Submitted by David Weekes

It is regard to the recent announcement by the Minister of the Ministry of Public Transport or MTW (the use of both names should be noted due to name changes over the ten year period in question) I am submitting the attached documents.

Notwithstanding the current name of the Ministry that has announced the Electronic Vehicle Registration (EVR) system, these documents form part of a proposal  submitted to  said ministry in 2007, under its then Minister Gline Clarke and again in 2009 under Minister John Boyce whose names are mentioned without prejudice and solely to affix the submission times.

The following is to be noted about said Electronic Vehicle Registration system.

1. Both the EVR and the Electronic payment systems were the subject of an extensive proposal submitted by the Faculty of Social Sciences under Dr. George Belle the then Dean of the Faculty (I believe he has now retired.)
  2. The Faculty of the University of the West Indies paid for, and brought the Vice President of the largest EVR producer in the world Transcore, Steve Baumhardt, to Barbados and introduced said project to the GoB of Barbados
  3. After 2 years of the customary bureaucracy with the Ministry, UWI was able to get the MTW (or MPW) to field a mission to Bermuda to see the technology at work.
  4. That “on-site tour” was conducted with one University of the West Indies Soc. Sci. senior staffer and with particular MTW staffers, the Head of the Transport Authority and the VP of Transcore
  5. I can and will provide email of all correspondence between the UWI and the MTW and Transcore.
  6. I can and will provide correspondence from the first and second financial underwriters of the EVR project who were to provide the $6M to underwrite the project at “no up front cost” to the government but proposed a B.O.L.T
  7. I will go on record to state that this EVR was agreed “in principal” to be a UWI/GoB collaboration so that the UWI could generate money for itself. Needless to say the current situation at the UWI speaks to what is the trus state of so called UWI/government collaborations

I will say now as I have stated in other fora that it would be unconscionable if this government, or any successor government, benefit from these actions financially without (i) even the smallest mention of the untiring work of the UWI and (2) at least paying the UWI back the money that it spent sowing the “EVR field”.

It is probably too much to expect that they would honour the commitment to the UWI per their UWI/public sector collaboration. Some would, mindful of the current plight of the UWI, say that these actions seem to clearly show how they are “enemies to any and all Innovation and Invention proposed by its university, and its citizenry”.

Others say this it is a manifestation of Rwanda again, where black against black crime is permitted, and sustained by successive governments.

This should serve as another caution to all young Bajans who propose to collaborate with said government(s) (and/or their agents). “Be extremely wary of sharing anything that you propose with them. In fact some might say that it is better to proffer whatever you are selling to “the white man” overseas” because your own people well, learn from these examples.

Some say that this is just one more instance of the “public, unstinting rape” of the Intellectual assets of Bajans and it is the face of theft of intangible, yet financially viable, property of poor black men and women in this country.

Others will wonder how can these governments broadcast to an unsuspecting, international diaspora that it should “invest in Barbados”? Others wonder how can they make representations to international agencies to support these “structural improvement programs” while making its authors “suck salt”?

All of your “die hard supporters” are asked to pause, look at the attached documents and thereafter state if there is any righteousness in this action, even if set in the context of national development. Not even a change in the name of the document title!

With regard to this EVR matter, I invite Dr. George Belle, Mr. Wilberne Persaud and Dr. Hillary Beckles to comment on the veracity of these documents hereto attached.

125 responses to “Electronic Vehicle Registration Concept Proposed to Government Since 2007 by the UWI”

1. An excerpt from the Proposal Document attached:

There is one imperative for our EVR/I system to be fully effective. EVR/I requires that the necessary legislation be enacted and enforced. EVR/I solution complements appropriately tailored enforceable motor vehicle laws.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

So I got my confirmation answer why Barbadians are not so keen on generating ideas or creating anything. The government waits a few years after it is proposed and claim the idea of someone else for themselves. WWC where are you girl- we got news.

3. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

More distractions from a broke and broken government , but yet the people can not get water?

Stop running behind ideas that sound or look good and can not even meet human needs,

plates and finger prints, four seasons , wind power, solar power, better stick to land fraud by government to solve all problems , kill hill , Nothing they do brings in money or makes money, Oh 1 more plane from Germany ,its seems like the ways of the government has infected BU,

There is no focus,it seem white people must give them ideas that work but only for them and not the government nor the people ,
    Barbados and Bajans are being used like pimps to whores.

4. Cuh shiite David, look at those three pictures above …as well as those of the other ‘government’ officials we have had in the last 20 years……

Wunna was feeding pearls to swine…

The thing is, that if the innovators had taken an independent route to implementation, then these SAME officials would have done all in their powers to frustrate the efforts.
    This is why NOTHING works bout here.
    The only ‘action’ that is visible is where those who fork out large bribes get to have their own way – while the projects invariably go on to fleece Bajans, to operate inefficiently and to ultimately run back to the same thieving officials for support from the people’s taxes…

These people want locking to donkey up….

Now if Grenville would commit to having FULL Forensic Audits of all major public operations upon election, ….on enlisting FBI oversight on follow-up prosecutions …. and on enforcing the LAW on the guilty -INCLUDING BRIBE MASTERS….. his voter count would immediately increase by all the honest people in Barbados….. all 20 🙂

Lotta shiite…. but there is Karma….

5. @Bush Tea

Can you imagine we had this as a solution since 2007/8 and we still ‘talking bout it’?

6. The PM believes Barbados can be a 1st World country… I can’t stop laughing! He should try getting his house in order… Water, Transport, Roads etc..! I challenge Mr Lashley to take a ride on a Government bus! I did but got off before my destination..!

7. The political hierarchy (BLP or DLP) rush to embrace certain new technology, spend millions of dollars on consultants; award the tender to their information technology friends to purchase the technology; approve the quotation of their building contractor friends to construct/improve the infrastructure of the building to accommodate new equipment; purchase furniture/peripherals from their friends; would create a position, for example, such as “New Technology Director,” to which they would appoint someone who campaigned for them………..

And retain a “party affiliated” lawyer who would subsequently charge $1M to give a legal opinion on the new technology and the “New Technology Director’s” contract.

This is better known as “distributing the fatted calf” and it is interesting to note that these “anomalies” occur especially at statutory corporations, where politicians can EXERCISE “autonomous authority.”

However, the mere observation that the minister under whose portfolio the specific statutory corporation falls, moves from driving a $35,000 Suzuki Swift to a $300,000 Audi (after the deal), is purely coincidental.

The BRA employed the services of a consultant for over one year, who was paid over $10,000 per month and responsible for overseeing the implementation of filing taxes on-line. The BRA is still experiencing problems with this on-line system.

Another example is the National Insurance Office’s computerized cheque printing system.

8. Bush Tea March 24, 2016 at 7:53 AM #

“Now if Grenville would commit to having FULL Forensic Audits of all major public operations upon election, ….on enlisting FBI oversight on follow-up prosecutions …. and on enforcing the LAW on the guilty -INCLUDING BRIBE MASTERS….. his voter count would immediately increase by all the honest people in Barbados….. all 20.”

@ Bushie

Excellent contribution!!!

9. Just read the article in the Nation newspaper and it is clear the government has borrowed from the project posted here and it is only fair the work of the UWI and Company is rewarded.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

“Borrowed ” ? More like tiefted!!

@ Artaxerxes

You seem to know exactly where this is leading sir.

You seem to be a lot more knowledgeable than the average bear.

The tracks which Michael Lashes can’t hide with this project will become visible when the document showing who gets the EVR contract is made public.

You can hide and buy land but you cannot hide and wuk it.

11. BU posted this link on FB on a page shared with Minister Lashley and Jones this morning.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

I like what you stated, and glad David posted the link to FB for the two controversial ministers to see.

Are you hinting to Granville what his campaign slogan should be?

13. Barbados shut down.

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

I’ll direct this to the author but @Pieces being the resident technology guru here I would certainly favor a response from you as well. Now, before I pose the statement/question let me state in a full disclosure manner that I have been involved as a respondent to RFQ or RFI documents over my business career. OK, air clear. I am guilty of whatever!

Mr. Weekes, based on activities of business partners (Black and White and shades between) offering proposals to GOB over the years I am confused how your statement can realistically be justified, to wit “… it would be unconscionable if this government, or any successor government, benefit from these actions financially without (i) even the smallest mention of the untiring work of the UWI and (2) at least paying the UWI back the money that it spent sowing the “EVR field”.

I accept your comment that the UWI saw this as long term profit center. That makes perfect sense. But you certainly know that the UWI themselves would have implemented similar or related chip based/intelligent token technologies on their campus from OUTSIDE vendors over the years and in that regard would have been on the cutting edge of such tech on the island.

But beyond that please clarify for me what special COMPETENCIES Dr. Belle or any of his colleagues had with this tech that would guarantee them to receive “… money that it spent sowing the “EVR field”!….

—- Did their tech guys develop some special component of this technology? …

—- Was it there back-end software running the system; did they have other installation or management of same to validate their competence?

When the UWI team stepped out of their ‘ivory tower’ onto the main street of business proposals and also ‘escorted’ officials to a foreign country (surely they did not pay the costs as that is AGAINST all rules of which I am aware) when and how was it determined that they would be treated with special dispensation to win the implementation?

Does submitting a proposal mean you have to get the award???

I clearly hear and understand the imputations from Artax. The context of corruption is the entire debate surrounding this administration so my remarks have NOTHING to do with that.

Just trying to understand why the UWI were actually even involved in this and why they should be treated specially because they were.

Much thanks!

15. @Dee Word

Would the UWI, Cave Hill have the scale to make an inhouse project profitable?

16. Grantley Adams International Airport Closed

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua, March 24, 2016 – LIAT wishes to advise that all flights to / from Barbados for today, Thursday March 24 have been delayed due to the closure of the Grantley Adams International Airport as a result of strike action by Air Traffic Controllers.

LIAT also regrets to advise that passengers who decide to travel but are unable to complete their journey will not be provided with meals, transportation or hotel accommodation as the situation is beyond LIAT’s control. Passengers with onward connections are advised to contact the respective carriers.

Affected passengers are asked to continue to monitor the LIAT website (www.liat.com); or contact the LIAT Call Centre from Antigua – 1-268-480-5582; toll free from the rest of the Caribbean – 1-888-844-5428 and from Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands – 1-866-549-5428 or by emailing Reservations@liat.com.

The Call Centre is open from 07:00 – 22:00, Monday to Saturday and from 07:00 – 18:00 on Sunday and Public Holidays.

Affected customers who wish to rebook for a later date will be allowed to do so without change fees or fare differences for a period of two weeks from the date of their original scheduled travel. Following the two-week grace period, passengers will be required to pay applicable fare and change fees when re-booking.

LIAT regrets any inconvenience caused as a result of the closure of the Grantley Adams International Airport.

=end=

17. @ Dribbler
    Boss, you never cease to amaze…
    So if Dompey puts together a business proposal and approaches HIS government with that proposal – having conceptualised the project, arranged for global experts to partner with him, and having arranged funding for the project …. you question his rights based on his ‘expertise’ (OR LACK THEREOF) in the particular subject area…?

Surely Bushie is reading you very wrong…. in which case accept the bushman’s apologies up front...otherwise prepare your donkey for from licks…

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

The author clearly has much valuable insight into this matter, being listed on the attached documents provided. And presents a solid case.
    My question is why play the colour card? What does that add?
    “yet financially viable, property of poor black men and women in this country”….to whom does he refer? The UWI?

19. @NorthernObserver

Citizens are bound to get frustrated if they are not given the opportunity to get a slice of the cake if the reasons given (or not) are not rational.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@david
    Exactly. It is frustration. It adds nothing to the facts. It actually detracts, because the reader asks oneself, here is a well presented, factual situation….sooooo…..why?
    Maybe I have missed exactly who is being contracted under this most recent proposal?

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

also…we have an ice storm…so the websites are jammed….re flights to GAIA

22. St George's Dragon Avatar

Government is meant to tender all expenditure on all projects over something like $25,000.
    There is quite rightly anger on BU when it becomes known that someone like Cahill or Williams Industries have been awarded a project without it going through that process.
    Why should the EVR project be treated any differently?
    The correct response from Government should have been to politely tell the University that their proposal looked interesting but that (as they must be well aware) the public procurement rules state that the project would have to be advertised publically and proposals would have to be invited from other interested parties. UWI would, of course, be considered fairly along everyone else.

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

Re the airport and port strikes – sympathy strikes are illegal in many other countries (UK, Australia, USA). Perhaps it is time to make them illegal here as well?

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David re “would the UWI, Cave Hill have the scale to make an inhouse project profitable?” Surely that depends on the project cost. Surely they have implemented student pay-back projects previously but whether that would have covered the overall capital cost is unlikely… Ongoing expenses maybe. ……. I hope you didn’t misunderstand that I was suggesting they should implement an in-house program. I was not.

@Bushie in order to rational discuss an issue both parties must be on the same wave length of seriousness. We are not here clearly. You are playing around.

To simply repeat. The UWI when they ‘ stepped out of their ‘ivory tower’ onto the business street’ wid all others were not to be treated with any special dispensation UNLESS there was some special competency that redounded to the institution and to the government choosing them.

So it is obviously unpopular to say it but, based on my awareness of this tech in general I cannot perceive how UWI’s resources made them a superior vendor.

But if they had won the award I am sure they would have done an awesome jobs and it would have been a platform for additional partnership. Obviously that is the pain point with this matter…and I hear that clearly.

It’s an ABSOLUTE nonsense that the UWI CONCEPTUALIZED such a project. Intelligent token technology was installed on that campus by outsiders; such systems were done across England and US …

Certainly, the fact that the a UWI team took the initiative to move forward as a tech vendor is absolutely awesome and very progressive. Of that there is no question. And the fact that they partnered with a local guru is even more encouraging.

However universities the world over have done the same for ages…as UWI did themselves in other areas.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

From the GAIA website
    Disruption in Flight Operations Air Traffic Control Services
    Air Traffic Control Services have resumed at 1:00 p.m and will continue until 8:00 p.m today, Thursday 24th March 2016.
    What does this say after 8pm?

26. De Pedantic Dribbler

Now, before I present my answer to your statement/question let me first restate that I am a black man who once used to be on the bandwagon that stated that with pride but now do so with “concern” that borders on shame

And I will explain my “shame” so you understand clearly what i am saying

I am not one of these fly by night Pan Africanists who walks about beating their chest, while wearing a dashiki, and spouting rhetoric about “Reparations and enfranchisement.”

Mine is a conviction and misguided belief that hard work, in a country with a population that is 95% black, of which I am also a black man, should result in one getting a piece of the pie.

Is that wrong? Yet it would seem that in mentioning that fact of birth, in the castle of my skin, somehow it has elicited comments that I need not mention this fact of birth which is now part of my shame.

Dribbler, I have come to the conclusion that, we the majority of the population, do nothing but pay “lip service” to all that fancy empowerment chatter

And please do not tell me that this is a DLP or BLP thing, for in the same way that you would be saying that I resorted to the black thing, I would be entitled to say that you are employing that partisan Dribble.

I also have come to realize that BLP or DLP “feel good” manifestos which proudly state that “40% of Government contracts will go to small black businesses” are empty mouthings.

Annually these vacuous announcements are repeated by the Party in Power ministers as they rise each debate to chant how “we are facilitating business loans”, or “land for the landless”,or ” affordable housing”, or “running water in every house” or “bringing back Barbados to Barbadians”, which many, of whom you seem to be one, consider to be untruths.

So do I.

And why do I know these to be untruths you ask?

The following is a list of initiatives which attends my interactions with these successive governments (a few of which that are covered by patent).

(i) my border crossing solution G.O.D.I.S, an element of which I see being championed here by David Comissiong. Please note that my Lawsuit against the government(s) of Barbados Case 197 of 2007 still has not been given a date in court (ii) RideMatch – a contactless pay system for buses (iii) a Customs and Excise Information Management System (iv) Virtual Repository of Emerging and Established Businesses and two more which due to their sensitive legal standing I can’t mention at this time.

The subject at caption is an Electronic Vehicle Registration system which contrary to what St George and you are suggesting DID NOT EVOLVE OUT OF ANY RFP CONSTRUCT.

This was a Special National Industrialization Initiative or in simple terms the same homegrown innovation and invention that a lot of you get on BU and talk about BUT DO NOTHING about.

Dr. George Belle armed with 3 pieces of paper about the transportation issues in Barbados, papers which I shared with him was not worth the 30 sheets they were printed on, sought to bring a new paradigm to the constantly repeated theme here “about how the people on the hill are all academics and do nothing but sit in the Stool”

The project had three parts (i) Land (ii) Sea and (iii) Air and post almost a year of conceptualization and agreement by the University became the Caribbean Transportation Research Initiative and was accorded the status of a Centre ant the UWI.

This was a carefully thought out and executed strategy by a man who was and is much maligned for a Bexhill Poll that he had nothing to do with. My happy behind was there when that stupidness went on and slime accused him of doing a Poll in favor of the BLP but I digress and that is another story for another time)

This was not an RFP RFQ or RFI this was a mini industrialization initiative that was birthed in the Faculty of Soc. Sri. as a model to show how UWI professors and staff could apply all that academic experience to practical issues.

The project even reached out to certain Hovercraft companies in the United States and Europe, in the Isle of Wight to explore the very ferry systems that the US is embarking on in Cuba today!!

A lot of you talk because you have a mouth but as my GOD LIVES the genesis of this project was a collaboration which the UWI seeded with their funds.

I am writing too much here but in brief the Electronic Vehicle Registration & Identification system that UWI carried to MTW and which they are now introducing as theirs began like how DARPA collaborated with the private university communities as a government academic initiative.

You and others here are duplicitious because in one breath you are always saying that the University is doing nothing while in the other breath you want to talk about RFPs which HAD NOT ONE BEADWORK TO DO WITH UWI.

So you get on your high horse and give Colin Hudson of the Future Centre Trust a pass for all his patents and his academic endeavours for revolutionizing the sugar cane industry with his rotors for cane cutters but in the same breath castigate Dr George A.V. Belle for seeking to move the people on the Hill into a time of economic endeavor that would have provided significant sustenance to the UWI.

We are curs and jackals of which I am the leading cur so I Dribbler and “going to die black” and will neither retract nor vary that comment cause it is only us black people who experience this Rwanda explicit “self destruct behavior”.

So I hope that neither you nor the other gentleman who spoke of the inappropriateness of my remarks about us killing us and black enterprise.

27. @ St George Dragon
    This in not complicated.

Bid are mandated where government identifies a project to be executed and seeks to contract a provider to execute that project.

Where an innovator comes up with a creative idea to address an existing shortcoming in the society, it would be foolhardy, counter productive, and downright idiotic …to suggest that ‘others’ be sought to provide competing bids…
    The only hiccup here is that, being a public service project, it is obvious that government would be seen as a natural partner and ally…
    ..a real-real government that is…
    …and universities NATURALLY play a role in ‘innovation-facilitation’ throughout the world….shiite – is is a part of their mandate to develop national talent.

@ Dribbly dribbler
    Boss, it is VERY difficult to be serious with you…
    You come across as the quintessential nay-sayer…. whose motto is “why bother – I am only a pawn in the big game anyway…”

You sound like our great science wizard from MIT who has a lotta chat and a big long CV … but can’t do one shiite without direct sanction from his ‘superiors’…
    Bushie has had employees like that…

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Weekes I will give you more prolix later but in this moment let me say. I am in no way attacking your or UWI abilities and I certainly am not interested or mentioned your race. As I write here on BU I can often understand how an attorney can feel when he is simply pointing out a fact of the situation and is yet assailed as a partisan. Alas!

The other thing I would say quickly: As an inventor I am sure you know WELL why large corps get very, very concerned when any inventor presents a possible project paper!

Regardless of whether such a thing has been discussed previously or there are other similar products on the market the fear is that any subsequent product may be claimed as emanating from that project paper…leading to a legal tangle.

AGAIN that is a simple fact. I am NOT casting any aspersions toward your project.

It’s obviously quite difficult to discuss such things that are so deeply personal without perceiving personal attack to your integrity that of your product or other. ABSOLUTELY not intended. This is a dispassionate discourse on the harsh realities of the business world.

And my comments were absolutely not a contradiction re UWI being more business oriented and yet probing intently this proposed business matter.

Will update further. Later

29. @ St George’s Dragon

In response to your question “Why should the EVR project be treated any differently?” as i have gone to some lengths to explain the EVR/I was not a government solicited proposal.

It was a National Initiative Construct and a collaboration between the UWI and the GoB.

So you have begun batting on the proverbial wrong foot but that is expected St George.

Why would it be that you suggest so knowledgeably that “The correct response from Government should have been to politely tell the University…”?

Name all of the non-solicited initiatives that this government and previous governments have engaged in with private institutions, international development agencies and most notably The Most Favoured Nation the PRC.

What did this construct have to do with “public procurement rules?”

The second of the funding entities was none other than LIME and their board in London agreed to underwrite the project

Did you read the entire boring National Indicative Construct?

And then as if to give credence to what a few people here intimate you then go on to state quite facetiously that “the project would have to be advertised publically and proposals would have to be invited from other interested parties..”

Imagine that, the progenitor of a collaboration for which there several meetings, and entity that submitted a sound project based on 1 year of prior research. now finds itself by what you are suggesting here, renegotiating the terms of its submission of a ‘collaboration”. You can’t be serious!

And then your most disingenuous remark of all “UWI would, of course, be considered fairly along everyone else…”

UWI was not even invited to tender and the 2 inch advertisement in the daily newspaper last year was inserted just to address the fear that, in the words of the proposer, “just in case they come back and say that this was not advertised”

30. Such a travesty of Mount Olympus proportion to have a native of such talent underutilized. Tarry a little further David Weekes.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS….sometimes they wait as long as 10 years or more to implement the stolen idea or creation. It happened to a friend of mine, brilliant dude, he could never hear back from the government re his suggestion….10 years later, he is perusing one of the daily newspapers and what should he see but his word for word creation being advertised by someone else.

I dont have to tell you he was breathing fire, called up the government office and they pulled it right away, never heard anymore about it, probably waiting for him to die so that someone else can enrich themselves from the idea, or they already sold it to one of the minority crooks on the island….they are a disgrace, just look at the turmoil.

That is the place they have arrived….tha5 is what they do best and are well known for.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS..this is the young man I was telling you about.

Hey David, glad to see you back..

33. @ Dribbler.

I don’t know where you got the impression that this was a concept paper but you need to disavow yourself of that misconception.

In that equation, barring my three man team, all off the other entities were “heavy hitters” so you should retract that remark about “concept paper”

Transcore was the largest RFID transportation solution provider in the world at that timesaving delivered million of tags and readers to clients worldwide.

Their tags and readers were then the only ones in the world which accused compliance information on vehicles moving at 100 km/h

All of the costs, while not provided here of the revenues and the expenditure, were detailed why after all dribbler you would know what a RFID needs a good resilient tag, a long range reader, a back office secure database, a communication backbone ergo the telecoms company.

A deployment to display where the technology was working and on-site technical evaluations to make sure that it was not another empty “your check is in the mail” woodwind that we Bajans are so accustomed to.

The money to buy the tags.

A location to install the tags in the vehicles and to activate them

Connectivity for MTW, the Insurance companies and the Police to verify their respective compliance elements.

Read the Proposal and then read the government announcement and tell me if a national collaboration should be rewarded like this

Of course Dribbler I expect that the usual comments about “weekes always making noise about something” to ensue.

As St George the Dragon intimates it is at the discretion of the GoB to retract from any collaboration, as it chooses (maybe not the Cahill one though because we all see what color Clare is) but as for me and the numerous black people whose ideas may possibly be highjacked, such is a rite of passage and “black suppliers would, of course, be considered fairly along with everyone else…”

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Northern. ..in other words, were the inventors bajan white, foreign white, indian, chinese middle easter, ISIS…the black government would not dare try to steal their ideas or projects, ya see them trying tp steal Cahill from the crook Clare Cowan, she got land at 6 cents an acre and they are still waiting for her to go back to Barbados to give her more.

Ya understand now…they are dumb black people in government, just waiting for the shackles and chains to sell their own people…or their ideas.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David…ya have to forgive Pedantic, he drools and is kinda slow.😂

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Weekes, David if I may….in another submission months ago I likely spoke enough that you were able to put a name to the moniker – maybe. Be that as it may I am aware of GODIS …or was aware back several years ago.

I say that not to indicate any knowledge of secret data but rather to highlight that I am no johnnie-come-lately and that I have championed you and your product with vigor.

And in saying that I am also saying I am aware of the dog-eat-dog realities (as are you) in the business world.

I accept everything you have said re the process leading up to the work with GoB. But David good lawd you know how many inventors and smart people with ideas have been royally screwed in the same context as you….

…. You KNOW the many gov’t who have requested RFI (even RFQ) and then cancelled everything after digesting the data received and gone off to do there own thing.

Who am I to have to tell you that when you have been up and down the airports and roadways of this region and beyond vending your wares. Who the hell am I, eh to state the obvious to one like you!!!

So I don’t know why and how the project fell flat but as you know real impactful data oft needs to be tightly held until first deposit paymets are made.

I dun wid this.

@Bushie YOU said on this site that you go to other scholarly lacations for serious debate and come here to have some fun.

Moreover when in chatter wid you and it reaches a point where the basic facts stand free and fearlessly beyond dispute…you resort to the same basic position along the lines of : “You come across as the quintessential nay-sayer…. whose motto is “why bother”.

I never said or suggested that. Not once. I interrogated Mr Weekes on very specific areas.

But anyhow you just mekking sport so why do you even bother to engage, nah! Fah real, leh ma dribbles !

I did have not anyone among my few employees who resembled yours…we were action oriented!

I gotsta gone!

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@DavidWeekes, you are too intelligent to nitpick in that way re ‘concept paper’. I don’t believe that I was used that but rather “project paper”. Which was mentioned squarely in the context of presenting a serious project product proposal to large company….as was your situation.

A concept or project paper is the precursor to serious discourse and depending on the person submitting same and their confidence with the person receiving the submission it could include half of the kitchen and the sink.

Please don’t do a Bushie mekking sport ting on me as you read the above. Fah real!

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh dear do excuse the standpipe grammar and English above. Grammar was taught on Tuesday and I did get to the class early for that…and spelling too.

Not Maths tho Bushie!!

39. @ Well Well and Consequences,

Thank you for you warm welcome.

I am going to bounce off topic for just a second.

Fighting Hardline islamic Fundamentalism

Ten years ago I suggested that this was going to be a problem and i said that we need to pre empt the beast through careful for want of a better word “indoctrination”

The concept was simple

1) We coopted certain parties from across the world a la Simon Cowell

2) we would stage a X Factor Show based on engaging youth around political subjects with a view to creating an equivalent of Political X Factors in Jurisdictions and effecting online voting and engagement of Young People in a Virtual World Parliament exercise

3) The rewards would be specific to the various jurisdictions but the idea was to give youth world stages to speak from FOR IT IS THEY WHO ARE THE DISENFRANCHISED AND IT IS THEY WHO WHEN THEY SPEAK TO THEMSELVES OF THEIR PROBLEMS are able to identify with each other

4) Much in the same way we do talent searches for singers and Rihannas etc we would create an environment of pan world engagement that used ubiquitous Internet,

5) Men with money and technological resources would be engaged to facility the technological matrix and to incentivize the programs e.g. the Mark Zuckenbergs and all the Bill Gates and the rest to facilitate the technology

6) There were a number of additional modules to the Youth Engagement Initiative and what was to be a LIVING LEGACY for those of us who wanted to make a difference to what we see going on but this wast at core of the behavioral change program.

6) The key objective was to ensure that youth engage with youth and adults saw the positive changes and while it might seem that we would be “selling” the glitter of being wise, erudite and innovative as it related to discussing the issues etc for a reward what we were going to be doing was ensuring engagement.

This was like a Life Skills School for a Debating Society that engaged the most talented of judges but with a focus on Our Real World Issues

Mine was and is a suggestion that the same way that we sell the filth of The Bachelor and the Bachelorette, and other Reality shows, i seriously felt that ours was, and is, a responsibility toe do the same for engaging our youth in what some may see as “bribing them” to participate in the society around them/us but ultimately the goal was to at least give them a chance to save themselves.

The US facilitator told me that homegrown terrorism would never happen like it did in Chicago, Paris and Brussels and, given that 10 years has passed, it may be too late.

Interestingly the Virtual Participatory Methodology business process that is part of a patent pending submission was grafted by *** and bastardized by people who were, and still are, bereft of ideas.

Let me say something to those of us who are serious about “true change” and not eye servants.

This is not about me or you.

Our black asses are dying every day, either being blown to bits by C-4 and “skinning up like ninepins” in our beds content to fool ourselves that this is not rolling towards our 11 x 16 island in the sun.

I believe that we have a responsibility to get rid of all the posturers but more importantly “accentuate the positive”, we need to move that motivational speaker’s mantra into the sphere of reality, where it makes a tangible difference to the world that is constantly “a-birthing” around us

40. Interesting to note Dr Robinson’s name as a member of the UWI committee back in 2008. Dr. Robinson is sits on a few high powered Boards, central bank, NIS, statutory board rationalization committee etc. Maybe it is not too late for him to intervene in the interest of what is fair. Bear in mind in his role at Cave Hill he should be focused on revenue opportunities to shore up the coffers of the University.

41. Mr Blogmaster

There are two types of men in this world men who will cuss you because of something that you have done that is inexcusable but tomorrow if they see you drowning they will come to save you and other petty men who will hold that grudge against you forever.

Because we live in a very litigious society we all have to be mindful of what is said especially when there is precedence and seeming ease for certain people to sue you and/or have you locked up for utterances on these blogs/Facebook pages.

Given what you wrote shortly after 4.20 someone can repeat that one party includes the other party.

What does that have to do with my earlier statement, I forgot what i was saying…….

42. Innovation, Barbados style
    http://i.imgur.com/rDOrNVp.jpg?1

43. Repurposing.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dont worry David, their selfishness in refusing to engage the positive and pettiness in dismissing each other over the last decades, has seen them successfully reducing themselves and everything around them to chaos…nothing is going well, a chaos of their own making, they are still refusing to listen…more the fool them.

Hopefully, young people will ignore the backward status quo, use their intelligence and find a way out of the morass…and do not depend on the jackass leaders who never managed to grow up but are still stupid under the union jack.

45. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ BT
    “Bids are mandated where government identifies a project to be executed and seeks to contract a provider to execute that project. Where an innovator comes up with a creative idea ….etc”
    It certainly isn’t complicated but you are incorrect. You might think it would be a good idea if only Government identified projects had to be tendered and that “creative ideas” got a straight pass through but that is not what the law says. The Financial Management and Audit (Financial) Rules, 2011 say that Government expenditure over $200,000 must be tendered; no ifs, no buts.
    @ David Weekes
    “As I have gone to some lengths to explain the EVR/I was not a government solicited proposal.”
    It doesn’t matter – see above.
    I find it strange that everyone is so supportive of Government being able to accept proposals generated outside Government without any competition. I bet those same people would argue differently if the discussion was about Cahill’s plant (no competition), the molasses tanks at the port (no competition), high rise housing (no competition), Pierhead (no competition). All could be said to be innovative ideas from outside Government which shouldn’t have needed to be tendered. I think otherwise.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@DavidWeekes, re “The US facilitator told me that homegrown terrorism would never happen like it did in Chicago, Paris and Brussels …”———-You really need to get a different type of partner/facilitator. Any security or quasi security professional – or was this an organizational/psychology expert – who could say that in 2006 had to be crazy.

The US experienced ‘home grown’ terrorism when the Puerto Rico liberation group or whatever they called themselves – don’t recall and did not Google it – attempted to assassinate the US President….They experienced it with White Supremacist.

Based on the large ethnic populations and based on the knowledge of the cold war spy deployments and how folks who appear devoted to a nation can be duplicitous that remark was rather lacking in perspective.

To the substantive matter…

The question of whether a national collaboration should have been initiated seems straight forward. Why is wasn’t is probably also straight forward.

You mistake simple questions for disapproval.

47. @ Dragon
    Forgive Bushie …. was not aware that Government was expected top fund the project. The bushman was under the impression that it was to be privately funded…. by Lime etc…

So explain this…. Let us say that Bushie invents a new vaccine against brass bowlery …and that it passed the ultimate test by curing AC.
    The Bushman approaches the Barbados Government about the requisite licenses and possible deployment to address the massive BB problem in parliament and the public service…

You are saying that the government will need to seek bids? (cause Bushie charging MUCH more that your measly $200K)
    How? …by circulating Bushie’s classified proposal to potential competitors?
    …by inviting Dompey and Alvin to submit counter-proposals?

So Boss… how does government foster, encourage and support innovation and creativity….?

Oh wait!!
    This is Barbados….
    Frig dat!!

48. Bermuda Demonstrates System Performance of World’s First Electronic Vehicle Registration System Using TransCore’s RFID Technology
    February 07, 2008 06:31 PM Eastern Standard Time
    ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Bermuda’s Transport Control Department (TCD), a department within Bermuda’s Ministry of Tourism and Transport, demonstrates system performance of an electronic vehicle registration (EVR) system designed to automate compliance monitoring and enforcement. Initial deployment began in July of 2007 and more than 65 percent of Bermuda’s vehicle population has been tagged and the process is expected to be completed by June 2008, which will enable formal system operations to commence.

“The program has met the first phase of our deployment schedule and performed extremely well during the recent systems acceptance testing for end-to-end integration”
    Tweet this
    “The program has met the first phase of our deployment schedule and performed extremely well during the recent systems acceptance testing for end-to-end integration,” said Randy Rochester, Director of Bermuda’s Transport Control Department. “This is a critical achievement and demonstrates the fundamental strength of the system.”

The EVR system will automate enforcement of Bermuda’s vehicle-specific regulations including vehicle insurance and registration to ensure the accuracy of vehicle records. Over the next five years, TCD expects to recover approximately $11 million in lost revenue from unlicensed vehicles on the island’s roadways and reduce the number of non-compliant vehicles to less than 1 percent. In later stages of the program adoption, EVR will enable compliance monitoring of commercial vehicles operating in restricted areas during rush hours without a permit and issue corresponding citations for non-compliant vehicles.

“The flexibility of the technology to work within the unique island environment and distinct installation and system requirements, requiring both fixed and mobile scenarios, was essential,” Rochester continued. The system will verify vehicle registration compliance via a network of fixed reader points throughout the island, transportable tripod-mounted readers and handheld readers. The system operates via technology that is similar to electronic tolling, popular in high volume traffic centers around the world.

The EVR system, designed and developed by TransCore and being deployed in Bermuda in conjunction with 3M, consists of RFID tags, antennas, readers and a combination of in-lane transaction management and a host computer database system. A violation processing system (VPS), also provided by TransCore, will automatically generate resulting citations. The system creates incident records and only retains photo images of non-compliant vehicles.

A unique electronic identification code is established for each vehicle via a tamper-evident windshield sticker tag and each unique code is securely linked to a record in the centralized vehicle-database. The first step in establishing the EVR system was to equip Bermuda’s motor vehicle population with RFID tags through the vehicle inspection and registration process. The tag distribution and activation process which began in June 2007 will continue through June 2008 as vehicle registrations cycle through renewals and new registrations are processed. Once all vehicle registrations have been updated to reflect EVR activation, the system will become fully operational.

In the United States, an estimated five to 10 percent of motorists fail to legally register their vehicles, resulting in lost annual state revenues of between $720 million and $1.44 billion. Outside the United States, some government agencies report that as many as 30 to 40 percent of vehicles on the roadway may not be legally registered resulting in major economic and enforcement issues for municipality, state and federal governments.

About TransCore’s RFID Technology

The eGo® windshield sticker tag is an 865-875 or 902-928 MHz radio frequency (RF)-programmable, battery-free transponder. Packaged as a flexible sticker, this tag is suited for applications that require low-cost, easily installed tags. The tag is suitable for a wide variety of automatic vehicle identification transportation applications, including electronic vehicle registration, parking, airport, and security access applications. The windshield sticker tag offers an extended read range of up to 31.5 feet (9.6 meters) and 1024-bit read/write memory at a fraction of the cost of older, less flexible RFID technology. The tag provides the capability to read, write, rewrite, or permanently lock individual bytes. Custom printing and labeling is also available. Each eGo sticker tag comes equipped with a factory-programmed unique tag identification number that prevents the tag from being duplicated.

TransCore’s Encompass™ family of RFID reader products is comprised of integrated multiprotocol 865-875 or 902-928 MHz readers designed for a wide range of applications. The readers include a radio frequency module, digital signal processor, power supply, I/O ports, serial communications interface and either an internal or external antenna connector. Some Encompass readers are ideally suited for electronic vehicle registration and high-speed tolling applications where tags are to be read and/or written to at highway speeds, while other models are suitable for slower speed parking and security access applications with a requirement to read TransCore’s eGo tags. Certain models of the Encompass family also enable high-speed tag and / or mutual authentication providing unprecedented system security. The readers transmit an RF signal that is reflected back from an RFID tag, and then decodes the tag data carried by the reflected signal. This data is transmitted to a local host computer for processing.

About TransCore

TransCore operates as a unit of Roper Industries (NYSE:ROP), a market-driven, diversified growth company with 2006 revenues of $1.7 billion, a market capitalization of over $4 billion, and is a component of the S&P Mid-Cap 400, Fortune 1000 and Russell 1000 Indexes.

With more than 100 patents worldwide and pioneering applications of RFID, satellite communications, and internet-based logistics technologies, TransCore’s expertise is unparalleled in the transportation markets it serves. TransCore has more than 25 million RFID tags and 45,000 RFID readers in use worldwide enabling transportation applications. For more information, visit http://www.transcore.com.

Contacts
    TransCore
    Barb Catlin, 214-461-6440
    barbara.catlin@transcore.com

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

It is the “Gospel of Free Enterprise” according to St George who, you may note is absent from any of the Clare Cowan/Cahill advice/insight on this site.

Yet has proffered this alternative requirement for there to be an RFP in this matter.

As de Dribbler aka De Ignorant Word said earlier, we are known to other bloggers by our styles and insights, our passions and allegiances.

St. George’s remark is just a way of “justifying the compulsory acquisition” of property a practice that successive governments traditionally employ when they customary will tell its lackeys “we going be buying dis land heah so position wunna self tuh get some land there so we will give you piece of the fatted calf.

I wonder if The Dragon were to know who government has assigned the EVR/I project to if he would be inclined to speak to what would conclusively show the depth of their collusion?