The "Old Colonial System" Is Still Choking Us!
The following was posted to Facebook and credit given to David Comissiong who is President of the Clement Payne Movement.

David Comissiong – President of Clement Payne Movement
Our nation will be celebrating 50 years of “Independence” next year, but there is overwhelming evidence that crucial components of the “Old Colonial System” are still very much alive and well in today’s Barbados ! And one particularly odious remnant is that aspect of the “Old Colonial System” that traditionally permitted elite white Barbadian businessmen to be granted and to enjoy preferential business and commercial arrangements that allowed them to feed on the substance of the Barbadian state and the mass of predominantly black taxpayers and consumers.
The sad reality in today’s Barbados is that 49 years after achieving formal political Independence, the predominantly black Government of Barbados is still holding on to old colonial practices and granting amazingly preferential government contracts to elite white Barbadian businessmen– contracts that they would never dream of conferring upon black Barbadian businesspeople!
But if you doubt my assertion, then let us examine in detail one example of this disturbing phenomenon that is at the core of the current public controversy swirling around the Private Waste Haulers and the Ministry of the Environment.
Many Barbadians may not be aware of it, but at the centre of this controversy is a company known as “Sustainable (Barbados) Recycling Centre Inc.” (SBRC)– a company that is intimately associated with that well known white Barbadian businessman by the name of Bizzy Williams.
SBRC is a 7year old company that was established by Mr. Bizzy Williams and four other directors for the purpose of providing waste management services. And it is this company and the truly amazing contract granted to it by the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government that is at the heart of the Municipal Solid Waste Tax and Private Waste Haulers controversies that have so wracked Barbados in recent times.
The whole depressing story surrounding SBRC and its contract with the DLP Government can be gleaned from the SBRC file at Government’s “Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office” (CAIPO) situated at Baobab Tower, Warrens, St. Michael. The file is a public file that any citizen is entitled to see upon paying a fee of $5.00. The Company number is 29864, and I would encourage everyone to go to CAIPO and read the file themselves.
The company file at CAIPO will reveal that Mr. Bizzy Williams registered SBRC as a company on the 24th of January 2008. And while this new company might have begun its life with some equipment, it initially had no land on which to carry out a national waste management function, nor the equipment required to set up and operate a national waste management facility. In effect, it was a new start-up company that had to be fitted out.
Furthermore, SBRC had been established in a Barbados in which the task of waste management and disposal had long been a public function entrusted to the Sanitation Service Authority– a statutory corporation that Government created in 1975 and mandated to “provide and maintain suitable places, buildings and appliances for the deposit, disposal or destruction of refuse.”
As all Barbadians are aware, the SSA had long operated a Landfill at Mangrove, St. Thomas, as well as a nearby Depot at Vaucluse, St. Thomas, and both the SSA and private waste haulers deposited refuse at the Mangrove Landfill free of any charge to the vehicles transporting the waste.
It is against this background that SBRC entered the national picture! And the rest of the story– as gleaned from the CAIPO file– is as follows:-
-
On 11th June 2009, the Government of Barbados (acting through the Ministry of the Environment) entered into a so-called “Take or Pay” contract with this start-up company, by virtue of which Government undertook to lease SBRC some 35 acres of the Vaucluse property on which the SSA depot was located for a 20 year period; SBRC, in turn, undertook to “design, construct and operate” a waste management facility on the said 35 acres of land; and, to seal the deal, Government entered into a legally binding obligation to provide SBRC with a minimum of 360,000 tons of waste to be “managed” each year at a fee of $65 per ton, thereby guaranteeing that Government would pay SBRC a minimum of $22.6 MILLION every year!
-
SBRC then took this wonderfully privileged “Take or Pay” contract to the First Caribbean International Bank (Barbados) Limited (CIBC), and, on the basis of its wonderful guarantee of future Government payments of at least $22.6 MILLION per year, convinced CIBC to give them a loan of $55 MILLION !
-
Subsequently, on the 30th of July 2010, SBRC entered into a Debenture/Mortgage with CIBC under which CIBC loaned SBRC the said $55MILLION for the purpose of “providing financing for the purchase of equipment to operate a solid waste transfer facility (on the said 35 acres of land at Vaucluse) under a 20 year Take or Pay contract with the Government of Barbados”, as well as for assisting in financing an existing short term debt.
-
And the “security” accepted by CIBC for this massive loan of $55MILLION was as follows:-
(a) a promise by SBRC that when– in the future– it received from Government its 20 year lease of the 35 acres at Vaucluse it would execute a Mortgage of the lease in favour of CIBC;
(b) a debenture over a quantity of stationary equipment, mobile equipment and computer equipment owned by SBRC; and
(c) an assignment by SBRC to CIBC of the revenues or monies payable by Government under the Take or Pay contract– such assignment to last until the $55 Million debt is repaid.
Now, the questions that I would like to pose to all Barbadians are these:- “Which black Barbadian business-person would ever be given a Government contract that entitles them to a guaranteed taxpayer funded payment of $22.6Million every year for 20 years? Furthermore, which black Barbadian business-person would be given such a contract in circumstances in which their business enterprise is not even established yet? And which black Barbadian business-person would ever find themselves in a position where– on the basis of a Government contract– they could secure $55 Million in funding from a bank to establish the very enterprise on which the said Government contract is premised?”
While my white, black and mixed race Barbadian brothers and sisters contemplate these questions, permit me to finish the sorry story:-
-
After SBRC finally established its waste management or transfer facility at Vaucluse, the DLP Government (acting through the SSA/Ministry of Environment) prohibited private waste haulers from delivering waste to the Mangrove Landfill and directed them to the SBRC facility instead.
-
And then in August 2013 Government announced plans to create a new so-called “Municipal Solid Waste Tax” to “pay for the costs of solid waste disposal”. This draconian tax was initially imposed on all Barbadian householders– no matter how impoverished they might have been ! The tax was designed to rake in $51 Million a year, and the rationale given was that the money was required by Government to pay SBRC!
-
As a result of the popular protests led by Mr. Bobby Clarke and Ms Mia Mottley in the year 2014 the DLP Government ultimately determined that the Tax was too unpopular and that it had to be cancelled!
-
It was against this background that the DLP Administration came up with the new ploy of requiring private waste haulers not only to take their waste to the SBRC facility, but to pay a new fee of $25 per ton of waste!
This is truly an “Old Colonial” story, the tragic outcome of which is likely to be :-
. the destruction of the business enterprises of many of the small private waste haulers;
. the imposition of additional taxes or fees on ordinary Barbadians for the purpose of paying SBRC; and
. the bestowing upon Mr. Bizzy Williams and his collaborators of a wonderfully successful business enterprise that will continue to bear guaranteed taxpayer funded fruit for many years to come!
Fellow citizens, this is not right! The “Old Colonial System” continues to choke us and to subvert the positive advances that we have made as a nation over the past 49 years. The purpose of this article is to expose the continued existence of aspects of the “Old Colonial System” and to urge all well meaning and patriotic Barbadians to demand their total abolition! Let us all operate on a level playing-field, and let the public purse not be treated as anybody’s cash-cow!
DAVID COMISSIONG
President
Clement Payne Movement

We happen to know a little about this matter.
What was more egregious is that the GOB continued to engage would-be-investors, in solid waste management (SWM), with the lure of a sovereign guarantee (SG), as already held by Bizzy, acting as agents for Bizzy. As agents, they attempted to direct potential investors to serve the interests of this blue eye boy.
Indeed, this wicked DLP government brought people from ‘over and way’, Bajans living abroad, to discuss these matters, wasting their time, after it had already committed to Bizzy.
LikeLike
This is a classic example of how poor Whites in Barbados have for centuries used the legislature to enrich themselves.
There is no better security than an SG. I hope wunna see how this man has been able to construct a nearly 500 million dollar business without a penny. All based on government support. No risk to him personally or his other interests.
This should be one of the levers of economic democracy for Black people, the descendant of slaves. But it will never happen, because the slave we elect luv massa too much!
LikeLike
slaves we elect
LikeLike
Could you imagine what a man like David Weekes would be able to do did he have this kind of government support?
These effing lies ’bout hard work was always a trick. The well kept secret is that all wealth is based on government action, period!
Anybody who got any money in Barbados has depended on government, everywhere else too!
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Pachca
There should be the appetite to give the SG to both.
LikeLike
NO< NO< NO< NO!
We are talking within the context of, not reparations, but restitution. Within that context why continue to give those who have been getting all the time. Those never enslaved!
Like Don Blackman our interest is redressing social imbalances. Come what may!
Do you realize that per capita Bizzy and his boys have been ridiculously enriched. What kind of economic democracy has that been?
Why are you and your chief acolyte, Bushie, making these uncharacteristic, irrational comments of late?
LikeLike
Pachamama May 28, 2015 at 8:04 AM #
“Why are you and your chief acolyte, Bushie, making these uncharacteristic, irrational comments of late?”
Pacha, is this some new sophisticated way of saying Bushie writing shiite lately?? Because we all know he is incapable of doing such.
LikeLike
When are people going to wake up to the fact that all governments, ie politricans, work on behalf of the monied. True all across this big blue marble. Does not matter who, party wise, you vote in. They will do the bidding of those holding the true power: monied. Once this is understood then there is no surprise to actions from governments. Simple.
LikeLike
@Pacha
The egalitarian system you yearn is wishful thinking at best.
LikeLike
So why bother? Why have elections? Why have a nation state? Why continue to make appeals for moral clarity?
We are not even talking about egalitarianism but it may not be a bad thing as a goal, even if unachievable.
You live under a system where a 3% of the population, at least some of them, have been able to use the treasury, popularly elected governments, parliaments, corrupting Black politicians, to enrich themselves.
Per capita calculations have little to do with egalitarianism anyhow. Per capita should reasonably state that for every 3 White millionaires there should be 97 Black ones.
Not even that matrix would mean that we have a just society, an egalitarian society. Because we may well create a bunch of Black, Bothas. However, the present wealth accumulation system is so skewed that the UN has called it crypto-racist.
Your policy of appeasement of Bizzy and his ilk is guaranteed to NEVER deliver the change lip service is constantly paid to.
LikeLike
Gotta agree with Pacha here. Ideals are the unattainable targets we set before us to give us some direction. We must reach towards these ideals even though, being human, we will always fall short. Failure occurs only when we stop striving towards our goal. If we do this the situation of the masses of people will spiral downwards.
LikeLike
Whatever happened to the US $240 million Waste gasification plant announced in March 2014 by Government . An agreement was signed with an outfit called Cahill, which is not related to Bizzy as far as I can tell. Maybe it was just an April fools joke a few weeks early.
LikeLike
This situation is bad. If I had a contract like that even I could make a go of it. Wow!
LikeLike
Yuh damn right! Not only you. Even a fool would be able to. It is the perfect business model!
LikeLike
@ Pacha
What Bushie do you now…? 🙂
Few others have been pointing more fingers at Bizzy more than Bushie…
You know about the Desal plant?
You know of his role in Sandals?
You know of his role in 3S?
SBRC is merely icing on the cake…
Our jackass politicians must be real proud…
Bushie continues to be amazed at how he and his brother seem obsessed with ‘owning the whole place”…by hook or crook…
LikeLike
@ Bushie
Do you know the history of hundreds of years of systemic privilege for White people here?
Yes, we know about all the cases and more. Not only for Bizzy and COW but all the rest.
We know the total construction for White/expatriate privilege in Barbados.
But what does it matter, 20 years from now the same system will produce the same results for the sons of Bizzy. The structure is more important than circumstance. In any event, we care not about particular instances. To us structure is everything.
It is unfair to continue to blame politicians, alone. The people of Barbados should take primary blame. We desire the government we have currently.
In any event, for Bizzy and his boys, the senior civil servant is much more ‘influential’ than any politician. Including the PM, whoever he/she may be.
LikeLike
Thanks Mr Comissiong for bringing this matter to the people of Barbados.I personally was having difficulties understanding the reason for the action taken by the waste haulers.But after reading this article,I now fully understand the issue affecting the waste haulers.
Politicians in Barbados from both political parties are really relics of the past.None of them has the courage to enact policies to promote a powerful Black business class in Barbados.It seems they do not have confidence in their own people.
The generous concessions to Sandals hotel,the gifting of lands to Chinese to build their mansions in Barbados, as well as the large scale purchasing of land by the Asiatic community are signs that Black Barbados are losing out in our own country.Thanks to the vision-less and inept Black governments we had and have in Barbados.
The whole sad thing about what is happening in Barbados is,neither the BLP nor DLP has the fortitude to bring about changes.These things will continue to occur under these useless political parties.
This problem of Elite Whites and other Non-Black ethnic groups in Barbados receiving generous contracts from a Black government in Barbados is like a recurring decimal – it appears that issue will never cease and continuity is guaranteed.
It is sad but as a Black man,I recognized that Black people not only in Barbados but all over the world are doomed.There is little or no hope for us.Depending on Black politicians to save us is an effort in futility.
LikeLike
A lotta long talk but we ent doing one shiite bout de situation.
The next election will come and we will vote Dee or Bee.
The rich will get richer and the rest of us will laugh or cry depending on which yard de calf in.
LikeLike
“The whole sad thing about what is happening in Barbados is,neither the BLP nor DLP has the fortitude to bring about changes.These things will continue to occur under these useless political parties.
This problem of Elite Whites and other Non-Black ethnic groups in Barbados receiving generous contracts from a Black government in Barbados is like a recurring decimal – it appears that issue will never cease and continuity is guaranteed.”
If the people with money run the show then how in heck will anybody, political party, be able to change the system? Once you understand the structure then you may have a chance of changing it..or not as monied are very powerful and can make your life hell. Year in, year out, decade in, decade out, century in, century out…..Money controls everything!!!! Once again…the monied control governments…this is true all over the world. If one took the time to review history, of any country on this big blue marble, you will see that no matter who is in power, they work to benefit the monied. End of story. If you want to stay in so-called power….you must cater to the monied. Wake up people!!!!!
LikeLike
Hants
so far, you have made the most sense.
this has nothing to do with any old colonial system
this have everything to do with greed, ignorance, manipulation and mendicancy
as we approach the eschaton it will get even worse
LikeLike
“this has nothing to do with any old colonial system
this have everything to do with greed, ignorance, manipulation and mendicancy
as we approach the eschaton it will get even worse”
+++
Of course it has to do with an old colonial system. It’s the structure that allows for the greed, ignorance, manipulation and mendicancy…….
The politricans, grammatical error intended, do the bidding of the people with money: the real people who run the show. For this, they get rewarded handsomely…ever notice how people go in to politics poor or middle class and end up rich?….I have family members, one in particular, who was very recently, and for many years, in one of the top positions of one of your two parties and ruling government…I found it quite interesting that this person owns some very lucrative properties on the island. I know the background…there is no way their salary or family wealth (not wealthy) could account for current wealth. The game is rigged people….Wake up.
LikeLike
David Comissiong – President of Clement Payne Movement played his part in this , As a lawyer and a crook,
LikeLike
What is interesting also is the entire citizenry of BIM was taxed via the MSWT ostensibly to pay the debt to SBRC while Al Barrack languishes waiting for settlement of a court ordered award.
LikeLike
Why doesn’t the writer of this epistle, put his money where his mouth is. His papa was part of the whole system, he was part of the privileged class, so now he want to change the system to suit his agenda?
LikeLike
@Donna and Pacha
Interested to know what informs the making of ideals to which you agree. The inability of Barbadians and others to agitate for necessary change is shaped by systemic factors. To get the change we want hell will likely freeze over first.
LikeLike
@just asking
Shouldn’t Comissiong be congratulated for exposing the matter. Why do we always undervalue when individuals make contributions?
LikeLike
just asking May 28, 2015 at 12:40 PM #
Why doesn’t the writer of this epistle, put his money where his mouth is. His papa was part of the whole system, he was part of the privileged class, so now he want to change the system to suit his agenda?
++=
I don’t know anything about the author or his people…but given the system is skewed, or manufactured, or rigged, his job is probably to offer a distraction or to make it seem as if there is someone fighting for the average man. It’s an illusion most likely unless he has been able to bring forth some change in his short time on this earth.
LikeLike
Why do we have to praise people or demonize them? Why can’t we both praise and demonize at the same time?
LikeLike
David what informs my ideals is the message of Jesus the Christ which resonates with truth whenever I read it. Love and respect for the Creator and all of his creation. I believe all humans should have equal opportunities. Even with equal opportunity some will use these opportunities more wisely than others and will reap greater rewards. They should not use their privileged position to oppress those who would advance after them. Therefore I do not believe that everybody should live necessarily in the same lifestyle but that there should be opportunity for advancement without oppression. I believe in fairness and justice, David. Nothing strange to your ears, I’m sure.
LikeLike
And David,
Most Barbadians do not believe there’ s anything they can do about the situation, They have resigned themselves to the fact that there are two Barbadoses and they just try to be top of the heap in the second Barbados. Therefore the second class citizens fight among themselves for the crumbs that fall from the first class citizens’ table.
LikeLike
This article only proves that we can approach this problem with two methods.1) Violent Insurrection 2) Non-Patronage. The first sounds very romantic but not very practical or progressive.The latter , is H&B hardware still well patronised after the incidence of violence towards a customer? Sometime as a collective or a fringe of disgusted Barbadians we will have to make a decision.I trust it will be progressive, non violent but resolute.
LikeLike
Donna
Even with the story of God imprinted on our collective conscience, it seems like it is far beyond our intellectual capacity as sentient- beings to truly understand that those utopian- ideals we so desire are beyond the grasp of man. Even in a theocratic- state, it is rather impossible to achieve them because of man’s nature of gravitating toward that which evil rather than that which is good. There is something in evil that man so desire and this is written in the pages of the Hebrew Scriptures.
LikeLike
Dompey,
I know very well that they are out of man’s reach but God instructs us to ever reach towards the prize. When He’s ready to end the race He will, but in the meantime he does not want us to sit around hopelessly waiting while the situation becomes worse and worse. That much is clear from His command to the apostles. So, to answer your comment as Jesus did Satan (not that I’m comparing you to him) : It is also written, “Go ye forth…!” not “Sit ye down!”
LikeLike
What can Barbadians concretely do about the situation?
LikeLike
@ David Comissiong
Brilliant, absolutely BRILLIANT!!
Don’t mind Bizzy with his token ‘black’ wife and getting in public and crying for poor Barbados trying to be the most patriotic Barbados. He is a nuisance and threat to public purse, reminds me of a man at the bottom of the steps at the post office waiting to knock over old women after they cash their pension cheques.
He is as patriotic as hyena crossed with a vulture, after picking the bones clean…………..he will commence actually eating and digesting the bones themselves.
LikeLike
caribcanadian,
All I know is that there is strength in unity and in numbers. The first thing we should do is identify the real enemy and stop letting them continue to divide us by offering bigger crumbs. Nothing will have any impact with just a few voices crying out in the wilderness. Those among us with greater knowledge of the situation would be better equipped than I to put their heads together and chart the way forward.
LikeLike
We should not forget the Ionics deal page 16 of the Auditor General’s Special Audit. To much greasing of palms man!
LikeLike
@ David,
Since when has BU become a refuge for bored housewives?
LikeLike
@ Negroman,
You stated that “……….the gifting of lands to Chinese to build their mansions in Barbados, as well as the large scale purchasing of land by the Asiatic community are signs that Black Barbados are losing out in our own country……”
Could you please go into more detail?
Thanks.
LikeLike
http://jablogz.com/2015/05/jamaican-scientist-offered-over-11-billion-for-cancer-research-patent/
Tell me what are we doing with our EDUCATION again?
LikeLike
Rape is fun!
LikeLike
“Since when has BU become a refuge for bored housewives?”
Exclaimer yuh gotta problem??? I hope yuh ent mean meee? Most of us wimmen are working hard unlike AC who spends hours attending every cockfight here pon BU …..Tee heee. Sorry AC but I couldn’t help meself. Dat plant done dead? Girl yuh is a real plant killa and a BIG LYING one too!
LikeLike
@ islandgal246 May 28, 2015 at 6:18 PM,
Excellent link. You have to fear for that poor man’s life. America is a country that does not tolerate competition.
@ Negroman,
Take a look at this article:
“China has petitioned the Government of Jamaica for parts of the whole of the 800 acre Roaring River Water Shed area in St. Ann (adjoining Dunns River) as payment on loans which the People of Jamaica had no say in!
http://jablogz.com/2014/10/do-not-give-the-roaring-river-water-shed-to-china-online-petition-gains-momentum/
LikeLike
@ islandgal246
I would never disrespect Bush Tea’s gal! Good night.
LikeLike
It’s good to see that the Jamaicans have adopted an inclusive social media strategy to combat their government’s folly. Perhaps we all could learn from this.
https://www.change.org/p/the-government-of-jamaica-prime-minister-portia-simpson-miller-do-not-give-the-roaring-river-water-shed-to-china
LikeLike
@ Baffy de Baf
I just had reason to mention your name in another blog about young women and ole men and look how you come here with this insensitive comment about rape!!
You must see Owen Arthur, sorry Alleyne Arthur (though some beleive that they are the same) and leave those spirits alone!!
LikeLike
@ David Commissingsong
This article is so evocative I really don’t know where to start
Do I start at the mere magnitude of the loan $$ that was facilitated?
Do I start at the “collateral” that facilitated the $55M? or the enforceability of what amounts to being another Baruch Court case if the future government refuses to pay CIBC/FCIB?
Do I start at the “Shades of Grey” skins to whom this loan pandered?
Do I start at the time that the loan took to be approved?
Man you just bowl a googalee bouncer dat got de ole man cat spraddle irrespective of the observations by CaribCanadian that (a) you were born into the same oligarchy (b) Just Asking’s remark that it is serving your current (political?) agenda and aspirations and (c) Hanson’s claim dat you have been in the past part of the same crook framework.
It is our human nature to have reservations when the newly appointed leader of the community watch, a man who was formerly incarcerated for his pedophilia, is now a sensibly advocating that we fence of the kindergarten play park and cut down the thick woods just behind the park.
Nonetheless a very evocative piece!!
LikeLike
The revolution that I would strongly advocate for this Issue Commissingsong is one of “ISOLATION”
Let all of these elite who are raping the 95% population of us noggers “FEEL THE WRATH” the economic wrath of a people united
You see fellows like Branker, Neville Rowe and Proper Pork and the rest of the so called black successful businesses?
What they need to do is to put them blasted money whey dem mouth is and silently fund and run a “Feel the Wrath” campaign that will so complexion we black people’s thooughts and spending patterns THAT WE ALL STAN WHEY FROM THESE WHITE OR NON BLACK BUSINESSEs!!
Among my suggestions is the island wide development of a website that list every single black man/woman ‘s business and dem prices.
We want to know what you does sell and how much it cost!!
BY the way fuh dem to get pun board dem gots to pay a fee, NO FREE RIDES!!
So you end up wid a black listing of all we business etc, whey you operates from etc and like how de Nazi flag is de rallying point of the KKK, we bajan business dat tekking part gine got a logo which means Ia) I am part of the 95% (b) I black (c) my products are available at the best prices and (d) this is the new empowerment strategy
So fellows like BEtram Hall at Popular gine got a sign pun he business cause Betram is de cheapest supermarket in Barbados.
De same way dat BS&T rather Massy gots a Magna Card we gine got a card too.
We gine undersell Kirperlanis, JBs whoever and we gine go pun TV and say whu we doing and why…
We gine use de nex three years to “Brek De Backbone of Dis Colonial System” and anybody who we see shoping in one uh dem shops dat we know, we ent gine turn we back pun dem and call dem field niggers, no, we gine show dem de credits pun we card and whey dem gots to go to but BLACK.
I very sorry but DE ONLY TING DAT DE OLIGARCHY BEHING DIS COLONIAL SYSTEM UNNERSTAN is when no body ent coming in dem store and spending a cent.
And de only ting dat gine motivate the 95% is cheapness, it doan have nuffing to do with national pride nor identifying wid udder black peeple no siree dat is too noble.
START IN ME PEEPLE POCKET, GET de technology behind and programm to address the redress being sought and MAYBE, just maybe, all the rest of things associated with nationhood and sense of “WE’ might come….doah de ole man ent holding he breaf
LikeLike
Exclaimer,
Since I am one of the few females who have been commenting here regularly I would assume you mean me. I am not bored but interested in the subject matter and the opinions of others. Anyway, I’d rather be a bored housewife than a person of your ilk who would exclude a housewife from discourse on national matters. I hear they may have just discovered another homo sapiens antecedent. Could that by any chance be you?
LikeLike
@justasking, you mekking mock sport pun de people blog with the rather asinine remark , ” Why doesn’t the writer of this epistle, put his money where his mouth is. His papa was part of the whole system, he was part of the privileged class, so now he want to change the system to suit his agenda?”
I call it asinine not to be rude or disrespectful but because you either have no idea what you are talking about or you are being deliberately and provocatively misleading and extremely foolish (which is the definition of asinine).
I hold no brief for the man but over the years I recall that the man’s father was a Minister of the church so if he had wealth or came from money he certainly didn’t behave like one of the monied class during his lifetime.
Moreso, the man Comissiong himself has been one of the most outspoken and strident voices for black activism and empowerment over the last 25+ years in Barbados. Did he have an agenda…most likely; but that doesn’t take away from what he did and achieved.
He more than a lot of us has indeed put his money of time where his mout is.
So I find your remarks are a rather cheap shot that have no merit. Asinine.
LikeLiked by 1 person
pieceuhderockyeahright May 28, 2015 at 8:01 PM #
The revolution that I would strongly advocate for this Issue Commissingsong is one of “ISOLATION”
Let all of these elite who are raping the 95% population of us noggers “FEEL THE WRATH” the economic wrath of a people united….
++++++
I do believe your idea would be very effective. Similar to the Montgomery Bus Boycott. Getting enough people on board would be the hardest part though. Hit the monied where it counts: their wallet.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Looka dem Negroes didn’t even come out and march to support their brothers and sisters protesting the Solid Waste Tax yuh tink dem will support Black businesses???
LikeLike
Piece yuh want dem Negroes to go against dem God??? Neva Happen pon dis rock!
LikeLike
islandgal246 May 28, 2015 at 10:04 PM #
Looka dem Negroes didn’t even come out and march to support their brothers and sisters protesting the Solid Waste Tax yuh tink dem will support Black businesses???
++++
Negroes?!!!!
Nothing new. No matter your so-called color…people don’t come out for protest easily irrespective of their location on the blue marble.
LikeLike
How come noBUdy is discussing this.
“WHEN THE DUST SETTLES on the merger between Cable & Wireless (C&W) and Columbus in Barbados, the combined entity will be saving $214 million in operational costs initially.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67818/savings-merger#sthash.yh2wP4cW.dpuf
LikeLike
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Anti-HIV-activity-claimed-for-Jamaican-Guinea-Hen-Weed
LikeLike
While on the road recently I heard this classic, I think it encapsulates the position that Bajans find themselves in perfectly.
LikeLiked by 1 person
China is going to leave an enormous environmental footprint within our region if they are not checked. Here is another negative story about their growing influence within our hemisphere:
Police in Ecuador have seized around 200,000 sharks fins which were about to be illegally exported to Asia.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-32926068
LikeLike
@ Sargeant
Mouseland is a timely and pertinent animation.
It is like the Animal Farm novel.
When i first read it as compulsory reading it was a book where one was impressed by the struggle but at 11, many read it but few understood its portent.
I can guarantee you that the cartoon if seen by a 6 year old, would not hold their interest and many of the 6 to 66 year olds who saw it now would have difficulty understanding what it means.
I did not say *C nor that other fellow who disconnected the lung machine to plug in his cell phone charger while working at the hospital in the US.
Simple but poignant.
No wonder Caswell does not want to represent the mice!!
LikeLike
Sargeant,
I laughed so hard I cried. And then I realized that I had more to cry about than to laugh about.
LikeLike
Why???
LikeLike
Why what Miguel?
LikeLike
You’re a lawyer?
Lets keep it as our little secret.
LikeLike
No secrets. Put it on the table let us resolve.
LikeLike
Even after Mia Mottley and Clarke protested this tax, they still found a way to circumvent it. This only demonstrates that this wretched lot have nothing but contempt for those who voted them into office and not only are they disposing of waste but they’re also disposing of the trust and good faith which the sorely mis-informed voters placed in them. One can only concluded that there’s a ‘quid pro quo’ hidden in this agreement. Whenever this wasteful bunch is called out on their economic policies they blame everything on the global financial downturn, yet in such a crisis they can guarantee a wealthy man $22m. a year. These chumps are cowards to the business class (whitey) and disrespectful to the voter class. But a guvament could only abuse the powers mandated to it by the people until the people decide to take it back….but will the people take that power back or will they continue to beat their gums while scraping by to pay a mortgage or a car note just like the ‘Jonses.’
All local politics is INTERNATIONAL and they too answer to the KOSHERNOSTRA…just look at their fiscal policies.
@Bro Negroman…How are you doing. Its good to hear from you.
LikeLike
And it appears the politicians in the Caribbean like it just so….the self-serving scam that is the Magna Carta, created by Europeans before the scam that was slavery, created by Europeans.
The descendants of African slaves have come a long way, no doubt, but have taken too long to get to the point where you can actually voice concerns about the scam that is politics, that should have happened 50 years ago.
On another note……ladies with fibroids/cancer be aware of what your doctor is suggesting you use as treatment.
.Doctor with cancer raises alarm about medical device
6 Comments 74 Shares 41 Tweets Stumble Email More +
Is the FDA doing enough to protect patients from potentially dangerous medical devices? Two Philadelphia area doctors say no. They’re fighting to prevent more tragedies, while living through their own medical nightmare.
42-year-old Dr. Amy Reed and her husband, Dr. Hooman Noorchashm, have been fighting their battle since Reed was diagnosed with cancer in 2013. CBS Philly’s Stephanie Stahl has been following their story for a year.
dr-amy-reed.jpg
Dr. Amy Reed CBS PHILLY
Reed’s cancer was found after an operation to remove uterine fibroid tumors. Surgeons used a device called a power morcellator to shred the fibroid tissue so it could be easily removed through a small incision. But the shredding ended up inadvertently spreading cancer that hadn’t been detected.
One of the device makers, Johnson & Johnson, pulled its morcellators off the market last year after the FDA issued a safety communication warning doctors about the risk. The FDA did not order a recall, saying the device could be appropriate for a small number of women.
Reed and Noorchashm say more should have been done to protect patients, and they have spoken with FBI investigators about their concerns.
“This is a violation of federal law that has led to the loss of life, so I think that is what got the FBI’s attention,” Noorchashm told CBS Philly.
Report: FBI investigating medical device that spread cancer in women
Earlier this week, the Wall Street Journal reported that the FBI is looking into what Johnson & Johnson knew about the device’s risks. Problems were reportedly first brought to the company’s attention in 2006.
Reed says if action had been taken earlier, her situation might have been prevented — “not only mine but hundreds of other women. That’s what’s so maddening.”
Since her diagnosis, Reed has been through multiple surgeries and rounds of radiation and chemotherapy. She recently had a recurrence, a tumor in her spine.
When asked what she tells her six children, she replied, “Having kids forces you to be very forthcoming. You say ‘cancer’ and they say ‘well, will it kill you?’ And you say ‘I don’t know.'”
© 2015 CBS Interactive Inc. All Rights Reserved.
LikeLike
Williams is saying that SBRC can continue processing garbage because they have the backing of The Williams Group. He forgot to mention that SBRC while owed $30M, had the contract for almost 7 years and would have collected over collected over $108M or an average of $18M per year
The interest on the $55M loan is around $3.5M per annum and the principal payments $4M. They are no special processes employed by SBRC. Construction debris is either transported to a quarry or used to cover the wet garbage. The plant material is shredded and sold. So the annual expenses for SBRC either have to be more than $14M or he making real bread.
LikeLike
Reblogged this on Rats and Cheese and commented:
Someone needs gaoling
LikeLike
“VICE CHANCELLOR of the University of the West Indies Sir Hilary Beckles has renewed his call for a university graduate in every household in the Caribbean.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/68081/sir-hilary-education-rebuild-economies#sthash.qAVC05Zx.dpuf
LikeLike
@ Hants
Sir Cave is a parasite…a successful one.
…He got fat preaching about black enfranchisement
…He then jumped on to the mutual/sagicor and sucked them successfully all the way to CHILL
…At CHILL he climbed onto the idiotic policy by the Barbados government to pay near $100,000 for every person that Hilary could get to sign up…. and obviously he signed up RECORD numbers of mediocre clerical material… (Barbados could always import high flyers…) at phenomenal cost
…Now he has set his sights on jumping on to the regional tits….via reparations, and to see if he can get the other territories to give him money in ever higher volumes…
Shiite man…
If he could have been a productive citizen instead of a super-parasite, Barbados could well have been right on Singapore’s tail developmentally….
Anyway..
Bushie predicts that he has finally met his match at the regional level….
Those Caricom fellows are even more mendicant and parasitic than Sir Cave is….
LikeLike
We could never understand the relevance of a graduate in every household when neo-liberal capitalism has collapsed or is collapsing into a neo-feudalism. Why would anybody want to produce people for a system which is going the way of the dodo bird.
We could never understand why Caribbean ‘institutions of higher learning’ have created no discourses about the world of tomorrow.
We could never understand how a colonial mis-education must still be inflicted on Caribbean peoples in order to support the machinations of the One. How that mis-education, given all the evidence which has emerged, can go no further in ‘development’? Why would Hillary Beckles and his ilk want to further commit our peoples to this cultural dead end?
The elites in the Caribbean have become more dangerous to the people than the colonial masters in Washington or Whitehall! They are going out of their way to do their masters’ bidding even when withhold demands for such.
LikeLike
@ Pacha
Yuh know Skippa, …you continue to amaze Bushie with your perceptiveness…. wuh if you are ever struck with a revelation of the truth (like Saul of Tarsus was) you have the potential to be even more devastatingly effective than even he has been…..
LOL ….keep away from bright lights hear….!!
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Miguel
Found that secret of yours in trash. It occurred when we deleted some comments by our perennial spammer Jack.Sorry about that.
LikeLike
This is how they roll in the upper echelons.
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/05/31/all-hail-sir-hilary/
LikeLike
Anyone who argues for fairness and equality in the granting Government contracts or the dishing out of taxpayers money – especially the welfare payments made to one businessman every year no matter which Party is in power – is met with abuse. I got my share of it recently from fellow Barbadians. It makes me remember Sparrow’s song “we know we like it so”.
LikeLike
Hants May 31, 2015 at 6:23 PM #
……………………………………………………
One wonders if Donville Inniss had attended.
LikeLike
P@achamama May 28, 2015 at 7:25 AM “These effing lies ’bout hard work was always a trick. The well kept secret is that all wealth is based on government action, period!”
No secret Pachamama.
Way, way back in the 60’s then Canadian Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau referred to corporate welfare bums, that is those people who depend on the tax payers money to fund their businesses, and without the taxpayers money they would like the other Irish descended former indentured servants in St. John be living on welfare in a government unit.
LikeLike
@islandgal246 May 28, 2015 at 10:26 PM http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Anti-HIV-activity-claimed-for-Jamaican-Guinea-Hen-Weed
Know in Barbados as GULLY ROOT. Long used in Bajan folk medicine and celebrated in Bajan folk songs. Described in Sean Carrington’s “Wild Plants of Barbados” second edition, page 60 as “the bruised root exuding a garlic like odour” but to me it smells much, much worse that garlic. Carrington also describes it as not common but in the area where I grew up it was very, very common…a persistent weed.
LikeLike
Pingback: Self-management in Hip-Hop | Navigating Liturgies
Please God tell me that this will not be our fate. That this will never take place in the country of my parents and their parents’ parents. Lord listen to my prayers:
“Free Barbados from her debts.”
http://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2015/jun/02/ecuador-activist-china-mine-video
LikeLike
If you go to You-tube.com and type in the search box:
Source: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMjPbbM5fPU
“By the concent of the governed”, you will understand what is happening in Barbados is only an extention of the New World Order system being instituted by the old British/USA empire through its hired agents which do not represent the interests of the people but are following the Communist Manifesto to spread the control of the human population through the crooked banking system. It is a comprehensive education and overview. Pay special attention to what Iceland did to the banking dirtbags.
LikeLike
Bizzy getting an honorary degree, how much them does go for now?
LikeLike