Good to hear the crescendo of calls for Speaker of the House Michael Carrington to step down. Leading the calls is outspoken and widely respected lawyer Andrew Pilgrim QC  a former President of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA). BU assumes he was not head of the BBA when the 78 year old wheel chair bound Griffiths  filed a complaint in the matter now occupying national attention. BU understands there is a concerted effort around town to raise monies demanded by the Court Order from ‘pals’ of Carrington, we have no doubt that he will be bailed out. The political class and buddy system always close ranks.

Cudhere!

Whether he is able to honour the court order or not the Prime Minister, Cabinet colleagues and Government are left with no choice but to ask Carrington to step down as Speaker of the House. It is a moral imperative by a government led by a man who was promoted as Mr. Integrity himself.  Until Carrington steps down no utterance  by any member of the House can be allocated moral weight.

218 responses to “Speaker of the House Michael Carrington MUST Go!”

1. It is common knowledge that the office of PM is not a picnic.Errol Barrow,Tom Adams and Owen Arthur all had a common trait that I believe to be an unknown in the modus operandi of the current office holder and that is those 3 persons worked a 20 hour day.They slept 3 or 4 hours a day.Worked,played and socialized the other 20 or 21,so they were always on top of their game.Further none would have tolerated the current state of affairs in which their management style would be surrendered on the altar of political expediency.They would rather die than to appear to be an inept,visionless,gutless,blind coward like the current actor in that office.I couldn’t do it and I’m no PM.I was just the fearless top dog in my vineyard.No damn dog dare bark with me.

2. @ Gabriel January 18, 2015 at 3:32 PM #

“Can’t find this restaurant on the west coast called Karibu. At the bottom of Holder’s Hill and Paynes Bay roads is a building housing the Roti Den and Sprinkles but no Karibu as stated.”

Perhaps you should look a bit more carefully, because the restaurant is situated a few yards from the bottom of Holder’s Hill on the lefy hand side going towards Bridgetown…… there is a sign….. you can’t miss it.

3. In an effort to play nasty and devious as usual, the Brek up Dem inadvertently published valuable information for Mr Griffiths. To now tell all of BU that this place Karibu is owned by Michael Carrington is great.

Mr Griffiths said in the interview in Barbados Today that if he does not get his money, he would be going after his assets. Mr Griffiths, go after Karibu, Brek up dem says it belongs to Carrington.

By the way, does anyone know when the 28 days will be up?

4. Prodigal Son January 18, 2015 at 10:16 PM #
    And perhaps Carrington , like his buddy, has already transferred ownership into his mother’s name.

5. Perhaps a few of Mikey’s loving elderly, aunties with house and land done paid for will step forward and rescue him.

6. Old Onion Bags, I think you need to apologize to the BU household.

Donville Inniss is reported in today’s Daily Nation has having said all is not well within the BLP because of the recent “reshuffle”, which shows “Mottley is fighting an eternal beast that only she and her colleagues can deal with.” He went on to say, “I must say that there are things I see happening over there that are injurious not just to the BLP, but to politics in this country. Matters before the law courts among Opposition politicians and the fact that Mr. Symmmonds was unceremoniously removed from the position of leader of Opposition business in [the House]…..”

When The Nation asked Inniss, having raised the issue of Opposition members who were before the law courts, he declined to comment on Michael Carrington’s court case.

Donville Inniss you really think Barbadians are stupid? You are more ignorant than I first assumed.

7. Simple Simon January 18, 2015 at 10:41 PM #

Perhaps a few of Mikey’s loving elderly, aunties with house and land done paid for will step forward and rescue him.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    Probably not,as he has already fleeced his poorer relatives out of that land in Jackson where he is building a castle.

8. @ Artaxerxes January 19, 2015 at 9:48 AM #

“When The Nation asked Inniss, having raised the issue of Opposition members who were before the law courts, he declined to comment on Michael Carrington’s court case.

Donville Inniss you really think Barbadians are stupid? You are more ignorant than I first assumed”……………………………………………..

Artaxerxes,

Do not worry with Donville, he is only a little better than Kellman. He is another know it all…………knows everything, speaks on everything except when it comes to the nastiness and corruption in the DLP.

At least MAM had the courage and fortitude to reshuffle her shadow cabinet. The Nation should have asked him why Fumble cannot reshuffle his and whether there is any truth that he Donville dared Fumble to reshuffle!

9. David Ellis has advised the committee of privileges will meet today.

10. There was a reply to Khan’s mouthings in the newspaper by Sodi which said all I wanted to say. The reason why there are few complaints is because Bajans think they’d be wasting their time. They see the attorneys as corrupt, the Bar Association as corrupt, the Disciplinary Committee as corrupt, the Injustice System as corrupt, the Fraud squad as corrupt. They do not have the resources to fight so much corruption. No, we do not trust attorneys! I trust only those I know personally to be trustworthy or those recommended to me by a trusted person. Mr. Khan must be some sort of ostrich! Can somebody please deal with his exposed ass?

11. Really David Ellis? You are not aware of the BA Compensation Fund BU has written about more than once?

Here is the link!

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/compensation-fund-another-screw-up-by-the-barbados-bar-association/

12. Help! ac called me a political pimp! (on another article) I knew that “takes one to know one ” saying was a pile of crap. She sure as heck doesn’t know one! All I ask is for the Speaker of the House on the side of the Government I helped to elect to resign from that esteemed post if he is guilty of financial impropriety. In his position lack of credibility is an issue. I am not self-righteous. My Sunday School class would tell you that I readily use my failings and character flaws to illustrate my life lessons. The students call it – ‘keeping it real’. No high horse for me! That is, in my opinion, the Church’s biggest problem. ac, in his position, I would step aside. ‘Yuh cyan be wrong and strong!’ Or can you? I’ll try not to turn blue in the face.

13. @ Artaxex

Artaxerxes January 19, 2015 at 9:48 AM # Old Onion Bags, I think you need to apologize to the BU household.

snip>
    Submitted by Old Onion Bags:>” Hands down most Barbadians will agree, that the Hon. Donville Inniss is the most perspicacious and hard working of all the other ministers surpassing and relegating even the performance of that of PM Stuart.”

Artaxer………. Seems quite clear to me (what was meant)…. Are you familiar of the phase the best from the WORSE?

14. @ Artaxer

I also fail to understand why all this commotion about helping Carrington find funds to repay Griffiths….I am sure Simpson Motors’ Debbie Simpson would give him $100,000 EZ for the Benz and he can mortgage the resturant for the balance?

that is …if in facto, these are his belongings.

15. Donna your post January 19, 2015 at 11:36 AM # sums it for me. Don’t know many lawyers but the complaints and disgust one hears about them is relentless. Its like everyday someone has a story of a lawyer who drags on a case to “earn” more fees or one who is a downright thief.

My sister is a lawyer she practices in Bermuda and says there are complaints there about attorneys but nowhere at level of Barbados. USA the land of lawyers have thousands of them serving jail sentences for thieving, fraud, messing with client funds, murder, you name it.

I don’t believe Tarexk Khan or the other woman from the bar association who said they work on Saturdays to deal with complaints against lawyers. The word on the street is Carrington is an arrogant so and so and that he does own a restaurant kariboo somewhere on the west coast. Froon must confront him and let him know some home truths. He making the Dems look worse than the Bees with notorious lawyers Hinckson ,Payne and wife beater in their ranks.

16. The same people we have to make policies and regulations are the same ones breaking them. No ethics whatsoever. Disgusting.

17. He didn’t beat his wife. He is alleged only to have cut up the seats of her car.

18. A BMW + a restaurant +few loving, cash poor, but asset rich aunties=perfect solution.

We ALL have a few loving aunties with house and land dun paid for. Dem old ladies was very, very careful, and very modest living.

19. Snippets from the Prime Minister speech at the annual Errol Barrow Memorial Service,who seems to want to place himself along that of the Late Errol Barrow.

” We are going to get through this ,no matter how long the night lasts,dawn has to break…”

I recalled using similar words one night in a dark German forest, just before I fell into a ravine.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………

” With exemplary calm , (Barrow) helped Barbados to navigate those treacherous waters and he kept the country calm and Barbadians understood him , BECAUSE THEY TRUSTED HIM.”

And the operative words are “understood and trusted”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Noting that Barrow was Prime Minister when the global oil crisis started in 1973,Stuart told the gathering, ” He didn’t have all the solutions to all the world’s problems, but he showed leadership
    when leadership was required.”

Next time the Prime Minister makes a speech like this ,he should first consult the Government Met Office to see which direction the wind is blowing, before he spits into the air.

20. ”Simple Simon January 19, 2015 at 8:06 PM # He didn’t beat his wife. He is alleged only to have cut up the seats of her car.”

Have no clue as to who this applies to, but as you all infer, this individual seeks high office, and THIS is the individual that is inferred as being suitable for high, even the highest office???

That said, allegedly he would be in good company. What with Wuk Fuh Wuk’, Quickdraw McGraw, Mummy’s Millions, Proverbial Grasshopper, Man that Know Evating Bout Evating (from the North) and talks a bundle of rot mostly, Plantation Man and Five and Ten.

Quality, real quality.

21. @Needy January 19, 2015 at 1:50 PM #…He making the Dems look worse than the Bees with notorious lawyers Hinckson ,Payne and wife beater in their ranks.”——-

It appears you are getting a start on list of lawyers with issues towards their clients re comment above.

Other than their political affiliations I thought the two named above were comparatively solid re handling client business; the third presumably the recent newly remarried I have no knowledge of his work ethics.

Please enlighten what makes these two “notorious lawyers” apart of course from the normal Bajan male behavior of carousing and womanizing despite being married.

22. Colonel Buggy,

Noting that Barrow was Prime Minister when the global oil crisis started in 1973,Stuart told the gathering, ” He didn’t have all the solutions to all the world’s problems, but he showed leadership
    when leadership was required.”

The DEMS were voted out of Office in the next Elections 5 years later. Very interesting for the PM to draw the Analogy. Very Poignant .

23. 3 years later not 5 ==1976

Typo !

24. Perhaps it is becoming clearer to all why the PM chooses not to speak on matters of national interest.
    It may well be better that we THINK he misunderstands the issues than for him to go and start speaking…..

25. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

David @BU This so-called Prime Minister of Barbados is a Fraud! Crooks, liars and scumbags will look out for each other. No need to worry because he will do whatever it takes to keep things going — his private way — not in the interest of the nation. Has anyone seen such a thing? We are to be the what of the Caribbean? We can tell you what we are not!
    When have you ever seen the speaker of any governmental body anywhere in any other country look to get money from the other side to help with legal fees? All the lawyers that move up the ranks on the back of Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles’ land will meet their downfall between now and early elections.
    As they said before, anyone but the Coalition of Unified Parties (“CUP”). All of the crooks will lose one time and Barbados will be free from these niggers and low places.
    Now they are fighting mad, after blocking the media of Barbados from the CUP, and now we choose to come at them another way.
    Now we see they wanted about $325,000,000 loan, and TAXES up to 17.5% and they blame it on the trash man. But the truth seems to be they wanted the loan to save CLICO and friends. Now we see the loan was not for Barbados, but to hide CLICO wrongdoings. Another cover up by the DLP, once for the BLP of Mia and Owen, and now for CLICO.
    YOU CAN’T FOOL THE IMF!

26. ……stupesss…looka muh crosses…..Wanna watch CBC news last night….talk bout reading wid no gusto, passion even…It was like I know I talkin down to imbeciles …who can’t understand me, Dante nor Horace…Dey say I duz talk too high fuh Dem so.. I pelting scratch grain….chrip chrip ..come ac’s \ Dc swallow your corn…

27. @DeeWord January 20, 2015 at 7:29 AM “What makes these two “notorious lawyers” apart of course from the normal Bajan male behavior of carousing and womanizing despite being married.”

Noooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would any self respecting Bajan outside woman carouse with the little hats?

28. @Crusoe January 20, 2015 at 5:08 AM #
    Wuk Fuh Wuk=I know he.
    Quickdraw McGraw=I know he.
    Mummy’s Millions=I know he.
    Proverbial Grasshopper=I know he.
    Plantation Man=I know he.
    Five and Ten. but who de hell is Five and Ten? Ya lost me here.

29. Now I would like to know who is the monkey nut that said on this blog that Mia and others planned to put up monies to help the Speaker? I just heard on Brass Tacks Mia’s request for him to vacate the chair. Also, that the Opposition will continue to boycott Parliament when ever he attempts to re-sit until this serious matter is resolved.

30. Speaker returns to seat in House of Assembly. Nothing to see here please move along. Business as usual combined with Silence is Golden modus operandi is here to stay. Get used to it. Leaderless govt was reelected so it seems Bajans got the Govt they deserve.

31. Blasted liar. What business as usual what? Did the Opposition not walk out?That is the problem facing fools like you. You all living in denial. Sandiford did that too and we all know what happened. Carrington needs to pay the poor old handicapped man his money and stop making an ass of himself in Parliament

32. BU supports the Opposition walkout of parliament.

What nonsense!

33. The matter is before the Committee of Privileges of Parliamnet which contains Bs and Ds MPs. Until that Committee meets and decides that Carrington is not suited to continue as Speaker then he can continue. We can all get emotional and partisan on this issue but the rules of Parliament must be adhered to.

34. I agree with Blackie Blue. There may be a moral issue which is always subjctive, but legally the Committee of Privileges must decide on such. Ms Mottley must respect the rules of the Parliament. How you want to be PM and still disrespect the rules of Parliament. I am sure that the present Speaker will get a fair hearing and we should let the chips fall wherever they fall

35. Bullshit!

When has the Committee of Privileges ever met and solve anything in Barbados. You all must take us for fools. You guys have give Mia and the BLP she was waiting for. Your move.

36. Some of you can get as procedural as you want but this is about doing what is right. We are sick and tired of this bullshit.

37. When last the Committee of Priv. met and there was a resolve? In the meanwhile poor dilapidated Mr. Griffiths up shit creek. Wanna could be Honorable?

38. Personally I think the Speaker should do the right and honourable thing (pending the decision of the committee of privileges) and vacate the chair of Speaker. Morality and dignity should not have to be forced, negotiated and the subject of legal gymnastics.

39. @Step Hen January 20, 2015 at 12:21 PM “Ms Mottley must respect the rules of the Parliament. How you want to be PM and still disrespect the rules of Parliament.”

Ms. Mottley is right. She is not disrespecting the rules of Parliament. The rules of Parliament permit the opposition to walk out…and Ms. Mottley has led her party colleagues to do just that.

She has not broken any rule.

And I am not now nor have I ever been a member of any political party.

I am neither B nor D.

I have voted for both parties.

I will continue to vote for both parties.

40. @Easy Rider January 20, 2015 at 12:14 PM “Carrington needs to pay the poor old handicapped man his money and stop making an ass of himself in Parliament.”

Michael Carrington needs to obey the court order as soon as possible.

As it is it looks like he is making a fool of himself, his erstwhile client Mr. Griffith, of Parliament, and of we Bajans who elected him…and who will NOT elect him again.

41. If member of the house, Santia Bradshaw was forced/coerced by the DLP members to recuse herself from the Committee of Privileges when they met yesterday (presumably because she brought up the matter in the house) then I would have thought that the Speaker would also be forced/coerced to vacate the chair of Speaker until the decision is rendered.

42. BU now understands why Barbados is in the state it is, morally bankrupt government led by a PM who by his mouthings in the House today has exposed himself to be JA.

43. David
    What, in essence, was the PM’s contribution?

44. @ DeeWord January 20, 2015 at 7:29 AM #

@Needy January 19, 2015 at 1:50 PM #…He making the Dems look worse than the Bees with notorious lawyers Hinckson ,Payne and wife beater in their ranks.”——-

It appears you are getting a start on list of lawyers with issues towards their clients re comment above.

Other than their political affiliations I thought the two named above were comparatively solid re handling client business; the third presumably the recent newly remarried I have no knowledge of his work ethics.

Please enlighten what makes these two “notorious lawyers” ……………………………..

Dee Word,

I cannot speak for George Payne’s work ethics but I can tell you that Mr Hinkson is one lawyer with an impeccable record.

45. Well, well, well.

I could not believe my ears today.

Michael Carrington is wrong and to hear him justifying himself today makes me weep for Barbados. “I am speaking, do not speak over me”……….he shouted to MAM, clearly agitated.

How on earth can Fumble justify the Speaker’s behaviour……….and what did he said it was…monumental nonsense. It is clear that Fumble will do anything to remain as PM and they have closed ranks and will support Carrington’s thieving!

46. The PM is of the view the Speaker is dealing with a private matter and based on what is in the public domain the Speaker, the custodian of the rules of the House (his rules), have not been contravened. He was very firm making the point. These guys are removed from reality.

47. As usual, Fumble was his usual obnoxious self……………”something that was in a newspaper”.

As the story was in the Nation, he does not read the Nation and seeing that they have tried to discredit the Nation so often, there is no need to believe the story. He then he insults our intelligence by saying people calling for Carrington’s resignation is a monumental avoidance of commonsense.

You see why he should stay in a comatose state? No wonder my friend miller is always so scathing in his criticism of the idiot we have as a PM.

Lord when are we going to be free of these morons?

48. lawdie!lawdie!BuParliament has reconvene Lawd!lawd !muh belly

49. ac
    Is there no way to stop Denis Kellman from talking in Parliament? I just tried to listen to him but honest in the end I just gave. When I finish listening to him I overcome with a sense of hopelessness.

50. @Simple Simon January 20, 2015 at 11:57 AM …Would any self respecting Bajan outside woman carouse with the little hats?———————

Don’t mek ma laugh do. Suffice to say the little I saw suggests that women enough carouse with them fellas. Anyhow, the main matter of review here is a serious one so I wouldn’t waste your or my time on this point. Enough of that.

@ Prodigal Son January 20, 2015 at 1:05 PM #…I cannot speak for George Payne’s work ethics but I can tell you that Mr Hinkson is one lawyer with an impeccable record.—————

re MP Hinkson that concurs with what I have heard over the years as well. I thought Needy knew more than what was on the regular grape-vine.

Also never heard anything negative re client matters about MP Payne either. As a personality that’s a whole other matter; he is no sweet bread.

Years back it seemed that he and Hinkson were close pals almost as close as business partners,so their unresolved bassa-bassa chronicled here months back was interesting .