AlQaeda symbol
Al Qaeda symbol

A few years ago is was all about Al Qaeda, now the world has become preoccupied with the threat from ISIS. Although some will challenge the degree to which the two terrorist organizations […]have been manufactured by the foreign policy of the West,

BU is concerned that the Caribbean may be dragged into a cesspool of geopolitics in the near future.

Immediately after the Paris terror allegedly carried out by ISIS, it was reported that three Syrians with fake passports were arrested in St. Maarten. As if this is not cause for worry for Caribbean residents – who live in one of the more peaceful geographies in the world – there is the more worrying development coming out of Trinidad. It is being reported by the venerable traditional media in Trinidad that hundreds of its citizens have joined the ISIS fight.  Is there any doubt Barbadians should be very concerned?

Several events in recent weeks point to a ramping up of global unrest in the ME. Note BU has not mentioned the Black on Black violence also ramping up in several countries in Africa which appears to be a horse of a different colour. What appears to be man’s inhumanity to man rampaging across the globe surely will touch God’s country in a direct way at some point. We have to admit the assurances from Prime Minister Stuart et al provide little comfort we in this part of the world are able to defend our borders from any terrorist threat.

The following commentary by  David Jessop addresses the issue of whether the Caribbean is immune from what the West has branded an ISIS threat.

#######################################################

Commentary: The View from Europe: The Caribbean is not immune

Published on November 21, 2015
Email To Friend Print Version

By David Jessop
The sensitive subject of terrorism in a Caribbean context is a matter this column has addressed before with some caution. However, following recent events in Europe it is clear that it is an issue that now needs to be taken more seriously in the region as those who wish harm to the world begin to deploy their ‘foreign policy’.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-Commentary%3A-The-View-from-Europe%3A-The-Caribbean-is-not-immune-28407.html

274 responses to “The Caribbean and the ISIS Threat”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheObserver November 26, 2015 at 10:16 AM
    “The aim of the terrorists appears to be one of grabbing headlines by acting in a savage or horrific manner. Given the way these horrible and savage acts commands the media attention, every country is just one-step away from the center of the world stage.
    It would be wise to remember that the islands “even further away from the world stage in the 70’s” saw plane bombings on hijackings.”

What Shaft also fails to factor into his assertion is the Modus Operandi of ‘terrorists’.
    “Let us go after easy targets. Vulnerable innocent people can be taken out as collateral damage to our cause.”
    Yes, like European and American tourists soaking up sun, sea and sand in places with naïve governments whose security policies are governed by the feeling terrorists will never operate in these idyllic isles called paradise.
    These people cannot even remove the garbage and detritus from the pavements within 1 week how would they be able to deal with highly intelligent sophisticated madmen bent on causing destruction all in the name of some philosophy or imaginary god.

2. WW wrote
    always thought and will always think that politics and religion are the 2 most destructive man-made forces on earth, as long as those 2 forces are allowed to survive, there will always be violence and danger to humans.

Excellent! The truth is that far too many Humans love to act out their corrupt nature in those 2 arenas. Proof of what I always contend that the problem is Humans—racial behavior is a subset of politics—divide and conquer.

3. There is a reason that most chess champions were usually Russian, don’t think Putin is some idiot. Americans are handcuffed by public opinion Putin will be able to manoeuvre a dropping of sanctions, no change really in the Syrian regime …crimea and parts of Ukraine will be yesterdays news if the end game plays out like he might see it. America etal has to back out let isis form a new country …declare war …then bomb the shit out of them because then there would be no collateral damage It is funny how wars are how Americans are taught geography

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….lol

MoneyB…..on point.

5. @Tell me Why

You need to appreciate Turkey’s position given its border, it is very vulnerable to an unstable ME.

@Well Well

There is NO evidence that a less than 1% population in Barbados poses a threat to national security.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David….a threat does not need 1% of a population, it just needs 1-5 very determined well funded people like has already happened in Barbados, the black leaders are not in control of the economy and very little else, that means the threat is already in place.

The same 1% ‘non-threat’ have financial control, who is going to do something about that David? How much more evidence do you need and in what form?

7. Moneybrain

You’re wrong on the issue of politics and religion because I am here think, what would you suggest in place of these two ideas which have in my opinion advanced our human civilization.

Come Brains, you ought to know by now that for every good that comes into the world, there is a corresponding evil.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I did not want to hit a low blow but a half-wit Canadian female with questionable mental issues walked into B’dos 5 years ago, surrounded herself with government ministers and had everyone of them sign away the island to her, in 5 shorts years. What do you think the 1% have done with the 40 years they had to play with, having no resistance from anyone, they would not need to resort to violence, but try removing them then you will see the difference.

Cow-an was only caught because of your determination and an era that has provided the internet. Don’t forget, the ministers still don’t tell the people anything, so you don’t even know what agreements have been in place and continually updated for the last 40 years by various ministers and the 1%. Again, remember that Bajans are docile, no need for the 1% to break a sweat, no one will question them and no one is equipped to remove them.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….advance it to what? The world is in total and utter chaos. There was a lull between the late 70s to early 90s where there was a false sense of security in the region, but how long did it last. Bear in mind all of this is cyclical.

10. I still maintain my earliest comment that the Turkey Putin deserves what ever comes his way from the fall out of the War, as for the downing of the plane that would be settled with diplomatic formalities including sanctions etc between Turkey and Russia without further advancement of war between the two nations,

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And besides, David, this has come from flies on the walls over the decades, all the 1% and the otherminorities have to do to the government ministers is call them up, demand in a rough voice what they want and drop the phone down in their years, dem likkle boys calling themselves ministers of government can’t even protest, they will get a cut ass. .lol

12. Dompey

Many millions of people have died very prematurely due to bad Politics and Bad Religion. ISIS is using religion to con youngsters. Which other “religion” talks about killing Christians, Jews and most importantly Muslims who convert?????? Did Jesus, Buddha et al lead armies to kill humans?

Science was retarded by the Church as they stated, ” the Sun revolves around Earth” They threatened geniuses like Leonardo, Michelangelo, Galileo et al.

We owe our progress to Incentive, Innovation/ brains, hardwork—-

13. LOL funny how all these nations now that Isis is showing up their door steps asking Obama to help them fight the war, However ! Yes However when Obama was fishing for help to go into Syria to destroy the biological chemical weapons not one outside Britain step forward to help,
    Yes this is history stepping forward to bite them in the a,ss and Obam must be SHFh,

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I don’t know if the muslim association in B’dos is testing the waters or flexing some muscle, but according to the newspapers 6 Bangladeshi ‘businessmen’ went into Barbados, was given one week by immigration, which immigration has all right to do, the Bangladeshis had all right to appear before immigration on the wharf any day after, present their tickets and request more time as ‘businessmen’, immigration rarely refuses such a request, instead these Bangladeshis with the help of an idiot for a lawyer, challenged immigration in court, no less, a court already clogged up with crap. I will love to hear other people’s views on this while waiting for the outcome.

15. The April 2013 reiteration

In April, in a letter sent to lawmakers saying there was evidence that chemical weapons had been used in Syria, White House legislative affairs director Miguel E. Rodriguez asserted: “Because of our concern about the deteriorating situation in Syria, the president has made it clear that the use of chemical weapons — or transfer of chemical weapons to terrorist groups — is a red line for the United States of America. The Obama administration has communicated that message publicly and privately to governments around the world, including the Assad regime.”

No body cared at that time . Everbody laughed at obama , Now the fallout has began to infect these freindly nations they want quick and instant relief,
    Obama will remain firm on how to handled this crisis as he has already stated that america military soldiers would not be placed on the ground in syria,
    Putin owns this malaise it is for him to figure his way out, Everything that is now occurring is caused by his bullying approach to solve the Syrian problem

16. This was just the beginning

More than 1,400 killed in Syrian chemical weapons attack, U.S. says

which now have lead to thousands of Syrian refugees seeking humanitarian refuge in other lands along with them the machinery of death and destruction.

all of which could have been avoided if all these so called Nato nations has listened and stop the bleeding,
    Now the horse has bolted out of the barn and makes a mad dash across everybody front yard, the stable handlers are out in force looking for help.

17. and do not forget how we arrived at this point

http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/31/world/meast/syria-civil-war/

18. and has Obama pleaded with Congress the rest of the world kept quiet now the ashes are falling and guts are spilling they all look to Obama for relief

19. @ac

Alas, I have seen others comment on your politics and now I must comment on your foreign policy…

One of the reasons why the rest of the world may not have rushed in as requested by the US is that America (USA) has been calling it wrong for years. Their Middle East policy is non-existent or a failure. There were no weapons of mass destruction, Saddam Hussein is dead, Iraq is a mess, and as a result Iran has leapfrogged from being a mere contender to being one of the dominant Arab nations; Gaddafi was ousted and killed and Libya is in ruins.

The beneficiaries of US policy and of the ‘Arab Spring’ seems to be the most radical and the extremist elements of the Arab society.Instead of flourishing democracies we have a collection of failed states.

This demonstrates that leaders are not chess pieces that you can remove off the board. The US has no idea who will replace Assad….

20. Moneybrain

What’s your point…? millions of people have died prematurely in the name of bad medicine; as well as millions of people have died prematurely in the name of corruptive police practices, so your point is neither here or there Brains.

Well as you well know today is ThanksGiving Day in America, so Obama calls up Putin and asked him what will he be having for dinner this evening … and Putin replies Turkey.

21. Of Course not the ME is not like the West there are variuos factions that thrive on each other for support, the end game is not always who will be in charge but the better of the two evils. Right now the fall out from syria stems from a lack of intestinal fortitude and an unwillingness for Nato govts who Obama was depending on to slow the onslaught from both sides of the warring factions and rather to look at the facts which would have given them enough support to weigh down heavily in the early stages of the civil war occurring inSyria.The Nato govts felt sufficiently encouraged not to take action preferably to weighed down on the history of Iraq as proof not to engage
    THe fact now this last minute effort coming from some Nato nations is too little too late,
    Obama had asked for a coalition of the willing, but got a deafening response from the coalition of the not so willing, these are some of the facts that have lead up to a mass exodus of syrian people embedded with suicide bombers arriving at Nato doorsteps and they have no one else to blame but themselves

22. it is rumored isis has put out tenders for a waste to energy plant , they figured if just one woman can come to town and screw that many people they could save a ton of money on burkas and brides

23. @ pieceuhderockyeahright November 26, 2015 at 3:52 AM,

I found your post fascinating. We all know that you are a tremendous blogger with a sharp incisive mind, and a penchant for painting words in a vernacular style that some may find charismatic and at the same time mystifying.

This monster called Isis has opened our eyes. It has forced us to interrogate ourselves. Many people are now posing the simple question: who are these people that we are sharing our island with; and to what degree are they militating towards imposing their lifestyle and their culture over us?

There is nothing mystifying with your above post. You like me have come to the conclusion that the destiny of Barbados (and I mean her Afro-Bajan population) appears to be in the hands of a growing and an emboldened group of minorities (Muslims as well as many others).

I would suggest that we in the Caribbean should embrace the politics of exclusion. Kenya and Uganda were two countries that allowed their Hindu and Muslim minorities to both dominate and humiliate them. We know how this ended. Muslims and Hindus were given a brief period to collect their items before they were repatriated.

I am not in favour of the total expulsion of our Muslim and Hindu residents. However, I believe that we should draw up a legal framework which would give our government the potential to expel all Muslims and Hindus who they may consider to be undesirable.

Under our current weak and corrupt democracy this goal would be unattainable. A strong man/woman at the head of government under an alternative system would have the support of the masses to implement such a change in policy.

@ Crusoe,

“MMISYY or Me, Myself and I, you could Suck Salt, ensures that bajans want nothing to do with foreign nonsense, but wants pudding and souse, mount gay rum or any white rum and time to watch the girls at the Banks calendar competition.”

Your above comment confirms why we are in the position that we find ourselves in. Wake up from your slumber. I hope that your views are not representative of the average Bajan.

@ Well Well & Consequences,

Keep up the good work. I find your views and your sense of urgency comforting. You certainly have an awareness of the perils that face Barbados. Maintain your strident style, your voice and your opinions will soon become the main stream.

24. @ Crusoe,

I have already included this link on another forum. Please watch it.

“President Uhuru Kenyatta’s address to the Nation on fighting corruption”

http://ntv.nation.co.ke/news/national/-/2725528/2968332/-/x6basbz/-/index.html

25. Hole in one, Observer!

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fantastic video Exclaimer, short and to the point, they felt it, the know it, who have ears let them hear. I am wondering if that is Jomo Kenyatta’s son or grandson.

The issues in Barbados as I try to elucidate are not ones where the use of violence is necessary, since there is no one who will fight back. The 1%s battle have already been won, having been quietly and subtly implemented and won over the decades, they are already embedded and entrenched, it’s just to expand.

27. TheObserver November 26, 2015 at 10:35 AM #

We have NATO nation shooting down a Russian plane.
    This is no laughing matter, If not handled correctly we could see a major confrontation between superpowers and their allies. It seems as if we have stumbled back into the age of the “Cold War” or an even worse situation
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    For years the Soviet Union during the Cold War, and then Russia, habitually encroached on United Kingdom territory. Submarines off Scotland and Northern Ireland,as well as aircraft over Scotland. The name of the game is constraint. The RAF was scrambled and the Royal Navy deployed. Not a shot was ever fired,and the Soviets/Russians went their merry way. What sort of Generals we have in the Turkish High Command that would have given those Air Crewmen the OK to open fire, knowing the consequences that will surely follow.
    This is not Turkey against Russia, but Russian against NATO. This coming Cold War will be a few degrees hotter.

28. President obama Thankgiving message pleas with americans to have open hearts and not to turn their backs on the syrian refugees

29. “I DON’T CARE WHAT THE CCJ SAYS ABOUT THE FREEDOM ON MOVEMENT……….”
    The words of the Attorney -General of Barbados. And we wonder why many of our people show scant respect to those in authority. That is why PSV’s, bicyclists, motorcyclists,and many motorists now casually stick two fingers ,( or the American version), in the air at Law and Order in this country.
    Its not a matter of what was said, but how and where it was said.

30. ac November 26, 2015 at 5:34 PM #
    President obama Thankgiving message pleas with americans to have open hearts and not to turn their backs on the syrian refugees
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    Good advice. Turn your back on some of them, and you sure to end up with a split open heart, head ,torso ,etc.

31. History be would the judge and jury of this moment in time and Obama is smart enough and wise enough to know so

32. What were the chances of an isis president pardoning that turkey

33. Turkey say it would not aplogize to Putin. Putin options are limited trying to start another war would be of little interest to Putin.right now his sole interest is protecting what he holds in Syria
    Furthermore his economy cannot support two ongoing wars at the homefront

34. Here is why the world is in turmoil. We always think bombing some country will solve the world’s problem East vs West. Here is a fact – Obama is about to leave the world in more turmoil than even George Dubyuh.

35. Self defence kit – a 9mm, a couple of clips, and a box of shells. That should do it!
    ​ That should make ISIS think twice​.

cid:1523A36DF7DB485481274B32F6FA57EE@HPGrinnell

36. How is obama leaving the world in more turmoil.SmFH.

37. Wasnt iraq in chaos when Obama came into office
    Wasnt bin laden and his Alqeda bridgade having free reing a cross the globe.Wasnt obama killed
    Did not Obama closed that gap in Afghanistan bringing home the most of the american soldiers
    In Egypt did america send troops
    In this latest episode in Syria has Obama exploited the Syrian people.
    Is not Russia the cause of further escalation of the ongoing war with the Isis group retaliating on western citizens
    Since 911 and under the Obama administration america has enjoyed much of their freedoms
    If any truth to blame towards Obama can be attibuted to the social and economic enviroment that has cause civil disturbance in black communities

38. @ Exclaimer November 26, 2015 at 4:38 PM “However, I believe that we should draw up a legal framework which would give our government the potential to expel all Muslims and Hindus who they may consider to be undesirable….Under our current weak and corrupt democracy this goal would be unattainable. A strong man/woman at the head of government under an alternative system would have the support of the masses.”

Huh???????????

How do we draw up a legal framework to expel born Bajans? Would not such a “legal framework” be illegal because it deprives born Bajans of their birthright to live in the country of their birth, and it would be in breech of the Constitution because it would discriminate against born Bajans because of their religion. And when “we expel them” Where would we expel them to? Whiclh country would take them in? I am sure that you know very well that Barbados does not have the military/demographic/geographic/economic muscle to engage in gross human rights violations and get away with it. You know that our main trading partners would punish us if we tried that shite?

Exactly what is it that you see as weak and corrupt in our democracy? And how would a strong man/strong woman fix this?

And what would stop the strong man/strong woman from also turning on you and yours if they come to consider wunna to be “undesirables”

And exactly what “alternative system” system are you proposing? Are you willing to name your alternative system?

And how do you know that your “alternative system” “would have the support of the masses.” Have you consulted with the masses? Or do you think that the “Masses” are so dumb that you can speak for them? Who appointed you “ruler and judge” over us?

I guarantee you that if such a strong man/woman came to be such strong man/woman would not be content to expel just Muslims and Hindus. Why stop there. They are and they have always been other “undesirables” in Barbados. They would move on to other “undesirables”

Useless undesirable old people. Just a waste of resources.
    Useless undesirable prisoners. Just a wast of resources.
    Useless undesirable disabled people. Just a waste of resources.
    Useless undesirable people who depend on welfare. Just a waste of resources.
    Useless undesirable drug addicts. Just a waste of resources.
    Useless undesirable alcoholics. Just a waste of resources.
    Useless undesirable fat people. They are eating up way too much of our scarce resources.

I pray you do not wish for a strong man/strong woman. Because we may just get what you wish for.

And has it occurred to you that the Muslim community in Barbados is even more anxious than you are. That they worry that their children may be seduced into killing themselves and others?

39. @MoneyBrain November 26, 2015 at 6:44 PM “Self defence kit – a 9mm, a couple of clips, and a box of shells. ”

Dear moneybrain: Can you bring me the above items when next you are coming home?

And have you “drawn up a legal framework” to import them into Barbados?

Lollll!!!!

40. Simpy

Bring in on Mon 30th for your Independence!

Maycock’s Bay 3.35am on L49 “fishing” boat. HAHA

CUdeh.

41. Simple Simon,

For once I have to agree with you.

42. @Crusoe November 26, 2015 at 4:17 AM “but wants pudding and souse, mount gay rum”

But Crusoe, in Barbados nuff, nuff people die from strokes induced by alcohol and grease. If isis wants to better those numbers they would need something stronger than AK-47’s. They would maybe need nuclear weapons.

And yet we Bajans continue our grease eating rum drinking ways (me too).

I think that proves that we Bajans are not afraid of sickness nor death.

43. @Telling it like it is November 26, 2015 at 10:06 AM “The EU and USA support moderate terrorists like the ones who shot the defenseless parachuting pilot.”

Dear Teling it like it is: Can you explain the term moderate terrorists?

Tek ya time and THINK before you respond.

44. @TheObserver November 26, 2015 at 10:16 AM “the islands “even further away from the world stage in the 70’s” saw plane bombings on hijackings.”

And the terrorists who bombed the Cubana jet at Paynes Bay are still free men. And don’t tell me they were not terrorists. My 12 year old sister witnessed the plane going down. She could not/would not fly for decades afterwards. And still cannot talk about it without being terrified.

45. And yet we Bajans continue our grease eating rum drinking ways (me too).
    I think that proves that we Bajans are not afraid of sickness nor death.
    NO!
    …what it proves is that Bushie is right
    that Barbados is full of brass bowls…
    …and that you is one 🙂

46. Night, nite sweetness!!!

47. Simple Simon November 26, 2015 at 8:26 PM #

And yet we Bajans continue our grease eating rum drinking ways (me too).
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    You have left out one other. Night Racing at the Garrison,and other similar venues. Or does that come under Grease Eating.

48. MoneyBrain November 26, 2015 at 6:44 PM #
    Self defence kit – a 9mm, a couple of clips, and a box of shells. That should do it!
    ​ That should make ISIS think twice​.

You think so? In another life ,in another place, I had the ok to carry ,the same Self Defence Kit you have described, when going incognito,but opted not to.
    Picture this, you are walking down Broad Street and you observed some terrorist activity, where upon you draw your 9 Mill. Up come armed members of the Security Forces. What are your chances of being shot, mistaken for one of the terrorists?

49. @Col Buggy
    For years the Soviet Union during the Cold War, and then Russia, habitually encroached on United Kingdom territory. Submarines off Scotland and Northern Ireland,as well as aircraft over Scotland.
    ++++++++++
    They still do the same over both North American coasts and the US and Canada have to scramble jets frequently to chase the Russians away. I don’t doubt that the Americans do the same to both China and Russia it is a game of cat and mouse.
    Recently the Swedish Navy was on alert after a soviet sub was spotted near Stockholm, and there was an incident where Chinese fighter jets were shadowing US Jets over the Yellow Sea.

All that pales in comparison to KAL 007 shot down by the Russians in September 1983 with a loss of 269 lives, the Russians were conducting missile tests in the area and thought they were shooting at an RC 135 American spy plane. The Koreans had the wrong navigational coordinates loaded into their system and were unwittingly flying over Russian territory when it was shot down.

The Americans used to fly U2 spy planes over Russia as the Russian Migs couldn’t intercept them at 70,000ft and Russian missiles were incapable of reaching them at that time. The Russians eventually shot down Francis Gary Powers which was a big propaganda coup for Khrushchev at the UN. I once read an article that speculated that Powers was flying at a lower altitude which enabled the Russians to reach him because his altimeter was tampered with by a technician in Turkey (yes that same Turkey). Powers parachuted to safety and declined to take the cyanide capsule provided to him in case of capture. Incidentally the Russian missile bases in Cuba were spotted by the U2 flights crisscrossing the island.

The US and Russia now have spy satellites which can do the work for them but recently China tested an anti-satellite weapon capable of bringing down satellites.

Stay tuned.

50. terrorists on broad st ????? terrorists go where they can blow themselves up and cause the most carnage which would be the welfare office on roebuck st