Submitted by Douglas
Leader of the BLP Mia Mottley (l) Former Leader of the BLP Owen Arthur (r)

“The challenge is, as represented in the Peter Wickham poll, that Ms Mottley . . . faces a problem of being accepted by the society at large and faces a problem of being accepted by a cross-section of the BLP,” Arthur told the media at his UWI, Cave Hill office.

“The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest […]for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said, “but she has to make herself likeable, she has to be respected because people want to believe that their leaders are full of integrity . . . and she has to consider the use of power; not be feared negatively, but be understood as a person who can use power effectively.”

Extracts from 2009 Interview with Owen Arthur

Owen Arthur warned Barbados and the Barbados Labour Party about everything that is taking place now in the corridors of the Barbados Labour Party. In an interview in 2009, he spoke honestly and without malice while giving an assessment of the leadership of his “former protégée”. He advised “the challenge is to have a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society and wide acceptance in the parliamentary party.”

Here lies the fault line, which is occurring on the eve of the party’s next annual conference. The race is on to have the Mia matter executed ahead of the Party’s conference. It is evident the “former protégée’s”arch rival and an unrepentant political acolyte of Arthur in the person of Jerome stands to benefit from this imbroglio. He stands to benefit immensely after standing down from an obvious third defeat at the hands of John Boyce.

The spin doctors in the BLP are busy at work trying to give the public the impression that the issue in Christ Church West is about Dr Maria Agard. We on this side are quite aware at the core issue is leadership. This re-occurring decimal in the thread of Opposition politics continues to define for this country what is to come if ever the BLP is elected to office.

Less we forget that what happened in Ch. Ch. West happened in the St James North and St George South candidate selections. The white elephant in the room is the apparent irregularities in the branch voters’ list or for some Mia’s list . The last recorded issues have to do the accusations of monies spent in St Joseph by the Female Club to ensure that Dale was a sure loser. Of course, no one is talking about Arthur’s concern re governance of the BLP’s edifice after he took over from his former protégée” on the last occasion. The issues there are the subject of a Barker Report.

There is clear and present danger in the Opposition way of managing the affairs of their party. What say you about the affairs of the country? It is clear that there is a danger in opposing the leadership of the Messiah.

This new brand leadership which is authored by the non male members ’club of the BLP begs the question, in whose interest is the process gaining momentum? The face of the Barbados Labour Party has changed so much since Arthur exited that is hardly recognizable beyond the Mia’s faction. She has done well to stamp her authority NOT leadership.

In a letter penned to Dear Joan and signed by Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P on the 19th September 2011. The author of the letter declares to Joan

“ You may well ask whether internal victory at all costs for certain interests is worth jeopardizing the image and appeal of our great Party in the eyes of the wider electorate at this volatile and uncertain juncture of our Nation’s history and within sight of a General Election.”…

We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority. For we must ask ourselves, after the women and young people who will be next in the line of attack? Why is one-man one vote so threatening to the leadership in a modern democratic Party?”

Understand what would happen if these machinations take place in national elections by those who appears to manipulate constituencies branch elections.

The views of Arthur and the views of Mia as contrasted here speak to a leadership of contradiction. The current leadership is on a journey to redefine politics by making it a blood sport where lives and reputation are placed in public space. Barbados must listen to the honest words of Owen Arthur “…there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said

222 responses to “Mia…Just Not Ready”

1. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. If Fidel Castro was contesting the next general election I woul vote for HIM AND his party or Forbes Burnham, or Papa Doc Duvalier or Eric Gairy or Idi Amin. That is how desperate I am to get rid of this curse from Hell that is masquerading as the DLP.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Have no Fear FearPlay. “NOT ONE SEAT!!!” Dem is gine be beat so resoundingly dat de police gine be summoned the arrest de BLP for the massa-cre.

3. I had a lot of respect for Mia until she engaged in the politics of division and yardfowlism especially at a time when the social and economic structure was weak
    Here marches and mouthings gave cause to conclude with clarity that her mission was to plant seeds of doubt purposeful intent to destroy confidence in the country .

4. Well said AC… I couldn’t have said it better!

5. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Interesting that anyone from the DLP can even spell the word LEADERSHIP. Must be in the well hidden dictionary under INTEGRITY and FACILITATION. FooFoo probably keeps it under his desk where he spends most of his day.

6. The next general election will be interesting, especially if the Opposition does NOT get its act together.

7. Isnt it strange how things play out in politics. Using my office as an example, the DLP supporters have liked Owen more and more since he became Independent, whilst the BLP supporters cant seem to stand him now.

8. FearPlay

You’re frustrated and merely blowing off steam because no one in their right mind would never entertain the thought of voting for any of these figures because the results would obviously being the same.

And how dear employ the name of Prime Minister Stuart in the same breath as known killers.

Idi Amin, had been accused of murdering over one million of his own people. Castro, Burnham, Duvalier, Mao Zedong and Pol Pot are no different from Idi Amin.

9. Kevin,

Is petty politics all that interests you, poor soul?

10. Castro is debatable but Idi Amin, Forbes Burnham, Eric Gairy and Papa Doc? Really? I guess that means you prefer death to this miserable life then.

11. David,

Funny. I have no interest at all. Will it change the price of butter?

12. Kevin

Barbadian people are so damn polarized that their can’t seem to put the interest of the country above their partisanship.

All we hear day in and day out around BU is how bad things are and yet there have been a concerted effort by those who knows the issues best to communicate this to the people.
    But instead their prefer to employ spin tactics to appease their conscience regarding the fact that if in fact the Stuart Administration is in over its head then the party of the BLP, is in some way responsible because of its inability to communicate an effective message which would have summoned or aroused the collective conscience of the electorate, and prompted it into action.

13. @ pieceuhderockyeahright, be careful with these predictions. I remember on here and on Brasstacks the DLP was only to win back St. Lucy and St. John in 2013. And look what happened.

14. Mia sold her soul to the dark horses that trys to manipulate the political system a reason why Owen boldly stated that the blp has lost it’s soul. Words which would resonate as the voter make way to the polls

15. What voters? Very few people I speak to are interested in voting. Nobody is believing the Bees nor the Dees. Only the yard fowls, the old Barrowites and Adamsites and those who are bought will be voting next time.

16. It is a pity that such a strong personality and having all the makings of greatness could not capture the spirit of Grantly Adams whose nobleness and love of country played a pivotal role exemplary of Good governance.For sure wether or not one loved in his policies or not the degree of patriotism he exhibited was enough to forcefully bring the country together.unlike Adams Mia has missed the mark of statemanship appeal

17. @Donna

We have two major parties, pick one.

18. Where are the Mia supporters .Artaxerxes..I know the salvo would be one of creating a Motley indicative of change. Unfortunately Mia had many years prior to make changes involved with a 14 year span of governance.Not only does her portfolio reflects ineptitude but an ineptitude which has been transferred to her job as leader

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ kevin

That 2013 result was based on “Cuh Dear dem din have enuff time to mek tings right” syndrome watch muh words if dem gets a seat!!

20. David,

I’m afraid I must reject them both. I will honour neither with my vote. I give neither of them permission to ransack my country.

21. Desperate much? Douglas is referencing a 2009 comment to give credence to his argument whilst a poll in April 2015 put Stuart’s popularity at 13% vs Mottley at 39%, yet she is deemed unelectable. The Dems should also stop trying to use Owen Arthur to boost their image, Barbadians saw Owen disemboweled the Dems and Sinckler in the last budget debate and sent the entire government side into further apoplexy–induced by Mia and the Cahill revelation.

22. hope wickham did not do that poll, cause after the last flip flop nobody gonna take the wickham poll seriously

23. ac September 26, 2015 at 2:30 PM #

“Where are the Mia supporters .Artaxerxes……..”

FOR THE millionth time, AC, UNLIKE YOU, I AM neither a MEMBER NOR SUPPORTER of any POLITICAL PARTY in Barbados. Can’t you get that through your thick skull? (ooops sorry, it’s too thick).

And as I have previously mentioned on BU, the extent that people like you and other supporters of the BLP or DLP conduct yourselves in this forum or the level you would shamelessly descend and the irrational and illogical reasoning you will use to support politicians and political parties, is a sure deterrent for me from following your examples.

Irrational and illogical reasoning in yard-fowls comes to the fore when they believe that if anyone is critical of this DLP administration, they are BLP yard-fowls. I know that soon I will be labeled a DLP yard-fowl when the BLP assumes office and I’m critical of them as well.

When people like you ACs would want intelligent people to believe that EVERYTHING members of the DLP SAY or DO is CORRECT, meaning that in your opinion these men and women are PERFECT, I have a serious problem with that.

24. Artaxerxes,

You are not alone with your problem, my friend.

25. Sometimes I think these illogical, myopic, yard fowls of both varieties will relieve me of my sanity. Do they truly believe what they are saying or is it a case of narrow and short term self-interest? Either way it takes me a whole lot of prayer to be able to face it each day.

26. Artexeres So what is your point! for surely you would not want others to believe even unto yourself that your political leaning are not obvious to those who read your comments, Some food for thought,

27. Sooooo, shall we vote for this set of power hungry tyrants or that set of power hungry tyrants? I am so NOT spoilt for choice!

28. Meanwhile…….Grenville has been dismissed and has run out of the ring with his tail between his legs! Grenville if your heart is in the right place all you need is the right trainer and team. You may be a novice but you can learn can’t you?

29. @Artax

BU’s trusted economic advisor Artax writes: ” AC would want intelligent people to believe EVERYTHING members of the DLP SAY or DO is correct.”

The same can be said of some of the readership and eldership here on BU, who want an unwilling Barbadian electorate to believe that everything this DLP government does is self -defeating and counter-productive for the nation and its people.

But the good news is that the people ain’t buying what you all are selling because had this been the case, BU a known medium for expressing one’s discontent with the affairs of government would have been infused with a larger membership.

So cry all you want Artax, the fact of the matter is you’re stuck with this DLP government and until you elect the kind of people you see fit to govern our country the way you wish, keep on sobbing as you do continually and incessantly from time to time.

30. Every blog the same damn thing.

If BU has a small membership why are you posting here? Get loss !

31. why not just quietly ban his tail ….at least until the soft hearted David gets back… 🙂

32. @Donna
    I have been reading your comments with a measure of interest. I find it hard to believe that you cannot detect even the smallest difference between the two parties so as top allow you to select the lesser evil.

Perhaps, you are thinking further ahead and have come to the conclusion that nothing will change regardless of whether the lesser or greater evil is selected.

@Bush Tea
    Why ban anyone? Allow the readers to select the “wheat from the chaff”. We do not need a filter.

33. LOL @ TheObserver

Not ‘anyone’ ….. Just Dompey…

Skippa..
    you don’t know Dompey yet…. he would be back on BU under different moniker within 30 minutes….
    …and since NOTHING could be worse than ‘Dompey’.. …Wuh shiite man!! … we would be doing him a favour….
    Besides, it is much TOO EASY to make mock sport of the name ‘Dompey’… time for change…

34. David

I am here because I am amongst the people and culture that I love dearly and the conversation I long for now is there anything wrong with that?

I am happy be on a medium such as this which I do believe is the best thus far and believe me, I have been on many of them. And what separates BU from the rest in my view is the continual sustainability of subject matter. You post on other blogs and have to wait the next day for a reply, so you got it going on David no need to worry.

I was just express an honest view in support of a point I had made above; I meant no harm so please refrain from misconstruing what I really intented to convey here.

NOW BUSHIE, I SEE THAT THEIR RELEASE YOU EARLY THIS MORNING FROM DE ZOO, TRUSTEE HOURS ARE 6AM TO 6PM, MEK SURE YOU MEK IT BACK BEFORE IT GETS TOO DARK.

35. Observer,

I cannot reward the DLP leadership again for the many blatant misrepresentations they made in the last election campaign. Neither for their incompetence in managing the economy nor for their abrupt and unrepentant about face on many social policies for which they could have prepared us if they had taken us into their confidence. Nor for their arrogance and dismissive attitude in the face of legitimate queries and challenges from the citizens of this nation.

But….. The BLP with MIA in charge? NO! NO! NO!

And this has nothing to do with any sexual orientation and it’s coming from the original women’s libber.

As a form of protest for the poor quality of choice available to me and a statement demanding an overhaul of this system of unaccountability and disenfranchisement of the masses I will not make them feel they have pulled any wool over my eyes by giving them my vote.

You others can make the choice but I will not be handing the reins to either. I will, with the help of the Father, navigate through whatever the particular brand of mess results from your choice.

36. I know many people who read BU but are too timid to comment. This place isn’t easy. I got a baptism of fire when I first came here. But I’ve always been one to take the men on. And I’ve developed a tough hide over the years.

37. The ACs have demonstrated another reason why I can’t be a yard-fowl like them. The DLP yard-fowls have a tendency to attempt in making EVERY issue presented to BU for “discussion,” about DEM.

My “political leanings” will be “obvious” to you because you perceive everyone who contributes to BU are as politically biased as you are.

What makes many of us different from you and your ilk is that each time you present an argument, which in your opinion may favour the DLP, we can present a well defined and substantiated counterargument.

“Some food for thought?” You don’t think, you just blindly support the DLP with a lot of rhetorical party political diatribe and unsubstantiated generalized statements.

Your presence on BU is reflective of the quality of debate your DLP parliamentarians present in parliament, speeches made in press and at the Sunday evening constituency branch meetings, where they feel comfortable commenting on national issues within the confines of the DLP party faithful.

38. Firstly i never pretend or be pretentious about party support i never mixed or couched what i say i am crystal clear in all my comments so much so that i am targeted , The truth being that Artexeres is pretentious hiding behind language to deceive and give a semblance of neutrality ,the up in the face posture you present in your comments of negativity against govt policies while refraining from commentary to implicate your leanings to the opposition is sure telling of the message you wish to send
    However in order to convince me or others that you are not a political yardfowl of any leaning firstly your comments must reflect a balance one which cuts both ways and equally in levels of criticism of both parties until then you have overexposed your hands openly to an audience of astute observers,

39. BUT DONNA didn’t you come here on BU and BOLDLY stated that you are a DLP, your parents are die hard DLPs and you are the same? But you come here trying to sound fair and balance and Miss Goody two shoes saying that you will never vote BLP. What kinda game yuh trying to play??? The Paling game??? And yet say you will not vote in the next election because you are disappointed with the present crop you voted for.

Now allawunna listen and I will only say this once. If Mia is not ready to be PM of Barbados then tell me who de rass in any of these two parties is ready????

The problem with most of you all GOATS and that includes you Bush Tea et al, is that wunna too blasted lazy to do anything about changing the system of governance. So stop flapping yuh gums and start doing something. There is too much two faceness bout here. If Mia is ever elected we have the power to dismiss her as well.

40. @ Islandgal
    If Mia is ever elected we have the power to dismiss her as well.
    …you still talking shiite?
    Who is the ‘we’ that have this power to dismiss Mia…?
    When Mia becomes PM she will be PM for life.
    If we are lucky that will be just like her friend Thompson…and short,

…but if Owing could not get Mia dismissed
    …If George the hat could not dismiss her
    …if Maria can’t dismiss her

You going dismiss her…?
    Wuh you bite-proof?

…and try and leave out Donna fuh Bushie too
    Wuh happen…? she got yuh man? 🙂

41. Lest we forget what was supposed to be ? Remember this?

” Mr. Owen S. Arthur, Prime Minister for life and father of First World Barbados “

42. MIA just not ready.
    very appropriate title coming on the heels of the political racass in her party, but then again this is not the first rumbling that has occurred in her short term as leader beginning with the outburst between two of her ministers which has ended up in court with all the salacious details her style to ignore such problems gives more privilege and power to her ministers with an authority to disrespect and disregard her leadership,
    Mia greatest power she has given to the yardfowl brigade but unfortunately when in time of need and causes call for their backing and support of her they distance themselves in an aura of total disengagement,

43. aretexeres there you go again overexposing your hand, one thing for sure ac never coward in defiance of anything , now show me where you have been at all times critical of the blp bro, show me, huh,

44. @ac September 27, 2015 at 2:40 PM #

MIA just not ready.
    ………………………………………….

The very same thing can be said of Freundel Jerome Stuart………..since 2010, he has been like a monkey playing with a gun…….only thing that it is the life of Barbadians he has been effing up!

45. Yeah Douglas tell us when Freundel gine be Ready. How long you think before he gine be READY…? Next year? Next month?
    Freundel like he ready for the dustbin of history.
    A bunch of “wild boys” masquerading as a Govt. The Dems ain’t Ready.

46. Bushie stop flapping yuh gums nah? All you ever do is flap dem get some false teeth for a change. Remember I dumped you to the roadside and don’t forget that.

47. Owen pelting shots at the GOCB and MOF. Poor Chris, poor Delisle……………….these numbskulls actually believe you could talk and politic your way out of a recession you know? SO BLASTED FUNNY.

48. 5,000 will go very soon from BAMC and sugar industry