Submitted by Anthony Davis

PRINCIPAL of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles, has defended a decision to name the new sports complex at the university after Jamaican Olympic and world sprint champion Husain BoltUnease In Barbados Over Decision To Name Cave Hill Sports Complex After Usain Bolt

We are true lovers of things/people foreign. Pray tell me, Sir Hilary, where in Barbados was Usain born?

Why isn’t it being named, as suggested, after Jim Wedderburn, Obadale Thompson, Akela Jones, or any other of our outstanding athletes?

Do we always have to degrade our athletes/artists in such a way?

Is it possible that you don’t want to name it after Akela because you are sexist?

The part about Sir Frank Worrell doesn’t hold water, because Sir Frank had adopted Jamaica as his home, and he was working there.

In any case, I do not only voice my strong opposition to naming the complex after Bolt, I will NOT attend any events at all at that venue!

My money has more sense.

You can give a million reasons for naming it after Bolt, but they all smack of you being nothing but a traitor to those Barbadians who gave/are giving their all for our country!

Charity begins at home, Sir Hilary!

179 responses to “Sir Hilary Beckles Names New Sports Facility After Jamaican Usain Bolt”

1. @ Old Onions
    Bajans have NEVER been able to give due respect to their own. We would never see fit to give Oba the respect that he DESERVES as a scholar, gentleman and athlete.
    Bushie would VERY MUCH prefer that his grandson model OBA than BOLT any day…. But that is Bushie’s personal opinion.

Indeed, had Oba been given half as much respect by Bajans, as Jamaicans AND BAJANS gave to Bolt, Bushie can GUARANTEE YOU that he would have gained even better results.

Here is a man who largely succeeded because of the sacrifice of his FAMILY, and who, even as he won that bronze medal, did so under torment from a high level Bajan idiot – also a shiite-talking Cave Hill graduate…

Many young bajan teens could IDENTIFY with Oba….
    Which one can really personally identify with Bolt?

The problem is that NOTHING BAJAN is good enough for us, and when this belief is REINFORCED by the very institution that is there to produce outstanding citizens, we may as well start digging our own graves…. we will need a grave soon anyway…

2. @ Bushie

How are the corporate elites from T&T any less pernicious than the local variety.

The nature of capitalism will have these same T&T companies eaten by bigger fish too. This is the game being played.

Gary Sobers was born in Bim, but the whole world benefited from his cricket.

Do you really expect public assets like stadia, gymnasiums (a) to be profitable, in the purest sense? This never happened anywhere in the world, even where there are massive revenues.

Maybe Bolt should charge Barbados for using his name, royalties. No?

Bushie, stop digging! LOL

3. Wunna peoples don’t realize that MEDIOCRITY is the standard in BIM? Even our athletes accept that as their bar. Until we get athletes that are HUNGRY for GOLD and not settle for bronze we will never excel in that arena. Too many prefer to lower the bar.

Because we boast of our EDUCATION and pat ourselves on the back and look down on the other islanders that does not make us superior. It makes us look like fools blowing nuff hot air. We have to show substance and continuity. Look at the unknown Gold medalist sprinter Kirani James from Grenada and the Javelin thrower Kershorn Walcott from Trinidad and Tobago. They were unknowns with a natural ability and a thirst to win. HARD WORK words unknown to many pays off. Athletics cannot be get GOLD quick scheme. HARD WORK and consistency with the right attitude will win.

Let us face this fact we lack discipline in almost everything we do on this island. Our leaders lack discipline, our teacher lack discipline, our cricket team lack discipline, our drivers lack discipline, how the hell can we excel without discipline?

Bolt represents what can be achieved with discipline and Hard work. He is at the pinnacle of his career why not have him as an inspiration and a motivator?

Bushie like yuh tek too much of dat senna tea, yuh mout running like sick nigga bamsee!

4. While we at it, we hope the university will get some real fast Bajans to put on the tract. The Bajans who could throw away their frames real fast when running from gunfire or teeffing people things. These are the real sprinters who could beat Bolt! LOL

5. I recall very well the aire that existed in the Caribbean when Oba came 3rd …Ato from Trinidad came 2nd and D american won…..(forgot his name) D whole a Bubbadoes was in a frenzy…..Oba was the talk of the town….JAMAICA did not place…Dey did vexx….
    Whey Pachma going wid this ting I don’t know…..We Bajans need to promote we own…Sorry Sir Hillary you got this one wrong!

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea January 3, 2015 at 9:45 AM

Bushie, you are as hot as corned ‘nigga’ pepper today.
    But let us get rationally serious instead of emotionally xenophobic. Not one cent of Sir Hilary’s personal wealth was used to build the monument to Sir Cave.

So who funded the project? If it is the Government of Barbados (Bajan taxpayers) then you have a point and a basis for your objection to its naming. Other than that you will have to blame the financiers for elevating Sir Hilary’s priapic ego to the size of a toothpick on a Hill. Who says Sir Hilary has the final say in the matter? Maybe Ms Jamaican Myrie is calling the shots and deflating every Bajan male ego that dares to raise its xenophobic head above the economic parapet. As you Bushie would agree, Karma can be one black bitch when ‘He’ is ready; even in BBE form.

Let us suppose Sir Hilary was able to secure a few billions of Reparations dollars would you object to his grandiose plan of having a UWI graduate in every household? This certainly would be sufficient reparations to mitigate the ‘back-to-slavery’ effect your beloved DLP has imposed on the poor people of Barbados.

“The evil that men do lives after them; the good is oft interred with their bones”.
    Extracted (with licensed wild abandon) from EWB’s mirror image speech.

7. Fit to purpose.

…It would be easy for the bushman to just surrender and talk shiite just for fun too… but education is too serious and fundamental an issue for levity.

Barbados staked its future on education.
    Barrow bit the bullet and made money a non-issue with education…
    Education is the very process of creating your OWN national future

…and we don’t even grasp the INTENT, far less the methodologies through which a country MUST ensure a successful future.

Unless we are able to identify, isolate, mold and develop the talents of BARBADIANS to their highest possible peak – and as close to, or exceeding global levels, in some niche areas, we will be condemned to being clerks, ass-lickers and lawyers ….. or worse….for ever.

If the University operation at Cave Hill can do no better than to find non-Bajan models after 60 years, then either the model has failed, or we have managed to French Connect (UK) a perfectly good model up…..

We know NOTHING really about Obadele, Sir Gary, Sir Wes, Desmond, Gas Clarke, Gabby, Mc Fingall, Weatherburn, Mango….or even Pacha..
    One wonders why….?
    …..and with an outspoken historian sitting on top of the hill….

PERHAPS, if we bothered to learn about some of the talent that we have been able to produce, … THEN we would learn to respect what we have ….and to BUILD on our future (youth)
    ….rather than be always looking OUTWARDS for benefactors.

Education is about long term National self preservation and survival…when THAT fails, we get what we have now got….

8. Cave Hill Campus in Brief

• The University of the West Indies (UWI) is a regional university serving the English-speaking Caribbean countries of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, The Bahamas, The British Virgin Islands, The Cayman Islands, The Turks & Caicos Islands and Trinidad & Tobago.
    • The University started in Jamaica in October, 1948 as the University College of the West Indies, in a special relationship with the University of London. It was subsequently granted University status in 1962. Colleges of Arts and Science were established at St. Augustine in Trinidad in 1962 and at Cave Hill in Barbados in 1963. The Cave Hill Campus began in 1963 as the College of Arts & Science in temporary quarters at the Deep Water Harbour, Bridgetown. In August, 1967, the College moved to its present site at Cave Hill. The College became a full campus with the establishment of the Faculty of Law in 1970 and the name was changed to the Cave Hill Campus of The University of the West Indies.
    • The main Campus is currently located on 47 acres of land which the UWI holds on long-term lease from the Government of Barbados. The Campus was originally designed to accommodate about 500 students. The present enrolment is approximately 9,000. The physical expansion has taken place in a manner sympathetic to the original architectural design of low-rise buildings, simplicity and orderliness. This, combined with the scenic attractiveness of the site, and the relatively small size of the University community has resulted in an atmosphere of intimacy and friendliness which is immediately felt by visitors to the Campus.
    • In 2008 the Government of Barbados granted an additional 33 acres of land contiguous to the existing campus, which the University is currently in the process of developing. The School for Graduate Studies Teaching Complex and the new FIFA-rated football field are located on this site. With subsequent lease arrangements with Government and a private donation, the land area of the Campus has expanded to approximately 98.12 acres.
    • From its nascence in 1963 as the College of Arts and Science, the Campus has become a leader in tertiary education in the Barbados and a beacon of academic excellence throughout the region as well as internationally. As it celebrates its golden anniversary, Cave Hill reflects with pride on its contribution to regional development and the upliftment of Caribbean people.

9. Bushie

You were right…..no wonder we seeing so many Bajan Made stickers on pon goods in Massy stores, a last desperate attempt to remind Bajans..there still Bajans and not yet converted to citizens of Trindad n Ta’baboes….Gentlemen we losing the war when we cannot see the obvious. Come D nxt ten yrs…D Prime Minister is not going to be a Bajan. Sad part is we will not be able to see the difference.

10. Bushie

Stop digging!

Education, you really mean credentialism!

There is no and will never be a distinctly Bajan future. That is and always has been an impossibility

Well we agree, the model has failed, no question there. We don’t see how the Caribbean people could still be divided into tribes. There has been too much personal integration, no?

But Bushie these are the names we’ve been hearing for decades. People who have already been ‘recognized’. Why do we need to recycle anybody? That is a real sign of ‘anti-development’

We generally agree on the rest. But stop digging!

11. @ Miller
    You may be correct

Everything in Barbados is now financed by outsiders and hence outsiders will call the shots.
    By 2018 we will be celebrating Diwali and by 2020, Sharia law may well be an option here….especially in Husbands….

All our business leaders look and talk funny…and work permits are issued for cooks and everything else except taxi drivers, lawyers and beach bums.

….This in a highly educated country. We like um so…..

What do you want to bet that this facility was built with the money that Sinckler still owes Sir Cave….?

12. Too many bajans are caught up in the inertia of nostalgic day dreaming and generic ideas part of which are fueled and consumedby jealousy,pettiness set ona bed of miscalculated and misguided principles,and a”state of mind”that craves to be isolationist.This article and writer along with accomplice like the “giant” of backward thinking bushite are perfect examples

13. @ Pacha
    You don’t live in Barbados do you…?
    The difference between you and Bushie is that, the Bushman, (rather than leave and go to where talent may be truly valued in search of personal aggrandizement,) see life as a process where true success CAN BE REALIZED even by an unemployed beach bum with polio….or a bushman with a whacker…
    …IF one understands the nature of TRUE success.

Your assertion therefore that “There is no and will never be a distinctly Bajan future. That is and always has been an impossibility” is completely ill conceived and tells Bushie that you DO NOT understand the nature of REAL success.

Barbados CAN be (and was once well positioned TO BE,) a model of success by GLOBAL standards…..perhaps we are too far gone by now, but your fatalism and lack of appreciation of what TRUE success is, is typical of the “educated” among us….and largely responsible for our downfall….

In the ‘old’ days when we were led by street wise men, rather than graduates, we were very much more on the right track…..but perhaps those ‘idiots’ back then relied on “outdated” precepts derived from BBE….

14. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Everyone loves Bush Tea and his foolish pride
    he is happy in an island
    but youth get inspiration global

15. @ Bushie

You don’t have to beat up on Pachamama.

We have no ideas what ‘true success’ means, and as defined by you.

We are only your friend trying to save you from a dead end.

Barbados has always been described as a small, open economy. Need we say more. And it has been so since 1627 circa.

You must be careful not to mistake an exception to the rule, as the rule, or proving the rule. Let’s look to the mean.

16. I have nothing but admiration for you loyal sons and daughters of this small island paradise Barbados.Al yuh tink the world waiting pun wunna.Barbados and Barrow in particular waste we money pun free secondary education and we now got some of the surliest gas station attendants,hotel front dess staff,musty smelling and speaking mini bus attendants,nuff dizonest police,lawyers and a corrupt political class.Mixing boys and girls at secondary level has produced a disrespect of females by males hitherto unknown in Buhbaydus where the men now in the habit like the indo cane cutters from Demerara and Trinidad using chopper pun the females like it going out of style.And we making fuss bout naming a facility after a most celebrated Caribbean brother.

17. @ David
    From its nascence in 1963 as the College of Arts and Science, the Campus has become a leader in tertiary education in the Barbados and a beacon of academic excellence throughout the region as well as internationally.
    and your point is….?

The Government of Barbados provides 100 acres of prime land, pays the cost of any and every Bajan that Sir Cave gets to sign up – even those rejected by the polytechnic…….and it is promoted as “a leader in tertiary education in the (sic) Barbados….

The Government ALSO paid the cost of Bajans enrolled in the other campuses….

In short, Jamaicans (government and individuals) pay for Jamaicans; Trinidadians pay for Trinis; Bajans pay for Bajans.

Regional what? this was just a mutually convenient arrangement…..LOL to avoid duplicating medical facilities ….which each country now has…. 🙂

18. Absolutely disagree with naming Paradise Park the Usain Bolt Stadium in fact Paradise Park sounds better and has an attractive ring to it . Locals, visitors even sports tourism people would be drawn to a Paradise Park. For a Usain Bolt Stadium people will head off to Jamaica where the man born and bred.

Beckles say he propose the name and he had a committee who agreed. He need to rephrase that like everything he does it seems Beckles bullies and intimidates who ever is around him to do what he wants. Sinckler and Donville Inniss are two notable names who have stood up to Becks and told him where to get off.

Some years ago another political jackass started an event to celebrate Reggae music in Barbados. The project lacked authenticity and the idiot who had political connections and shook down the government lost every cent. No one associates Barbados with reggae its a Jamaican genre let them have it. Same thing applies to calypso despite all the trying calypso in a Trinidadian product pure and simple. We copying and we don’t need to.

Spouge was a fantastic original Bajan beat and we throw it away needlessly. Spouge could have taken the world by storm. Copiers and plagiarists don’t get respect people respect originality and Bajans are failing badly in this area.

What Usain Bolt Stadium what. Its bare foolishness and Beckles should know better. Then again we know Beckles has his own agenda which often does not coincide with the national agenda. The place should be named after a Bajan or leff it as Paradise Park end of story.

19. How ya doing Easy…?
    “….but youth get inspiration global”

True dat!

…and if you are happy with your grandchildren modeling al Queda and ISIS (the current charm offensive) or the low pants styled African American youth who are prepared for incarceration from school age
    ….then we are doing great….

Bushie thought that we wanted to encourage more Obadele’s, Sir Gary’s, Barrows, Desmonds, and Mc Fingalls….

Bushie’s bad…. no special efforts needed then…

20. Bushie

What is wrong with you today?

To David above, you made a circular argument.

You talk about ‘mutually convenient’ arrangement. It that not what unity, between a man and a woman, man and your god, is all about? All international arrangements are based on mutual arrangements. Arrangements of convenience, if you will.

In international relations sometimes a country that can’t afford it has to pay for soft power with dollars. And soft power is not always an ingredient easily measured by has influence.

We never knew you were so isolationist.

21. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Africa may develop and youths may want to work and settle in a Continent not a little island. Reparations for repatriation or smaller projects

22. @ Pacha
    “Mutually convenient” arrangements exists between the USA and Russia.
    “Mutually convenient” arrangements exists between even AC and Miller,
    ..but shiite Pacha, THAT IS NOT UNITY…..it is CONVENIENCE…..full stop.

Unity would have meant a single government, a single vision, a single people
    ….you know…. the very thing that was REJECTED with the statement that 10 minus 1 = 0
    precisely because no one wanted a Bajan leader….

REMEMBER? …. or are you a glutton for punishment…. LOL … a stalker?

23. Bushie has been trying for a ‘mutually convenient” arrangement with Islandgal for years now…
    …but um look like Islandguy does read BU too…. 🙂

24. Bushie

No sir!

What you are talking about is unanimity. Not regional unity. Regional unity calls for no such single-mindedness. It will never happen. We suspect that you are setting the bar so high that only your god would be able to achieve it.

A Bajan leader. It would take god and god alone to achieve your ideals. LOL

25. Unanimity shiite!!
    …seem like YOU are the one still asleep today.

Is there unanimity in ANY other country? is there in the USA? Canada with Qubec? UK? where Scotland almost walked?
    steupsss

Bushie is talking about the BASIC AGREEMENT TO MARRY and become ONE…. and you talking shiite bout “live wid”…

This is old stuff, all the work was done in the 1950’s

Established January 1958

Capital – Chaguaramas / Port of Spain
    Prime Minister – Grantley Adams

Expiration – May 31, 1962

Cause of death….
    Bajan in charge…..combined with new mathematics (10-1=0)

wake up and smell the roses nuh….

26. Here is a link to Cave Hill’s Strategic Plan 2012-2013. We can disagree with Sir Hilary but if the Vision/Mission is to develop the region through education then Cave Hill’s delivery model – curriculum and ethos/culture – must resonate locally, regionally and internationally.

27. I liked the name Paradise Park, the Usain Bolt Sports complex not so much! Sir Frank Worrell apart from being a great West Indian was also closely associated with the Mona Campus of the UWI as a warden of the Irvine residence hall. Usain Bolt’s track club may be located at the Mona Campus but can it be said that he is a product or contributor to UWI? I acknowledge that Usain Bolt is a colossus in the world of sport and that Jamaica should honour him but the University should limit the naming of facilities to those of its graduates, academic, administrative and ancillary staff and benefactors of the UWI . Professor Beckles as the new Vice Chancellor of UWI should lobby for the commemoration of the Rt. Excellent Hugh Springer who was the first registrar of the University College of the West Indies which was the precursor of the UWI.

28. @ David

CAVE HILL’s strategic plan????!!!

who gives a ??? about what Sir Cave dictated (literally)

Can you dig up BARBADOS’ Strategic Plan?
    ….now if THAT says the same thing – Bushie concedes….. 🙂

29. Maybe the decision was a good one as PUMA has pounced on RIHANNA after they secured BOLT.

http://www.tmz.com/2014/12/16/rihanna-puma-spokeswoman-usain-bolt/

30. Bushie….you are in fine form this year and on point……so far

31. There comes a time when we have to examine what we are doing and if it is working. BOLT is a Caribbean sportsman who has achieved an excellence which any tertiary entity should be proud to hold up as demonstrating excellence. BOLT and what he represents will do more to motivate future generations than the late Hugh Springer et al, sadly. We cannot continue to d the same thing repeatedly. While doing so we are losing a generation.

32. @ David, sorry I jumped to conclusions.

For the last 40 years I have put up with the “small island Barbados ” jokes,and ribbing by my Jamaican,Trinidadian and Guyanese friends in Toronto.

I have always seen myself as a BARBADIAN born on the island of BARBADOS (independent) which happens to be in the Caribbean /West Indies.

The name BOLT does have value as some Tourists may want to visit the Track.

33. Bushie yuh only rolling bout in yuh mess from the senna tea. Go and Bathe and get some sense for a change!

34. There is now a good chance that BOLT and RIHANNA may be promoting the PUMA brand in Barbados at the BOLT stadium.

35. What are you suggesting Hants? Are to see a fusion of sports, entertainment and the ability of Cave Hill to self-finance using Caribbean icons as the conduit?

36. Therein lies the problem. Neither Bolt nor Marley nor Lara nor Sparrow nor Rihanna motivate anyone. If anything these giants who would excel anywhere under any condition make us lesser mortals feel inadequate and unaccomplished. However the work of people like Springer who concerned themselves with the minutiae of administration, the drudgery of implementing sustainable systems and institutions so that the many thousands or ordinary folks who will never be rich or famous or particularly accomplished can find their place to make their contribution in establishing the kind of civilization that we all want to live, go unheralded. Bolt gives me great momentary pleasure. However he will grow old and he will be beaten someday. We will enjoy the memories of when he was king but that too will fade. Springer (and others) through their work in establishing workers unions, universities, research institutions and a high standard of public behavior gave us a life that was not as Hobbes observed “nasty brutish and short” So while we will not cheer and jump with glee in memory of the Springers of this world I hope wiser heads of righteous character will know and honour that which is really lasting and true.

37. @Ping Pong

Spoken like a true ideologue, given the current state of UWI, Cave Hill, if the Pro Vice dos not find a way to sustain the delivery of education the thing we want may cease to exist. We have already witnessed a dismantling of a part.

38. David ” the ability of Cave Hill to self-finance”

Exactly.

39. University of the WEST INDIES not Barbados. Rebuild our national stadium and call it the Thompson, Blackett, Wedderburn & Brathwaite Stadium.

40. “fineform” sorry ! cannot be engineered from practices methods and ideaologies of madnesse which takes society back to dark ages

41. Perhaps , Sir could have shot two birds with one bolt, by naming the complex after someone Bajan who achieved for the Caribbean, not just Barbados, and Jim Wedderburn would have fitted that bill nicely. Jim Wedderburn, less we forget ,was part of the short lived West Indies Federation, men’s 4×400 relay team, which won a Bronze Medal at the 1960 Olympics in Rome.
    But isn’t it popular these days for Bajans to be dissed in their land of birth,by their own compatriots?. Check with LIME , who has retrenched Bajan Technicians for “mek outs ” from Jamaica and India. Check most heads of Government entities in Barbados, and you will hear a ‘different accent.” Check Bank Beer, the Beer of Barbados , advert on radio and TV, and you will hear all about “BUNKS’ beer.
    But we Bajans like it so.If anyone these days make the error and refer to the Trinidad owned supermarket chain as, Super Centre, he/she is quickly corrected given its current name. Yet we went to the trouble of naming many of our Roundabouts on the ABC Highway after eminent Barbadians, and Bajans, including , the media , appear to be proud to declare that they do not know the roundabouts by their official names. Almost the whole of Barbados do not remember that the name of the supposedly troublesome roundabout where the ABC Highway joins Highway 2A is named after D’arcy Scoot, and continue of course,to refer to it as “Simpson Roundabout.” Almost like the nameless plantation watchman who discovered that Sugar canes can be grown from seeds,but we have no problem in knowing who his manager was.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea

This morning, when de ole man was hiding from death, (I heard de noise of the wind pun de roof shaking James Husbands Solar Heater) and got up frightened and sat down and posted pun dis article.

DE ole man did reasoning that if de harbinger catch me wid me eyes open I gine fight he bad and would got a better chance uh winning dan if I did sleeping.

So to stan awake I turn on de cvntputer as write a stance based on my feeling and pride in being West Indian and bigging up my pan Caribbean identity.

Six hours later de ole man still up realizing that the perspective that you are proposing is a simple, one based on “whu is we own”

What you are offering is nothing “vague” and (conveniently?) adopted like how we are wont to “rally round the (always losing) West Indies cricket team” but a pro-active application of “what is our mirror image” as a Bajan

Roughly 12 hours of the volley that has originated from sensible commentators on both sides of the topic (of course you know that I had to ignore you know who) and weighing stances of the name being an acknowledgement of regional excellence vis a vis your posit of (Sir Cave’s inability to) invest in a stellar Bajan achievement.

Do you know that in some passages of the Holy Book men of God were tasked to destroy a city or a nation utterly, inclusive of children?

Yet, and some might use this as ammunition in a discourse on seeming bias of Our Deity, when His Chosen, led by Moses traversed the desert post Egypt, it would seem that, unlike that dictate to terminate the ungodly and all the seed of the ungodly, with absolute bias, that a new dictum was applied and after 40 years of wandering, some of the “ungodly perished and only those of a certain age were spared and allowed to cross over into the promised land.

What is the connection of the above tangent of thought about the saving/obliteration of children, (my humble rant and rave) and the naming of the Usain facility at Cave Hill ?

Just this.

Various stances and arguments (in hindsight) incredibly seem to be BOTH RIGHT OR BOTH WRONG depending on the perspective of our reasoned thought.

The ole man’s conclusion is that both perspectives have their merit and it would seem to be one of those things that you can’t say one is wrong and the other right

What you have subsequently introduced as one of your several addenda Brother Bush and what I absolutely endorse if that there is no doubt that our education system, post EWB, has “crested” and ensuingly, across the larger ocean of the nation’s growth, development and sense of self, our pride in things national, and more pertinently, the absence of “things national” and ability to generate things excellent, is null and void and we can say that we have failed miserably.

We have clearly lost that impetus to carry us to the shores of talent and superlative quality, simple pride in our own, notwithstanding the vision/mission that all of the whitewashed buildings/sepulchres that abound the 98+ acres on “the Hill with The African Stool” would wish to publish in their Strategic Plans

43. It doesn’t matter the whether it’s gold, silver, or bronze its the accomplishment they attained thru winning. There’s lots of athletes that deserve recognition! But, in reality is should be named after a Bajan athlete who excelled for his/her country.

Thru appreciation, we should continue to support our athletes, and their education because it sets the example that both hard work in school, and on the field results in success.

44. @ Ping Pong
    Boss, you give Bushie hope that all may not be lost…. faint hope, but shiite man, it is like an oasis to a thirsty traveler….

@ Hants …who said…
    There is now a good chance that BOLT and RIHANNA may be promoting the PUMA brand in Barbados at the BOLT stadium.
    Two GLOBAL GIANTS, neither of whom entered the halls of UWI (else they would currently be performing clerical duties for some foreign concern.)

MEANWHILE, after collecting BILLIONS of dollars over the past 50 years, UWI CANNOT FIND a single alumni role model after whom to name a sports track -SOMEONE THAT EXEMPLIFIES THE CRITICAL DEVELOPMENTAL ROLE IT IS COMMISSIONED TO PLAY….and who can INSPIRE young Bajans to emulate their success.

When it ain’t Mandela Park, it is BOLT Stadium

So why was UWI not available to facilitate the development and discovery of Rihanna? or Shontelle (who actually had to DROP OUT in order to succeed)?
    Or Wes, ….Or Desmond? …Or Gabby….

CLEAR AVAILABLE RAW TALENT…….

UWI’s contribution to their development…… NIL

UWI CHILL is just like the BDF Sports program…..
    ….they wait until ordinary citizens develop some home-grown talent, invite the success stories into their ‘funded’ program and exploit them to enhance its own image….

…then discard them when they have been used…..

and it is ONLY in Barbados that such expensive incompetence would be tolerated for so long and by so many…. at least until CASWELL BUPS….

45. David

“Ideologue”?!!! That hurt. I was once advised to not be so open minded that everything fell out. C’est la vie.

46. @Bushie

How do you know the decision by Sir Hilary will now prove to be a seminal moment?

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea

Man you kicking man….if pun Jan 3rd you could be like dis man dis year gine be licking!!

De old grey hairs pun me….. standing up pun edge..

I even feel that AC hairs pun dem … standing pun edge too and dat you may have to carry you wacker and cut dem befo’ dem grow out all ovah de place

48. @Ping Ping

Don’t be offended, perhaps an incorrect choice of word. You remain one of BU’s more heady commenters.

49. @ Pieceuhderock

Brother, Bushie understands your position. That wind this morning sounded like a certain harbinger of whom, those of our vintage are ever wary….
    …all sorts of strange thoughts can cross a fella’s mind at such times….

But what is Sir Cave Hilary’s excuse….? He is yet young, and he is a SIR KNIGHT…

as to the two perspectives…
    Don’t forget, there is a way that SEEMS to be good and right to the human eye, but the end thereof is the way of downgrades and devaluation…. (or something like that 🙂 )

As the Colonel says, when you find that you have no pride in yourself; or your family; or your country; (in that order) then you may as well go to sleep and await our harbinger friend who often comes in the wind…..

’cause you ain’t worth what Paddy shot at…..