Baltimore is listed as the largest city in the State of Maryland, the largest independent city and the 26th most populous city in the USA. Of note is that greater than 60% of the population is Black followed by about 29% White. In the wake of Freddie Gray’s funeral – yet another Black man to die in police custody under questionable circumstances – rioting and other violent behaviour has placed the city under siege. The question onlookers are asking – is this a bunch of stupid Black people inappropriately expressing themselves? Is this a bunch of Black people with just concerns about race relations in America today? Is it ignorance and just concerns commingling?
Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral

714 responses to “Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral”
-
The report gave more than 100 examples of apparent misconduct during the war.
One soldier related how troops were instructed to “open fire everywhere, first thing as you go in… the assumption being that the moment we went in, anyone who dared poke his head out was a terrorist”.
“The instructions were to shoot right away. Whoever you spot — be they armed or unarmed, no matter what. The instructions are very clear. Any person you run into, that you see with your eyes — shoot to kill,” said another.
“It’s an explicit instruction.”
A separate testimony said that two women who were talking on phones just under a kilometre away from the front line were shot dead.
When the bodies were later discovered to be unarmed, “we moved on, and they were listed as terrorists”, the soldier said.
http://news.yahoo.com/israeli-veterans-group-slams-army-conduct-gaza-war-180646773.html
-
MB your apology comment for Darren Wilson is well reasoned in the genteel confines of your club meeting group or Lawson’s backyard BBQ with his police and other buddies. In the real world, however, it is but just one more anecdote in the cycle of this vicious public relations battle to drive a discourse. And has little merit.
Are you willing to cite the several instances where the news reports stated that the suspect was caught with marijuana or resisted arrest or many of the other lies told by the law officials. That lie becomes known as well but never gets the same level of publicity.
Are you going to add a link for the many persons who were completely rail-roaded on the altar of career advancement by police and prosecutors and spent years behind bars based on known false confessions or non-disclosure of exculpatory information.
Will you cite the NY detectives who killed for the mob and rail-roaded many others to jail and are now getting many of those ‘convictions’ thrown out after new reviews.
I don’t feel Darren Wilson pain. What pain? I appreciate his very tough job. And his service. I accept that Mike Brown was a big guy who was acting in a ‘thuggish’ manner. Brown was no saint and was wrong to question the direction of a PO. But Wilson’s manner and behaviour did not help the situation either.
A bad situation made worst by the rancorous racial climate of the town leaders and police officials and the two bad actors caught up in a frenzied, chaotic testosterone charged tragedy.
To ask for an apology for PO Wilson or speak of one in the context of what we now know of that town and its bubbling racial pressure cooker shows a biased view of the issue.
Request seen as another false confession. Thrown out.
-
@easy squeeze,,,
So what is your point,, as a matter of fact i made several points relative to violence and so did you and other bloggers, Are you trying to express a view that curtails my freedom to express if and when ever and what ever about domestic abuse connected tp mayweather, the fact is that violence of any kind is wrong and it is highly suspicious that those in the media saw all kinds of wrong in the riots in baltimore but have refused to bring up up the past violent performance of a man who have shown no remorse in how he have abused woman ,
-
AC
I was saying “I hear you”Boxers are stupid and known for violence
Floyd Money Mayweather: Why should I donate money to Africa? What has Africa done for me?
-
the above video captures everything one wants to know about the mentality of mayweather , arrogant and self centered as they come. but one day coming soon God would be his final judge,
-
Grunt like you I am willing to look at each event on a case by case basis ,I have no excuse for that cop who shot the fella in the back who was jogging away, again driving up to a child and shooting him is also indefensible however cases like brown stink from the get go and it doesn’t matter how many people riot or attorney general visits it still doesn’t make it a good case, and if anyone thinks that watching people of color with their hands up isn’t re-enforcing a stereotype for most whites they are wrong What was in Wilson’s manner and behaviour that didn’t help??? please elaborate inquiring barbequers would like to know.
-
@Ping Pong
It is obviously not just about throwing financial resources at the problem.
-
AC you must be applauded for highlighting Mayweather’s abuae of women.
But in Barbados you must remember we have a very prominent individual with the ‘M” surname that abuse women also.
Check out MOTTLEY!
Why no Barbadian can find no statement from this Mottley praising women on ‘ International Women’s Day’ ?
Ah wonder why not?
-
Fractured BLP the blp yardfowls Oops correction”yardbirds” say that in barbados everthing is swept under the rug, maybe the “M” word could be one of them..
trust me i am not alone in speaking out on the hypocrisy of the media and its closed lip approach on mayweather, i knew that few would even dare question his past and make him own up to the variuos unanswered questions about his domestic abuse to woman. this figh is an eyeopener that underneath all the talk about domestic abuse , that when the bell was rung one one side of the corner there was the victim and on the other side of the corner is the predicable champion MONEY, and the winner by a knock out Punch is MONEY which is all and end all of the story leaving the victim forever bruised and bloody eyed.
-
@D Ingrunt Word
Like I said there is some bad and some good points. I just wanted to see what some would say. The trouble is that all sides have flaws in their thinking and as this shows there are many perspectives and interpretations.
Actually I dont know Lawson BUT I do brek bread with my Bajan darker posse a few times a year at good restaurants in TO, and you can be sure that if I knew you that you would be invited for lunch too. One thing is for sure, nothing can be solved without free flowing communication and examining all pov.
Your comments on Fergusson are fair, i dont know enough on Wilson’s racial interactions but if he has a history of treating black folks well then he would deserve something BUT if he is racial then NO.
Police are not perfect by any means. Interesting info is that when we had G8 meeting here a few years ago my friend a Dr told me that there was a big brawl among drunk Police from the OPP and RCMP. He said that they were the only traumas in his EMG that night!
-
Lawson, elaborate for your “inquiring barbequers” that know so well already. Really.
What they know already is that Wilson’s manner was one of aggression and disdain towards the ‘perp’. Words to the effect ‘get out the f**ing road (he was walking in middle of street) and basically an all round over the top manner.
This is nothing new of course and it’s the reason that blacks or whites need to look at cops and do the ‘yes sir, no sir’ routine. Your peps expect that too. Safer for everyone.
Look I am not making any excuse for stupid criminal activity by anyone. And I definitely don’t expect you or anyone else to make excuses for the attitude that cops bring to the stops either.
This lotta attitude stuff affects cops all over the place of all races (like Gittens here in Bdos). It is just real pronounced in major cities where there is high black pop and high white cop employment. So let’s get real.
In Fergusson you had an entire batch of town leaders joking about a black resident and if he would be able to keep the job for too long given the propensity of blacks to move from job to job (ha ha, like black face jokes, real funny guys)…and other more blatant examples of their ‘undying adoration’ of black people.
As you may recall, the police dept. was cited as – to put in mildly – a few notches below Hoover’s FBI with regards to respect and actions towards black.
Your Canadian brethren may be different but I am damn sure that when they go down to NY in coming days to attend the 25 year old officer’s funeral (RIP) no black guy should get in their face with some stupid behaviour if they had to effect a citizen’s arrest. Likely would be a quick and nasty manhandling.
The vicious cycle has to be changed. Confrontation, black death at hands of police, riots and anger, threats to police, assassination attempts on police; police deaths. Police on the edge…REPEAT!
All the social steps missing but this cycle gotta STOP.
What can your BBQ boys do to help make the change! Yes, yes I know what the Blacks need to do.============
MB, the invite is lovely but I have to refuse wid respect and ting…after your man’s GP rant on me the other day I would be too intimated to join a group of such high IQ gents wid my moronic self…I would just embarasss my backside again!
-
correction: …. joking about a black PRESIDENT…
-
D Igrunt
My bros may have elevated IQs but we have even more commonsense and manners.
-
mb and lawson
why are you whiteys not organising marches in multiple cities in north america?
after all a white police man was shot by another NIGGA THUG WITH A VERY LENGTHY RAP SHEET.
IF IT WERE POSSIBLE THE HERD ON BU WOULD HAVE ALREADY TAKEN MY NAME OUT OF THE BOOK OF LIFE…………………..FOR LIFE! LOL
-
@Georgie Porgie May 4, 2015 at 9:50 PM “Your name has already been taken out of the book of life,..by you.
Hateful ole SOB!!!
-
YA SEE WHAT I MEAN?
-
Grunt so because he said get off the fucking rd,his career is gone???? Not gone because he was wrong, not gone because any investigation federal or state found him guilty, not gone for any other reason but he would or other cops would be assassinated if he stayed. It may not be fair but sometimes in an odd way evil triumphs.
GP you don’t want us marching baby LOL -
mb and lawson
why are you whiteys not organising marches in multiple cities in north america to prevent WHITE POLICEMEN FROM WORKING IN BLACK AREAS?
WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF WHITE POLICE OR OTHER WOULD STOP WORKING IN BLACK AREAS FOR FEAR OF THEIR LIVES?
CALL IN SICK WHEN SO DEPLOYED OR ROSTERED
WHY NOT LET THE NIGGA THUGS KILL THEM SELVES, ROOT AND LOOT AND HOOT AS THEY WISH AND LET THEM KILL THEMSELVES ON THE HEROIN?
BARE SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP NOW MORE FUSSING AND CUSSING LOL
-
@Georgie Porgie May 4, 2015 at 10:47 PM “CALL IN SICK WHEN SO DEPLOYED OR ROSTERED.”
Are you a “Christian” suggesting to policemen and women who are paid out of tax money that they should CALL IN SICK /claim to be sick when they are not?
Are you one of those doctors who provided “sick certificates” to malingers which practice has put undue pressure on Barbados’ National Insurance system?
-
Simple Simon, surely you are not a mouse which nibbles at every piece of detritus thrown on the garbage heap.
Rather shrewder than that and can distinguish real from make believe and a jibe for the sake of a jibe.
-
ARE YOU THE ONLY ONE OF THE HERD HISSING AND PISSING ON GP TO NITE LOL
ARE YOU THE ONLY ONE OF THE HERD FUSSING AND CUSSING GP ABOUT WHAT HE WRITES O NITE LOL MURDAHQUID SCRIPSI, SCRIPSI LOL
-
@GP Sorry I was so shocked by the WI win, I have been in a Coma! lol
That’s a lie we was planning a LOOTING spree on behalf of the Murdered Officer, I badly needs a new 60 inch TV, some liquors, and free prescription fill for my HBP meds. lol
-
Dear AC,
Having been called one of the “satanic duo” who has reason to regularly accost 1/3 of you, the Legion Host that thou art, one would think that being spawn of the same Fallen Angel that I would recognise you.
Unfortunately I don’t other than in the generic sense – that is idiocy, cretinism and my personal favourite “Assassin of the English Language”
Just an aside on that last point.
I would like to recommend that you speak to the other 2/3 alter egos of Legion, BEFORE YOU POST evidence of your ILLITERACY.
You recently wrote “…two of the male genders…” in a recent submission. There are three gender classifications: masculine, feminine and neuter. (though to be politically correct, since we are in Barbados, there is the “in-betweeners”)
Now when you say “two of the male genders” that will confuse us readers more than normal i.e. to say that while you normally confuse readers with your idiocy, we would be additionally confused by the idiocy within the idiocy, if you can understand what I am saying, I hope that you do, because I am now confused and have to go take a rest.
Oh, by the way, there is an article here that speaks to the issue of Anna Druzhinina https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/convicted-murderer-of-russian-teenager-appeals-his-sentence-in-barbados-may-5-2015/comment-page-1/#comment-567624
Given your recent comments about Mayweather the wife beater it might be interesting to see if you will comment there about the ruthless killing of this teenage female and student at St Winifreds being that you are a female yourself or at least 2/3rd of you.
Maybe you might, in commenting on Anna’ untimely death, want to (i) speak to the disproportionate sentencing that her Guyanese murderer was accorded by the DPP while the two men who also murdered others of our young women at Campuz Trends got 6 life sentences (ii) the fact that one Door stores in Bridgetown CONTINUE TO BE in contravention to Building Regulations (iii) you may seek to comment on the biggest fire hazard in Bridgetown, the one door structure called Kirpalani’s.
But now that I think about it, maybe you should not go there to comment since it only has 6 or so comments while this has almost 700 and people would not get to see you display your brilliance in that corner of the woods.
-
@ piece
are you a wife beater.. have you ever engaged in domestic abuse ,why don’t you take igrunt advice ,it seems that i have mashed your corns sir given your vocal abuse of ac,, i just think you cant help yourself ..what you are displaying is sure sign of male dominance one of which men use against the female gender who becomes “uppity” and needs to be put in palce , Well let me tell you this sir you or no male can control what i say or how i say it. hell would freeze over before that happen. you seem to revel in a sense of relieving and reliving your dominance over woman by the use of the pen . unless the woman use slutty language to arouse your libido which you quickly respond to with that kind of inertia a la sexual arousal by penetrating words, ole man this is one person with whom you can not manipulate or dominate by your abusive style to control what i say. you are one of the many remaining cowards in the male species who believes you have a right to piss all over woman by thought word and deeds, as for your sexual prowess which you have on occasion try to highlight or display in the bu classroom ac likened it to a flat tire in need of repair,,
-
Thank Ms. Lauryn Hill for cancelling her concert in Israel
Dear Judy-
I can barely believe the news! After being lobbied by thousands of fans, Ms. Lauryn Hill — one of the best known hip-hop and R&B superstars in the world — announced just minutes ago that she’s cancelling her concert in Israel.
She heeded the call of the millions of us who don’t want artists to play in a country where Palestinians have lived as refugees, or under military occupation for almost 50 years. The Israeli government wants artists to perform in Israel, as though it’s just another normal country – but Israel’s decades of violating the rights of Palestinians is anything but normal.
I can promise you, the backlash against her is going to be fierce. If we loudly let Ms. Lauryn Hill know we have her back, other artists will show the same courage. We can help turn this historic moment into a tipping point.
Please, take a minute to sign this massive thank you card to Ms. Lauryn Hill for cancelling her concert in Tel Aviv: http://www.thankyoulaurynhill.org
10 years ago, Palestinian civil society issued the call for Boycotts, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS), and created a movement that has spread like wildfire. Together, we’re putting pressure on Israel to follow the law, so that where international talks have failed, BDS can succeed.
Whether speaking out against police brutality, or lending her voice to the movement for refugee justice, Ms. Lauryn Hill never shies away from standing up for people facing oppression around the world. She’s taken a brave stand against the occupation of Palestine, and for peace and justice. Stand with her — thank Ms. Lauryn Hill for cancelling her concert in Israel.
Our time is now. Our movement is growing. Thank you for being part of it.
In solidarity,
Cecilie Surasky
Deputy Director, JVP
Cecilie Surasky
P.S. Ms. Lauryn Hill said it best herself: “I was hopeless but now I’m on hope road.” Let’s stand with her, and take another step down hope road together. Sign our thank you card.
-
GP, Money Brain, Lawson
Goodbye and all the Best when you go,
It’s not my call to ban on Book of BU, but got strong hunch you suck
-
@ AC.
“we were soldiers once…and young” is a quote (and book, and movie) which speaks to many things which having been, will never be again.
Libido, erections, pert breasts, now haggard from nursing and/or being pulled at, sagging botsies which gravity have pulled out of their beauteous crescents, all is vanity and vexation of the spirit
You see dear AC I have not reach that age of senility to forget things that you have said at various times here on BU.
Do you remember when? you AC spoke unkindly of ole fogeys and wished that we would all crawl away to die?
Do you remember our first encounter when (I was new to this blog and) after we cajoled with words, you promised “to throw the ole man down to the ground and kick me in “my noggin”?
I remember well how my octogenerian self ran quickly for shelter seeking first a cyberspace restraining order against your “violence” here from the blogmaster from your “verbal assaults” and then trying to get the CoP find your IP address and come for your Gaza self
But AC since you have so conveniently forgotten maybe i should ask the Blogmaster to retrieve those of your comments that were representative of “Mayweather’s domestic violence a-la-AC” and to show how like a hipocrite you are in these representations you make again this boxer, formerly incarcerated for his crime, as you champion his ex-wife here.
“Do As I Say (Not As I Do): Profiles in Liberal Hypocrisy” by Peter Schweizer is an interesting read.
AC as the title alludes, it speaks to people, like you who will, today, rise to defend the indefensible issue of theft, but tomorrow, when say the Speaker of A House of Parliament, somewhere in the world, is caught squarely in the rifle scopes of Thievery, everything that you said yesterday is forgotten as you ride your white stallion to the assistance of the crook.
As one of those “Who Were Once Young” study these things that you discuss here about violence, I smile because when you perpetrate it against your ailing mother in the Alms House, sorry district Hospital, sorry Old People’s Home in Rendevous, because it is you, that is called caring for the old, but as you were quick to point out, in Mayweather, it is domestic violence.
-
What is the definition of credibility:
the quality of being trusted and believed in.
-
President Obama now in the last two years of a final term promised to dedicate the rest of his life to helping disadvantaged Black men in America.
-
@Piece Thanks for reminding me. however let me remind you that unlike those who take verbal abuse from the attackers {which ac now refers to you } ac did not lie down and die or waited for legal system to throw me helplessly under the bus after a beat down by you, there are two sides of the story and it is obvious that you have forgotten the other side ,,so yes my verbal beating down of you (With no apologies) was my form of rightful justice against your verbal abuse of me.
Just like mayweather u project a view that would distant you from the crime and one to place full blame on the victim.. indeed i have not forgottenGood for those who are advocates and fought for in the lauyrn hill cancellation ,it speaks volume as to where and when priorities are are placed in their rightful perspective the outcome can be justified,
Wish ac could have seen the the same advocacy for victims of Domestic Violence when mayweather well known for Domestic violence was given a stage and a hefty pay day from society while his victims suffer in silence, -
easy sqeezie makes no sense all David has to ask me and I wont comment again, GP white cops will not boycott black areas they are made of stronger stuff than that, actually there job has become easier since ferguson because people already have their hands up.
-
@ David [BU]
I was wondering about that “dedication of the rest of one’s life to “disadvantaged black men”
I took this route, one that is based on “exigencies” to respond to this your titillating thought about what happens “after 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue” (The White House) in his pursuit of that dedication
“When a president leaves the White House, he’s still on the government payroll, receiving an annual pension of about $200,000, health care, paid official travel and an office.”
So he gets some government paid perks, limo, air force 1 etc.
There is also the possibility of some books “How I killed Osama Bin Laden when George Bush Couldn’t” and some speaking assignments.
All told he may make $750,000 to US$1M a year.
The speaking tours form a substantive part of his future income and, if Hilary wins then those revenues will continue, if she doesn’t well, no one wants to offend the party in power by inviting the ex-President to speak, at premium dollar.
Especially a Black Ex President well, the way I figure it, it will have to be a lot of influential wealthy black institutions that are going to be hiring him to speak or a lot of books, to keep him afloat. Or he can end up like Jimmy Carter? (I think think it was hime who was when he left office, flat broke.
What therefore can President Obama, America’s token to the world that “we’re not racists, we love black people” do with his $500,000 per year to make change to the lives that he proposes to dedicate himself to?
And then I asked myself another question David.
Let us say that he does “dedicate” his life to disadvantaged blacks, what does that mean? and what will that parlay into?
We have come full circle to that point of Marcus Garvey proposed needful of the tailoring of the Black Star Liner concept, adapted to these times of institutional racism and disenfranchisement.
Michael Johnson, Oprah, President Obama, Kofi Annan, just to name a few of us black folk who need to “come together” and create an evolved “black nationalism” and Pan Africanism a la 2015 which DOES NOT restrict itself to the physical boundaries of anywhere, YET, as a vibrant “colony of the mind” is strong enough to “feed” us, enfold us, give us “domicile” where we can resist and then overcome the relentless colonization of the mind that is our waking reality still
-
Easy Squeeze (make no riot) May 5, 2015 at 5:55 AM #
GP, Money Brain, LawsonGoodbye and all the Best when you go,
It’s not my call to ban on Book of BU, but got strong hunch you suck. end
EASE OFF the drugs and likka nuh!
Yuh see I even give U the benefit of doubt. I was going to say that U are Intellectually Bankrupt, dont appreciate others POV etc but U are beyond help, so I desist.
-
@piece…ole man your relentless verbal attacks on ac have never ceased in your zeal to exposed and characterised the many ac,s you have dreamed up in your demented mind.now as not fully satisfied you have now attached yourself to a defensive mode to simplify domestic violence using my comments to verify anf villfy my persona as a domestic abuser. You are surely a coward basking in the limelight of dementia and cowardice
-
Money B
You are as sincere as a White man can be
sincere as in arrogant
friends like you are ancient history -
Thine Ignorance Surely Knows No Bounds!!
-
@piece .ole man the same ” shout out” to u coward.
-
Why would obama dedicate the rest of his life for the disadvantage black man.obama already did his part in representing the male gender as one who can reached the heights of success.lnstead how about you oleman calling on the white establishment to repay the debts which is owed to the black race which would go a long way and be advantageous in advancing the overall black community. obama dream was fullfilled he did his time he has projected an image that blacks are not all thugs now it is past time for the white establishment to fess up to the mess they have created one in which has destroyed the dreams and hopes of many disadvantage black men
-
@Easy
U are a sincerely one sided Racist!
All Whites are not alike, just as all blacks are not. We are all individual humans.
Despicable members in both racial groups but I would not expect U to realise that.
-
-
@Bush Tea & Pachamama – May 4, 2015 at 10:47 AM #
Bush Tea you quoted “…….If Blacks THEMSELVES continue to be ignorant of their ordained status in this world, and to debase themselves ….who can blame others for devaluing them as people? ……..
Listen to this “boys”: mighty Saudi Arabia has enlisted tiny Senegal to protect his borders against possible attacks from Yemen. Making Senegal the first African country to align herself with the coalition formed under the Saudi Arabia leadership.
Is it any wonder that those two enlightened “gentlemen” Money Brain and Lawson continually mocks the black race?
-
Exclaimer
Show me exactly where and when I mocked Black peeps?????????????
Guilty of not joining a bandwagon but not of what you wrote above!
-
MoneyBrain May 5, 2015 at 5:06 PM #
ExclaimerShow me exactly where and when I mocked Black peeps?????????????
Guilty of not joining a bandwagon but not of what you wrote above!
MB DONT YOU KNOW THAT YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO JOIN THE BAND WAGON AND FOLLOW THE HERD
-
-
Exclaimer please move to the front of the class, you are now getting a grasp on the situation by coming to the conclusion that you are dealing with gentlemen. We do nothing more than give an opposite opinion not based on melanin.
Sure Senegal has joined Saudi Arabia in a war somebody has got to die, they do not want to get there hands dirty and need men on the ground. For that Senegal will surely be in line for big financial help. So it begs the question why is Barbados so slow in joining somebody anybody so it can ship off a bunch of the herd decreasing unemployment ,reducing crime and getting that economic bailout that it doesn’t need but would kill to get -
These gents never heard of a Maverick?
Group think is close to useless. There is so much to learn from others POV.
Dissenters are often the ones that help solve the problem at hand.
Medical history is full of examples
1 the Dr that was run out of Vienna for claiming that washing hands of germs before Surgery was critical.
2 Dr Marshall who was laughed at for 20 yrs because he claimed that most Stomach Ulcers were caused by Bacteria not stress. Until he drank a beaker full of bacteria and was monitored closely
These gents dont seem to have learnt the lessons of history.
-
@Lawson
Been calling for Bajan continued exportation of peeps as a partial solution as itraises $$$$$ via Remittances. (been happening for Donkey years already eg Panama/ other periods of migration. Maybe we should round up the Boyz on the Block, train them in the Military and then rent them to Saudi? Govt should round them up anyway and discipline them by Military Service.(maybe dont teach them to use Guns tho) Many very successful Countries have compulsory Military Service out of High School eg Singapore, South Korea.