An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-white“If you open that Pandora’s box, you never know what Trojan ‘orses will jump out…” –Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobago’s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also “every creed and race finds an equal place”. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert “Bobby” Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornet’s nest with his recent call for an apology by the “descendants of white Barbadian slave owners” to the local “descendants of slaves”’; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morris’s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…”

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace one’s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Thank you David re article.

No Gazer, the first three paragraphs are NOT excellent. I respect the brother strong views but his fire-throwing rhetoric is often not compesetate with the facts of practical life.

@Exclaimer, your Mugabe perspective is in concert with that of Commissiong going back many years. When he made his remarks I thought there were wrong. You unlike him now have 1) the benefits of the history of the dictators flawed policies and 2) the eminently more practical policies of Nelson Mandela in SA. That you woud still hail Mugabe simply because he enunciated and carried out such strong action against Whites and completely dismiss that he also decimated his country but not instituting meaningful and proper programs after the change-over and that he also inflicted incredible mayhem and murder against his own colour is distressing.

—- “Sadly, there would be no place for these great men. Marley with his flowing dreadlocks… ”

Adonijah and Might Gabby are two that spring readily to mind. Not world renowned but both brilliant men artistically. And as deep and outspoken as Brother Bob. I can’t speak to the marijuana thing. You can ask them about their proclivities.

—- “Toussaint, Marcus, Patrice, Joshua and one or two of the others would have been discriminated against due to their very dark complexions.”

Let’s see: Lashley, Jones and PM, Fruendel have very dark complexions. Cameron Tudor and PM Sandiford were also.

What exactly is your point.

No problem with your energy but the reasoning behind is flawed.

2. ac wrote
    it is about time that you and others who feel no sense of remorse and laughed with scorn at those who demands an apology do some soul searching.

WRONG! I do sympathise with the victims of Slavery regardless of their Race!(ie Black, white, creamy, brown)

How can I feel remorse for a crime that I did not commit? I hate the concepts of that institution called Slavery.

I have never ill treated Black people in anyway and always treated them as friends and equals. If I hated black people then why the hell would I bother to come pun here to assist in covering these topics from various perspectives?

What is the point of my apologising for a brutal past in which I was NOT involved or responsible for and do so to people who have been FREE all of their lives?

I am White, so should I also apologise to Jews because White Germans murdered 6 mn of them? I do sympathise with the Jews though.

Far too many black people are pre-occupied with Slavery, instead of finding solutions to their successful future. Bushy comes pun here BUT he made sure his nest is very well feathered, FIRST! True for other contributors as well.

Countless black Bajans have achieved great heights by having a positive attitude and working relentlessly towards sensible objectives. Those that just dont believe in themselves are usually proven correct. I know fellas that could hardly get a proper meal at home who went from nothing to success in the Law, Business, Medicine etc. Did they focus on Slave history? NO!

Crying “woe is me” will not help. taking intelligent action will.

My cousins maid in the 1950s- 1978, had 11 children for various men, she was determined to raise them for success and did. All 11 achieved at least middle management status!!!! She had the correct S word in mind SUCCESS!

3. Miller, in Bushy’s world only whitey wuhtless! Does bushy not realise that he mussee surrounding himself wid too many associates of limited ability?

4. @ Exclaimer wrote, “Mugabe used fear to subjugate white Zimbabwe. If you guys are serious about instigating change in Barbados you should adopt a similar methodology.”

Any such action would bring Barbados to its knees. Tourism would end. The low tax business would move to other countries. The sugar industry….oops you don’t have one.

Bajans want change but not by civil war.

5. Piece @ 9.28 and 9.39. Excellent piece!

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As I keep saying, most of the actions and activities re centuries of slavery were well documented, hand written and still available if people are interested, historians on small islands making up crap is unnecessary, factual proof exists..the slave masters admired their own evil handy work so much, they made sure there is undisputable proof…available for generations into the futire.

The minority twistorians need to stop, for every lie and fantasy they make up to make themselves look good or take the credit away from black slaves and their descendants, there are thousands of written documents in the UK and US…to prove them liars.

Even Bizzy’s half assed claim, idiot that he is, that Barbados is not a majority black nation can be factually disputed, they need to keep their asses quiet and enjoy their illgottens gains, while they still can….instead of trying to rewrite history, through lies.

7. WW,
    China owns HK and China does not want the USA in the region! NO Probs really as China has already pissed off Phillipines, Indonesia, Vietnam, Malaysia et al—SO the USA is very welcomed to go to their Ports as they are all fully aware the the US are the only Nation that can defend them from Chinese aggression eg Spratly Islands etc where China is quickly building up small overgrown “reefs” into island landing strips.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB…those Spratley Islands are the whole bone of contention, China is pissed off and the other countries are ready to throw down. I cant for the life of me understand why China believes they own those islands, they are so far away from mainland China and clear across the other side of the continent.

Could it be they believe themselves the new empire, just like UK did back then, it will turn into a mess in this day and age.

9. David

The past is many faceted and history is based on the perception and bias of the interpreter who is disconnected to the events by decades and sometimes centuries e.g. the bible.

The Griots of the ’50s were able to speak about an occurence passed from generation to generation,to which their ancestors would have been around at the time and who would not have been among the literate house servants(reading massas paper) but would have verbally passed the information on as known to them at the time via slave mail……I see no reason to disbelieve their history.

10. @Vincent

And Vincent you are entitled to your OPINION.

On Sat, Apr 30, 2016 at 3:15 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

11. @ MoneyB
    You can rant and rave all you wish…. You and everyone else know full well that while other cultures sought to build civilizations, whitey has always concentrated on amassing and using weapons of war / commerce / trade to enhance their own materialistic greed at the expense of others.
    It is all a matter of how expertise is deployed.

The old Africans, South Americans, Chinese etc mostly focused on building cities, education, cultures etc. Your lot – particularly since the middle ages, have concentrated on destructive military research…. Just compare what Europe and North America spends on military vs education compared to others.

Other cultures would probably invested in failsafe Nuclear power – resulting in dirt cheap energy costs globally by this time… Trust wunna to blow up two cities for spite….and impact..

Can you understand why such a mentality will be destructive to long term global survival?
    Can you see why we need a different approach?
    …or are you playing the ‘AC’ yardfowl of Albino-Centricity…? 🙂

12. @ David
    And Vincent you are entitled to your OPINION.
    True … poor fella.
    …and thus condemned to hopelessness.

13. Bushy wrote
    You can rant and rave all you wish…. You and everyone else know full well that while other cultures sought to build civilizations, whitey has always concentrated on amassing and using weapons of war / commerce / trade to enhance their own materialistic greed at the expense of others.
    It is all a matter of how expertise is deployed.

The old Africans, South Americans, Chinese etc mostly focused on building cities, education, cultures etc. Your lot – particularly since the middle ages, have concentrated on destructive military research…. Just compare what Europe and North America spends on military vs education compared to others.

Bushy,please cease exposing your lack of knowledge for all to see, U sure that U are not cleverer than that?

Was Genghis building civilisations when he tore through large swaths of the known world in the 1200s? If it was not that his dad died and he was recalled to be leader, Genghis would have ruled the entire world if he wanted. He ordered the Persians to surrender and when they would not he massacred them with ease!

Was Hannibal Barca an African venturing into Italy to play games?

Were the Barbary African Pirates RAPING and PILLAGING or building “civilisation”?

The Chinese went around the Earth under Admiral Zheng Ho in the 1420s and decided that other nations were so inferior there was nothing to learn from them. China did not decide to conquer the Earth then because the Emperor’s Palace suffered serious damage and his favourite concubine was killed by fire a short while before the Expedition returned. The Emperor was so distraught he banned ALL further Ocean Ventures and indeed ordered that all documents gathered from the Expedition should be destroyed as the entire enterprise had brought bad luck! The Chinese were far ahead of ALL Nations at that time and could have ruled the Earth. We all were bloody lucky then BUT watch out in the next few years!

Is it Whiteys fault they were attacked by Ghengis? by Muslims? by Africans?

Destructive Military Research??? Bushy how come U missed ALL the other ACCOMPLISHMENTS by the WEST in Medicine, Engineering, Naval Architecture and much, much more. I sentence U to at least 3 Gallons of Coffee! NOT black but wid milk/ cream doh!

14. @millertheanunnaki April 30, 2016 at 5:52 AM “Whom is she going to blame this time around? That ‘Sunabitck’ male designer of the ‘faulty first labour pains transfer’ device?”

Look miller etc.

We don’t need any help from you with labour.

Run along now.

15. @pieceuhderockyeahright April 30, 2016 at 2:29 AM “You see why certain peoples ent gine like you?”

I lie Bushie real bad.

If I didn’t have 10 loads of laundry to wash, dry, fold and put away all like now I would be by Bushie.

But duty calls.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 30, 2016 at 11:18 AM

And “SIR” Hilary is also entitled to his propensity to interpret “Hi(s)story to suit his agenda.

The man wears the British Empire title of “SIR” with perfect pride. That is his right to be a hypocrite and charlatan to himself. But to describe the ‘uprising’ at Bayleys as a “large-scale bloody war” is taking the art of hyperbole to its astronomical max.
    Bussa was no general but just a loud-mouth naturally smart rabble rouser (a Clement Payne of his day) who was sold out by his fellow black slaves who would have moved heaven and earth to protect their white masters.

Bussa being a naturally smart guy must have heard, through listening to the white planters, about the successes of Toussaint and Dessalines in ousting the French from Saint-Dominique and like his fellow Africa-born Henri Christophe fancied himself of achieving a similar feat to be called King Bussa of the first Republic of Barbadoes.

Sir Hilary should be glad that Bussa-led rebellion failed. He might be living today in a Pidgin speaking republic called Little Haiti where such British colonial honour which Beckles ostentatiously parades would be like medals dished out to political yard-fowls by the ruling elite from the House of Stuarts and of Duvalier persuasion.

Until Hilary B ditches that cursed title of “Sir” and get back to his real anti-colonial mission of full emancipation of the blacks he will always be seen as a suspect historian; one prepared to twist past events to satisfy his massively oversized ego and selfish agenda.

17. @millertheanunnaki April 30, 2016 at 7:22 AM “who is recorded to have committed the first sin. Male or female; man or woman?”

In Barbados we have a saying “a fisherman does never tell you his fish stink.”

If men wrote the Bible, Koran etc. who do you expect to get the blame for sin?

Wuh!!! loss miller I thought better of you.

But I don’t look at the unverifiable pass. i look at the here and now.

In EVERY prison and MENTAL HOSPITAL in EVERY country in the world men are in the majority. And this is in spite of the fact that both the holy books and the temporal laws are written by men.

I lie?

Run along now.

18. @Miller

The difference between you and SIR Hilary is that he has pointed to source documents to support his conclusions. What have you pointed to?

19. Exclaimer wrote,
    There is a great revolutionary leader located in southern Africa who became impatient with the British reluctance to pay reparations to his country: Zimbabwe. Mugabe decided quite rightly that it would be white Zimbabweans who would pay the price for Britain’s intransigence. He reigned terror on white Zimbabwean farmers to such a degree that many of them left. The few that remained decided that it would be in their interest to negotiate with their President in order to build a fairer society.

EX the majority of the Black people have suffered as much as Whites as the Hundred TRILLION Zim Dollar Note I carry fully attests! Mugabe should have resigned once Freedom was won, he has murdered his black adversaries and caused countless black deaths!

20. Shouldn’t we be seeking reparation for this generation of low paid workers who are taken advantage of by their own unscrupulous black brothers ,and sisters, who operate security firms in Barbados and for weeks and months promising to pay the workers, some of whom have to cadge a bus fare to get to work. As a long standing trade unionist, Bobby and his fellow trade unions should have been instrumental in putting things in place to prevent this form of modern day slavery. Who is going to apologise to these disadvantaged persons,who like most of us, only seem to matter once every five years?

21. @Vincent Haynes April 30, 2016 at 4:59 AM “SS. Have you read up on London Bourne yet and his slave ownership?” [YES.] It would appear in extrapolating from your logic that it is ok for Boko Haram to rape and pillage their kith&kin in Nigeria, [NO IT IS NOT OK FOR MALE RELIGIOUS ZEALOTS TO RAPE ANYBODY. AND IT IS NOT OK FOR SUCH ZEALOTS TO T’IEF OTHER PEOPLE’S STUFF] in other words once you keep it within the tribe its all right [IT IS NEVER RIGHT TO HURT OTHER PEOPLE AND I HAVE NEVER SAID NOR IMPLIED ANY SUCH THING] …….is my understanding correct? [YOUR UNDERSTANDING IS GROSSLY INCORRECT]

22. @Vincent Haynes April 30, 2016 at 4:59 AM SS “It would appear in extrapolating from your logic.”

Dear Vincent: it would appear that you are not very good at extrapolating and in addition you are very, very poor at logic.

You get an E-for that sentence.

Go to the back of the class and remain there until I call you..

23. @Donna April 30, 2016 at 6:24 AM “I know Simple Simon doesn’t need my help but “anti-man” is certainly not a term I would use to describe her. She strikes me as too smart to lump all men or all women into one category.”

miller etc. once offered me what he call his fourteen inch foot. i said “no thanks”

miller etc. is still in a snit many, many years after that rebuff.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon April 30, 2016 at 12:17 PM

Nice one, SS!

You are right. I do have to run along. Have to attend a special function here in cold old Blighty.
    Will tear your argument to shreds later. LOL!!!

Just chew on the following:
    “(S)he who rocks the cradle rules the world.” And fashions the man.

25. @pieceuhderockyeahright April 30, 2016 at 9:57 AM “@ Simple I see that it is 9 in the morning and you are here posting, so does that mean you have weekends off? According to Bush Tea, if you do work on ZRs isn’t Saturday one of the better days for business?”

I call in sick. i got 10 loads of laundry to do. Can’t do that and wuk for somebody else for 8 hours too.

Lolll!!!

26. Work is work.

Who says that just because I am not being paid for doing 10 loads of laundry and other housework, childcare and eldercare that my unpaid work that it is not of significant economic and social value.

27. Once I was talking to a big shot economist. As you know I am only a Simple Simon so I asked the smart guy how come dem big shot economists at the IMF and the World Bank and thing always counting the “remittances” that is money that come from the diaspora in New York, London etc. (hereinafter called the Great White North or GWN) to support children and parents in the Poor Black and Brown South (hereinafter called collectively PB&BS) the and how come none ‘o dem count the labour expended by those of us who are raising the children and looking the elders of those who live and work in the GWN.

He said that he did not know. That maybe nobody has thought of it as yet.

That nobody has yet thought to count it, and put a price on it.

So maybe one of your bright grans who live in the GWN can collect a Nobel prize for his/her work in measuring, and putting a cost on such the unpaid labour performed in the south on behalf of those who live in the GWN.

So when you see me home at any time. Don’t ask questions.

I wukking.

Even if I am not being paid.

28. Today I may be washing the underpants of a future Nobel prize winner.

That too is work.

29. Simpy,

U washing for Barrack now?

30. @DPG
    Strong comeback with good examples.

Given the make-up of the island you should have many good examples. It is like picking from a box with 95% blue and 5% green marbles Pick a few marbles and you are very likely to get a blue green marble. And ‘true genius” will find ways to flourish. Regardless of how things are, some black Bajans will succeed.

However. I am wondering if you are missing the larger point.As Bajans, we tend to focus on surface matters and many a good man/lass never get a chance because some folks do not look beyond the surface”.

Please do not employ the standard NU logic of pointing out this happens elsewhere.

31. @DPD
    Having self-identified as DPD, forgive me for using DPG.

32. @ The Gazer and de pedantic Dribbler April 30, 2016 at 10:32 AM,

Unless the Bajan Negro sheds his fear of Bajan whites then he will be forever doomed. The timidity of the Bajan Negro stems from the fact that he lacked throughout his history men and leaders of the calibre that I have already cited.

Mugabe has been both a success and a failure. All Negros should be grateful for this man in his defiant stance against white entitlement. It astonishes me that these white colonisers having invaded another man’s continent and having carved it up in their image should then expect enslaved Africans to meekly accept that the land of the negro, prior to colonisation, would now remain in the hands of whites after independence.

I expect no apologies from these evil people. However neither do I believe that we should be hanging around waiting for reparations from these thieves? No compensation will ever be sufficient to pay for the indignities and the sufferings of Negros during their terrible period of enslavement and colonisation. The only solution to this problem would be to strip every asset owned or stolen by this group of people (I would also include those mulattos who were beneficiaries of the slave trade) and to pass it on to the rightful inheritors of this squalid wealth: the Negro.

You may be interested in this story coming out from Zimbabwe.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3566362/Oxford-student-Rhodes-Fall-campaign-boasts-refused-tip-waitress-white-left-floods-tears.html

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Gazer, dpD, dpG what’s in the moniker really; I got the hit. Now I am not 100% sure on what you mean by ‘missing larger point’ as I am really not sure what was Exclaimer’s overall thrust.

However we slice and dice it, the ‘focus on surface’ is a life issue. Small island, big country or otherwise it comes down to the people and we tend to act very similarly.

Simple case in point re the rhetoric on ‘General Bussa’.

Blogger #Colonel Buggy gave the precise military remark that detailed the number of soldiers commanded by a ‘General’. Which of course deliberately missed the point.

It can be argued that ‘General’ would have been a contrived western term to the slaves who if they harked back via stories to their then long gone tribal leadership, Bussa would have been hailed as a chief or even a ‘king’.

My point is that ‘general’ was the term for the leader and whether he led a regiment, brigade, platoon or 10 slaves and was meant to say he was the man in charge.

Very simple and clear of course but some are caught up on the ‘surface’ issue.

Many here and surely @Col Buggy would recall a time when we had a Brigadier as head of our BDF. The same post that previously was given to a Colonel as designated leader.

Evil Roy Slade as the cadets called him back then did not technically have any more men or authority but he wanted that title and was able to gerrymander it between his Jamaican roots and I believe some regional responsibilities along with his local BDF responsibilities to get it.

What’s in a name, really…prestige, power, bragging rights or just our own brand of pee to mark the hydrants we encounter!

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok @ Exclaimer , I saw your main thrust after I has posted. I have no fundamental issue with your view of reclaiming property taken during the slavery and apartheid eras. My problem remains with Mr Mugabe enduring methodologies. It was restated on this site recently that fighting a ‘war’ and governing the ‘peace’ are vastly different. Mugabe has failed miserably at governing the peace period.

The overall Rhodes issue is self-serving. The actions by Mr Qwabe are absolutely hypocritical as noted in the piece.

At no point during his strident campaign to dismantle the legacy of Rhodes have I heard Mr Qwabe indicate that he will return his blood money scholarship funds or donate a similar amount to several bright African children.

I will admit that I never explored the legacy of Cecil Rhodes before the news of this campaign so in that sense the student educated me.

However, it seems to me that Mr Qwabe is either very dishonest or a charlatan. How can a black man such as him enjoy an Oxford education in white-old England from the slave money that funded the Rhodes foundation?

Help me to round that square Mr Exclaimer! Did he give back the moniies ?

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

excuse me. correction: ‘I saw your main thrust after I HAD posted. ‘

36. @John > > It does not matter that there is one race, what matters is that there is > disharmony/mistrust between the races ……. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

David, didn’t you went to school?!!!

If you accept that there is only one race, the human race, then how on earth can there be disharmony/mistrust between races??@@@!!

What I think you may be trying to say is that there is disharmony/mistrust among some members of the human race!!!

But I digress from the point I want to make.

I feel someone is misquoting Bobby Morris or has completely misunderstood what he has said.

I have attended lectures given by him, had lengthy conversations with him even corresponded with him by email and he maintains he is a descendant of the white Jones family of St. Philip who owned Groves and Sterling and who owned slaves as well!!

In fact, he even told me the names of the mulatto slaves from whom he believes he is descended and can show they were owned by the said Jones family.

Maybe I have misunderstood what he is saying.

We both share common research interests and we both come from the same processes of miscegenation in the same single human race.

It’s been going on for eons!!

There is no disharmony or mistrust between us as far as I know although we may appear to be of different colours.

Clearly, somebody has their wires crossed.

The disharmony/mistrust you speak of is due almost entirely to ignorance and a willful refusal to seek knowledge on the part of those poor souls who harbour those feelings of disharmony/mistrust.

The problem these poor souls have is that few persons if any except for a devout and igrunt lot will invest their time in trying to educate people who do not want to be educated.

So, as the saying goes where ignorance is bliss ’tis folly to be wise.

Thus, the ignorant will unfortunately remain ignorant.

The wise who seek knowledge will become wiser!!

… and life goes on!!!!

OHBLADI OHBLADA

37. @John

Be pedantic all you want. The point was made and understood by all, even you

38. de pedantic Dribbler April 30, 2016 at 3:04 PM #

Jamaican roots ? Adopted roots , maybe. He was a matured tree when he he was transplanted from Chimborazzo In St Joseph to Jamaica.

39. “Students in the US are demanding slavery reparations from their universities. But how much can modern institutions give?

The protests at Georgetown, Princeton and Harvard raise two questions: Where does this re-examination of US history end, and what should be done to make amends?”

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/america-s-universities-must-face-up-to-their-slave-owning-past-a7007986.html

40. @DPD
    It is now very important to treat people as they self-identify. Once, it was easy, just male and female, but today we have more categories and along with it comes a choice of bathrooms. 😉

I do not mean to offend when I say that it appears that the occasional reading of postings by ac, have converted you to their/his/her school of reasoning. Firstly, ac obfuscates by dragging a big red herring across the track across and often finishes with ‘it happens elsewhere so it can happen here”.

Is there an validity in the assertion that capable Barbadians are frequently ruled out of competing based on physical appearance or skin color (it should not happen in Barbados). There seem to be a reluctance to acknowledge this fact; the basis of many decisions is based on prejudice and ignorance. I will not drag in the word ‘connections’.

I know this is a fact of life that there is prejudice everywhere (no need to state it). Let me embrace this position and counter by stating that in the US opportunities are not as limited as in Barbados. Here, if one encounter a closed door, it is possible that one will find an open door a few blocks down. In a smaller economy, one might suffer a long time before finding a ‘similar position elsewhere.

41. @Exclaimer

I would prefer to see our sons and daughters enter colleges and emerge with degrees in their hands. I would prefer that they are able to compete for higher paying jobs and for jobs that require skills and technical knowledge. Wouldn’t it be great if the US was able to export brains to Africa instead of often attracting the brightest in Africa (brain drain).

I cannot see where this reparation request will end, but I doubt if there will be any ’40 acres and a mule’.

42. @John.
    For the sake of argument, we will all agree that there is one race.

Please explain to me how this will solve the problems caused by different colors, religions, ideologies, and even nationalities. How does this concept solves the problems that existed in Ireland, or that currently exist between the Koreas, or between some tribes in Africa, or between the Sunnis and Shia……

One race, two races or a medley relay……

43. millertheanunnaki April 30, 2016 at 12:14 PM #
    ” An advance being ordered, the Ist West India Regiment stormed the heights , and at the point of the bayonets drove the rebels from their position. Not a shot was fired by the regiment on this occasion , Major Cassidy being anxious to save bloodshed as much as possible.
    It was hardly surprising that the rebels ,who had been led to believe by some of their leaders that troops of their own colour and ancestry would not be used against them, were incensed by this and many of them rushed back to offer, a furious resistance , closing with, and aiming blows at the soldiers with their crude weapons, and endeavouring to wrench the muskets from their hands.
    ………With one of his men already dead ,and seventeen more wounded Cassidy was obliged to give the order to open fire ,and a considerable number of the insurgents were thus killed and wounded.The remainder then fled and the Regiment’s parts in the suppression of the revolt ended.
    The hunting down of the ringleaders and the cold blooded reprisals that followed were carried out by the Militia ,composed largely of men drawn from the ‘poor white’ section of society, and encouraged in their excesses by Colonel Codd.
    (The Empty Sleeve. The story of The West India Regiment of the British Army- Brian Dyde)

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s always best when so called experts jump in front cameras proclaiming themselves to have all this knowledge, to double check the information. All the information is available, in the case of the Caribbean, from the 15th century, all documented.

I have seen information documented from the 12th century, always question what is said and search for the truth, it’s available for who wants to learn the truth, instead of spreading gossip from desperate people with ulterior motives.

45. The Gazer April 30, 2016 at 5:19 PM #

@John.
    For the sake of argument, we will all agree that there is one race.

Please explain to me how this will solve the problems caused by different colors, religions, ideologies, and even nationalities. How does this concept solves the problems that existed in Ireland, or that currently exist between the Koreas, or between some tribes in Africa, or between the Sunnis and Shia……

One race, two races or a medley relay……

So, you agree that it is impossible to be a racist and racism cannot exist.

Me too.

Is this then common ground from which we can proceed?

46. @ John
    So, you agree that it is impossible to be a racist and racism cannot exist.
    Me too.
    What a non-point.

..Do albinos exists?
    ..Are they disproportionately greedy and materialistic?
    ..Do they discriminate against others who are differently endowed with the properly prescribed melanin content?
    ..Did these albinos use their militaristic propensities to enslave other humans of the same race – but darker hue? …for centuries? …for profit?

Skippa..
    Even if you don’t call it ‘racism’, you still have the same brass bowlery….

47. By the way Colonel Codd, in all likelihood is a descendant of Codd whose name was given to Codd’s House, the first location of the Barbados House of Assembly, which was demolished some years ago, and plans are afoot to restore it.
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/8483/codd-8217-house-restored

48. Meanwhile, seven years later in Demerara , later British Guiana
    ” Again as in Barbados,a direct confrontation with the military broke the spirit of the revolt. Although constant skirmishes were kept up along the whole line of the coast for another six weeks or so much of this concerned the search for the ring leaders. This was in the main carried out by the Militia, as always composed of white men only too keen to exact retribution. In addition to slaves who were killed while actively resisting arrest,another sixty were shot out of hand. Later after the necessary judicial proceedings , fifty more were hanged, and as many again flogged or imprisoned.
    Two more companies of the Ist West Indian Regiment arrived on the 26 September but were hardly required, a month later they returned to Barbados .
    ( The Empty Sleeve- The story of the West India Regiments of the British Army- Brian Dyde)