103 responses to “2014 Barbados Auditor General Report”

1. I noticed from reading in the Barbados Today that senior police officers were paid travelling allowance from home and back on a daily basis. Officers at those levels should normally be entitled to a fixed travelling allowance. But these allowances are now subject to tax and I feel that this was a way to avoid the tax because commuted travel is not taxable.

This matter should be turned over to the DPP, but we have a problem, the Police is responsible for investigating fraud and reporting their findings to the DPP. I think that this could be captured under misconduct in public office or just plain making false claims against the Government. Let’s see what will happen

2. According the Monday March 16, 2015 edition of the Daily Nation:

“FINANCE MINISTER Chris Sinckler launched the 2015 Estimates debate in the House of Assembly this morning laying out what he described as clear cut, undisputed evidence that the Barbados economy was on the rebound.”
    With tourist arrivals from all the major source markets up with the exception of CARICOM, energy prices down, inflation at 1.9 per cent, the deficit cut to 6.7 per cent and Government expecting a surplus of $56 million, the Finance Minister said EVEN THE MOST STRIDENT CRITICS OF THE GOVERNMENT HAD TO ACCEPT THAT THE 19-MONTH FISCAL ADJUSTMENT PROGRAMME WAS WORKING.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

However, item 2.15 on page 14 of the Auditor General’s report gives an alternative view:

Revenue was reported at $2.340 billion and this compares to $2.449 billion for the 2012-2013 financial year, a decrease of $109 million.

The main contributing factor to the decline in revenue was a fall in the collection of taxes from income and profits. This component fell from $746.2 million to $634.2 million, a reduction of $112 million.

The fall in revenue was indicative of the state of the economy which showed some decline during the financial year.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The following is an excerpt from the executive summary of the “Barbados Economic & Social Report 2013”, page 2: (PLEASE NOTE: this document is prepared by the Division of Economic Affairs of the Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs):

“EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: Real GDP in the Barbados economy exhibited signs of weakness and declined by 0.1 per cent at the end of 2013 in contrast to a year earlier when it remained flat. Growth in the tradable sector fell by 1.1 per cent on account of declines in sugar, manufacturing output and tourism. However, output in on‐sugar agriculture and fishing grew by 11.4 per cent.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

IMF Press Release No.14/265June 6, 2014:

“The Barbadian economy continues to face major challenges, including low growth, a very large fiscal deficit and a high debt burden. Real GDP is expected to decline by 0.6 percent this year, as slightly stronger tourism activity is offset by the impact of the government’s deficit reduction efforts. Inflation is expected to remain subdued and private sector credit growth weak.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Now, if the above statement are true, would someone care to explain to me how is it that if Barbados’ revenue intake for income year 2013-2014 was $109M LESS than that reported for income year 2012-2013, what “clear cut, undisputed evidence” does the MoF have to verify the economy is on the rebound?

3. None.

4. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

A pack if crooks , many things were to go to the DPP ,we have to know who give the orders not to send , Do we have another Dottin as COP?

Police doing bear crap, and only looking for white ladies in the bush , Low level crimes are making big news when the Fraud Squad used to cover up information that is found,

We need a police over the Police like and FBI,Police in Barbados can not police them self. The DPP also need some one over him and them ,

Now the PM comes with a ploy to get all the crooks off free by talking shit ,

Then let them all drop ESQ, QC, Sir, GG from their title that they stole and lie to get where they are now ,
    Republic? No Matter the name or the fake focus all of them need to be in Jail.

5. Looking at parts of this report, its a wonder that some interested parties did not propose to have this document remained sealed. There is some stark similarities between Government’s mishandling of the taxpayers money, and that of CLICO and its clients.
    No wonder that there is an all fired rush to become a Republic.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

You are acting as if Sinckler has sense and knows what he is talking about. If you give him a balance sheet for a snow cone vendor, he wouldn’t know where to start. He is just a monkey in a suit doing rehearsed tricks: he can’t explain what he is delivering to the public, someone wrote it for him to deliver.

7. @ Artaxerxes March 24, 2015 at 9:50 PM #

“The Barbadian economy continues to face major challenges, including low growth, a very large fiscal deficit and a high debt burden. Real GDP is expected to decline by 0.6 percent this year, as slightly stronger tourism activity is offset by the impact of the government’s deficit reduction efforts. Inflation is expected to remain subdued and private sector credit growth weak.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Now, if the above statement are true, would someone care to explain to me how is it that if Barbados’ revenue intake for income year 2013-2014 was $109M LESS than that reported for income year 2012-2013, what “clear cut, undisputed evidence” does the MoF have to verify the economy is on the rebound?

……………………………………………..

Excellent post, Artaxerxes.

Dr Mascoll made the same points in his presentation on Sunday at St Leonard’s!

8. This means that the document that the MOF laid in the house was nothing more that a fabrication to deceive the people of Barbados.

9. I read item # 22 Good Governance on page 47 of the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto. Then I read the following excerpt in the Auditor General’s report.

“The NAB has one hundred and forty-four (144) established posts of Home Helper. During the financial years ending 31st March 2011, 2012 and 2013 funding of $1.015 million was provided for the payment of seventy (70) substitutes. An analysis performed on this amount showed that these funds not only allowed the NAB to pay the seventy (70) substitutes when the regular home helpers went on leave, but also allowed pay the wages of an additional fifty (50) Home Helpers for at least three (3) days of each week of the year.” [6.122]

“Based on an assessment of the staff complement of the NAB, these fifty (50) additional posts of Home Helper have been created without the permission of the Ministry of Civil Service. The National Assistance Board was able to finance these positions by requesting, through its parent Ministry, increased funding for substitutes in the estimates of expenditure and this funding was provided by the Ministry of Finance.” [6.123]

“Cabinet decisions set the policy direction of the Government on matters, and state agencies are expected to carry out those decisions. The National Assistance Board employed more persons that it was authorized to, by retaining persons in posts that should have been transferred at the closure of its Housing Programme as directed by the Cabinet. It also did not follow the Ministry of the Civil Service is guidelines for creating new posts but unilaterally increased its staff complement. CONSEQUENTLY, THE BOARD EXCEEDED ITS ALLOTTED STAFF COMPLEMENT BY FIFTY-THREE (53) POSTS.” [6.124]

In keeping with what has become the norm in Barbados, the minister under whose ministry a statutory corporation falls, would usually send his constituents to fill established posts or posts created for the purpose of employing these people. Also, the chairman and board members more often than not come from the minister’s constituency as well.

The process of preparing departmental statements of projected expenditure involves the accountants and heads of department of all Boards and departments that fall under a particular ministry. On completion of the budgets, these individuals meet with the minister, ministry accountant and PS to discuss the proposed allocations of expenditure, etc. The minister would subsequently meet with the Cabinet, where approval or proposed expenditure cuts would be deliberated.

Despite what anyone may say, It is important to note that Minister Steve Blackett is fully aware of those 53 extra workers, some of whom would have obviously come from his constituency.

10. Now we are on the topic of good governance, the following transactions, totaling $$129,020,476.52, were recorded in the Auditor General’s report:

• A loan receivable in the amount of $2,000,000.00 was made to Southern Golf on September 25, 2009. NO LOAN AGREEMENT was entered into by the parties and no repayments or interest were received from Southern Golf to date.

• During the financial year 2009-2010 amounts totaling $950,000.00 were loaned to Durette & Co. (Caribbean) Ltd from the now defunct Public Enterprise Investment Fund. This loan has not been brought to account to date by the Treasury. This has resulted in the receivables being understated by $950,000.00 in this regard. It should also be noted that this loan is not being serviced and it is my understanding that the company is no longer in business. Investigations should be undertaken to see if this loan is recoverable or has to be written off.

• The Government of Barbados guaranteed a loan for $120,000,000.00 in respect of the Four Seasons Development project during the financial year 2011-2012. This guaranteed debt was called during the financial year 2013-2014 by the lenders. As Government had guaranteed the debt, an amount of $124,329,766.00 which entailed principal plus interest was paid through its company Clearwater Bay. This amount was subsequently recorded in the accounts of the Treasury as an account receivable. There is however no information available that any monies have been repaid to date.

• The Police: Excess travel allowance payments in excess of $800,000 and over-drawn salaries in the amount of $442,679.

• Overdrawn salaries in the Ministry of Education in the amount of $498,031,52.

11. Hopefully they show what this Nigerian fiasco is going to cost. It is comforting when something plays out exactly as predicted

12. old onion bags Avatar

I tell wanna eva sense D Kung Fu Panda ent know nutting bout economics or maths …but only Caswie Artex,Miller and a few odders did believe me…..D man can even understand the difference between 0.3, 3% or even 3….ee is bare talk sweet , we used to call it ‘blow-hardism’ and kung Fu master the art…..but des things duz happen Froon can’t do nuh better. In the land of the blind, the one eye man syndrome….site

13. Caswell Franklyn March 24, 2015 at 10:28 PM #

“You are acting as if Sinckler has sense and knows what he is talking about. If you give him a balance sheet for a snow cone vendor, he wouldn’t know where to start.”

After reading an article entitled “Finance Minister: Gov’t to transition into new system of reporting” on page 3 of the Business Monday section of the Monday March 23, 2015 edition of the Barbados Advocate, I am inclined to agree with you above comments.

Sinckler was reported as having said “As part of the ongoing process after seven years, from the financial year 2015/2016 Government’s deficit overall and recurrent, will be reported on an accrued basis. In other words we are transitioned out of the cash reporting…”

“Cash accounts will still be maintained in the Estimates as that shows the Government’s income statement.”

Mr. Sinckler, if government uses the either cash basis or accrual methods of accounting, the ledger MUST maintain a cash account to record revenue [whether you call it “cash”, “bank”, revenue” or “de account dat duh does put de money pun”].
    Therefore, the non sequitur is to assume that because government will no longer be recording and reporting its financial information using the cash basis method, there would be no need to maintain “cash accounts” in the ledger, but you have decided to do so.

I’m further at a loss with Sinckler’s statement, because I recalled during the financial year 2007-2008, government was supposed to have “transitioned” to the accrual basis of accounting. And this can be substantiated by a note in the Auditor General’s report, chapter 3, item 3.40 on page 66, under the heading “Accrual Accounting.” The following is an excerpt, in part, from that paragraph:

“The Government of Barbados adopted the accrual basis of accounting from financial year 2007-2008. This means that all revenue earned must be accounted for whenever a transaction occurs and not when money is received.”

Recall the cash basis method is basically an accounting method in which revenue is recognized when cash is received and expenses when cash is disbursed.
    Now, this admission by Sinckler that government has been reporting its finances brings into question government’s reporting of the deficit.

Supposed, for example, interest on loans in the amount of $7,200 is payable every 6 months, using the accrual basis of accounting, the $7,200 will be prorated over the 12 month period and recorded and included in the monthly income statement at $600 per month.

However, under the cash basis method, $3,600 will be recorded in June’s income statement. As a result, although interest of $600 has been incurred each month, theoretically expenses on the income statement would be understated by $600 for the months of January to May.

This also explains why Sinckler has been making references to a primary surplus and primary deficit.

14. Caswell Franklyn March 24, 2015 at 10:28 PM #

“You are acting as if Sinckler has sense and knows what he is talking about. If you give him a balance sheet for a snow cone vendor, he wouldn’t know where to start.”

Let me give a simple example. Assume Company HJK earned $10,000 in revenue and incurred $11,000 for financial year 2013-2014. However, $3,000 was to be collected and outstanding commitments were recorded at $5,000. Under the accrual basis, the company would include these amounts on the income statement. This meant the company made a loss during the year.

Accrual Basis:

Revenue 10,000

Expenses (11,000)

Profit/(Loss) (1,000)

However, under the cash basis method the company would record ONLY the cash received as revenue and cash disbursed for expenses:

Cash Basis:

Revenue 7,000

Expenses (5,000)

Profit/(Loss) 2,000

15. ***That should be S7,000 – $6,000 = $1,000 profit

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes March 25, 2015 at 8:23 AM
    “This also explains why Sinckler has been making references to a primary surplus and primary deficit.”

Let us not focus on Stinkliar with his cash vs. accrual accounting concepts which is really way above his intellectual pay-grade.
    He is not to blame for any technical ignorance or incompetence. He is just reading from a script prepared by a politicized bureaucrat who has been mandated to produce a speech that sounds impressive and to cover up the current administration’s reckless fiscal management and lack of vision to conceptualize policies needed to stabilize the economy and encourage growth.

What we should be concerned about is the professional integrity and competence of the Accountant General (A G).
    How would the A G explain this long drawn out period from the fiscal year 2007-2008 to 2014-15 to “transition” from the cash basis to the accrual method.
    Are we to assume there are numerous liabilities that have not yet been brought to book because of the government’s cash flow problems?
    Can we conclude therefore that both the primary deficit and the real deficit are much higher than the poor ignoramus of a Minister of Finance is thumping his intellectually flat chest about?
    When a Minister of Finance can get up before so-called educated people and boast of success in reporting an estimated primary surplus by completely ignoring interest payments due on a debt of $11 billion you know the country is really becoming a banana republic of academic monkeys.

No wonder the country credit rating is sliding at a rate equivalent to the growth in the national debt.
    What this administration requires badly is a primary surplus in the level of confidence the people hold in it.

17. The Auditor General should do a probe on Mary Redman in particular and Pedro Shepherd. What in God’s name do these two particularly Mary Redman do except in the newspapers day after day attacking and cursing the government. When do they find time to even teach the school children the tax payers pay them handsomely to do. We long for the day when quarrelsome people like Redman and Shepherd are replaced by persons who adhere to the values of cooperation and reasonableness. What can a school child learn from those two. Bitterness is not on the curriculum or is it. Your move Auditor General.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ My Two Cents March 25, 2015 at 9:14 AM

Why don’t you also call for a probe into the very intimate relationship between the P M and Leroy Parris?
    The A G might just find out why Leroy Parris owes millions in taxes to the Treasury which the BRA is hamstrung to collect because of this very same close association of conflicting interests.

19. Stephen-Got-Even Avatar
    Stephen-Got-Even

Mary Redman and Pedro Shepherd suit one another, they are two miserable clowns performing in the same circus.

20. @Artaxerxes 12:32 am

You just highlighted a few items on pages 27-32 but this sub item explains a lot on how big business, and government on both sides are in bed together:

p28, 2.46
    “Loans to individuals and Government Agencies were recorded as
    $409,565,427 (Note 11). This category of receivables consists of loans
    advanced to various entities including car loans to Parliamentarians and
    Registering Officers who are not public servants. Issues relating to these
    loans were as follows:”

To carry this further, how can you carry out a selective audit? If you found this many discrepancies, what would you have found in a complete audit. The poor peoples money is funding a lavish lifestyle, and someone needs to step forward, and demand answers, and expose each, and everyone of these leaches!

“Give them time”…………Sir Kuffin

Really, maybe he’s a big part of the problem!

21. BBC finally got rid of that lowlife Clarkson, it was just a matter of time, maybe he can call the fellow lowlifes in Barbados Cow and Bizzy for a job.

http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/tv/bbc-drops-top-gear-host-jeremy-clarkson-article-1.2161692

22. That is why you blp misfits can not garner sufficient support for any issue for the simple reasons you guys spend top much time castigating and condeming rehashing isdues that you cannot understand.PM stuart and Sinckler sure know how to keep the Bees busy on trivia

23. In today’s nation we read, not surprisingly, that the National Stadium is falling to bits, to such an extent that the recently held schools games were on the brink of being cancelled.
    What I would like to ask the Minister of Sports ,Culture etc etc, How many millions of dollars is it costing the taxpayers of this country for the rental of office space in the Trimart building,owned by Bizzy Williams, at Haggatt Hall. Could some of this money not have gone towards the refurbishing of the disgraceful looking National Stadium?
    Were you, Mr Minster ,not instrumental in putting the taxpayers money into the refurbishment of Bushy Park Racing track , owned by Bizzy Williams. Could some of this money gone towards the refurbishment of our disgraceful looking National Stadium,?
    And to the Minister of Housing Lands, etc etc. How much is it costing the taxpayers of this country to rent office space at the Trimart Building in Bridge Street, owned by Bizzy Williams. Could some of this money not gone towards the refurbishment of our National Stadium.
    Mr Minister, isn’t it a shocking disgrace for the Ministry of HOUSING, LANDS . etc etc to be renting accommodation from the private sector?

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Colonel Buggy

Inasmuch as it would be a dreadful thing to happen and while it would pain a few parents, one single incident at that decrepit stadium during NAPSAC, with a few injuries, and these dimwit fellows who are raping this cvntry sucking the resources meant for the common/poor man of Bulbados will be seen to be the self serving scum that they are

What will be the catalyst that will bring things to a head?

Mark de ole man words…it is going to be the simplest thing that will elicit the acts of retribution directed at these demigods, one incident that Bulbados has not seen since 1937 is going to set it off….

25. lawson March 25, 2015 at 2:10 AM
    ………………………………………………………..
    Comforting to who? The fools we are?

26. now look at that de ole man not surprisingly hoping to see the stadium collapse and innocent people get, injured ,enough garbage emitting from this poor soul mouth to make mangy dog stomach sick now the mongrel that he is seem to expecting that a negative would be a positive for the blp how sick and retard can one person be, running out of issues and lsearching for a needle in a haystack this johhny utters evilness against the citizens of this country.., boy i tell yuh desperate days going follow any one who wishes evil on another for the rest of their live that is what the bible says ,,,ole man you need to get down on your knees and ask god for forgiveness yuh hear,

27. Comforting to the lawyers because they will get paid
    Comforting to the Nigerians if they get to stay … which are the head of the phalanx if it works out by the way
    Comforting to me because old onion bags called me stupid when I said the writing is on the wall.. on how this is going to turn out.

28. Jeremy Clarkson cuss black people and called them by the N word, nothing happened. He barely cuff a white man and BBC fired him!! You clowns who braved the sun and rain to Bushy Park see any light yet!!

Piece, we not only igrunt we are big clowns!!!

29. Listen to the late, great, Fela Kuti railing against corruption in high places. This man was a permanent thorn in the side of the Nigerian authorities. He could be singing about the numerous Barbadian governments since the reign of Arthur right through to the village idiot Stuart.

Oh for a Fela Kuti in Barbados.

Tell them Fela! Tell them!

30. What is the old saying regarding burning your bridges? This group of Nigerian bastards , fabricated some instances at Casa Grande, beamed some ugly pictures across the world showing Barbados in a very bad light , and now they are getting down on their knees to ask the Government and people of Barbados to embrace them.
    While down on their knees the only appropriate thing for us to do is to give each and everyone of them a swift kick up the arse.
    We had enough of the Cuban Garcia.

31. The Auditor General stated it very CLEARLY……………

In my opinion, based on the findings highlighted, the financial statements presented for audit did not in all material respects fairly represent the financial position of the Government of Barbados.

What the auditor is saying is that his REPORT, which is showing Barbados finances in a deplorable state, is LIKELY/PROBABLY much WORSE than he is reporting.

Makes one want to look for a very tall building and do some sky diving without a parachute, or maybe assist a few if not all politicians in the same activity.

32. ac March 25, 2015 at 12:44 PM #

“That is why you blp misfits cannot garner sufficient support for any issue for the simple reasons you guys spend too much time castigating and condeming [condemning] rehashing isdues [issues] THAT YOU CANNOT UNDERSTAND.”

This is a rare occasion the ACs have made a TRUTHFULcontribution, especially as it relates to “issues THAT YOU CANNOT UNDERSTAND.”

A perfect example of “you guys spend too much time castigating and condemning rehashing issues THAT YOU CANNOT UNDERSTAND” is their famous contribution to a post about the CLICO debacle:

“ac February 10, 2015 at 7:11 AM #: Question Where were the JM managers between the years of 2004 and 2007 when Clico was failing to live up to their statutory arrangements, It is truly amazing how the JM seem to exempt self from their role of negligence in the Clico collapse but have used the Houdini method in pursuit of justice.”

By asking where were the judicial managers [who were appointed in 2009] “between the years of 2004 and 2007” in their usual feeble attempt to defend the DLP, it is evidently clear to all and sundry the ACs were “castigating and condemning rehashing issues they obviously cannot understand.”

33. man artexeres you follow my post very hard try not to get a heart attack cause everything i comment it seems to agitate or arouse your political biases, steupse two thumbs up for always putting ac at the top of your’ to do things list’ to disposed of, but let me warn you it is not going to be easy bozie, continue trotting boy it is a lonely road, show ac the kind of grit you are made of,btw time is running out, a lot of issues that kept the bees busy are off the table any how ac not going any where any time soon so maybe in the end i might be the only issue left for the bees to quibble about, good job,

34. @My Two Cents March 25, 2015 at 9:14 AM…” We long for the day when quarrelsome people like Redman and Shepherd are replaced by persons who adhere to the values of cooperation and reasonableness. ”

Trade union matters are by their very nature adversarial.

A trade unionist would not be doing their job if they were cooperative and reasonable with those employers who are taking advantage of the union members.

35. Who is Southern Golf?

36. “Loan to Clearwater Bay
    The Government of Barbados guaranteed a loan for $120,000,000.00 in respect of the Four Seasons Development project during the financial year 2011-2012. This guaranteed debt was called during the financial year 2013-2014 by the lenders. As Government had guaranteed the debt, an amount of $124,329,766.00 which entailed principal plus interest was paid through its company Clearwater Bay. This amount was subsequently recorded in the accounts of the Treasury as an account receivable. There is however no information available that any monies have been repaid to date.”

Ac this is false accounting by the Accountant General since we all know perhaps except you that this is a case of Caesar rendering unto Caesar; the Auditor General’s comment was quite kind to say the least.

37. Loans to Private Entities
    2.42 Southern Golf
    A loan receivable in the amount of $2,000,000.00 was made to Southern Golf on September 25, 2009. No loan agreement was entered into by the parties and no repayments or interest were received from Southern Golf to date. Therefore, there is an increased risk of the funds not being recovered. This matter has been reported on for a number of years but no action has been taken to regularise the situation.

AC we were promised that such situations would not arise under the DLP administration

38. “My Two Cents March 25, 2015 at 9:14 AM…” We long for the day when quarrelsome people like Redman and Shepherd are replaced by persons who adhere to the values of cooperation and reasonableness. ”

“Stephen-Got-Even March 25, 2015 at 9:41 AM #

Mary Redman and Pedro Shepherd suit one another, they are two miserable clowns performing in the same circus”.

To both of you clowns; please be advised that
    Trade or labor unions have been around since the 1930s to resist through equal bargaining power the domination of employers over employees and to represent workers’ interests in the employment relationship. It is through union efforts that workers benefit from better pay and working conditions, and that they are treated with dignity and respect at work. The importance of trade unions cannot be overstated. Without the intervention of Trade Unions you

Sadly in Barbados, Trade Unions seemed to have lost sight of their mission and vision and except for Mr Franklyn and Ms Redman workers interests in Barbados have not been vigorously pursued in recent times by their representatives.

So you need not worry about Mr Shepherd like Mr Earl Glasgow you can be assured that political affiliation will take precedence over union interests whenever and if ever sides have to be taken.

39. Without the intervention of Trade Unions you both would not be enjoying the social benefits you now take for granted.

40. Just for the information of those of us who query the apparent toothlessness of the Auditor General-
    The Financial Administration and Audit Act clearly defines the roles of the Auditor General and Director of Finance

Excerpts of Duties of the Director of Finance

(1) If it appears to the Director upon a report by the Auditor-
    General or if the Director is otherwise satisfied that any person who is
    or was an officer
    (a) has failed to collect any moneys owing to the Crown for the
    collection of which that person is or was at the time of his
    employment responsible;
    (b) is or was responsible for any improper payment of public
    moneys or for any payment of such moneys which is not duly
    vouched or for any expenditure in excess of the amount
    authorised; or
    (c) is or was responsible for any deficiency in, or for the loss,
    damage or destruction of, any public moneys, stamps,
    securities, stores, or other property of the Government,
    and if, within a period specified by the Director an explanation
    satisfactory to him is not furnished with regard to such failure to
    collect, improper payment, payment not duly vouched, expenditure in
    excess of the amount authorised, deficiency, loss, damage or
    destruction, as the case may be, the Director may surcharge against
    the said person the amount not collected or such improper payment,
    payment not duly vouched, expenditure in excess of the amount
    authorised, deficiency, loss, damage or the value of the property
    destroyed, as the case may be, or such lesser amount as the Director
    may determine.
    (2) No such surcharge may be made after the expiration of 3 years
    from the date of the failure to collect, improper payment, payment not
    duly vouched, expenditure in excess of the amount authorised,
    deficiency, loss, damage or destruction, as the case may be.
    (1) The Director shall cause the Auditor-General, the
    Accountant-General and the accounting officer of the department
    concerned to be notified of any surcharge made under section 13.

41. Excerpts from the Financial Administration and Audit act on duties of the Auditor General

(1) The Auditor-General is the auditor of the financial statements
    of the Government of Barbados.
    (2) The Auditor-General shall also
    (a) be responsible for the audit and inspection of all public
    accounts whether such accounts are of general revenue paid
    into, and expenditure met from the Consolidated Fund, special
    funds or departmental accounts and statutory bodies which
    receive all or part of their funds from the Consolidated Fund;
    (b) apply to the public accounts such an examination as will
    enable him to ascertain that in his opinion the accounts are
    kept on a proper system, that they are punctually and properly
    posted and that checks against irregularities and fraud are
    adequate and effective;
    (c) satisfy himself that all standing instructions, enactments and
    other laws of Barbados relating to finance and accounts are
    strictly observed; and
    (d) examine and report in accordance with the outcome of his
    examination the several statements and accounts which are
    required to be submitted to him under this Act.
    (3) The Auditor-General may carry out examinations into the
    economical, efficient and effective use of resources of any Ministry or
    Department or any other entity required to be audited by him.
    (4) Subsection (3) shall not be construed as entitling the
    Auditor-General to review the merits of the policy objectives of
    Government in respect of any Ministry, Department or statutory body.
    19 L.R.O. 1998 Financial Administration and Audit CAP. 5
    It shall be the duty of the Auditor-General to examine the
    calculations and computations of all pensions and gratuities or similar
    awards before any award is made and to certify that they are
    arithmetically correct and are in accordance with all statutory
    provisions relating thereto.
    (1) The Auditor-General shall report annually, as soon as
    possible and not later than the last day of December following the
    close of each financial year, the results of his examination of the
    accounts and any failure to observe the enactments or other laws of
    Barbados.
    (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), the Auditor-General may at
    any time, if it appears to him to be desirable, transmit to the House of
    Assembly a special report on any matter incidental to his power and
    duties under this Act.
    (3) Every report of the Auditor-General shall be addressed to the
    Speaker of the House of Assembly who shall lay such report before
    the House of Assembly as soon as possible after its receipt by him.
    (4) A copy of every report of the Auditor-General shall also be
    transmitted to the Senate for information.
    (1) For the purpose of his examination under section 26 the
    Auditor-General is at all times entitled
    (a) to have access to all books, records, including data held or stored
    electronically, vouchers, payment requests, documents, returns,
    cash, stamps, securities, stores or other property in whatever
    form existing in the possession of the audited body and every
    facility shall be given for carrying out the examination;
    (b) to send for and have custody of any books, accounts,
    vouchers, payment requests, papers, data held or stored
    electronically or any other information in whatever form
    existing under the control of the audited body relating to the
    matter under examination and to keep such books, accounts,
    vouchers, payment requests or papers for such time as he may
    require them;
    CAP. 5 Financial Administration and Audit L.R.O. 1998 20
    (c) to call upon any officer for any explanation and information
    the Auditor-General may require in order to enable him to
    discharge his duties;
    (d) to require any department concerned to furnish him from time
    to time or at regular periods with accounts of the transactions
    of such department up to such date as he may specify;
    (e) without payment of any fee, to cause search to be made in, and
    extracts to be taken from, any book, document or record in any
    public office;
    (f) to summon and examine upon oath, declaration or affirmation
    (which oath, declaration or affirmation the Auditor-General is
    hereby empowered to administer) all persons whom he thinks
    fit to examine respecting the receipt or expenditure of money
    or the receipt or issue of any stores affected by this Act and
    respecting all other matters and things whatever necessary for
    the due performance of his functions; and any person
    summoned as aforesaid is upon production of a certificate of
    the Auditor-General entitled to payment for his attendance in
    accordance with the provisions of the Witnesses and Interpreters
    (Payment) Act as if he were a witness attending a legal
    proceeding in obedience to a summons issued at the instance
    of the Crown; but the Auditor-General may, if he thinks fit in
    any case, disallow the whole or any part of such payment;
    (g) to require every person employed in his office who has to
    examine the accounts of a department to comply with any
    security requirements applicable thereto and to take any oath
    of secrecy required to be taken by persons employed in that
    department.
    (2) Any person summoned under paragraph (f) of subsection (1)
    who without reasonable excuse fails to obey such summons shall be
    guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction thereof to a fine
    of $1 000, or, in default of payment, to imprisonment for a period of
    3 months.
    The Auditor-General may authorise any officer of his office to
    perform on his behalf any of his functions under this Act or any other
    Act other than the administering of oaths and the certifying of and
    reporting on accounts for the House of Assembly.
    If at any time it appears to the Auditor-General that
    (a) any irregularities have occurred in the collection, custody or
    expenditure of public moneys, or in the accounting for the same;
    or
    (b) any irregularities have occurred in the receipt, custody, issue,
    sale, transfer or delivery of any stamps, securities, stores, or
    other property of the Crown, or in the accounting for the same;
    or
    (c) any loss of or damage to property of the Crown has not been
    duly reported to the Director,
    he shall immediately bring the matter to the notice of the accounting
    officer and if the case is serious, report the circumstances to the
    Director.
    (1) The Auditor-General shall, if required
    (a) by a resolution of the House of Assembly; or
    (b) by the Minister,
    examine the accounts of any person or organisation
    (aa) who has received moneys by way of grant or loan out of funds
    voted by Parliament; or
    (bb) in respect of whom financial aid from the Crown is sought,
    and shall submit a report on the results of his examination to the House
    of Assembly or the Minister.
    (2) Where the Minister fails within a reasonable time to present
    the report referred to in subsection (1) to the House of Assembly the
    Auditor-General shall transmit such report to the Speaker of the House
    of Assembly to be presented by him to the House of Assembly.
    ss.30-32
    Auditor-
    General may
    authorise
    officers to
    perform
    duties.
    1998-36.
    Notification
    of irregularities
    to
    Director.
    1985-7.
    Examination
    of accounts.
    1998-36.

42. Here is the thing, a read of the Auditor General reports covering the period of the DLP government i.e. since 2008 confirms business as usual. Then add the fact the Public Accounts Committee was sabotaged from doing its business. Same BS!

43. balance March 26, 2015 at 3:20 AM #

“Ac this is false accounting by the Accountant General since we all know perhaps except you that this is a case of Caesar rendering unto Caesar; the Auditor General’s comment was quite kind to say the least.”

Not necessarily, balance. I could understand how the individual that entered the transaction could have made a simple mistake. It is a possibility they did not understand or misinterpreted that the loan was guaranteed by the government and cannot be classified as a receivable.

44. It’s all about greed and corruption.

“What a waste!

Crab Hill police station among govt projects under investigation”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/26/what-a-waste/

45. David March 26, 2015 at 6:04 AM #

“Here is the thing, a read of the Auditor General reports covering the period of the DLP government i.e. since 2008 confirms business as usual. Then add the fact the Public Accounts Committee was sabotaged from doing its business. Same BS!”

DLP 2008 election manifesto “Pathway to Progress”, page 47: Item 22 “Good Governance”:

“A major failing of government under the BLP over the past thirteen years has been its reluctance to take the people of Barbados into its confidence and explain to them what it has been doing on their behalf. There has been
    an absence of informative Press Conferences and releases, which inform Barbados about government activities and its dealing. Parliamentary questions raised by the people’s representatives are ignored. REPORTS FROM THE AUDITOR GENERAL ARE DISREGARDED.”

You’re correct David, when anyone highlights these things, there are accused of being members of the BLP and pushing that party’s agenda.

But what is more disturbing is the fact the DLP promised to manage Barbados’ affairs with more transparency and accountability than the previous BLP administration. Although the DLP has taken over the reins of government, unfortunately, the status quo remains the same

46. What will be even more ridiculous are those DLP supporters who will make contributions to BU suggesting the Auditor General’s report either lacks creditability or it was prepared with a specific bias against the DLP.

47. 2nd Request…….Anyone please! Who is, or was Southern Golf! Any ideas?

48. Lemuel, not quite! The investigation revealed that he set upon his producer for no less that 10 minutes, and followed it up with a verbal tirade of unending expletives for another 30 minutes. The matter is now being investigated by the police. Clarkson is a witless low-life who believed that he was above punishment for anything because of the popularity of his programme. We should all be glad to see the back of him.

49. ______How You Doing?_____ Avatar
    ______How You Doing?_____

Peltdownman

Clarkson is working with Bushy Park to plan a project which will be televised from Barbados,