Submitted by Artax
L-R): Edison Alleyne (Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment), Margot Harvey (Chairman, Sanitation Service Authority), Dr Denis Lowe (Minister of Environment), Clare Cowan (CEO of Cahill Energy), Christopher Sinckler (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs), Denis Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development), Senator Darcy Boyce (Minister of Energy in the Office of the Prime Minister)

The PM and Lowe are not prepared to address issues relative to transparency, but are finding justification for the CAHILL project to start. Since both men are adamant the project must start, I felt it was in the best interest of the island for us to examine the economic/financial implications of a WTE.

Notice each time Lowe is challenged he resorts to engaging in “political distractions.” Remember when Mottley questioned him about CAHILL, he recited his autobiography in parliament, letting us know how poor he grew up and displayed unverified copy of his doctorate, while saying Mottley did not have a LEC to practice law in Barbados. The resident DLP yard-fowls obviously ran with this as it took “centre stage” for discussion, thereby distracting from the issues of transparency and accountability as it relates to CAHILL.

AG Brathwaite promised to investigate if there was any truth to these allegations. However, since he has NOT RETURNED to the public or parliament with the RESULTS of his INVESTIGATIONS, we can safely assume Lowe was LYING.

Moreover, a VIGILANT and RESPONSIBLE MEDIA (in the interest of transparency) would have REMINDED Brathwaite of his PROMISE and pressured him to REVEAL THE FACTS or EXPOSE HIM as a FRAUD and LIAR if he FAILED to do so, since enough time has elapsed.

Now we are witnessing Lowe, in the face of criticism, again refusing to answer questions about CAHILL and resorting to attacking social media. He is fully aware this source of news, especially BU, has kept the flames burning under CAHILL, while the Nation, Advocate, Barbados Today, CBC and experienced journalists such as David Ellis continue to give him a “free pass,” $200 for passing GO, and a “get out of jail free” card.

What is more comical is the Nation’s lack of interest in exposing CAHILL and other IMPORTANT ISSUES affecting Barbados, but preferred to send an “undercover reporter” to EXPOSE a WHORE HOUSE or featuring two “skippers” as a front page story. If that media house in interested in sleaze, perhaps they should send “undercover reporters” to Bridgette International Bar in Nelson Street so as to inform us about the variety of nationalities of women who sell their “wares” in that establishment.

BU must be congratulated for continued efforts in highlighting CAHILL with commendable zeal and remaining steadfast despite the DLP infiltrators trying unsuccessfully to “politically spin” the issue.

94 responses to “Denis Lowe the Cahill Scammer”

1. The BU household will appreciate if any of our Canadian members of the family are able to reach out to Clare Cown to solicit an interview. What is the latest of Cahill. Does she have any comment about the project specifically Tempro and Bjerkham.

2. There is enough malfeasance to go around. What is the latest?

Bridgetown Pierhead Marina Project – Government of Barbados Faces Possible Law Suit Over The Award Of Contract To Signature Management Inc

by David on April 17, 2011 in Blogging Edit

The Nation Newspaper today carried the story of a threatened law suit of $60 million dollars by Lagan Construction, a British company, against the government of Barbados. Lagan Construction is reacting to government award of the contract for building the Barbados Marina Project to Signature Management Inc for a bid which trumped Lagan’s by 23 […]

Continue Reading →

Minister Of Finance Chris Sinckler Warned In The Pierhead Halcrow Matter

by David on November 30, 2010 in Blogging Edit

Submitted by AAA (as a comment) Attention: The Minister of Finance, Christopher Sinckler Your Budget presentation and wrap up session was keenly observed by many. When all hope seemed lost you then addressed the Pierhead Marina saga. This was under the guise of HMBS Pelican base at Spring Garden and the faults with that design […]

Leave a CommentContinue Reading →

web analytics

3. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Come on , just dont pick on Lowe down and dirty , call the rest of the names and the Party.

its good to see Barbados getting into a free speech mode,

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I gotta tell ya…I feel that Lowelife is using the Cahill scam as a smoke screen since it has already been publicly dissected, to cover up and distract everyone from something more lowedown and nasty that the government has now found itself trapped in…..that is their modus.

5. After what has been revealed about Cahill, it cannot be about Lowe at this stage. There is the Cabinet and the PM, there is the traditional media.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And of course a lot more going on that is hidden, as long as it’s bad enough, it will not stay hidden for very much longer.

7. @david
    You should ask Dear old Alvin C to organise a luncheon with the queen of scam at the four seasons in sure he will oblige.
    Unfortunately Alvin will have to pay for the pleasure.
    The scammer has not been seen for quite sometime other than a brief sighting of her going into her psychic Cindy a few weeks ago . she looked like a seventy year old bag lady hunched over supported by a walking stick.
    How she is surviving only God knows.
    1. Her rich brother Brian
    2. Infrastar is footing the bill until the dust settles and they step in to take the project.
    3. She has got a stay of execution from this guy Alex who took her to court for non payment of her second mortgage where by she can stay in the condo until its sold .

8. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Everywhere business people meet casually the standard opening topic of conversation after polite family and business inquiries (and sometimes before) is the level of teefin’ by politicians and senior civil servants in Barbados.

Golf courses, cricket clubs, lunches etc. always the same. These ministers demanded three million each, can’t get a meeting without a $300K ‘lobbying fee’ contribution, so-and-so pulled up stumps and gone with his money, so-and-so got a call from St. Lucia, etc.

We who used to laugh at Trinidad, Guyana and Jamaica are now the international laughing stock; 375 years of credibility GONE.

When projects like Cahill, Andrews sugar factory, massive concrete molasses tanks, Greenland, BWA head office and other plainly ridiculous money pits come to the foreground, the obvious start to me would seem to be internationally accredited forensic financial investigators. There is always going to be a TEEFIN reason for these farces, they make no sense to any half-sensible person.

‘Making noise’ is not, IMHO, the only or right way to start.

I accept that even the Parris/Thompson TEEFIN cheque failed to influence the sheeple in the last election but if not that, then what? Maybe if they knew it was their money and not just policy holders’ money that was teefed.

9. I’m sure all those companies and individuals who were scammed by the Canadian scammer would join in the forensic investigators to reveal the real truth about how this shameful deception was perpetrated on them and the people of Barbados .
    Seventh heaven
    Technip
    Taylor Wessing
    Stantec
    Otto Simon
    Mortage companies
    Jacobs security’s
    Fentons
    E&Y London
    Blenheim group
    And many many more

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Redfactor….first they gotta lock up Clare Cowan in Canada, then it would be a slam dunk to go after the criminals in Barbados….since they are all so embedded and involved with each other, a few politicians are sure to be caught in that net….criminals love to make deals for reduced sentences to avoid lengthy prison stays.

11. I like the idea of #impeachdenislowe hashtag. Why not #CanDarcyBoycebetrusted. On my travels throughout the Caribbean the question is asked whats happening to Barbados. Shameful that the goat for Prime Minister seems still asleep. Thus it should be wise to use the hashtag for the PM of Barbados #FreuendelStuartisnotasheep

12. Rumors going around among recyclers that Lowe took money from the williams and Bynoes.

13. “Jester” Ince is predicting a landslide victory for the DLP at the next general election, which he said would transcend into a fourth term for the party.

Ince may correct.

14. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Artax February 16, 2016 at 7:43 AM # @ All they will do is rob and over tax people till the next elections and then start to hire people to make it seem all is well, then the same money of over taxing will be use to buy votes and more voter fraud greater than ST , Vincent , after the next election them crooks will go back to the same bull, laid off more , blame the world markets but never them ,If Bajans fall for that mess after all of this , they will deserve all they dont get,,, C.L.S they are.

15. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Waste Man February 16, 2016 at 7:40 AM #

Rumors going around among recyclers that Lowe took money from the williams and Bynoes.@@@

They all took money,, more name need to be added unless they were just the bag money men , to share out later.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Where there’s dow you can find Lowe.
    If you want to see pretense look to Jester Ince
    Want to see hell just check Fruendel
    Feeling like you are dragged through the mire check Chris Sinckliar

17. As Cahill has not been taken through all the proper procedures for a project of that nature, such environmental impact assessments etc, are there not grounds for a judicial review?

18. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

Artax February 16, 2016 at 7:43 AM #
    “Jester” Ince is predicting a landslide victory for the DLP at the next general election, which he said would transcend into a fourth term for the party.

Ince may correct.

That would start an immediate exodus of the local business people (the honest foreigners already mostly left), the Jamaica/Guyana-like collapse of the economy and serious consequences for the sheeple who have no-where to go.

Lots of Bajans not even servicing their car or painting their front step until the next election, far less investing in house, land, business etc.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

19. The Cahill specific EIA is a red herring
    A project EIA cannot be completed without first starting the basic engineering phase of a project!!!!!
    In order to start basic / detailed engineering you need money !!!!
    Cowan declared Cahill had spent $5million on what?????

Paying the mortage for her four seasons condo with money from technip and her second mortgage broker and loans from friends and duped partners.
    Nothing was spent on the basic engineering for this project.
    The likes of techinp ( who paid her €650,000 for the privilage )Stantec and OSL did some pre feed studies but no real work was done on the project real.
    The contract was breached five weeks post signing and has been at large ever since.
    Cahill never had the where with all to get this project done and should never been allowed to come to the table period.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Redfactor…..being a crook herself, Cowan makes a good beard for other crooks on the island.

21. I am confused. Is the Cahill project dead or do we still have to worry about it?

22. Violet C Beckles February 16, 2016 at 7:53 AM #

“……. after the next election them crooks will go back to the same bull, laid off more, blame the world markets but never them, If Bajans fall for that mess after all of this…..”

@ VCB

You have a point, rather than taking responsibility for any mistakes or bad decisions made, this DLP administration prefers to blame “the worst recession in a 100 years” or the previous BLP administration.

Unfortunately, after a few attempts at stroking the CAHILL fire, the Opposition BLP has invoked the right to remain silent, while allowing BU and similar social media forums to perform the job of continually scrutinizing the scam on their (BLP) behalf.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. February 16, 2016 at 8:30 AM #

“There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.”

@ FB

You seem to forget that nothing has changed in the modus operandi when this administration’s first term in office is compared with the second. People felt comfortable enough with a sanctimonious PM remaining silent only to come out “shooting from the hip” when it suits his political agenda, using pejorative terms, Greek philosophy and quotes from Chaucer or Shakespeare to insult people, to vote them in for a second term.

23. @ Artax
    Steupsss…
    People voted for Froon because they still remembered how dirty and underhanded the BLP was…. and because the BLP presented the same identical low-life crooks as were booted out the previous election…
    Why the hell did wunna not clean shop…?

Bajan were presented with Hobson’s choice and chose the obvious idiot over the known wolf- not anticipating that anyone could REALLY have in so much goat…

24. Artax;

Seems to me you might have misread FB-aka-RmA’s statement “There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools” His conclusion enshrines the sentiments implicit in your last paragraph above so he hasn’t forgotten anything.

Barbados’ figurative waters have been too muddied in almost every sphere under FS for there to be any recovery under his extremely flawed leadership. Any signs of likely recovery will be mere insubstantial vapourings that will lead nowhere because of the poisonous effects his leadership has engendered.

I think FB…’s analysis is spot on and the people and political class will ignore it only to our peril.

25. are-we-there-yet February 16, 2016 at 10:37 AM #

“Seems to me you might have misread FB-aka-RmA’s statement “There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools”

@awty

No I did not, I knew exactly what FB meant, my response was “tongue in cheek.”

26. Artax;

Yuh had me a little bit worried there.

27. The SS Cahill in the real world would be long sunk to the depths of the deepest ocean.
    Unfortunately the idiots who signed us up to this wreck of a project don’t have the brains or the honesty to dispatch the scam and the Canadian scammer to its rightful resting place . the office shredder.

28. So what’s the next move?

29. Ammm how many articles have been written and associated to Cahilll. Yet with all that have been said the Cahill project is still alive and moving forward
    Some people just doesn/ t get it

30. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

ac February 16, 2016 at 2:02 PM #
    Ammm how many articles have been written and associated to Cahilll. Yet with all that have been said the Cahill project is still alive and moving forward
    Some people just doesn/ t get it

It has to move forward, bribes have been paid and the pipers now have to play the tune.

Except that’s not how your friends work, is it AC. The minister of health will say it wasn’t his fault it didn’t get off the ground, he did what he was supposed to; it was the MOF who didn’t……….. The MOF will say it wasn’t his fault, it was the Town Planner who didn’t……………. And on and on it will go round in circles.

You idiot, don’t you understand that everyone in the business world knows you can’t even get corruption done correctly?

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…I thought you had died from demonizing the Springer child…lol

32. @AC, the only certainty is that 4 ministers breached the Administrative Justice Act by signing MOU and PPA without following Fiduciary Rules.

@AC, this is not the 80’s and 90’s for the masses are not all sheeple and are more aware thanks to the internet. Neither will those who participated in any fefeasea will and must be held accountable.

Your DLP and the BLP are not interested in a better Barbados but in self and friends preservation.

33. @ac
    How can you force Light & Power to buy energy at a much higher price than they can generate it at now?

34. One would have thought that with all the emails and allegations of concern connected to the. Cahill project managers the USA justice dept. would have made an official visit to barbados and handcuffed all the “scam artist”involved

35. @Alvin Cummins, Happy birthday!

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Time AC….time is longer than twine…lol

If you don’t run, maybe we will see you on tv too.

37. Heard the JA jester Ince blaming the water woes on the BLP.Jester JA Ince,ignorant fool boy from Sin Fillup If you want to know about the problems of the BWA,go seek an audience with the stubborn old mule Sandiford who took the money for mains replacement way back in ’89 and placed it in the Consolidated Fund so he can give big up public servants a massive increase in salary.

38. @ FB and WW&C

The ACs are paid or assigned by the DLP to defend that party at all cost on BU. This could be the only explanation why people would succumb so low(e) to endorse/defend EVERY possible thing the DEMS do, to the point they come over as being IDIOTS, as EVIDENCED by their incoherent contributions.

They have been trying (unsuccesfully) to convince BU that the DLP can do no WRONG and ALL the MINISTERS are PERFECT HUMAN BEINGS. What irritates me is how could Barbadians allow themselves to be so STUPID and NAÏVE to BLINDLY SUPPORT and WORSHIP MERE MORTALS, while elevating them as though they are GODS.

39. *(unsuccessfully)

40. BU

I think you should do a poll to see:-

If Lowe is the most hated MP in Barbados
    If Lowe is the most incompetent Minister in Barbados
    If Lowe will win his seat in the next general election

41. Has Lowe ordered a new Mercedes from Braff-It?

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Willie

The most hated ministers in the DLP are:

Freundel Stuart – ranks number 1
    Dennis Lowe – Fighting for first place
    Chris Sinckler – Running hard for number 2
    Dennis Kellman – where he at
    Donville Inniss – towing the line fraud
    And…….

43. @ac
    The USA justice department
    You’re talking garbage ( in incinerated)
    Read the agreements
    We were soooooo bumb we allowed the contracts to be governed by UK laws
    Cowan can’t be touched even by Canadian law other than for tax invasion and fraud for misrepresentation on her mortgage applications
    Crazy lady is crazy not stupid

The 4 amigos are the local scape goats

44. Willie’s February 16, 2016 at 3:03 PM #

“If Lowe will win his seat in the next general election..”

@ Willie

Recall that prior to the 2013 general elections Lowe secured jobs for a number of people from his constituency at NCC, SSA and the Drainage Unit. Also remember it is public knowledge that during the government’s retrenching program, the NCC did not adhere to Protocol 6 of the ERA, whereby the “last in, first out” process was ignored.

PM Stuart admitted they were “procedural mis-steps” and rather than admonish Lowe for his actions, he referred to matter to, first a nonexistent, and subsequently a farcical Employee Rights Tribunal.

This obviously meant that while those who were at the NCC prior were severed, Lowe’s people remained employed. He stands to benefit from them voting for him in the 2018 elections.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…I am still convinced they are hiding something else and got everyone one focused on Cahill scam, especially since AC abandoned tormenting the Springer child and mother and is now on here mouthing off……it will unravel however, it always does.

They may have duped some British investor or the investor is duping them, me, I want to see them in handcuffs when they cause the taxpayers misery and decades of repaying for their dumb mistakes, kickbacks and thievery.

46. On September 14, 2015 while addressing the monthly meeting of the St James South constituency branch of the DLP, PM Stuart was reported as having said:

“You are hearing a lot of incoherent noises on this issue. I speak to you tonight as the Prime Minister of Barbados. Do not get worried about it because nothing on this issue is going to happen under the cover of night. Just take it easy.”

“We will engage the population and we are not going to take any decisions that are inimical to the best interest of Barbadians. We are not going to take any decisions unless we can say that we have benefited from the best possible advice.”

“When the time has come for me to speak on this issue and engage the population, I will address you. You cannot put down a plant in Barbados unless you have land on which to put it. If the Government is going to be involved, the land has to be acquired and it has to be debated in Parliament. There has to be a full debate on the land acquisition and since the land would have to be acquired under the Land Acquisition Act for a public purpose, you have to say what the public purpose is.”

He said that NO DECISIONS HAD BEEN TAKEN ON THIS ISSUE, insisting that as a result there was no need for alarm. He promised to engage the public at the appropriate time. [Source: Barbados Today – September 15, 2015]

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yet if one visits CAHILL’s website, there is a press release dated March 17, 2014 which states the following:

“Agreement to build a Waste to Energy plant in Barbados was UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED by CABINET and SIGNED by the GOVERNMENT of BARBADOS. From left to right: Edison Alleyne (Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment), Margot Harvey (Chairman, Sanitation Service Authority), Dr. the Hon. Denis S. Lowe, M.P. (Minister of Environment), Clare Cowan (CEO of Cahill Energy), Hon. Christopher P. Sinckler, M.P. (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs), Hon. Denis St. E. Kellman, M.P. (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development), Senator the Hon. Darcy W. Boyce (Minister of Energy in the Office of the Prime Minister).”

THIS SINGING OCCURRED IN MARCH 2014. The following link provides more information.

http://www.cahill-energy.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Cahill-Energy-Press-Release-Cahill-Energy-to-Invest-240-Million-in-Barbados-Clean-Energy-Plant.pdf

How is it that in 2014 an “Agreement to build a Waste to Energy plant in Barbados was UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED by CABINET and SIGNED by the GOVERNMENT of BARBADOS.

Yet in September 2015, Stuart, who is head of the cabinet, told the DLP faithful “that NO DECISIONS HAD BEEN TAKEN ON THIS ISSUE,” and “If THE GOVERNMENT IS GOING TO BE INVOLVED, the land has to be acquired and it has to be debated in Parliament.”

47. Recall Stuart in September 2015, Stuart made certain statements to suggest his administration had not made any commitment to or decision on CAHILL, saying “If THE GOVERNMENT IS GOING TO BE INVOLVED, the land has to be acquired and it has to be debated in Parliament.”

During debate on a resolution to acquire 27.1 acres of land in Vaucluse, St Thomas for the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA), Chris Sinckler “assured parliamentarians that research was done to determine if Cahill’s claims about the technological capabilities of the scheme were “accurate or near accurate”, whether or not it is safe “or relatively safe” and whether or not it was affordable.”

Sinckler continued: “And I say to this Parliament today, from the best of my knowledge and from my involvement, all three of those basic principles were examined and found to be in the positive or plus column.” [Source: Carib Flame News, October 28, 2015]

This CAHILL project is an enigma, since the PM is implying it’s not a “done deal,” while his ministers are suggesting otherwise.

48. “THE $700 million waste-to-energy Cahill Energy project may be roundly rejected if significant changes are not made. That position was put forward by president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI), Tracey Shuffler, who based her assessment on reviews of the proposed plant. She said while there might be a waste-to-energy solution that could suit Barbados’ needs, too many questions remained unanswered by Cahill on the issues of capacity, cost, and environmental and technological compatibility.” [Source: nationnews.com – July 30, 2015]

A “Carson” (Cadogan??) responded to Shuffler’s comments (in true AC and typical yard-fowl style) as follows:

“These people think too much of themselves. She is creating the impression that it is up to her if the project will go ahead or not. I dont recall the voting public going to the polls and voting her into office. The present Govt. in office are there to do the peoples business and that is what they are doing and will continue to do. They have the final say not one Tracy Shuffler. She is very rude. Trying to usurp authority that is not hers. How dare she?”

An excellent response to Carson by Roger Williams:

Simply because the lady’s name is Shuffler are you being cynical to her for not having a regular bajan name, whether she is D, B or no party, all ah we bajan, AND WE HAVE A RIGHT TO SAY WHAT HAPPENS HERE.

IT SEEMS THAT SOME OF YOU THINK THAT BECAUSE YOU SUPPORT A PARTICULAR POLITICAL PARTY THAT THAT GIVES IT THE RIGHT TO RUN GUN HOE BOUT THE PLACE AND WE THE REST OF THE GOODLY CITIZENS AIN’T TO SAY NU’TING. Mistake, THE FATTED CALF HAS ALREADY BEEN SLAUGHTERED AND SHARED, WHAT WE ARE TRYING TO SAVE NOW IS THE EXTREMITIES BOSS! THE FOOT HEAD and BELLY, CAUSE THA CUD STILL BOIL A SOUP! BEFORE THAT TOO IS SOLD. TOO MANY OF THESE PROJECTS are FOISTED on us WITHOUT PROPER DUE DILIGENCE, LIKE the OVERPRICED GROTTO PROJECT as the LATEST FIASCO!

Remember the best governance is with a credible opposition, the last time this foolishness happened, oppositions ended with 2 & 3 people sitting in parliament, not good for the country boss. We need credible numbers please.

SO EASE UP, THEY GOT MORE PEOPLE LIVIN HAY BESIDES BEES AND DEE’S and SOMETIMES WITH MORE TO LOSE, so we gine scream and holler till they hear!

49. Who or what department in government did the technical Due diligence on the technology ??????? We have no one on the island with that capability.
    The company selling the technology alter NRG won’t even give assurances on its safety or efficiency.
    They don’t even supply the gas cleaning equipment as part of their package
    The guarantees will have to come from the main contractor who was once touted as technip from Holland who paid the Cowan woman €650,000 for the privilege of doing 3 front end studies on plants that Cahill didn’t have and still don’t have. They must be livid as that agreement times itself out in April
    Some of the idiots on this blog really need to read the contents of the posted docs
    It’s amazing how this insanity came together.

50. NorthernObserver Avatar

@REDfactor101
    Cowan is a front. The 4 amigos willing recipients. Who is the force?