mariaThe government and DLP supporters are pleased for the distraction the Maria Agard disagreement with her political party offers. […]While there is possibly a majority view by Barbadians everywhere that the mauling of the affairs of the country is the worse we have experienced in the post Independence history by a government,

a politically fatigued citizenry appears eager to be distracted by the political class yet again. Political conflict is nothing new in our system of government and in the same way the DLP, on the surface it seems, appears to have recovered from the Thompson vs Mascoll episode so too will the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Of greater concern to the citizenry should be a governance system that is failing. The current state sees an inability of the citizenry to hold elected politicians accountable, demand transparency read Cahill deal, facilitate policy direction to stoke innovation and creativity,  increase national productivity, insightful use of physical resources, align the private and public sectors to breed global competitiveness…  Law and order  have been enduring characteristics of our small island and have defined our way of life as Bajans – now gone like the wind.

Mia Mottley should recall the period when the gang of 5 deselected her as Opposition leader. She struck a tone that endeared her to Barbadians everywhere. She was particularly strong on the need for governance strengthening.  We should be concerned that Maria Agard is being railroaded out of her safe seat because she dares to veer from the party line. It is not the first time members of a political party have expressed differences with the party line. In the USA the party Whips have their hands full to build consensus on many issues to support party positions. The fact that we have political parties demanding sheepish adherence to party positions and allow for zero space to entertain different positions  – shaped by conscience for example  – is where national debate should be the focus. If change is required to how political organizations are structured and ‘new blood’ is encourage to infuse the political parties with ideas why should the establishment not disengage from predictable behaviour and resist gang banging members who hold different positions.

The BU household has observed the interventions from the traditional players concerning Agard and her altercation with the BLP. Whether it is Wickham, George Bell, traditional media it all appears to be so orchestrated and disingenuous to those who are close to the issues. Take David Ellis and his position on air yesterday. How does one place so much faith in the workings of the executive of a constituency in Barbados? If Agard is prepared to challenge the influence less than a 1000 partisans bring to the table in order to defend principle issues why should the political party – represented by Mottley who was a proponent for change of the BLP constitution not so long ago – not discomfort itself to accommodate those who canvass for said change?

It is obvious to ALL there is conflict between Agard and Mottley. Those who follow local politics are aware of the dissent which has been fermenting from the time Agard by dint of hard work won the nomination from Bishop. Herbie and his establishment gang have never forgotten Agard the upstart. Didn’t the great Arthur have to ask Herbie to backoff in 2011 when she kicked Bishop’s ass? It appears Mia does not have the same long coat tail of Arthur to command order in that constituency and his heavily dependant on Jerome Walcott.  It is payback time. It is clear Agard is seen as a trouble tree whose political head should be lopped of. And the BLP machinery is well on course to achieving that objective. It is the nature of politics, Machiavellian politics. Barbadians should not be so blind to not probe more deeply what is at play here. What has Agard done to deserve political assassination you ask? From where BU sits we see a young, bright female who is prepared to defend her positions even if it means butting heads with colleagues and or sacrificing her political career. How many sitting MPs are prepared to do the same? Mia Mottley as leader should be able to meet with Agard and negotiate a compromise position with the disaffected parties. The idea of killing an ant with a hammer, encouraging the infighting by siding with factions within the party is immature and gives insight to Mottely’s unwillingness to depart from the old way of practicing party politics in Barbados. Imagine Agard sitting in a Cabinet and or Parliamentary Group meeting giving her willingness to veer from the party line. How refreshing that would be to force decisions closer to the interest of the people!

BU will deal with Peter Wickham on another occasion. He has used his several platforms to spew perspectives on the Agard issue which are nothing more than he being disingenuous.

It is time Barbadians, educated Bajans, speak out about the injustice being meted out to the few who dare to challenge the establishment. To those who are lobbying for Agard cross the floor, where is the precedent that it will act as a catalyst for change? Have we seen it with Symmonds, Mascoll, Lashley, Prescod et al? Those who are members of the BLP need to step up and support the good lady. Even if she suffered a few indiscretions – as accused by the party  – the point is she appears to be a committed a BLP supporter.

A good place to begin for Mottley is to recollect her position of a few years ago when she called for a overhaul of the BLP Constitution and was ignored. Agard and Mottley are probably not that far apart on the issues IF Mottley was genuine in her earlier positions.

496 responses to “The BLP Purge: Maria Agard Appears to be Undaunted”

1. Well!! know what it serves Mottley right this type of song and dance which she dished up against Agard was clearly a ploy to avoid the scrutiny of Agard Constituents and her loyal supporters in the party ,
    At this time i cant help but laughed at how a script to oust Agard which was tainted has now turned out to be a constitutional debate .Even an novice with no background in legalities would understand that the charges brought to oust agard was weak based on her constitutional Rights
    Now going back a couple of months there were voices questioning Mia legal credentials as a lawyer which now will illuminate opening once again that can of worms for questions arguing whether or not.
    How could it be that Mia being a lawyer could not have seen that the charges brought against Agard was indeed open for a legal battle on Constitutional grounds, Seemingly another bad call from the leader who states that her legal back ground is in good standing but did not have the foresight or brilliant legal mind to thwarted another fire or close a chapter which now erupts out of an individual constitutional right
    Need i say more the damages brought to the BLP party in six years has open more sores than there are enough bandages to cover , Healing begins with good leadership but it is most likely that for healing to begin the largest and moist obvious Sore must be removed,

2. Marshall planning a come back? Seriously?

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Is this the intelligent AC writing again? I hope so. Now here you go writing a different perspective on the MIA after ostracising Agard for behaviours that were unbecoming. You base your argument on Agard being a feather weight and one was opposing her leader in actions that would be consequential for Agard and not Mia. You know you based that on mere speculation and conjecture since as I tried to tell, the Mia was hiding behind her constitutional enforcement against Agard so to mask her true intentions hidden away in her many skeletal closets. A rush of blood is always responsible for missing the logic. Now I find it strange, intelligent AC that you can see that Mia is a sore, and might be, along with some other lame foots in her party, for the cess pool image that now envelopes them. But tell me how the ass you can see Mia as a sore that needs to be removed and not the Prime Minister of Barbados as a gangrenous infection likened to the slow and silent killers that never show signs until it’s too late? Tell me how you get dah wun done.

4. for what it is worth there are always two sides to a story except in this issue the truth is what is missing therefore one is left to comment or speculate on differing sides ,the tone or various tones set outin this issue gives differing messages,

5. ac
    How much did the St.John Polyclinic cost to complete? Is it 10, 20,30,40,50,60,70,80,90 or over 100% over budget?

6. Wait …. wunna people don’t sleep? …bad consciences or wuh? 🙂

Show ANY reference on BU where Bushie said that he was ‘smart’….
    Shiite man …. he is a bushman …. with a whacker…. Not a Barbados Scholar from HC
    ….besides, if Bushie seriously were to go after ISIS with all his ‘associated resources’ you betta believe that their ISIS asses would be sand….

What Bushie DID say, was that he is one of BBE’s boys….

@ Sargeant
    We already established that, as a relatively junior NCO, you cannot be expected to follow the higher level reasoning that goes on at the level of people like Colonel B.
    However, to ‘describe and refer to people by their disabilities’ would be like referring to AC as a short, ugly, hook footed jenny ass….(just to draw on an example 🙂 )
    Referring to her as the “rather slow, short, lady with the strange features and funny feet who represents the DLP on BU is just FACTUAL.
    No one referred to Ms Ifill as the “BLIND SPEAKER OF THE SENATE”…… but as the speaker of the senate – who (as a matter of fact) is blind.
    Stop behaving like a child….. Bushie knows her personally and she is WAY above such pettiness (after all, she is a graduate of ….well YOU know…)

@ The Ingrunt Word
    Lukewarm as usual…
    We take it then that you would hire someone who is blind to do the job of a watchman for your business – since you would not want to raise the ‘bigoted’ question as to their disability…?

Well not stinking Bushie …OK
    In fact Bushie would not hire you to do any kind of mental work either – seeing that you clearly have a disability in that area…

@ Carl Moore
    Ha ha ha
    Oh Shiirt!!!
    You SURE um is Bushie’s balls that dried up…?
    Wuh looka bushie here taking his licks…. WHERE YOU?
    …wrapping yours in tissue paper and vicks?

steupsss …man you aint worth wuh Paddy shot at…

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ the intelligent AC

Cheez on bread. I specifically indicated to you that there were stories behind the stories. I told you the Mia is a villain and will use one out of her many talents to undermine Maria Agard. Now there are two sides to a story. Why you think I asked if you head hard. But you know what, intelligent AC, fancy words can only hide that much deceit and no more you know. Not easy covering ya tracks when you telling mistruths. Look at how it is destroying presidential hopeful, now labeled a pathological liar, Ben Carson. Look how it has provided another definition for the silent, words smith Stuart. And we already know that Mia is a stranger to the truth. You still want to defend our politics.

8. SSS
    There are three repeat three sides to a story.Your side,my side and the truth.

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Gabriel

The third aspect only comes when the first two is investigated so that it determine who is the liar leading to the truth. A sweet sentence string a long but the last can take a very long time.

10. And it all depends on the side the public is willing to listen.So far both sides lacks disipline
    Agard took off her gloves and threw them in the direction of the leader. Not good
    Whilst the leader took refuge under the guise of the blp constitution . Not good

11. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Only non lawyers get charged? Do they have these same rules of charge in the BAR for all the crooks ass lawyers, MIA needed to be charged long time ago, MIA is a crook ass lawyer that cant show her papers as yet? , She cant run the BLP and want to run the country? Mia need to behave her self , Agard is more Clean than MIA, If any one need to be removed or charged is MIA , She would be happy at Barbados Hoe-tell for crooks at taxpayers cost,

12. Bushie, you rascal! You mean you can’t behave yourself no time at all?!!

13. @Bush T aka Mr. Infallible

Whatever point you were trying to make was lost when you referred to the Speakers disability, if yuh start wrong yuh gwine end wrong. When you were called out on it you became defensive and resorted to bluster and a rehash of other charges that you have been making on this forum ad infinitum as if those validate your earlier comment.

Some of the folks here who should know better came and attempted to wrest your foot from your mouth and instead of issuing a mea culpa you resisted and stuck the other one in.

It is not the mistakes that one makes the define the character of a man it is how he recovers from it.

14. @ Donna
    🙂

@ Sargeant
    All good NCOs consider their superiors to be infallible….
    It is what makes an army work.
    Yours is not to reason why….

15. I always like to play the “devil’s advocate” (or daily nation) and present an alternative perspective to any situation.

The legion wrote: “Whilst the leader took refuge under the guise of the blp constitution. Not good…”

A “constitution” is defined as “a body of fundamental principles or established precedents according to which a state or other ORGANIZATION is ACKNOWLEDGED to be GOVERNED.”

Supposed the Opposition Leader had taken “refuge under the guise of” a UNILATERAL decision to “dismiss” Agard from the party. I’m sure the same legion would suggest that Mottley infringed on Agard’s constitutional rights by not adhering to the rules of the BLP, similarly to how they referred to her constitutional right to freedom of speech.

This situation of a party’s constitution is reminiscent of what occurred in the DLP during 2005, when certain senior members undertook the process of establishing an “extraordinary conference” to discuss the removal of Mascoll as Opposition Leader.

Former general secretary of the DEMS, Dr. David Estwick, in response to what he termed as an “illegal act”, said: “My responsibility here is to point out to my colleagues in the party who are bent on establishing this conference without widespread consultation and dialogue with the wider membership of the party, to determine the wishes of the wider body of the party, that they are ACTING ILLEGALLY.”

“If a small group of members refuse to listen to reason and are bent on compromising the integrity of the party by DISRESPECTING the party’s CONSTITUTION, then I have a responsibility to the party and to Barbadians to defend the party as a true member loyal to the convictions of Errol Barrow and the party’s CONSTITUTION. If I stand alone, I will do my job.”

“I want to stress definitively that there is no office in the DLP prescribed by the DLP’s CONSTITUTION called “a member to lead the party into the next General Election”. It does not exist and until such a position is created by an AMENDMENT to the DLP’S CONSTITUTION by a two thirds majority, this action is illegal and I will not support it.”

In other words, Dr. Estwick had a problem with certain members “breaking the DLP’s laws (constitution),” by acting in a “wanton and disorderly manner,” and used the party’s constitution as a basis to substantiate his claims.

I know the legion would try to suggest that there are no similarities between these issues, but I am attempting to illustrate the fall out that may occur if members do not adhere to an organization’s rules.

Then again, if the legion felt comfortable with members of their DLP not adhering to the party’s rules, no wonder they described Mottley’s using the BLP’s constitution as a “means to an end,” as “Not Good….”

16. Bush Tea got visually impaired sided and bushwhacked.

Need to send Bushie to Canada for some sensitivity training

17. Say what u may the director directs and the actions are played (out) by the actors in the Agard case the director tore up the original script one having sufficient evidence of proof to overturn or dismiss
    By rewriting of the script the director placed self on a stage to be viewed as indecisive and weak and be regarded as a hypocrite leaning on a broken political fence

18. De Ingrunt Word November 20, 2015 at 12:17 AM #

“If you HC and Cawmere boys and other sharp fellows read the Bushman’s commentary and slide pass the blatant bigotry, then I presume that’s all good…well actually I know it’s not all good but it is to this key BU demographic.”

Far from it, De Word, I am not prepared to “read the Bushman’s commentary and slide pass the blatant bigotry.”

There seems to be times when Bushie goes to defecate and in the absence of toilet paper, he uses his fingers to wipe, which usually results in him writing shiite.

Many of us are also guilty of this act, some more so than others (to wit, ACs, Fractured BLP and Dompey…….. lol).

Perhaps his reference may be deemed to be in poor taste. But my point is there are not any significant differences between referring to Ms Ifill as being blind, (which is true), and calling to Donya Piggott a lesbian, (which we assume to be true, because she is president of BGLAD).

Both are EQUALLY offensive and “blatant bigotry.”

However, it is human nature to sympathize with the former, while EXPRESSING our disgust at the comment, and abhor the former, while EXHIBITING our disgust towards homosexuality.

19. How can DLP yardfowls debate the Agard BLP issue fairly? Why would they want to?

20. @ Artaxerxes Donya Pigott already made the public aware that she is a lesbian.

Her accomplishments are impressive. Future senator or political leader ?

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/27/living-lbgt/

21. @David

Even worse to talk about constitution and weak legal arguments given the litany of lost civil suits post-2008.

22. @Artax, yes “Both are EQUALLY offensive and “blatant bigotry.” The fact is however that we all tend to ‘get off’ by making salacious references to sexual behaviour. Much of the ‘buller’ and ‘whicker’ remarks are indeed insensitive but connote an over-the-top sensationalism to make some petty point. Surely the image of Mia ‘biting’ seems to get many a blogger into a tizzy!

But being afflicted with blindness at age four or any age is a whole different ball-game; for a Bajan citizen to fight through the hurdles for the disabled in our lovely but ‘still ill-prepared’ homeland and achieve outstanding success should be acclaimed – regardless of politics. Not cheaply sensationalized, minimized or used as a bad pun by a senior citizen who should know better.

Barbados is a country where 50 years ago many children like Kerry-Ann Ifill or those with hearing/speech impediments were shut away by parents due to embarrassment, lack of awareness or whatever drove their thinking. To use an equally bad pun here, they would not have seen the light of day were it not due to platforms and ‘vision’ by Barrow and others of the day.

So here we are celebrating our golden anniversary as a nation and a visually challenged lady sits as Pres of our Upper Chamber and an intelligent Bajan can defile that symbolic image of our growth and development with such deliberately inept and inane remarks.

Broadsides on physical challenges are absolutely inexcusable always. And in this instance there are doubly petty and pathetic.

But you know at the end of the day Ms. Ifill is better placed than all of us as she does not need to see such nonsense… A good thing in the same way that Dr Williams was rumored to have turned off his hearing-aid to avoid criticism.

Time for me to turn off my visual aid!

23. @ Dee Ingrunt Word
    Time for me to turn off my visual aid!
    …do you mean time to shut your donkey? … 🙂

24. There is nothing “fair”in the world of politics as being exhibited in the Agard issue. On one side there are growing perceptions that Agard is right to defy her leader .while on the other side the perceptions continues to paint a picture of weak leadership
    So where is the “fairness”when both sides approach is to orchestrate a narrative to destroy each others integrity

25. Wise men fear to tread where …… awright leh we do um this way.

Close wunna eyes and picture a watchman good. Now keep wunna eyes close and picture a blind watchman.

Methinks there’s much ado about nothing My Lady. The PM, AG, the whole cabinet and too many on the opposition benches blind too but the Bushman did not call their names. Still up until just now there was no Speaker of the Senate that I could find.

26. The presiding officer of the senate is the President of the senate.The presiding officer of the lower house is the Speaker.It is public knowledge that both presiding officers are handicapped.

27. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Dr.Agard was the only opposition member at the opening of the polyclinic today,i wonder despite her being the shadow minister of health she will brought up on a charge for being there too?

28. Well Dr. Maria Agard was royally inducted into Team DLP at the Glebe St. John this evening.
    Looking resplendent in her shades of blue, Dr. Agard looked quite relaxed.
    Mia Mottley and her kangaroo court can add charge #10…..now that Dr. Agard was seen among the Dems at the opening of the David Thompson Health ans Social Services Complex.

Welcome…..Maria! !

29. look at that a paper tiger with sufficient confidence to step on the lions tail. It would be an interesting 22nd of Nov,

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP November 20, 2015 at 8:37 PM

Fractured, Maria would also make an excellent Minister of Health, don’t you think. After all, you guys are always asking for alternative solutions to problems in Barbados. Here is the perfect opportunity to exploit such genius. No need to burden the washed-out paro economist.

She is also the perfect candidate for the DLP in the Ch Ch West riding. Why not go for it? Why not induct her immediately into the DLP Hall of Fame only to see Verla whopping Freundel’s ass.

31. TEARS, FEARS AND FEW CUHDEARS Avatar
    TEARS, FEARS AND FEW CUHDEARS

Millertheanunnaki
    Dr. Agard is about to be extracted from the BLP like a rotten tooth.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

She would be a real shite to get involve with DEM but then again, she betters, since her current boss is a vindictive wicked bitch.

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dumbo AC not the intelligent one calling someone gutter rat. I bet that you got two clothes pegs holding up you panties. Poor thing, does try so hard to insult that is absolutely pathetic. Always attacking Bushtea, when, she, he, it should come back home to the SSS. I no longer want to rub pokeys with you because you have that same as STD as Stuart.

34. ‘David Thompson Health ans Social Services Complex.”

Really

35. Ac are you too blind to see? it would be offensive for me to refer to you as ‘blind’ since you have your vision; but it certainly would not be offensive if you couldn’t see.

36. Balance i believe you conscious is lacking a trait deprived of sensitivity . it is about time you awake from your slumber instead of living in a past world where minds were littered with bigotry and insensitive platitudes ,Such a world has long be dismiss and mocked and scorned and denied passage to relive or revisit actions deemed worthless to mind soul or body .
    You and others making mockery of the disable under the banner of “speaking the truth ” are vulgarizers of insensitivity persisting and insisting on your right to be guided by models and display of childish thoughts,

37. It seems like the BLP supporters can not help themselves in their vibrancy to ridicule ministers of their physical impediments, More often than not the BLP supporters would refer for example to DR, lowe lips and now Senator ifill disability in a despicable manner . What low blows and a demonstration of the BLP supporters sickening characteristics
    Now finding their backs against the wall and having no issues to build a consensus for public support or appeal the BLP supporters have crawled to the bottom of the barrel to drenched up the most inane and despicable repulsive issues concerning ministers physical impairments.

38. TEARS, FEARS AND FEW CUHDEARS Avatar
    TEARS, FEARS AND FEW CUHDEARS

Balance
    Thompy Polyclinic in St.John started construction in 2009 with a contract sum of $14M, the last cost approved for the contract with ADC, Mr. Arian Cristie is $29 MILLION DOLLARS>

39. @TEARS, FEARS AND FEW CUHDEARS

Have you factored NPV?

40. Cud dear Now the clinic finished a most noble enterprise to help the poor in spite of the final cost , all theBLP sewer rats can find in the sewer is to drag around is the cost,
    Wuh fuh goodness sake hope none of u freaks never find self wanting use of the the clinic at free cost cost,
    Another reason why the public take the BLP seriously . \

41. @David November 21, 2015 at 7:44 AM #

Can you locate the operational cost in the last budget or in any supplementary since then for the polyclinic?

42. “Can you locate the operational cost in the last budget or in any supplementary since then for the polyclinic?”

I doubt. Remember the re-commencement was an afterthought arising out of the St John by -election campaign rhetoric so it had to be completed by hook or crook. It did not form part of the DLP’s plans going into the 2008 general elections.

43. I am happy that the clinic is finally finished however this does not dispel my reservations about the bungling of the project nor its more than significant cost over-runs. The fact that most projects are handled in this manner by both parties is, to say the least, a cause for “concern” for all taxpayers. First they seize your money then they behave as though it is theirs to spend as they like. In all this we are to remain mute as though under a gag order, it would appear. Now what should I call this- CHOKE AND ROB?!!!!

44. Tommorow at the final seating of the schedule meeting to unseat Agard
    The Blp rabble roursers would be handed the official cost necessary to repair damage to the blp and Mia image caused by inept leadership.
    Hope you champions of truth and fact finding can foot the bill

45. Donna November 21, 2015 at 9:35 AM #
    ” I am happy that the clinic is finally finished ”

After saying this you go on to talk more shit that Bush Tea. In fact you are not happy its finished. What’s wrong with you people cant you salute a good job and stop. If Mia the failed leader completed the polyclinic we should all be happy because it helps our citizens. You are either happy the clinic is finished or you are not. Case closed.

46. Who cares what the acolytes and spostlesif doom and gloom thinks. They have no issues so they keep regurgitating the same ole rubbish
    Kudos to govt for the completion of a worthy cause which would serve well the taxpayers of barbados

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 21, 2015 at 12:20 PM

Hooray! Congratulations for a job well done over 20 years in the making. Sir Lloyd will be proud of you guys.
    Now get on with the renting and sale of those empty houses built over the last 7 years.
    What’s going on at the Grotto? Are there no more pressing housing needs in the P M constituency? What’s the holdup? The lawyers or have you found a cave just like in Warrens or Arch Cot? That area is not called the Grotto for nothing, you know.

48. Miller the bees real angry today

49. Like it is,

At least my shit is not of the yard fowl variety like yours. Go lay your rotten eggs elsewhere!