Submitted Napolean Bonaparte

Will the Minister of Education, the Hon. Ronald Jones update the people of Barbados as to his seriousness and intentions of remaining in his post and fulfilling the institutions mandate, as our children’s education, (that which most Barbadians cherish) is at stake. Mr. Jones if you reading this and if you have not yet noticed, we have become disgruntled as to their plight with you at the helm.

As you may know, Barbadians for many years have used this vehicle education, as a means of social mobility and have been most discreet and frugal with their spending to enable at least their children (if not themselves) the opportunity to further themselves. To have expected parents of the current years’ university entrances to find between $5,500 and $19,765 at the spur of the moment is wrong. Your proposal to somewhat buffer this unexpected hardship was a proposed 3,000 bursaries to families lacking the means.

Exactly where does these UWI students and their families stand with regards to these bursaries you have promised? Are you aware of the stresses and strains placed on them now that the term has started, with regards to completion of their education program?

Are you also aware of the number of these young lives you have disadvantaged, placing them in a state of limbo unable to get a job and unable to attend the university?

While we assume your intentions may have been noble, to inform the citizens of Barbados of the gesture, and unable to follow through is most disingenuous and pathetic. Would it not have been better if you had discussed the matter first with the MOF, who from all indications, believes that your ministry already had prepared for these funds?

Mr. Minister we implore you…do what is right for these young lives as they are the ones who can determine the future of this country and its now charred political landscape.

38 responses to “Kindly Honour Your Word Mr. Minister”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

These ministers of Government, and Jones is no exception, engage their mouths long before their brains ever get started. Somehow they seem not to believe that their lies will catch up to them. Jones knew before he spoke that there was no money budgeted for bursaries, but lying has become so routine that it has become his default position. The problem is that he knows that there will be no adverse consequences for deliberately misleading the country.

2. Don’t forget we also have Parliamentary Harry Husbands on record.

Bursaries still coming

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Franklyn

I think you are too hard on ” the chilrun are is reading bettah”

Please leave the kindly Minister of Eddy Kashun Ronald WeJonesing alone

4. St George's Dragon Avatar

What ever happened about that FIFA enquiry?

5. For the record!

Barbados govt offers 3,000 bursaries to help students attend UWI

Saturday, July 12, 2014 | 9:55 AM    

Print this page Email A Friend!

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – The Barbados government, which last year announced that it would stop paying tuition fees for its nationals attending the University of the West Indies (UWI), says it will provide an estimated 3,000 bursaries to help students attend the tertiary institution.

"I have not gone public with it till now. Based on the resources which we have under the Ministry’s control, we should be able to do about 3,000 bursaries,” said Education Minister Ronald Jones.

His announcement comes on the heels of complaints that interest rates on students’ loans are too high.

"I know young people have been saying ‘you need to do more to help us over the threshold now that we have made the adjustment in tuition fees and we are committed to that."

President of the Guild of Undergraduates, Damani Parris said earlier this week that commercial interest rates on student loans are too high.

"They (government) have the responsibility to lobby on our behalf as it relates to the commercial banking sector and make sure that loans that are offered by that sector are reasonable," Parris said.

Last August, Finance and Economic Affairs Minister Chris Sinckler in his 2013/14 budget presentation, said that effective 2014, Barbadian students pursuing studies at the university’s three campuses will be required to pay their own tuition fees, while the government continues to fund economic costs.

Sinckler said the tuition fees range from BDS$5,625 to BDS$65,000 (One Barbados dollar=US$0.50 cents) and that the new policy would reduce the transfer to UWI by an estimated BDS$42 million a year.

6. Hon. Ronald Jones is the greatest Min. Of Education since Lloyd Erskinse Sandiford

7. Where does Jones get the credibilty now to speak on issues?

Shall we be led by this 5-year-old?

8. Is this the same Ronald Juiceless that was quix to advised of unwanton rubber bullets and breakin bones to anyone deviant to his administrations policies? Why am I not surprised of his emptiness and shallowness when it comes to others…….Ronald is truly in his element of wild boys and rampage woulers

9. This is surely the most notorious Cabinet we have ever had if only in terms of its disjointed appearance. The Minister of Finance claims to know nothing of what the Minister of Education is talking. Minister the Honorable Dr Ester Dolittle once came out of Cabinet with a figure that was immediately shot down by the Minister of Finance. Minister of Agriculture publicly expressed his displeasure at decisions made in Cabinet, but remained a member. The list goes on and on yet we do nothing to help ourselves so the Circus continues. Evidently Jones felt comfortable enough to look straight into the camera and lie about those bursaries, in spite of all that has happened with education in Barbados in recent times. Every time I think about this I remember a Trinidadian Calypso called The Syncopators by a guy called Cardinal. Perhaps BU’s resident music man Old Onion Bags can do the research.

10. @ Fractured BLP
    How can you, a fractured somebody , with a fractured mind, know anything is real far less great

11. Minister Jones did we just hear Wickman admit on public radio he has a wife?

12. @David
    YES David , Wickman said he have a wife

13. is this a man wife or woman wife?

14. If Wickman can admit ,some of Dhen Loving People should

15. Tourism is doing well as this the best winter season in recent times.

Govt sat on and reaped in a mint of profits on gasoline, desiel and bottle gas from as far back as July when the price of oil had fallen to record levels..

..they now stand tto reap another windfall on this new Tax on Assets on credit unions banks and other financial institutions….

..if Govt wanted to provide for those bursaries they now have the resourses to… but it is as simple as …… we kicking down the ladder now before anyone else can…..We We We, is all about we…we pensions first Barbados…next election fuh wanna….hush up too.

In confidence, I am being told that certain children of feeders of the fatted calf on the Hill are being look after and don’t have to worry about a bursary….that is no surprise to me ….

16. You guys have no idea how much and how many women love Peter. They love him with a wife-like devotion.

He is young, smart, handsome, articulate etc. etc.

Real, real lovable.

17. old onion bags

Since it was said in confidence DD promises he will not repeat “that certain children of feeders of the fatted calf on the Hill are being look after and don’t have to worry about a bursary”

18. @ Due Dilligence

…………the devil is in the details Maud Laud…..

19. How ever will the DLP be able to FIND a vote from amongst these now marginalised and perforated souls, this elections or EVER again for that matter?…..At some time in the future..these young men and women will grow into parenting adults and remember this betrayal…….Ronald don’t tell me there is no money now…..you just made a killin on BL&P fuel adj.,gasoline and diesel……$150 Million in excess due to unresponsive pricing when oil fell from $120 per barrel to $50…..ladder kickers…..would never happened under BLP watch, that’s for certain…..DLP is bare crap dat is all, DO Do.

20. snip> Barbados Today

Jones had announced on July 11 last year, that the Government would fund 3,000 bursaries as part of efforts to ensure that no qualified Barbadian would be denied entry to the UWI due to financial constraints.

The minister has since declined to explain the delay in providing the bursaries.

“We in the BLP are calling on the Minister of Education and the UWI administration to clarify whether or not Barbadians who attended any of the UWI campuses last year will be allowed to continue their studies there if they are at this time unable to pay their tuition fees for this semester,” Hinkson said.

“The public needs to know whether the position of the Barbados Government and the UWI administration is that these students, predominantly of working class background, will have to discontinue their tertiary education simply because they genuinely cannot afford to pay.”

A week ago, president of the UWI Guild of Students Damani Parris told Barbados TODAY that more than 1,000 students would be severely impacted since they were only admitted last semester pending the distribution of promised bursaries.

“What I am looking at now is a situation where, because of the fact that we had about 1,600 or so students depending on those bursaries, [there could be a significant decline] in terms of registration in the second semester,” he said.

Hinkson insisted that Minister Jones had a duty to fully outline the Government’s position to the students whom he said were only asking for an opportunity to improve themselves educationally.

“They [students] want to know whether there is any policy to allow them to register this semester in the case where they owe tuition fees for last semester. They want to know whether they will still be allowed to register for their courses if they are not in any position during the registration weeks to pay tuition fees.”

21. Is the unthinkable about to occur?

Bursaries coming
    Added by Barbados Today on February 4, 2015.
    Saved under Education, Local News

The Ministry of Finance has reportedly signed off on $3 million in promised bursaries for students at the University of the West Indies’ Cave Hill Campus.

The commitment was given back in July 2014 by Minister of Education Ronald Jones but was not forthcoming by the start of the 2014/2015 academic year last September.

Two days ago, the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) spokesman on education Edmund Hinkson had called on Jones to admit that his plan had not been approved and to apologize to university students for his failure.

However, informed sources told Barbados TODAY that approval has finally been given for the release of the funds which would assist about 3,000 students. Education officials are expected to make the announcement shortly.

Enrolment fell nearly 30 per cent at the UWI as a new tuition fee policy requiring Barbadian students to pay 20 per cent of the cost of their academic programme took effect from August 1, 2014.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/04/bursaries-coming/

22. THANK THE LORD.. nuff poor families tis morning having a kodak moment and breathing a sigh of relief…….who ever said that social media doan work!

23. Thank you Minister Ronald Jones for activating the necessary steps to allow these 3,000 bursaries to materialize. You are indeed a man of your word. As a parent of a new entrant to UWI this year, I will find this money an absolute ‘God-send’ in that parents had not prepared for the sudden change in status quo. Thanks to all again.!

24. Don’t count your chickens before they hatch

25. No No never………..Ronald would not have the balls to back down now. Due Dilligence this on is a SLAM DUNK!….

26. The question is what has been cut to allow for this mopup.

27. What you saying David….that MOE cannot find a measley $1,000 grant for 3,000 disapportioned and disadvantage students? Could you image if those students latter had taken the Govt to court for their misadventure….as a result of a breach of social contract?……now ya talkin nuff millions….Three is but small change don’t you think?

28. Now I did I hear notions of the Froonish sort… coming from the George St. gathering about Barbadians have 150,000 cars and WALL houses and therefore could find way to pay for UWI education?…..What exactly does this have to do wid a lousy $1,000 bursary Sirs?…..But Estwick $500 mill valve n ball-cock River Tamarind fossil getting the go ahead to become annuda Four Seasons?….what a waste…no sugar cane planted but a River Tamarind chase…..(MURDA) LOL..Wanna eva hear bout fools gold?

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@old onion bags February 7, 2015 at 8:51 AM
    “Now I did I hear notions of the Froonish sort… coming from the George St. gathering about Barbadians have 150,000 cars and WALL houses and therefore could find way to pay for UWI education?…”

I think we ought to set the record straight and quote Froon verbatim, lest we are accused of being “sanctimonious hypocrites”.

I ‘misheard’ him and thought he said 150,000. But it seems he really said 115,000.
    So forgive us Mr. Froon, we sincerely apologise. At least we have more moral fibre than you. When are you going to apologise to the students to whom you promised continuing free tertiary education?
    Or are going to advise them to get a lawyer to sue you for breach of promise?

The same way you eruditely explained the meaning of the word “Temporary” you can argue that when you gave your iron-clad assurance to those post-secondary students that “Tertiary’ education will continue to be free at the point of delivery you were not referring to those middle-class rich kids at the UWI.

This is one time you can’t fumble your way out of the public affirmation you made to students at the opening of the Carlton/A1 Supermarket at Black Rock just a few kilometres away from the Cave Hill campus; a place you spent many years learning to lie at the taxpayers expense.
    But before you call the students rebellious and ungrateful just take a glance at BU’s ‘Featured Blogs gallery and see you WORD according Freundel Thoth virally written in indelible ink for the whole world to see ad infinitum.
    Now who is the liar and the sanctimonious hypocrite!

30. @Onions

The sugar project is to be fueled mainly by river tamarind not sugar cane.

31. I KNOW….LOL…looka tis prose ting like um is treble..here goes

But Estwick $500 mill valve n ball-cock wonder.
    River Tamarind fossil getting the go ahead…
    To become annuda Four Seasons?….
    What a waste…no sugar cane planted..
    But a River Tamarind chase.

32. Plant a rich source of untapped potential

6/10/2012

The potential that exists in the Myamosee plant, also known as River Tamarind, has not been fully explored in this country, but at least one entrepreneur is seeking to tap into its potential.

During a recent interview with The Barbados Advocate, Mark Hill of Biogen-Biomass Energy Barbados explained that the plant can be used to help Barbadian farmers increase their yields and reduce the cost of at least one of their inputs. As such, he disclosed that efforts are therefore underway to utilise the plant, which can be found across the island, to produce organic fertiliser pellets.

Hill, who entered an Inter-American Development Bank competition last year proposing to use the River Tamarind to generate electricity, said that the fertiliser component is another
    by-product of that plant that Barbados has yet to exploit.

“It is the most important plant in Barbados and it grows well. The calorific value of the plant is higher than most of the energy crop feedstock that currently exists. Fifteen square miles of river tamarind is equivalent to our fuel import; that is the amount of energy that is packed away in that crop which many Barbadians consider to be a pest, but that is the main crop that is going to save Barbados. Not only can it be used for energy, but it is high in nitrogen, which can reduce our need to import nitrogen fertiliser, by providing a higher quality organic fertiliser,” he said.

He explained that the River Tamarind contains a high percentage of nitrogen, more than most popular nitrogen fertiliser being sold on the market and it contains more than 50 per cent protein; three times the percentage of protein that can be found in meat.

“This product is in high demand in places like Australia, where farmers feed their cattle with it. These guys have a network and are investing millions to grow the river tamarind; they have river tamarind plantations and ours is widely available, so there is no reason why we cannot capitalise on it as well. Just as was done with the Giant African Snail, we will be offering Barbadians 10 cents per pound for the River Tamarind. We will take the plant, sun-dry and toast it and in addition to providing local farmers with fertiliser, we might be able to find an export market for it as well,” Hill added.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=25224

33. Anthony February 7, 2015 at 10:53 AM #

Plant a rich source of untapped potential

6/10/2012
    …………………………………………………

Operations like these will only succeed when you have a vibrant modern farming community…….we do not have that.

34. @Vincent

Your last comment contradicts James Paul and the BAS position if we are to believe their commitment to the MOU with the BHTA?

35. @David February 7, 2015 at 11:31 AM #

Read the first sentence of former Sen.Chandler in her last article in the Nation and that will answer your question,better than I can.

36. Estwick balls and cock $500 mill factory is just annuda lump sum being gathered up as a “FATTED CALF”….only to be disperse like Four Seasons…. all at the taxpayers expense in the next 3 years before election. Nobody can seriously believe in this River Tamarind nonsense…..but what can we do but listen and nod heads in disbelief.

37. Years ago Tommy Miller used to collect tamarind fruit to ship to Britain where they formed parts of the ingredients of Worcestershire sauce. I haven’t seen many tamarind trees recently but something tells me that barking up the river tamarind tree will not be fruitful.