Attorney at law Hal Gollop, one of six top lawyers in Barbados not registered with the Supreme Court of Barbados – Photo Credit: Bajan Reporter

The Official Gazette of December 29, 2011 published the list of attorneys-at-law registered with the Supreme Court of Barbados with effect from January 31, 2011. Many practicing attorneys have been omitted from that list. These include certain senior counsel and, indeed, members of the inner bar of both local and international reputation. Among them:

Sir Frederick Smith Q.C., Mr Edmund  King Q.C., Mr Maurice King Q.C., Mrs Beverley Walrond Q.C., Mr Hal Gollop, Mr Vernon Smith Q.C.

As a result, all these attorneys-at-law have been defamed by the Registrar, as the failure to include their names on the list implies that they have either been disbarred or that they are deceased. And it looks as if the Registrar is likely to be sued for defamation, as BU has learned that letters giving notice of legal action have been sent to the Registrar.

That none of the people named above are either deceased or have been disbarred and all have their licenses to practice, is likely to see the Registry successfully sued for tens of millions of dollars.

It means that the Registrar by this omission has stated that these and other also-omitted licensed legal practitioners have misrepresented themselves to their clients as being licensed legal practitioners. Also that these licensed legal practitioners have been illegally and fraudulently passing themselves off as attorneys-at-law.

Then too, there are the losses that these attorneys-at-law must seen to have suffered by way of new clients through their names having been omitted from the Registrar’s list and thus defamed and besmirched.

Hell hath no fury like a lawyer defamed.

But what sort of message does this send to overseas investors who rely and have relied upon these leading members of the legal profession? If one examines the list of lawyers from Barbados who, in the last year, have appeared before the Caribbean Court of Justice, one will certainly find the names of Mrs Beverley Walrond Q.C., Mr Vernon Smith Q.C. and Mr Hal Gollop among others who have, according to the Registrar, appeared before the CCJ fraudulently and illegally purporting to be attorneys-at-law.

The Chief Justice’s six month report card will soon be due and this defamation by the Registrar cannot be seen as other than a serious blot on that report card.

As for the Registrar, in any law practice this omission would be seen as grounds for immediate dismissal. Since the Justice System is, in essence, the largest law practice in the country, clearly this egregious conduct on the part of the Registrar constitutes grounds for immediate dismissal – without pension.

115 responses to “Registrar And Registry Exposed To Action For Defamation By Senior Lawyers”

1. @ Random

I don’t doubt for a moment what you’ve written about your middle-aged lawyers. My suspicion, however, no more, is that they were slovenly rather than rank bad. We all normally dictate letters to our secretaries, and often all too hurriedly. Then we don’t check them afterwards. When we do, long after the event, the result all too often is ‘Ugh…I didn’t say that’. But by that time, after a scribbled signature, the letter is winging its way to its victim.

2. Not Rhodes scholar. A Barbados scholar as in the student who received the highest grades in her A’Level exams at the end of 6th form. Significantly higher grades that some people who are now QC’s. But she first went into librarianship and much later into law. I would beg you not to look down on librarians. There are some very, very smart people in the field. I know.

But Robert I paid my lawyer $5,100 in full and on time and by bank draft to administer an uncontested estate worth less than $400,000 dollars. There was a will, the family had kept all title deeds etc very vary carefully since the 1930’s I paid 1/2 the fees upfront and 1/2 when the work was completed. Not that he demanded these terms, because he did not, but I like to pay my service people well and in full and on time. Yesterday the gardener came and before he started the work and because I know that he is reliable I put $100 in his hand. He did an excellent job. I expect no less of lawyers. And it is a lawyer’s responsibility to hire excellent secretaries and it is her/his responsibility to pay them well and to treat them well so that they remain with him/her.

It is not good enough to take my good money and then to tell me “my secretary is careless” I could have given him a a bank draft that was invalid because it was carelessly prepared but I read the drafts carefully before I left the bank. That was my responsibility and I carried it out. I expect no less of a lawyer whose 19 years of formal education has been funded by my taxes.

3. Random Thoughts Avatar

And the bar must start offering an ethics course. Do Bajan lawyers understand the meaning of the word ethics? Here is another true story. A client was generally satisfied with a lawyers work and siad so at work. A young colleague and his girlfriend were in the process of buying a house and needed some legal advice. He was referred to let’s call him lawyer X. Before you could say “Jack Robinson” middled aged lawyer X had asked the sweet 20 something to accompany him to one of the other Caribbean islands. And not only to accompany him but lawyer X told her to tell her boyfriend that her employer was sending her on a course, and asked her to prepare a document on her company’s stationery to present to her boyfriend. She did (silly woman) but the boyfriend is no fool and he smelled a rat. He verified with her employer that there was no course down the islands. Boyfriend them reported the whole matter not to the toothless bar but to lawyer X’s wife who fixed the matter.

A whole lot of Bajan lawyers are jokers and your clients are laughing at you.

Now that Pilly is the head of the bar he will work with the members of teh bar to fix these things.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

I would suggest to Sir Pilly that every lawyer be required to take an ethics course every 5 years or so. If yu cannot pass the course you lose your registration.

And the first thing to teach in that ethics course is “thou shall not fcuk thy client”

And the second should be “Thou shall not fcuk thy client’s wife or girlfriend, husband or boyfriend”

And the 3rd ethics rule should be “thou shalt not attepmt to fcuk any of the above” don’t care how horny the Viagra or the Cialis making you feel.

But I know that i will be dead, burried and turned into duppy dust before this happens in Barbados.

5. Random Thoughts | February 5, 2012 at 1:02 PM |

“Before you could say “Jack Robinson” middled aged lawyer X had asked the sweet 20 something to accompany him to one of the other Caribbean islands.”

The Lawyer provide a very important service to the boyfriend. He provided proof beyond a shadow of a doubt that the girlfriend is a (fill in the blanks).

6. @Random
    I agree with Hants in addition he should have flipped the script by fooling the girl friend that he would take her back..and the two of them consort to make Mr.X work for free…

7. The day we find some lawyers’ heads cut off and pelt in the bush…those buggers go stop the foolishness. At least 45 people who deal wid a lawyer bout here get burn.
    We got to import some help from T&T for (chop off heads) as bajans like dem frighten fa jail and blood….try that wid a Guyanese indian or a Trini indian.
    Gender don’t matter either..D women just as teifing as the men.

8. I go warn the next lawyer I deal wid doa….sign this piece of paper allowing me to do lil (1 yr) jail time for you… should you rob onion and I throw my sword in ya…lol

Overseas people ..dem bad fa trute hear…ya warned. And D bar want TEETH to prosecute soma these robbas

9. @ random

Well, yes…maybe she wasn’t a Rhodes scholar. And maybe I was subconsciously trying to be kind. I don’t denigrate librarians at all. The lady we speak of contrived to get rid of two very good, well qualified and thoroughly nice ones. Oh yes…and a young part-time assistant who’d fallen out of favour. She was told she wasn’t qualified for the job – cop out for she’d held it for six years and I’m unclear what special qualifications you need for stacking books and being nice to students. Is it any wonder, knowing this and much more, that the Faculty didn’t want her? Back to holy water………..
    I like the story of the girl who vamped off to the islands with the lawyer. I don’t think anyone’s arguing that lawyers don’t have a groin – well, not yet. And it seems that sexual perfidy reaped an appropriate reward.

10. Actually the young woman did not get to go off to the islands. The boyfriend even though a labourer is smarter than the lawyer and discovered the plot and put a stop to it before it could be carried out. And got somebdy else to do his legal work
    Boyfriend:1
    smartypants lawyer: 0

11. LOL

12. […] this month BU posted the blog Registrar And Registry Exposed To Action For Defamation By Senior Lawyers. Several prominent attorneys-at-law saw their names omitted from the Official Gazette of December […]

13. I am really thankful to the owner of this web site who has shared
    this fantastic paragraph at at this time.

14. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a
    captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!