Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

On November 22nd 2015 I learnt of my expulsion from the Barbados Labour Party, an institution I served with diligence and distinction for 17 years.

That the decision made by the National Council of the [โ€ฆ]

Barbados Labour Party could so hastily and precipitously sever all relationship with one of its few

successful representatives in the House of Assembly has confused and disturbed, not just a Party or a Constituency but an entire nation of right thinking Barbadians.

Read Full Text

254 responses to “Christ Church West Affair: Dr. Maria Agard’s Press Conference”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Legion, the stupid one, it is evident that you are being coached as to what to say.

I have had cause, on no less that 10 occasions, to pull back my mouse from voting like for your submissions

It is impossible that you can be speaking sense with such frequency and lest someone quotes that a broken clock is write twice a day, you are right like 5 times a day.

That has me scared, even more afraid than the silence that Denis Kellman and Denis DownLowe have been displaying with the Cahill deal

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Amused December 4, 2015 at 5:57 PM
    “Therefore, the point about whether Maria posted blogs or comments on blogs is irrelevant โ€“ and very difficult to prove if she denies it. After all, anyone can post blogs under whatever name they like. Hell, I could post under Jeffโ€™s name, except everyone would know it wasnโ€™t Jeff, because everyone would be able to understand it without a dictionary and it wouldnโ€™t be ambiguous on opinion โ€“ no disrespect Jeff, after all you write under your own name and i am merely amused. The onus to prove it was Maria, if she denies it, is clearly on the other side.”

That above assertion makes a mockery of the effectiveness of the Computer Misuse Act in bringing charges against users of social media like BU and Facebook.

Wasn’t Lashley, a lawyer himself and sometimes acting AG, aware of the weakness of his complaint to the Police? Must be catching like flu for true.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 4, 2015 at 5:47 PM
    “At present she is sitting comfortably under the umbrella of Constitutional law where she is protected..”

You are misguided!
    Show us where in the Constitution of Barbados have her rights been breached.

Maria sits in the shade of the philosophical principle called Natural Justice under the umbrella called Natural Law.
    It is there she needs to seek the light of the Court to shine.

4. Miller wherever you want to place the issue you have to Freedom to do so in a democracy
    Only if Mia had applied Natural justice to Maria’s right to freedom of expression and her right to have a civilized hearing without prejudice,

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 4, 2015 at 6:36 PMOnly
    โ€œโ€ฆ.if Mia had applied Natural justice to Mariaโ€™s right to freedom of expression and her right to have a civilized hearing without prejudiceโ€ฆโ€

And that, my vexed amicus curiae, is where the proper court will decide.
    Not by a excessively biased court adjudicated by a consortium of asinine cretins (acs).

6. Are You sure it would reach “proper Court ” or the court of public opinion would have given enough cause for Mia to buckle

7. @Miller. Give it up, man. You are far too bright for this and you don’t even believe you spin yourself. You know Mia f**ked up big time and no amount of jigging around and trying to call me on very clear points of law and evidence will work. Leave that type of sophistry to Citizen 777, who seems to be suggesting that elected, by the electorate, officials owe primary allegiance to their political party and not the people who elected them AND PAYS THEIR SALARIES AND PENSIONS and who then tries, unsuccessfully, to do a Jeff and only Jeff can successfully do a Jeff and Jeff knows exactly how to do it, even to the point of making Hal’s comments look like his own.

Load of dog, Miller, so get over it, my friend.

Computer Misuse Act, my rear end. Fine to pass an Act and another to enforce it. Ever tried finding a service address for WordPress our similar hosts? Good luck! Do you seriously think that the only bodies that could do that, namely the FBI, Interpol and Homeland Security (they are all USA based) are going to take on a situation of nothing more than what constitutes a fascist act by a political party, a denial of natural justice, so that they can prop up the pretenders to a foreign regime of dubious democracy, always with hands, palm upwards, looking for undeserved personal enrichment? You are a pragmatist and you know, though whether you admit it or not, that Maria, not Mia, will win this one and Mia, unfortunately and probably acting on advice from Wicker (sorry, I mean Wickham) has seriously screwed up. just like the Wickham polls at the last general election. But seriously, Miller, is this the sh*t we, the taxpayers, are paying these JAs (thanks David) to perpetrate and perpetuate on our national behalf?

Denis Lowe (or “Lowe Life” as i think it more appropriate to call him) campaigned on “Transparency Legislation” and then, once elected, did nothing, for, it appears, good reason – $5 million in Mummy’s account, unexplained.

Maria has always cast her bread upon the waters of transparency legislation. BU has done its upmost to make transparency legislation a primary issue. And still that legislation languishes to our national disgrace. SO, since Maria has made such an issue of it and Mia is, frankly, screwed and has only ever paid lip service to it ( she would never have been leader of the party if they thought she was seriously supporting it and here are many Lowe Lifes there, as we all know) maybe it is time you found a new “girlfriend” in Maria instead off Mia – after all, they espouse the same party. Just maybe Owen himself would be prepared to follow Maria.

I am profoundly disappointed in Mia. I have no patience with spoiled, self-entitled brats running countries or anything else. Reminds me of Kim Jong-un, the “Beloved Leader”! Or did you think Barbados is ready for a “Beloved Leader”?

8. “AC, please note, you wrote MARA.

This is your BEST contribution to BU. Your comments about MARA THOMPSON are an accurate, in depth analysis of her tenure in parliament and as the parliamentary representative of St. John.”

๏ˆIF we agree that Ac’s reference to Mara was unintentional and if it is really AC commenting then I must agree with you that her analysis is truly scholarly

9. @ The Sage,

You been boxing all day, and tekking on all de contenders and holding you own.

Do you have a $1,000 or do you have 12 months to spare??

Dere is one ting doah you needs to be aware of though during you exchanges with AC

Under Cap 144. of the Laws of Barbados titled Prevention of Cruelty to Animals “Any person who wantonly and cruelly beats, ill-treats, abuses, tortures, infuriates, teases, terrifies or causes unnecessary suffering to any animal or who permits any animal to be infuriated, teased, terrified, or caused any unnecessary suffering commits an offence and
    is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $1 000 in respect of each animal mentioned in the charge or to imprisonment for a term of 12 months or both.

You has been beating up too long on AC (plural) and since she peeple in power Adriel Dimwit and Michael Lashes, I can see you getting 12 years on each count of your unkindnesses, TO RUN CONSECUTIVELY

You gine like dis one wid spike lee/ Shorty and Malcolm X/Denzel (remember to skip the youtube add in 3 seconds

10. “Mia had done a lot to polish up her tarnished reputation for a while. She had started to look statesmanlike to me. I regret that I do see her conduct over Maria as in any way statesmanlike or even lawyer-like, but rather the actions of a spoiled brat, supported by a bunch of brass bowls (thanks Bushie). I think the BLP needs to seriously reconsider its leadership now in the interests of the country and forget the ballot box for once.”

Can easily see the bias coming through as was with your ill-formed comments on Sir David Simmons and your exultation of Sir Marston. That is why this country continues to find itself in a pickle because we allow emotion to overrule our common-sense and I know you are not foolish.
    What leadership you talking about. Ms Mottley has not even been the leader of the party for four years and her time as leader must have been one of the most distressing of any leader. She is the only individual discounting the party seats of St John and St Lucy that has a safe seat of her own volition. If she is vulnerable then let Dr Agard and the miserable party colleagues urging her own notify the Governor-General that she no longer commands the support of her parliamentary colleagues and settle the matter once and for all so that attention can again be focussed on the management of the economy.

11. “Amused December 4, 2015 at 5:57 PM #

@Miller. Civil freedom includes the right to freedom of expression, the right to dissent. As an MP, Maria is sworn to uphold the rights and freedoms of the people, not the BLP and this responsibility ranks as superior to any party obligations. ”

You may wish to take note of Mr Sinckler’s instructive remarks when asked to comment about the possibility of Dr Agard crossing the floor.

She would be welcome, says he ‘provided she abides by the rules of the party.’

12. “Mottleyโ€™s actions are disappointing because she is a veteran political leader and should know better”
    Correction my friend, she is a veteran parliamentarian not political leader.

13. “That is why this country continues to find itself in a pickle because we allow emotion to overrule our common-sense and I know you are not foolish.”

Amen!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Amused December 4, 2015 at 7:59 PM

โ€˜Take a letter to Maria but don’t tell her I am in jail ,Mia’s jailโ€™.

Really and truly I don’t give two wuk-ups about spats between politicians because they all end up eating free food and drinking โ€œbig-moutโ€ drinks at the same table in the common canteen, compliments the taxpayers. Check and see how much money is provided in the annual Estimates for the โ€˜smooth runningโ€™ of Parliament. Have you ever been specially invited to their incestuous parties of debaucheries and orgies?

The kernel of the matter is why are we wasting time going to court; to further clog up a judicial system already overburdened with cases of much heavier import like the Leroy Parrisโ€™s and Rodney Wilkinsonโ€™s and the myriad of ghetto boys whose Constitutional rights are being breached in the most blatant of ways.

Why are we being distracted at the very same time the lawbreakers at the NIS are about to sell the birthright of working class Bajans just to satisfy the demands of their political masters in the high stake game of foreign reserves Xmas window dressing and robbing Peter (the NIS contributors) to pay Paul the loan sharks.

Agard, like Mascoll, will soon fade into the political sunset after being (like real pawns of cannon fodder) abusively screwed and refused politically by the dying grandmaster and the black witch of Bush Hall both locked in a deadly game of โ€œuroborosicโ€ annihilation by the political poison call POWER.
    Party and Principles, my brass-bowl braying donkey!

15. Is there a genuine attempt being made by ‘bugups’ in the party to avoid Coleridge Strret?

On 5 December 2015 at 00:42, Barbados Underground wrote:

16. David

Looks like this is a lynch Mia blog………I wonder why……..is it Chauvanism,a gender problem,a Mottley problem……..what is the reason that so called sensible persons with common sense are willing to destroy the oldest political party in Bim because Mia is the leader…..We allowed EWB,Tom,OSA with their idiosyncracies what is the problem with the present LoO?

17. The sparring between millertheanunnaki and Amused was entertaining.

18. Poor Miller he has been backed into a corner vexed as ass .the only one seen sitting ringside licking is wounds is the ole man piece yuh de rock

Any how if my summary of Mia would make him feel better here it goes

I genuinely believed Mia having years of political experience and been through the grind and seeing it all would have pursue a more dignified patch revealing a role of diplomacy
    Never would i have thought that she would have been again drawn to the politics of yardfowlism
    Never would i have believed if told that Mia Mottley would succumbed to the politics of self destruction lead by some of her shadow ministers
    Never would i have suspect that Mia Mottley would engaged in the political blood sport of putting barbados interest last .My mind unfolds on those weeks when strike action almost destroyed barbados economic and social environment what could have been a shining moment for Mia turned out to be a moment of purposeful accommodation to appease a few interest by engaging in the kind of politics that lends it self to self interest . However! However instead of using her authority to table alternative solutions to the strike action and taking her concerns to the House of parliament in a dignified and orderly manner she participated in the most unapologetic manner to drum up frenzy and support towards a fluid situation fueled by politics
    For those few moments and seeing how Mia covert actions were demonstrated i came to the conclusion that Mia no longer deserve the respect due to leadership pf any kind as she was pretentious and easily driven to a clandestine actions disguise to the unsuspecting eye as good governance

19. Vincent Haynes December 4, 2015 at 8:49 PM #

“Looks like this is a lynch Mia blogโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆI wonder whyโ€ฆโ€ฆ..is it Chauvanism,a gender problem,a Mottley problemโ€ฆโ€ฆ..what is the reason that so called sensible persons with common sense are willing to destroy the oldest political party in Bim because Mia is the leaderโ€ฆ..We allowed EWB,Tom,OSA with their idiosyncracies what is the problem with the present LoO?”

You hit the nail on the head. Mr Haynes. It boggles the mind. I guess they are times when common sense is not common among those to whom we so ascribe.

20. Statement by Dr. David Estwick, October 1, 2010

Let me first thank the people of St Philip West for electing me as their Representative for two consecutive terms in the House of Assembly. Let me also thank Prime Minister Thompson for the opportunity to have served as Minister of Health between January 2008 to December 2008 and from December 2009 to October 4th as the Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce.

I would like to assure Barbadians that I hold no animosity to anyone, and I would like to clear up any misconceptions which might be at this time in the public domain.

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country. My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth. I am resilient and will endure. However, under these circumstances I hereby tender my resignation from the Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Economic policy to allow for the Prime Minister to so appoint a new Chair.

Well-wishers, constituents of St Philip West, and people of Barbados I would like to thank you for your continued support. I would like to tell you that no person is bigger than the Democratic Labour Party, and no party is bigger than our beloved country, Barbados.

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Never trust a politician!

Politicians in Barbados always put their self interest first, then their Party’s interest and lastly the Country’s interest.

Those DLP followers who expect that the BLP MPs will allow their party to die as a result of this Agard incident should consider that most people understand whose interest that will serve.

How many BLP MP’s have we heard unpick duh teet since the press statement from Agard? The majority? Any uh dum?

All uh dem unnerstan dat it is not in their best interests for Maria to win this battle by taking it to Court and likely winning it.

There is only one solution to this problem for the BLP. Indeed, it is a rather easy and clean solution and I would be surprised if the BLP does’nt take that path.

Maria Agard and her lawyers overplayed her hand.

Mia still outtah de Island?

22. Barbados Today has an article about the elders being summoned to restore sanity and one of the elders is deBoulay, however if that doesnโ€™t work it is reported that his kin is favoured to fight the battle on behalf of the Party. The younger counselor promises to take the matter all the way to the CCJ as he doesnโ€™t think there is any merit to the case.

I guess he wants another crack at impressing the CCJ

23. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Chances are they (the BLP) will lose it if they choose to fight it in the law courts! The matter will only fester if it has to go to the CCJ.

There is a more elegant solution.

24. SInckler promising more austerity measures. What is Agard, Mottley or Arthur doing about that?

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are we there yet?

You said “…How many BLP MPโ€™s have we heard unpick duh teet since the press statement from Agard? The majority? Any uh dum?…?

And in that conspicuous absence of ALL of the BLP, even those of the new recruits, comes the sad confirmation that they have been muzzled by the NEC troika or are wise warriors, using the anonymity of this blog, biding their time until the bell rings.

You will get your moment, all of you…hopefully you will be ready…

26. “I guess he wants another crack at impressing the CCJ”
    If principle or morality or integrity has anything to do with the practice of law then perhaps he can find out from his client Mr Parris if the policy holders of CLICO do not deserve natural justice. Hypocrisy knows no bounds.

27. Does anyone understand what underlies a logical and coherent argument? An individual has the right to select an Attorney of choice and on the flip side a lawyer has the right under our democratic system to offer his services to anyone.

On 5 December 2015 at 11:05, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Vincent Haynes December 4, at 8:49 PM …”โ€œLooks like this is a lynch Mia blogโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆI wonder whyโ€ฆโ€ฆ..is it Chauvanism,a gender problem,a Mottley problemโ€ฆโ€ฆ..what is the reason โ€ฆ..We allowed EWB,Tom,OSA with their idiosyncracies what is the problem with the present LoO?โ€—-

The reason @Vincent is principally temporal. In complex yet simple terms it is the signs of our era.

None of the other leaders you mentioned were faced with the glare of the immediate, insider, intelligent, insightful and continued PUBLIC onslaught as we see in this BU/FB/online world.

Remember, @Vincent it was not that those leaders did NOT face outright, bold dissent to their rule but rather that in those times it was muted because dissenters did not have the ability for significant, sustained exposure in the closed media environment.

Different ball-game today…completely different. And that to me is the real, deep impact on political actions.

I commented recently that back in the day, Mottley would be considered “a boss or even worst a hard-seed”. I jested, joked and made awful puns on the term ‘hard-seed’ but realistically the joke was on us and how in this era we condemn what we hailed before.

Surely, the issues of sexism (chauvinism) can be considered as some people will forever dislike Mottley simply because of her orientation and her scandalous private life.

@Sargeant reminded me that MAM cannot be compared to EWB in terms of leadership. I smiled, because of course he is fundamentally correct. But as a political opponent TODAY MAM in my view is as powerful and formidable an adversary as EWB ever was back then. In that he was very wrong about the two.

She too understands that all politics is local and plays that game very well. EWB made strategic mistakes too. Winner or not she is a frigging dangerous adversary…we dismiss her at our peril, obviously.

29. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Are-We, re “Maria Agard and her lawyers overplayed her hand.” How so? Aren’t we (the public) still talking about this political matter and maintaining Dr Agard top-of-mind?

Other than legal fees, which can be made on credit for future dispensation, what is Dr Agard and her team losing or will lose in this political battle that will harm her beyond repair?

Seems to me that they are playing their hand well actually, as Ms Mottley appears to be on the defensive so far. History and experience tells us that is always a bad position in politics.

Attack, attack and attack. Get in the first and last blow…good in life. Essential in politics. Agard seems to be throwing all the lashes at the moment,

30. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Even you don’ get it.

Or, perhaps you fully understand.

Your words in your 3.00 am post can be interpreted either way.

Nice!!

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

What or who is the NEC troika?

32. BU continues to be amazed at how intelligent Barbadians have allowed themselves to be sucked into the ‘theater’ of events and not grasp the point staring them in the face – this is about a principle.

33. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@ David at 7:46 AM…”BU continues to be amazed at how intelligent Barbadians have allowed themselves to be sucked into the โ€˜theaterโ€™ of events ….this is about a principle.”——

I really applaud your conviction. You are right this is about “acting in accordance with morality and showing recognition of right and wrong.” Principle.

I am less impassioned than you are though when a POLITICAL party loyalist with 17 years as an integral member of her constiuents’ operations is the one skating on those vestiges of a ‘principled position’.

But rules are important. So is theater, though. And in politics the show is often more important than right and wrong.

34. @Dee Word

Do you know the lady? How dare you levy judgment on her!

35. @David December 5, 2015 at 7:46 AM #

Principle!!……what Principle???…….In politics you can find principle???Kindly show me them.

@de Ingrunt Word December 5, 2015 at 7:19 AM #

Chuckle….good prolixing……what is good for the Goose is also good for the Gander……
    We have to wait and see…..after iron goes through the hottest fire……what comes out either the finest tempered steel or the……..

36. @Vincent

Your cynicism knows no bounds.

What happens when good people do nothing again?

37. @David December 5, 2015 at 8:49 AM #

Remind me who these good people are that you are referring to.

38. @ Are we there Yet

NEC National Executive Committee and the NKVD Troika or People’s Commissariat for Internal Affairs.

In an earlier post de ole man had liken de NEC to the NKVK sincing de former de NEC is operating like de NKVD from 1936-1938 which as you know was de instrument dat Stalin used to “purge” the Communist Party, in dis case de Barbados Labour Party of peeple and sheeple dem who oppose his/her regime – including some, like Agard, who were quite innocent of 9 fabricated charges gainst she…

I guess now dat de ole man dun explain you might not like me explanation too much den… sorry…de ole man ent too smart…de madam tell me so and she wud know causing she married tuh me…

39. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@ David at 8:24 AM …”@Dee Word, Do you know the lady? How dare you levy judgment on her!—-

I accept that you can’t read all of the palaver on these blogs so you would have missed my oft repeated remark that I do not know Dr. Agard (in the way that I know people like Mottlley, Hinskon, Toppin, Payne, Bostic et al).

That said, Dr Agard is a public figure with a well documented public profile. She is also a POLITICIAN. So sir, I base my remarks on those politicians I know relatively well directly and indirectly from school days – the days of innocence and purity.

The mere fact that there are POLITICIANS who modulated their actions – as compared to their youth – to suit their political lives allows me to form a credible opinion of a Dr. Agard based on her political life.

You seem to like Dr. Agard unabashedly. I too like a few MPs on both sides based on contact with them in earlier days. But I can be objective enough to accept that as they ascended the local political ladder as astute operators they were NO LONGER squeaky clean and morally beyond reproach.

You seem to think that Dr. Agard is now just so principled and beyond reproach.

I cast no aspersions towards her character. I am simply saying that she is a politician and that is a nasty game…you do not wade through the graft, grime and gimmickry for 17 years and suddenly discover principle.

So let’s agree that Dr. Agard should be allowed to move her case forward to prove that she is not just ANOTHER politician. Best of luck to her.

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DIW in your 7:34 am post you said

Are-We, re โ€œMaria Agard and her lawyers overplayed her hand.โ€ How so? …….what is Dr Agard and her team losing or will lose in this political battle that will harm her beyond repair? …….. Agard seems to be throwing all the lashes at the moment.

The race to the court is not yet finished.

Yuh remember dat Agard gih dum 1 week to respond. Duh shudduh gone straight tuh de court de morning after de press conference. Dah wuz de mistake.

De subsequent silence of the opposition tells me dat dey unnerstan whuh dey have tuh do in their own self interest. Otherwise we wuddah been hearing the Owen Camp followers in the BLP giving some support to his mouthings.

Agard and the DLP will lose this one if I am reading the silence of the BLP parliamentarians correctly.

41. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

David, I will say this. I was taken-in by Mr Thompson. Based on something approaching your Agard love fest. Too old for that shiittttee, again. Not as old as @Pieces but still way too old.

Seventeen years is a solid period to establish bonafides so if Dr Agard is now ready to go after the top job or shakeup her party to a better future that is awesome.

To date I am unmoved by her pretty words…You are and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.

She could be true to those words. Difficult to achieve in present political company but at least she wants to try. Doubly excellent.

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR;

Thanks for the explanation. There’s nothing to either like or dislike in it. It’s just your reading of the situation. I agree with some aspects of it. However, rather than a heavy handed stalinist approach I see a more purely Caribbean Political approach wielded by a female bull in a china shop.

Can’t you also see that Maria Agard is almost exactly of the same temperamental mould as Mia Mottley, judging from the information posted on BU?

43. @Are-We, based on what’s happening in the US Republican race for President your “bull in a china shop” analogy may not be only Caribbean based. Trump seems to be doing an excellent ‘bull’ rampage himself.

I still don’t think he can win either the nomination of general election but wouldn’t it be something for such a person who is saying and doing so many outlandish things to be elected as President of the USA.Boy oh boy.

As different as he has projected himself to be, he is a consummate corporate operator who played the political game better than most; thus he would tack back to being quite conformist in many areas in a heart-beat.

Unfortunately, most politicians, even the most unlikely fall into that mould.

David, I am not saying Dr. Agard is one of those…oh lawd.

44. โ€œAfter all, anyone can post blogs under whatever name they like. Hell, I could post under Jeffโ€™s name, except everyone would know it wasnโ€™t Jeff, because everyone would be able to understand it without a dictionary and it wouldnโ€™t be ambiguous on opinion โ€“ no disrespect Jeffโ€

WOW! This was the first of a couple of shots that โ€œAmusedโ€ took at Jeff C but no one seemed to notice or they were conveniently overlooked. There is a phrase for this, it is โ€œdamning with faint praiseโ€.

I donโ€™t expect a rejoinder from Jeff C, he normally takes the high road.

45. @Sargeant, others here have advised that @Amused is an attorney and his writings suggest that also, so its fair to say that his ‘damning with praise’ is born out of professional and related ‘dislike’ or merely ‘playful repartee’.

Either way, dat is what blogging is all about: the wild, the woolly and all in between.

Also, for a non-lawyer I find Jeff C’s pieces to have a clarity of opinion and well written well. Even the worst dilettantes can understand his commentary.

Like all of us, he certainly uses a word or two that is not within the grasp of daily speech but yet easy to understand in context.

So a dilettante here can be interpreted as an idiot, wise-ass, layman, fooly-de-fifth, an amused person or just a person and the sentence understood; not so.

@Amused is probably just seeking to be amusing; again as all of us try to do from time to time!

46. @ Sargeant

There was only one shot taken by amused, in the ole man opinion, all of the rest, for those of us who are able both to read and then find a dictionary to decipher Mr. Cumberbatch, everything there was factual.

Amused concatenated the concept of the dictionary with the latter part re the ensuing ambiguity in a reader’s opinion and there was no delimiter in the blogger’s opinion which would , if he had used another word, possibly be construed as a blow.

In fact, in closing he seemingly defers to the Legal Luminary by saying “no respect Jeff” which leads the ole man to wonder if there is some familiarity between the two given the use of Mr. JC’s Christian name…

As to the latter matter of high road, Mr. Cumberbatch seems to be a man of noted economy in his words and studied thought in his actions and his responses.

Oft in wonder many seek to bail him here regarding his recent appointment to the (useless) Fear Trading Commission and he either responds and says that he “WILL NOT respond” in similar Caesarean styling his WILL NOT, akin to that monarch’s use of this verb of volition on that fateful Ides of March so many years ago.

Since no insult was tendered, Mr. Cumberbatch not being easily drawn into the fray, like Mia was by what was a non-fight, one that she will regret, does not need to respond, whu you think??

47. De Ingrunt Word….

You are truly something else when you are on your game….

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

dIW;

…. and the beauty of the action that I think the BLP must take in these circumstances is that many of the pundits on BU will claim that they have lost, wrong step, etc. etc. But It won’t be. It will be a strategic step that will ultimately save Mia’s face and save the BLP from self destruction while seemingly placating Maria for the time being.

Mia still outtah de Island?

Yuh en’ get my drift yet?

49. @Piece

I enjoy reading both โ€œAmusedโ€ and Jeff C, they are frequently on point I just thought there was a slight dig in another follow up to โ€œMillerโ€ but on rereading the submission I realise he was referring to โ€˜Citizen 777โ€™s โ€œsophistryโ€ (now dat send me to the dictionary)

Its still early in the am and I had Tea instead of Coffee so the brain synapses aint firing on all cylinders, now Iโ€™ve left an opener for Bush Tea to say that perhaps I have Tea every day.

50. @DIW
    Sargeant reminded me that MAM cannot be compared to EWB in terms of leadership. I smiled, because of course he is fundamentally correct. But as a political opponent TODAY MAM in my view is as powerful and formidable an adversary as EWB ever was back then. In that he was very wrong about the two

Sez who? Are you one of those Bajans who remain captivated by her seemingly extemporaneous ability to deliver speeches? The jury is still out on her adversarial prowess, most of her efforts amount to โ€œsound and fury signifying nothingโ€. Miaโ€™s performance in the Ministries she has headed is every bit as dismal as the present lot who are the brunt of frequent criticism on this blog. Can you point to a singular achievement in her role as Minister of Education? Atty General?

When the DLP was elected under Thompson, Albert Brandford had an article in which he wrote that Thompson ascended to the position of PM with a sense of entitlement, he should resurrect that column if Mia wins (with appropriate name changes) however based on Branfordโ€™s columns he may write Joshua has come to lead Bajans out of the DLP desert.