Crop Over 2015 is about to slide off the calendar and by the measurement of many it was a success. BU will reserve judgment until a more respectful  time but we offer this: is Crop Over […]a big party [carnival] or is it meant to be an outlet for vigorous cultural exprehttps://barbadosunderground.net/wp-admin/post.php?post=47590&action=editssion.

Thanks to international recording artist Rihanna Crop Over 2015 has been given its fair share of international exposure. The management at the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. must be grinning like the proverbial Cheshire cat.

Rihanna sightings!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

198 responses to “2015 Crop Over and Rihanna”

1. Good for you, Rhianna! Looks like she enjoyed herself!

2. home girl Rhianna brought home the bacon….

3. @ David,

Riri / Lewis in Barbados is getting a lot of “International” attention.

This is good FREE exposure for Barbados.

4. Rhianna the Million dollar girl…Love you bad.

5. RiRi
    after the feting you gone have to hit the gym girl, you looking a lil chunksy.

6. RiRi will only return ……as long as the Dems remain in office.

Produgirl told me that he admires RiRi when returns to Bim….therefore Prodigirl is going to ensure that the Dems remain in office!

Keep up the good work….Prodigirl…

7. It is an absolute disgrace that a common, vulgar, coarse, pagan like Rihanna is exalted by the little people in Barbados. Money isn’t everything. Naked women who do anything for fame should not be held up as examples to young girls.Enough of this perverse creature.

8. Good for you chad99999. Now that you’ve spewed your venom you can return to the forest from whence you can, find a big tree, coil yourself up and go back to sleep. I presume you would have her compete in the international music scene like Sister Marshall and sell vegetables to supplement her income (no offense Sister M). At least she doesn’t lie to the people, make underhand deals with taxpayers money and take kick-backs while waiting on a pension.

9. @Fearplay

Chad out his comment a little crass but there is a view Rihanna’s global popularity is based on feeding a pop culture that is largely based on immorality. Just putting another view.

10. Agreed David, but worst is happening here and how little we protest. Who is the bigger sinner, Rihanna doing what she has to do in order to succeed in an exceedingly competitive business or those here who do what they do just because they can and at our expense? Do we not have leaders in the church who fraternize with members of the congregation, married politicians having affairs with constituents (or worse, with non lepers), married business leaders having tryst with staff, teachers doing far more than teaching pupils, and the list goes on. Lets put a stop to this rot right here before criticizing Rihanna for learning the rules of the game she HAS no control over and then for winning so consistently.

11. @David,

Just imagine what Rihanna and Lewis can do for Grenada’s Tourism.

12. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, you lost me a bit wid: “…but there is a view Rihanna’s global popularity is based on feeding a pop culture that is largely based on immorality”.

You are not talking about Rhianna the singer I presume but Robyn Fenty the Combermere Scholarship Awardee who after completing her PhD at Oxford is now expected to take up her position at the Weill Cornell Cancer Research Center where she is expected to continue her ground breaking work on a breast cancer cure.

Seriously David, Rhianna alone, in the what 10 years is it, in the international industry is ‘feeding’ the pop culture of immortality!!!

Come on man. What does Beyonce feed. What did Diana Ross or Aretha Frankly feed?

The music industry is what it is. Rhianna is certainly not a mild and well behaved girl of the type one takes home to make a family and live in the lovely bungalow by the sea. She is an artist using her voice and sexuality to make a fantastic living.

Many abhor that sort of thing and rightly so but to single her out for their dislike is being particularly biased you don’t think.

13. @FearPlay,

Let them cuss Rihanna. Nothing anyone on BU says can negatively affect Rihanna.

You are correct about the immorality of people and Bajans are no exception.

Bajans talk about morality but practice wutlessness…. I is a real Bajan and practice. lol

14. Geez what de rass wunna want Rhianna to be ?? An effing nun in a convent? What is the difference between her and the revellers on Kadooment day? The woman works hard for her money while the rest of wunna can’t even turn a penny into a dollar. But wuna does think it is ok when de white tourist come here and be half naked pon de beach and screwing dem black rough men? Bunch of frigging hypocrites wunna is including you David!

15. A fair guess is chad99999 is a Jimmy Swaggart convert. A cockroach with hands.

16. Oh shiite! I forget to warn Pieceuhderock not to open de link above before tekkin he medication. lol

17. @Dee Word

Please read with understanding: BU was careful to make the point there is a view. To be expected we are quick to ascribe the view to BU. The point is not whether what Bajans think about Rihanna and if it will affect her, we can only effect decisions WE make regarding the extent to which some feel we promote Rihanna the symbol to pursue the economic benefit and sacrifice everything else. It is a discussion that will go no where but people are entitled to have it.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

I thank you for telling me these things AFTER THE FACT HANTS!!

Krave and now this, thanks a million.

I see that you trying to gi’ de ole man bad feels before De Madam come back in September

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ a Few of You

Rihanna and Robyn Fenty.

Jay Zee and Roc Nation invest in the performer and “music” paladin, Rihanna and Mac have collaborated on the new Mac Makeup Collection and Robyn Fenty and UNICEF partnered on the “There’s the Children” Outeach Programme in the Philippines.

We as a nation do not know how to fight battles but we enjoy skirmishes.

The leverage of the Rihanna currency WILL FOREVER BE LOST on our small minds and mindedness.

Husain Bolt and his advertising deals grossed him US $24M in 2013 http://www.tsmplug.com/richlist/usain-bolt-net-worth/

Bruce Wayne Billionaire Playboy by day and Batman crime fighter by night.

It is what we are remember for.

If our cuntry was led by a Nelson Mandela he would have been able to persuade the Rihanna or Ms. Fenty to market Barbados in a more tangible way that a flag on a video.

But then take a step Back and see what will the young lass market?

Dirty streets? Dirty venal politicians? (I tief dat word venal from a blogger here)

What do we have that is marketable?

Hamilton took time off to follow Rihanna to Bulbados?

What would attract Ms Fenty to “come back” in such a way that she promotes Bulbados?

She nor her business advisor who was on the road wukking up, do not see anything nor are they actuated to participate in the other empty 364 days of BIM.

As young as she is she is a multimillionaire who UNICEF was able to coopt in their fight for the children of the Philippines and secure US$100,000 of her money.

Dont point fingers at youth that “without guidance”, as we all once were, can’t see anything other than what is put in front of her.

The battle was to have packaged a deal that over these many years with Miss Fenty would have gestated into an offering that Ms. Fenty would have been in tune with, as Bolt is in tune with per his Jamaica

Let us accept that we have failed! Let us not point fingers at Rihanna, nor Michael Jackson, or the other performers and stars who do what we want them to do but rather see this as our collective loss where none of the 278K bajans nor the 40K guyanese of whom our Director of Public Prosecution Leacock is one, a short one too, where not one of us has been able to so incite Ms. Fenty to enact our Wasteful Pledge….

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry “The digital “There for the Philippines” campaign is the correct name

21. Rihanna is as natural an artist as is Garry,Gabby and Suki.They have not only excelled beyond our wildest dreams but have never lost their humanity.They are comfortable in their skins,natural down to earth Bajans.
    As the super female that she is,we who love,adore and relish the female of the species of Homo sapiens,are honoured not only by her mere presence,but what she enables us to imagine.What a beauty!

22. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Ah David, the die rolls both ways. I recognize and appreciate that you post comments that reflect views held not by you or BU and that are intended solely to move the discussion.

Similarly although my riposte cited you, it is certainly not directed specifically to your personal view but rather to the moderator who moved the discussion. You are a devil’s advocate in that regard. Let’s be clear and be copacetic on that.

Now that said. The authorities have to use Rhianna as best as they can and they know very well that a celebrity ‘endorser’ is only as good to their product as is the quality and lifestyle of that celebrity.

Rhianna is our celebrity face because she is a Bajan. It’s as simple as that. We would be foolish not to piggy back on her publicity.

The question is: Would Barbados seek her out as a celebrity voice/face for our island if she was not a native? I would see no special reason we would quite frankly, as they are others out there who would be just as dynamic and have less of the ‘immoral pop culture’ baggage which you mentioned.

But all of that is moot.

She is Bajan and wherever she goes or her songs are heard someone learns about this little island when they are told about her country of birth. That’s a good thing. We can hope it encourages them to learn a bit more of the island and understand that it’s not part of Jamaica!

On a total different note re Rhianna. Some years back one of the US pop-stars visited a high school – I believe it was their alma mater – and did some interesting things there. We have music stars who are successful enough who could set up some scholarships or other programs to mentor talented school age artists. Maybe they are some in place but I am not aware.

Of course it would not be school specific; we are too small and that would be too restrictive.

23. The above link should be of some interest to BU.

24. @Dee Word

Agree with most of your last comment, Rihanna is a global brand many Barbadians remain clueless as to the potential.

25. Artaxerxes on August 4, 2015 at 11:41 AM
    The above link should be of some interest to BU.

And you point is?

26. “Your”

27. A beautiful woman smoking a cigarette……you’ve come a long way baby! What exactly is your point Artaexxcess???

28. Rihanna isn’t merely doing what she has to do to succeed, as some are suggesting. She is doing more than most other competing big name singers to seek attention through sexually provocative behaviour. She is in the Madonna category. There is a difference between success and excess. Between realistic compromises, and the eager embrace of Evil. We should not excuse what she is doing. We should turn away from it. Let her sell her soul to the Devil. She will burn.

29. Robin Fenty / rhianna

30. Chad999999….GO TO CHURCH LOCK THE DOORS AND THROW AWAY THE KEYS OUTSIDE! MAY YOU BURN IN HELL!

31. fame and heartbreak rhianna

32. Island
    I was thinking Rev Dr David Durant,the senator who said to all of the world that 2 Prime ministers dead pun he watch and he mekkin sure the 3rd don’t. Chad sound familiar.

33. Wuh looka these comments don neh. Here we go again, the black crab effect. Bajans pulling down each other, psffttt.

34. chad99999 August 4, 2015 at 5:41 PM #

I wish the woman well but truth be told you do have a good point.She is being exploited excessively.I hope when its all said and done , she isn’t left broke and broken.Many have walked that road before ,rich today,then humiliated into obscurity.

35. I think Rihanna is a beautiful girl who never forgets Barbados. I wish her the best but I really do not like her image. However she has the right to make her own choices and live her own life. She doesn’t have to be a role model for anybody’s daughter. If it were up to me I wouldn’t sacrifice my beliefs for any amount of money and so would not seek to exploit her celebrity in the pursuit of the tourist dollar. Chad 99999 you need to remember that you also are a sinner and have no authority or right to condemn anybody to hell even if there is such a place. Christians are to be known by their love not by the venom they spew. Even if you do not agree with Rihanna or other revellers attire or lack thereof your vitriol is not going to win any souls for Christ. If we were less venomous and more loving people would take us more seriously. We must love them naked or clothed. Then they will believe that there is something to this Christianity thing. And then perhaps they will join us.

36. We can never embrace our own. Many artiste worked overseas for big bucks .How many of them donated to Barbados or mentioned it. Rihanna could have said she was a guyanese and to hell with her love for her island home. She is a STRONG woman who can make her choices. Weak women let men make choices for them and then get left by the way.
    What if we had a naked man would this conversation be going any where.
    When will this discussion look at who is leading some young boys to bend ova.

37. Farmers reaping steady sales

The 2015 Crop Over Season has been especially good overall to local meat producers, who have reportedly recorded consistent sales over the last few weeks.
    Word of this has come from Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS), James Paul, who made the disclosure in an interview with the Barbados Advocate yesterday morning. According to Paul, it has been a relatively rewarding period for vegetable farmers as well, who though experiencing some challenges in areas where irrigation is lacking, have been recording “good sales”. The BAS official added that once there are no extremely dry spells or heavy rain in the weeks to come, Barbadians can expect to continue to have an ample supply of local crops.
    “Things have been looking up for the sector so to speak. You would notice right now that the price of pork has been extremely good for consumers. Pork production has actually increased over last year and I suspect that as we go into the second half of the year there will be a further increase in production,” he noted.
    The Chief Executive Officer’s comments came however, as he explained that despite this good fortune, some of the small local butchers have been expressing concern about competition from local enterprises which are importing the meat from overseas. Paul is therefore suggesting that the increase in sales they have been experiencing in recent times could be even better, if certain entities which still import pork work more closely with local producers. With that in mind, he warned that if this competition takes root, it is likely to present a challenge to the small producers being able to get the pork they produce off their hands, and that could put the sector in jeopardy.
    “We have to ensure that we do not have a situation where pork is coming in and perhaps even being sold cheaper than what is produced here, especially when there is an increased amount of local pork on the market,” he stated. (JRT) “We have to ensure that we do not have a situation where pork is coming in and perhaps even being sold cheaper than what is produced here, especially when there is an increased amount of local pork on the market,” he stated.

38. Here we are discussing Rihanna and you-know-who still has $4M deposited with Central Bank and God knows how much elsewhere. You-know-who is still Speaking in the house, you-know-who is still bedding member of the congregation, not a word from the pm on Cahill, the hotel that sounds like a form of footwear allowed to construct a groin to further upset south coast beaches – maybe I should stop now, you’ve got the message.

Priorities people, priorities.

39. @Fearplay

Here is some advice, make your point and ignore those with agendas and or are politically partisans. It is the independents who will make a difference. Plus, those with agendas are easy to identify and they quickly loose credibility.

On 5 August 2015 at 10:31, Barbados Underground wrote:

40. What you’re trying to say is that the awesome policies of Stephen “Lil Caesar” Lashley and the DLP were responsible for Crop Over 2015 being the best ever, since the festival was conceptualized, and the farmers made huge profits as a result.

Okay, okay, point taken…….

Now that you’ve managed to post the “good news,” perhaps you can tell us about the perceived conflict of interest scenario, whereby Sanitation trucks and Transport Board buses are being repaired by Trans-Tech Inc. and the ministers of those government entities, namely, Denis Lowe and Michael Lashley, are driving SUVs owned by the said Trans-Tech.

By the way, the nonsense issue about Mottley and the LEC has been debunked by Sir Henry Forde. Also, the refusal of Adriel Brathwaite to reveal the results of his investigation into the matter, as well as his refusal to speak on the issue any further, can be interpreted as confirmation of Sir Henry’s explanation.

Now, back to our regular scheduled programming, i.e. discussing Rhianna.

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;

Thanks for your reminder about the “Adriel Brathwaite – Mottley LEC” affair.

What confirmation what?

ac and most yardfowl still holdfast to the propaganda despite the input by Sir Henry Forde which is viewed as obviously partisan by them.

It is totally unacceptable that an AG could promise to investigate a matter as important as the verification or otherwise of the credentials of an MP to practice law in Barbados and then neglect to report the results of his investigation thereby leaving the impression in the minds of the above that the allegation had merit. But that appears to be par for the course.

Yuh mean nu’nn uh dem, especially his leader, ca’nn get he tuh unnderstan what is proper behaviour for an AG of the Crown?

42. Mrs AC and Mr Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right

It never ceases to amaze me how our ideas rather the ideas of Bajans, when presented by Bajans, by Bajans never see the light of day, AS LONG AS YOU ARE A BAJAN.

I submitted a concept document to the Ministry of Tourism called “Credit to My Nation” which featured Rihanna and more particularly Miss Fenty as a champion of the tourism product of Barbados

In fact I not only submitted the item to the Minister of Tourism Mr. Sealy, I also submitted it to Ambassador Kellman and her sister Samantha Rock and uploaded it here to Barbados UnderGround.

Again, before anyone starts, I want you to understand that this is not about me, I have grown tired of seeing how we being armed with the intellect and the local talent seem impotent in our ability to make anything happen for the benefit of our Nation.

I notices that Ms. Fenty was able to attract the interest of none other than Ms. Oprah Winfrey who brought her team here to Barbados and did an excellent video on a person who, irrespective of all of the commentary, has become a superstar as a citizen whom many would say, had she remained in these 166 sq. miles would never have garnered such renown NOR $$.

I would like all of the authorities, both the existing ones AS WELL AS the ones soon to be in power, to see how that concept of working with the much more mature Ms. Fenty and leveraging the “People of Interest” that she or a team that she endorses would be able to reach out to virtually 90% of the world of “POIs” to extend and invitation to a Rihanna Branded “Staycation with the Stars”

Ms. Fenty reaches out to them and invites various People of renown to an enclave of well appointed hotels and the stars or performers come while bringing with them a bevy of visitors who will follow them for food and beverage, (restauranteers will be included) accommodation (approved hoteliers will be included) and sea, surf and sand.

Our summer season April 1 to December 22 in notorious for being so paltry that a hotelier would be grateful for a 50% bed night rate, if only to pay his utilities, salaries and garbage disposal feeThe People of Interest Campaign might be extended to an Activity of Interest where specific persons like renown karatekas, judoists can be invited by Rihanna, and not that everyone is her person of interest like the Formula racer Mr. Hamilton but the Lady has pull.

Talk what you will Miss Fenty has matured and is seeing that what is pert and defying gravity now will one day droop to rise no more, notwithstanding Botox.

Of course I expect that even though Oprah’s presence shows that my Credit to My Nation concept WILL work, it will be abandoned because of the chant “dat idea come from that fellow Weekes, Kill it Before it Grow …Bob Marley styling”

Observe how she singled out the Barbados plaque.

Notwithstanding my plea for this Credit to My Nation Campaign

43. All by herself Rhianna has done a wonderful job unselfishly of promoting Barbados without a doubt. Every one can remember the negative hits she got when she was Barbados youth ambassador and her appearance in the featured commercial promotions of barbados, I believe by now that she must have learned her lesson and any one can see that her loves for Barbados goes beyond wanting to be attached to commercial enterprises that use her name as leverage for business, but rather be free to Robin Fenty when she graces these shores and still have an added advantage of promoting barbados as Rhianna with no strings attached,

44. Some people are willing to overlook Rihanna’s sins because she is an asset to the economy. Whoa! The number of tourists Rihanna can attract to Barbados is probably quite small. Most Brits and North Americans have already heard about Barbados from advertisements and from friends who have visited the Caribbean, and while they may find it interesting that Rihanna is from Barbados, she is not likely to make a difference to their travel choices. Even if there were a Rihanna Effect, it would not last for more than a few more years. By then Rihanna’s celebrity will have settled into maturity. Even durable stars must give ground to new faces before long.
    I wish Bajans would realize that the best way to secure the tourist industry is to create an efficient hotel industry (we do not have one now), improve the design of resorts, and offer more value for the tourist dollar. The skills to do these things are readily available. It is just a matter of putting the right people into positions of authority and responsibility.

45. Chad99999,

Now you are speaking rationally. There is a way to become economically viable without compromising principles. We need to clean up our act (in more ways than one) and offer a good product at a fair price not try to piggyback on Rihanna.

Remember Chad,

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am but a noisy gong or a clanging symbol.”

Read I Corinthians again. It will tell you all about love. Love builds up and edifies. It does not attempt to humiliate people. Rihanna is to be loved with the love of Christ who enables us to love even those we can’t love on our own. God does not relish the idea of his beautiful Rihanna “burning in Hell”. Therefore you, as a Christian are not allowed to be licking your lips in anticipation.

Note that Jesus saved most of his criticism for the hypocrites, the religious leaders, not the regular people like the woman caught in adultery.

Our mission, should you choose to accept it, is to make disciples of all the nations. See Matthew Chapter 28 Verse 19.

Today’s people do not respond well to condemnation from Christians who have feet of clay. If we want to make disciples of them we must first embrace them as they are (yes, even when they are naked). Remember that they can see our faults and failings and unless we acknowledge that we are a work-in-progress and not a perfect reflection of Christ we will succeed only in turning them away. We must explain that we are on a journey, every day drawing nearer to Christ. Then we must walk the walk, not only talk the talk.

After we embrace them we educate them LOVINGLY and pray that the Holy Spirit will lead them into the knowledge of all truth. He works to convict (convince) them and bring about the necessary changes GRADUALLY.

“Just as I am, I come” is not just a meaningless hymn. We can come to Christ as we are even in our skimpy Kadooment costumes. He knows what we look like under our clothes anyway. And since He made it, I believe He thinks it’s beautiful. He will cloth us in His time with His righteousness.

Read your Bible again, Chad. Do it daily lest you forget!

Peace and Love, Bro!

46. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Donna your scripture based message is an uplifting one and well worth the reading. My only dispute with your commentary is that Chad99999 is ‘speaking rationally’.

Chad states some facts and ties them together to assert personal opinions that fly in the face of reality so I am unsure how he can be considered as ‘setting out reasons or a logical basis for a course of action’ i.e. being rational.

First up, Barbados’ tourism planners have succeeded (with the normal ebbs and flows of any such market) very well over the last 30+ years. Different strategies have been used, and very skilled people – many who went on to work successfully in top markets after the stint in Barbados – have worked in or led our thrust.

His remark: “The skills to do these things are readily available. It is … putting the right people into positions of authority and responsibility” means little. Of course the skills have been there for years. The right person is a function of RESULTS. We have had some of that.

The BHTA have ha several internationally famous Bajan as lead promoters – Sir Garry, Allison, Edwin and others over the years; some Bajans and groups become de facto tourist agents by their renown like Obadele, The Sicilian Singers, the Boy Choirs under the late Dr Flechter, WI cricket etc etc.

Rhianna obviously dwarfs them all in terms of her name recognition world-wide and thus is a jewel never before seen in the jewellery box. Polish and use accordingly when appropriate! Why should this be a fight on morality.

Every celebrity themed promotion is fraught with some risks and anyone with common sense understands all that. So for Chad to come here and drop a few facts and then use his high moral tone to condemn Rhianna and by extension the Bdos tourist marketing/product is certainly not based in rational discourse.

His remarks are deeply personal and shewed and he certainly has every right to make them but he is not thinking in practical business terms.

47. De ingrunt Word,

As a Christian I believe that the Rihanna image is not what we should wish to portray as the face of Barbados. Our business model is different from yours since we ask God to direct us in all things. Business is not exempt. We cannot endorse the sacrifice of morals on the altar of the mighty dollar. We believe there is a right way and a wrong way to make money. We trust in the ALMIGHTY God who will ultimately supply all our needs. If you call that irrational I have experience to the contrary.

And what is wrong with a high moral tone? Your submissions regarding our politicians suggest that you hold them to high moral standards.

And your language re polishing Rihanna and using her when necessary is quite distasteful to me. I think you should restate that. She is not a thing to be polished and used for our purposes. Besides, what kind of polish are you thinking of using?

Rihanna is a young person who needs some direction. I am in no position to condemn her since it took a while for me to find it. She seems to have a good heart so she is indeed a diamond in the rough. I believe GOD will polish her in good time.