Baltimore is listed as the largest city in the State of Maryland, the largest independent city and the 26th most populous city in the USA. Of note is that greater than 60% of the population is Black followed by about 29% White. In the wake of Freddie Gray’s funeral – yet another Black man to die in police custody under questionable circumstances – rioting and other violent behaviour has placed the city under siege. The question onlookers are asking – is this a bunch of stupid Black people inappropriately expressing themselves? Is this a bunch of Black people with just concerns about race relations in America today? Is it ignorance and just concerns commingling?

714 responses to “Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral”

1. Locking the evidence away from the public

In the early hours of of Sept. 9, 2010, Harris found Mayweather inside her home, which Mayweather still owned despite their breakup. A fight about the house being a little messy devolved into Mayweather being upset that Harris was seeing another man, and Harris called the police, according to the report. Mayweather left, then came back about 5 a.m. with a friend. One of Mayweather’s children let him inside. Harris, asleep on the couch, woke up to Mayweather holding her phone and screaming, “Are you having sex with C.J.?” She answered yes, and the beating began—as their children watched.
    Mayweather grabbed Harris by her hair and began striking her in the back of her head with a closed fist several times. Mayweather pulled Harris off the couch by her hair and twisted her left arm. Harris stated that Mayweather began yelling at Harris “I’m going to kill you and the man your are messing around with.” He also stated “Im going to have you both disappear.” Harris tried to fight him off of her, and she thought he was trying to break her arm by twisting it behind her back. Harris screamed for the kids to call the police or run to the security guard station. Mayweather turned to the kids and yelled at them that “He would beat their asses if they left the house or called the police.” The children were able to get out of the house and run to the security guard station.

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

how does one pay a debt to society , when in the close of the bell the evedience is destroyed to protect the accuser which leaves the victim hopelessly scared and without proof of presenting allegations, yes the past might be solidified in the public minds but still lingering deep with the soul of the victim is a man who is yet to repay a debt to them and which he might never be able to do as he has branded and handed his victims a form of abuse a debt which he can never repay,

2. Ignorance surely knows no bounds

3. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Commonalty
    Lawson and Money and Georgie are sycophants

4. instead of attacking the messenger ,,one should not use their level of political ignorance to spread scratch grain to yardfowls, any topic having to deal with domestic abuse no matter who the attackers/accusers are should be publicized , the fact that mayweather was redeemed and cleanse is the blood of the white media does not make his past behaviuor right, this level of political correctness to cleanse and rectify is a boldfaced disgrace and typical of what is wrong and a slap in the faces of all victims of domestic abuse, surely no one can be so ignorant and purposefully insensitive,

5. Curfew lifted in Baltimore.

30% unemployment in the Black community.

10% unemployment in the White community.

Largest employer John Hopkins.

The consensus is that Baltimore mirrors urban America, if the problem is not fixed we will continue to have to deal with the issues which are systemic.

6. @ AC
    Do you know the whole story…?
    How do you know that mayweather was not dealing with someone like you?

Why do you think the man ran off to Arizona….?

7. Yes Baltimore moves on. there are still other pressing issues that affects societies world wide in general , as the subject of Domestic Abuse was hidden undercover in a disguise to protect mayweather so as not to upstage and shortchange the pot and professional profiteers of the backers of the fight

8. David here is where EXPOSED’s raw data logic fails if 10% of the 200million whites are unemployed, and 30% of the 40million blacks are unemployed some people would say what are you complaining about. Numbers never give a true barometer of whats going on . For example Barbadian men fancy themselves great swordsmen 12 inch dicks everywhere yet EASY instead of reading a newspaper or read a book stands around with his finger up his ass.

9. David, the problem is Education with emphasis on Science and Math, that is the Future!
    Employers in the US that use computerised machinery are having great difficulty finding capable people of any race to do the work. Small and medium sized Orgs are having to bite the bullet are train people with very limited Math skills!

The Robin Hood foundation run by ultra rich guys like Paul Tudor Jones et al are educating thousands of Black and Hispanic kids mainly in NY. They assist 240 Charitable Orgs, check them out, maybe our brothers and sisters in the US could benefit from these people sooner than Govt assistance, these people do make a big difference.

10. NO Person that have been convicted on charges or having a criminal record involving Domestic Abuse should be allowed to be certified or to be a known possessor of having a professional boxing license, as that persons has demonstrated the ability to use the fists as a weapons outside their professional field ,again the system has failed and the voices have remained silent,

11. @ac

You are morally correct BUT big $$$$$$$$$$ for far too many, including black peeps, indeed especially Mayweather and his crew! This whole ting is like $500mn ++++. U really think anyone involved gives a Rahteeeddd about Morals over $500MN++++ ?

12. AC there would be no boxing lol Don King Mike Tyson Jack Johnson Bernard Hopkins just to name a few. All these guys seem to go from 0 to full speed in second , it is not surprising you are upset but what about non boxers like riri’s beau

13. Yes MB we need to educate those at the bottom of the social rung but the capitalist system greatly influences where schools and investments are created therefore leading to opportunities. What we have is a model to break the cycle. The Senator, Congressman and Mayor all have been parroting that Baltimore has the makings of the model, the started with bringing an indictment in record time…lol.

14. What is incomprehensible is that in the “awake” of the baltimore riots ALL are calling for solutions /changes,, Yet it seems like the those who sees wrong in baltimoire riots have closed their eyes and been allowed themselves to be injected with a lethal dose of ‘Cold hardheartedness” and have applied such medicine to those issues which deal with male to female abusive relationships, and yes right on the steps of madison square gardens yesterday a peaceful protester should have been applied and fully demonstrated on national TV against to exhibit to the world that change started in Baltimore but will not end there ,Domestic Abuse is one of the leading causes of Death among females and the change of attitude is necessary, Yesterday Fight had the trappings and hallmarks of dollars exclusive only to those whose bank accounts would matter in the final count down while the victims of domestic abuse at the hands of mayweather cower in the corner wondering what happened,

15. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

“EASY instead of reading a newspaper or read a book

stands around with his finger up his ass.”

On topic and on reflection the pigs (3 white pigs and 3 black pigs) should go all down for working together

(…is a better soundbite than “6 pigs (3 + 3 pigs) didn’t wake up wanting to kill someone”)* (as per police pig union letter)*

Reading watching regurgitating GOP Partisan News, is part of racism and ignorance problem in USA (regurgitating it on BU is not clever either)

16. David, it has nothing to do with Capitalism, especially in light of the fact that the Billionaires I referenced are conducting fantastic measured programs. Put Robin Hood Foundation in charge of at least the Education Budget in the US and we will all see proper management and results almost immediately. These peeps are getting every cents worth for those in need and not wasting $$$ like the Govt.

Singapore is based on Capitalism and has the very best Education system on Earth. Japan, Sth Korea et al are the same. It is how those in power choose to manage or more likely Damage. Any Intelligent Capitalist knows that the more money the poor guys have the richer Capitalists they will be. Growth benefits everybody if it is sustained over long periods. Compare the styles of Hong Kong and Singapore, both Capitalist but HK is more like the US wild west style where the poor are given less meaningful help. help

17. Easy I am sure in your mind what you wrote there made sense, all I can say is HUH …LOL …and hitchhiking must be difficult for you

18. Easy, you are the master of regurgitation and a genius of Copy and Paste!

C&P some good Reggae nuh, and stop being so miserable.

19. Easy, I will back you for a Robin Hood Foundation Education grant!

20. Now here is the story nothing here to regurgitate just cold hard facts about the life and times of a Domestic abuser

http://deadspin.com/this-is-how-las-vegas-protects-floyd-mayweather-1699848463

21. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Gang of Thugs making threats

https://twitter.com/fop3/status/594147983731490820

22. Taken from Facebook:

Stacey Patton's photo.

Stacey Patton

Fuck this photograph! I HATE this photograph! So many things about it are so deeply disturbing to me.

Look at young Michael’s expression and his body language. Does he look like he is a willing participant in this national media foolywang?

Look at him closely. Most of his face is a darkened shadow. No anger in his squinting eyes. Everybody is smiling warmly but him. His shoulders are tensed and squared away from the others, hands on full display down and pressed against his thighs like a good non-threatening boy. See, America, no rocks in these hands. One leg is perched forward to give him an island of comfort steadying himself for the pose so America can continue to celebrate this faux redemptive racial moment. So white America can enjoy its stereotype and black Americans can use it to say, "See, not all black mamas are seeds of deviant criminal offspring. Black mamas discipline their kids and teach them respect for authority."

Look at Cooper, looking like a scrubbed-faced racial tourist, dressed in all black everything to accentuate his gleaming whiteness. Under the guise of journalism he gets to have an Out of Africa moment in one of America’s most blighted citadels of white supremacy. Under any other circumstance do you believe Cooper would walk down the street and get this close to a black juvenile from the ‘hood who is taller than he? Michael’s body and face give us the answer.

That sloping right shoulder of his asks: "Why is this white dude touching me? This dude’s hand can go right ahead and slide all the way off me. The only time white men in Baltimore touch black kids like me is when they are stopping us in our own neighborhoods, when they push us against dirty walls, throw us down on pissy sidewalks, when they search our pockets, lift our shirts, grab our testicles when they frisk us, beat us, handcuff us, throw us in jail, kill us, conduct our autopsies sometimes more than once and zip us up and send our corpses back to our mamas."

Look at Michael. The whole world already witnessed him getting assaulted. Then the news media pimped him out for back-to-back TV interviews where he had to talk about how wrong he was and how he understands that his mama swung on him because she loves him and wants to keep him safe. Ask yourself, what child wants to become a celebrity because he got repeatedly knocked upside his head and cussed out by his mama? And then have to pose for the camera so everybody can see what a child looks like post-whooping?

And look at his mama, pretty and smiling. One side of her face is shaded by a flowing weave, the sunlight hitting the other side just the right way to give her the appearance of a warm and loving mama clutching her youngest babe. Anderson’s body is placed between her and Michael. She welcomes Cooper as he leans in close to her, like a mammy, giving him the hug she should have given her son. We still haven’t seen a picture of her hugging Michael yet, have we? And yet she is the bridge between white America’s interests and her "thug" son who had stepped out of line. I imagine that she probably said, "Smile Michael."

White conservatives and black people who believed that black kids need "a good whooping" can look at this photograph and say, "Aw now look at that. All is restored. This mom helped take back our streets. Her son is alive today because she put him in check. That’s a good responsible black mother. We need more like her!"

Meanwhile young Michael and nameless faceless legions more like him will continue to bear the brunt of the mean-spiritedness of mainstream life in America. White and black people can look at this photo and use it to promote their commitment to physical discipline of children and continue to believe the mythology that black children’s behavior is the true enemy of peace, not racism or the white aggression that fuels their parent’s fear which makes it necessary to beat them so they can live.

Fuck this picture!

23. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Weaves from India

24. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

25. the above post have all the sentiments of ac. now fast forward to yesterday fight when the white prostitutes and the elitist media presented a lily white soul cleansing mayweather as the poster boy of mega bucks but judgement day for him too shall come and those who had cleanse his soul would find him unworthy and dumped him into the despicable hall of shame right next to Bill Cosby and O.Jsimpson..

26. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

AC I read your link

What rich do in Court is make legal threats that if you lose they will enforce you pay their legal costs which bankrupt you,

and they may offer a settlement fee, or allow you to agree not to proceed with case, any agreements made stipulate you cannot go public or make claims against them without being sued.

Courts are for rich to outbid and out bluff with legal bullying
    or spend hundreds of thousands in a waste of time and money

27. Its not the best picture Don Lemon is no Ansel Adams. Don’t be so hard on the mother she will probably get a job out of this. I can understand the authors frustration for the kid..the black gorillas are probably never going to want him as a member now.

28. This is one guy whose CNN programme I give a wide berth.Nasty and filthy people.Maybe Michael knows this too and is not sending any kind of wrong signals to this fella just in case he got ideas.Same score on Don (the poor guy came up in a home with 6 sisters,well wd’ya expect)and Ellen but I like to hear Rachel’s research of her stories and the logic of her thinking.

29. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

AC you are not the only person who has had domestic violence in their life up close and personal…yes it hurts badly. Both the physical and mental pain. But unpick Mayweather from your teet do.

He was sent to jail after pleading guilty and facing a court of law. His spouse and children, thank the Lord, are safe and will now be free of him if of course the law is obeyed.

The process of the law is being followed. And this is not a case where the problem was swept under the carpet and he was able to completely evade the legal penalties.

As Pieces alluded to earlier your hypocricy is shocking.

When Carrington played the legal dance routine to deny an elderly client his money you were loud and strong supporting his right before and after the judge ruled. Yet here after a ruling, conviction and appropriate restitution (I presume), you continue to berate this particular criminal. But Carrington you gave a pass.

Total BS.

Severe mental violence was done to that elderly client, but maybe you do not have a relative in that position so that’s no big deal to you but the domestic violence cuts close to the bone.

I sit in both camps and to me it’s clear that Mayweather did not get any pass or sanitizing for his heinous behaviour. And clear too that Carrington is a crook.

Right topic for moral outrage but your message is very hollow. When you throw off the cloak of hypocrisy then maybe we can start to take you seriously.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word

Do you remember the famous words accredited to Sir Winston Churchill when a famed socialite accosted him on his state of drunkeness during an evening gathering?

“Madame, tomorrow I shall be sober, but you shall still be ugly?”

The party to whom you speak lies in similar streets.

Tomorrow, another can “throw off the cloak of hypocrisy” but it is impossible for this one (of the three) to “throw off the cloak of idiocy!!”

It is their skin, the epidermal layer, no less

As fast as a zebra runs, its stripes DO NOT FALL OFF!!

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

There is a lady by the name of Felicia Broomes? who posts here from time to time on the issue of domestic abuse.

I have commented on a few occasions that once she posts she never seems to come back to her articles, unless like you she is using another moniker like that of Mister C.

I have read and posted on a few of her articles but, and I may be wrong about this, (and de ole man do remember her last article on this subject matter) you were noticeably absent from that commentary,

Which would bring me to believe that you are using a “mind space” with an audience to speak to an issue which while of serious importance, is not the place.

Of course, I can understand your strategy of using a corner where 630 people have “passed” as opposed 13 as directed by the advertising mantra “location, location, location” but it is a lonnngg stretch to connect Mayweather’s domestic issues AND HIS $100M ++ purse, to the matter of Freddie Gray.

A few of us get married 4 or 5 times (cause we did like de wedding procession beat “dum(b) dum(b) de dum(b)”) but let me tell you bout licks and blows.

Dem doan always be physical, and bout cuffing somebody in dem head, sometimes unna “angels in de public eye” does be “de spawn of Lucifer” in the sanctity of the home, especially when wunna going through menopause, hell pun earth!!

No siree, licks doan have to be physical, jes look at all de blows dat you mens Fumbles and Stinkliar putting pun all uh we bajans every day, I lie?

32. Barbadians are truly an amazing set of people, who seem obsessed in focusing on issues that, in reality, does not concern them, while burying their heads in the sand as it relates to issues that directly affects them.

I would like any of BU’s contributors to tell me what the riots in Baltimore, United States of America, has to do with Barbados and Barbadians to the extent this article, as at 5:36am, can generate 631 comments?

Especially against the background that BU’s article on our own case of a policeman charged for murder, can only attract 218 comments; the first quarter economic report = 74 comments; and most importantly, rising crime in Barbados = 47 comments.

33. @Artax

When MLK fought for social justice did it impact the world?

BU has commenters and readers based outside of Barbados.

We can’t be expected to navel gaze in a world described as a global village.

On 4 May 2015 at 09:38, Barbados Underground wrote:

34. David May 4, 2015 at 5:47 AM #

“BU has commenters and readers based outside of Barbados. We can’t be expected to navel gaze in a world described as a global village.”

My point is, whenever there is some issue in the USA, you people spend an inordinate amount of time expressing views that will have absolutely NO impact on that particular matter.

Okay, for argument’s sake I’m going to agree with your point, but at the same time you must agree there are Americans also living in Barbados. Can you point me to an American blog with over 600 comments on the issue of Barbados’ recent case of “police brutality” relative to the shooting death of “Blues” Knight?

But what can I expect, only in Barbados.

It’s similar to the fact the government of Barbados has been encouraging Barbadians to support “Bajan”, yet a government owned radio station can host “Q in the Community”, and the only beer that can be sold at this event, is the Trinidadian beer “Stag”.

35. @Artax

You are over analyzing.

BU’s content is 99% local therefore you have to factor this as well i.e. add the comments on all the local blogs in a period.

36. @ Artaxerxes May 4, 2015 at 5:37 AM,

You are 100% accurate in your assessment. I do not know if you had the time to read the 631 postings but if you did you would have noticed that a certain Dr GP and the ghastly twins Lawson and Money Brain contributed at least one third of the postings.

There would have been more postings if not for me intervening. I implored the BU family to desist from replying to those postings designed to inflame the BU house.

37. the satanic forces of evil namely deigrunt and piece have seized upon this issue to clarify their indifference towards woman by use of vocal force, in one of the most classic demonstration of highly skilled political ignorance on domestic violence one of the demons have resorted to the insane and out of touch arguments to place blame on woman menopause,

38. Like punksutawney phil on feb 2 exclaimer;s head has come out of his arse to claim that there will 6 weeks of no postings by Lawson. Due to his efforts and his alone the garthok has been slain , praise me for stemming the tide of MB and Lawson or there would be no room for our hate filled black postings. You knuckle head what respect can your peeps have for you when you open your yap again after telling them not to . You don’t like white people just say it, although I am sure you would be the first to want a selfie with Anderson or better yet be his hand puppet.

39. Easy.Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy.Squeeze (make no riot)

Baltimore : Policing Crime
    All Old men in Jail or dead
    Only young men left
    (like Palestine)
    http://edition.cnn.com/2015/05/02/us/lord-of-the-flies-baltimore/

40. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

AC I will seek my salvation from the Lord for my satanic evil because I disagreed with you.

You are lying – as usual – and in this instance you have accused me of something I didn’t.

But’ that’s how you operate so suffice to say as mentioned earlier you are a hypocrite who also has an aversion to the truth.

As the moderator said many moons back, you and your commentary should be given a wide berth. So yah are right to cuss my backside cause it definitely was ‘moronic’ to blog re your post.

41. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Aratax, you are indeed over analyzing here as David mentions. For a man of your travel and educational background that has spanned the region and beyond your comments are a surprise.

To paraphrase your point: How and to what impact do any of the comments on BU or the editorial section of the papers or on the call-in programs ” have absolutely [any] impact on [a] particular matter”?

You said you agree for ‘arguments sake’ but why not for reality sake. Take David’s alluded re MLK didn’t we in the region fully embrace the civil rights struggle because it resonated with us so directly also.

Simply stated Fred Gray could be ‘de ingrunt’ or you or any black Bajan at the wrong place at the wrong time in the US when confronted by a police officer -white or black.

The complete callous disregard that was represented for a life in this situation rubbed a number of people the wrong way particularly as it came after a series of similar police incidents.

So yes 630+ remarks later here we are.

When Bajans are outraged on local issues they generate much commentary too like CLICO (maybe 2K+ overall), Lawyers in the News to cite two.

And of course you know that the reverse will not be true…why would a US blogger get worked up about a Bdos issue which would be a dwarf compared to theirs; unless it was some esoteric item like eating ‘dolphin’….”oh my God, they eat that (Flipper) down there, how barbaric”–lol.

That Stag beer item is cute.

And finally, I have to plead guilty for contributing too many of the posts on this topic; all of which were due to an unnecessary to and fro. So in real terms reduce that to the three posts that should have resolved it and then also remove several of the other tit for tat comments and this would really be 50% or more less hot air.

42. @ GP,

It appears that the region that gave us Jesus is experiencing problems with another minority group.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-32580708

43. @ Exclaimer
    …you mean the region that crucified Jesus continues (like everywhere else) to hate and maltreat blacks…!!

No surprises here…
    wuh shiite then… If Blacks THEMSELVES continue to be ignorant of their ordained status in this world, and to debase themselves ….who can blame others for devaluing them as people?

It was long predicted that in these days, the first shall be last and the last first….

In the abundance of water, the ignorant is thirsty…..

44. Easy.Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy.Squeeze (make no riot)

a spokesperson for Prince the Baltimore song “addresses the unrest in Baltimore and the socio/political issues around the country in the wake of a slew of killings of young black men.” Here are the lyrics, written in the usual Prince-speak:

NOBODY GOT IN NOBODY’S WAY

SO EYE GUESS U COULD SAY

IT WAS A GOOD DAY

AT LEAST A LITTLE BETTER THAN THE DAY IN BALTIMORE

DOES ANYBODY HEAR US PRAY?

4 MICHAEL BROWN OR FREDDIE GRAY PEACE IS MORE THAN THE ABSENCE OF WAR

ABSENCE OF WAR

R WE GONNA C ANOTHER BLOODY DAY?

WE’RE TIRED OF CRYIN’ & PEOPLE DYIN’

LET’S TAKE ALL THE GUNS AWAY

ABSENCE OF WAR- U AND ME

MAYBE WE CAN FINALLY SAY

ENUFF IS ENUFF IT’S TIME 4 LOVE

IT’S TIME 2 HEAR,

IT’S TIME 2 HEAR

45. Out of thehundreds of comments i have chosen to bring further attention to domestic violence a problem that affects woman worldwide.however given certain comments by the male gender there is no doubt in my mind that the gravity of the issues involving domestic violence is inconsquential to matters whchinvolves may weather career.i really doesn,t matter that his need not to “ownup”his involvement in domestic abuse would remain an outstanding debt which still should be paid to the victims and society

46. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

AC
    you made your point in public domain
    and domestic violence is as wrong as police and racial violence and violence against children
    Rape is worse
    there is a link in all these subject matters

47. Interesting perspective, some good some bad????

http://www.futuremoneytrends.com/stopthehate

A new micro-doc lashes out at Al Sharpton, Jesse Jackson, Cenk Uygur, and Rachel Maddow for spreading the lie of “hands up, don’t shoot,” which gave rise to protests and even rioting in Ferguson, Missouri.

Not one apology was given to Darren Wilson, the police, or America for fanning the flames of hate and injustice, even after the discovery that Michael Brown never had his hands up, according to eye witness testimony and forensic evidence. Mr. Brown, after robbing a convenience store, attacked Off

48. ac

49. MB you may be on the way to the dislike record exclaimer has voted 3 times already , I think even the blacks realize that Sharpton and Jackson are not doing anything to further their cause

50. @Lawson

I did say some good, some bad!!!!!

If peeps think everything is bad in this video, they can continue in their inability to think!