Barry Gale QC, President of the BA

BU has been able to access the audited financial report of the Bar Association (BA) relative to the Compensation Fund. BU notes that the fund holds in excess of $2 million. The authority for the Fund is to be found at Part VIII of the Legal Professions Act Cap. 370A of the Laws of Barbados.

Briefly, the Act states:

1. The Fund is the property of the BA and must be paid into a separate bank account to the credit of the BA to be known as “the Attorneys-at-law Compensation Fund”.
  1. Every attorney-at-law is required, when a Practicing Certificate is issued to him, to pay to the Registrar his/her annual contribution to the Fund, without which no Practicing Certificate will be issued.
  1. “50. (1) Where it is proved to the satisfaction of the Bar Association that any person has sustained loss in consequence of dishonesty on the part of an attorney-at-law or any clerk or servant of an attorney-at-law in connection with that attorney-at-law’s practice as an attorney-at-law or in connection with any trust of which that attorney-at-law is a trustee, then, subject to the provisions of this section, the Association may, if it thinks fit, make a grant to that person out of the Fund for the purpose of relieving or mitigating that loss.”

A few points to ponder from the reading of the posted financials.

A. There were over 300 Practicing Certificates issued in January 2012. The contribution of each attorney-at-law is set at $200 per attorney-at-law, giving a total of $60,000 payable into the account. The Government is required to pay for the Practicing Certificates and into the Contribution Fund for attorneys-at-law that it employs. Yet, it  is noted that the amount paid into the Contribution Fund falls FAR short of what it should be. So, has the Government paid its share, or not? If NOT, why has the Registrar of the Supreme Court issued Practicing Certificates to these lawyers? The legislature is supposed to be independent of the judiciary and vice versa. That appears not to be the practice in Barbados, in defiance of the Constitution.

B. It should be further noted that there are absolutely NO payments out of the Fund, so clearly none of the teefing lawyers’ clients, in the opinion of the BA, has ever experienced hardship as a result of the theft – and the Fund has never been used. EXCEPT!

C. Except, on page 8 at No. 3, it is noted that the Fund has been used to pay for advertising with regard to deceased attorneys’ estates. Is this misappropriation?

This is a mess. Clearly it is something that the Attorney General needs to look into and likely to file charges. But how can he if the Government is not paying its share into the Fund and, despite that, the Registrar is issuing Practicing Certificates? Independent judiciary? So what do we make of it?

Audited Financial Report of Compensation Fund – pages 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8

30 responses to “Compensation Fund: Another Screw-up By the Barbados Bar Association”

1. @David. I also heard that it is admitted that the very few attorneys attending the BA AGM tried their best to be elected either to the council or to the Disciplinary Committee. When asked why, one of them said that if gave them “status” within the justice system and they could then get “favours”.

2. @David. Upon reading the audited financial accounts of the Compensation Fund, it is very worrying indeed. The fund is established for COMPENSATION. It bothers me that it is used to advertise the estates of deceased attorneys. I will tell you why.

It implies that these deceased attorneys may have been depositing clients funds into their own private accounts, instead of the clients accounts as they are supposed to. Because, those clients accounts do NOT form a part of a deceased attorney’s estate. Those monies are held IN TRUST!!!! For the clients.

The advertising of an attorney’s estate is like the advertising of the estate of any other deceased person and the onus to pay for that advertising falls squarely on the estate itself, not on a fund held by the BA for the compensation of people with a legitimate complaint against attorneys.

As I have said before, there are some excellent and extremely moral attorneys in Barbados. And the way of discovering who these are lies, not in going to the BA list of members, but finding out the names of those attorneys who are NOT members of the BA. Therefore the first question prospective clients might now feel they should ask of an attorney whose reputation they do not know is, “Are you a member of the BA”. If the answer is “yes”, rise to your feet, thank them kindly for their time and depart swiftly. And go and find an attorney who is licensed to practice and is NOT a member of the BA.

3. We also need to know how many complaints the BA has presided over in the last 3-5 years.

4. @David. I will make best efforts to find out and get back. Respecfully, I suggest that also the most important statistic is, out of these complaints, how many such complaints found the attorney ruled against. I will see what I can do, but it may be like pulling teeth.

5. @Amused

Of course any of the legal eagles who frequent BU are encouraged to assist us in advocating change at the BA. A scholarly article will help as well don’t you think Jeff?

On the thought of writing, we have several columnists in the media who write weekly or otherwise and one should reasonably expect that periodically some of the articles maybe BA or judiciary in focus given insider knowledge. How can we provoke change IF actors who are well placed to make a difference do nothing?

6. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I was wrong to free Brad Boyce
    By Anna Ramdass
    Story Created: May 21, 2013 at 9:28 PM ECT
    Story Updated: May 23, 2013 at 7:48 AM ECT
    Former High Court judge Herbert Volney yesterday admitted he made an error in the Brad Boyce murder case.
    Volney made the admission in his contribution to the Opposition’s motion of no-confidence against the Prime Minister and the Government at the Parliament sitting at the International Waterfront Centre in Port of Spain.
    —————————

We sometimes place all of our confidence in such persons as judges , lawyers even doctors and politicians. We forget that : To err is Human ; we forget that such persons are indeed human. This is the result of years of brain washing. Did I hear Dr. The Honourable Sir Hilary Beckles say Massa ?

7. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The result of this therefore is that you have officials who do not perform

8. Dr. The Honourable…………humans erroneously continue to put their faith, beliefs and trust in other humans who bear mere man-made titles, they continue to never learn the consequences of their fickle mindedness.

9. Wait you all telling us the useless lawyers also stealing from themselves and not only from their clients?. Lord come for your world.

10. The Prime Minister won the last general election it is said based on integrity. However we should not forget that the lack of action by the BA to address the issue of the Compensation Fund continued under his watch as AG. Is it reasonable to expect AG Brathwiate will speak on this matter? NO!

11. @David. It is most certainly reasonable. Indeed, this matter has been festering since 1973 and it would have been reasonable to expect all the holders of office of AG to address these matters since that time. Now, it has reached boiling point and I would be VERY surprised if the pre-action protocols for defamation have not been already commenced in certain cases. Thus, the matter ought soon to come before the Courts. The question of the Compensation Fund also needs to be addressed as a matter of urgency. That too falls within the authority and duty of the AG. He most determine whether the funds have been properly applied or not and, if not, take the appropriate action.

The matter of the funds also falls within the responsibility of the Government, as the authority for draw down on the funds for clients whose finances have been severely prejudiced is in the discretion of the BA. Has the BA been doing its job in paying out to such clients? If not, then clearly the Government needs to look at the Act and amend it in a meaningful manner so that the function of the Fund can be realised.

Then there is the Regsitrar. Has she issued practicing certificates to attorneys aho have not paid into the fund, on the basis that they work for the government? If so, those practicing certificates ought to be withdrawn instantly in accordance with law and the list in the Official Gazette amended accordingly.

12. @Amused

Yes the silence is loud indeed.

13. @ Amused
    Look friend, the shit into which we have sunk in this place is so deep that we are presently up to our necks – while standing on a semi solid block of the filth….
    Any serious attempt to clean house will only melt the block on which we are standing ….drowning us all in it.

It takes clean hands to clean shop.

An AG CANNOT move against anyone when he himself may not be above board…..
    A PM can only discipline a PS if his closet is skeleton-free… Hants think Bushie knows everything? Wunna should check what a PS knows about Ministers,…. Judges,…..Police…..Lawyers

This is why Public Sector Reform was stillborn.

Which ‘legal person’ can take a stand against the rot when that Beckles land-deeds case is sooooo pervasive? …and when Plantation DEEDS is on the prowl…?
    Who is without sin….?

We are up to our necks in shit while standing on a hardened block of the stuff….
    IT DOES NOT LOOK GOOD….

14. @Bushie. But you would agree that something MUST be done.

15. Bushie and Amused…..who has clean hands in Barbados???? Do they have big enough cojones to start housecleaning? It is clear that the guards guarding have dirty hands as well. It seems whenever there is large amounts of money that does not belong to them, the legal eagles get glassy eyed and sticky fingers.

16. @Islandgal. It is not the legal eagles, it is the legal budgies that have the sticky fingers.

17. @ Amused
    “….something MUST be done”
    Bushie challenges you to outline a best case which can pass the test of practicability and do-ability.
    The bushman is calling it a catch 22 case of ‘die if you do’ and ‘die if you don’t….’

Basically, we have built our house on sand…..it felt fine for a while, and we kept adding to the structure.
    …..now the foundation is giving way. Do we fix the cracked walls; do we try to fix the foundation; …or should we try for a new location inland?
    What a man sow, so shall he reap…what can we do but lie on the bed we have made…?

18. Actually, Bushie, I do not think that any one man/woman can come up with a solution. I think it takes a visionary leader to collect together people of good will and integrity and sort it out. Trouble is, with all due respect to the statesmanlike MAM, there is no visionary leader to be found. I can offer solutions for the justice system that I know will work. But they have to be accepted and implemented. You have your own areas of expertise, but the suggestions you make need to be accepted and implemented. The trouble lies in the acceptance and implementation.

19. @ Amused
    “The trouble lies in the acceptance and implementation.”
    Bushie’s point exactly.

The ‘solution’ is that we need visionary leadership and a core of good people empowered to do the right things.

The reality is that this is a pipe dream.

The result is that we are screwed.

There is now only one available option, and that is intervention from external sources…..except that all the usual suspects are suffering from an almost identical dilemma……
    Canada
    USA
    UK
    Trickidad

…..so it seems that our WHOLE earth will require external intervention for there to be any hope of a viable future for civilization.

….Wuh if Bushie can see that, and if Amused can see that ….yuh don’t think that BBE done see that…..?

BBE…..coming soon to a location near you.

20. In hindsight maybe it was a mistake not to allow Alair to win the presidency of the BA. This time around he had blood in his eyes. The membership should have gone for it.

21. David I am missing some posts made last night, please check your spam.

22. @islandgal

The Spam bucket was 5,000 this morning, had to dump it. Sorry.

23. David this is an interesting situation developing in Toronto.

It involves mainstream newspapers making accusations using unnamed sources and unauthenticated videos.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/toronto/globe-investigation-the-ford-familys-history-with-drug-dealing/article12153014/

24. Bushie wrote “Basically, we have built our house on sand…..it felt fine for a while, and we kept adding to the structure.”

Over 30 years ago I advised someone to build a house on sand. Then they added a second floor.
    The structure is still sound.

I know Bushie knows everything so he knows that the house is sitting on a “raft” foundation designed by a structural engineer cause if Hants doan know he does pay (or beg) an expert.lol

25. @Hants

Nasty business but investigative journalism at its best.

Had a read of a few Canadian papers earlier.

26. ” investigative journalism at its best. ”

Barbados newspapers should follow the lead of the Toronto but….neva happen.

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Crooks Crooking Crooks ,now who is the Best QC and None QC or Sir Crook, When BU done playing game and do one title called

CROOKS LAWYERS AND LAND ,WHO HAS WHAT? Where the Deed?

28. […] related issue which requires attention is the better use of the Attorneys-at-law Compensation Fund established under the Legal Professions Act Cap. 370A to relieve or mitigate the loss of a victim. […]

29. […] object of which is to, in part, reimburse victims of attorneys-at-law who have cheated them – Compensation Fund: Another Screw-up By the Barbados Bar Association . BU has been able to ascertain that this fund now holds $2.5 million dollars and, despite findings […]

30. […] Compensation Fund: Another Screw-up By the Barbados Bar Association […]