A critical activity in the due diligence process to prequalify a vendor for a major project is to understand determine the financial strength and good reputation of the vendor.

Leaked documents on BU clearly expose Clare Cowan, [โ€ฆ]CEO of Cahill Energy Limited to have been in default of a substantial loan PRIOR to signing contracts with the government of Barbados in March 2014. In other words she knowingly misrepresented that Cahill Energy Limited, Cahill Energy Barbados Limited and herself were viable financial entities and of good repute. Clearly loan proceeds from Liz Spencer and monies received from Technip were used to fund a luxurious condo which she used to misrepresent and impress a group of clueless government ministers and cohorts. One does not have to be an investigative journalist to take note that the date of the loan monies received from Liz Spencer coincided with the down payment on the condo.

Barbadians should be insistent to have government confirm if samples placed in an Oven has created a health hazard to the public. What role did the Town Planning, Environmental Protection Unit and relevant agencies play in the decision.

170 responses to “Cahill Waste-to-Energy-Project is the Biggest Scam Levelled on Barbados by any Government Post-Independence”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

That question “…What role did the Town Planning, Environmental Protection Unit and relevant agencies play in the decision?…” is assuredly rhetorical?

Jes yesterday de ole man was axing Due Diligence tuh forgive me fuh plagiarizing he name fuh a DUE DILIGENCE UNIT dat you and some udder sleuths would man/woman.

A former Head at de Boundaries Commission Office once was at a function and did was had in a few drinks when he did axed if Bulbados would evah employ electronic IDs to assure dat people, de right peeple did voting.

He response was “and mek de incumbent politicians los dem seats, whu sorta madness you talking man?”

Any mechanism which speaks to accountability is doomed to fail on the Bulbados landscape because it is in the very inefficiency of our incompetent systems that corruption and bobo are able to thrive.

If tomorrow you were to discover a pill which cured all the ailments known to man DEM WUD KILL YOU SCVUNT by Sundey!!

Why you tink dem hold on pun The Son of David 2015 years ago and kill he??

2. PUDRYR

Please see my agreement in the other blog to use my name in the name of the new UNIT.

3. @David,
    Since there was no credit given to the author of the subject to be discussed I have to conclude that it comes from the blogmaster.
    How then can you write”…if samples placed in an Oven has created a health hazard to the public. …”

I have to ask, “Which oven?” “What health hazard?” “When was the oven built” Where was it built?” “What were the health hazards creaTED? WHAT WAS PUT IN THE OVEN?”

These types of posts are misleading and designed to further the cause of the opponents of the proposed WTE plant. Why do you people DELIBERATELY spread false information and untruths. Nothing has been finalized, nothing has been decided, The matter is to be discussed in the House, where I am sure your backers will give vent to your feelings; and get responses. Why don’t you wait until then?

I will continue to challenge you when you come with disinformation or false information.

Claire Cowan is NOT a vendor (your word). The government advertised for tenders to “express interest” in obtaining Investors for the WTE plant. Having won the tender to obtain these investors, I don’t see where the word “Vendor is applicable. Neither she nor Cahil Energy are supposed to build the plant. The investors will put up the monies, the technical experts (engineers, companies, and such people) will construct the plant and run it, and then after a certain number of years the plant will revert to Barbados. BOLT arrangement. Claire Cowan and her company, is entitled to make money out of the arrangement. She has her advisors, the government has its advisors, the investors will have their advisors and legal and engineering experts, and of course the public; Bushie, Due Diligence, Prodigal, et al, will give their “expert” advice and opinions. (Gas chambers, indeed! You people really have a low opinion of the intelligence of Bajans.)
    One thing I WILL say, the number of “leaked” documents etc. that have appeared in this case is unprecedented in Barbados. Think how many millions (hundreds of Millions) of dollars could have been saved if people like Due Diligence et al had participated in this type of discussion before the Prison, the ABC highway extension, Greenland,and so many other projects had been subjected to this kind of exposure.

4. More documents – more lawyers acting for MECC

Wonder why she seems to use a different lawyer/law firm for each contract/agreement – she has not paid the earlier lawyers, or she does not want then to be able to connect the dots.

5. I want you to know Alvin Cummins that there was no large scale thieving and corruption with the projects you mentioned.

You really believed that had there been this scale of corruption that the ac’s in George Street would not have leaked them to David as well……….think about it. You dems do not operate on an ethical playing field, politics is a blood sport for you dems.

The most one can say is that Greenland was a stupid project, the then minister and the cabinet listened to foreign experts instead of the local experts like Richard Goddard who knew the area. Everybody agree that this was a waste of taxpayers monies….the idea was right but not right for the area.

After all the fanfare at Haggatt Hall why did the dead king not complete his promise to lock up people……….instead he knew that he had only done this as part of his blood sports. If there was corruption, he had the files at Haggatt Hall before he took office……..why did he not pass them to the DPP?

Bring the evidence or shut up………….there was corruption with Cahill and the evidence is here on BU for all to see.

Your problem is that you cannot bear to see that your god the DLP has been exposed to be corrupt as hell.

I leave you to Ms Sunshine Sunny Shine……..she is the only one who can shut you up!

6. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Alvin
    “Neither she nor Cahil (sic) Energy are (sic) supposed to build the plant.”
    This is in direct contradiction to your post of August 15, 2015 at 10:02 PM in which you pasted the wording of the original tender notice. To refresh your memory, the notice said “…the Sanitation Service Authority is requesting Expressions of Interest from contractors for the design build operate finance….”.
    So Cahill is supposed to build the plant.

7. @Due Diligence;
    So you admit there was “thieving” and corruption, although not “large scale. Give me comparative dimensions. Isn’t thieving the same?

The company SSS. The CEO; A certain Mr. Vecco. Etc.ETc. The rest is history.

That was only one company.
    What happened to the Minister who wanted to “Redress the imbalance?” Doctor Don Blackman. Why did he feel it was necessary to “redress the imbalance”?

Who bought Rayside? With whose money? wasn’t some of the money used to pay the company part of the expenditure on the ABC highway extension contract? It is all a wheel within a wheel.

Why was Barrack not paid during your watch? .Etc. Etc.
    Why were the Special Development Areas created? Why was Town Planning put under the control of the Prime Minister (OSA) when it was? What was the extent of the concessions granted?

“…the idea was right but not right for the area.” What idea? To create more landfill? Was that the extent of your forward thinking?

As for sss, all in good time

8. @Alvin

Please remind the BU family if the BLP was not kicked out of office because of the perception of corruption linked to projects you mentioned? It amazes how a man of your reputed intelligence continue to forward childish arguments to defend bullshit.

9. Alvin Cummings

These types of posts are misleading and designed to further the cause of the opponents of the proposed WTE plant. Why do you people DELIBERATELY spread false information and untruths. Nothing has been finalized, nothing has been decided, The matter is to be discussed in the House, where I am sure your backers will give vent to your feelings; and get responses. Why donโ€™t you wait until then?

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Alvin that is why you should ignore them,it is there way of stoking the fire and gaining more publicity

10. Another, useless troll.

11. Any bets on whether the Cahill matter will be allowed to be discussed in the House on Tuesday by the crooked speaker?

12. @Alvin Cummins

A week ago you accused BU of not publishing a letter you emailed. You were advised we received no email and to advise the address you used. We are still waiting. Either forward the information or we will consider you nothing more than a liar whose attempt at being mischievous failed.

13. @ Alvin Cummins – A bank won’t give you a mortgage without some level of due dilligence. Courts (furniture shop)won’t give you a loan for horrible furniture at BDS$5 per week,ths without some level of due dilligence. In fact, there are not many financial transactions anywhere in the world that one can undertake without a level of due dilligence. If in fact, all the document posted on BU in recent weeks suggest fraud, why is a government representative not on this post providing evidence to suggest otherwise? In fact why is the government providing no response at all? They are either inept or this stuff is true and they are hoping it will go away. Barbados is not Milawi or Zimbabwe, the potential level of corruption highlighted by BU will result in further Moody et al downgrades and thus reduce Barbados’ status, which used to be ‘up there’ compared to other Caribbean states, as junk. The DLP may think it is OK to compromise the citizens of the country for their own pockets or, more likely to cover up their own incompetence but this is people’s lives. Barbados’ ranking in the World’s ease of doing business table did not drop 50 places to nil in one week because the DLP are transparent and operating with integrity. I reiterate, I cannot vote in Barbados and have no partisan views, but this Cahill business stinks, the Cowen woman appears a fraud and this is evident. What is most saddening is the current Government would allow this untested technology, in Barbados on the strength of the say of some white woman, purportedly in debt up to her eye balls, with no more understanding of the technology than you or I. If a black person with lots of qualifications and purported money approached them with the same foolishness would they have not have accepted it – hell no – they would be checking out the person with all needs necessary. This is embarrassing people, has set Barbados back 10 years and we need the reparations money cause it must be slavery why we still have a government so subserviant to white people that they think its a good thing to be robbed blind.

14. Alvin do not answer , Let the opponents fight their own battles on their own battlefield ,and do not forget that the WTE plants re now being referred as “Hitler gas Ovens LOL ;.The opponents have reach the bottom of the barrel and exhausted all their research Now it seems like all strategies been exhausted to make govt respond. What a washout, Game over,

15. Prodigal do you remember once upon a time Mia said the Blogs and social media were useless wheels of garbage that will marginalize our existence as parliaments and will cause disrespect, not just for the rule of law, but for the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe,โ€ Do you remember ?
    Any comment?

16. Let us focus on the issue at hand and forget the political jackasses whose myopia restrict them to delineate all issues through a political keys.

JAs

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What is nauseating, is that political independence was achieved a mere 50 years ago, give or take depending on these very tiny small island states, yet the neanderthal politicians and their clueless yardfowls act as though politics makes up the footprint of their DNA.

If they would do some basic math, they would realize that a mere 150 years ago their ancestors wete still slaves, were not allowed any political interactions, so the million dollar question remains, why are yardfowls so easily manipulated and mindwashed and why are they unable to see beyond things political and useless.

If they could get past that idiocy, they would realize that they are deliberately being kept occupied and preoccupied for very deliberate reasons….I know all of that just went right over ac’s empty head….lol

18. Yes those who u call jas will need your advice and refrain and resist from being caught up in a web of unauthenticated documents

19. So MECC borrowed GBP 400,000 from Elizabeth Spence on October 22, 2013

Repayment of the loan was due November 1, 2013.

Interest was payable monthly at 6%.

On March 15, 2015 the amount unpaid was the original amount of the loan GBP 400,000 plus interest of GBP 38,000 (over 18 months interest arrears).

Based on the demand letter from Elizabeth Spencerโ€™s lawyer, MECC had told Spencer in November 2014 that she had put the condo on the market and would repay Spencerโ€™s loan when it sold.

Given that the listing price of the condo has been reduced from CAD$ 7,000,000 to CAD$ 6,000,000; and is subject to first and second mortgages totaling CAD $5,600,000, and (likely) real estate tax and condo maintenance arrears, as well as fees to the real estate agents who sell the condo. there will be little or no cash from the condo sale for Elizabeth Spencerโ€™s unsecured loan. Indeed the second mortgagee (Ridgemount) may not get all of its money repaid if the condo sells for less than the reduced listing price – CAD $,5,998,000.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Any international agency or newly arrived reader

If you are reading this article for the first time, or as in the case of the international ratings agencies, investors and other investigative agencies, have been trolling these posts for a while then, to get the most succinct, dispassionate summaries of this infelicitious Waste to Energy shenanigan all you need to read is

Josh October 16th at 6.44 p.m.

And

Due Diligence October 16th at 8.52 p.m.

The two of these taken in concert with all of the damning email between ME Coo-Coo as Cvnt and Minister Downlowe and the rest of Ministerial criminals and you not only come to the conclusion that they are inept and ARE NOT TO BE TRUSTED WITH ANY FINANCIAL LOANS OR AID $$ but they are the most incompetent government that the cvntry has ever seen and when they are voted out in 2018, losing every single seat, that the incoming party is going to challenge, and revoke, every single agreement these blighted midsession would have touched in their 14 years scuttling the Barbados ship

21. Typical comments from the ac/AC assholes
    Ignore the facts think you can baffle everyone with meandering BS and non comments
    Not good enough to become politicians but content to sit in their porch chairs pontificating on what is irrelevant and trying to deflect away from the truth
    Facts:
    She’s a fraud
    She’s a liar
    She’s a scammer.
    The ministers are:
    Incompetent
    Gullible
    Parochial
    Unprofessional
    And clearly out of their depth.

Also interesting is she claims she has been employed by Cahill for 6 years on the pro storage application ?? Did Cahill exist in 2009????
    She is so stretched she can’t remember what lies she has told before.
    On the waste samples
    Stantec need to answer the question of what is stored in the lockup??
    They did the waste characterisation study back in feburary on SSA property
    At the landfill
    Where are the results of the study ??
    Crazy lady went to great trouble to tell everyone the study was done!!!!
    Role on the return to the house next week.

22. @ RastaR /David
    Is it not interesting that so many documents refer to a ‘power purchase agreement’, which seems to be the intended funding source for this CAHILL scam- and there is no comment from EMERA.
    Was anyone from EMERA /BL&P involved in this arrangement which sounds like another of those ‘fuel-clause’ type schemes where BL&P collect huge fees attached to light bills…

Interesting that no one from this sector smelled any rats during this power purchase agreement…

23. @Bush Tea

Didn’t the former Managing Director and head of the Holding company deny having any discussions with Cahill. In fact he went on to suggest at the BCCI Luncheon that a few years ago BL&P eliminated plasma gasification as an option to diversify its energy source but qualified the statement to say the technology had advanced appreciably since BL&P research. Note however in one of the leaked documents Cowan poses the question what was the status of discussion between government and BL&P.

On 17 October 2015 at 12:01, Barbados Underground wrote:

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It is a good thing that the only bad words I believe in using are cunt, bitches, shite and total ass. Because only those words can aptly describe the idiot AC brigade and that pretensive, manipulative, deceitful weasel in the form of Alvin ‘no morals moron’ Cummins. I told you people on here that this shite is nothing but pretensive. A recipient of rewards and a cover up of truths he thinks he can hide. This cunt cares nothing about Barbados or the suffering of the people. All he cares about is protecting the DLP so that the DLP can keep protecting him. All the lotta long shite he writes in trying to cast doubt on the Cahill development when the evidence clearly shows, this administration colluded with intent to advance a technology that is dangerous to the economic stability of Barbados and the welfare of Barbadians has a certain similarity and familiarity that he can identify with. The perverted shite refuses to comment on the lies and the fact that the Prime Minister has the nasty STD known as Stuart Too Deceitful. How can you Alvin Immoral Cummins ignore a letter that implicates the PM in signing the consent for Cahill yet trying to contaminate people with his STD that they can be no Cahill without his say so. You are one dishonest standup academic that gets on like a worthless worm.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

One more thing Alvi poo. I am waiting also for the all in good time. You too will find out in time. I hope you ready for what will be unloaded upon your ass. Make the first move I told you; I too am patiently waiting.

26. @RastaR
    Thank you. Let me add CC is a mentally imbalanced dreamer. You give her too much credit. Her intent was more about her own views and dreams of herself, than lying, scamming etc.

27. In other words she is deluded.
    All the signs of bipolarism .
    Oh and by the way David
    I know for a fact that Cahill met with BL&P at least twice at the Hilton the meetings were with David McGregor
    David was also at the first “town hall ” meeting in July of last year. The only
    Conclusion

28. The only conclusion being that there is either something clandestine going on
    Or the people running ERMA and BL&p don’t talk to each other .

29. @rastar

Then Peter Williams lied or in his capacity as head of the Light & Power Holdings is clueless. If EMERA is involved in the power agreement discussions why have they committed to a solar farm?

30. BP&L wouldn’t necessarily be directly involved in the PPA .
    They would need to be involved in the requirement for the grid connection ( the 11KVA sub) and the supply of construction power at the site
    The issue of the pricing arrangement currently in place between the GOB and BL&P /EMERA is another hidden gem .
    The GOB will have to pay BL&P the contracted price until that/those contracts expire . how long those contracts have to run is the question
    And the other major issue is the grid connection and who will supply it and pay for it. $5million ?????

31. While they did not have to be directly involved in. PPA, as a key player in the generation and distribution of electricity in Barbados they must have been conversations to influence capacity planing etc.

32. Loosing 25% of your revenue stream is not insignificant that’s for sure.

33. The thing to be aware of is if the alterNRG plasma gasifier is indeed chosen which we all now know can’t happen the BL&P will have to keep all the current generation capacity on standby to safeguard against this monster not working and at a minimum for the supposed 35 day downtime for maintenance as published by Cahill.
    All of which is utter nonsense.

34. @ David
    As you say David, even from the perspective of capacity planning – in a small island with aged generation plant that need replacement, SURELY BL&P must have been concerned about the national planning indecision and about the questionable technology.

Also if they had previously considered this technology, and found it to be unsuitable, why would they not have shared that (presumably more expert) information with government / Barbados? SURELY they had to be involved in ANY kind of national energy planning?

Some shiite just don’t smell right…

35. @Due Diligence

Apologies!!My answer re: thieving etc, should have been directed at Prodigal Son,What I wrote still stands though.

@David,

When I wrote the e mail, and pressed “send” it may not have “gone through” so if that happened, I may have accused you wrongful for “not publishing” it. so for that I apologize. I will be more careful of the status of the e-mail when I am shutting down the computer.

@Bushie,

Interesting that you should NOW conclude that “some shite don’t smell right”. Does ANY shite smell right?

the answer re: a’thieving etfc” should have v

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Boo hoo hoo Alvi poo apologising. I thought you never wrong Alvin sweetie. You are so full of it, pleeease.

37. @ Alvin
    Does ANY shite smell right?
    Proper vegetarian shiite always smell right….

38. @Alvin

Apologies!!My answer re: thieving etc, should have been directed at Prodigal Son,What I wrote still stands though.

@David,

Accepted however note there is still the opportunity to forward all important email.

39. Yet another unbelievable exposure of this woman and her relentless pursuit of a quick buck and a deal at all costs .
    How could all these professionals and the ministers not have done their DD on this unscrupulous character.
    Not only has she singlehandedly put the government’s tenure at tipping point
    She has also caused a lot of companies and individuals untold reputational and financial damages
    She deserves to go to jail for all she has done.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Mockingbird

Not according to Alvin Cummins and the AC brigade. All these documents cannot be proven. They are fakes. Alvin Cummins have all the facts and know the truth behind the DLP’s involvement with Cahill Cowan. The DLP is about to make their silent assault shortly. So the AC’s were told to remain silent.

41. Cummings knows jack shit
    He sits in his apartment on Ellington ave in Scarborough pretending to be an influence on party politics when all he really is is a sad old troll

42. @Mockingbird,
    “Cummings knows jack shit”, True. I am old: true (an octogenarian), But i do not try, or pretend to be any sort of influence on either individuals or parties. I think for myself and do not allow myself to be influenced. If I do not agree with a position I express my opinion, independently. I may not agree with many others, or even make sense to many, but each is entitled to his or her opinion. I am still competent; no sign of Altzheimer’s yet, and my health is still good.
    This “idiot” does not “sit” in his apartment; on Eglinton (not Ellinton) Ave as a “sad” old troll. I am a very active person, I go to the gym every day, socialize, and am as deeply involved in politics here as I am in Barbados. I take an active part campaigning and as a volunteer with the Liberal Party, (which I have supported since 1972). Guess you might call me a Liberal Yard Fowl.
    My mantra is “Let not your heart be troubled…” So, do you think any of you yard ducks can get to me? No chance. I leave you to stew in your own sauces.

43. @David,
    Found out what happened with the “phantom” comment I made that went missing. Apparently I had to exit while I was writing it and neglected to save it when I left the page. When I came back I thought I had sent it. Sorry about blaming you wrongly.

44. @Hants. Your reference to the banning of Styrofoam containers in Guyana is interesting. Shows that other people are thinking ahead. Barbadians still have their heads buried in the sand.
    Here is a website that all the BU folk should read and think about:
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/oct15/stephen-harper-master-manipulator?CMP-fb_gu
    Hope you are voting LIBERAL tomorrow.

45. Hants
    Latest Poll indicating a possible Lib victory but should the demos over 55 come out in significant numbers the Cons might just push them out.What I find fascinating is that Trudeau is an unknown entity in ministerial experience and a supposedly educated and otherwise informed society for which we in Barbados have tremendous respect,would be carried away by a popular but deceased politician represented by a son.i doubt very much if there are any in Bdos who would say Tom Adams was carried in 1976 on Grantley’s track record or popularity.

46. The woman has no idea what she was talking about.. There is no agency called Health and safety in the USA. All she was doing was tossing words around. I cant believe that Barbados Brightest would fall for a Primary School level Confidence Scam. Cahill energy is not a real company its a piece of paper with no officers. How could The government of Barbados do this to its citizens? How could they give away the labor of past present and future generations? Hopefully this can be investigated by the governments of both Canada and the US. We need these crooks prosecuted and their foreign bank accounts seized.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Oh Alvi, I felt your pain when you wrote that sympathy speech. Can you send me a voice message of those words so I can play this beautifully sounding back ground violin piece called ” My Silent Cry.” Bahhhhhhhhh ohhhhh wahhhhhhhhhh, oh Alvi you touched me.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ B Prescod

You said “I cant believe that Barbados Brightest would fall for a Primary School level Confidence Scam….”

Surely you jest?.

Brightest? Brightest?

A minister who sends an email text from Cabinet to a citizen asking for a bribe? You can’t be serious!!

A nex fellow who cant string two sentences together if entry to Heaven depended on it?

A third fellow whose only claim to fame is backstabbing a former PM of another administration and now pretending to be the lynchpin of this administration?

A fourth fellow who Mr. Franklyn say DID NOT PASS HIS exams at UWI Soc Sci Dept and like Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister whch is in a state, Patrick Todd, Minister of Sidewalks and Gutters, he of “we need to pass a Bill in Parliament so that Members declare their Sexual Preferences?”

You really ent serious doah?

Prescod, are you at all familiar with the Kama Sutra, The Revised Edition?

It has been revised because of a new sexual position called the “68”

You might have heard of its relative the “69”. I would have posted a picture here but I doan want this Blogmaster to be in court nex to Vivianne and Sankey Price.

The peculiarity of the “68” and the reason that the Book was revised is that, for the parties participating in this peculiar oral stimulation, (a relative of “being screwed”), one of the parties involved finds themselves seriously disadvantaged.

In this case, Clare Cowan, and Minister DownLowe, no pun intended, while performing this act on those “past, present and future generations” of whom you spoke “Do me now and I will owe you one” rather “I will owe you 750 million bj’s in the future!!”

Some years ago, a particular Judge, not Sherman Morre or Ms. Mason, was dealing with a case of indecent exposure. A man was seen je**ing off next to nelson s statue on Broad Street at around 11 p.m.

During his defense the man claimed, in raw bajan, to have been “foopig a ghost”. During the raucous laughter that ensued, the incredulous judge asked those assembled if anyone in the Court had ever “fooed a ghost?” and a man in the back of the court room raised his hand.

The judge as well as other people in the court were stunned to silence and he repeated his question slowly “sir, you have foo*ed a ghost?”

“Sorry you honour, all uh dese peeple was laughing so hard, I taught you was did axe if anyone here did foo*ed a goat!,”

You do know Prescod that all uh we going be long departed this world but the ghosts of Clare Cowan and Downlowe and Kellman and Quisling Boyce and Stinkliar gine be foo*ing we great grands!!

I hope dem future generations got grease causing, from whu I see in dat movie De Amityville Horror, dem ghostes does de packing big tings dem and de future Bajans gine get de same balling dat Fumble and Stinkliar giving we each day in your “present” Whu you wants fuh Xmas Prescod…vaseline???