to the removal of slavery for some other of my ancestors and to do His will.

I find it repeated again and again in the history of other Bajans so I know if you seek, you will find.

It is really a wonderful story and has none of the misery which is all Sir Hilary and other like minded individuals can supply.