Marguerite Woodstock-Riley - Disciplinary Committee
Marguerite Woodstock-Riley – Chairs the Disciplinary Committee

Probate is the procedure by which a will is approved by the Court as the valid and last will of a deceased testator (the person who made the will). It also confirms the appointment of the person named as executor in the willProbate of the Will – Public Legal Information Service of New …

Barbadians have become numb to the sloth of the Courts of Barbados. One of the simple functions is to administer the probate process. For many Barbadians what should be a routine procedure is fraught with long delays. To add to the challenge of managing probate, there are the lawyers -officers of the court – who gleefully take advantage of the dysfunctional system.

BU received the following communications that resonated with the household.ย  So many complaints about lawyers especially from Barbadians in the diaspora. This is one group over the years who has been taken advantage of by lawyers, building contractors to name two.

When I read your paper I am not getting the impression that these legal issues are being taken seriously. Have you any idea as to the number of probate cases that have gone on for many years? Isnโ€™t your silence encouraging and supporting the offenders?

Although it does not help a probate situation has now been in the system since 1995 with no end in siteโ€ฆThis is a very large โ€˜propertyโ€™ and all the attorneys are doing are โ€˜Milking the familyโ€™ for all that it is worth.. .

Mine is a simple uncontested will which has been in probate since 1997 – awaiting a conclusion and representing gross cover up by the BBA and the administration. There are many like me that I have met in person or heard of.

Why donโ€™t you publish articles or write editorials about real people losing their money and property to lawyers in Barbados? Are you in agreement with what they are doing or are you afraid. It is a disgrace donโ€™t you think?ย  – Submitted by a frustrated client

TariqKhan
TariqKhan – President of the BBA

Let the record show BU has posted several articles to โ€“ Lawyers in the News and Tales of the Courts –ย  about the judicial and ancillary systems. More than the traditional media. However we empathize with Barbadians everywhereย  affected by the sloth of our courts.

Documentation received shows the lawyer at the centre of this complaint was contacted in 1997. Understandably the frustrated client escalated the matter to the Disciplinary Committee of BBA. We write understandably because the last time the Chair of Disciplinary Committee Woodstock-Riley spoke publicly she referred to the backlog of cases to be processed and the fact her committee is supported by volunteers. We have not heard from Tariq Khan the president of the BBA recently. Mr. Khan what have you achieved since taking office except to pad your resume?

The following emails confirm what Barbadians everywhere already know. Honest Barbadians are being held hostage by the ‘system’. The leadership of the judicial ‘system’ needs to intervene before someone is forced to take matters into their hands.

On Wednesday, February 3, 2016 7:24 PM, Marguerite Woodstock-Riley <mwr@woodstockriley.com> wrote:

Dear xxxxx,

We can appreciate your frustration and advise the following.

As my office advised communication on disciplinary committee matters should be to the disciplinary committee office. The Registrar of the Supreme Court is the Secretary of the committee and deputises someone to act in that role managing the administration of the committee. Unfortunately as you were advised the person who held that position is no longer there , a situation beyond our control as we had little notice . We expectย  to have someone in place shortly also working longer hours to move matters forward in a timely way.

The Committee comprises 7 persons and we meet every weekย  to address all complaints lodged . There is a process involvingย  reviewing all complaints, asking for further information if necessary , setting and having a hearing if a primafacie case has been made ,then our recommendations are sent to the Court of Appeal for hearing. We can proceed on a matter even if an attorney does not respond .

Your matter has been before the committee and you should be receiving communication from the office.

Please note our Committee addressesย  making recommendations for disciplining attorneys such as fines , suspension , removal from the roll for breaches of the code of ethics following theย  process outlined. There remains several options for persons to effect resolution of claims.

We can only reassure you that this committee is making every effort to address all current and outstanding matters with the resources we have .

Regards

Marguerite Woodstock-Riley Q.C. LLB(Hons) MPhil(Cantab)

WOODSTOCK RILEY |Attorneys-at-Law

<bar@caribsurf.com>

Subject: RE: Deed to property

Dear xxxxxx

To clarify, the Bar does not deal with complaints regarding the alleged conduct of Attorneys-at-Law.ย  These complaints fall within the province of the Disciplinary Committee.ย  And for good reason.ย  The function of the Disciplinary is governed by statute under the auspices of the Registrar of the Supreme. I have therefore included the chair of the Disciplinary Committee in my response to you.

I am sorry that you are frustrated with the responses you have received but I am not in a position to address your complaints.ย  Instead by copying in the Chair of the Disciplinary Committee I expect that she will revert to you directly particularly as you have raised issues regarding the performance of the Disciplinary Committee.

I will however address two of the questions you have raised. I reject any notion that I condone any negative behaviours. You have made allegations regarding the lawyerโ€™s conduct which have to be investigated. I do not believe or indeed assume or have any right to believe that I have a right to the deed of your property. This mode of thinking does not obtain.

I do hope that by this response and by copying the Chair of the Disciplinary Committee, your issues are properly and thoroughly addressed.

Yours,

M. Tariq Khan

Chancery House

High Street, Bridgetown

Barbados

Tel:ย ย ย ย ย  (246) 435-8391

Fax:ย ย ย ย  (246) 436-1920

Cell:ย ย ย ย  (246) 230-7790

Sent: Monday, February 01, 2016 12:29 PM

To: Tariq Khan

Subject: Deed to property

When I decided to undergo continuous expense in July 2015 to claim the deed to my property I did not think that almost 7 months later I would not have even had a response from the Disciplinary Committee where it is stated that there would be a response within 21 days

Even on December 21st I sent you another email and you have yet to respond. I have also made several calls to Ms Marguerite- Rileyโ€™s office and was last informed by her secretary that she will be communicating with me soonโ€ฆAs of today there has been no response or communication from her or the disciplinary committee.

In December, I also spoke to Mr Clyde Cummings who also informed me that I would have something in writing in a short while but after receiving no communication I again called on..Jan 19th and at that time I was informed that Mr Cummings no longer works for the BBA Disciplinary Committee and hat Margo Greene has refused to respond to the committee.

At this point I continue to have severalย  questions:

1. Why is Ms Greene still practicing law in Barbados since she has refusedย  to follow the law of the land and to conduct herself in a professional manner?

2. What is the justification for your condoning of this negative behavior of Ms Greene?

3. Do you or Ms Greene believe that you have more of a right to the deed of my property than I do?

I have been informed that this is not the only instance of Ms Greeneโ€™s unprofessionalism. I also saw in the Barbados underground that this unprofessionalism is a part of the practice in the BBA. I have been trying very hard to keep this out of the public arenaโ€ฆI guess that is where it belongs nowโ€ฆdonโ€™t you agree?

An immediate response would be appreciated. I am confident that if this was your property that you would not have been as โ€˜acceptingโ€™ of this maltreatment and unprofessionalismโ€ฆ

Have a blessed day!

XXXX XXXXX

Until this matter is resolved BU will add Margot Greene, Tariq Khan and Woodstock-Riley to the BU Lawyers in the News section.

122 responses to “Attorney-at-law Margot Greene in the News, Aided by Tariq Khan and Woodstock-Riley”

1. … sorry ! I forgot ! The legal profession is already represented in the funeral home business !

2. There is NO REASON, that probate should take over a year. (1) Check for charges on any property. (2) Dispose of property, net of charges and costs, according to the deceased wishes. How difficult can THAT be?

To those who do not have confidence in the system, it would seem like a racket.

Matter of fact, I know of a property WITH NO CHARGES, still sitting there after six years, property not yet disposed to the deceased’s family!

I guess these things take time, and time is money actually, for a lawyer (sic)?

I fear that Pieter pieper may have it right, because the people ‘coming up now’, do not have the patience nor restraint of you and I.

A match scratched on cloth is one thing… a match scratched on flint, is another.

Seriously!

3. That said, and I mean this seriously, how about competence.

We ASSume (which makes an ASS of U and Me), that these people are competent.

A mechanic who takes six months to refurbish your engine, what would you tell your cousin about him?

‘De man ent know whuh he doing’….

And you would turn up with a tow truck to take it to ‘xxx garage’ instead.

Yet, we ASSume , that a lawyer who takes six years to try to get a probate done, knows what he is doing.

You see the point??

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They do know what they are doing, they share forms, precedents etc, there is the supreme court library for anything you want re legal filings. When in the island and have legal matters to transact, I go to the law library…..these lawyers like to manufacture delays outside of what obtains at the registry, there is always an ulterior motive and collusion.

5. Competent or incompetent, they do the same thing! Most will demand an initial consultation fee, followed by a retainer, and your “original” documents. They will then sit back and do very little, and in many cases, nothing at all !.Woe betide you if you dare call and ask about “progress”! They’ll tell you “It’s cooking !” and they’ll charge you for these three words ! To them, “Time is money!” Taking your problem to another lawyer is very difficult and not much of an option because they collude with each other, adhering to that ole dictum,” You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours”.But like in Jamaica,Trinidad and other places,”The times they are a-changing!” Soon and very soon, people will react to such blatant thievery and robbery in ways heretofore unimaginable !

6. How do we get lawyers, doctors, pharmacists, accountants, or any other professionals to honour their ethical obligations to clients? It is amusing to see comments on this thread about the need for ethics courses at UWI and other universities because it should be obvious that ethical behaviour is not something that can be taught to most adults. Ethics usually depends on intrinsic factors, like character and “class” that are determined early in life by the quality of parents, relatives, teachers, clergy and other “role models” to whom we are exposed as children and teenagers. There is no substitute for “good breeding” — being properly brought up,
    In a society with a great deal of social mobility and upheaval like Barbados, the educational system will throw significant numbers of ill-bred, poorly-raised individuals into situations where they are tempted by personal greed to engage in professional misconduct. In the United States, a society that in the recent past generated a great deal of upward mobility, the way to deal with this problem is to combine ruthless law enforcement and public shaming (the perp walk in handcuffs, long prison sentences) with investigative journalism and encouragement to clients to publish their grievances and allegations of wrongdoing. Blogs like this can help, but are not enough. We need to ruin the lives of a few prominent scapegoats by putting them in jail.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You can only do theses very necessary things to stop thievery and dishonesty by lawyers if the DPP is not himself corrupt. If the Chief Justice can put systems or better yet an entity outside of the useless disciplinary committee to investigate and severely punish these lawyers who have for decades been destroying clients and the supreme court.

The Court of Appeals is useless because the disciplinary committe deliberately and maliciously places it out of reach of people who have complaints against lawyers, as is proven everyday by people such as the gentleman below.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77947/-solution

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I know personally of lawyers collusion where they go to nursing homes where the elderly reside, hold their hand and force them to sign documents against their will…it’s been happening for ages, if the elderly person dies before signing, no biggie, the lawyer just has an employee in his or her office forge the elderly persons signature, under threat of being fired.

Do not try to challenge me on this or I will call names, again.

9. @ Amused, Jeff, Caswell and David BU. As our respected legal experts……….

Can you help us understand the process with regards to the settlement of probates/estates etc.

Person dies. leaves property for child. What obstacles would a lawyer face that would prevent resolution in six months ?
    Is it that the lawyers have so much work that they just can’t get work done in a reasonable amount of time ?

As you all know I am a serious ( recreational) fisherman so I on BU fishing fuh information.

10. Hants
    I can tell you I have seen Probates done here in Barbados and published in the press within 3 months of the death and another was within 7 months.

11. @ Gabriel….so why does it take years for the estate to be distributed?

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

International laws re politicians hiding their illgotten gains should be expanded to include Cayman Islands, Bermuda, Bahamas, Dominica etc….

Probate is done quickly enough when attorneys really want them done….estates are distributed even quicker under certain circumstances…..or if the attorney is indeed honest.

13. Probate and distribution should not take ages where the Will is straightforward.Simple things like incorrect spelling of names of involved parties cause unnecessary delays.Bdos seem notorious for spellin names and places several ways.

14. There are accommodations made for persons of note, i.e former prime ministers, judges and certain who”s who that are not made for regular estates. These probates will go in an accelerated stream and will be pushed by the REGISTRY STAFF. Access to those files is also restricted even though there are public documents because it is accepted that the business of certain untouchables should not be in the public sphere. Depending on who your lawyer is, and more importantly which staff member is responsible for the file any number of queries may be placed on the probate file and the file is held up indefinitely until whatever the registry wants is produced. If a document has to be filed on a probate file, an appointment has to be made which usually takes about two weeks and only in a particular time slot. Same process if the file has to be checked to see if there are any queries by the Registrar or Deputies. If your file cannot be found, you must make another appointment which again will be at least another two weeks. Same time frame for certified copies of wills and grants provided that the equipment is working and I know for a fact that the equipment was down late last year and certified copies could not be obtained for about 6 weeks.

The registry is full of infighting and problems. The recent search well publicized in pudding and souse for a senior legal assistant and permanent registrar should have let all know. It is unfortunate but many times if you offend someone on the lower rungs they will make you look bad by refusing to cooperate. This includes dragging their feet on files, not finding them, absenteeism etc. I am not in favour of black balling anyone because of their profession. The statements made by some about lawyers being killed etc is in poor taste. Woe betide us if we let such vile sentiments gain a foothold in Barbados. I still remember the female attorney who was viciously attacked in front of her child and I for one will not spout off at the mouth that all lawyers are thieves who deserve everything they get. There is a whole system criminal and civil, not just the disciplinary committee to get what you want if you feel your lawyer has wronged you. Fight your battle there and not in the press.

15. Linda,

Oh, I agree, that violence is not an answer. Fully. (Hence, my use of the word ‘fear’ re what Pieter referred to). However, as Pieter the poster noted, what we would like and reality are two different things.

If you think that the Barbados today, is Barbados of thirty years ago, you are joking.

Guns at football matches, etc etc.

Err, no.

One has to accept reality at some point in time. And excuses only go so far, surely you learnt that in school? As for ‘fighting the battle in the press’, that is rich.

You cannot be serious.

16. Thanks for your input Linda nut there is an inevitability to an outcome if the current state of things continue.

17. Just read the complaint by Mayers in yesterday’s press. The nonchalance, the insensitivity. If the disciplinary committee is understaffed put measures in place to deal with the problem for crissakes!

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What Linda is not saying , though I totally agree with her about the nasty pettiness displayed by registry staff among each other for decades, is that to reduce those instances of incompetence and criminal behavior by the staff in the registry, the chief justice found it necessary to get rid of the nuisance, move some to other areas and fire those who made it a profession to take bribes from insurance companies through lawyers to steal client’s files to further delay cases and ruin lives.

May I remind you Linda, because I know you know, every lawyer on the island knew of the time M. Caroline Herbert, deceased, forged a dead client’s will and was observed by registry staff trying to sneak in to remove the forged will because an injunction was filed in the high court by a citizen to stop the probate and prevent her stealing the dead woman’s property. Lawyers like her should have both hands chopped off….Linda, both hands, but the earth relieved itself of her stain after decades of her damage. You talk rubbish re getting lawyers to pay for their crimes through the legal system.

Ya’ll lawyers want a serious wake up call. Andrew Pilgrim is one of the very few lawyers on the island who highlights the inefficiencies of the legal system and publicly make suggestions for remedies, most of the other lawyers use those inefficiencies to their own advantage to the detriment of their clients and others.. The other lawyers sit on their asses and do and say nothing to remedy the situation or put forth any solutions or expose the really thieving, greedy, corrupt lawyers….those are protected or you would instead be on here naming a few or giving advice on one lawyer I will tell you about shortly without giving too many details.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Before I move on to that lawyer, let me expose Linda for her deceit. The injunction that was filed to prevent Caroline Herbert from stealing the dead woman’s property was challenged by the thief Herbert, so it had to be periodically updated or Herbert would still be able to probate the forged will…….David Thompson of Clico was the attorney for the people Herbert was trying to steal from, but then shortly after he became PM, then he died, then Herbert died, the injunction is being handled by an attorney who used to work in Thompson’s now defunct law firm and it just keeps going around and around, it’s been 10 years, some of the beneficiaries have also died….prime prpoerty in Mount Standfast, St. James, need I tell you someone is already planning to steal it….no, I don’t.

20. Linda is only making the situation seem worse than it already is…
    She paints a picture of a broken system, but then admonishes us to be nice an try to use the SAME BROKEN system to address our issues….
    Lotta shiite.
    This is what happens when too many damn women are in positions of authority…

ALL lawyers who fail to take steps to address this situation – and that INCLUDES Pilgrim and Amused, must share the guilt of the crooked system.

Bushie thanks God EVERY DAY that none of these lawyers have as yet managed to cross the Bushman path in that sorta way…
    …perhaps that day that Bushie walked into his lawyers office shouting …and with a bulge in his pocket (cell phone) the whole staff jumped to the wrong conclusions about the Bushman’s intent – in any case Bushie’s father’s property was disposed in record time and excellently executed….

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

On page 248 to 251 of Philip V. Nicholls book, 2 defense attorneys are named, one presents himself to the appeals court justices as “holding papers” for the other attorney who absented himself from the case, they are both known for their nasty delaying tactics, which the Chief Justice and judges are responsible for putting an end to….this happened in 2011.

In 2012, this same attorney who was “holding papers” took a case from a claimaint to represent the client as a plaintiff’s attorney against CGI insurance, the defense attorney was the same demon who absented himself and the who other was standing in place for in 2011….the client only last week found out that her attorney also works for the defending attorney, the client always stated that it seems she was fighting both attorneys…..her attorney, being dishonest and a liar, never told her that despite him being in another law firm, he still works for the defending attorney….Jeff said ethics classes are taught at UWI, well apparently that attorney was not listening, because it’s a clear case of conflict of interest and the attorney is not representing the client’s best interest…bottomline, he should not have taken the case…had it not been for Philip’s book, the client would never know, though she suspected, that he is coluding with the insurance company and the defense attorney to ruin her case.

I will hear, oh, she should get another attorney….for what, to waste another 3 years, only to find out the new attorney is just as dishonest and nasty or nastier….and a bigger thief and liar, you cannot wade through 1030 attorneys to find one honest one..

So here is what will happen, the attorney is vicious and should not be practicing law in Barbados, did someone say disciplinary committee, sure…..when his country man who heads the committee does nothing about complaints against attorneys….as it is, the client is willing to take this to the wire, he made his bed, he’s deceitful and he will lie in it and pay….he could not do this in NY or Jamaica, but is comfortable that he is protected by equally dishonest lawyers and the legal system, to continue do something like that to bajans….and get away with it, a lawyer like that is to be made a prime example.

Do you wish to defend this dishonest lawyer as well, Linda…if they do not want to get injured in front of their children, they should stop their dishonest, thieving, lying ways.

Bear with me David, I get permission to release certain things until such time……..

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Linda…ya doing and posting shit ya hear…as soon as the Bushman start up about women this and women that….I will personally make sure I bring misery to the life of that attorney, just to prove men are the problem and weak willed idiotic women follow them straight to hell….I hope Herbert is doing a waltz in a wall of flames.

23. We have seen Mitch Codrington display similar tactics of delay at the ERT proceeding, it is inbred or so it seems.

Oh….did I not mention Margo Greene, I forgot. I good friend of my got injured, hit by a yellow bus, back in the mid nineties, to cut the story short, he agreed to a settlement, so Greene got her check and also collected his check but decided to tell him she did not have it, the insurance company told him she’s lying, she got the check.

So he called her and told her he is on his way and if she don’t give him his check he will go all Osama on her wicked, lying ass….he did get his check….she had the nerve to threaten to do something to the check so he could not cash it, just because she did not want the client to have his check…..lawyers like her should be beaten like a drum, with a baseball bat.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David…that is how they operate, alot of them, straight out of law school they are mentored by the older, devious repugnant attorneys to practice their evil, because of the various interpretations and misinterpretation s of the laws, the legal system acts as a shiled to protect their evil ways…dont mind deceitful Linda..the Chief Justice has to change this or there are people outside of Barbados who will make sure Bajan lawyers or lawyers whoractice in Barbados will not be able to practice anywhere outside of Barbados.

They have brought this on themselves….check this out, enough is enough.

Naked just discovered that there is a new service in Barbados to protect Bajans from nasty, crooked thieving lawyers, doctors, teachers, business owners, rapists and paedophiles.

Check Reference Network
    The company is called Check Reference Network and is designed to reduce the risks and dangers of living, working or doing business in Barbados. You can run but you canโ€™t hide from Naked or Check Reference Network.

Before doing business or working with anyone in Barbados, you better sign up free with Check Reference Network and check them out. Donโ€™t take chances, subscriber today at http://www.Checkreference.net

Naked Departure

26. Seems like I hit a nerve or two. I don’t care to be frank. There are persons on this blog who feel that they can intimidate anyone with a different view. I will not have sympathy for anyone who sits on their ass and runs to the nation or any other news medium when there are mechanisms for them to fight their cause. I have a friend who has similar issue with a well known QC and an action has been launched to challenge the circumstances in which the document was signed. My friend will go to the CCJ if need be. Those fellows up there interested in the law and not in hiding up for anybody. When I speak it is not idly, I know all too well what can happen out there and you must do all within your power to secure your rights. I prefer this approach to whining in the nation.

27. @Linda. 6:31 A.M.

I do not fully understand your logic.

First you point out that in the current system, citizens are treated based on their social rank. I get the impression that you accept this, and you are willing to work with this inequity (iniquity). Then you described a system is devoid of any real process; after a citizen enters the door of the office then he/she is subjected to the whims of the public servants (seems more like masters) that they encounter; and then you conclude by suggesting that the ordinary citizen depends on the โ€œwhole system criminal and civil, not just the disciplinary committeeโ€ to get what they want.

I was astounded at this suggestion, but you had to go even further and suggest that a citizen continue to act like Sisyphus and avoid the local press. It seems as if you would prefer that the meaningless dances continue in the darkness of the night rather than face the light of public scrutiny. It seems as if public scrutiny is the last thing you want.

Shame on you.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Linda….it’s good to know you understand how Bajans have been victimized by certain, but too many, lawyers for decades and have very little to no recourse. Not all clients have the money to hire another attorney to fight a dishonest attorney all the way to the CCJ….and the clients who are victims would not have to go to the CCJ if there was any recourse and relief for them through the bar association, disciplinary committee or the court of appeals in Barbados.

Not one of you are honest enough to provide that service pro bono.

You will not like this but look out for many more clients and others going to the press to assert their rights that attorneys love to violate…..ya’ll like too many nasty secrets, that’s why so many people have been victimized in secret, they did not go to the press, as they should.

But everyone of the nasty lawyers will be exposed for the world to see everywhere, everyone, people have a right to be protected. Because the island is small, that does not give any attorney the right to violate clients with conflict of interest to that level…that attorney would not only be disbarred but would ge5 an even heavier sanction for working against his client like that….as it is, he will regret doing it, that’s for sure, but it will be a lesson well learned when we are through with him.

The good attorneys need not fear, if the continue to work within the realm of ethics as they were trained.

The Chief Justice and judges, as they are the ones in charge of the supreme court and their various courtrooms, have to stop these lawyers from dragging out cases for decades through adjournments, giving dishonest attorneys all the time they need to practice their destructiveness against clients and others.

Cases that can be finished in one year take 5 or 10 years, because of lying lawyers. I have seen one drag out an issue with getting a doctor’s examinatio,n drag it out for over a year, lying to the judge each time he opened his mouth, and of course the plaintiffs attorney says nothing, because that’s his partner…clients have to speak up and tell the judges what their lawyers are doing.

I have seen how some of these lawyers maliciously lie to the judges, it’s time the judges put their foot down.

29. Linda (and people like you) need to STFUโ€ฆWhy donโ€™t you reread the post, then visit the BBA website and read the expectations of the Disciplinary Committee, the ethical expectations of the BBAโ€ฆas a matter of fact, anyone who is a professional and then use your time to help those hundreds or thousands of Barbadians who are experiencing what this person is reportingโ€ฆYou do not need any more information unless you are โ€˜trying the caseโ€™ or plans to do something about it..
    Did this story hit a nerve? Are you guilty of the same offenses as these attorneys and so see the need to protect them?
    I was educated in Barbados and unfortunately did not know that this level of โ€˜thieveryโ€™ was present and I am glad about that since this spectacle is a crimeโ€ฆ it is embarrassing and certainly does not speak well of the country. Did these attorneys learn this as a part of their curriculum? The entire system need to be investigated and overhauledโ€ฆ
    Finally, there is always someone at the top so, who is Mr Kahn responsible to? If he cannot do his job then he needs to be called to task for itโ€ฆ. As the President of the BBA isnโ€™t he embarrassed about these behaviors? What the hell is his job?
    So Linda… againโ€ฆSTFU and investigate, and then see what you can do instead of idle talkโ€ฆThere are too many people in Barbados who is being punished and threatened by this crapโ€ฆand these incompetent peopleโ€ฆand losing their livelihood..
    PSโ€ฆ The next time that you open your mouth to spew forth this knowledge tell us about what you have done to help and are doing โ€ฆdonโ€™t waste our time..

30. @Hants

BU posted a while ago about the state of probate. In essence, something that used to take only 3 months for an uncontested probate is now taking over two years, here is the link - 

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/11/09/tales-from-the-courts-the-tangled-web-of-probate-applications-part-xix/.

On the matter of the Disciplinary Committee of the BA the BU family should have a look at Section  18 of the Legal Professions Act and at Schedule 4 of that Act. The problem with delays is that members of the committee rarely turn up and it is almost impossible to form a quorum.  It is a serious problem, with lawyers not turning up in case they go against a member of the brotherhood. The usual, if you delay enough, it will go away.

31. Thanks David.

32. TheGazer February 18, 2016 at 2:38 PM #

Quite simply, ‘Linda’ is being disingenuous, only trying to put a pin in the issue, rather than provide any real way forward, while writing on the pretext of knowing a more suitable way.

In reality ‘Linda’ added nothing of value other than a feeble attempt to obfuscate the matter.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They continue to cover up for each other and hide each other’s dirty secrets, it’s now time for the citizens to expose it all in order to protect themselves going forward. Someone showed me a letter yestday that they wrote to the Chief Justice re those who are blatantly trying to steal his property on the island, with no end of lawyers ready, willing and able to help these vicious business people rob the man of his property, yet you cannot find one lawyer on the island willing to defend this man and help him fight for what is his, they are all more than happy to help the thieves relieve him of it, no problem there, he cannot trust one, because most of them work together and against clients.

I remember talking to a friend years ago where his lawyer was helping someone steal his land, he went to the bar association to complain and was shocked that the same dude was bar president, those were the days before they started setting 2 year term limits for bar presidents, so dont let anyone tell you rubbish, bar association as well as disciplinary committee are only useful to the lawyers, both entities are useless to everyone else.

34. @ Well Well
    They continue to cover up for each other and hide each otherโ€™s dirty secrets, itโ€™s now time for the citizens to expose it all in order to protect themselves going forward.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …so you see why Alden Blackman is a boss….?
    He not only exposes their ass ….. but does it with humour, style, photos and dogged persistence….

The man is a Moses…..
    He mek Caswell look like a likkle boy yuh…. ๐Ÿ™‚

35. @Gazer, what does going to the press achieve? Did it result in the gentleman getting back the property? Can the disciplinary association give back the property? No. Is he interested in the property or a name and shame exercise.

@Monica, I am glad that you mentioned you were educated because one would never know it from reading your post. Clearly comprehension was not a course introduced to you during your formative years. You would have to be some sort of moon donkey to suggest that no more information is needed unless someone is trying the case. Before you tell anyone to stfu you should check yourself because you are simply illogical and ignorant.

36. What does going to the press achieve…?

..Transparency….
    ..Loss of business to dishonest professionals whose deeds were previously unknown
    ..Loss of reputation
    ..Pressure on officials to do their jobs instead of secretly holding papers for friends
    ..Encourage other victims to share their experiences
    ..Discourage other lawyers from stealing for fear of exposure and embarrassment
    ..Shame the police into doing their jobs
    ..Educate the whole society about the crookedness of lawyers
    ..Embarrass Jeff and the other facilitators at CHILL as to the poor quality of their alumni
    ..Get the victim’s money back (as per the Speaker’s victim)
    ..Give Bushie some more shiite to whack…

The press can be even more effective that it seems at first glance…. Now if only someone would ‘go to the press’ about the piss poor work being done by the press…..

37. @Linda
    @Gazer, what does going to the press achieve? Did it result in the gentleman getting back the property? Can the disciplinary association give back the property?
    ++++++++++
    Looks like you are thumbing your nose at the individual who complained the Press and has achieved little or no satisfaction. Going to the Press is the only option that some people have rather than trust their fate and more hard earned savings to some of the money grabbers that call themselves lawyers. It seems that they are a law unto themselves with no one to enforce any rules or regulations as only they โ€œknowโ€ the law. Your comments suggest that you are running interference for them by blaming the โ€œโ€˜Registryโ€ for all their ills as in the โ€œRegistryโ€ canโ€™t find he file or one has to wait indefinitely for the โ€œRegistryโ€ to deliver documents. There are many rotten apples in that barrel that is the Bar Association and the Bajan public has lost faith in it as an institution and the members as a whole, people like you should be happy that Bajans complain to the Press rather than seek desperate measures to resolve their issues.

38. David there are a few genuine awyers who will explain the process of executing the will, and some with no fix office who will take your money and not complete . I hate naked but when she names themI am happy. Let them have an idea how people feel when they cannot get a completed business transaction. I would like to find a lawyer who will help me take another lawyer to court

39. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Bush Tea February 18, 2016 at 11:05 PM #

What does going to the press achieveโ€ฆ?

..Transparencyโ€ฆ.
    ..Loss of business to dishonest professionals whose deeds were previously unknown@

Press what even Barbados Today still blocking my postings, they just wasting time , no need to waste them with them , We get more from blogging, All the NEWS is Barbados is in the pockets of the BDLP, and the rich white man and friends,only to cover up and make them look good, We have not bought a NEW papers in over 3years,,, no coupons for any savings, push push junk food and lies, love to see them go out of business,

40. While there are a number of good lawyers, as with any profession, there are clearly those who bring the profession into disrepute.

What I suggest, is that there is a clear need to address and change the rules for probate, including a requirement that where probate is not completed within a specific time frame, the matter automatically goes to a supervising magistrate for review.

This should be easy to administer, matching deaths to wills and this can be done by computer.

Additionally, ability to bring light to a case of probate, to a supervising magistrate, should be possible.

There will be those who protest, but look, if the system broke… fix it.

I do not see this as a registry issue, as some are claiming, because we KNOW that some lawyers drag things out, so don’t come and blame just the registry. That is disingenuous.

This requires the attention of the bar as a profession and they can suggest alternate rules to the CJ and Judges for consideration.

Or leave it to the public to do, by writing constantly about it and proposing alternate process rules.

Which is it?

41. @ Shirf

In Barbados, it’s next to impossible ! But maybe you should check Naked Departure or the lawyer who took Carrington to court ! Good luck !

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bushman…tell Linda, she will see what going to the press will achieve when we are finished with that lowlife fellow attorney of hers who feels he can waltz into Barbados and disenfranchise a severely injured client because that is what he has seen a lot of Bajan lawyers do….time Linda.

In case you do not realize it, going to the press will alert Bajans to stop trusting lawyers…all the gentleman have to do now is get that despicable, lowlife ghoul for a lawyer’s name on Naked Departure, complete with photo and everyone worldwide will know he steals from the dead.

Look how far they have come, in 2005 I was asking people in Barbados why they were not exposing lawyers who victimize them, in 2016 they are being exposed complete with photos….this started happening when a concerned citizen visiting from the US, had a belly full of Caroline Herbert’s nastiness, when complaining to the other crook David Simmins, then CJ, she was ignored, complained to Wilfred Abrahams, then bar association president and later found out he was Simmons’ son in law, she wss ignored and Herbert protected until the citizen unmasked her for everyone to see….come a long way, it will get worse for the dirty lawyers.

43. Ironically, ‘Linda’ speaks about violence….. who was the last person to pull a gun on a lawyer?

Allegedly a Parliamentarian… no less, in Parliament yard!!!

44. LOL @ Crusoe
    ….and look how meek and mild that lawyer has been ever since….
    The shiite hound (formerly called ‘PitBull’) make be good for something after all…

45. Bushie does more in a few short sentences, than some of us do with a thousand words.

I am still struggling with the advice of “not to go to the press” and am wondering if this hold for all circumstances. Obviously, it applies when I am dissatisfied with the work of my learned counselor; but does it also apply if my lawyer does a good job for me,

If it does not apply in this case, then we have a double standard? and if it does then lawyering is a strange profession as it does not want anyone who practices law to have good spoken of them.

Previously, I have claimed to have no knowledge of the law, but as a self-appointed judge on BU, I must say ? The Gazer, your objection is sustained”.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Stangely enough the Gazer, no one puts the names of the good lawyers in Barbados on social media and that includes the lawyers who defend the bad lawyers, one would think that the time they took to defend the evil lawyers, they would be happy to give us, by publicizing a list of names of the good lawyers so people would know who they are and avoid the vicious one that they have acknowledge exist on the island…..could it be they just want victims to continue to be victimized by evil greedy conflict of interest practicing lawyers, is there something in it for them that they dont want the public to know who the good lawyers are….tell me Linda, the time you wasted posting shit, you could have posted the names of the good lawyers, we invite you to do so.

47. Why is it that doctors and lawyers are not permitted to advertise their services.The media and PR folk should cry foul…..they are being robbed of earnings.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They should be Gabriel, instead, they are allowed to hide behind anonymity and for years the dishonest ones used the anonymity as a shield to practice pure evil, could you believe in this day and age there are lawyers practicing conflict of interest with the tacit acknowledgement and blessing of the bar association, it’s president and the disciplinary committee, it’s no use complaining to either of them about conflict of interest practiced by attorneys…..we can just hope that the disgusting practice against clients, is not being enabled with the knowledge of the current chief justice Marston Gibson and the judges, as it was allowed under the last crooked chief justice David Simmons.

Just imagine what a client is subjected to in the supreme court when their attorney is also working for the defense, represents for the defense by “holding papers” in various cases. That client could never be adequately or fairly represented by that vicious and dishonest attorney.

People be warned, this is reality in Barbados..

49. @ The Gazer
    Thanks for the compliment, but to be honest it is just that Bushie ain’t got the lotta pretty talk like Miller and Dee Ingrunt Word….else the Bushman would flaunt it too… ๐Ÿ™‚

@ Gabriel
    Why is it that doctors and lawyers are not permitted to advertise their services.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Same reason that Pickpockets and robbers don’t….
    If these people honestly advertised what they did for a living they would be locked up…

@ Well Well
    Get your facts straight…. Every day the names of the good lawyers in Barbados are advertised in all the media…. Even on BU…
    …and when a good one is eventually found, that advertised list will cease being blank…. ha ha ha LOL