The unfinished St.John Polyclinic
The unfinished St.John Polyclinic (1991-2015)

It is an open secret the very close – who said incestuous? – relationship the late prime minister David Thompson and Leroy Parris enjoyed. They were pals, travel buddies, the two families had a financial relationship. Rumours abound about the content of Thompsonโ€™s will sized by some from 30 million to 70 million dollars. Also, the close relationship extended to the company Parris led, CLICO bankrolled the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) political campaigns in the amount of millions. Not to mention the hand me down motor cars and other items sold or given to DLP members of the political class.

The release of the CLICO FINAL FORENSIC REPORT raises several questions about the integrity and honesty of the late David Thompson.ย  So far it does not look good for the former prime minister who died at the age of 48 from pancreatic cancer. Given what is at stake Barbadians will be lucky to see justice play out any time soon – members of the political class from both sides supported by corrupt elements in the private sector will be the hindrance.

Construction of the St.John Polyclinic started in 1991 by a DLP government and in 2015 it is still under construction after being ignored by a Barbados Labour Party government from 1994 to 2008. For 24 years the polyclinic has been made a political football because of the ignorance of our political class.ย  Of concern to BU is the recent announcement by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart the St.John Polyclinic will be named the David Thompson Polyclinic promised again to be completed by mid year. Surely the Prime Minister is the most insensitive brute of a man to make such an announcement with litigation unfolding which may yet place Thompson in an ugly light. Any government committed to promoting fairness should see the commonsense position of not lending the name David Thompson for any reason to any national asset, not even an out toilet.

Another consideration is the fact the wife of David Thompson was recently named in a court filing in her capacity as beneficiary of David Thompsonโ€™s estate. The role of the Thompsons in the CLICO saga promises more airplay, so too the rise or fall of the Democratic Labour Party legacy.

212 responses to “Late Prime Minister David Thompson’s Name to be Given to St. John Polyclinic”

1. The future construction program of government is interesting. Given the high debt burden and cash flow issue of government a commonsense policy would be to engage in programs necessary to build capacity. One wonders therefore why the need to build schools for example. Is it necessary? Are we building to generate economic activity? Is that it?

On 23 March 2015 at 02:28, Barbados Underground wrote:

2. @ ACs
    when the BLP is the Government you can be assured of a job
    why ? because you are good at reducing your large deficit sick mind thinking by writing , ha ha ,ac, but the BLP will get it down fast, so you will be out of a job in short time, poor ac

3. Private Buggy

When you build these grand capital works projects there is always the potential for kickbacks.

4. watchman look closely i am sticking my tongue out and guess what you cant even cut it off lol ha ha ha, wanna bet that this entrepreneur gonna be out of a job under which administration neither b or d have that power,,again come closer see i am sticking my tongue out at you.. ha ha ha right in your face

5. artexeres
    you are full of lyrics on second thought you would make a good speech writer, ammm thinking of requesting your services are you fully equipped

6. Sorry AC, I do not provide services, of any type, for fools. And if I did, I would be receiving money from that fool, which would be in keeping with the saying …… “a fool and his money are soon parted.”

7. @ Hants
    Bushie this is your kind of leader. lol
    Yes.
    Look at the results Lee achieved.

8. @ Colonel Buggy
    When did this habit started where Government Departments went into the area of constructing buildings, while neglecting its mandated core business.
    …with the NHC Headquarters.
    But in the case of the water authority, it is just unfortunate that the object of the government’s largesse is in the business of building large buildings rather than laying pipe.

9. Bushie:

That is an unfair comment. The BWA IS NOT building the building for its headquarters!!! As far as the piece placed on BU said, it is a BOOT project.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lemuel March 23, 2015 at 8:38 AM

Lemuel, is it true that the Chairman of the BWA is accusing people of damaging the new โ€˜smartโ€™ water meters? If these meters were really that smart then they should be able to video-tape the culprits in the act and send it direct to BWA HQ.

Or it is just part of the propaganda pump-priming to build a case for increased rates?
    You can expect water rates to rise by about 20-30% in the coming months to pay for that spanking new building ;BOLT or No Usain the lease payments still have to be met.

11. AT 5.08 PM on CP24 tv in Torornto.

Message scrolling across the screen…….

BARBADOS SET TO REPLACE QUEEN AS TITULAR HEAD OF STATE

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

Wow! You’ve made Freundel’s day!

I’m certain he can now see a pathway that will ensure that he leaves a legacy (Leading Barbados into assuming Republic statehood) that itself leaves Barrow and Adams and all other Prime Ministers in his dust.

Way to go, Mr. PM.

But reflect on the other headlines Barbados garnered today on the World Stage. Most of them are negative.

Portents of things to come as we gallop towards a Stuart led destiny as an impoverished Republic with nary a referendum or discussion with the population in sight?

Did someone say a true true Banana Republic?

13. @ are-we-there-yet,

We need someone versed in “constitutional matters” to help us understand “the process”.

Can the government with a 2 seat majority make Barbados Republic ?

On BU there are very knowledgeable fellas and we need to hear from them.

14. AWTY,

Fumble is trying to change the dialogue. The DLP that he leads is being attacked from all sides daily because of its incompetence.

He has realised that the writing is on the wall, he is the worst PM ever and that he and his administration will go down in history as the worst government ever. This DLP is only government that has consistently told bold faced lies to its people and seemingly does not care.

He said EWB brought independence, OSA changed from the Privy Council to the CCJ and it would seem as if he wants a legacy…..change Barbados into a republic. He knows that OSA wanted a republic and backed out so he knows OSA cannot vote against this.

Is it not ironic that the DLP made a song and dance when OSA was talking republic. The dead king stirred up strife saying that OSA could not take the country into a republic without the say of Barbadians. OSA seemingly got cold feet and backed down after the same dead king criticised the question that was being considered for the referendum.

But Fumble, nothing you do can change the fact that you are and will be the worst PM and led the worst administration which has re-colonised the people…………..Your incompetence and lies have rendered you useless at governing this country and your policies have forced people back years!

Useless ugly moron!

15. old onion bags Avatar

As if the CLICO mess coming affa Carrion fest din enuff ……boggly squared. Now to stick ones head out just to be laffable doan mekk sense… boggly cubed….BTW it din this same Republic talk that spelt D back door for EWB? Why senses seem to gone haywire and drivel quadmire,….a bloke marchfeided to Sire.

16. When I saw the naked fear in Freundel Stuart’s demeanor in Parliament about the list and the implied threatening language in which he couched his comments,it did not take a second to realize that this is a man on the defense.He is riddled with guilt and two developments caused his loss of composure:firstly the devastating results of the Cadres Poll and what it says of his stewardship as a leader of a political party as well as the leader of this once proud country.Secondly,the tsunami coming ashore bringing all the nastiness and coverup that is revealed in the Forensic Audit.Its not only the electorate of Barbados reading these results but the investor class local and foreign.A further downgrade is on the cards but I hope I am wrong for the country’s sake.Freundel Stuart remains out of his depth.I won’t be surprised if in desperation he “hires” Owen Arthur as his deputy and create a cabinet position for him to oversee the Finance portfolio.After all OSA is singing his swan song and appears to have given up his ghost.In short he has nothing to lose having resigned from the BLP and crossed the floor to be with the poor rakey DLP government.Mascoll must be dismayed.

17. I repeat.

Can the government with a 2 seat majority make Barbados a Republic ? Waiting for an expert opinion.

Certainly the BLP opposition could not support the Government after lambasting them day in and day out.

Barbados should become a republic if the majority of Barbadians vote in a referendum.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son March 23, 2015 at 7:31 PM
    โ€œBut Fumble, nothing you do can change the fact that you are and will be the worst PM and led the worst administration which has re-colonised the peopleโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..Your incompetence and lies have rendered you useless at governing this country and your policies have forced people back years!
    Useless ugly moron!โ€

The man is either excessively condescending with an overabundance of hubristic disdain for people or he thinks moronically with his wide bottom and speaks through his loose anus.

Why does this man continue to keep as pals those who always make him look like a bloody clown in public?
    First it was his openly expressed undying love of and loyalty to Leroy Parris who made it abundantly plain he is just one bold-faced crook and there is nothing the law can do about it because he is protected from on high.

Now it is his closet pal Hal Gollop whose advice to the Caricom member states about joining the CCJ is at total variance with the advice the P M is giving to the same member states. Whatโ€™s the position Mr. P M? Is Hal out of order or not? Given his bad relationship with the CCJ is Gollop QC the right person to chair the ERT?

We wonder what would happen to the plan, as prematurely revealed by โ€œFractured BLPโ€, of awarding a knighthood to the Rt. Hon. OSA and to himself Rt. Hon. FJS, QC (Quintessential Clown)?
    Anything to say on this one, Fractured?

19. Hants,

I think the government will need a two/third majority to change the constitution.

20. Another Freundelian disruption- What is a republic? What difference will it make to good governance in Barbados? Will the lives of ordinary Barbadians be better off under the republic?

21. miller,

Did you hear the PM say during the Estimates debate that it was the unions who wanted the NCC matter referred to the ERT and that if this is what the unions wanted who was he to resist?

I find this very troubling because either Fumble is lying or the unions are. I am ashamed that the unions would have chosen the ERT because they knew that at that point the ERT was not properly set up. I dont believe the PM as he is a nasty liar but in either case, both of them sold out poor people.

Lying morons!

22. @ Prodigal Son,

You think ? or you know for a fact that a 2/3 majority is required.

I am looking for facts.

23. @ millertheanunnaki March 23, 2015 at 8:51 PM #

We wonder what would happen to the plan, as prematurely revealed by โ€œFractured BLPโ€, of awarding a knighthood to the Rt. Hon. OSA and to himself Rt. Hon. FJS, QC (Quintessential Clown)?
    Anything to say on this one, Fractured?
    …………………………………………………………………………

Miller,

I do not think that Fumble would have thought ahead that far………..that he would no longer be able to use the “Right Honourable” title or would ever be conferred with a knighthood! He may wait as I am sure Fumble would salivate at thumbing his big nose in our face that he has to be called Sir Fumble! Wow!!!!!!!!

24. St George's Dragon Avatar

Section 49 of the Constitution says that provisions such as the appointment of the Governor General (Section 28), need to be made with a 2/3rds majority of Parliament. If the Bees supported Fumble, he would get it through. My guess is that they wouldn’t – after all, when have they ever supported the Dees on anything.

25. Hants,

Let’s wait on David to find that out! I remember that because the people who wanted Barbados to become a Republic were disappointed that OSA bowed to pressure from the dead king as they said that OSA had the two thirds needed and did not need a vote from Thompson.

26. @ Lemuel
    Bushie:That is an unfair comment. The BWA IS NOT building the building for its headquarters!!!
    Duh!!
    Bushie wonders who is…? ๐Ÿ™‚

Don’t do an ‘AC’ now Lemuel…..Those big projects are only fronts to pass public money among friends and benefactors…What damn new fancy building does BWA need?
    Unfortunately, once elections are won, such projects must be found to facilitate repayments. It is therefore more a case of what project the benefactor is able and willing to take …than it is of what the country needs.

@ Onions
    Froon is grasping at straws with the republic shiite talk…
    What republic what??!!
    They can’t even sort out Four Seasons …..

besides…
    We have already achieved that status ……. the banana republic.

Perhaps the Commonwealth people heard about the thieving Speaker and the CLICO shiite ….and threatened to expel our donkeys…. LOL

27. Bushie you ignoring my question? I labelled you “he who knows everything.”

So reward me.

28. Hants March 23, 2015 at 9:05

If you are looking for a fact, you should be asking that purveyor of TRUTH and FACTS – ac

29. Bush Tea,

Was the 60 million dollars of our NIS contributions invested in a private company called Four Seasons ever recovered? Do you know if it was BDS$60 million or US$60 million?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son March 23, 2015 at 9:12 PM
    โ€œI do not think that Fumble would have thought ahead that farโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..that he would no longer be able to use the โ€œRight Honourableโ€ title or would ever be conferred with a knighthood! He may wait as I am sure Fumble would salivate at thumbing his big nose in our face that he has to be called Sir Fumble! Wow!!!!!!!!โ€

Again, I don’t even think the man whose nose seems to get in the way of his intellectual sight has even contemplated that a move to republican status would make the Senate in its present composition and functioning a redundant institution.

Carrying the existing unelected archaic senate into the age of republicanism would make the so-called educated and decolonized Bajans look like real political monkeys not knowing their colonial elbows from their republican arses.

31. The BWA building has cause the jealousy to set in.I guess there are a lot of folks in the public sector that just can handle the fact that BWA staff will be housed in modern office accommodation. Petty jealousy in the country is really becoming the norm, unfortunately so.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea March 23, 2015 at 9:30 PM
    “We have already achieved that status โ€ฆโ€ฆ. the banana republic.”

You are cracking me up, Bushie. You are seeing right through the farce.
    This whole rotten red herring for a comedy is nothing more than a banana split ice cream cake called the Fumble Delight to feed brass bowl monkeys.

Fumble Nero fiddles with titles and plays political snakes and ladders while the countryโ€™s economy burns and is about to suffer another round of credit rating downgrades making the estimated $1.7 billion deficit the deus ex machina to the collapse of the Bajan economy.

Why does he not also rename Barbados as the Brass Bowl Republic of Junk Bonds headed by a president called AC?

33. Hants March 23, 2015 at 8:39 PM #

โ€œI repeat. Can the government with a 2 seat majority make Barbados a Republic? Waiting for an expert opinion.โ€

As SGD correctly stated, โ€œSection 49 of the Constitution says that provisions such as the appointment of the Governor General (Section 28), need to be made with a 2/3rds majority of Parliament.โ€

But Hants remember the DLP now has a 3 seat majority. With Owen Arthur being an independent, and based on his recent contributions, he will obviously support the government. And even more so, if Stuart promises him to be the first president of Barbados.

34. millertheanunnaki March 23, 2015 at 4:03 PM #

Lemuel, is it true that the Chairman of the BWA is accusing people of damaging the new โ€˜smartโ€™ water meters? If these meters were really that smart then they should be able to video-tape the culprits in the act and send it direct to BWA HQ.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    I have it on good authority that the present smart meters,are not that smart anyway.BWA dropped a clanger again. This damage to meters may be self inflicted. The BWA recently announced that it is seeking a loan to purchase Smart Meters.These are the improved Smart Meters which will allow Natural Gas, BWA and the Electric company meters to be read,electronically, using a line which may soon be added to the utility poles. And exit Meter Readers.

35. Has the PM ever been invited to Buck House? How is he going to break the news to those many British frequent visitors who he loves to entertain at Illaro Court, with smiles wide, that he is going, “to dump the queen.”

36. Buggy
    If you reread what you wrote above about the bwa smart meters you should come to the conclusion that you are RETARDED.

37. @ Hants
    What question was that? …can the government with a 2-seat majority etc?

Lets be serious Hants, it is obvious that you are seeking to assist your party by pushing this red herring, …but those JA could not move Barbados to a Republic even if they had a 30-0 majority….
    mean you have not yet figured out how much “idiot” they all are…?

Shiite man Hants ….
    …they cannot even get an Employment Rights Tribunal to function
    …they cannot get the damn sugar cane crop started
    …they cannot complete a Polyclinic
    …they cannot even control an old miserable Redwoman….

for God’s sake Hants…. those French Connectors (UK) actually came up with a plan to:
    …buy an abandoned hotel for $100M
    …pay millions to knock it down
    …borrow $500M to build it back
    …GIVE it to a foreigner who obviously hates Barbados
    …GIVE that hater 40 years of tax waivers that REAL BAJANS don’t even have..
    …and they actually think that this is good for Barbados…..
    Convert Barbados to a republic shiite!!!

Did you hear Michael Lashley trying to talk about implementing a basic law to increase fines for praedial larceny? …PAINFUL!!!
    He is a lawyer?
    shiite man!!
    NO WAY that those morons could manage to change our constitution and laws as would be required….

Too many Jackasses in town….
    You see the Police commissioner now going after law-abiding gun owners while KNOWN drug dealers operate openly …..with their own section of the Force in their pockets?

Stuart could only be talking about our banana republic status ..and perhaps the fact that Republic Bank now runs things bout here ..thanks to his new friend Arthur….

Bunch of brass bowls….

38. Bushie wrote ” it is obvious that you are seeking to assist your party by pushing this red herring”

No I am not Bushie.

I see no reason why Barbados should not be a Republic but the best time to make that happen is when a country is in a position of economic prosperity and the government has the confidence of most of the citizens.

I hope you enjoying nuff sea baths down Paradise.lol

39. @ Druids
    Steupss
    How could it be a priority for BWA workers to be housed in a hundred million dollar headquarters when 50% of the water that they are pumping is lost due to leaks?

Are you suggesting that the highest priority is for the offices there to be more impressive that Stephen Lashley’s in Sky Mall …or the Corporate Registry in the towers at Warrens…. Is that the game?
    These people don’t do one shiite of any real value and competing to see how affluent their offices can be at taxpayer’s expense….

…also
    The whole smart meter thing is just alotta expensive shiite. Not one damn thing is wrong with the current mechanical meters and meter readers.
    Brass bowls!
    …losing 50% of the water to leaks ANY DAMN HOW…and spending millions of dollars to save a few gallons in possible inaccuracies?

Imagine those Brass Bowls moving to meters that have BATTERIES….?
    What the hell happens in four or five years when these batteries start to die?

@ Colonel Buggy
    The Light and power people just talking (and doing) shiite too… Barbados is just a little 2X2 shiite place…..20 meter readers could probably read all the damn meters each month.
    Would you spend $50M to get rid of 20 meter readers? …and then have to pay huge license fees annually for software etc; hire technical people; maintain another communications network…….

…and what happens when other people who know more about communications than they do, manages to intercept the signals?

Remember when CBC “upgraded” their MCTV at great expense? …only to create multiple entrepreneurs ….. ๐Ÿ™‚

The place is CURSED…..!!!
    Too much damn unrighteousness, deceit and wickedness…….
    Brass bowlery is directly proportional to unrighteousness.

40. @Bush Tea

The BWA’s electricity bill should be the priority by rolling out an alternative energy strategy.

41. T'iefing Silver (or Silva) Avatar
    T’iefing Silver (or Silva)

“The BWA building has cause the jealousy to set in. I guess there are a lot of folks in the public sector that just [can’t] (sic) handle the fact that BWA staff will be housed in modern office accommodation. Petty jealousy in the country is really becoming the norm…”
    What people in Barbados should be concerned about is that Innotech stole $5 million dollars from the BWA at the beginning of the project and have then been paid for import duties and VAT on materials and equipment, which they have a Government waiver for so don’t have to pay.
    That’s something like $15 million dollars stolen from the people.

42. @Hants

Of course you need 2/3 majority.

43. T’iefing Silver
    didn’t see that in the auditor generals recent report. what page is that?

44. @ David
    The BWAโ€™s electricity bill should be the priority by rolling out an alternative energy strategy.
    Yuh think!!!
    …perhaps if Bizzy had been the election funding agency….

@ Silva
    Thatโ€™s something like $15 million dollars stolen from the people.
    …actually more.
    But who really stole this money?
    Is it those who are, by the actions you described, recovering funds ‘loaned’ for elections?
    …or is it the thieving politicians who sold themselves (and us) for 30 pieces of silver?

Why do you think Innotech are ‘allowed’ to get away with such blatant actions?
    Why do you think the Auditor General is routinely ignored?
    Why does the DPP appear to be blind, deaf and blind?

This was a loan to a political party, now being repaid by taxpayers….we accept this as ‘normal’….
    Just like Duprey’s loan from CLICO Barbados was repaid by policy holders…

45. ______How You Doing?_____ Avatar
    ______How You Doing?_____

“The whole smart meter thing is just alotta expensive shiite. Not one damn thing is wrong with the current mechanical meters and meter readers.”

EXCEPT THAT 30,000 METERS DIDNT WORK, THE RESULT BEING THAT THE BWA WAS LOSING MILLIONS AND MILLIONS EACH YEAR BY ONLY CHARGING THE MINIMUM CHARGE.

46. ______How You Doing?_____ Avatar
    ______How You Doing?_____

Bush Tea

Bizzy? Don’t mak me laugh.
    You ever had a chance to read the IONICS water scam reported by the Auditor General?

Leave Bizzy out of this, don’t you see he has his hands full with his propensity to cry at any public function at which he is giving an address?

47. @ Hants
    I see no reason why Barbados should not be a Republic BUT….
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Exactly!!

There is also no reason we should not have an underground rail system like London and New York…..BUT…

There is no reason we should not have an international Airline ….BUT

There is no reason we should not have at least three full public hospitals….BUT

Shiite man Hants….. we don’t even have a damn bank
    ….we don’t have any ownership of “our” electric company
    ….. we don’t have any in “our” telecoms company.
    WE have gone back to the days of MASSA(Y)…..by CHOICE…

We are shiite hounds Hants…. what Republic what?
    …and we have an appropriate leader….