THE NAME of Therold Oneal Fields has been struck from the roll of attorneys in Barbados. This decision was made by the Court of Appeal today, as the court also ordered him to pay $601 000 with interest of eight per cent to his former client, Patricia Simpson, who had hired him in 2008 in relation to the purchase of land at Gibbons in Christ Church โ€“ Nation News

Therold Oneal Fields

The disbarment of Therold Oneal Fields by the Court of Appeal has been well received by a long suffering public.ย  The prevailing sentiment is that many more lawyers need to be made an example of by the Bar Association and the Courts of Barbados. Barbadians living overseas is one group which has been taken advantage of through the years.

The question being asked is why Fields and not Speaker Michael Carrington. We all know why! The other question is why does the system take so long to discipline lawyers. In the case of Fields he was contracted in 2008 and Michael Carrington his matter, although taking a different path, was protracted as well. Surely for justice to be delivered it must be done in a timeframe to mitigate the suffering of those who have been taken advantage of by trusted court officers.

Another related issue which requires attention is the better use of the Attorneys-at-law Compensation Fund established under the Legal Professions Act Cap. 370A to relieve or mitigate the loss of a victim. In 2013 the fund was stated to have a balance of greater than 2 million dollars. We need to hear the Barbados Bar Association President Tariq Khan publicly addressing this issue.

For too long members of the political class in Barbados which is greatly influenced by lawyers have ground the โ€˜systemโ€™ to snail pace. The time has come for the honest among you to take on the responsibly of cleaning up the profession and more directly to make the system more efficient.

What about Speaker Michael Carrington? Is he not an ideal candidate deserving of censure?

101 responses to “Lawyer Therold Fields Disbarred NOT Speaker Michael Carrington”

1. The PM is building towards his reelection campaign.

2. @ David

Wonders never cease. You really think that a monumental failure like Stuart could be thinking, 3 years down the road, Bajans would re-elect him? LOL

This says something about the nature of the politician.

3. Elections next year.

4. Unfreakinbelievable.

“โ€œMy son told me that he wanted to build a house so I went to my bank to see if I could give him some assistance and the bank told me I donโ€™t have no security. Iโ€ˆdonโ€™t own the house. This is sixteen-and-a-half years that they got me in limbo.โ€

5. A year in Barbados is a month in the rest of the world.

6. I recommend Julian Hunte for PM. I would trust him with the treasury and public tenders.

Might be a bit eccentric, but better than the ppor rakey Parliament.

I am fed up with the corruption and nonsense in this country. Makes one think seriously about emigrating.

7. David,

If you get Caswell to run in a constituency, I will put up the Bds$250 for the election fee. We will just have to arrange a drop for the money. Let me know

Regards

8. David:

I share your position on the DLP winning the next election. Beyond the old model of buying the win, the DLP has never been more comfortable with the seemingly inadequate opposition!!! The middle class and upper middle class here will be upset but much of what hurts them does not touch the MAJORITY of the voters who are poor and trained politically to reach out for HAND OUTS especially during the election process. Ikani just demonstrated in the last NUPW elections that elections in Barbados can be BOUGHT and having a war chest makes an enormous difference!!!!

Sorry, Miller but that is what we as nation have become!!!

9. Prodigal Son April 16, 2015 at 9:40 PM #

โ€œI am glad Mr Browne put Donville in his placeโ€ฆโ€ฆ.Donville feels he can washed his mouth on everything and anyone and get away with it! Good for him! Fumble does not talk so he picks up the slack.โ€

Prodigal, this is one time I have to disagree with you.

If you were aware of the comments the arrogant Gaston Browne has been making about Barbados from the time he was elected PM of Antigua, surely you would agree with what Inniss said.

10. Ha, what a treat for the suffering Bajan public, though a small treat.

This dude Fields could not stop lying even for 2 seconds, not even to save himself, he carried those lies all the way to the court of appeals and exhausted himself with lies non-stop.

Fields has no empathy or twinge of conscience in the victimization of his client and displays all the signs of a true psychopath. Those are the psychopathic tendencies displayed by most of the lawyers in Barbados.

One down, many more to disbar.

The Registrar and employees of the Supreme Court will have to be more vigilant with the drawn and prepared signatures on Conveyances, check which lawyer works for which law firm, which lawyer works for vendor and which for purchaser to put an end to the vendor/purchaser scam that lawyers have been perpetrating in Barbados for decades. It’s time these employees do some due diligence and report to the Chief Justice when they see conflict of interest. He will not know and will not be able to act if it is not brought to his attention.

As I have said before, just as was done with the personal injury cases, the client’s money should be taken completely out of the hands of lawyers. Put the money in an account that can only be accessed by the vendor if the sale goes through or immediately reclaimed by the vendor, if not. These lawyers have no self-control and are not only very greedy but also predatory.

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and his gang of equally greedy, predatory lawyers in parliament should be proud since they see nothing wrong with lawyer in Barbados robbing the elderly or anyone else, including the taxpayers.

Barbados finally has a chief justice who understands the problems created by dirty, tainted lawyers and is willing to work with the judges and the bar association to reverse the damage done to the judiciary and the island by those lawyers. There is no reason that the bar association should not reciprocate now that we see it’s basically a toothless organization when it comes to protecting the public from the thugs practicing law.

The process for recommending disbarment takes too long. The bar rules are not written in stone and should be revised and updated to speed up the process. If as the current bar association president says that there are only a few complaints made against lawyers, which i doubt because a few is only three Tariq….why would it take 5-6 years to recommend disbarment.

The situation has become dire and the public, as well as, people living abroad not only have to be protected from Bajan lawyers, but also from some of the lawyers from other islands who live and work in Barbados and have become just as dirty and tainted as their Bajan counterparts….imagine that.

It is very clear that the bar association was originally created only for protection of their member lawyers and with no thought given to the rights and protection of the public or the situation in Barbados could not have repeatedly occur for so many decades or allowed to deteriorate to the point that it’s the talk of the western hemisphere.

As Barry Gales said, there should be zero tolerance going forward….not only for thieving lawyers working for vendor/purchaser but also for the predatory lawyers who use dirty tactics against their clients to destroy their case for personal gain while working for both plaintiff and defense.

It’s all for the good of the island.

11. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

Anybody see today’s Nation Newspaper – these lawyers really making a mockery of our system. The former Chief Thief of Clico’s lawyers were cited by the CJ for not having paid their Bar Fees. Pity the CJ didn’t go on to dismiss the case since it was technically filed by lawyers without proper standing. But that would have been common sense which is afterall not so common.

12. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66298/smith-parris-team

The CJ really should dismiss this case. How could you choose not to have audience with someone who has not paid their bar fees but accept papers filed by them. Especially since these jokers have been so defiant and vocal. maybe that is why they didn’t want Madam Justice J Cornelius – she would have had the intestinal fortitude and independence to throw out the case but the CJ allows Hal the Ponificator and pal of the PM to hurriedly pay his dues. Justice will be served.

13. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

This issue of non-certification due to non-payment of fees to the Bar Assoc. is the normal gobblygock that deliberately gums up life and creates lucrative business for the lawyers themselves.

There are no grounds upon which a non-certified lawyer per the BA cannot practice his profession.

Obviously, our lawyer led parliament have no motivation to correct this problem, if in fact they see it as a problem.

Under the Compensation Fund sub-head of the act it states in part, “A grant may be made under this section whether or not the attorney-at-law had a Practising Certificate in force.when the act of dishonesty was committed…”

Although that clearly safeguards the unsuspecting client it sets the tone as no where is there in the Act violations for lack of certification.

So the CJ puts down his foot. So what. Nothing more than tattle on the social party circuit.

14. @ Dee ingrunt word
    …sometimes you does talk some real shiite hear..?

Lawyers in Barbados are a protected bunch….protected by the parliament that they control.
    We have laws that REQUIRE ordinary citizens to employ lawyers to do the simplest of matters; that REQUIRE us to pass large sums of money through their hands; that protect them from market competition; protect them when they break the law… and that generally guarantees their financial success.
    …all they have to do in exchange is to register with the mob …sorry the Bar…. and pay a fee …..and you think that this is an onerous imposition?

Other professions have to register, and pay professional fees to practice their skills, ….and yet enjoy NO SUCH privileges….

Everything that Smith and Gollop has done while unregistered should now be challenged as invalid and without proper standing….otherwise this ruling by the CJ is just playing to the gallery…

steupsss…

15. Bushie

Ingrunt maybe saying that if you would let a doctor open the brain or yuh heart, yuh might as well let the thiefing lawyers open yuh purse and take control of all your wealth. The lawyer could teck yuh life, but the thiefing lawyers could only take yuh wealth. LOL

16. Sir Dennis gotta be laughing at Gollop and Smith,the QC advocates to revert to the Privy Council.
    If Julian is made PM you understand Republicanism dead as a dodo.He is man who dresses in the Union Jack.I can see Julian in his white cork hat with the plumes in the top and fluttering in the breeze.Pilgrim House would one big outdoor camp site surrounded by bobcats.It would be renamed by Ronald Jones……Jenkinsville 2.

17. Carrington repaid the money. This man is just full of lies, contempt and seems sleezy.

18. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@Bushie, I know I does write a lotta shite .

Looks to me though as you must also be writing shittee as you said exactly the same thing I said but obviously in your own inimitable style.

Let me see if I could clarify this real quick fa yah. I said:

“There are no grounds upon which a non-certified lawyer per the BA cannot practice his profession.” … And…

“Obviously, our lawyer led parliament have no motivation to correct this problem, if in fact they see it as a problem.”

I then added: “… it sets the tone as no where is there in the Act violations for lack of certification”.

The practical and intended interpretation of all that is: There is an obvious problem with the legal system as the lawyers are not penalized for non-certification and Parliament has no intention or motivation to fix it.

Bushie said it thus: “Lawyers in Barbados are a protected bunchโ€ฆ.protected by the parliament that they control.”

Along with more in your own style and fashion….”.otherwise this ruling by the CJ is just playing to the galleryโ€ฆ”

Lo and behold I also said : “….So the CJ puts down his foot. So what. Nothing more than tattle on the social party circuit.”

If I didn’t know better I would have to say you really displayed excellent brass bowlery. Exquisitely and tantalizingly proper brass bowlery, actually.

I presume this is another reason why lawyers make so much money. We is be careless with what people say, what we read and generally just rushing to a brass bowl!

But then again just my lotta shitte talk.

Fah real!!!!

19. What is stopping Mr Fields from making a further appeal to the CCJ?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy April 17, 2015 at 10:05 PM

All he has to do is to take the P M’s advice and engage the services of the same lawyer as Parris. Hal QC would do such a sterling job on his behalf that under the Fumble’s republic he shallow cheap Hal would no longer be titled QC but SC ( not Senior Counsel but Sophisticated Crook).

21. I purchased a house in the United States, there was an agreement between the buyer and I. We then went to the lawyers to close the deal, My lawyer directed me how to go about getting the house inspected, surveyed, ETC, all within a three week time frame. At the conclusion; the lawyer cost me less than $400. and I know the seller lawyer charge less than $200. The use of tecnology have enabled most to be as powerful and proficient as one needs to be.

22. @ Sammy
    $400?……you know of course that USA lawyers don’t have to pay Simpson Motors to service their Mercedes….
    LOL..
    …the mob here even have a law that PREVENTS any lawyer from charging anything below a ‘scale of fees’ …even if the work is worth what Paddy shot…..

One chap filled in a form right in front of Bushie (who would not leave his place unfullfilled) that could even be completed by AC……and then apologised profusely for the fee …since his hands were tied by the “scale of fees” to charge a certain (ridiculous) amount….

Do you understand the concept of a MOB…?

23. Either lawyers have to pay their Bar Association fees in order to practice or not.

We in Barbados like too much foolishness.

The same thing with doctors including doctors brought here by government to practice, and not registered to practice here.

Which foreign pathologist was permitted to practice in Barbados even though not registered to practice in Barbados?

And how many murder cases will we now have to throw out, because even though he is a good pathologist his post mortems will not stand up in court as he was not registered to practice in Barbados.

Too many short cuts.

Too many people who should know better justifying short cuts.

24. @Bush Tea April 17, 2015 at 11:48 PM “One chap filled in a form right in front of Bushie (who would not leave his place unfullfilled) that could even be completed by ACโ€ฆโ€ฆand then apologised profusely for the fee โ€ฆsince his hands were tied by the โ€œscale of feesโ€ to charge a certain (ridiculous) amountโ€ฆ.”

Notwithstanding the scale of fees the lawyer if he/she had any decency could have chosen to charge you nothing (do the form filling for nothing)

So far as I know there is n law or rule which prevents a lawyer from charging nothing.

I had a lawyer (female) who did a nice piece of legal work for me and charged nothing/zero.

Pity I can’t mention her name on the GOOD lawyers section of BU.

25. @Bush Tea April 17, 2015 at 11:48 PM “Do you understand the concept of a MOBโ€ฆ?”

u meaning like mafia?

26. What is the problem with Mr. Fields? He is not a leper.

I am sure that he is someone’s friend.

SO, why the dislike for him?

27. A few simple changes, adoptions or amendments could substantially reduce the incidents of lawyers stealing clients money. In other jurisdictions particularly New York lawyers transgress at their own peril.

Rule 1. All funds received from clients MUST be deposited into the attorney’s Trust Account better known as his Escrow Account. If the attorney place a client’s money in his/her personal account he/she is subject to disbarment, suspension, sanction or serious warning by the Bar Association.

Rule 2. Banks where the Escrow is held MUST report to the Bar Association if an attorney’s escrow check given to a client is returned for insufficient funds. The Penalty ranges from disbarment, sanction and suspension from the practice of law.

Rule 3. A lawyer MUST not use money in his Trust Account for personal use. If it becomes known he/she is subject to disbarment, suspension from the practice of law or sanction.

Rule 4. The interest on all funds deposited by an attorney is automatically transferred to the Lawyers Fund for Client’s Protection. If the lawyer steals and cant pay back the money the client is compensated from this fund. Not always 100% but compensated to reduce the lost. And the lawyer will still go to jail. This law is very important because it removes the temptation for lawyers to delay a matter and pocket the interest on a client’s money.

Rule 5. If an attorney is convicted of any felony he/she is automatically disbarred.

Rule 5. The Bar Association can call an attorney to answer for his/her actions if there is public knowledge of his/her involvement in a crime or actions likely to bring the profession into disrepute.

28. @JAM

The rules make sense however there is a layer of administration and oversight which brings us back to square one.

29. I am just a simple Bajan, so when there are more than two rules I get all confused.
    Americans say “Keep It Simple Stupid” (KISS) and I will keep it simple. The lawyer fees should be known upfront and two checks cut. One for the lawyer (fees) and the remainder in the client’s name. The original transaction is considered final after both checks have cleared.

Let’s start by separating the attorney and his client’s monies at a much earlier stage.

30. Let’s get rid of the Attorneys-at-law Compensation Fund for two reasons
    (1) Withe the amount of stealing going on, it will always be inadequately funded
    (2) It may be providing an incentive for attorney to cheat their clients as some attorney may see this fund as a remedy to their cheating actions.

31. (Edited)
    Letโ€™s get rid of the Attorneys-at-law Compensation Fund for two reasons:
    (1) With thee the amount of stealing going on, this fund will always be inadequately funded
    (2) The fund may be providing an incentive for attorneys to cheat their clients as some attorneys may see this fund as a remedy to their cheating actions.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Here is something I took from the nationnews blog concerning the plight of an elderly early yesterday morning against two political administrations who refuse to give the man his title deeds. The man stated in the papers that all he gets from the agency responsible is ignore. Maybe plantation deeds and the other fella John something is right.

IT MATTERS TO MARIA: House blow

Lloyd P Gulston

First of all I trying hard not to be sarcastic but I cannot help it, so please indulge me. What Eagle Hall Market. Wuh if that is a market I am a monkeys orifice. I consider that market to be nothing short of a wonder because all like now I still wondering what the heck it is. Now I serious.

I am no legal eagle but I am sure that the plight of this goodly gentleman is one that should have been placed in the law courts a long time ago. OVER 16 YEARS 16 YEARS WHAT DE BIRD!!

Proceedings for a good ole fashion suing up the tail-holes of those who could not be bothered with this ”no body,” should start with immediate effect. How de france you tek a man house, he land, he title deeds, replace him in a house because you had to build a dysfunctional wonder, and now refusing to give the man his papers? What type of human beings you people and minister kellman could be? Wuh you people left me to think that wunna put some serious ”steel” in the man’s first house and property and now basically seeking to do the same with the second.

If only lawyers were not so greedy and money grabbing, maybe a good moral lawyer could take up this man plight for free and start some serious suing proceedings on his behalf. From owning a house with papers to no papers, wunna ignoring this man tell me straight off that wunna fish intentionally swimming in the round direction. The man can’t even use his house as collateral.

Wuh gaw blow me a new nose hole, I ain’t even tink bout ths one. This is a serious serious case. Wuh wunna tryin to tell me, if dis poor man die tomorrow without his papers to prove de house is his that the man house will be identified as a government unit owned by the government to do as the government please? Wuh Gaw rats, popples, picking pooch rear-mole, ram-george madness is this!!!

Star boy, find a lawyer and when I say find I mean hunt for a good lawyer. You will need a proof gun, background scanner, time-frame analyser, and a fee comparing ”spot in the eye” inpulse gun calculator. Better be safe than sorry if you do not want your 16 years to turn into 32. This is a real DRDLDS- Down-Right Dirty Low-Down Shame. You call this a system? Move expeditiously. Stuuuuuuuupse

Discussion on NationBarbados

Is there grounds here for legal action as highlighted by this funny fella? Gulston?

33. Even the CCJ has complained about those two psycho lawyers Hal Gollop and Vernon Smith, they have become two old degraded malignant warts on the backside of the judiciary in Barbados and should be surgically removed.

What gives the lawyers in Barbados the complete belief that they have the right and are entitled to bully, lie, cheat, deceive and sell out their clients and the judiciary. They make the profession look ugly.

Bushman and Dr. Love…..read and weep, read and weep below…lol

https://sheriveronica.wordpress.com/2015/04/18/respecting-and-protecting-the-elderly-but-that-can-only-happen-if-the-elderly-didnt-fuck-you-over-as-a-child-the-elderly-have-a-duty-to-the-young-and-not-so-young-as-the-pendulum-swings-both/

34. By the way, Bajans do not need lawyers for 3/4 of the things they have been allowed by society to believe they need these thieves for, unless absolutely necessary…..Barrow said it right the first time, stay away from lawyers.

35. SSS….you can be sure that house will be sold, they are probably just waiting for the old dude to die, and all his relatives will be thrown out on the street…..that is the government’s modus regarding their own people. nothing new there.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Well Well

I thought we were a developing nation both in infrasture and mind. But it would appear that homage to our own continues to be trickery and tracherous. Would they have dared done this to a white counterpart? These people are wicked

37. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/dlp-connections-protect-crooked-barbados-lawyer-from-arrest/

Old crook Michael Simmons , is this the same family as Keith and David Simmons?

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am wondering if Mr. Tariq Khan, so lately “capable of seeing the light and adopt the high road of virtue”, I am wondering if he would, in the spirit of true disclosure, be willing to disclose the number of matters that have been put before the Bar Association for enquiry by the general public?

So Mr. Can (as in Can-he-tell-the-truth-to-save-John-Public’s-life) would you be so kind to state how many queries your agency has had for the last 10 years, and of those how many have been investigated, and then how many resolved?

39. @John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. April 21, 2015 at 8:43 AM
    “Michael Simmons, is this the same family as Keith and David Simmons?”

Keith’s brother. No relation to David.

40. The problem is, too many politicians are in parliament and no matter which party they represent they join together when making laws to leave loopholes in the new legislation to bail them out. We need to get a balanced among of persons from ALL level of life in the “house.

41. What has become of the money due to the young man who was seriously injured by the BL& P truck in Chapel St. St. Peter? He was alleged to have been awarded half million dollars some years ago and many years after it was in the news that up until then about five years or so after the money was awarded he was still awaiting the money or part thereof. I once saw the alleged offended lawyer being chased through Walrond St. by a cutlass in hand man who alleged he had robbed him of thousands of dollars. There were a number of cases against this same lawyer before the courts and if I’m not mistaken he spent sometime in prison, yet until a few months ago he was still representing a client in court.

42. http://www.nytimes.com/2015/04/22/opinion/profiting-from-his-mothers-crime.html

Profiting From His Motherโ€™s Crime

The speaker of the New York State Assembly, Carl Heastie, one of the three most powerful politicians in the state…is under a cloud for benefiting from his motherโ€™s crimes nearly 20 years ago…After Helene Heastie pleaded guilty to stealing from a nonprofit agency where she worked (prosecutors had charged her with embezzling $90,000 for herself and another $107,000 for a co-worker), she and Mr. Heastie were required by a judge to sell their apartment in the Bronx. ..The prosecutor said it was purchased with some of the stolen money. Giving the proceeds to her former employer was part of a deal to keep her out of jail. Shortly after the sentencing, however, Mrs. Heastie died, and Mr. Heastie kept the apartment. Years later, he sold it at a profit of almost $200,000 above the original price of $165,000…That windfall is still โ€œstolen money,โ€ Duncan Levin, a former chief of asset forfeiture for the Manhattan district attorneyโ€™s office, told The Times…There are questions about why a judgment was not filed properly with the Bronx County clerkโ€™s office. But, regardless of whether Mr. Heastie is under a legal requirement to give the money back, AS LEADER OF THE ASSEMBLY, HE SHOULD BE AN EXEMPLAR OF GOOD ETHICS. THAT MEANS RETURNING STOLEN MONEY.

43. @Simple Simon

We are but simple people on BU who would be grappled by venturing near Mount Olympus, are you suggesting Speaker Michael Carrington is NOT an exemplar of good ethical behaviour?

44. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Simple Simon, your rehash of the Heastie matter seems to miss the entire thrust of the article and the clear determination of Mr. Heastie’s character.

Why would you expect him to return the money at this stage? How can a zebra just turn into a Giraffe in a flash?

Mr. Heastie according to the article was nurtured and drank his political breast milk in a den of political corruption; his mentor in the Bronx where he imbibed that milk was indicted and sent to jail on corruption charges; his mother was accused of stealing the money and he never at the time attempted to ‘come clean’ and comply with the courts ruling but rather continued to milk the system until he was able to sell the house.

Do you perceive that he ascended to the Speaker’s post because he is a new beacon of light and integrity (in NY!!)? He cut the right deals because he knows where a few bones are buried.

Returning the money NOW would be as impactful as saying sorry after pulling a trigger of death! Meaningless to society; relevant to the Lord!

He is as corrupt as is a pestle stuck in a mortar full of doodoo is dirty!

45. Lawyers in the Sunday Sun of April 26, 2015, page 44 A

Student revolving loan fund notice

The following persons are asked to contact the Student Revolving Loan Fund at telephone numbers 430-2654 / 2857 / 2859 / 2736 in relation to their outstanding debt

Vonda Minerva Pile, Block 2 B Madison Terrace, Farm Housing Area, St. Michael
    Waldo Machaughton Waldron-Ramsey, 37 Wanstead Terrace, Cave Hill, St. Michael

46. Publishing the list of defaulters show how desperate government is to improve cash flow. Some of these names have obviously owed the fund for over 15 years.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What happens if a good few of those people who have not paid are dead or cannot be traced. I thought there are sureties who sign on the behalf of these people that if they do not pay the sureties have to foot the bill? I think their should be a policy that states the person must provide every three months updated information on their status and whereabouts in the form of a contract. If you fail to provide the information an international warrant for your arrest is placed. With such information publish via the media houses, I really do not think the defaulters would want that type of shame on them particularly if they went to live reasonable lives and have well paid jobs.

48. David, I know of one surety , well two actually, for a revolving fund recipient who received letters of action when the student went into arrears. The matter was resolved before any legal action was taken but my point simply is that the debacle and chaos of the revolving fund is deliberate manipulation by the civil servants and gov’t in power.

There is no doubt that any number of simple measures could be effected to recover the monies owed but there is no true INTENT.

Of course, simple steps like a) wage garnishment, b) tax refund withheld, c) liens on assets can all be properly and legally enforced.

The fund was an excellent idea and still is and the word “revolving” is the key to success.

Incidentally, a news items I saw re the US situation shows the very same pattern. The default rate with gov’t backed student loans is off the charts.

BUT there is no such high incidence of default with private sourced student loans.

No marks for figuring out why!

btw, I actually thought I had seen list published in years past but maybe I am wrong as you are suggesting otherwise.

49. Back in the old days when Barbados was ran by “foolish people”, and when many Bajans in their thousands were migrating to the United Kingdom , under a Labour Department sponsored programme to work mainly with London Transport, Lyons and the National Health Service, most ,if not all ,of the airfares were loaned to the migrants, who had to provide two sponsors. True, many of these migrants failed to live up to the agreement in remitting funds to their sponsors back at home to service those loans, but the Labour Department was never at a disadvantage,as it would call on the sponsors to honour the agreements.