THE NAME of Therold Oneal Fields has been struck from the roll of attorneys in Barbados. This decision was made by the Court of Appeal today, as the court also ordered him to pay $601 000 with interest of eight per cent to his former client, Patricia Simpson, who had hired him in 2008 in relation to the purchase of land at Gibbons in Christ Church โ€“ Nation News

Therold Oneal Fields

The disbarment of Therold Oneal Fields by the Court of Appeal has been well received by a long suffering public.ย  The prevailing sentiment is that many more lawyers need to be made an example of by the Bar Association and the Courts of Barbados. Barbadians living overseas is one group which has been taken advantage of through the years.

The question being asked is why Fields and not Speaker Michael Carrington. We all know why! The other question is why does the system take so long to discipline lawyers. In the case of Fields he was contracted in 2008 and Michael Carrington his matter, although taking a different path, was protracted as well. Surely for justice to be delivered it must be done in a timeframe to mitigate the suffering of those who have been taken advantage of by trusted court officers.

Another related issue which requires attention is the better use of the Attorneys-at-law Compensation Fund established under the Legal Professions Act Cap. 370A to relieve or mitigate the loss of a victim. In 2013 the fund was stated to have a balance of greater than 2 million dollars. We need to hear the Barbados Bar Association President Tariq Khan publicly addressing this issue.

For too long members of the political class in Barbados which is greatly influenced by lawyers have ground the โ€˜systemโ€™ to snail pace. The time has come for the honest among you to take on the responsibly of cleaning up the profession and more directly to make the system more efficient.

What about Speaker Michael Carrington? Is he not an ideal candidate deserving of censure?

101 responses to “Lawyer Therold Fields Disbarred NOT Speaker Michael Carrington”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

He is a low level crook, Much more well past his numbers taken , Sirs like Cheltenham , Ralph Thorne Quick Crook, and many others, Many ran to England and the EX CJ Simmons need to be in Jail for the High Court land he least to build the New High Court from the Sir Crook Cheltenham ,None have deeds and EXCJ Simmons was shown the deeds when he was AG back in 1995,
    So he also need to be in Jail, Now both running around the Caribbean like they Big news for top dollars talking other people wrongs,

VOTE the CUP and see Lawful Actions,

2. @TDavid the blogmaster “The question being asked is why Fields and not Speaker Michael Carrington. We all know why!”

Maybe Fields (Unlike Leroy Parris) is NOT the Prime Minister’s friend is not the Prime Minister’s friend???

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

People will get little help from the Bar Association at least in its current configuration and particularly who is running it.

When their friends are up front in the commess you find a banding together of brothers and sisters to protect their own.

So the common man and woman will be frustrated to thy kingdom come by the “happy band of brothers”

It can be solved if there were a better business bureau mechanism which broadcasted the names of all those persons against who matters were heard AND a judgement given as well as against tose persons who have matters pending.

John and Jane Public could pay $100 to see what your Craig’s List rating is and would be advised whether to use you donkey or leave you to rot in the boondocks.

Lawyers and doectors and professional persons who continue to rip off the common Bajan need to be forced to be honest.

If they cant get work their asses going be honest after a while.

I would suggest that this is the Quantum Leap for BU, for it to move beyond the talk giants and prognosticators, of whom I lead the bunch, to true legal civil dissent and making our voices heard.

4. …….Meanwhile in Brazil the authorities are waging war against corruption.

Whilst the masses are taking to the streets in their thousands.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-32329517

5. It is interesting what ordinary citizens are prepared to do elsewhere to protest against the ‘system’.

Gyrocopter lands on Capitol lawn; pilot is arrested

U.S. Capitol Police said that a small gyrocopter with one occupant landed on the West Lawn of the Capitol on Wednesday afternoon.

One person has been detained, Capitol Police spokeswoman Kimberly Schneider said in an e-mail.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/local/wp/2015/04/15/a-gyrocopter-just-landed-on-the-capitol-lawn/

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This particular lawyer has no major rank. The bar’s decisive action against him is a public appeasing move. Carrington on the other hand is part of the sophisticated highly collusive consortium of crooks. His matter will never become a matter for the bar or a case for him to be disbarred. The only way that he can be disbarred is if the citizens of Barbados no longer see him as a worthy QC to transact business on their behalf.

7. What I gather from the judges is that if you are sorry or appear to be then you can continue to tief legally. The Speaker is “sorry” and his famblee is oppressed so these judges could not debar him. May be the Speaker does not, like this lawyer, even know who Mr. Griffth is!!!

8. I would rather know which attorney/doctor/contractor/ etc to avoid than have to try to get back my money through the courts. Pieceuhderockyeahright has a made a simple, effective and inexpensive solution to the issue of protecting the public from dishonest or incompetent professionals. Therein lie the problem, his solution is simple, effective and inexpensive and as we know such things are anathema to Barbadians.

9. Like the Augean stables, the muck that plagues Barbados needs cleaning up. Is it possible? Where, who or what shall be our Hercules?

10. This is a joke. Other people were ‘disbarred’ before, even spent time in jail and yet are practicing law again.

This does nothing to address the endemic, outright thief and ‘mishandling’ of client funds by all lawyers. Or the collusion to cover one another’s crimes.

That the system cannot put a simple measure in place to establish a firewall between client funds and thiefing lawyers, all lawyers, makes a mockery of what we like to call freedoms, any freedom!

11. @Pacha

This is Barbados. Once the yardfowl support is unyielding with no loyalty to what is right morally, ethically and otherwise this is the fruit of it all we will have to tolerate. Good men and women have been forced to cower in the darkness to avoid their necks being lopped of at the altar of brutishness.

12. Why should the Lawyers be allowed to put their clients money for property deals in their personal account ? . Why does the Bar Association not set up an Escrow fund ? Escrow is essentially what happens when money is deposited by one person with a neutral third party so that it can be delivered to another party upon completion of an event. In the home buying process, escrow opens when the buyer and seller sign a purchase agreement and the buyer puts down a deposit. Escrow protects all parties involved by making sure that no funds or properties change hands until all conditions in the agreement have been met.

A neutral third party can be an escrow officer from an escrow company, someone from a title company or from a title and escrow company, maybe even the Bar Association. Some regional areas use title and escrow attorneys. Custom and market conditions also dictate which escrow costs the buyer or seller pays. The amount typically totals about 1 to 2 percent of the cost of the home.
    Before the close, the buyerโ€™s grant deed, any final escrow instructions or contingency releases, the settlement sheet of disbursements, title reports, the deed of trust lender forms, inspection reports, tax statements and any other paperwork must be signed. Escrow closes and the deal is complete when the escrow office records a new deed in the buyerโ€™s name, the seller gets paid for the home, and all other monies are disbursed.

13. @ John Hanson

Before when some were ‘gleeful’ about the JM’s report, and before, greeting that report with excitement, we were trying to tell them that the JMs are part of another criminal enterprise, operating under the cloak of law. But there is always a deficit in vision, too trusting of the establishment.

As a former insider we know that these people (JMs) give not a f**k about policyholders. Theirs is to eat up all the money they find, or sell assets to their friends or would be clients.

That a stinking government of Barbados could let this happen in 2015 screams for the erection of a guillotine.

14. Pacha and David
    Your views are right on.No one will bell the cat.Client funds are sooooo attractive to greedy ‘hang-your-hat-higher-than-you-can-reach-it-lawyers whom the Laws of Barbados require John Public to seek and pay for advice on matters that can be completed on a prescribed form and sworn before an officer of the peace.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Pachamama

i remembered vaguely when I was young my father talking about Ezra Alleyne and some client money that caused him to leave Barbados. Was he disbarred that after a period of time he got reinstatement with the bar to practice again in Barbados? Do you know who these people are that were disbarred before.

16. David can you publish the rules/regulations/laws relating to Client accounts in Barbados?

If not can you tell us where to find this information?

17. Errol Niles was ‘struck from the roll’ or disbarred, arrested, spent some time on remand and is back practicing law again. Even when he was ‘disbarred’ he was still allowed to teach law and present himself a a legal resource.

Up to now the millions of dollars stolen has never been repaid. Not to talk about consequential losses, in one case alone into the hundreds of millions to one entity from which he stole more than 2 million.

Errol Barrow was right, if Bajans want justice we must stay out of Coleridge Street. Errol Niles is but one, of course there are many others. Still more never detected. And the rest knowing of crimes and turning their collective eye.

The Lodges, the BBA, the Judges and a docile community allow this foolishness to continue. And it shall never end!

18. It is not who you are it is who your associations are. This is a real corrupt society. I want to know about my pension in CLICO. What is the latest on that? This is now four months without a pension and these crooks are enjoying life and eating large and in charge.

19. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

The righteous indignation being expressed re the legal profession is understood, but the seeming disconnect with reality is troubling.

This matter with lawyers certainly did not creep up and bite us on the ass.

Someone quoted Errol Barrow re his comments that poor people should stay away from lawyers if they want justice – or words to that effect. How more damning can one be!

Pacha said above lawyers have been disbarred and disciplined before.

As with everything in life one needs to be vigilant and take absolute care with all matters.

The situation with lawyers is nothing unique or specific to that profession and when we visit doctors or accountants or any other professional we need to exercise that due care.

Anyone in this modern era who gets caught out is either a careless person or simply unfortunate because of course we cannot know what is in the heart and mind of a person who has never before acted with malfeasance or disciplined.

But for all others word of mouth and social media on the FACTS of their evil acts should make them pariahs in the society. That should be an absolute objective and connection to reality.

Just recently in the US a Pizza parlor owner said he would not cater to weddings of gay couples. He and his business was lambasted. They had to shut down.

What is stopping bajans from ‘shutting’ down the practices of Mr. Carrington or the Dr. Roachford who has been accused of sexual harassment of clients?

Well, bajans obviously.

That Pizza parlor…they reopened and were also ‘gifted’ over $400K from a ‘gofund’ petition started in their honor.

Never said it was going to be easy.

But the fact is that ALL the processes are there for the public to be HEARD LOUDLY. But, how’s that little phrase: ‘money talks, BS walks’.

It seems that Bajans prefer the ‘gofund’ option.

20. I believe that since the Barbados Underground has shown the guts to publish these types of disgusting practices being committed by Lawyers with the backing of the “uppity” types, eventually these perpetrators may just get the message and start retreating back in their “caves” where they live. Papers like the Nation and the Advocate (article in today’s paper) seem to have had an issue printing these types of articles. But maybe that will change going forward.

Exposing these fraudulent types (and it seems that there are just too many) will eventually prove to be the turning point of this kind of behaviour and attitude.

These ‘Sick Lawyers” really seem to believe that their actions are fine and this I believe is because nothing is done about it. I must say I used to be a very proud Barbados National but since I got involved in the process of dealing the BBA, Chief Justice, and crooked and disgusting lawyers myself, my view of the country has certainly changed. I still love the country, but cannot say much about the actual running of business affairs there.

But being an optimist, I am hoping that there is someone or someones with the gumption to push and push and change this thing.

Even to get a simple response from a lawyer in a timely manner is an issue.

21. Yawn..
    Dรฉjร  vu all over again…..
    In all probability, we will see a similar revelation tomorrow… and next day…

..that is…UNLESS we address the root problems of shiite leadership, lack of ethics and morals, and the preponderance of useless, inert brass bowls…

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Jim Gibson

Crawl back in their Caves without consequence. What about the biting ants, komodo dragons, hungry crocodiles and then lice and leeches.

23. @SSS

Correction: Mr. Griffiths wrote to the Disciplinary Committee (DC) NOT the Bar Associations. Tariq Khan would want us to be clear on this because the DC was setup under a separate law.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What is this diciplinary committee and who is responsible for it. Never heard of it before. Did this DC represent Mr. Griffith or give him a bunch of long talk.?Because when it all boiled down he took his matter to the press and then the people talked.

25. The DC hears/rules on complaints sent to the BA. It is headed by Maguerite Woodstock-Riley.

26. @ David,

Legal profession Act pdf has a lot of interesting information.

27. One thing we know for sure of this crooked lawyer, He is not a member of the Democratic Labour Party, he is not a lodge member, and he is not queer.

28. @Sunshine Sunny Shine April 16, 2015 at 8:45 AM “Do you know who these people are that were disbarred before.”

Erroll Niles
    Michael Simmons

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@SS

Was Erza Alleyne one of them

30. @Colonel Buggy April 16, 2015 at 1:29 PM #

“One thing we know for sure of this crooked lawyer, He is not a member of the Democratic Labour Party, he is not a lodge member, and he is not queer.”

I get the first two, but how do we know he is not queer?

31. As a Bajan living abroad, I enjoy reading the articles and comments posted here and then I feel sad about what is going on in Barbados.

Mr Fields may have just been thrown out there to distract the average citizen,

32. @The Observer, you are not the only one feeling sad about what going on in Barbados. As for Fields being ‘thrown out there to distract the average citizen’, you missed out the word ‘gullible’, as what is saddest of all is the fact that word seems to apply to a substantial number, maybe even the majority.

33. Notwithstanding the jokers we have in Parliament, something like this ,reinforces the popular belief, that there are at least two select groups of people in this country who really call the shots.
    Who needs a Republic?

34. Well the Carrington issue and the one involving Fields are incomparable.

Carrington settled his debts to the client Fields did not.
    Carrington did not misrepresent himself to his client, Fields did.
    Carrington did not try to implicate other Attorneys in the matter, Fields did.

35. @ Fractured .Blind ,Lost, Person
    Your mind is truly fractured to the stage where it is only comparable with what in the DLP Farm yard , lots of crooks, queers,

36. After BU started a greater focus on lawyers they ran away. Then there is the politics.

37. David wrote ” lawyers they ran away”.

Maybe they watching Test cricket.lol

38. Therold Fields is not the Prime Minister friend so he will not be given the same privileges as Michael Carrington & Leroy Parris, it’s the same misappropriation of funds, but once you are in the right family circle nothing is done for you to uphold the law

39. We need to look into the response PM Browne of Antigua gave to Pornville.Fowl cock don’t go to coackroach party Pornville.What a put down!Browne tell Pornville know ‘e place,who you tink you tawkin’ to yuh boy!
    Just like how Gollop tell the CCJ,address me in full wid my QC man!Yuh drunk?

40. Michael Simmons come in and out of Barbados on a regular Basis and nothing has ever been done, and Errol Niles & Ezra Alleyne back in business, so life goes on. Leroy Parris living a life of luxury while the pensioners are hoping one day they will start getting their pension again before they die, and Mara is a wealthy, happy widow, so what’s new in Barbados.

41. Gabriel.

I laughed so loud this morning when I heard a clip on what’s in the Nation. Laughed louder when I read the actual story.

Boom………in your face, Donville……..you are not in my class.

I am glad Mr Browne put Donville in his place…….Donville feels he can washed his mouth on everything and anyone and get away with it! Good for him! Fumble does not talk so he picks up the slack.

By the way, Barbados is in serious trouble and the PM and a big entourage is sightseeing touring the Panama canal. On our dime???? Goodness me!!

42. Prodigal
    Class is class.When Richard Sealy hinted at the LIAT issue last year or year before,Maginley the UPP minister of tourism or aviation took a big swipe at Sealy,attempting to tell Sealy the same thing Browne is suggesting,that is that LIAT is not moving to Barbados ever!!!!!!!But Sealy did not reply and Maginley and the UPP have no more say in matters of LIAT compliments the ballot box. Round one to Barbados.Maginley down and out to the count.
    Big head and big mouth PM in waiting,Pornville, brown nosing Browne saying Browne is his friend.Say what!Man know your place you underling and Browne slapped down Pornville real hard.
    Round 2 to Antigua.Pornville down and counted out.

43. @Piece

Understand your point BUT BU cannot do it alone. Imagine a relay race and what it takes to get to the line. Do you know BU tried to do some email blasts and the emailers said know; that they were scared to chase their regular customers? If the BU family wants their voice to be even more deeply penetrated they will have to do something with the baton.

44. Would be interesting to know which Law Office Mr Fields operate from,and who are his associates.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Just asking

So Ezra Alleyne was indeed part of those names you called that got disbarred? My father said he was a nasty piece of machinery. So throughout Barbados’ history of criminal law activity only three lawyers plus this one have been disbarred but after a period of time/review there were reinstated? Help me to understand someone what really does disbarrment entails. Is it punishment for a period of time requiring that after that time, some type of review or report must be had on the individual before they can be considered for reinstatement. Or after the disbarrment period reinstatement is automatic. Take for example this lawyer. What if he does not repay the clients money with accrued interest, after the period of time or during that time can he engage any law related matters. If he does, does this not constitute and infringement punishable by whatever law would govern his misconduct. For instance the goodly doctor who has been implicated in the death of Michael Jackson was locked up and I believe stripped on his medical license. Tell me, in a few years when he is release will he be able to regain that license and practice again. Is the BAR asociations ruling permanent or temporary.

46. @Prodigal Son April 16, 2015 at 9:40 PM #

“By the way, Barbados is in serious trouble and the PM and a big entourage is sightseeing touring the Panama canal. On our dime???? Goodness me!!”

Was thinking the same thing when I saw the GIS story with the picture of PM and part of his entourage at one of the Panama locks.

47. @ Due Diligence

Maybe he thinking that the Bajans in Panama and their descendants should have a constituency as represented in the Barbados Parliament. LOL