Father and son Butch and Adam Stewart

First let me declare my absolute and total support for those advocating the use and consumption of more locally produced items especially by our tourism industry. When the head of the Barbados Agricultural Society recently boasted that Sandals Barbados promised to purchase 1,000 pounds of local produce each week, no-one thought to question him as to what this actually means. In all fairness to James Paul, he stated that they were trying to increase this amount, but let’s look at the current figures.

If the hotel is full that is a capacity of 580 guests each night who have every meal and snack included in the cost. This equates to a volume of just 4 ounces per person per day. And that is before any allowance is made for the quoted 600 staff and management taking meals on the property.

The United States is currently the largest market for Sandals and the average American, according to internet informed information, is 36.6 years of age, is 5 feet 9 inches tall and weighs 190 pounds if male, or 5 feet 4 inches and 164 pounds if female. Again based on averages each American consumes nearly 5.5 pounds of food per day or a short ton per annum.

Over a year this includes 29 pounds of French Fries, 23 pounds of pizza, 24 pounds of ice cream, 53 gallons of soda, 24 pounds of artificial sweetener and a staggering 2,736 pounds of sodium, which is 47 per cent above the recommended medical limit. All of which add up to 2,700 calories daily.

The question should also be asked, is the average Sandals guest likely to consume more or less than they do at home than on a fully all-inclusive vacation?

In reality then the 4 ounces of ‘local produce’ represents less than 4 per cent of consumables used daily, therefore a proverbial drop in the ocean. In publicly justifying the low level of spending locally, their procurement manager, Jordan Samuda, stated ‘We know it’s not going to be easy because there is not a relationship that is there already and we do not have any existing hotels in Barbados that are likely to buy on the scale that Sandals is proposing to’.

This surprised me, while not all-inclusive, The Hilton clearly has more rooms and also directly benefits from outside meetings and events which involve catering. Elegant Hotels has more all-inclusive rooms across its five hotels than Sandals Casuarina, so what credibility does this statement have?

What must be clear to Government, is that after granting the unprecedented unilateral concessions to Sandals, which almost two years later not a single other hotel on Barbados has been able to obtain there must be more than lip service given to supporting our agricultural sector.

Sandals have every opportunity given their massive financial strength and unique advantages to play a far greater role in helping to increase our capacity to feed both the local and visitor population. Let us see them lead by example including at least partially funding farming groups and perhaps help in providing otherwise waste land to stimulate and encourage co-operative growing entities.

69 responses to “Sandals Barbados Not Doing Enough to Help Food Production”

1. A useful link to report to fully digest the unprecedented concessions Sandals were handed.

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/governments-concessions-to-sandals-barbados/

2. Curious agronomist Avatar
    Curious agronomist

@bajanfarmgirl

Yours is an interesting contrubution. It is an insight. It prompts questions, questions that are posed with all respect and no antagonism. I am sincerely curious about this, and you seem to be a bright and articulate person who can address my curiosity.

Let’s say I live in Prague, or Hamburg, or Warsaw, and I have a business that makes hinges for refrigerator doors. For decades, all the main manufacturers of fridges have bought my hinges.

Then up pop hinge-makers in Belarussia or Slovenia who make much better hinges at half the price. Why shouldn’t I go out of business? Why should taxpayers in Prague or Hamburg or Warsaw subsidize me, through taxes and trade policy, to produce inferior hinges at twice the price of Slovenian hinges?

Why shouldn’t I just go out of business? I might have an endless romatic attachment to fridges and hinges, but that’s really not important.

If I am incapable of producing refigerator hinges without forcing fridge owners to pay more than they need to, why should taxpayers pay even more tax so that I stay in business?

3. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants May 25, 2015 at 6:12 PM #

Have any of you been seriously involved in Agriculture in Barbados?
    ………………………………………………………………………..
    Serious ? Barbados? Agriculture? Man you know full well that we are a load of jokers.
    The same jokers who have allowed most of the arable lands in Barbados to be taken over by Wild Tamarind. And to add insult to injury ,we have started cultivating acres upon acres of Wild Tamarind.
    Talk about carrying coals to Newcastle, or If ya can’t beat them join them.

4. @ Curious agronomist May 27, 2015 at 1:46 PM
    “….Why should taxpayers in Prague or Hamburg or Warsaw subsidize me, through taxes and trade policy, to produce inferior hinges at twice the price of Slovenian hinges?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Probably for the very same reason that your wife should continue to entertain you ..now that your doggie is limp and in no way comparable to Old Onions or Bushie’s ….. Why the hell should she put up with your inferior rod? ….when Onions can do some ‘fishing’….?

Ever heard of the thing called LOVE….? …that is why…!

Life is not all MONEY and materialism…. Bushie has no problem in paying taxes to support his cousins and neighbours making a decent living ….rather than save a few dollars and have them desperate because some stranger enjoys some competitive advantage (usually the opportunity to exploit some poor soul to their advantage)

Charity BEGINS at home, then next door, then next district…..
    The shiite policy of going for the lowest price sounds attractive until YOUR livelihood is challenged by competitors…..

…of course bajanfarmgirl may have a different perspective…. 🙂

5. @Bushie

Any comment on the report we have enjoyed our best quarter for tourist arrivals in 25 years?

6. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Do these figures include the many arrivals transiting Barbados, ie from Seawell to Bridgetown Port, to join a cruise ship, and the reverse on their return?

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Do you really believe official statistics? Why all of a sudden would this Government start telling the truth? Consider those two questions before relying on anything that the Government says.

8. Ask AC about the statistics, she know about touring the line to riches from 2008, she was left in the Dead King will like all the others yard ducks

9. Extracted fro Elombe’s Facebook page:

One of de tings bout Barbados tourism is how segmented it is. The West Coast don’t give a day bout nobody and most govment ministers frighten fuh dem. South coast is com si com sa. Den due is de day trippers. If in we was to her Rhianna to promote Barbados, which market you think she would appeal to?

Bridgetown about to change. Pier head hotels, marina, new cruise ship pier. You think that dem day trippers is who Rhianna would appeal to? Well I would like to put she in a donkey cart wid Hold him Joe playing an some tourists in de back. My point is I would establish a fleet of donkey carts with umbrellas ad old tyres to pay for donkey taxi round town. Yuh can find Ben and BMW all over the world but not a Bajan donkey cart.

10. first the good news .the tourism numbers are up.now the bad news miller and the blp misfits can,t stand the fact that the blp negative campaiging against barbados has not deter tourist from making barbados one of the carribbean most favoured destination countries in the world .Miller i heard some not so good news about u i hope it not true

11. Curious agronomist Avatar
    Curious agronomist

Bush Tea at his satirical best on May 27, 2015 at 9:31 PM:
    “Probably for the very same reason that your wife should continue to entertain you ..now that your doggie is limp and in no way comparable to Old Onions or Bushie’s ….. Why the hell should she put up with your inferior rod? ….when Onions can do some ‘fishing’….?”

Oh, christ. With every passing day this witless and obnoxious prick sounds ever more like a not-too-bright 12 year old.

First, dull prick, I have ovaries.

Second, witless dipshyte, do you see no connection, no connection at all, between the mind-bending Bajan diabetes problem and a Bajan trade policy designed to protect inefficient producers of nutrient-deficient, high-cost foodstuffs? Zero connection, right? So you’ll give a few more tax dollars to your cousins while just down the road people who are not your blood kin are going blind, losing limbs, and dying early.

Great sense of caritas you’ve got there, prick.

12. @ AC (backwards) 2:22 PM
    First, dull prick, I have ovaries.
    Pity you had to sacrifice a brain in the process…

We did have a good tourist season. The actual numbers can be disputed, but cold weather in our traditional markets co-operated well with our requirements.
    If our tourism authorities were able to influence this weather then they have all the right to brag…

13. @ David quoted from Elombe ” donkey taxi round town.”

Barbados Donkey Taxi Service. BDTS. The world’s most eco friendly taxi service.

Would provide employment for cart drivers and a few people to walk behind de donkey cart picking up de sheit and washing way de peiss. lol

14. Bush shite the tourism numbers are what they are and it ain;t a dam thing you or the miserable blp outcast can do about them , the tourist are coming and will continued to come weather hot or cold, old fart go find something to do with your diseased pessimistic not so observing brain .you and the blp gangsters still waiting to see barbados topple over, well it will never happen come rain storm of thunder storm.

Read and wipe

TOURISM OFFICIALS OPTIMISTIC – Airlift capacity expected to increase in second quarter

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Meanwhile ,Barbados is back in the same position it found itself in a few months ago. The country once again is inundated with garbage which the SSA is unable to collect. And to think just a few months ago we heard the goodly Minister of Trash, beating his chest and roaring about how he, assumably singlehandedly, managed to get 25 or garbage collection trucks back on the road.
    The Sanitation Service Fleet has just be given a new guarantee by the Barbadian public. “Five Miles of Five minutes, whichever come first.”

16. Address margins for the farmers? Hahaha. more like margins in favour of Sandals. It seemed to me like Mr. Paul got cowed. He came back with prices of what Sandal currently sources its produce for from some of its current suppliers and whether the local farming sector could match it. If not, what was the minimum amount we’d be willing to agree on.

@Curious agronomist. most things can be sourced at a cheaper price. Heck, even with the cost of shipping from China included, I would venture one could import several containers full of broccoli here cheaper that what farmers here can produce it at. So what’s the difference, right?

I lived in France for a couple years. France is renowned world wide for its cuisine – foie gras, croissants, the wine, other pastries and tarts, sauces etc. We send our own chefs over there to learn to prepare all these dishes. But you know who appreciates French cuisine the most? The French themselves. They boast about it, which region cooks the best, slag other countries saying they don’t know how to cook etc. They are a people fiercely proud and protective of their culture. Tons of French people still shop at their markets. They buy the local cheeses, wines, produce, meats, breads etc. Yes, that stereotype of the Frencman with the baguette under his armpit really does exist. Granted they give you a bit of brown paper to wrap it in first. Here we’re buying bloody Saralee bread in Costuless and the like. Simply What are we proud of here in Barbados? What is our culture? We boast of a national dish that I venture to say 50-60% of us don’t eat anymore far less know how to make.

We encourage all these foreign companies to come set up their businesses here – and that’s fine, great. Foreign investment is important to any country. But so too is developing one’s own local people to engage in business. We sang a shout of praise when Butch Stewart came to fill the gap left by Almond Resorts. Gave them all these concessions. But what happens if/when Butch doesn’t get the returns he was hoping for? Don’t you think he too will up and leave. For a foreigner, it will mostly always be about the bottom line. He wants a return on his investment. A Bajan, yes profit is important, but he lives here. He wants to live in a country that’s prosperous. He wants to see his country succeed. Look at the Canadian banks threatening to leave Barbados because of the economic climate.

*Side note – When it comes to food, I don’t look at price that much. Not that I go buy premium meats or anything but there is so much here that we can get which is better quality and in my opinion the same price or only slightly more. Someone was saying that local farmers use too much spray or some rubbish. Spray? Pesticides? Do we know how much pesticides are dosed on those Gala apples, pears, strawberries, grapes and the like we love to eat? No, we don’t have a clue. And the sad thing is, we can’t find out either. Why? Because at least here you can ask the farmer or someone from the Ministry could go and check out the farm. The supply chain is much too complicated to check up on for foreign products. Locally, you can even call into Brasstacks and ask if you’ve seen Farmer X spraying and in two twos his gipsy neighbour would have called in and given an answer. lol. But I guess local produce aren’t seen as being nutritionally dense, huh? And inferior to the big pretty stuff coming from overseas. I personally don’t want something that’s coming from half-way around the world, travelling on the ocean for who knows how many months or years. I don’t mess around with what goes into my body. Treating NCDs is neither cheap nor pleasant. That’s where many people get it wrong. Thousands of dollars are spent yearly at the QEH treated citizens who think taking some pills from the doctor will “cure” them or “fix” the problem. Dying from an NCD is usually a slow, painful tale for many. End sidenote.

I’m not a zealot or anything when it comes to national pride or anything but we keep saying we want Barbados to be this entrepreneurial hub but Bajans aren’t remotely proud of anything Barbadian. So how can we hope to export anything to the rest of the world when we don’t embrace it ourselves. Stupse

But back to the agriculture thing. For the whole providing hotels with local produce in a timely efficient manner, a couple things need to happen.
    Between the BAS and the Ministry of Agriculture, they must be able to keep track of all farmers (well at least 90% of them) at all times, knowing what they have growing and to come. Someone has to be collating this information. Send out the officers,

Someone else should contact the hotels and restaurants to collect from them their yearly volumes of whatever produce.

A storage facility of some sort must be provided. Farmers should be able to bring their produce to one central location and then have it distributed/delivered.

This would be the minimum if this whole thing is to work. And living in Barbados, I’d venture to say it won’t happen anytime soon.

17. @bajanfarmgirl

An excellent contribution, a pity the taste and attitude of Bajans appear to have been irretrievably influenced by foreign.

18. Who wrote/researched this article? No one in America eats 7.5 lbs of sodium per day. That’s about 15 times a fatal, daily dose.

19. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

rqd is entirely right and it was totally my error. Instead of a decimal point (2.736 lbs) I put a comma (2,736 lbs) of sodium which should be a daily dose of .00749 lbs.

http://www.inspirationgreen.com/food-consumption-in-america.html