Submitted by Douglas
Leader of the BLP Mia Mottley (l) Former Leader of the BLP Owen Arthur (r)

“The challenge is, as represented in the Peter Wickham poll, that Ms Mottley . . . faces a problem of being accepted by the society at large and faces a problem of being accepted by a cross-section of the BLP,” Arthur told the media at his UWI, Cave Hill office.

“The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest […]for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said, “but she has to make herself likeable, she has to be respected because people want to believe that their leaders are full of integrity . . . and she has to consider the use of power; not be feared negatively, but be understood as a person who can use power effectively.”

Extracts from 2009 Interview with Owen Arthur

Owen Arthur warned Barbados and the Barbados Labour Party about everything that is taking place now in the corridors of the Barbados Labour Party. In an interview in 2009, he spoke honestly and without malice while giving an assessment of the leadership of his “former protégée”. He advised “the challenge is to have a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society and wide acceptance in the parliamentary party.”

Here lies the fault line, which is occurring on the eve of the party’s next annual conference. The race is on to have the Mia matter executed ahead of the Party’s conference. It is evident the “former protégée’s”arch rival and an unrepentant political acolyte of Arthur in the person of Jerome stands to benefit from this imbroglio. He stands to benefit immensely after standing down from an obvious third defeat at the hands of John Boyce.

The spin doctors in the BLP are busy at work trying to give the public the impression that the issue in Christ Church West is about Dr Maria Agard. We on this side are quite aware at the core issue is leadership. This re-occurring decimal in the thread of Opposition politics continues to define for this country what is to come if ever the BLP is elected to office.

Less we forget that what happened in Ch. Ch. West happened in the St James North and St George South candidate selections. The white elephant in the room is the apparent irregularities in the branch voters’ list or for some Mia’s list . The last recorded issues have to do the accusations of monies spent in St Joseph by the Female Club to ensure that Dale was a sure loser. Of course, no one is talking about Arthur’s concern re governance of the BLP’s edifice after he took over from his former protégée” on the last occasion. The issues there are the subject of a Barker Report.

There is clear and present danger in the Opposition way of managing the affairs of their party. What say you about the affairs of the country? It is clear that there is a danger in opposing the leadership of the Messiah.

This new brand leadership which is authored by the non male members ’club of the BLP begs the question, in whose interest is the process gaining momentum? The face of the Barbados Labour Party has changed so much since Arthur exited that is hardly recognizable beyond the Mia’s faction. She has done well to stamp her authority NOT leadership.

In a letter penned to Dear Joan and signed by Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P on the 19th September 2011. The author of the letter declares to Joan

“ You may well ask whether internal victory at all costs for certain interests is worth jeopardizing the image and appeal of our great Party in the eyes of the wider electorate at this volatile and uncertain juncture of our Nation’s history and within sight of a General Election.”…

We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority. For we must ask ourselves, after the women and young people who will be next in the line of attack? Why is one-man one vote so threatening to the leadership in a modern democratic Party?”

Understand what would happen if these machinations take place in national elections by those who appears to manipulate constituencies branch elections.

The views of Arthur and the views of Mia as contrasted here speak to a leadership of contradiction. The current leadership is on a journey to redefine politics by making it a blood sport where lives and reputation are placed in public space. Barbados must listen to the honest words of Owen Arthur “…there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said

222 responses to “Mia…Just Not Ready”

1. Give me OSA anytime rather than these part timers we have on both sides of the mace.

2. I see the IMF tell Jamaica they have to devalue further,no ifs,ands or buts.What is going on in JA.The last peg was JA$120.00 to 1 US.and the IMF say it gotta go further down.The IMF saying it not the PNP nor the JLP.The IMF running Jamaica.
    Myrie lawyers want JA$120 million!!!

3. Islandgal,

You have a problem which is common in this country. You cannot read and comprehend. I never said I was a member of any party. I said I voted DLP all my life because of a perception I had, a perception which has changed with the current administration. I never said I was a diehard anything. Besides “die hard ” does not mean “die never”.

Now I have said I am not voting DLP because of poor performance and I am not voting BLP because I do not like, admire, respect or have any confidence in Mia as a PERSON. So If a viable option presents itself I will vote for that. Is that simple enough for you to understand my game?

Now put away your two by four before you bust your own head because you are too slow to even hit my shadow!

4. Bushie,

I would swear Islandgal said you were her man only in your imagination. Now she says she dumped you by the roadside. What game is SHE playing?

5. Donna September 27, 2015 at 9:32 PM #

“Bushie: I would swear Islandgal said you were her man only in your imagination. Now she says she dumped you by the roadside. What game is SHE playing?”

Donna, you seem to have lost your sense of reasoning during your short sabatical. Islandgal told BU, at least twice, exactly why she dumped Bushie by the road side.

Bushie somes to BU “talking” about how dangerous or effective his whacker can be. However, Islandgal told him to “stop FLAPPING YUH GUMS and START DOING SOMETHING. There is too much two FACENESS bout here.”

Bushie using he mout too much and got de gall to ask she “Wuh you bite-proof?”

6. Got it!

7. ” I said I voted DLP all my life because of a perception I had,” ” I am not voting BLP because I do not like, admire, respect or have any confidence in Mia as a PERSON.”

For someone who NEVER voted for the other party EVER in their life, you still don’t call yourself a DIEHARD???? I NEVER said that you were a member of the DLP Party, you don’t have to be a member of it to be one. Your actions speak LOUDER than words!

8. I agree islandgal.

9. You again, simpleton? I will vote or not vote how I like and I will make no apologies neither give any more explanations to either of you. You really don’t seem to have the mental capacity to understand our system and the rationale behind a party vote. So go on and pat yourselves on your backs for thinking that you have scored some sort of points for maybe voting for a particular candidate (who is powerless unless his party wins the election) rather than a party philosophy. I will engage persons who know their political onions.

Honestly, I’ve taught three year olds with more understanding!

10. These things are sent to try us! Sigh…………

11. Valid reasons why one may vote for a party rather than an impressive individual candidate –

One is more impressed by the other party’s leader (who would probably become the prime minister, the greatest influence and final decision maker)

One is more impressed by the other party’s overall slate of candidates (who would probably make up cabinet – determining the effectiveness of the executive)

One is more impressed by the other party’s philosophy (which endures longer than individual leaders and usually determines policies pursued by a government).

and conversely,

One may not be impressed by individual candidate’s party leader

One may not be impressed by the other candidates of the individual’s party

One may not be impressed by the philosophy of the individual’s party.

So…… I was impressed by Errol Barrow and his party’s philosophy which it seems they have now abruptly and unapologetically abandoned. I was not impressed by Owen Arthur but would now prefer him to MIa Mottley and Freundel Stuart.

Anybody who can’t understand this should talk to Peter Wickham and he will explain to you why he factors in such when conducting his polls.

12. @Donna September 28, 2015 at 2:28 AM “So…… I was impressed by Errol Barrow and his party’s philosophy which it seems they have now abruptly and unapologetically abandoned.”

But Donna Errol Barrow has been dead, dead, dead since May 1987. And there have been what 5 or 6 elections since Barrow died and you were up until the last election (by your own admission) still holding on to the long dead man’s coat tails?

It was clear to a blind man on a trotting horse that the DLP has long abandoned Barrow’s philosophy. I have voted D too, many, many times, but I sure as he!! did not vote D in the last 3 elections…

I am not giving any party a vote just because of some long ago leader. Each party at each election has to EARN my vote.

I don’t vote for duppies.

13. the woman (donna) is daft she tries to impress others ,in her efforts to do so she contradicts her self just another boldfaced hypocrite straddling both sides of the fence, trying to draw or walk a straight line is definitely not easy for donna,

14. ac,

As usual you see only the limited view afforded you by your blinkers. It is inconceivable to you that ANYONE could be unbiased because YOU simply don’t know how to see any other side of an argument but your own.

I received a baptism of fire from the BU regulars when I first came. And since then from their comments I HAVE impressed many of them. You, on the other hand, they would dearly love to flush. But you are like a floater in a cess pool of filth.

15. Simpleton,

Errol Barrow died, his philosophy lived on for a while. Owen Arthur took over the BLP. I DID NOT LIKE OWEN ARTHUR.

Gosh, you are like a pit bull. Small brain, large jaws!

16. Bushie, Pieces and Exclaimer,

It’s you three and to a lesser extent Artaxerxes who have unleashed these hounds of hell on me. Island gal, Simpleton and AC! Haven’t you heard that hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. Stop praising me up so much! They are jealous!

17. Better yet, see if you can find some little compliment you can pay them, no matter how small.

18. OK Donna I get it! your need to be like!your need to not make waves!your need to be inclusive !Yes Donna a safe place to be!also a place where hypocrisy and lack of intestinal fortitude dwells. Also a place well known to crooks and liars, being honest and truthful might cause some pain but in the long run the benefits are enormous and satisfying .try not to be a people pleaser but practice a doctrine and a philosophy of truth and honestm

19. Poor soul is worse than a stopped clock. At least it gets to be right twice a day!

20. When I was leaving QC the Head Girl came to me. She wanted a profile of the graduating students for a year book. I asked her why me. She replied that she wanted an honest profile.

Many years ago my mother said to me, “Honour thy father and thy mother….”

“Parents, provoke not thy children to wrath!” I replied.

My father had to shield me and hustle me out of the house!

Lacking in intestinal fortitude? Bah!!

I present myself to BU honestly. I can’t help it if some people are pleased.

Now let’s remember what we are here for and not make it all about me! Please!

21. @ Donna

I will extend similar advice you offered me when I foolishly engaged in a jousting match with Dompey.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I see that you have been savagely attacked over the last few whulosss… 7 to 8 hours relentlessly

De ole man did out walking de dogs dis morning causing de madam come back and tell me whu I got to do to keep me circulation going.

As to the battle dat you fighting, only one body in dat battle ent worf fighting against cause she ent really important (unless George Pilgrim or de nex fellow pitch in the identity)

Well de ole man gine do whu you say and send “tiding of joy to AC” and I hope dat dis Xmas dat you husband buy you you own computer and dat you change you name to “AC de Better 1/2 or some udder fraction”

Me and Islandgal good. Dere was a time befo i start liking SSS (and you) I was did “talking” wid she but she did jilted me up at farley Hill aftah telling me dat she did wearing yellow en ting and I ent get ovah it yet.

Well Simple Simon is a very opinionated umman and when she get she opinion well wild horses cyan get she move.

I ent ry no Donkeys pun she yet, I only find two but i feel dat effing de ole man find 2 mo (I say mo’ not Moore”, I may gets she to stop saying “whatevah, when she get prove wrong”. Now she does sometimes got she pint and ting but if she catch a shooting star she gine ride it all de was to the Pleiades.

I hope dat you survive de mauling and dat dem fellows who was did rying to get up to you en ting (dem know who dem is, rush in tuh help you now you need help en ting…

23. @Donna wrote, ““Parents, provoke not thy children to wrath!” I replied.

My father had to shield me and hustle me out of the house!”

Good thing your father was there. Wunna women doan mek sport. Islandgal246 is not to be messed with either.

24. @ pieceuhderockyeahright ,

De women on dis blog doan mek sport so be careful.

25. Intestinal fortitude comes with a willingness to stand one’s ground and to not seeking shields or safe havens. A persons words are measured by their ability to stand by their every word and not sweetened or softened by the glares or opinions of others.

26. Artax

It is important that you get it through your coconut that your contribution here is of no more value than anyone of us here on BU, and that we all here for one thing and one thing I only hope, and that is to pine for collegiate discourse which sheds greater light on matter pertaining to the affairs of our country.

And perhaps you’re of the opinion that Dompey hasn’t the intellectual marbles to be on the stage as an individual as remarkable and intellectually gifted as your are, and I am here to tell you that isn’t about how much one knows or doesn’t know, it is about character my friend. And as the greatest scientific thinker in human history to date puts it: ” Try not to be a man of success, but rather try to be a man of value.”

27. @ Dompey

You have a tendency in attempting to lead BU down a path that focuses on you.

IT SEEMS AS THOUGH YOUR MISSION IS TO DESTROY BARBADOS UNDERGROUND AND THE BLOG-MASTER SHOULD STOP YOU BEFORE YOU SUCCEED.

28. Artax

I have been here on BU long than you have, and I could say this unequivocally and unambiguously, BU still remains the number one social media blog throughout the Caribbean archipelago.

And believe I me when I say to you that I have on the Nation Newspaper Blog; I been the Barbados Atheist Blog; I have been on the Speak Out Barbados Blog; I been the Barbados Today Blog; I been on the Nation Newspaper Blog on Facebook and lot more blogs in the region for that matter.

And what separates BU from this rest of them is the sustainability of subject matter, you respond to an issue of some of these blogs and you have wait hours and sometime days for a response.

So Artax, keep on imploring the blogmaster to ban Dompey because you can’t stand de heat in de kitchen. Well too bad, ask Bushie for some starch to stiffen up yah disjointed backbone, yah want tah share licks and when it is yah time tah tek licks, yah position yahself tightly between blogman leg spewing yah fear tactics.

29. Let us demonstrate when it is time to move on, please!

30. Artax

And I have also been on my good friend Wade Gibbons Facebook page because he post topics continually, and he still can’t touch BU. Sorry Gibbons…! lol

31. What does it mean when a blog submitted by a DLP sycophant gets derailed by other DLP lackeys?
    Is the propaganda arm of the Dems now in Scorched Earth mode?

32. To Whom It May Concern In The BLP

I am being forced to make a choice between prevasive incompetence on the one hand and pretensive competence on the other. Any assistance you can render in distinguishing your party from the other would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
    Raw Bake

33. Ask Bush TEA , he who knows everything, but in the meantime seek and ye shall find Knock and it shall be opened unto to you and if that does not work form yuh own party,

34. Artaxerxes,

Sometimes one has to show that ac character that she can’t frighten you. She seems to think she is some sort of bully. I don’t do it often or for long.

Devil Incarnate otherwise known as ac,

I never said that I sought any shield. My father shielded me because HE was scared. HE PUSHED me out of the house. I NEVER ran from my mother’s licks. I stood and took them because she was my mother and blocked them when I considered them excessive. That fact that I never ran or cried always enraged her more. So……….. your record is still worse than a stopped clock, I’m afraid.

35. now you have seriously confirmed that you were a victim of child abuse, watch your language, uh hear ,

36. As were most of us in that time. We survived. Now do you wish to insult me perhaps for the “shame” of being a victim of child abuse? Go ahead! Take your best shot!

37. “Gabriel September 27, 2015 at 9:03 PM #

Give me OSA anytime rather than these part timers we have on both sides of the mace.”

When the history of the BLP is written, unbiased historians will record that Mr Owen Seymour Arthur brek them up because he felt betrayed when his decision top give up the leadership was accepted by the party.

38. balance,

This may very well be so but can you suggest for me somebody in that party who could take over the leadership of the party and ultimately the country and do an acceptable job?

39. ‘Donna September 29, 2015 at 5:28 AM #

balance,

This may very well be so but can you suggest for me somebody in that party who could take over the leadership of the party and ultimately the country and do an acceptable job?”

The answer is no because she is the best out of a poor lot but in drawing parallels across the divide one can say if Mr Stuart can be considered a good leader by the DLP faithful then perhaps there might be somebody within the ranks You can’t make bricks out of straw. Politicians these days are like crabs in a barrel who cannot hold their own. The majority are elected through the paramountcy of the party. Ms Mottley’s problem is that she has not been able to consolidate her position up to now and how can she having to rely on persons who ousted her before and do not depend on her graces unlike the protagonists on the Government side who must tread warily with the main focus on pension entitlement.
    I do not know what Ms Mottley did to Mr Arthur but I heard Mr Arthur on the political platforms and in media interviews saying that he was preparing Ms Mottley for higher office. She held high profile Ministries under his leadership. I am not privy to the internal squabbles which engulfed the BLP and of which Mr Arthur gloated when such squabbles engulfed the DLP and which are par for the course in most or political organisations which fuel ambition but Mr Arthur should have been called to explain his volte-face concerning Ms Mottley.

40. No wonder! you are still docile living in fear of begin not liked not accepted being rejected some of the mental scars of being an abused child which so plainly is captured in many of your comments to aim and please, i dare you to speak honestly of those things which others would disagree on this blog instead of seeking safety havens from the fire and brimstone which you once received on bu when you spoke with honesty,

41. The bottomline: as long as Arthur continues to shoot potshots at Mottley and the BLP it will be very difficult to achieve. Mottley has significant support still within the party. Mottley’s only chance maybe to negotiate an exit for the sake of the party. On the current trajectory it looks dicey for her. BUT, a few months is a long time in politics. She needs to win a battle to win national buyin to her way of doing things.

42. Mia has had six years to formulated and define her leadership, instead she became a cartoon character representative of Doom and gloom.She has no one else to blame but herself . Her image as one who can transform good governance is tainted and shattered with an image well known to political yardfowls one of selfishness and greed . She pretends to be a patriot but at every turn she whips up frenzy to void and destruct, She has become her own worst enemy and Owen Arthur can not be blamed for the image which she portrays in the political arena
    Six and a half years of crying the sky is falling! six and a half years of wasted opportunities

43. Mia when she withdrew from the race to Chair the BLP questioned the processes within the party. She has had a chance to attack the problem; democratise the party, try any way. Her weak support within the party perhaps has acted as a delimiter. By trying perhaps she would have been able to turn it around. By doing nothing she has allowed a label to attach like the rest.

Twidle D and Twiddle B

44. And there for all to see displayed in full depravity – the character of the Devil incarnate known as ac, Who would seek to further abuse someone whom she claims is still suffering from the mental scars of child abuse.

Devil, my earthly father was and is full of love for me. My mother loves me as much as she could in her understanding of the word. My son loves me more than he can find words to express and my Heavenly Father knows me, loves me and approves of me. And since it is HIs approval I seek above all, I am truly blessed. My problem would arise if YOU started to approve of me. Your insults are like music to my ears. It shows that I am on the right track Evil abhors goodness.

If there is any tiny spark of humanity in you, now would be the appropriate time to redeem yourself from your last despicable outburst.

Really I don’t expect it because I believe, and I say IN ALL HONESTY, you are indeed a vile and disgusting creature, corrupt to the very core!

Now enough of this nonsense. And the topic was……..

45. balance,

And that is the point I’ve been trying to make. We are politically bankrupt when you look at the current crop on both sides. I cannot endorse any of them. Where oh where can be found a good leader of this nation? My eyes are hurting from staring for too long at the horizon.

46. We can retreat to a philosophical position and suggest a people get the government it deserves because the politician is bred from the society we all contribute to build.

47. Oh no I did not seek out to abuse you Truth is the first order of business .anyhow you

have the sympathy card your in four and accessible for your use “of”when the verbal abuse becomes intolerable on bu . ac unfortunately does not have that option and must fight his battles here on bu all by self

48. David,

Some people contribute mostly good and some contribute mostly bad to the building. Right now it just seems like there are more bad builders than good. The blame for this morass cannot to attributed to all. Some people have dedicated their lives to fighting against this type of society.

49. That’s cannot BE attributed to all.

50. You wouldn’t know truth it slapped you in the face!