Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

On November 22nd 2015 I learnt of my expulsion from the Barbados Labour Party, an institution I served with diligence and distinction for 17 years.

That the decision made by the National Council of the [โ€ฆ]

Barbados Labour Party could so hastily and precipitously sever all relationship with one of its few

successful representatives in the House of Assembly has confused and disturbed, not just a Party or a Constituency but an entire nation of right thinking Barbadians.

Read Full Text

254 responses to “Christ Church West Affair: Dr. Maria Agard’s Press Conference”

1. @ pieceuhderockyeahright

Piece, your exposition of a โ€œconspiracyโ€ relative to the Agard issue (whereby you sought to imply that Froon may be pulling Halโ€™s strings behind the scenes) could have some merit or validity.

I went by de paper womun dis morning, she is a RDH(DLP)YF, in udder words, she is a โ€œRank Die Hard (DLP) Yard Fowl,โ€ (sumtโ€™ing like legion and Alvin, but wid nuff mo sense).

After seeing Mariaโ€™s picture pun de front page uh todayโ€™s Nation, I tell she: โ€œYou, Maria look real good, yuhโ€ฆโ€ฆ she could do a tโ€™ing or twoโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. she could mek my nature rise.
    Piece, looking at Maria, Genesis 6:5 came to mind, especially the part that states โ€œโ€ฆ.. every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only (lust) continually.โ€

Anyhow, de paper womun tell me: โ€œYuh know Maria gine come over to we?โ€ De people like she and gine vote fuh she. You know that Hal Gollop wuz a BLPโ€ฆโ€ฆ. well, he belong to we, now, and is Freundel good frienโ€™. Why you tโ€™ink he representing Maria?

I did had wuz to ask she if wuh she saying is true, wuh duh gine do wid Verla. She tell me: โ€œYou know Owen is we advisor, now? Verla gine run in St. Peter and Maria gine run back in Christ Church West fuh de DLP.โ€

Piece, the yard-fowls duz know tโ€™ings (wellโ€ฆ.. except fuh legion and Alvin), you may be on to something.

2. TYRANNICAL, AUTOCRATIC, DESPOT,

Words to add to your vocabulary. These were frequently used to describe Idi Amin.

political rhetorical hyperbole.

3. @Bushie, relatively close, all things considered. But bear in mind that you are much closer to the other ACs. Thus their ‘irreverent and insipid’ commentary is much closer in tone and context to yours…different sides but same dipp-si-doodle Ali shuffle when it suits both your purposes.

I readily admit that I like Ms Mottley’s formidable intellect and her fighting spirit for what she wants. But I also have said I dislike her apparent lack of integrity, ethics and honor. So I am not a follower.

I do not know Dr. Agard but her actions on this matter – based on public knowledge of the overall affair – reeks of the same self-serving lack of integrity to me. She has been a devout BLP party ‘apparatchik’ all these years so only now she is ‘born again’ and yet playing the same political game.

That is the blatant hypocrisy of this matter. And you call it principled. To each their own.

There is an A–lternating C–urrent in all of us. Oh lawd!

4. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David re. your 9:20 am post;

My positions are not influenced by ac!

But I like to give credit where credit is due and in this case I think there should be some credit given to her analysis, no matter where it originally came from. Mine did not come from ac through the learned senator up north. It was based on my own considered feelings on the matter.

Why is ac such a red flag for you and several others on this board? She is obviously totally partisan but she can make sense sometimes.

5. Smile…

6. LOL @ AWTY
    Why is ac such a red flag for you and several others on this board?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    ’cause she is a patented, unapologetic idiot skippa…. ๐Ÿ™‚

@ DIW
    Tek it easy boss…. Bushie was only wondering if you and Alvin may be eating the same Genetically Modified shiite food up there in Canada… chuckle!!
    Something gotta explain this level of NOT thinking….

LOL …but then again there is Vincent ….. LOL ha ha ha … Ohhh shiirtt!!!

7. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

My oh my,that girl Maria too sweet though,maybe the fear is that she can be a viable leader and someone saw her potential,once gain however wickham has been totally wrong it is good to see that someone agrees with me that the best thing for Mottley to do is to keep far from him.It is however too late for that, birds of a feather will always flock together. Wickham is a destructive fellow and the reason he hates the Prime minister with such a passion is because the Prime minister refuses to take him on. Peter your credibility has been shot to pieces no one has been taking you seriously since the 2013 two poll fiasco i doubt it that you had a serious job in polling since then maybe in France but in the region i doubt it, well i hope that all goes well for Dr Agard i admire her stance and she has matured very well over the last year or so despite the troublesome times she has had,and if this is what a lightweight is supposed to be, then lets hope the so called heavyweights are able to deal with a lightweight knockout punch.

8. @Bush Tea December 3, 2015 at 11:45 AM #

@ DIW
    Tek it easy bossโ€ฆ. Bushie was only wondering if you and Alvin may be eating the same Genetically Modified shiite food up there in Canadaโ€ฆ chuckle!!
    Something gotta explain this level of NOT thinkingโ€ฆ.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….

Skippah…..me an yuh from duh same village,wen tuh duh same school,liv en dis 2×3 islan wid nuff BBs…..so how comes yuh so brite and nose evahtin and me so dumpsy…….um cyant be nuh gm,so wuh um is brite fellah.

9. @enuff

Cannot hide it, BU is an unapologetic supporter of the good Doctor. We like her style. To rass!

10. Rather than say that Agard statement was well thought out it most likely was well scripted to boast the point of her constitutional rights as a citizen a point that is hard to argue against b or d

11. @David December 3, 2015 at 12:32 PM #

Chuckle….and the truth shall set you free….

It will be interesting to see who wins this battle and a win can only be had by splitting the party….a pyrrhic victory….in this going down no compromise is possible.

The LoO has a possibility of two years to rebuild,presumably they knew this day had to come irrespective of its guise and have prepared for it.

To the victor the spoils.

12. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, and that is what it is all about in politics “STYLE”. She is of course a woman of substance too, no doubt. She speaks well but not like Don or Tom sweet though…LOLLL.

She got lots of talk too…she says she was looking for good governance and looking to push for the UN conventions against corruption – of which BIM is not a signatory, she says- so then she certainly CANNOT be looking to hook up with the DLP.

In fact if the lady was looking as she said to be a ‘change agent’ and ‘to shake up the status quo’ then I am impressed that she attempted to do so under the bailiwick of Ms Mottley’s troop.

She deems her change agent status as revolutionary yet she did not ensure that she buttressed her soldiers well before she started her revolution. Thus the good doctor is either naive or miscalculated her power base very, very badly.

I agree wid you that she has style but life is full of stylish politicians who spoke as stridently as she did and yet are on the dump heap of political life.

One day she will look back on this episode more wistfully in my view. Because after spending 17 years moving up the ladder in a political party and then to state so boldly after an angry fracture that it’s now not necessary to do positive ‘yeoman’ political work in the country as a member of a political party is rather interesting.

So yes David, style is needed to win the political game but serious nuts and bolts strategy generally carries all before it. Dr. Agard fails in the latter.

She talks a damn good game though; I appreciate why you offer such strong support.

13. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Vincent, you honestly believe that this apparent politically savvy lady who thus far has miscalculated and bumbled badly and is trying hard to catch-up, will split the BLP down the middle against Mottley?

As a politician Mottley is somewhat like Hilary: A lot of NEGATIVES, and I mean a BARIFFLE – but fundamentally she also has excellent positives as well.

Does Agard have the charm power, the gravitas or the support of many to create that type of dissent?

Surely, the smart folks in the DLP will try to make your suggestion come true but beyond that I do not share your confidence (as far away as I am, of course) that she otherwise has the wherewithal to do that.

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DIW;

fwliw, I agree totally with your analysis of the situation above.

15. Mia had six years to rebuild the party can’t possibly see how see how can rebuild it in two years.First she must start with a coalition of the majority and the backward approach she took in trying to bring all of her members in agreement has failed by so doing has given further cause for some of her supporting members to question her credibity as a leader.
    What has arisen from this issue is what many within her ministry have belived but was afraid to state .Her inabilty to lead with directive mode for them to follow

16. @David
    You were an unapologetic supporter of David Thompson too.

17. @Dee Word and sidekick Vincent

Don’t you think after spending 17 years embedded in the party machinery of the BLP she might have an idea about the huge task which confronts her.

18. @de Ingrunt Word December 3, 2015 at 1:27 PM #

Chuckle…..most definitely not.

Re-read my point,which was that this embrogglio had to come…..

Logic would dictate that those individuals who unseated the LoO before and are still in the party would try again and the logical conclusion to the matter would have to be a split as two smart rats cannot live in the same hole.No surrender or compromise.

@Enuff December 3, 2015 at 2:14 PM #

Chuckle….So right.

19. @enuff

This is true and we bailed when there was evidence to make a change. The changing scenes of life.

20. @ ac December 3, 2015 at 12:43 PM
    ahmmm
    THAT is what ‘well thought out’ means …OK….!!??
    SMH

@ Vincent
    Bright shiite…
    Bushie just knows someone who knows….
    Only gotta ask….

21. Listen to you guys .Really sounding more like first year school boy politician.Agard has stated her vision in politics goes beyond her services to country than thatcof being a parliamentarian.Yet many here trying. to rethread the needle with a shortsighted view that her future in politics is doomed.

22. Never defend a politician. Somewhere down the road they will embarrass you. The system, politicians, and voters are in dire need of a drastic overhaul.

23. Professor bush shit ac would deal wid your backside on annuda occasion….hypocrite

24. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Ok, Vincent understood. I’ll add this though. That Payne/Marshall/Toppin – Mottley/Hinkson fissure of the BLP must be settled once and finally. The Sun Tzu or Machiavelli dictum all speak to disabling or neutering your (internal) enemy effectively in order to ensure your future warfare is waged with unity and loyalty among the troops.

This continued sniping (and from Arthur too) does not bode well for anyone who supports the red team.

For those like you or I who look on with an analytical eye it speaks to a leader who is fighting desperately to exert her will. This close to an election that can be dangerously suicidal.

—@David, after 17 years she damn well know what she is doing too. Considering the “the huge task which confronts her” her actions (publicly known) to get herself so unceremoniously dismissed from her party suggests that what she knows is not working very well for her to date.

Dr Rameses Caddle was a formidable adversary who also knew the huge task to take on the DLP machinery of EWB. So knowing is good.

Being able to utilize that knowledge effectively and gain success is quite a different story!

But as you have said many times, time will tell.

25. Dr. Maria Agard will likely replace Mia Mottley as the leader of the BLP

Mia just cannot bite her way through life!

26. Having heard and seen Dr Agard,legal counsel,former party secretary and a former parliamentarian,by their presence supporting her decisions yesterday, and having read the pros and cons in the press I am 100% behind the goodly doctor.The BLP hierarchy have proved that they cannot manage a political party which must of necessity accept diverse views and opinions.Clowns like Prescod can never never never step into a ministerial post in Barbados.Mia must realize by now that her swan has sung.Party supporters in NE might celebrate.This battle has been lost and the war will soon be over.

27. “Clowns like Prescod can never never never step into a ministerial post in Barbados.Mia must realize by now that her swan has sung.Party supporters in NE might celebrate.This battle has been lost and the war will soon be over.”

You mean again in the case of Mr Prescod who held a ministerial post in Mr Arthur’s cabinet. Mr Arthur once prophesied that Mr Thompson would never become Prime Minister of Barbados. He also referred to Mr Darcy Boyce as a quisling but Mr Arthur’s actions of late would define him as treacherous.

28. @Prodigal son,
    I am designated, by you and your people as a yard fowl. Therefore we can’t be the same. I am a yard fowl. You are a yard duck; male =drake.

29. @de Ingrunt Word December 3, 2015 at 4:49 PM #

No disagreement and you have expanded the point well…..prolix…lol

An excellent point on Caddle……those who ignore/forget history are doomed to repeat it……

Unfortunately in this paradise of ours an analyst has to be deemed to be biased…..I enjoy the cut and thrust of politics and enjoy good moves and so far LoO is ahead in my judgement.

30. Balance

but Mr Arthurโ€™s actions of late would define him as treacherous.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

In similarities to those of Mia six year longing for doom and gloom on Barbados . Fortunately for Barbados that has not occurred , unfortunately for Mia the predictions for Doom and Gloom now resides at her doorsteps and in the hallways of the BLP party

31. Owen Arthur…… has been quoted saying let the BLP worrry about his next ‘move’.

Mia in BIG trouble.

32. Owen is just like you dems…………….a spent force still trying to be relevant.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word

De Madam home and got jet lag so I get release…for a few hours

You have spoken some words which as profound trust must be woven together more closely and I beg you to allow me this plagiarism in advance…

“…That Payne/Marshall/Toppin โ€“ Mottley/Hinkson fissure of the BLP must be settled…disabling or neutering your (internal) enemy effectively in order to ensure your future warfare is waged with unity and loyalty among the troops…it speaks to a leader who is fighting desperately to exert her will …” And I finish that with a rephrasing of our comment …”so close to a general election is a clear indication that she in not in as much control as she and he thumping National Executive Committee and troika would wish to convey…”

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Errata – “You have spoken some words which, as profound truths, must …”

35. Imagine the DEMS has had nothing much to offer to the Cahill Debate so far but all of a sudden appear to be in fine voice of late.

36. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Vincent, agreed. Well ahead.

Back in the day, people would be ‘calling she’ a boss or even worst a ‘hard-seed’.

But now, not only is that a dated term, showing my fossilization, but possibly sexist too.

No wonder Bushie is still of the view that real leaders must have ‘balls’. Obviously he is a much older fossil than I am.

I wonder if Miller and Zoe can do the DNA check on that term ‘hard-seed’.

LOLLLL. Oh lawd.

37. Are they any predictions as whether Mia would bite the bullet and reinstate Agard for her it must be a tempting possibility even though the stakes are rather high in regards to offending her party loyalist
    However i do believe it is the best of the worst options rather than facing a legal option based on a Constituional right which she cannot possibly win,

38. Mad Mad Maria Agard Avatar
    Mad Mad Maria Agard

If Mia Mottley is a tyrant and dictation and despot per Maria Agard’s statement why is she going to court to have them re-instate her into that environment with such a political leader, party chairman and leader of the opposition?

39. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Pieces, you is a real smart fellow and a tad prolix – like me – so you can change any nonsense I write and plagiarize to your heart’s content. Your ending sounds about right to me anyhow.

Although I still waiting for Grenville, Walter and co to catspraddle all this.

The ideal scenario is this: Third party launch; serious BLP infighting; serious DLP dirty linen come out in the wash. Bajans in a tizzy.

Maria the Principled joins the third party and along with King Arthur let loose some real ‘panty (party) information that destabilizes leader Mia A. Mottley. Third party eases home to victory and goes to GG to form a new government. The two Lords of the Realm get bout 15 seats between dem. So it will tek a real work of togetherness for them to usurp the new peoples.

And then there is reality! Alas.

BTW, I hope de madam get some real good Black Friday bargains and even some of those really cool ‘Golden Girls’ unmentionables to show off to you.

Enjoy.

40. Prodigirl

Dems is a spent force?

When Maria Agard finish with you and Mia Mottley…….wunna gine be good stuff for the sewage plant!

41. @ De Ingrunt Word,

This will help you to use unusual words other than ” prolix “.

http://www.bigwords.com/bigwords/

42. @de Ingrunt Word December 3, 2015 at 7:34 PM #

History again,a third party can be a spoiler or like the independent Son Mitchell a deciding factor…….do not see that what is presently on offer being a force to be reckoned with.

43. Mad Mad Maria Agard December 3, 2015 at 7:19 PM #

If Mia Mottley is a tyrant and dictation and despot per Maria Agardโ€™s statement why is she going to court to have them re-instate her into that environment with such a political leader, party chairman and leader of the opposition?

even mpre reason Maria should go! to stop the madness ! don/t u think ?

44. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Thank You @ Hants, but I am comfortable with prolix. That word is smooth. It is the perfect type of wordsmithery word. Not too big or foreboding…just peachy perfect.

If I were a fisherman like you it would be the perfect rod or ideal type of lure.

Not to say that one stops seeking another ‘best’ but like a spouse after making the choice you really do enjoy despite many others appearing and being better.

Thank you nonetheless. You do realize my overuse of the word don’t you. oh lawd. Busted as charged.

Prof Cumberbatch must be upset with himself for introducing the word to ‘plagiarizers’ like me. LOLLLL

45. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

If Mia Mottley reverses her decision and note i said her decision it would make her look like the biggest JA this side of the world and talk about paving the way to be ousted,if you listened carefully to Dr.Agard you will clearly see that she will not accept being bullied and Mia just can’t help, furthermore it is clear that this would cause serious problems with whomsoever wants the nomination for Christ Church west and it would certainly spell trouble as the divisive chasm will get even wider.

46. I believe a lot of Barbadians currently entertain the idea of a forceful third party as a way forward, but are we dreaming in technicolour. Who would form the core? Would it be a splinter group from the BLP: Arthur, Payne, Marshall, Agard, Toppin? Which way would the new blood jump: Abraham, Straughan, and now Thorne? Would anyone from the DLP cross over? Could we end up with a coalition government? Or are Barbadians simply too wedded to the two-tribe system? These are genuine inquiries. I’m not trying to stir any pots.

47. @DIW
    Dr Rameses Caddle was a formidable adversary who also knew the huge task to take on the DLP machinery of EWB. So knowing is good

+++++++++++++++

Newsflash! Mia is no EWB

48. Maria’s problem is that Maria does not know what Maria wants.

Why does she want to be reinstated in “her” party when she does not want to conform to the rules and regulations?

Why would she want to be reinstated to be under the same leadership that she calls tyrannical and bullying?……

And by the way she lied. She told David Ellis on Brasstacks when he asked her ……..”do you have a problem with your leader?” She told David, no, I have no problem with my leader………….so what is truth, Maria?

You did not have a problem with her a month ago and suddenly, she is a tyrant. Did OSA told you to say so?

Why would she want to be reinstated into a party when she trashed it publicly and told Barbados that she came into the party to shake things up not to to bound by any secrecy?

Maria, sorry, you were led astray by people who had their own agenda, you were so naive you did not even realised that you were being played. You never expected to be expelled, did you?

Take “your” party to court! If the court orders the BLP to take you back, you still have to come back and be under the same leadership. You see now how silly you are!

49. @Prodigal Son December 3, 2015 at 11:14 PM “Why does she want to be reinstated in โ€œherโ€ party when she does not want to conform to the rules and regulations?”

Because dissent is good.

50. @Analyzer December 2, 2015 at 10:36 PM #”A love triangle is a hard thing to deal with. It is actually one of the hardest things in the world to deal with.”

Not my way of looking at it at all.

It seems to me that ina love triangle there is the possibility of up to 50% more love.

But ya have to be prepared to lay down at tek it like a man (or woman) (or both)

Lolll!!!