Brazen Michael Carrington Breaks His Silence
However, Michael Carrington with-holding a client’s funds for 2 years [whether or not he felt justified in doing such, the fact remains the client filed a civil suit against him to recover his property – Artaxerxes
Three months after Speaker Michael Carrington was ordered by the High Court to handover over two hundred thousand dollars to a former wheelchair bound client, he has done the unthinkable by breaking his silence on the matter. Carrington was reported in the local media using what BU considers less than stellar arguments to defend his position. What is interesting is the brazen and crass manner he delivered his defence away from the privilege parliament affords. The fact the people of Barbados have been kept waiting on the Committee of Privileges report seems to have low priority. Why would Carrington “unburden” himself before the report is laid in Parliament?
BU will not give this matter more than a few words to express our annoyance at the lack of outrage by civil society in response to Carrington’s reprehensible act. An act which required the intervention of the High Court of Barbados.
BU understands why his family has been “traumatized”, career “endangered” and reputation “damaged’’. Who led the action which has led to the distress? In any Commonwealth country in the world – including Tonga and Uganda – if the Speaker of the House had become embroiled in a matter which resulted in bringing one of the highest offices in the governance system into disrepute, nothing less than a resignation from the Chair if not parliament would be expected. History has recorded the ignominy of a greedy act by Speaker Michael Carrington, a burden Barbadians today and for generations will have to be reminded. The gravitas with which the Speaker of the House of Assembly is expected to perform the role will never be the same.

Colonel
You seem to confuse mansion with monstrosity. Please check your dictionary.
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
You said: “There is not a word in the dictionary to describe this moron!”
I beg to differ unless you dictionary doesn’t have the word, “GOAT”.
LikeLike
I would go with goat, Caswell. LOL!
LikeLike
Colonel,
Are you sure the monstrosity is the crook’s? I thought a monstrosity near to David Seale’s rum place was his?
But there again, some people are greedy!
LikeLike
Check out out LAWYERS in the NEWS page,
LikeLike
Prodigal Son April 15, 2015 at 5:24 PM #
“And Mr Crook talking about people embarrassed his family and endangered his career? As Mr Griffiths said, he brought this on himself. There is not a word in the dictionary to describe this moron!”
Talk ya talk, Prodigal!!!
LikeLike
Monstrosity or Mansion? Lets settle for a word borrow from his boss , Monstrous.
From reliable sources, the monstrosity in Jackson is his , built on land commandeered from his poorer relatives.
LikeLike
BU understands the BA has had to deal with complaints about this man on other occasions. There is so much we sweep under the carpet in Barbados.
Carrington you need to shut the help up!
LikeLike
David, question for you or any other knowledgeable BU person re the matter of the disbarred attorney Therold Fields .
Will the outstanding judgement of over $600K be paid from the BA’s coffers, from Mr. Fields confiscated property or is this one of these hollow victories where the client who initiated this matter remains out of pocket?
LikeLike
@David,
Bajans have to be more aggressive in their approach to managing their money.
No Lawyer should be allowed to keep a Client’s money in a Client account longer than is reasonable.
What process can take longer than a month to transfer money to a client?
David can you get one of you Legal luminaries to tell us if there is some procedure that laymen like me don’t know bout.
LikeLike
@ David April 15, 2015 at 6:50 PM #
“BU understands the BA has had to deal with complaints about this man on other occasions. There is so much we sweep under the carpet in Barbados.”
The Griffiths’ case is just the fuse that lit the tip of the simmering iceberg.
The man has been robbing poor people for years.
Plantation Deeds and his imaginary friend John Hanson can confirm.
LikeLike
@Word
The court order is for Fields to pay. BU has posted about the Bar Association Compensation Fund which as far as we are aware has largely been left untouched.
It is a club, the members believe in the cry – all for one and one for all.
LikeLike
Ok David, excellent. Thnx. The details on Comp Fund. answers the basic question.
I realize that the court ordered him to pay but I don’t get the impression that he will comply unless forced by further court action.
In any civil matter I imagine the successful plaintiff can levy against the loser’s assets but persons of Mr. Fields’ personality will likely have no property or viable assets in their name.
Thus that Comp Fund may come into play.
LikeLike
It seems that all these UWI lawyers are the same.These degenerates been doing this shite long long time.
Now he is a victim. Baby wants his bottle. You do the crime you do the time except in Buhbaydoss where tiefing lawyers will relieve you of your money and ignore your ass and get away with it.
All dem rass want exposing.
LikeLike
I just had it on good authority that a certain lawyer went to court to represent a leper but the lawyer on the other side objected because the first lawyer did not pay his fees and therefore did not have a valid practicing certificate. I am told that the leper rushed out and paid the fees for his lawyer.
LikeLike
Yea, Caswell, I heard that at a reception I attended tonight. People in high places are laughing at these morons we have in Barbados.
If only they would join with us on BU and run these jackasses out of the place!
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
When I heard of this fiasco, my immediate concern was whether a person without a valid practicing certificate could be appointed to chair a statutory board where the law specifically requires a lawyer to be chairman. I do not have the answer.
LikeLike
Caswell, your remarks ” a certain lawyer went to court to represent a leper but the lawyer on the other side objected because the first lawyer … did not have a valid practicing certificate” begs further enquiry of you.
Is that the de facto procedure then for those who have not paid the annual fee? i.e. become official only if its raised as an issue.
Also, does this make a matter in which a said ‘invalid’ lawyer has acted null & void?
Surely not, I expect as surely some cases would get thrown out.
Based on a comment that was noted in David’s BU remarks about the Comp Fund back in 2013 when he said in his May post : “Yet, it is noted that the amount paid into the Contribution Fund falls FAR short of what it should be…”
He was asserting that not all lawyers had been properly accredited as fully paid up and this was due to alleged non-payment by gov’t for the state lawyers but I expect that like the attorney above other private lawyers also were in arrears.
So I imagine this is another of those trite matters that is glossed over by the politicians and elites.
LikeLike
Maybe, Caswell, the big fish does not deal in those small matters. He probably thought he too is above the law! This embarrassment should humble him a bit for now!
If the case is further delayed, he has no one to blame now!
LikeLiked by 1 person
Each and every day these jackasses are demonstrating to the rest of the world, that we have truly earned the right to be called a republic.
LikeLike
Colonel
You should have said: Each and every day these jackasses are demonstrating to the rest of the world, that we have truly earned the right to be called repugnant.
LikeLike
Prodigal, “This embarrassment should humble him a bit for now!” Yuh think? It will be arrogantly dismissed as ‘a minor misunderstanding’ or ‘an insignificant oversight’. A bit like a false invoice, or millions in undisclosed taxable income. “Humble, my ass”
LikeLike
Why did Mr Griffiths wait fourteen years to take the matter to court?
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy April 15, 2015 at 10:36 PM
“Each and every day these jackasses are demonstrating to the rest of the world, that we have truly earned the right to be called a republic”
Let us see if Bajans- known over the world for their naivety and docility- would fall for this republic status lark under an administration headed by a man who has no reservations about publicly identifying with a morally despicable character proven forensically to be fraudster, money launderer and tax evader.
We shall also see if the Royal Loyal Opposition would accede to such a Constitutionally required amendment under a ‘bare-faced’ crooked Speaker who makes a mockery of the whole Westminster traditions and canons of decency.
We shall see from this political class of moral degenerates claiming to be the people’s representatives and hence the voice of their invisible God.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Word
There is the position held by some lawyers that membership in the BA is not mandatory and in protest they have withheld payment and consequently have been practicing without a certificate. This is a position dealt with in BU blogs.
LikeLike
@LiamCho
………..LiamCho April 15, 2015 at 11:23 PM #
Why did Mr Griffiths wait fourteen years to take the matter to court?……….
Mr. Carrington kept on telling the poor man that there where financial matters delaying the process of the transfer that was the fault of the other law firm. Over the years Mr. Carrington would provide a very legal articulated excuse to which Mr. Poor Griffith believed because he knew that the system that process judicial matters, works slow and unfavourably. However through a tip, Mr. Griffith was duly informed that the money was already committed since the crooked lying bitch did not know that the smarts of Mr. Griffith woke him up one morning to do his own tinkering
Mr. Griffith then got the facts he needed, kept on asking the crooked bitch for his money to which the crooked bitch ignored him. When Mr. Griffith drop the bomb in his crutch about the money, the crooked bitch Carrington behave unseemingly and arrogantly to which Mr. Griffith decided to exposed the royal ass of the Queens Council for what he truly was and is.
The Crooked bitch Carrington thought he would have been able to get the money back in the account that he had already used for his good pleasure. He was trying frivilously to put back all to give back the poor man whilst hoping somewhere along the line that Mr. Griffith would have succumb to a heart attack or cockup otherwise and dead.
When the heat bite the Crooked Bitch Carrington in his ass, he struggled perfusely to stop Mr. Griffith from going public by offering him part payment. Mr. Griffith said he want all of his money and went public. The other crooked bitch in the form of the Prime Minister told him to get a lawyer as the potential for fallout further with his administration was eminent. As is the usual style of the Prime Minister to ignore the facts of wrong doing and exonerate and praise the crookery, prominence stepped in, colluded in the form of the DLP machinery, lackeys and business partners in profit and crime, to foot the bill for the scum bag Carrington. The crooked bitch then paid in full, the interest and all feeling good that no one could say he steal anything.
As a result of the deal struck for Mr. Carrington the crook had no choice but to pledge all support behind any actions taken by the DLP. His first order of business was to pull wool over eyes in a shitety plea. The second was to throw full support for his boss push for republic status. The pipers covered his ass and now they are picking every tune he must now sing.
LikeLike
Just checking if anyone can answer at least one of my earlier questions, the most important one at least – Is it against the law or against the code of ethics (or whatever they are supposed to obey) of lawyers in Barbados to use money placed in a legal practice clients’ account for anything other than that client’s business?
LikeLike
@Mitchlans,
Whether it is legal or not is irrelevant.
It appears the only problem for Bajan lawyers is not having the money when the client demands it.
Then it could take 8 to 14 years for a “resolution”.
LikeLike
Disagree Hants. If it is illegal, then he has broken the law and should be prosecuted for doing so. That is not what has happened. If it did, that would cast a completely different light on him remaining as Speaker. How can you have a Speaker with a criminal record?
LikeLike
@Mitchlans
It might not be an acceptable practice and there is the possibility that it could be tabooed within the law firm’s accounting procedures. But the practice of law as it stands could easily accept the many years of doing deposits this way as a standard practice, without any specific stipulations after a period time. I say this to say that if this matter was not brought in the public’s domain, we would not have had this light being shed on what lawyers do to clients money and where they keep it. To answer your question, if it was illegal he would have been locked to shite up. There is no law therefore that is in place that would have forced an arrest base on the practice but their must be rules according to bar that should implicate him in the years he took before he paid the man his money. What needs to be questioned and ascertained is if Mr. Griffith cannot bring a case against him for professional misconduct and any sufferings he Mr. Griffith endured at the hands of Mr. Carrington during the years of pleading and begging. If I was Mr. Griffith, I would be pursuing my next case against him for misrepresentation and pschological trauma and suffering the entire incident has placed on his health.
LikeLike
@@Mitchlans
Based on the BA’s Code of Ethics the answer is yes.
LikeLike
david, thanks for that update re…”position held by some lawyers that membership in the BA is not mandatory … This is … in BU blogs.”
I did catch that commentary in one of my reviews of your blog and thus it led me to the query to Caswell.
Surely as your statement suggests there is absolutely no legal direction on that matter if it’s still being debated.
And the fact that Parliament have not established a definitive legislation on the matter suggest clearly that it can’t be that important in the grand scheme of things.
Caswell himself advised that it’s clear that a non ‘certified’ lawyer is still a practicing lawyer because there was such an attorney presiding in his capacity as an attorney who was not ‘certified’ and nothing was made of it or no actions he took were invalidated.
So frankly all just another humbug; you pay the fee when needed to clear the air and simply have the damn thing backdated for the start of the ‘year’ and all’s well that ends well.
LikeLike
If a code of ethics governs lawyers conduct why then is Mr. Carrington still a lawyer. Why did this not come into play when the matter became one of ethics and morals.
LikeLike
Sunny Sunshine, I know you know that there is a code ethics governing all professions.
Does the Hippocratic Oath stop doctors from charging gargantuan fees for their services or doing shoddy work and leaving swabs or whatever in a patient after surgery?
Does the building code of ethics stop Engineers/Architects etc from substituting sub-standard materials that endanger lives so they can make more profits on the project?
Does the code of writing stop people from cussing and making unproven accusation about others on social media (LOLLL)!
Carrington may be the current poster child for legal misdeeds but he is certainly not alone.
It was ironic in the news item re the disbarred attorney that the current attorney representing the client from England was himself brought before the courts for mishandling of client money.
That I thought was rather classic.
LikeLike
Ooopps my bad..re ‘It was ironic in the news item re the disbarred attorney that the current attorney representing the client from England was himself brought before the courts for mishandling of client money.”
Wrong person.
Well look at that. There I go slandering people.
THAT attorney was not to my knowledge brought up from any such mishandling of client;s money. The person I was thinking about is another Phillip.
LikeLike
@De Ingrunt Word
Yeah Yeah pompersett. We got laws, codes, rules, stipulations and mek up as we go along. Still that does not stop the shite. So what is your solution the word that Ingrunt.
LikeLike
Sunny, I wish I had the perfect ingrunce to solve the problem. I don’t.
So at this point a combination of Pacha’s guillotine, Bushie’s BBE and a healthy does of vigilance and this powerful thing called social media is what we have.
Social media provides the avenue for demonstration, shaming and agitation in a way never available before.
Particularly in a small country like ours used well it can be the extra weight to tip the scales against evil doers.
LikeLike
@SSS
Let us see if Tariq Khan responds to your question.
Bear in mind Mr. Griffiths is on public record admitting he is still waiting on responses from the Bar Association.
LikeLike
@De Ingrunt Word
Not if Doville Inniss gets his way. But social media is heaping the cow la la pun top their heads.
Tariq Khan. Sorry not impress at all. He came out and said that bajans trust lawyers and some other shite. I bet if a survey was done he would see that the only peole who trust lawyers are th lawyers themselves and the immediate family of every lawyer. So a survey would show that 96% dont trust with a 14% trusting.
LikeLike
@ David (et al) so if it is a breach of the BA Code of Ethics to use client funds other than for the business of that specific client, the next question has to be whether the judge’s request for an account included proof that the funds had remained on deposit in the practice Clients’ Account for the duration. If not, would it be reasonable for the BA to request such proof in view of the delay in repayment, if no other acceptable reason for the delay could be given.
Remember, I asked if it would be reasonable for the BA to make such a request, not whether such a request would ever be made….
LikeLike
It would be reasonable especially given the offender is a ‘QC’.
LikeLike
Reason in this matter would dictate for purposes of verification if indeed the client’s money was in the said in account. I believe wholeheartedly that it was already diverted.
There is no reason for those who took interest and should take interest in this case to determine the facts of Carrington’s sleeze. So a lot of unreasonable outcomes, defenses and show of arrogance went beyond reason and comprehension. The long and short is, this situation was not grounds for reasoning. Carrington gone clear and the outcome for Leroy Parris will be the same. Both broke no laws.
LikeLike
Dear Mikey:
Nuff, nuff people were hoping to see you on the front page of today’s Nation.
Stupsee, but it is just some no name lawyer.
LikeLike
@Sunshine Sunny Shine April 16, 2015 at 12:30 PM “.So a survey would show that 96% dont trust with a 14% trusting.”
96 + 14 =110
In any survey only 100% of people can respond.
It is this sort of “new math” that makes the lawyers believe that we the people are stupid.
LikeLike
@Prodigal Son April 15, 2015 at 5:24 PM “And Mr Crook talking about people embarrassed his family.”
There is no need for Mr. Speaker’s family to be embarrassed. They have presumably done nothing wrong. Unless of course they have been helping him to spend his clients money.
In which case they should be ASHAMED, not embarrassed.
LikeLike
@SS
Let me explain the maths. 4% represents the lawyers and their familes. The other 10% will be fabrications used by the lawyers to buffer their support. My maths is correct. You need to check yours.
LikeLike
David April 16, 2015 at 12:37 PM #
It would be reasonable especially given the offender is a ‘QC’.@
Quick Crook?
LikeLike
Or were the figures provided by DeLisle Worrell?
LikeLike
@Sunshine Sunny Shine
You seem to speak from an informed position and you have provided a very well written account of what could have occurred. Source?
I took interest in this since the consensus is that we put Carrington’s head on a stake a la Ned Stark but I really don’t see why.
Carrington got himself in some hot water with a client and Griffiths must be commended for being able to do his research to prove a lawyer wrong and win a civil court case against him. Frankly, that is the Carrington only faux-pas, professionally.
This is Carrington’s first major slip up in his earnest career as a politician/lawyer and it appears that no laws were broken, yet people continue to castigate Carrington as though Griffiths was approached in a ‘Knock-Knock, spray-spray, hand over ya money’ fashion.
I am not defending Carrington by any means but legally, there aren’t any grounds for disbarment or resignation and I am finding it difficult to crucify Carrington as there is a fine line between malpractice and what we have before us since both men contested this for fourteen years.
None of us can question the validity of the Prime Minister, who is also a member of the legal profession with insurmountable experience as compared to Carrington, so what happens when PM Stuart says no laws were broken?
Do we rewrite an entire constitution or draft new laws to put Carrington’s head on a stake, a la Ned Stark, and prove the Prime Minister wrong?
LikeLike
Wait LiamCho! So a lawyer can use his client’s funds for whatever purpose he pleases, be it personal or otherwise and then scrabble around and get contributions from friends and supporters when the shit hits the fan because he ain’t got the funds to repay the man from his clients account. But until said shit hits said fan, no reason to do diddly squat other than ignire said client. OK den. Seems like maybe Fields should not be disbarred after all. Maybe he should be made a QC.
LikeLike
By the way LiamCho, the PM’s ‘insurmountable experience’ as a lawyer convinces him that Leroy Oarris did nothing wrong either. What does that tell you? If you are not familiar with the litany of laws broken by that man, I ain’t about to waste my time listing them for you.
LikeLike
It seems Carrington and c see this as a matter of law only, to hell with what is moral or ethical and bring the office of Speaker into disrepute.
LikeLike
I was wondering what became of Robert Ross.No more.
LikeLike
Oh Angel Gabriel you did not realise?
Robert Ross…….was actually Therold Fields!
LikeLike
@ LiamCho April 16, 2015 at 3:59 PM
What planet you live on?
You really coming on BU after this crook has been exposed to put a case for him? Carr-way-aton has been proven to be a crook, he should have been disbarred but he was not because he has the protection of a less than honourable PM. You really think a man like that should still be a Speaker in our esteemed Parliament. Such a disgrace for a lawyer?
If you dont believe us on BU, read the interviews of the man whose money he had on to for 14 years. Some of the money was held in fixed deposit so at least that cash should have been handed over speedily.
You want to say that the crook did nothing wrong that ” we put Carrington’s head on a stake a la Ned Stark but I really don’t see why”…………………
Yet Mr Griffiths said that the crook refused to respond to his emails or take his calls for years until he decided to go public and then the crook offered to pay him part of the money. At that point, if he actually had the man’s money in his client’s account, why did he not give the man ALL of his money rather than offering part.
Give me a break!
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ Prodigal Son I live on planet Earth, in a country just off the Atlantic, but it’s a very small place called Barbados with much more to deal with than one civil court case.
Facts:
The case between Griffiths v Carrington has been settled in favour of
Griffiths, with a sum of money being paid to him.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/62857/speaker-cheque-handed
Barbados has a rising issue of lawlessness, perhaps due to unemployment.
i/ http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66274/kfc-speightstown-robbed
ii/ http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66267/st-joseph-dies-drive-shooting
Barbados remains clueless in the fight against and regulation of marijuana.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66275/woman-drug-charges
Teachers still in limbo about who should be correcting SBAs
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/04/15/not-fair-4/
PM Stuart had an okay time in Panama
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66266/pm-stuart-panama-canal-tour-humbling-experience
Any further developments in this matter will be left up to the House Committee.
Findings:
The people of Barbados show dissatisfaction with its current Government but the solution to this problem lies far beyond a frivolous matter which has since been absolved. Further developments in this matter will be left up to the House Committee so the people of Barbados might as well focus on more pressing matters as other issues on morality are still pending. Please see Estwick v Marshall .
David, if these facts or findings do not appease your readership, I am all down for a public beheading a la Ned Stark but if Carrington head up there then so should other members on both sides of Westminster Politics in Barbados because cheques get sign everyday.
https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/10/06/former-barbados-pm-owen-arthur-who-money-laundered-campaign-donations-through-personal-bank-account-now-heads-election-monitoring-group/
LikeLike
Prodigal
Read between the lines.Robert Ross was defending Carrington the same way that LiamCho is.Ipso facto Ross rise again and was hoping to get away with it.
The robed and hooded monster processes again dispensing legalese to cover the immorality of the speaker of the 3rd oldest parliament in Her Brittanic Majesty’s Commonwealth.I am imploring any citizen to write Her Majesty and lay bare the facts of the nastiness of Carrington the immoral speaker and of Freundel Stuart aka Oliver Cromwell,who aided and abetted the said speaker in his dishonesty.Similarly,write to the President of the USA with the same information so that Barack Obama can guage for himself the spineless clown Buhbaydus got for a Prime Minister and that he should disregard any dribble for advice he profferring in the matter of the situation in Venezuela.The audacity of this JA Stuart giving advise!Whatdeassisthisihearingatallatall.Stuart giving advice?
LikeLike
We really should, Gabs.
Let us try to find out when is the next CPA meeting and shame the bastard! I am in on that. This government has become an albatross on our backs and they think that we cannot touch them….we will have to wait until the ugly man call elections.
Let us start with one and the rest will fall down! Then FREEDOM!!!!!!!!!!from the bastards.
LikeLike
LOL @ Gabriel
whattheassisthisbushiehearingatall……
Yuh lie….Ross can’t be Fields….. or is it ..Fields can’t be Ross..
Wuh Bushie asked Ross specifically to check his client accounts status…on more than one occasion here on BU…..
Cuh shiite…. no wonder Ross seemed so agitated….
if he knew that he was in a bad way he could have asked the bushman for a loan….
Well, at least if he ends up in Dodds we know that he will not be overly traumatised
LikeLike
@ Prodigal Son I live on planet Earth, in a country just off the Atlantic, but it’s a very small place called Barbados with much more to deal with than one civil court case.
Held:
The case between Griffiths v Carrington has been settled in favour of
Griffiths, with a sum of money being paid to him.
nationnews com/nationnews/news/62857/speaker-cheque-handed
Barbados has a rising issue of lawlessness, perhaps due to unemployment.
i/ nationnews com/nationnews/news/66274/kfc-speightstown-robbed
ii/ nationnews com/nationnews/news/66267/st-joseph-dies-drive-shooting
Barbados remains clueless in the fight against and regulation of marijuana.
nationnews com/nationnews/news/66275/woman-drug-charges
Teachers still in limbo about who should be correcting SBAs
barbadostoday bb 2015 04 15 not fair 4
PM Stuart had an okay time in Panama
nationnews com/nationnews/news/66266/pm-stuart-panama-canal-tour-humbling-experience
Any further developments in this matter will be left up to the House Committee.
Findings:
The people of Barbados show dissatisfaction with its current Government but the solution to this problem lies far beyond a frivolous matter which has since been absolved. It’a an ethics issue and any further developments in this matter will be left up to the House Committee so the people of Barbados might as well focus on more pressing matters as other issues on morality are still pending. Please see Estwick v Marshall, Symmonds v Symmons, Mia’s personal lifestyle. .
David, if these facts or findings do not appease your readership, I am all down for a public beheading a la Ned Stark but if Carrington head up there then so should other members on both sides of Westminster Politics in Barbados because cheques get sign everyday.
barbadosfreepress wordpress com/2008/10/06/former-barbados-pm-owen-arthur-who-money-laundered-campaign-donations-through-personal-bank-account-now-heads-election-monitoring-group/
LikeLike
@LiamCho
Indeed Carrington is innocent and have done no wrong. In fact David Thompson is also innocent and have not done no wrong. All lawyers and politicians in Barbados are innocent of every accusation levelled at them. Like Bill Clinton said, ” I did not have any sexual relations with that woman.”At least he came clean after real reporters found the evidence. Would be good if we had reporters like that in Barbados.
The only people who are at fault in this matter are the accusers who do not understand that every transaction of business done by a politician or lawyer deemed illigitimate by all others is an legitimate business transaction as defined by the standards of the system they have designed. There is nothing wrong with that. So I agree with you.
LikeLike
@Liam Cho
‘This seems to Carrinton’s only faux pas’. You mean that you know ‘ bout
LikeLike
@Bernie Fields
I am not familiar with this Carrington but from the pompous display and no shame he has shown, it is my feel that he needs to be shame. If there are other discretions on his part it would be interesting to know what they are.
LikeLike
If Carrington had done no wrong, the court would not have been able to make an order against. If he thought that the court were wrong; why didn’t he appeal.
LikeLike
@Caswell
Did he not further compounded his wrong by refusing to pay the man his money. That alone should be grounds for a further sitting in the court or discipline by the BAR association. He is no longer credible to sit in the chair as speaker. He can continue his stint as am MP since with them immorality is a new word meaning respectable and good.
LikeLike
”Gabriel April 16, 2015 at 5:40 PM # I was wondering what became of Robert Ross.No more”
Did you realize that when the heat turned on certain things he went into a hole?
Of course, I don’t think he is the gentleman you refer to ……
………nor do I think he may be the top man’s best bud and famed legal eagle, who is always in the news. … we have no support for surmising such.
LikeLike
Things getting interesting in the Parris case.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66298/smith-parris-team
LikeLike
Just read the nation article. Where is the heat all I read is that this lawyer refuse to pay his dues and the CJ simply indicated, you won’t you can’t practice.
LikeLike
@SSS
Think of the implication, the lawyers in question have been allowed to practice law in Barbados for years. These two lawyers will not go in a corner and sulk.
LikeLike
Can Parris now sue these two Lawyers for causing a delay ?
LikeLike
@ Hants
…you mean for impersonating real lawyers.
Does this mean that the suit brought for the delay in hearing Parris’s court action is null and void? …or can ordinary laymen bring such actions now…?
LikeLiked by 1 person
I guess it will go to a question of law. Surely the law is clear in whether, to practice at the Bar, there is a requirement to pay fees to the Bar Association or not.
Fairly straightforward.
If yes, they should pay.
If no, there can be no coercing them to pay if the paw does not allow.
Not rocket science.
LikeLike
Ross:
Come here and defend your good name. I do not believe Fields is Robert Ross!!! But Fields continues to say that he did not receive these monies; could it be that the damn man was set up by the legal system?
LikeLike
The next CPA meeting is scheduled for Pakistan September 30th to October 8th – what a long conference and at tax-payer’s expense. Also the AGM’s of the Regional CPA Chapter seem to be held in May – but no details on their website which is not very up-to-date. The 2014 AGM was held in Barbados and i am suspecting that our Speaker could be up to chair the regional CPA at its May meeting. Someone with close political ties might be able to find out as many of these things are caucussed long before the actual election. Traditionally Speakers are chairs but I believe there have been exceptions like Billie Millar who chaired CPA proper in the 1990’s.
A couple options we could execute include:
Start demanding transparency on who is in the delegation representing Barbados.
Start a campaign against Carrington attending (maybe until the Committe of Priveleges tables its report).
Write a letter to the CPA and perhaps to its members with copies of the relevent information (High Court judgement and Media Coverage) and we could ask that the CPA censure him. We should not expect action but the mere circulation of the information might be useful. This could be done by email with the various links.
Anybody else who feels strongly one way or the other on this matter could weigh in.
I would gladly draft such a communication for approval by the BU family but others might be better able to do so.
LikeLike
Please go ahead and draft!
Follow this link:
https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/update-registrar-exposed-to-action-for-defamation-by-senior-lawyers/
LikeLike
David April 17, 2015 at 7:35 AM Think of the implication, the lawyers in
David if fees are necessary to for any lawyer to practice law how comes these two were allowed to continue all this time. How is that the system waited until Parris case to do so. If there are underlying reasons that expose some wrong doing that is the cause for the defiance in these two men than we need to wait with baited breath. Other than, I see nothing coming out of this unless the worms are about to come out the work.
LikeLike
@ Tell me something I don’t know April 17, 2015 at 8:57 AM #
Excellent, this is what I was suggesting earlier on this thread! I will have a look on the weekend when I have more time.
Thanks!
LikeLike
@tell me something I dont know
Draft the letter. I agree with you. E-mail petition these distasteful brutes.
LikeLike
I can’t help noticing that what BU said has come to pass and that is that the lepers lawyers have managed to get the hearing before their choice of arbiter but the arbiter has been put between a rock and a hard place by an advocate who following the law to the letter if not the spirit.
LikeLike
@SSS
Today’s Nation confirmed Gollop’s fee was paid. Why the matter was never challenged is a good question. These are two senior lawyers who have appeared numerous times before the Courts including the CCJ.
LikeLike
Drafting… Will try and submit directly to David when done and he can vet and weigh in and he probably has a system for such things. We’ll also need to get the email addresses of the various members but that should be on a website somewhere.
Will try and complete over the week-end.
LikeLike
I well remember that Hal Gollop had been objecting to paying dues to the Bar Association on a matter of principle and also he deemed it to be unconstitutional. If I search diligently, I am sure that I would be able to find something that I wrote pointing out my agreement with the unconstitutional part of his argument.
I could be wrong but my understanding is that on becoming a Queen’s Counsel, he paid the dues. If that is so, it would appear that the principle was relaxed for the occasion. My question to all the Gollop critics out there is simply this: Do you expect a man to put his principles on hold indefinitely?
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Caswell
Not if those principles require protecting a millionaire friend. He would got to be bigidiot to let a lucrative opportunity like this past.
LikeLike
Caswell when you find some time do make that search as I would be keen to understand exactly what makes the fee payment unconstitutional.
The BA dictum follows a set of rules which one supposes builds on the foundation of the constitutional laws so why the strong objection from some attorneys?
Do they pay into the Compensation Fund?
LikeLike
@ DLP & BLP and the Barbadian public,
Corruption
Katherine Stone, MPhil/PhD War Studies candidate, believes corruption is linked to and exacerbates every major security threat in the world.
“Corruption is a threat to every aspect of peace and stability – political, economic, developmental, environmental and military. Corruption underpins and exacerbates every major security threat. It undermines public trust in governments and institutions and is a catalyst for violent revolutions such as those that have made up the Arab Spring. It is a key driver and enabler of insurgency, including those of Isil and Boko Haram, and a core source of funding for international terrorism and organised crime. ”
“It allows dangerous regimes to thrive and hastens the failure of states such as Somalia and Sudan. Failure to adequately recognise corruption as a paramount security threat only increases the risk it poses.”
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/big-question-kcl/11544853/What-is-the-biggest-threat-facing-the-world-today.html
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Sunshine Sunny Shine
I have heard of several complaints before from clients and from a long standing practicing attorney that, and these are his words, ‘this is only the tip of the iceburg’ . You can glean from that whatsoever you will.
The reality is that in Bim it is who you are and the ties that you have.My heart aches for my country Barbados.
LikeLike
@Lemuel
I have been informed that you are indeed correct. There is apparently a lot more to this.
LikeLike
@Gabriel
For a certainty Mr Obama has the goods on this bunch. It was interesting that he spoke at length to the issue of corruption and cronyism. And perhaps you might have noticed the expression on Obama’s face after Fumble’s assolery. It was priceless!
We must remember that we have representative bodies in Barbados from the various countries.The question is what can they do and if anything, who has to initiate it? Barbados needs some kind of intervention before it is too late.
LikeLike
@Bernie Fields
If you can make those assertions then more than likely he would have to be part of the mess. What is troubling about the entire consortium of lies and liars is that it is pulling Barbados down into mirky waters. The world is reading these blogs and examing the information in accordance with what is delivered by judicial process and those who are leading the country. I can tell you from my side of the woods that Barbados credibility is shot.
LikeLike
Sunny, I want to believe that you know that although “the world is reading these blogs” and that “from my side of the woods that Barbados credibility is shot” that they are any number of business men and women lining up to get some of the incentive tax holidays to start a business that countries like Barbados will offer; and other business of course.
I think it is fair to say that Antigua’s and Dominca’s credibility take a shot when they sell passports to the rich. The US and others still do business there.
Surely the US’ credibility took shot after shot: Iran-Contra, Assassinations, defense contractors selling toilet seats and spanners etc for thousands of $$ each. They are still moving along very well.
That to say, yes the corruption is rampant and the misdeeds many but (1) the US and other super nations can do only so much with local corruption and (2) they too have rampant corruption.
We have said it over and over but Bajans can only make a change if they keep agitating and bringing cases to the public (with law suits).
Corruption did not start yesterday. You yourself spoke about what your father cautioned re Ezra Alleyne. And Ezra was not alone. As I recall his story was one of getting caught in the vice of alleged substance dependency and that led to a host of his problems. No excuse, just stating a fact.
LikeLike
Oh btw Sunny if you want to see how corruption can be so insidious then see the O’Halloran case out of T&T.
http://www.lindquistforensics.com/index.php/selected-cases/1980s/44.html?ml=1
Imagine, for example, Walter of BU fame using all his skills and connections to bring the perpetrators of the CLICO infamy to justice and help reclaim monies and then 20 years from now he is killed in his drive way at his house.
Life is stranger than fiction, they say.
That case probably like no other exemplifies the absolute power that a few hold over the many (throughout the region) and how it takes a crusader who is willing to strategize and give up career and more to really buck the system.
What we are seeing now in Barbados is NOT new. Social media is new.
LikeLike
@ De Ingrunt Word
I put nothing past these people. It is so plain and open to see how far people will go to protect the hands that feed them. We have Prime Minister with either audacity or in some type of bold ignorance protecting his friend Leroy Parris even to the point that he ignores a report with serious implications towards his friend and former PM, but sought to close the mouths of those who could talk, by instilling fear in their hearts with announcing that he got a list. The man is not scared one bit to say he got crooked friend or to exalt a dead crooked Prime Minister. That is open and plain. NO one dear touch this bitch
LikeLike
could not believe my ears while listening to a popular call in internet show on which some scathing and damaging information was related about ,,david ellis,,,
LikeLike