Jack Warner will be recorded as one of the most enigmatic politicians of our time. His popularity as a politician in Trinidad belies the underhand dealings he has been associated with through the years in his capacity as Vice President of FIFA and Czar of the football operations in Trinidad.

The David Simmons report logged on BU blog World Cup 2014: Mohamed Bin Hammam, Jack Warner and Corruption @FIFA exposed Warner for who he is,  corrupt to the very core. BU unsuccessfully requested from Warner’s staff a copy of the Affidavit he (Warner)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

threatened to have filed against Simmons. People like Warner perpetuate the perception that politicians – especially when Black – are thieves and must not be trusted.

BU joins with millions around the world in the hope Swiss authorities will be able to make the charges stick.

Related Links:

382 responses to “Jack Warner Arrested”

1. Yesterday or the day before we made these points below while Bushie and others were marinating in an American missive. Today Putin is saying the same things. We believe that Mr. Putin is likely to have more actionable intelligence that we could ever have. However, he is now saying what we said 48 hours ago. Putin says ……………………

”The FIFA-linked arrests on the eve of the re-election of the organization’s chief are an obvious attempt to thwart Sepp Blatter’s re-appointment, Vladimir Putin said, answering journalists’ questions. He added it’s another example of US meddling abroad.

Follow RT’s LIVE UPDATES on FIFA arrests in corruption probe

Russian President Vladimir Putin has said the US could be selfishly motivated for its own gain, as was the case with Edward Snowden and Julian Assange.

“Unfortunately our American partners are using these methods in order to achieve their own selfish gains and it is illegal to persecute people. I would not rule out that in regards to FIFA, the same thing could be happening, though I do not know how it will end,” he said.

“However, the fact that this is happening right on the eve of the FIFA presidential elections, gives one this exact impression.” http://rt.com/news/262669-putin-interview-fifa-arrests/

2. Pachamama May 28, 2015 at 11:03 AM “They are ONE! We are One!”

Dear Pavha: Georgie Porgie and Zoe will deal with you just now.

But I have one question for you. Since you are “THE ONE” how come your children are so bad? You mean to tell me that you could not make some better children?

3. Not even Warner’s sons are escaping, they know they have done wrong and don’t believe they have not victimized people in the Caribbean as well, these ambitious creeps have no conscience.

“The Federal Bureau of Investigation, a US law enforcement organisation, also raided the headquarters of the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) in Miami.”

Warner’s two sons have pleaded guilty to related charges in the US.

Darian and Darryl Warner

Jack Warner said this morning that he only knew that the US Justice Department was looking to arrest him, by following the international news reports regarding a series of arrests which took place in Switzerland overnight. Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams also said he knew nothing of an indictment or arrest warrant related to Warner.

In a statement issued on the matter, Warner made no mention of his son, Daryll and Daryan who, almost two years ago, cooperated with US investigators and pleaded guilty to a series of charges.

Details of the charges were unsealed today in a statement issued by the US Department of Justice.

In addition to the nine FIFA officials and five corporate executives indicted for racketeering conspiracy and corruption, the Warner brothers are among six individuals and corporations that have pleaded guilty.

According to the US Justice Department –

. On July 15, 2013, the defendant Daryll Warner, son of defendant Jack Warner and a former FIFA development officer, waived indictment and pleaded guilty to a two-count information charging him with wire fraud and the structuring of financial transactions.

. On Oct. 25, 2013, the defendant Daryan Warner waived indictment and pleaded guilty to a three-count information charging him with wire fraud conspiracy, money laundering conspiracy and the structuring of financial transactions. Daryan Warner forfeited over $1.1 million around the time of his plea and has agreed to pay a second forfeiture money judgment at the time of sentencing.

According to the US Justice Department: “The indicted and convicted individual defendants face maximum terms of incarceration of 20 years for the RICO conspiracy, wire fraud conspiracy, wire fraud, money laundering conspiracy, money laundering and obstruction of justice charges. In addition, Eugenio Figueredo faces a maximum term of incarceration of 10 years for a charge of naturalization fraud and could have his U.S. citizenship revoked. He also faces a maximum term of incarceration of five years for each tax charge. Charles Blazer faces a maximum term of incarceration of 10 years for the FBAR charge and five years for the tax evasion charges; and Daryan and Daryll Warner face maximum terms of incarceration of 10 years for structuring financial transactions to evade currency reporting requirements. Each individual defendant also faces mandatory restitution, forfeiture and a fine. By the terms of their plea agreements, the corporate defendants face fines of $500,000 and one year of probation”.

4. @Pachamama May 28, 2015 at 10:33 AM “And yes, over 70% are Black or Latino. ”

Dear Pacha: Since you are an American and I am not can you explain for me how it is that black and Latino people together comprise less than 25% of the U.S. population, but comprises 70% of those imprisoned can you tell me if that means that white people in the United States only rarely do bad things?

Explain it is a way that a Simple person like me can understand. No big words like adumbrate please.

5. I am asking myself how it is Sepp Blatter is president of FIFA, Jack Warner his vice president and he did not know what Warner his vice president was doing, what? the right hand don’t know what the left hand does?? oh please, according to my 2 year old grandson…..”grandma, am i stoopid? lol

6. @Well Well May 28, 2015 at 11:31 AM “Warner’s two sons have pleaded guilty to related charges in the US.”

In another section of the media Warner has said that he slept well on Tuesday night. If my children had pleaded or been found guilty of anything anywhere, but especially un the United States I would be a sleepless wreck.

But I love my children. I love my children a lot, lot more that I love money, which is why this morning I can pray Dear Lord in Heaven save me from being a big shot enjoying living high on the hog, luxury living and excellent lifestyle with the rich and famous.”

7. @Simple Simon

Trust a woman to bring up the ‘P’ word, perhaps these men wanted money more than anything else and were trying to establish ‘legacy’ inheritances for succeeding generations.

Glazer (who was not among those charged- he took a plea ) was reported to keep an apartment in one of the Trump buildings @ $6,000 per month solely for his cats, so the cat he was interested in is of the feline species.

8. @Well Well May 28, 2015 at 11:34 AM “I am asking myself how it is Sepp Blatter is president of FIFA, Jack Warner his vice president and he did not know what Warner his vice president was doing, ”

Dear Well: If you are old enough to have grandchildren, surely you are old enough to have heard this Caribbean proverb “Wah sweeten goat mout’ does bu’n ‘e tail.”

Or if you are a Bible reading kind of person to have read Jeremiah 17:9 – The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked, and Proverbs 20:17 – Bread of deceit is sweet to a man; but afterwards his mouth shall be filled with gravel.

Human nature does not change. Human nature cannot change.

Which is why from generation to generation people are caught with their pants down and/ or their hands in the till.

Same old, same old, same old.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. @Sargeant May 28, 2015 at 11:41 AM “Trust a woman to bring up the ‘P’ word.”

Dear Sarge boss man. It wasn’t a woman. It was me. Simple Simon (not SImone)

Money is only useful because it gives access to P=power and P=***y and in the case of Blatter ,you say, to access to multiple p****y cats (truly weird)

10. Sorry Glazer NOT Blatter.

11. @Sargeant May 28, 2015 at 11:41 AM “Glazer (who was not among those charged- he took a plea ) was reported to keep an apartment in one of the Trump buildings @ $6,000 per month solely for his cats, so the cat he was interested in is of the feline species.”

To tell the truth I would have more respect for Glazer if he was keeping at outside woman with that $6,000 USD per month…at least when he is older and dribblier she or one of her children might wipe his shitty behind.

12. http://rt.com/on-air/fifa-congress-opening-ceremony/

Been watching the officials with their reactions. Reactions to go back to the normal business. We project that within weeks all will be forgotten, forgiven. The Americans will overlook charges once they are given a pound of flesh.

That is how the American legal system works. Once something or someone is given up, the Justice Department will be appeased.

13. @http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67962/shock-awe
    IT WAS A DAY of mourning and gnashing of teeth across the Caribbean community with news that CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb had been among FIFA officials arrested.

I for one am neither mourning nor gnashing my teeth.

It seems as though there was a lotta lotta money sharing out and yet football in Barbados is scrunting. T

The football fields are badly maintained, there is no security and the young boys in my community and others can scarcely afford a pair of football boots…so my question is WHERE DID THE MONEY GO? if not to young boys who actually have the energy to actually play football.

It seems to me that not one of these ugly old men can play football anymore, so why was the money going to them or through them?

People really need to learn when to step down…to gracefully surrender the things of their youth.

And let the young people take over.

14. D Igrunt Word,

What happen to you? You sounding little touchy? My father is getting up in age and he doesn’t look like them! But then he’s spent his life lending his money to whosoever came and not getting half of it back. As he is fond of saying, “I like to sit on my verandah at night before I go in to have a good night’s rest.” These men look like they’ve been through hell on earth! All the centenarians I see in our papers look better than they do.

Simple Simon,

Yes, gargoyles! If they’ve lived the “good life” then give me the bad one! I going eat my mackerel and breadfruit and drink my mauby. These men look like Dorian Gray!

15. The FIFA money should not be trickling down.

The money should be falling on our young footballers (those actually young enough, fit enough and energetic enough to actually play football) like a September rain.

I don’t believe in this trickling down sh!t.

16. Fractured BLP Avatar

There seems to be a strong link between the Jack Warner saga and the Mia Mottley supported PELICAN Football tournament.
    We await the outcome of further investigations.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I won’t even waste my brain commenting on this. I am more interested in seeing Parris lock up, David Thompson assets frozen, Prime Minister Stuart humble for his many mouthings, Donville Inniss incarcerated for his porn business and other deals, Michael Lashley and his associations with this new contractor jada jada jada. I want justice on home soil. I doan give a rats ass about Jack Warner. He is the Trini problem and now the US hopefully will take care of him. Bring it home so I can see the corrupt bitches in the B and D brought to christian feelings.

18. Well Well May 28, 2015 at 11:03 AM #

“These little tinpot politicians in the Caribbean only aspire to be wealthy at all costs, they are harbingers of greed; them and the business people and insurance companies who own their very souls.”

Well Well, you are absolutely correct. Take Allen Stanford for example, he was given so much latitude in Antigua that he began to behave as though he was above the law.

It was common knowledge that Stanford went to Montserrat in 1985 at a time when the island was popular for establishing off shore banks. A broker from Beverly Hills in the USA, Jerome Schneider, took advantage of loopholes in Montserrat’s financial regulations and began selling banking licenses. It was reported that of the 350 “offshore banks” registered in the island, at least 200 were facilitated by Schneider. However, these “banks” existed only on paper and their owners never visited Montserrat.

Sanford’s Guardian International Bank was actually different from the other Montserratian banks, in that he actually had a building and hired locals to staff it. It was later discovered that some “banks” in Montserrat, including Stanford’s, were involved in money laundering for Columbian drug cartels. Stanford’s banking license was revoked in May 1991. Fortunately for him, in 1989 hurricane Hugo destroyed his bank building and any other physical evidence, with the devastation of the volcano’s eruption taking care of any remnants.

Now, bear in mind that Montserrat is only 33.53 miles or 53.96km from Antigua. Obviously, the government of Antigua would have heard about the bank scam, money laundering and Stanford’s involvement.

However, it seemed as though the Antiguan politicians chose to ignore this and allowed the man to set up shop in Antigua. They even rewarded him with a knighthood.

Stanford was a financier of the Baldwin Spencer administration, so essentially he was allowed to do as he pleased.

So, Well Well, Baldwin Spencer and his colleagues who benefitted from Stanford largess, are perfect examples of “little tinpot politicians in the Caribbean” you have referred to.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine May 28, 2015 at 1:16 PM #

“I won’t even waste my brain commenting on this. I am more interested in seeing Parris lock up, David Thompson assets frozen, Prime Minister Stuart humble for his many mouthings, Donville Inniss incarcerated for his porn business and other deals, Michael Lashley and his associations with this new contractor jada jada jada. I want justice on home soil. I doan give a rats ass about Jack Warner. He is the Trini problem and now the US hopefully will take care of him. Bring it home so I can see the corrupt bitches in the B and D brought to christian feelings.”

SSS, I agree with your above comments 1,000,000 %.

And while we’re at it, let’s not forget those in the BLP as well.

20. Joseph ‘Stepp’ Blatter behaved like a guilty man today, almost childish. I guess we are to feel sorry for him, and FIFA. That he is the leader of criminal activities for 17 years and he knew nothing of it is untenable.

He has a misplaced courage, not to resign. Wants to be re-elected as dictator-in-chief when he too should have been in jail. We wonder if he’s ever heard about collective responsibility. That the crimes of his administration are his, first and foremost. Has this man no honour, no shame?

21. @Pachamama,

Irrespective of what we think about the motives of the American administration. I believe they have created an opportunity for us to exploit the rickety political, economic and social foundations of our country.

In one fell swoop the Americans have shown us that they are capable of decapitating the feet and head of our corrupt and lawless Caribbean business men.

One firm push and the whole bloody lot will come crashing down. Good night.

22. Did anybody buy into Blatter’s righteous indignation today? Certainly not Platini and UEFA!

UEFA open to boycott of World Cup – Platini | Digicel SportsMax

23. Fractured BLP Avatar

Did anyone scrutinise the list of names published by the US prosecutors to see if Mia Mottley’s name appeared amongst them?

Remember the dubious sponsorship arrangements with PELICAN football?

Follow the links between Mia Mottley and Jack Warner.

24. Colonel Buggy Avatar

A fellow on the block told me that Jonesy is setting up a deal with COW, supplying him with bricks. The ones he is now s****** out.

25. Fractured BLP Avatar

Hello David

What have become of Miller and Prodigal?

Were they among the group rounded up and handcuffed in Zurich yesterday?

26. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

@Colonel Buggy, some smart aleck (obviously not a pharmacist or involved in the sciences) once said that laughter is the best medicine.

So just wanted you to know that you provide great medicine with those banging funny posts like above.

You could be a staff writer for a comedy show!

27. Jack proclaims his innocence on his own soap box

http://warnertv.net/

28. what an odd photo line up …….most of the people are white

29. Trinidad Guardian's photo.

Independent Liberal party (ILP) leader Jack Warner last night promised to expose all the wrongdoings of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s People’s Partnership Government.

http://bit.ly/1Qetdi6

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

You said “In one fell swoop the Americans have shown us that they are capable of decapitating the feet and head of our corrupt and lawless Caribbean business men…”

And this is why we should not be too concerned that no US domiciled citizen has YET brought charges against Leroy Parris for WIRE FRAUD conducted accross US state lines.

I encourage you to take a read of the US Justice Department’s cases against Warners sons Daryan and Daryll.

http://www.justice.gov/opa/file/450221/download
    http://www.justice.gov/opa/file/450226/download

What you see there is enough not only to make Ronald WeJonesing shit bricks as Colonel Buggy said but a lot of the many business men who have consistently been remitting funds to US bank accounts over the last 20 years.

The US don’t play!!

It has just been that no one has cried fowl to them and no US Citizen or resident has said that they were hurt financially by all of these shenanigans that have permitted these scum to remove US$300M recently and the steady flow of Foreign Exchange that we Bajans have been banking in US Banks for years.

One thing about the US Clearing House and Interbank Payment System (CHIPS) and the FEDWIRE, unlike our inept interbank reporting systems under which the Central Bank of Barbados NEVER KNOWS how much money has been transferred by local banks and by whom for years, the US does not guess like our Financial Services Commission about Fraud.

THE LONGEST DAY GOT IT NIGHT!!!

The oppressed and the fleeced only got to know who to complain to

31. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Pieces, there are long days and then there is Alaska…very, very long days.

My point sir is do you really perceive that the US Justice authorities will be falling over themselves to prosecute these crimes by the ilk of Parris and others when they can’t find the passion or will or whatever to go after the bankers in the mortgage securities fiasco that was the key ingredient in the 2008 financial meltdown or any of the other more pervasive and prominent cases or cross border infelicities there in US.

That 24 hours of ‘daylight’ does indeed run its course and finally there is nightime of darkness so maybe you are right that there is eternal hope that the crimes in the day finally get caught in the quiet of night.

But I wouldn’t bet too much on it.

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Yuh said above

“What you see there is enough not only to make Ronald WeJonesing shit bricks as Colonel Buggy said but a lot of the many business men who have consistently been remitting funds to US bank accounts over the last 20 years.”

Uh wonder if dat might also include several politicians as well as many of the CLICO conspirators and enablers as well.

33. LONG OVERDUE!! I’m sure we’ve all felt (over many years now) that something was wrong in all organizations such as FIFA, the IOE (look into this one) and other such organizations. Where there’s BIG money – WATCH OUT. They all look like criminals too. Hard looking men. Once they they’e proven guilty I hope they put them all away for LIFE.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word

I have learn that the statement “something must seem to be being done” in the USofA carries a nuance that has a funny way of playing our in these matters.

Let me explain that vague comment.

The Prime Minister Fumble and our Attorney General Adriel Nitwit say the crimes of vote buying during our elections. Neither has had the integrity (euphemism for balls) to pursue such BECAUSE they know that the dragnet that would be cast would ultimately lead to themselves.

This is not one of “them thar movies where them so stupid as to shoot themselves in the foot.” Actually, I have to rephrase that, people would hope that they aren’t so stupid but they are.

Now they have not jumped to do anything that would put their respective pensions at risk but they will jump at Omar Gittens and other small people BECUSE it must seem that they are doing something.

The US Justice Department how long been taking the stick of public opinion per its impotence to address race crimes, disproportionate sentencing practices, and inability to lock up US criminals during internal financial crises.

However you will note the apparent alacrity and ease that it is able to reach out its hands and perform extrajudicial renditions against countries that arent really any competition.

Dudus Coke ring a bell, Noriega, Sadam Husein, why man they even tried with Castro for over 50 years!!

You can be assured that Warner like Stanford, is going to do some time in Sing Sing and Bubba going climb on his back and make him their beatchhh!!

It is all part of the “we have to seem like we are doing something” and the natives and these “Caribbean wannabees king pins” WILL FEE THE WRATH of the mighty USofA

35. I skimmed through the indictment against the FIFA group and it is clear that the US Justice Dept. spared no expense in their investigation of these individuals. They followed the money all the way through and it is clear that these investigators visited some Banks in T&T to obtain some of the evidence against ‘Trinidad Jack’ as he is referred to in the Washington Post. That the Banks were being used to launder money must have been some incentive to cooperate lest they face sanctions from the USA. (Now you see why FCIB requested a certain individual to make alternative arrangements for his Banking). The indictments speak to how Warner established and controlled numerous bank accounts and corporate entities in which he mingled his personal assets and those of CONCACAF, CFU and TTFF (sounds familiar? Where did we hear about mingling personal assets and Corporate?) As an aside these guys aint easy see how another big wig politician in the US- former Speaker Hastert has in nuts in the grinder after withdrawing 1.7 million in small amounts to pay off someone (I didn’t say blackmail) for past “misdeeds”, but that’s another story.

They have ways of “making you talk” e.g. 40 years in the slammer against 5 years at some white collar facility- how else would they know that a large sum of money was couriered from Paris by someone (I didn’t say someone’s son) to Port of Spain? The indictment mentions that there are 75 unindicted co- conspirators which means that some people may be walking around fearing the tap on their shoulders or they may peek through their blinds and wonder what that strange car parked outside is doing there, for them paranoia is the new normal.

I used to think that the US may not be interested in CLICO, but the former head man in CLICO lives in the USA and has Real Estate in the US and some of its business may have been concluded on US soil with US Banks amid the travels on the Corporate jet so stay tuned.

36. @Sargeant

A read of one of the links above suggest that Warnwr’s shifty accountant completed completed the required declaration of source forms. Wonder what is recorded on those forms.

37. My apology if I am duplicating an earlier post among the 140 prior comments, but thought this might be of interest to some here.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/05/28/the-rise-and-fall-of-trinidad-jack-warner-the-former-schoolteacher-at-the-center-of-the-fifa-scandal/

38. Colonel Buggy Avatar

lawson May 29, 2015 at 12:06 AM #

what an odd photo line up …….most of the people are white’
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    You mean like the boardroom of many a Barbadian business?

39. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Did I hear Jack Warner warning Kamla that the gloves are off, and he will start spilling the beans regarding monies paid to the party at the last election ?
    Will he stop there,or is he going to spill his guts about the padded envelopes handed to those other football officials?

40. As Blatter fight today to maintain his position as thief-in-chief it appears that the Caribbean are two times losers in the ‘thiefing’ game.

The question that has never been asked and the answer which has never been given. What is or should be the competence of public official in criminal activity? After all ‘theifing’ is central to modern, international live and relations. No?

How come the recidivist, Blatter, might possibly retain his job but Carribean/FIFA thieves are in jail, some of them. Should we be trying to increase our skills, competencies, capabilities in the dark arts of crime to be more able to compete with the Blatters of this world.

If we can’t win on the soccer field maybe, just maybe, the ‘thiefing’ game is a game we can win. no? Do we have the requisite skills?

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

I am beginning to be concerned about you Pachamama.

That last post speaks to an abdication of the Earth Mother characteristics of the Incan goddess.

I do hope that you are not starting to relish the turpitude that these fellows – gargoyles – seem to be so competent at?

Though given the rampant dark arts of crime that abound in our cvntry it might become an exportable skill set…

The reverend gine recommend 3 Hail Mary’s..oh sorry wrong church..

42. The thieves have won the presidency of FIFA.

Now who want to say that fair play wins anything? LOL

@ Pieces

Yuh got to let we mek some fun, man. We might have to consider turning this national occupation into an international business to compete with Blatter and the rest. Get some professionalism in thiefing because these crooks we got bout hey lack great skills to compete with Blatter and them! LOL

43. This is a takedown influenced by the power players.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

You see how you get daub with a paint brush that you dont use?

YOu are a fellow who always does state fact, without any comedy or fanfare.

No nonsense, you does tell it like it is doan mind that you got you ting gainst BBE.

So when I see dis ting bout exporting crooks I say whulossss, it had to happen!!!

AC and Dompey manage to get next to Pachamama and rub up demselves pun he like how Sister Headley does rub she parts pun me and

Whaplax!!

For a moment dere I had was to read you submission 6 times causing fuh de life uh me I cud not believe nuffin else

I did was had a woman, years ago name Diana, she did from Englant and de ole man mind slip to those fond recollections, and consequently me fingers done did mek dat mistake, so forgive me Donna

Me son (and de Blogmaster) does tell me dat I gots to read befo’ i hit de send key but de ole man does be trying to write pun de Ipad and ting and sound intelligent like Dompey so i does me alot uh mistakes

Me son call me de udder day and ask me “how i does talk to peeple pun Facebook” apparently it is Facetime dat I does call de grans pun and I had said Facebook here so effin you see de ole man write sumting foolish it is me ole age.

As long as you dont threaten to do me in like that lady from St Andrew, we cool…

45. @ Pieces

Look at who the thieves we got ’bout hey does thief from – dead people, ask Plantations or John Hanson. Innocence clients, in the case of the biggest legal criminal – the whole profession. And, the people of Barbados – in the case of the ‘politricksters’.

We have always argued these our thieves don’t know much about ‘thiefing’. A lot of them still end up poor and in any event they never proved that they could thief big from the people over in away, on our behalf. LOL

That is what big time ‘thiefing’ has to be ’bout. Not ‘unfairing’ helpless people.

46. According to evidence before the COI on Clico in Trinidad,Duprey was paid a salary of 90 million dollars a year……I repeat $90 million