103 responses to “2014 Barbados Auditor General Report”

1. The Auditor General’s reports are crucial in a functioning democracy and must continue no matter who is in government. So far the AG hasn’t shown leanings towards Dees or Bees in his investigations. Its a refreshing impartiality that all should emulate. Looking back at his findings the thousands spent on hair braiding by Mia, the ackee tree branch cutting that cost $20,000 and the golden shower at Silver Sands are the top three bloopers and money wasters. The next phase ought to be dragging offenders before the law courts to defend their actions or lack thereof.

2. The Auditor General is a man among men.
    Shiite man…. such a non-brass bowl bajan is a sight for sore bush eyes….

3. Southern Golf is the entity who owns Barbados Golf Club.

4. My Two Cents March 26, 2015 at 8:43 AM #

“The Auditor General’s reports are crucial in a functioning democracy and must continue no matter who is in government. So far the AG hasn’t shown leanings towards Dees or Bees in his investigations. Its a refreshing impartiality that all should emulate. Looking back at his findings the thousands spent on hair braiding by Mia, the ackee tree branch cutting that cost $20,000 and the golden shower at Silver Sands are the top three bloopers and money wasters. The next phase ought to be dragging offenders before the law courts to defend their actions or lack thereof.”

Come on, MTC, are you serious?? Surely your political slip is showing if you want BU to believe the $11,000 ackee tree, $300,000 bath and hair braiding are the “three top bloopers”, when compared to this administration extending a loan in the amount $2M “to Southern Golf on September 25, 2009, with NO loan agreement, and, almost 6 years after, the government has not received payments as yet.

Or guaranteeing a loan for $120M to Clearwater Bay in respect of Four Seasons Project and having to pay $124M because the debt was called in by the lenders.

Don’t you think someone should be locked up for these “financial atrocities” as well?

Shiite man, you’re being hypocritical by referring to financial improprieties undertaken during the BLP administration without mentioning at least ONE that occurred under this DLP administration.

People from BOTH political parties should be made to answer!!!!!

5. This place called Barbados is a joke with continuing fleecing of local tax payers.

Barbados Golf Club (Southern Golf) seeming was given free money of $2 million.

John Boyce took up golf around this time playing there regularly.

Was this a coincidence?

Barbados Golf Club (Southern Golf) is ran by a Director Ronny Carr (Who is supposed to be the major shareholder). He is Irish and takes a lot of trips back and forth to Ireland where he is based.

Barbados Golf Club (Southern Golf) daily General management is overseen by Betty-June Leacock, (Charles Leacock the DPP wife).

Charles Leacock plays there almost daily, their two sons also do so.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Anthony

Be careful you are talking about a man who is tipped to be the next person to be appointed to the Court of Appeal. Remember what happened to Choco in Trinidad when he wrote a piece about the judge’s wife. As my friend Bushie would say, MURDA!!

7. Hi Caswell

Thanks for the advice.

However I am stating irrefutable facts and not seeking to tarnish anyone.

It seems strange that a private business can get a tax payers $2 million loan with no agreement and have not made any payments 6 years later.

Why was this allowed to happen?

8. @David @ Anthony

Thanks for the info on Southern Golf. I had a gut feeling that it was BGC.

9. Is there anyone out there remotely surprised with the Auditor’s General Report?

Why pore over all the minutiae to confirm what is already know and understood by the public.

It is no secret that our political leaders, a high number of our high profile domestic business men/women and many of the non-national businesses operating in Barbados are using corruption as their business model.

It would appear that China is reigning in her high levels of corruption by using direct methods. We should adopt this very successful corruption busting model. Barbados should never be a safe haven for the corrupt, irrespective of their status.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/china/11497168/Theres-nowhere-to-run-China-tells-corrupt-officials.html

10. Simple Simon March 25, 2015 at 11:13 PM #

Trade union matters are by their very nature adversarial.

A trade unionist would not be doing their job if they were cooperative and reasonable with those employers who are taking advantage of the union members.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Lets wait and see how true is this, come 23 April, the date which EMERA has
    given notice to employees of BL&P, that there will be a massive Load Shedding operation, that could see the retrenchment of some 200 employees.

11. @ Exclaimer
    It is not quite true that there is nowhere to run for corrupt officials.
    From all appearances, there is always Barbados…..

How it is possible for officials here to consistently and openly support corruption, bribery, lepers?
    How can politicians can be openly enjoying favours from businessmen, drug dealers, investors?
    How can the Auditor General give such damning reports consistently and NOTHING happens?
    How can the PAC be just disbanded – after having been hog-tied for decades?

Unbelievable!!!!

Someone will have to pay…
    …and unless ordinary Bajans STAND UP and show themselves to be honourable, we ALL will pay the price of this lotta shiite…..

12. The Auditor General made mentioned of yachts entering the main and private ports and nothing is in place to monitor their arrivals and departures. Monies to the treasury aside, is this not a source by which the proliferation of guns
    and other illicit drugs are entering the country. I have often asked the question; how is it that these punk ass young men lacking the wherewithal to obtain certain basic everyday needs, but can acquire such sophisticated weapons and drugs not indigenous to barbados.
    Maybe there are private marinas on the blocks!

13. @ Colonel Buggy
    Did Bushie not tell you that EMERA will be exactly like Almond?

Foreign money-hungry scammer snaps up local asset which had been mis-managed by a pack of retarded jokers.
    All the best parts of the asset are stripped and massive profits realized for the first few years – in the name of “improved efficiencies” .(profits are shipped off to foreign lands)
    When there is no more fat to be extracted, the foreign scammer approaches government for concessions -with threats to lay off staff or close operations.

-By this time, foreign scammer has extracted much more in profits, management fees, expenses charges and other schemes than they had invested.

finally, the business is closed, or sold for little as foreign scammer moves on to the next set of brass bowl idiots who think it is wise to sell vital national assets for short term cash….

…Of course then the DLP will:
    …buy the abandoned BL&P plant for hundreds of millions
    …pay millions to scrap the old junk left behind
    …borrow hundreds and hundreds of millions to build new plant
    ..and probably GIVE it to some other foreign white scammer to fleece us all over again…
    …along with 40 years of tax waivers, cork hats, and plantation deeds to rule over the ‘educated’ locals….

…and wuna play wunna don’t know what a brass bowl is….?!

14. Bush Tea March 26, 2015 at 12:50 PM #

“How it is possible for officials here to consistently and openly support corruption, bribery, lepers?
    How can politicians be openly enjoying favours from businessmen, drug dealers, investors?”

Man Bushie, the more I read your contributions, the more I have to agree with your “brass bowl theories.”

Anytime anyone facilitates a loan without proof or agreement, they are basically giving away that money, since there is no obligation on the part of the borrower to repay.

The same way this administration could give away $2M for some rich people to play golf or $124M to a subsidiary of the Four Seasons project that Carson Small, Stevie Wonder or Ray Charles could see was a failure, and justifies the wastage, some of this money could have paid the former NCC employees their severance, provide the QEH with an extra $30M and some given to Ronald Jones to finance a few poor UWI students.

15. @ Bush Tea,

“Someone will have to pay…
    …and unless ordinary Bajans STAND UP and show themselves to be honourable, we ALL will pay the price of this lotta shiite…..”

Just like you, I am in total despair with what is taking place in Barbados. It breaks my heart to witness the lethargic nature of us Bajans.

In the UK we have a law which allows her citizens to make what is termed a “citizens’ arrest” against any individual who is breaking the law.

I do not know if Barbados has a similar law in place, but if it does then her citizens should start to arrest those high profile individuals who are breaking the law by committing acts of corruption.

Perhaps such acts may force the government to take a lead role in the prevention of corruption.

Just an idea.

16. If a lending institution advances a significant loan without documents what happens 99.9% of the time?

On Thursday, 26 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

17. “If a lending institution advances a significant loan without documents what happens 99.9% of the time? ”

@ David,

You are spot on.

Barbados is on the brink of social, political and economic collapse.

18. @ David
    Surely we can know who EXACTLY signed off on that loan….
    It HAD to be at the level of Permanent Secretary……
    Perhaps like in the case of Terrence of CLICO, they knew it was a scam – but were instructed to sign from on high..
    …this is the level of our top administrators….???!!!
    Oh shiite!!!!!

Surely there exists some consumer group that have the balls to pursue something like this …. (PLEASE …not the one-man-show with the double barrel name)

What the hell…..!!!
    $10M to the turf club
    $ 2M to golf
    $ 10M to CLICO
    $ 160M to Four seasons
    $ ???? to Butch Stuart
    $ ???? to Bizzy for desal water not pumped
    $ ???? to Bizzy for taking free waste which he then sells

etc etc

…then we wonder why we are broke…..

Imagine we have someone like AC spending our money….’HA HA HA
    Oh shiite …. we gotta be brass bowls….

@ Colonel Buggy
    It appears that the EMERA people are insisting that government sign an agreement extending their monopoly for 40 years or they will take it out on the employees….
    Ha ha ha

….they must be saying wuh if Butch Stuart could get some of the free percolation then they want some to nuh….
    Jokers – it seems that no one mentioned to them that they will have to come with some Canadian grease… so Darcy ain’t fart pun dem…

Passing strange that now Oil is at an all time low they are liking to cut staff costs – were they not saying that HIGH OIL costs was the main problem for them..?

What a place!!!

19. @ Anthony its: Roddy Carr not Ronny Carr! Southern Golf/ Barbados Golf Club.

Lagardere website:
    http://americas.lagardere-unlimited.com/roddy-carr/

An Article on the BBGA website, just note the picture caption!
    http://www.barbadosgolfassociation.com/roddy-carr

20. looks like the bees are down to their last issue, anyhow before i allow yu guys to keep pelting big rocks here is a blast from the past the Auditors general report 2007 now tell me after fourteen in years in governance couldn.t the BLp have done better, go read wunna have nothing else to talk about

http://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/3036cbacb1d1a9ed86381c499207eca5.pdf

21. @Anthony,

You are spot on in your posting. I was waiting for someone to answer “racehrse” before I did.

How can any government employee ok a cheque for $2million and no paper work to back the cheque. Unbelievable!

I hope we all see now why Leroy Parris, Terrence Thornhill will never be arrested.

Why Bjerkham’s son’s dilemma was quickly disposed with.

Why David Thompson’ wife will never be touched and why the will is sealed tight.

Why the nation staffers were arrested and are being tormented.

Why nothing is heard of a certain businessman’ son container of drugs.

Why condemned crooks are let out of prison after scamming innocent Barbadians of their monies.

Give the morons what they want and Southern Golf can get what it wants……..a gift of $2 million taxpayers’ money.

What a Barbados we have today!

22. prodigal here is somethimg for u to chew on

Auditors general March 2007

Advances and Loans

The contingent liabilities in respect of loans guaranteed by the government of Barbados at 31st March2007amounted to $869,481,774.00.

23. Who in the BLP is going to refund taxpayers money for the FIASCO at the Crab Hill Police station? I would like Ms. Mottley to answer that one. Sanctimonious Hypocrite!

24. @ Bushie who wrote, “It appears that the EMERA people are insisting that government sign an agreement extending their monopoly for 40 years or they will take it out on the employees”

Maybe they just following the leader.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/nova-scotia/cbc-announces-cuts-to-atlantic-region-1.3010705

25. Mottley might have to start first by returning the money that one BLP MP said went missing from the opposition leader’s office when she was occupying that position 2008 – 2010.
    I would never forget when Owen Arthur was asked about that situation. His public reply was that the situation spoke for itself. Wunna clamouring for Mottley, Mottley looking out for herself and her cronies first. Get that straight.
    Walk with ME! ME First , Country second.

26. The disunity in the BLP has never been worst. It is at an all time high despite Peter and the BLP spindoctors attempt to fool the public. This is the worst opposition this country has ever had even with the large number of seats.
    Imagine Trevor Prescod and Gline Clarke coming back to do what? Stupse.

27. @ Bajanfuhlife / AC

What is going on should not be a B or D issue.

All uncovered financial irregularities with taxpayers money should be pursued and dealt with.

28. Prodigal Son March 26, 2015 at 6:59 PM #

Why nothing is heard of a certain businessman’ son container of drugs.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    Stay tuned and the reason will be revealed, at least within the next 9 Months and 6 days.

29. Round and round the mulberry bush, twiddledee and twiddledum.

On 27 March 2015 at 00:25, Barbados Underground wrote:

30. Is Barbados opting to go Republic for the same reason that Owen Arthur decided to go over to the Dems.
    He has become an untouchable under the protection of the corrupt DLP.
    The same Government that does not want a third umpire looking over its shoulder from Buck House.

31. David March 26, 2015 at 8:35 PM #

Round and round the mulberry bush, twiddledee and twiddledum.

On 27 March 2015 at 00:25, Barbados Underground wrote:

Chuckle ….David…..I see you are using my quotes…….

What about the Sugar Cane and this nonsense about a new factory as per todays Nation backpage?

32. This year the Crap Over festival starts when???

33. I am convinced that Dennis Kellman would have made a better Prime Minister.
    When there are problems at the QEH,we cannot hear from the Minister of Health. When there problems pertaining to Law and Order, like the gun slinging policeman, we cannot hear from the Attorney General. When there is a downgrade or important matters pertaining to the country we cannot hear from the Prime Minister. When there are questions pertaining to agriculture being asked,we cannot hear from the Minister of Agriculture. But before Kellmans wings were clipped from coming on Brass Tacks, he came on and represented every other ministry.

34. @ Colonel Buggy
    I am convinced that Dennis Kellman would have made a better Prime Minister.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Boss, Bushie is convinced that (insert any name here except AC) would have made a better Prime Minister.

35. Bushie:

Civil Servants are creatures of the Public Service Act. This Act stipulates that if a Minister gives an instruction, you can request that it be stated in writing “but it still has to be carried out’, even if you think there is some thing fishy about it.

Then the Politicians BOTH BLP and DLP make sure ALL or most of the senior Civil Servants are ACTING because when these “fishy” instructions come these ACTORS do not have the BALLS (brass bowls) to respond in writing as detailed by the Law.

What is even worse is a “CARD CARRYING” member of the BLP or DLP who finds his or herself in a senior civil service post, then any thing goes for my PARTY is in POWER and I am SAFE!!!

That hypocrite Layne with the CLICO thing was a made man under the BLP. Do you see why the 3.3 million was paid right under his nose. IF he raises his head mention the name a Erskine Griffth, Owen’s boy who made him!!

36. @Vincent

The MOA has been stringing along Barbadians for several years now yet he maintains popularity. What does it say to you?

37. ‘The MOA has been stringing along Barbadians for several years now yet he maintains popularity. What does it say to you?”

Fast tract to Trinidad and the discredited internationally and regionally but popular locally Jack ‘the Ripper’ Warner idolised by none other than regular brasstacks caller Mr Wiggins- How sad indeed- What does it say about us as a people?

38. What it says it where there is a vacuum created by good people standing down JAs will be accepted. The opposite is that we must redefine those good people as not so good.

39. Nigeria had Sani and Maryam Abacha; whilst we had to endure David and Mara Thompson.

Barbados is on the road to becoming the Nigeria of the tropics. Fela had a saying for this – he would call it “International Thief Thief”.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/oct/05/nigeria-sani-abacha-jewellery-police

40. @ balance
    What does it say about us as a people?
    Everything.

We love to cuss and criticize the politicians, businessmen, lawyers, journalists and all those with a high public profile, but the sad truth is that these brass bowls are exactly the same as the ordinary, average Bajan. in fact, make ANY swap of any high profile person with another who is currently criticizing, and the results will be the same in two years.

A fella who will steal a tool from the workplace will also steal 3.3 million from policyholders if the opportunity arises.
    Someone who is classless as a senator or prime minister will be classless as a maid or gardener.
    People who have no idea about what life really means will be brass bowls whether they are paupers or billionaires.

Except for fundamental character traits – where for example black people like nuff partying, liming and feteing ….while whites like nuff money and control and some others like nuff jewellery etc, what it says about us as a people – is that six is half dozen.

The ONLY exceptions are those who are committed to the pursuit of righteous character. Those who understand that the whole point of life is the development of the kind of character and personality that seeks to do the RIGHT THING in every circumstance.
    Such a pursuit is independent of wealth, circumstances, health, power, ….even happiness. The ONLY real necessities are the physical basics of living – food, water etc.

Wise observers will see that in REAL terms, life is therefore fair and balanced. That there are no real benefits to being powerful and rich ….. indeed, Jesus suggested that it is actually blessed to be poor – as the poor are less likely to be distracted from the REAL VALUES OF LIVING by the glittery shiite of this world…..

These thieving, morally challenged, disgraceful politicians are therefore just MIRRORS who actually reflect our own self-images….as they can only reflect what we allow them to reflect.

41. Bushie:

Good one!!

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea March 27, 2015 at 6:40 AM

Good early morning sermon from the BU pulpit, Bushie!
    As you said: “Someone who is classless as a senator or prime minister will be classless as a maid or gardener”.
    Those who drive around Barbados in their MP and ML registered vehicles- with their noses cocked in the air as if they are smelling shite on their own top lip- and not observe the state of decay of the roads and the environment, both natural and built, have to be totally devoid of any class whatsoever.

The possession of paper qualifications does not bestow class and integrity on a person but the cleanliness of the lens through which he or she sees world and his fellow man.
    Barbados was in much better shape when it was being managed primarily by decent hardworking people with only 7th standard and grammar school education.

“Better keep yourself clean and bright; you are the window through which you must see the world.” ~George Bernard Shaw

43. @Bush
    Such a pursuit is independent of wealth, circumstances, health, power, ….even happiness. The ONLY real necessities are the physical basics of living – food, water etc.

Someone like they have been researching Maslow’s “hierarchy of needs” , does the etc. include sex? Look yuh gotta go back to the drawing board and look at the history and development of homo sapiens and see that your theory isn’t worth the paper it is written on, yuh only gotta look at our closest relatives in the animal world and you will come to different a different conclusion.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant March 27, 2015 at 9:03 AM
    “Look yuh gotta go back to the drawing board and look at the history and development of homo sapiens and see that your theory isn’t worth the paper it is written on, yuh only gotta look at our closest relatives in the animal world and you will come to different a different conclusion.”

Hooah! But hold your horses there, Sarge Jr.

Before you can proceed we know to hear from you who or what is (y)our homo sapiens previously erectus “closest relatives in the animal world”.

Bushie does not believe in anything so. He believes his BBE & Co created him and his kind in “their own” godlike image and not as sexually depraved bonobo brass bowls.

45. @islandgal246

Crop Over Festival sort of implies there was a CROP !

Maybe the Festival this year and future years be known as FAILURE FESTIVAL.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 26, 2015 at 6:46 PM #
    “..looks like the bees are down to their last issue, anyhow before i allow yu guys to keep pelting big rocks here is a blast from the past the Auditors general report 2007 now tell me after fourteen in years in governance couldn.t the BLp have done better, go read wunna have nothing else to talk about”

Ac & co, we duly mark your absence of enthusiastic contributions to this most pertinent topic of squandermania and purposely pratised financial incompetence.
    We can therefore assume you are quite keen to blame the previous administration for the current government’s failure to collect in excess of $400 million in VAT taken from mainly poor people of Barbados.

Don’t you think that recovering at least $200 million of the poor people’s tax contribution would go a long way in funding bursaries in a timely manner to poor people’s children who was forced to drop out of the UWI?

Don’t you think that some of the that $400 million could be collected and used to clean up the fast-becoming leper QEH and help pay the drug suppliers and other creditors to the sole health care provider for the poor?

Here we have a jackass P M talking about the need to have a conversation about the future funding of health care and education when $400 million of VAT remains uncollected. What kind of conversation does he want to engage in when Bajans already pay through their noses and other cavities to meet their social entitlements?
    What does the P M plan to do with the high taxes imposed on an already overburdened population other than maintain an obese cabinet of fatted monkeys and lick-ass sycophants? Pay for the high debt servicing commitments of the $11 billion incurred by the BLP for the period 1994 to 2014?

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Wile E Coyote

IslandGirl246 was very specific she said when does Crap Over not Crop Over Festival begin.

She is not one to make spelling mistakes and, given the fact that this is crap going on, one sees why she said what she said

48. “Bush Tea March 27, 2015 at 6:40 AM #

@ balance
    What does it say about us as a people?
    Everythin”

I SEE YOU TRYING TO OUTDO LORD BERTRAND RUSSELL