Jack Warner will be recorded as one of the most enigmatic politicians of our time. His popularity as a politician in Trinidad belies the underhand dealings he has been associated with through the years in his capacity as Vice President of FIFA and Czar of the football operations in Trinidad.

The David Simmons report logged on BU blog World Cup 2014: Mohamed Bin Hammam, Jack Warner and Corruption @FIFA exposed Warner for who he is,  corrupt to the very core. BU unsuccessfully requested from Warner’s staff a copy of the Affidavit he (Warner)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

threatened to have filed against Simmons. People like Warner perpetuate the perception that politicians – especially when Black – are thieves and must not be trusted.

BU joins with millions around the world in the hope Swiss authorities will be able to make the charges stick.

Related Links:

382 responses to “Jack Warner Arrested”

1. @ David

Because of the presence of the 5th Fleet in Qatar. They would not want the Qataris to disinvite them, like Barbados!

2. @Pacha

They are all playing a game they know to be dirty, why single the USA?

3. Because they present themselves opposite to what they really are. After all the wickedness they have done they still had some thinking that they were interested in justice in this FIFA case. Give us a break. With all the Black who are killed in the US daily, what justice what? Just us! The other players show no such global pretense.

4. @ David

We think it’s too simplistic to compare the rest of the world to the great beast.

These people now have Blatter afraid to travel. He will not go to the opening of the game, Women World Cup of Soccer, in Canada this weekend. For fear that the Americans will force his plane down, like Edward Snowden or the Bolivian President. Or that the supine Canadians would extradite him to the USA.

Our reading is that Blatter’s name was not among the indicted because (1) he is a Swiss national (2) they want to use the present indictments against his peers to pressure him into taking the actions described earlier.

5. God bless Blatter. He reminds me of AC always in the news, regularly upsetting and offending people; yet, at the same time very entertaining. We will miss him when he has gone.

Fifa may be a corrupt body. However it has never invaded a sovereign nation. Nor has it ever been responsible for the destruction of a nation. One day America and her leaders – past and present – will be held responsible for their crimes against humanity.

The moral of the story is simple: do not upset those pesky and sanctimonious Americans.

6. @ Exclaimer

you are soooooooooo funniiiii , ac do n.t know if to lafff,, cry or s,,ht.. ,

now yuh get up in bu and decry corruption but when the thieves are caught with they hands in the cookie jar, uh casting blame ,,

7. @David, re your comments above, maybe, but regardless, it is good that there is any attempt, no matter the motive, for bringing this corruption to light and charges.

Too much for too long. Disgusting and about time something was done!!!

Unfortunately, it is exposing the nasty world of large corporate greed, YET AGAIN!

All the rules and laws mean diddly, if those at the top have no integrity.

8. PS Years ago, as a youngster, I learnt to not envy others their wealth, as either they worked hard for it, or ‘one does not know what they went through to get it’.

Now, as an older person, I would add to those sentiments, or a third option, that one should not envy others their extraordinary wealth, as likely they are corrupt, walked over others on the way and sold their soul to the devil to get it.

Cynical, but true.

9. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Pacha, you have been an absolute top drawer consigliere on this FIFA/US/Russia putsch attempt.

I even agree that certainly in this matter “Their actions are … guided by self interests, period.”

But as David alluded, to single out the US as the only big-bad-wolf or greatest devil is to be leaning on your left hand too heavily.

Putin is no saint and given half the chance he would have done the same or worst if he saw an opportunity to discombobulate the US.

Like you I believe the contracts already awarded cannot be clawed back unless there are very clear and direct evidence of bribery.

But I don’t think your reasoning is valid that the US are intent “To harm the rise of the axis of Russia/China/BRICS” and prevent “A set of games that will mark the Russia/China/BRICS coming out party as the new world powers” .

BRICKers, Russia just had the Winter Olympics, Brazil the World-Cup and pending the Olympics next year and of course China is coming off the 2008 Olympics. In that sense these countries really do not need any coming out party in that regard.

The US are playing hard-ball certainly but when you are a big boy you are expected to play big boy games…well.

Your boy Putin has certainly thought us that in Crimea and how he held his hand firmly on the levers of power for the last 15 years!

10. Money and woman.The bane of man.Joseph Sepp Blatter just met the latter….Loretta Lynch.It is so amusing that the schemers and pessimists cannot see the greedy,corrupt racketeers of the football world,the anti black players,anti black camp followers and dirty nasty players like Saurez who singlehandedly prevented Ghana from qualifying in the quarter finals in South Africa.Why would the USA conspire with privately run organizations and people to deny Russia the next World Cup.Would it not be affective to pursue a strategy of boycotting the event with the assistance of Europe?I posit that will be the outcome.
    This talk of the U.S. trying to derail the 2018 WC is speculative journalism.

11. Thank you Gabriel.
    There is absolutely no reason to doubt that individual officials in the DOJ may be genuinely concerned with bribery at the level practised in FIFA….and that they could be intent on dealing with the problem.
    It is silly to conclude that the USA is 100% bad, or that Russia is any damn better..

The level of shiite going on in FIFA had gone much too far…much like our situation with CLICO
    Bushie has nothing but admiration for the DOJ and for Laura Lynch….indeed, were it up to the Bushman, there would be similar random independent forensic audits on EACH and EVERY such organisation as a routine matter of course.
    Lotta shiite….
    This thing about seeking to disrupt Russia hosting 2018 is nonsense. There may be an issue with Qatar due to the winter change, but this has always been a questionable bid….

We encourage this nonsense by our complacency.
    Why should Blatter and his gang have free hand to pursue this level of corruption just because he promoted football in the third world and broke the stranglehold of Europe?
    ….it was his DUTY to do these things…..AND still be honest and transparent.

Who audits the sport bodies in Barbados?
    What happens to the millions of dollars that pass through these bodies?
    Why do the same people seem to be lifetime fixtures when there is NO progress
    How come they NEVER seem to say anything in public?
    What the hell do they actually do…?

…so is Pacha saying that we should not question these people either …because the business people are crooks too? …because the politicians are crooks too…?
    Where the hell do we start to clean up…?

What wunna suggesting as an alternative?
    …find some guiltless people to cast the first stone…?
    …let them continue stealing…?

Long live the lovely Laura Lynch

12. This letter is the “smoking gun” that led to Blatter’s sudden resignation as it was addressed to his Deputy and any claims that he was in the dark about bribes would be incredulous. The funds in question were transferred to CONCACAF for Warner to dispense as he wished.

Blatter still remains in charge and may be trying to manipulate events to his advantage, the bottom line however is that the 2018 World Cup will be in Russia as it’s too late to change and the Geopolitics involved in changing from Russia would move the Doomsday clock closer to midnight as the old KGB Colonel is still stuck in a Cold war mentality. Quatar is another matter they are working those slaves building the stadiums for naught as the 2022 World Cup will be moved, look for England or the USA as beneficiaries.

https://twitter.com/martynziegler/status/605660641374912512/photo/1

13. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 2, 2015 at 3:16 PM “Wunna feel dat de Barbados Football Association or any uh we local or regional football clubs dat tex bribes really gots a clue bout whu going on at FIFA?”

The thing is, little or none of the money was coming/has come Barbados’ way, which is why the local “boys” don’t care what happens to Warner or Blatter or the rest of them.

14. So Simple, are you saying that the local ‘boys’ are such brass bowls that they were supporting Warner in his crookery while local players were hurting themselves on crude football fields and in a condemned stadium?

You see the stadium in Trickidad?
    …de one in Cayman?
    ..and St Lucia actually have a very nice stadium….thank you…

With so much money being diverted to development in third world countries by Blatter, and with so much development in the region….what happened to Barbados?

You sure that “little on none of the money was coming/has come Barbados’ way”….or that the money was coming …but ain’t reach?

15. Sometimes our friend Bushie maybe too guided by an evangelism, though well-intentioned, fails to separate the wheat from the shaft.

Can Bushie, with a straight face, expect us be accept that a country which has, for centuries, committed the most heinous crimes known to man, is to be expected to be a justice seeker, especially in a matter which has no particular importance, ostensibly. Absent its geo-strategic implications. The trojan horse it is!

Could his magical thinking really expect us to not only forget history but all the present crimes being committed by the USA government and their elites. How does this align with his religion. We would have thought that his book would have proscribed seeking justice from the Devil.

Could Bushie be so guided by a short-termism to see Caribbean elites end up in jail or exposed, that in serving that master he misses the larger import.

What about all the other crimes in the whole world, can we expect similar treatment? And why do those crimes not attract the ire of his new found, best friend?

@ Exclaimer

The equivalence which you are seeking to establish is ahistorical. Even in contemporary society there can be no equation that says all countries are equally as guilty. That is a man-in-the-streets approach. While we accept that countries have interests and that they are likely to do whatever they deem necessary in defending those interests, there is the matter of degree.

Let’s look at this matter of degree. We will bring two examples why Russian contemporary or recent history is superior to that of the USA and as seen through international law terms. If you or Bushie care about small countries!

The USA, as an illegal actor is constructively creating chaos throughout the world, Russia is trying to its utmost to maintain international law. An international law system set up largely by the USA.

The USA has invaded several countries in recent years and continues to threaten Russian. These are all illegal actions, against international law. Russian, at the request of the Crimean people acted in defending ethnic Russians from an American sponsored coup.

Who is the real law breaker? Why is this law breaker not being asked to take the big boulder of a mole from its own eye before it pretends to want to deliver justice to the world.

Those, like Bushie, who let themselves be ensnared by this fleetingly ‘just’ intervention will soon come to rue this day.

Until he understands that in these days empire will move heaven and earth to maintain dominance the head fake of the FIFA indictments will only serve the emotional cravings of the ramble.

16. Chaff, rabble

17. The Republican Party thought Eric Holder was their bogeyman.They now have an equally brilliant Afro-American, as zealous in punishing wrong doing and who in a flash of determination has brought Sepp to a place in history where his legacy will be one of which Fifa should not be proud.Sepp crowed in English last Friday when he won the Presidency for the 5th time.Yesterday he was a shadow of himself and resorted to speak in French,using an interpreter.All his bravado has gone and he looked older than 79 in three short days.Loretta Lynch,an outstanding no nonsense woman.A bit of Joan of Arc,a bit of Maggie Thatcher in taking on whosoever will come with dirty hands.If Hilary Clinton becomes the next US President,the world will not be the same.These women are not only powerul,they will shake and shape the world of ‘man’.
    Islamists be warned.Big men will be spanked and flogged by these mothers.

18. Fifa crisis: Ex-official Chuck Blazer details bribe-taking

Chuck Blazer with Fifa president Sepp Blatter in 2011

Former top Fifa official Chuck Blazer admits that he and others on the executive committee agreed to accept bribes in conjunction with the choice of South Africa as 2010 World Cup host.

The American says he also accepted bribes over the 1998 event.

The admissions come in a newly released transcript from a 2013 US hearing in which he pleads guilty to 10 charges.

http://www.bbc.com/news/32998735?ncid=newsltushpmg00000003

19. And who was the U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of NY from 2010-2015….none other than Loretta Lynch.

20. @ David

See what we told you in our reading yesterday about Blatter. He’ll be around up to a year, even after the formality of announcing his resignation. Only the ancestors know what will happen in a whole year.

Of course the Americans are holding his former colleagues hostage or as a sprat trying catch a whale. LOL

Let the game begins.

We will not be surprised if Russia claims a right to bring similar charges against western banks and their senior officials, have international arrest warrants issued for them, over criminal, financial, infelicities, of the last 2 decades.

21. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3109937/Sepp-Blatter-believes-s-business-usual-plans-stay-FIFA-office-February.html

Sepp Blatter believes it’s business as usual as he plans to stay in FIFA office until February despite resignation from top job

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3109937/Sepp-Blatter-believes-s-business-usual-plans-stay-FIFA-office-February.html#ixzz3c39rLzl5
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

22. LOL @ Pacha
    On reading your tirades one would get the distinct impression that the USA is a singular person.
    It is not.
    Just as they are multiple wicked, greedy and vindictive persons, they are also some kind, generous and honest ones.
    Just as some cops are racist, KKK-wannabes, some citizens are quick to STAND UP publicly and condemn this wickedness….
    Some USA citizens demonstrated against each of USA’s war of aggression… against racism, against slavery…

When a racist ran the FBI ….it did shiite…
    When an honest citizen was appointed, the FBI behaved differently…

How do you know that Loretta Lynch is not genuine in her attack on this large scale international criminality in FIFA? ….because George Bush was an idiot…? …come on…

Everyone should be judged on their own merit….
    …even Bushie
    shiite Pacha
    …even you 🙂

23. “If Hilary Clinton becomes the next US President,the world will not be the same.These women are not only powerul,they will shake and shape the world of ‘man’.”

Shame on you Gabriel to mention Hilary Clinton in the same breath as Loretta Lynch or Magaret Thatcher. Hilary Clinton has proven to be an opportunist in every sense of the word and a well read contributor like you must know that so why bite your tongue for someone who vacillates on every major issue.

24. Interesting article in the context of T&T politics.

Will PM accede to Jack’s gambit?

Published on Jun 3, 2015, 12:01 am AST
    By Theodore Lewis

The indictment of Jack Warner by the US Justice Department presents a headache for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Jack is her problem, make no mistake.

Even after his Independent Liberal Party (ILP) victory, Kamla has been on record saying she would welcome him back into the fold.

Is Kamla Jack’s safety net against a sure jail sentence in the United States?

25. balance hush do. show me a politician who has never vacillate

26. News coming out of the UK, that country is willing to host the World Cup if taken from Qatar.

27. It is amazing to observe how some people must engage in discussion always in a most acrimonious manner. It says a lot about the colour of the kernel.

28. David:

See what we told you about the Justice Department. Here they have Warner, like a rat on a sinking deck, looking to implicate Blatter to save his neck.

Using warrants to pressurize the real target – Blatter. To force Blatter to act against Russia, while including their Qatari friends as merely collateral damage.

”Jack Warner threatened to implicate FIFA in involvement in the Trinidad and Tobago elections in 2010.
    The former FIFA vice president was one of 14 people indicted by the United States Department of Justice last week in a move that preceded Friday’s FIFA elections in Zurich — which later proved futile, when re-elected Sepp Blatter revealed his decision to resign four days later.”

Related
    REPLAY: FIFA Press Conference
    Sepp Blatter back at work at FIFA headquarters
    Sepp Blatter to resign as FIFA president
    Warner, in an address televised on TV6 on Wednesday night, said he has evidence of “a link between FIFA, its funding and me, the link between FIFA, its funding and the United National Congress and the People’s Partnership Government in general election 2010.”
    http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/soccer/warner-threatens-to-implicate-blatter-fifa/ar-BBkFB5T

29. LOL
    Jack Warner is the lowest of the low….even as a crook and criminal.
    Any bets that this is exactly how our esteemed non-leper will behave when HIS time comes…?
    ..as it surely will…

30. Jack was the straw that stirred the drink, now that the noose is getting tighter he is running his mouth to save his skin. Jack could deliver the Caribbean voting bloc on a platter for past Blatter votes and the FIFA brass turned a blind eye to his shenanigans a kind of quid pro quo. While they were using Jack he was the classic “smart Trini” and was also using them to build up his personal fortune and expand his power base. His recent pronouncements make him seem like a buffoon (not a good reflection on the Caribbean) but his act is wearing thin and the rest of the world may wonder how he accumulated so much power.

Jack needs to “lawyer up” with representatives who are familiar with the US justice system- they don’t come cheap-instead of making these daily announcements, the time to cut a deal is now e.g. Blazer and his sons but Jack is the arrogant type who will be still screaming about some conspiracy or other while the US Federal Marshalls are escorting him across the tarmac in the near future.

31. Agree with the recent comments. It shows these sleeze bags will squeal when the spotlight is full beam on the underbelly.

32. How will Warner’s “singing” affect the TT Prime Minister and Government ?

Surely he would have assisted in financing their last election.

33. Jesus Christ!

Greg Dykh, British FA Chairman, is saying there should be a reselection of 2018, 2022, a ‘re-vote’

The UK government is saying strip Qatar and let them host it – 2022.

This timing is suspicious. We hope our friend Bushie is following the works of this Devil closely. He a smart fellow with the guile to mislead even God’s anointed

This whole scenario make no sense unless as a battering ram against Russia. And by that we mean the Russia/China/Brics axis!

34. http://www.thestar.com/news/insight/2015/06/04/reporter-who-chipped-away-at-fifa-corruption-delights-in-sepp-blatters-downfall.html
    Reporter who chipped away at FIFA corruption delights in Sepp Blatter’s downfall

The biggest news story of the year was breaking, but the journalist responsible was fast asleep. It was just after dawn on May 27 when Andrew Jennings’ phone began ringing…“My phone started ringing at 6 in the morning..I turned it off actually to get some more sleep, because whatever is happening at 6 in the morning is still going to be there at lunchtime, isn’t it?” If you can’t tell already, Jennings is an advocate of slow, methodical journalism…Now, after decades of threats, suspicions about tapped phones and intermittent paycheques, Jennings is being vindicated…“I KNOW THAT THEY ARE CRIMINAL SCUM, AND I’VE KNOWN IT FOR YEARS AND THAT IS A THOUGHTFUL SUMMATION. THAT IS NOT AN INSULT. THAT IS NOT THROWING ABOUT WILD WORDS. These scum have stolen the people’s sport. They’ve stolen it, the cynical thieving bastards, so, yes, it’s nice to see the fear on their faces.”

HE WENT TO WORK FOR THE BBC, BUT WHEN THE NETWORK WOULDN’T AIR HIS DOCUMENTARY ON CORRUPTION WITHIN SCOTLAND YARD, HE QUIT AND JOINED A RIVAL PROGRAM CALLED WORLD IN ACTION.He turned his police investigation into his first book, Scotland Yard’s Cocaine Connection, and a documentary. THAT IS, ESSENTIALLY, JENNINGS’ MANTRA: TAKE TIME, DIG UP DIRT AND DON’T TRUST THOSE IN POWER. “You know that everywhere, any organization, if there is any sign at all of how corrupt the people at the top are, THERE’S DECENT PEOPLE DOWN IN THE MIDDLE MANAGEMENT, BECAUSE THEY’VE GOT MORTGAGES, THEY’VE GOT CHILDREN TO PUT THROUGH SCHOOL, they are just employees and THEY WILL HAVE A SENSE OF PROPER MORALITY. So you’ve got to GET THEM TO SLIP YOU THE STUFF OUT THE BACK DOOR. IT USED TO BE FROM THE FILING CABINET; NOW IT’S FROM THE SERVER.”

So the Scotsman decided to ambush one of Sepp Blatter’s first news conferences after his re-election in 2002. “I’ll cross the road for a fight…I’m surrounded by all these terribly posh reporters in suits and silk ties and buttoned-up shirts, for God’s sake… and here’s me in me hiking gear. I get the mike and I said, ‘HERR BLATTER. HAVE YOU EVER TAKEN A BRIBE?’ He got the goods. “SIX WEEKS LATER, I’M IN THE DARK AT ABOUT MIDNIGHT down where the river in Zurich widens out into the lake…wondering why I’VE BEEN ASKED TO GO THERE BY SOMEBODY I DON’T KNOW, WHEN THE DOOR OPENS AND I’M DRAGGED IN…AND WITHIN HALF AN HOUR A SENIOR FIFA OFFICIAL ARRIVED CARRYING A WONDERFUL ARMFUL OF DOCUMENTS. And it ran from there. And it still does.”

Jennings reported that Blatter had been paying himself a secret, six-figure bonus. “In Herr Blatter’s case, he doesn’t know what a scheduled flight is. He has no idea. He hasn’t taken one for about 40 years. He always has to buy a private jet out of Zurich…the big Mercedes taking him to the private jet at the Zurich airport is what sustains him.” In 2006, he published his first book on the organization, Foul! The Secret World of FIFA: Bribes, Vote Rigging and Ticket Scandals, which accused Blatter and other top soccer executives of accepting bribes. The officials didn’t just deny it.

Sometimes they physically defended themselves.

“JACK WARNER PUNCHED ME, SPAT AT ME on camera.”

35. @ Pacha
    …why don’t you keep your undergarments on….?

The English FA administrators are no different to Warner….just more racist.
    What would you expect them to say…?
    They still can’t get over the situation where the African/Asian/Caribbean fraction of FIFA can outvote them and influence decisions like these…

Blatter used this division to enhance his rule at the price of endorsing people like Blazer and Warner and others. (he sold his soul to the Devil in exchange for power).

What are you suggesting now…..?
    …that Blatter, Blazer and Warner be allowed to continue their mafia rule so that British racists won’t be able to crow…?

Stop complaining do….
    “A thief from a thief mek God smile”

36. @Pachamama June 4, 2015 at 7:06 AM “See what we told you about the Justice Department. Here they have Warner, like a rat on a sinking deck, looking to implicate Blatter to save his neck.”

THERE IS NO HONOUR AMONG THIEVES.

But Pacha I am sure that both little Seppie and little Jackie were taught right from wrong by their mammas.

That is what mammas do well.

Teach their little children right from wrong.

Some children learn.

Some children don’t.

And those that don’t cause their mammass to hold their bellies in the court yard[s].

37. @Sargeant June 4, 2015 at 8:51 AM “while the US Federal Marshalls are escorting him across the tarmac in the near future.”

They U.S. may have to do a Dudus Coke to get Jackie out of POS (Port of Spain)

38. Jack sqeeeeeeelimg!

39. America the unmerciful……….the immoral and the wannbe judge jury and executioner AGAIN !!! Who cud forget IRAQ and weapons of MASS DESTRUCTION farce. Now AMa-ER-CA wanna daisy cutter FIFA cuz she din win the bid for staging a World Cup…..Jack if it did me I would use some of dem millions to run to Peru on a banana boat cuz ya ass is grass bredds. Hell knows no fury like this woman’s scorn.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Union Jack June 4, 2015 at 2:57 PM
    “Jack if it did me I would use some of dem millions to run to Peru on a banana boat cuz ya ass is grass bredds”

Now, Jack, how is Jack Sprat Warner going to do that? His liquid assets have been frozen and cannot be moved across the international banking system.

What you should be of immediate concern to you and Bajans is if some of the lucre “officially” intended for the development of football among the African Diaspora in the Caribbean but ‘heisted’ by J W found itself into the Barbados FA or into the pockets of any of the local officials presiding at that time.

Maybe you can consult the Charlie Charlie god to find out if the Jonesing guy enjoying ministerial status like his former associate JW received anything in a brown paper bag during those Medici times.

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Never thought the day would come when the Mighty Sparrow would come up against some serious competition in Trinidad.
    Jack Warner’s singing deserves a Golden Disc.

42. IRELAND.

“The Football Association of Ireland said it received €5m (£3.67m) to drop legal action over Thierry Henry’s controversial handball that prevented Ireland from reaching the World Cup, while Fifa later claimed it was $5m (£3.25m) loan to build a stadium that was subsequently written off.”

43. “The latest revelations of allegations of irregular payments by FIFA have brought Ireland, South Africa and Venezuela under the spotlight.”

Like Jack said an avalanche started.

44. Anyone here who was involved??? Time longer than twine.

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Crusoe June 4, 2015 at 8:27 PM #

Anyone here who was involved??? Time longer than twine.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    I do hope that its the other way round, we haven’t got that lotta time. And one man, we suspected ,has already been taken down by his boss, shortly after the Warner Windfall pay out was exposed.

46. Ireland got US5.5 million from Fifa to let a hand ball issue go away.Luis Saurez,that Uruguayan scumbag with a cowardly handball similarly prevented Ghana from reaching the quarterfinals.Did Ghana get any money from Fifa?Jack like to use words like Tsunami,Avalanche,Gloves Off.Pure theatre,but he is slowly becoming aware that his time will soon be up.He is seeking forgiveness in asking for our prayers for himself and his family.Kamla mocking and laughing at Jack,saying the gloves off to make room for the handcuffs.Time will tell who else will see the inside the Tombs in the short run.The queen’s canary get away and Jack covering it down dey.

47. @Gabriel June 4, 2015 at 8:54 PM # “He is seeking forgiveness in asking for our prayers for himself and his family.”

Our prayers will begin as soon as he and his family gives us some of the money.