An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-white“If you open that Pandora’s box, you never know what Trojan ‘orses will jump out…” –Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobago’s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also “every creed and race finds an equal place”. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert “Bobby” Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornet’s nest with his recent call for an apology by the “descendants of white Barbadian slave owners” to the local “descendants of slaves”’; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morris’s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…”

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace one’s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. Carbine the Joint Strike FIghter Avatar
    Carbine the Joint Strike FIghter

An apology cannot be morally justified from a class of people. This is Morris’s attempt to up the RACE ante IN BARBADOS and thereby magnify the issue of independence 50 YEARS AGO, he believes this will redound to the benefit of the DLP in a general election. He is WRONG.

If an apology is due to ‘black’ Barbadians from ‘white’ Barbadians will ‘black’ Barbadians also call for an apology from ‘black’ Africans for the their role in enslaving their ‘brothers and sisters’?

2. Those who forget the PAST are doomed to repeat it, An apology is an Outstanding and jusitifable first call to justice

3. “(T)here are many Barbadians … who consider that it is high time we move on …”.

It should be pointed out that some older Barbadians, are only separated from slavery by five generations.Their grandparent’s grandparents were slaves. In addition, we continue to live in a society where property ownership and wealth distribution reflect the power relationships established by slavery.
    White Barbadians remain far too cavalier and dismissive about the destructive effects of their inherited privilege. Most continue to deny any responsibilty for slavery and its effects.
    Despicable.

4. Let the record show BU is on the side of the argument that says descendants of White slave masters et al need to lead a narrative located in remorse and reconciliation. However, the 180 degrees of separation on the issue of ‘general Bussa’ will create sceptics.

5. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Let’s not forget there were many black slave owners in Barbados as well.

More importantly, most of the ‘white’-ish people left in Bim are descendants of Scot, Irish and Monmouth slaves who deserve apologies as well.

If we continue to go down this road it could get messy.

Nero fiddles while Rome burns.

6. Are the TAX PAYERS of Barbados PAYING Bobby Morris to PERFORM the DUTIES of CARICOM AMBASSADOR or to give HISTORY LECTURES and talk shiite?

What is Morris’ TRACK RECORD to date since he was APPOINTED Caricom Ambassador?

In any of his public “lectures” has he addressed the issue of and government’s intentions to deal with the INFLUX of Jamaican and Guyanese nationals who ENTERED Barbados at LEGITIMATE PORTS of ENTRY, but REMAIN here ILLEGALLY and cannot be ACCOUNTED for and are putting a STRAIN on our RESOURCES?

What does Morris have to say concerning the significant number of GUYANESE who are SQUATTING in PENNY HOLE, ST. PHILIP, especially against the background of Barbadians having to face banks, mortgage and finance companies in the hope of LEGITIMATELY SECURING PROPERTY, and the number of NHC units that remain unoccupied almost 3 years after being constructed?

7. It is going to get messy anyhow Frustrated B….

Morris is right…. but only on the presumption that the present day albinos actually buy into the concept of equality. Why would they offer apologies for generations of crimes against blacks if they continue to believe – like their fore-parents, that they are somehow superior?

Obviously, the ONLY reason that slavery does not continue in its 18th century form, is that the current generation of albinos find it more profitable and less arduous to employ their current methodologies instead of doing it viet armis.

Bushie expects no apology and desires no reparations…
    They do not have the wherewithal to pay what would be required anyway. THAT will have to be (and can only be) extracted via karma….and it would be INSULTING to Bushie’s fore-parents to accept any albino shiite trinkets in the name of ‘compensation’.

The ‘prominent local blackish businessman’ who suggested in a letter to the Barbados Advocate that “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…” misses the point of an apology – it is not about begging or even about reparations…. an apology would actually be a sign that the albinos have finally seen the light of racial equality….

So such an apology would go against everything that we can see around us….

8. On the other side of the coin are how whites are quick to jump to the top of the line take and accept grand adulation accredited to their ancestors past.
    However a simple apology on behalf of their ancestors
    is met with remorse and attitudes of “who do they (blacks)think they are
    Given all the benefits derived off the sweat and blood of black slaves to build nations and Empires mostly to the benefit the mostly generations of whites an apology from whites is not only justifiable but serves as a symbol and another start of reparing the unjustifiable inhumane acts which blacks slaves have endured resulting with devastating cruel benefitshaving and continuning repercussions to blacks world wide
    The fact that whites would see an apology as a step down is the more reason for the voices who call for an apology to remain loud and vocal
    As there voice would be the one voice to those who might think of taking humanity down a path of injustice to think again as a memory serves the purpose of remebering the good as well.as the bad

9. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

AC you are one dumb fuk.

The vast majority of Alleynes in Bim are black descendants of white slave owners. Are we going to round up thousands of black people and have them apologise to tens of thousands of other black people? As funny as it would be to demonstrate the farce of the concept it would also be a national embarrassment to demonstrate how stupid we really are.

Meanwhile the Draxs and others who really should be called to account left this place when the sugar industry shit itself before WW1 and will never be accountable. I suppose we could nationalise Drax Hall and then abandon it like the two thousand other acres in St. John that your teefin’ friend Parris and his teefin’ lawyer Thomson abandoned.

Why does Morris not point out these simple and well-known realities?

Meanwhile the new slave masters in Gov’t house rape and pillage this country daily with no possibility of consequences or reparations.

As a people Bajans really do deserve what we get.

10. @The Advocate “current outward appearance.”

Current outward appearance? Lolll!!!.

Can we change our skin color/outward appearance just like we can change our external genitalia these days?

Then I think that starting next week I will change my current outward appearance from being a black woman to being a white man (the most favoured group on the face of the earth)

Easy, easy so.

Lolll!!!

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

And there is not a trace of anything other than black in your lineage, Simple Simon? Or is it that you don’t know? Or care to admit it?

The point being made, I think, is that there are very few if any, pure White or pure African Bajans.

We all know why!

12. My grandmother, born in 1879 and who died in 1969, whose outward appearance was black woman worked at Mangrove (St. Peter) plantation from the time she was 4 until she was 84. After 80 years of hard labour she died and left an 18 x 10 wooden house with holes in the floor. She was a woman on no discernable bad habits. She raised 3 children to adulthood. If the people at Mangrove plantation did not benefit from her hard labour then where did the fruits of her labour go?

Who got her MONEY?

Her 3 sons left Barbados in the 1940’s. Only one returned. The other 2 swore that they would never again touch foot in Barbados.

People did not enjoy witnessing the exploitation of their mothers (and fathers).

There are white Barbadians still living (and I know who they are) who are still benefiting fro my grandmother’s labour.

People like to pretend that this is ancient history. it is not. My father who for his whole life had to witness his mother’s exploitation died less than 10 years ago.

13. It should be easy to prove that black Bajan workers were exploited after “Slavery” was abolished and reparations should be made for the profiteering on the backs of Bajan labourers.

Apologies are just words.

Why not provide the evidence that black Bajans were exploited to the enrichment of white people and demand compensation.

No apologies….just back pay.

14. @Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. April 29, 2016 at 8:17 AM “Meanwhile the new slave masters in Gov’t house rape and pillage this country daily”

it is inaccurate and unfair to say that our governer general “rape[s] and pillage[s] this country daily.”

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, well articulated and solidly closed with: “The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.”———

So as well studied as you are I would also ask what greater credence should be given to this appeal from His Excellency Morris than to other of his previous appeals on this matter?

This is an enduring narrative and never will it stop as a rallying cry for Black consciousness. It is misguided as you state.

In our recent history the appeal for reparations and return made by Marcus Garvey was real.

The initial settlements in Liberia (misguided though they may have been) were ‘real’ in every regard also.

Modern day talk on that subject is false. As you suggest totally self-serving.

The apology and rectifying actions I desire are from the white-minded Black leaders who over the last 50 years generally and certainly in the last 25 years have treated us with a disdain worst that any White oppressors.

With our white colonizers we knew we were mere chattel to them but our brethren embrace us with false love and mentally still treat us as chattel.

I accept your thesis…I do not need any apology or reparations from Whites. But I demand one, tax reparations and more from Black leaders…that is the true struggle to be won!

16. @Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. April 29, 2016 at 7:16 AM “Let’s not forget there were many black slave owners in Barbados as well.”

Not true.

Historically inaccurate.

17. @Dee Word

Did you read the first of the article. Mind you it was concise and not inclined to prolix.

18. @Artax April 29, 2016 at 7:37 AM “government’s intentions to deal with the INFLUX of Jamaican and Guyanese nationals who ENTERED Barbados at LEGITIMATE PORTS of ENTRY.”

Those migrants who have remained in Barbados beyond the 6 months have almost all entered in to sexual/social/financial/emotional/matrimonial relationships with Barbadians.

So what is Mr. Morris or the government to do?

Break up people’s family lives?

Separate Bajans parents from their children born to foreigners?

Deport all foreign born partners/spouses of Bajans?

I am only a Simple Simon so I want a bright fella like you to tell me what Mr. Morris or the government should do.

19. Simpy,
    It is heart breaking to learn of your Grands history, life was indeed tough for many.
    While we are talking history may i refer to my family who were Barbadosed for their involvement in the Monmouth Rebellion. Indeed , they were justified for rebelling due to the yoke of their oppression BUT were lucky not to be hanged and sent as pows to Bim. Life was not so easy for many Whites. U think it was easy being sent down a Coal mine at age 8, stark born naked? Developing “lung disease” and dying by age 20-25!

20. @Jeff Cumberbatch April 29, 2016 at 8:40 AM “And there is not a trace of anything other than black in your lineage, Simple Simon…there are very few if any, pure White or pure African Bajans.

In the days of slavery, and i know because I have done the research at the Archives somebody at Mangrove plantation (and yes know the name) had coercive sexual relations with one of my foremothers on my mother’s mother’s side.

And how do I know that it was coercive?

An enslaved teenage girl cannot consent to sex with the slave master or the slave master’s son.

No more than TODAY your 14 year old daughter can consent to sex with her headmaster, or step father, or pastor.

Get it?

21. Get it now?

22. The enslaved girls, just like your daughters NOW, were young virgins who were forcibly impregnated. Often by much older men.

Get it now?

23. @Frustrated businessman

Your position is noted and has merit but there is a view we need to have the conversation as a nation. It is a prerequisite for moving on to higher heights.

24. My parents were still afraid that their daughters would be forcibly impregnated by somebody on the plantation and my mother especially often said that “she did not want any of her daughters working in the white people’s kitchens”

These daughters were born between July 1936 and April 1959.

Both of my parents died in the 21st century.

So “NO” it is NOT ancient history.

25. Frustrated business man .you can spin and wind this issue in any direction u wish . shit head .the reality being that bajans whites know who they ancestors are that owned slaves the fact that there was inbredding all of which came about because of rape producing a generation of half bred whites does not void the full bloodied whites from making an apology to all blacks.
    Lest negro you might forget that the blacks which u want to point out as being priviledge to white complexion ancestors were all black
    The fact that you want to dismiss the genesis of slavery and replace it with genetic markings make you a bigger fuk.sht head

26. Simpy,
    The Govt of Bdos are placed there to LEAD us to a higher standard of living, safer society et al. The island has been over populated for many years and so Bajans should be protected from interlopers who have little to offer in terms of our collective progress. Signing agreements that others can flow in as they like exhibits very poor “leadership.”

Bim should only be looking for people we NEED eg people setting up businesses to provide JOBS, highly educated professionals ie DRs that maybe in low supply, any others who can contribute positively day one! We dont need liabilities or people looking to take Bajans jobs!
    Guyanese who are willing to do jobs Bajans dont want to do, like maids work, should be permitted specific contracts.

We dont need help ruining Bim, we already got”leaders” working pun dat!

27. @ Jeff and Frustrated
    The point about the mixture of Black and White is not relevant to the discussion.
    In a situation where Blacks were practically the property of the slave-owners, the responsibility for the system was 100% that of the ruling, slave-owning class.

In very few cases would blacks have decided to enter into sexual relationships with whites to produce mulatto children….. so even to the extent that such mixture exists has to be seen a white responsibility.
    Even the situation where some blacks would have owned slaves must be seen in the context of a society which was CREATED by whites to make this a norm.

Look…
    Despite all the lotta excuses, any GENUINE white person who reflects on the history of Barbados and the roles played by their fore-parents would not only apologise for their ancestors’ wickedness, but would repent of the bias and themselves be committed to a society of total equality.

THIS IS CLEARLY NOT THE CASE.

Look at the current white moguls in Barbados ..and draw your own conclusions about their commitment to equality.
    Look at Bushy Park.
    Look at Coverley
    Look at COW…. nearly 100 years-old and still obsessed with accumulating more $$$ to become -by an even greater margin- one of the richest men in Barbados.
    Look at Simpson.
    Look at the BS&T/BHL traitors …Fields and King

…then look at the thousands of blacks who worked on their ‘plantations’ to make them so sickeningly wealthy…. and their commitment to equality becomes VERY clear…

These people will NEVER apologise…. because they are just as committed to inequality as were their ancestors. The modern lot are just MUCH better at it….

The only question is ..when will the brass bowls awake to Bob Marley’s call to free their minds…from the mental slavery that continues to enslave them…

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster your piece above yes. The editorial to which you refer no.

Realistically, blogging by its very nature is absolutely not prolix. But we are conditioned more these days to ‘Twitter’ type brevity and texting’s crisp abbreviations so everything else seems a bit ‘prolix’! But more often than not, it really isn’t. LOLL

BTW, what exactly is Benetton saying with their pic. That we all do the same shiittee!

The afro child reaching out to the white child…already seeking the solace and support or already cleaning up the spittle or whatever.

The things that advertisers so subliminally aim for or just leave hanging for us to gallop towards with our various experiences. They have had to apologize for risque ads in the past.

Always provocative they have been…like this subject of race.

29. Simple Simon April 29, 2016 at 8:53 AM #

“I am only a Simple Simon so I want a bright fella like you to tell me what Mr. Morris or the government should do.”

@ SS

Perhaps you are a supporter of illegal immigrants entering Barbados and exploiting our laws, while the only feeble defense you would present is based on the result of sexual relationships.

Your “simpleton” characteristics are adequately demonstrated by the content of your contribution.

“Mr. Morris or the government should do” what other governments in the region, such as Antigua and Trinidad are doing.

30. If the “white man” says it is ancient history then it is ancient history. Girl, know your place!

31. There is little need for whitish persons to apologize and for blackish persons to accept any false apology, given the fact that racial feelings of superiority and inferiority are so deeply embedded in the majority of Barbadians. One would have hoped that such psychological differences would have been effaced by now. However, the privileges of ‘family’,coloring and ‘hair’ are so deeply entrenched that young whitish persons do not need to excel at school to be able to achieve or exceed their parents’ social or financial status. They simply need to inherit and to accept the privileged status given to them by most blackish Barbadians. For example, there is no longer any need for whitish persons to achieve positions in the political power structure; for the economic power structures, whether they are whitish or blackish, manipulate and maintain our current political structure. Let us be clear the privileges given to former whitish colonials are not confined to Barbadians, the phenomenon is worldwide, it is just that it is more apparent on the surface in Barbados than elsewhere. Let us remember that formal reparations are historically the most tangible form of apology, and have only been given by whites to whitish persons, e.g Germany to Israel on behalf of the Jews, and by the blackish Haitians to the whitish French for the crime of overthrowing slavery.

32. Bushie
    @9.11a
    Brilliant.I share your view 100%.I will not change my outlook on that.The fact that the black man in the supposed new world is always to be found at the bottom rung of the ladder.That is bare crap and must stop now.It is within our power to change it even if we borrow some of Ronald Jones’ articles of engagement.

33. Bushy,
    U trying to place me in a “real predicament” or wha?
    My mother was orphaned at 8 yrs and my father, the eldest of 9 kids had to leave Cawmere at 13 and get to work for the family. Sound rich to wunna?
    Where is the $$$$$$ that they benefited from?

This is NOT about White versus Black! That is just a simple way to avoid the obvious complexities involved and to be utilised by Politicians who want to incite emotions to their benefit. Yes de Pols want to deflect the peeps attention from the most current and critical reality today, Black Leaders EXPLOITING the Bajans to achieve their NET WORTH ENHANCEMENT Plan without caring about Bajans or Bdos!

” Look peeps WHITEY is GUILTY as newsual!”

Who is RAPING and PILLAGING NOW? U really think that black people in positions of power dont use that power to have SEX with maids, young ladies coming up in the organisation etc?
    PLEEEZZZZ!

In the final analysis it is HUMANS that WICKED, not just Whitey! (all whiteys aint the same anyhow, what do most East European whites know about Africans anyway? Are the lower income classes in UK/ Europe not under the same oppression as Bajans from their “leaders”?)

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac April 29, 2016 at 8:01 AM
    “On the other side of the coin are how whites are quick to jump to the top of the line take and accept grand adulation accredited to their ancestors past.
    However a simple apology on behalf of their ancestors is met with remorse and attitudes of “who do they (blacks)think they are..”

It’s truly amazing how you find it so easy jump on the bandwagon of every issue drawn by any DLP hack.

Now pray tell us, to whom are you and motor-mouth Morris making this call for an apology?
    Who or what represents ‘white’ Barbados?
    Is there an association called “The Former Slave Owners of Barbados”?

Are you making your call to COW & Bizzy?

Why not directly to Maloney and the rest of white financiers of the DLP who are not only enjoying the massive returns on their forefathers’ investments in the slavery business of yesteryear but also continues to benefit today from their investments in corrupt DLP black politicians.
    Whom do you think those unoccupied concrete huts (penthouses) at Valerie, the Grotto and other ex-plantation fields are intended for? For housing so-called white Bajans as a form of ‘ghettoization’ as punishment for the collective sins of their ancestors?

It has been genetically proven that the average black man of Caribbean origin has about 25% Caucasian blood (DNA). Now would you and “Booby” Morris demand a quarter of an apology from each and every black Bajan.

Here is one quid pro quo any apologetic “white” Bajan (tarred or un-tarred) should demand from the likes of Mr. Robert Morris. Black Bajans must relinquish the use of all
    White People’s names (and relgion) and resort to their West African appellations.

“Well, my friend, you got trade today; you got plenty of slaves?
    No, we no got trade yet; by and by trade come. You can’t go.
    What you go for catch people, you go for make war?
    Yes, my brother… gone for catch people; or they gone for make war.”

35. To All blacks who now resides in peace and luxury and have found a straw man on which to cling giving solace and refugee to whites wherby they can exempt themselves of having any concerns or even knoweldge about the slave trade
    To you blacks i say that you have now allow yourselves to be coerice and become
    willing enablers to a generation of whites whose ancestors deliberately by actions participated in crimes againstvtge black race
    It is an abomination that such individuals can easily distant themselves from their ancestors pain and be willing to a sit in harmony with beneficiares who have gained from horrific crimes brought upon their ancestors without even the want of an apology ..How sad

36. ac
    Please do NOT neglect the historical reality that Africans SOLD Africans into slavery in the first place. HUMANS are wicked indeed!
    WE are all lucky to be Bajans, why would darker Bajans want to be born in Africa? I surely do not regret being born in the paradise of Bdos and associating from the age of 4 with my black neighbours.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel April 29, 2016 at 9:36 AM
    “Brilliant.I share your view 100%.I will not change my outlook on that.The fact that the black man in the supposed new world is always to be found at the bottom rung of the ladder.That is bare crap and must stop now.It is within our power to change it even if we borrow some of Ronald Jones’ articles of engagement.”

And that is where he will always be (at the bottom rung of the ladder) as long as he hypocritically worships the white man and other people’s gods.

Stop blaming the white man who already considers blacks as his burden or cross to bear. Toussaint, Dessalines and Henri Christophe also employed some of “Ronald Jones’ articles of engagement”.
    Now where are the benefits from their sacrifice? Where are the positive outcomes from the sacrifices of Marcus Garvey, MLK, Malcolm X et al?

The whites (and others) know the black man and his woman so well the recipe for their control is scripted and played out daily.
    Food, fashion, phones, false hair and trinkets are the fare to pacify blacks.
    Ask Bushie if you doubt that. Not even his BBE can change them.

But you also have to realize that every race has both a down side and an upside.
    Blacks are gifted in their own way. Do you think you would ever find a BOLT in China or a Michael Jackson in India?

The liberation of the black man lies not in his physical manumission but in his mind and spiritual recognition of the God who gave him his black skin.

38. @Artax April 29, 2016 at 9:24 AM “based on the result of sexual relationships.”

Who are you to say that other people’s relationships are simply sexual?

Somebody phucked your mother too [and mine] , but who am I to say that their relationships with our father s was simply sexual. Maybe it was sexual AND social/financial/emotional/spiritual/matrimonial.

Please do not seek to dispargeother people’s relationships just because they did not go to hear a few words said by your favourite pastor ormagistrate, or simply because they do not have the apiece of paper issued by your favourite immigration official.

People fall in love. People enter into sexual and emotional relationships. They do this because they are human. And they do it often without the permission of pastor, priest, magistrate or immigration official.

They are human just like you and your parents, and mine. Just like you and me.

Tell the truth now, did you ask anybody’s permission before you fell in love?

39. @Artax April 29, 2016 at 9:24 AM “the result of sexual relationships.”

All of us are the result of sexual relationships Artax.

ALL OF US.

You too Artax.

Let you and the migration officials and the BLP [and the DLP too] work with that REALITY.

Becausin’ it ent NEVER gine change.

40. No apologies….just back pay.

41. @ SS

Your “simpleton” characteristics are adequately demonstrated by the content of your contributions.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…are you listening to or reading the crap you type…it describes perfectly the black politicians of DBLP and their subservient attitudes to the minorities who they allow to exploit the island and people.

The politicians are the descendants of the weak-willed slaves who were living in their comfort zone of slavery and exploitation of their people.

If the politicians were any different to those weak-willed and miserable souls, that cycle of corruption and exploitation permeating the island, would not only been broken decades ago, but never restarted in another form.

MoneyB…many people in Africa live luxurious lives, it’s just the majority who pay for that lifestyle with their exploited life and corruption perpetrated by the few wealthy ones, just like Barbados with the exception being that Africa is super wealthy with resources.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes, I will call

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oops, sorry folks, wrong screen.

45. WW,
    Naturally, even more people (as a %) live in luxury in Europe/ UK, BUT I am still very happy to be Bajan. I have visited over 50 Nations and some maybe better in some aspects but I am very proud to be Bajan, although Bim could have performed to a higher level with Top quality Management versus the Damagement we have!

Yes there is a Nigerian worth $14+ Billion! Bet he does not feel inferior to anyone!

46. Apology and then what? The sun will still shine. Blacks will still be delusional. An apology from the white power structure will not change the pathetic mind set of Black folk. An apology is only about the emotions, so that you will feel ‘good’… After that good feeling where’s the action? Do we continue to work with him or do we subtly work against him because that above pic ‘surmises’ the only place where the ‘twain’ shall ever meet and be equal.

The problem with Black folk today is no longer the white man. His actions are all the evidence we need yet we continue to work for his system, believing in some false sense of security that some day he will accept us. He couldn’t exist and continue his barbarism without our energy and consent. WE BLACK FOLK ARE THE PROBLEM. We are the biggest fucking idiots walking this planet today. We refuse to use our ‘power’ against our enemy and to our benefit. We turn against each other.

There was a time when the white man would give his life to attend the Houses of Knowledge of the Black man and now today the roles are reversed and somehow we are satisfied with his crumbs. The white man’s university degrees will NEVER free the black mind.

There are so many ways in which the Black man can stand tall again…but no he refuses to think for himself and manifest self-determination without having to run to these white institutions (UN etc) for directive.

The people of Barbados are whining and crying about a blasted, imaginary debt yet they’re holding out their hands for reparations. Simply give the IMF, World Bank and all other parasitic entities to whom you ‘think’ you owe a debt an IOU… The World Bank IMF etc don’t have any money to lend to you…they have never honestly generated money…they are fucking thieves and criminals. They just play with their key board, generate a number pass it along to you and tell you that you must repay not only this NUMBER but also the artificial number that we will create and call INTEREST. And you ‘intelligent,educated’ people continue to sell your children back into slavery.

The white power structure can NEVER repay the Black man.

All insurance companies that are subsidiaries of Slave Holding companies should not be allowed to operate in Barbados. That’s just a start.

47. @ Money Brain
    We can always depend on you to personalise a macro issue…
    It is not about you and your parents.
    Shiite man, Bushie was poor as a church mouse too…. but not now… 🙂
    Such individual exceptions do not a principle make.

Thank you Gabriel.

@ E Waldron
    One has to accept your expanded point that racial inequality is a TWO-way street …and indeed that the most despicable aspect of it is the Black man’s own self-hate.
    This is what Bob Marley was driven to sing about; It is what Bushie harps on – re Blacks being the ORIGINAL HUMAN product – closest to the image of the maker. This is a now a well established SCIENTIFIC FACT, and it is confirmed that ALL other categories of humans are subsets of the original BLACK African man.

It epitomises the saying that “the first shall be last, and the last first” …. as we see exemplified in this inverted world of ours.

But you are wrong about reparations….
    Such remedies are applicable in cases where someone stole property, money, …even time. But when we are talking about 400 YEARS of subhuman treatment for a whole class of humans, by another class of humans, you insult the victims of that unprecedented historical episode of economic and social debouchery by even considering ANY form of monetary or material compensation…..

It is like a fellow rape, brutalise and murder Bushie’s mother ..and then turns and offers the bushman millions of dollars to let bygones be bygones….

Not stinking Bushie….!!
    it is either full forgiveness ..as a gift from the bushman…
    …or death to you and everything associated with you…

Fortunately, as Mandela /EWB and many other Black leaders have shown, we have the strength and character to choose the former….

48. Hants wrote,No apologies….just back pay.

I have arranged with my 11 generations ago Grandpa in lets say 1760, to send a cheque to his former slaves, the cheque is in the mail, please ask your antecedents to confirm when received. The amount has been purposely left blank so they would be in a position to be fully satiated.

I have also sent a cheque in full to all wunna on this site for my receipts as a result of the slave trade, however, it is filled in to the sum of ZERO, since there is nothing in that account (never was anything).

I do consider Slavery as an evil institution which no one should ever have had to suffer whether they be African, White, brown or creamies. What I would like to discover is why it still exists today in several parts of Africa ie Sudan, Mauritania etc and why David Commissiong and others are not working feverishly to stop that. this is to say nothing of the Female Slave trade very active around the globe including active management by several racial groups. I have heard that this Sex Slave trade exists in Bim with Hispanics and Orientals being preferred stock as the Demand is very high, especially among very rich darker Bajans. Have I been mis informed?

What is David C going do on reparations? Place a Grantley in his right pocket and den transfer it to his left pocket? We know it gin go Left!

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB….an African also owns Heathrow airport in London, unless he sold it. Africa has billionaires and millionaire like sand, many of them females. They now have a serious banking system and are becoming a business force to be reckoned with in the world

If the Caribbean leaders get serious and stop playing the subservient game, stand up like real responsible men and women and stop pimping campaign finance, get elected on their own merit, then they cannot be OWNED by anyone and OWE favors in the name of the taxpayer’s money.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I too dont see the need for reparations in the form of paper, there are many other forms reparations can take, positive forms. If the historians would access the archived information available on the slave trade, they will see why.