Anti-government, Anti-police and ‘Mental Illness’
The recent news conferences by the top brass of the NYPD, though adumbrating the numerous manifestations about the ‘mental illness’ of Ismaaiyl Brinsly, has set a narrative which says that in spite of this mental dysfunction, Brinsly was a born killer. A killer of policemen. This one-dimensional narrative that Black people are simple-minded creatures and cannot be conflicted by the psychiatric dynamics Whites are normally given a pass for, was obvious. This is the type of racism which Welsing wrote about so persuasively, but there would have to be an absence of the breach of filth through the blood-brain barrier to reach this level of understand. (RR)
We are not convinced that modern medicine has any profound understandings about what they call psychiatric illnesses. That medicine can scientifically prove the existence of any mental illness. That there is reliability in diagnosis and treatment between and amongst physicians. That there are tests which can prove the presence of mental illnesses. Based on how the APA (American Psychiatric Association) has constructed the PDR (Physicians Desk Reference) even anxiety or anti-government or anti-police tendencies could, in themselves, be considered as mental illnesses.
What kind of a society would institute such a regime under the guise of helping people and at the same time close down a vast numbers of psychiatric hospitals while turning the jails and prisons into asylums? The streets to be inhabited by hordes needing help to function, beggars and struggling with a range of addictions. To some it may harken back to Josef Mengele, the infamous German medical experimentalist.
These are only but a few of the unproven illnesses that the APA has listed. There is a much longer list of so-called indicators of mental dysfunction. Those could include ADHD, refusal to inject children with dangerous vaccines, opposition to the activities of pharmaceutical companies, refusal to take psychotropic drugs, activists defending the environment, defensive actions against the mistreatment of animals etc.
But the NYPD’s propaganda news conferences had no interests in these matters. The bigwigs of the NYPD sought to downgrade the importance of what normally passes for mental dysfunction to elevate alleged ‘anti-police’ and ‘anti-government’ tendencies as more causal than mental dysfunction, per se. In this they were even confronting their own American Psychiatric Association guidelines and what erroneously passes for science, medicine. They purpose was clear – to further criminalize mental dysfunction by pretending it did not exist in the case of Brinsly and stain peaceful demonstrators with this criminal act.
So we have another significant contradiction between what the practice of the APA is and what the NYPD was trying to do for propaganda purposes. As a result nobody has any compassion whatsoever for Brinsly. Not that his actions should be defended or encouraged, of course not, but compassion not only for the policemen but for their families and the family of Brinsly and indeed Brinsly himself should be the most desired and humane response. Not criminalization or generalization to a movement or Black people.
We have enough problems as things are. What’s more, the APA even finds legal, maybe medical, differences between insanity and mental illness. This layer of added self-proclaimed confusion may have more to do with money than health. Even the criminal justice system that the NYPD is part of mandates pharmaceuticals by force of law. In all this, the diagnosis that racism itself is a psychiatric disease escapes definition.

The US networks have gone to the former Governor Pataki et al to do a PR job. However CNN must be commended for featuring a piece late tonight that addresses how deficient the NYPD has been in training its officers how to confront the mentally ill. These are not bad people, they are people who because of a sickness make bad decisions. The parents of the man who shot the two police officers have been asking the system for help for the last 18 years. Instead we see a Black man and not a man in need of help.
LikeLike
Pingback: Anti-government, Anti-police and ‘Mental Illness’ - Vibe Audio StationVibe Audio Station
Here is a very timely article on the subject, there is much that all can discuss particularly interesting is page e5 and this excerpt which is very relevant as it relates to current events where people e.g. Pataki and Giuliani are blaming black activist politics for the death of the two policemen.
In the 1960s and 1970s, by contrast, many
of the men labeled as violent and mentally ill
were also, it turned out, Black. And, when the
potential assailants of a crime were Black, US
psychiatric and popular culture frequently
blamed “Black culture” or Black activist
politics—not individual, disordered brains—for the
threats such men were imagined to pose
http://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/pdfplus/10.2105/AJPH.2014.302242
LikeLike
Reblogged this on binaryopps.
LikeLike
The main stream media in the U.S.A. will never remind viewers of the role Rudy Giuliani played in a riot some members of the NYPD carried out during the term of Mayor David Dinkins. He addressed a group of off duty police officers and incited them to enter City Hall and confront and terrorize City Council members all the while refering to Mayor Dinkins as a wash room attendant.
During his last term as Mayor he hired the police officer (Bernard Kerik) who was his former driver as police commissioner even though his highest certification at the time was a GED. Kerik ended up being sentenced to 4 years in federal prison on
an assortment of charges.
Giuliani is not a nice man, but you would never know that listening to the main stream media in the U.S.A.
LikeLiked by 2 people
This excerpt from the link Sargeant posted gives an interesting view:
LikeLike
PERHAPS…..
The difference between whites and blacks (and others) goes a bit deeper than skin color….. PERHAPS this explains our seeming inability to come to terms with the issue of racism… despite it being probably THE major contentious issue receiving attention from all quarters in the last century.
Let’s face it…. Whites (generally) are much more highly motivated by the rewards of wealth accumulation; are far more willing to compromise core beliefs when such rewards are at stake; and are MUCH more likely to defend assets to the death than are blacks.
Is there ANY WAY that non-whites could own 80% of Barbados if the country was 95 percent white…and the government 100% white……?
Western societies (and the whole western world) are designed to accommodate to the “white” realities and this can place lifelong stresses and strains on those who cannot adjust to these materialistic priorities.
Perhaps….most black countries are classified as “poor” because the equivalent focus on “competing for wealth at any cost” is not a natural instinct.
Perhaps the problem for blacks is that they need to identify and UNDERSTAND what THIER natural instincts are…and to build on these …rather than trying to adopt the white priorities….
……..PERHAPS…..this is what it would take to change the world for the better.
LikeLiked by 2 people
@Bajan in NY
People have short memories and they forget the role Giuliani paid in undermining Dinkins and even if you chalk it up to politics here is a report from back in the day when the Cops basically rioted and, they even took over a bridge and Giuliani addressed them, now when the protestors do the same Giuliani is saying the mayor shouldn’t have allowed it, hypocrisy thy name is Giuliani.
BTW CNN is reporting another police shooting near Ferguson.
LikeLike
@ Bajan in New York. ..What we have is a very complicit news media bent on shaping the views of the public. The Giuliani excerpt was taken from an appearance on the Fox Network last Sunday where not one time he was asked about the incident of which you mentioned. No relevance maybe, or perhaps it didn’t happen. Let me take you to the infamous Justin Volpe and the bathroom plunger stuck up the rectum of a suspect arrested for a public disturbance. Sean Hannity reserved half of an hour every day of his radio show on WABC 770am and brought members of the Volpe family on air with a daily promulgation of untruths that lasted right up until Mr Volpe pleaded guilty. Did we hear an apology from Sean Hannity or that station? Was there a reprimand for the blatant misuse of public radio? What they need to do is address the fact that for eons Patrick Lynch has made some of the most incendiary remarks that they have so conveniently not picked up on.
LikeLike
I referenced the protestors in my last comment, here is one caveat the earlier protests were comprised of people who I believe were protesting against the NYPD vis vis the black community, when I see the makeup of the recent protestors it reminds me of the 1%. it is incumbent that the protest are not hijacked by those who have other motives.
LikeLike
Saint Louis Police kills another Black man. White cop!
LikeLike
What is ALL this talk about whites and blacks? You guys are watching way too much FOX news and giving their reactionary comments way too much validation by responding to them. What is different this time around is that the protestors in NYC are from ALL races and ALL walks of life. Asian, White Anglo Saxons, Hispanic , African Americans, Multi racial, mongrils, hybrids, etc. That is if you watch another channel other than FOX. FOX only shows Sharpton the “race pimp” and his followers to fuel that racist, hate filled propaganda machine that keeps Hanity’s and Rush’s pockets line with cash.
So some crazy dude put a hit on 2 cops and then killed himself. He went out in a blaze and turned the city upside down. Bonnie and Clive would have done the same thing but they would have put their car in a museum some where and honor them as heros. The cops are not going to let this go down as some crazy dude because they, being men just like us, are “scared out of their minds” since they are sitting ducks on the streets of New York watching their sins catch up with them.
So calm down and like ALL things in the US this too shall pass. Cops will continue to kill and get away with it. We just need to learn how to stay out of their path.
Maybe the best way to protest the hate mongers on FOX news is to ignore them. They are scared out of their wits right now. They are not sleeping well at night because they are witnessing right before their very eyes the evolution of American society and it is going against the norm. They are now being haunted by their own kind and their wickness from generations back, is now catching up with them.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ Sargeant
That recommendation, article, was a good get!
LikeLike
A MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR:
aBajan New Yorker, ac, Acme Elite, Adrian, Adrian Hinds, Adrian Loveridge, Aequitas Et Veritas, akonu, Aligator Crab, Alvin Cummins, Amused, Angela, Anon legal, Anonymous, Answer, ANTHONY DAVIS, Amy L. Beam Ed.D., anonymous, Answer, Anthony, anthony chase, are-we-there-yet? , Artaxerxes, Aussie, Austin, Back in Time Jack, Bag Juice, bahamared, Bajan, bajan boy, Bajan Fuh Real, Bajan in NY, Bajan Yankee, Bajanfuhlife, bajejun, Balance, Barebacked rider, Barnabas Collins, Befuddled !!!.. BELIEVE IT, Benny, Bentley, bernadette, Big, Big Guts Horse, BIG WOOD, BIMBRO, bimjim, Bimlady,Blowing in the wind, bk, BONNEY PEPPA, BOOKWORM, Boy Blue, bradlee, bring it on, Brotherman, browne girl in ah ring, Brown Sugar, Brudah Bim, BullCow, Bus Driver, Bush Tea, Canajan, Candid, Candy Cane Mushrooms on, can’t wait, caribcanadian, Caribbean Vibe Barbados, caribcanadian, Caricom Girl, carol, Carson C. Cadogan, Caswell Franklyn, Charles, Chase, Charles Knighton, charles skeete, CHAUCER, Checkit-Out, Chris Halsall, cin cin, Clone, Coal Pot, coffee, Colonel Buggy, Common Sense is not common, Crabbie, Crusoe…, Curry Soursop, Cuthbert of England, Cyprian La Touche, Cryus the Virus, D Value, Damani, Damian, Darren, David, David (Not BU), De Higher De Monkey Climb, De Hood, Dee Word, dercris, Dee Rollins, dercris, Dennis Johnson, Dick Long brother of Eddie Long, Dick Trace, Dictionary, Dompey, Dr.Mac Donnald, DR. THE HONOURABLE, Drill Sargeant, Dropping in, Due diligence, Duppy Lizard, dwayne, E2, Easy Squeeze, Equal Amongst First, Erskine Miller, Englishman, Enuff, erice, Erskine Miller, Eugene, Exclaimer, Expolice, FamilyB, FearPlay, FED UP, fedup, Fiddler on Roof, Flaco, Fractured BLP, fragile80, Fran, FrankTalk, Funny Nites, Gabberts, Gabriel, Gabriel Tackle, Gear Box, GemGone, George Brathwaite, George Browne, Georgie Porgie, Gingerbread Girl, girl, Give us a break, Green Monkey, Green Silk Suit, Grinding Stone!, guyanese, Hal Austin, Hammilton Hill, Hants, Harry Bynoe, Harry Callahan, Harvest Time, henderson bovell, Historian, HM, Hot Chocolate, iabingy, Ian Bourne, inkwell, Inquiring Housewife, iriebrown, islandgal246, J, james, James Bynoe, Jan Jan, Jay, Jeff Cumberbatch, Jennifer, Jock Baumann, John, john jackson, John Hancock, John Hanson 1781-1782, Johnny B Good, JR, Jug Jug Julian, june boy, Just Asking, Just Commenting, just curious, Just looking on, Justin Robinson, Kammie, Kammie Holder, Karl Watson, kent taylor, Kevin, Kiki, Konacat, Konkieman, Knight With Long Knives, iabingy, Lacostic, lawson, Legaleyes, Lemuel, leo, lighthouse, limitone, Lila Harris, Lisalight, Listening, littleboy, Living in Barbados, LOOK, Mahogany Coconut Think Tank, makka, Mark Etheridge, Mark Fenty, Marlo Ray, marvin, mash up and buy back, memyselfandi, Michael Saunders, micro mock engineer, Migs, millertheanunnaki, Minister Donville Inniss, MistaBlack, Moneybrain, Mr Watson Parkinson, Multitude, Napolean Bonaparte, nanci, Negroman, nellie, Never tell, NEW BLOOD, Nia, Nire, Nomen Nescio, Observing(…), Nobel Soothsayer, Nostradamus, notesfromthemargin, obzonky, Oilman, old man river, Old Onions Bag, OMG, Outsider. Oxford in May, Pachamama, Paradox, Pat, Patenham, paul, Paul Barnes, Pearl, peltdownman, Perlixin Pearlie, Prickle Neutron Bomb, PiedPiper, Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!, ping pong, Pinkie, pirate, Polly wants a Pit bull, Pompasettin Pearlie, POOR Sandbox, Posh, Postage Paid, Plantation Deeds, Plato’s Pony, plondon, Political watcher, Pretty Blue Eyes, Prodigal Son, Rambling Rose, Ramgolal, Ras, Rastafari Visions, Rational Girl wid sword out , Read, Ready Done, Real, Redman, Rendered Assistance, Retired teacher, Rev Up the Wheelchair, Richard The Lion Heart, Right vs Wrong, roaming, Robert Ross, Rock Star, ROK, Riots in de land!!!, river, roverp, Rosemary Parkinson, Ron, Royalrumble, rubes, Ruffin, Rufus, Rumpelstiltskin, Ryan Thorpe, Sampoochie, Sandra Husbands, Sankofa, Sapadillo, Sargeant, sashquash, Scout, Senator Irene Sandifor-Garner, sensible man, SG, Sid Boyce, Simple Simon, sightful, Silly thee, Sittin Bull is Back, Smooth Chocolate, Snipes, St. Georges Dragon, Stew Peas, Straight talk,SuckaBubby, Sundown Jackie Brown, Sunshine Sunny Shine, sweet pea, t, TALKAHOLIC, Technition, Tell me more, Tell me Why, Terence Blackett, Terry, The Bajan Lounge, The Dummy @ Dumo, The truth, TheWatcher, thinker, Thomas Sankara, Times Squared, Titmus, titus, To The Point, tompee, Thistle, Tired, townman, Triangle Bangle, Truly amazing, truthinit, Truthman Burton, Tudor, Twistorian, Udo Xavier, Undertaker, Versuvius, Victor, Warrior, Watcher, watching, watchman, Well Well, Walter Blackman, Waiting, wella, We Willy Winkle, WendyEdward, WFM, Wily Coyote, William Skinner, Winston Devonish, Winter Wonderland, Wishing in Vain, Whistling Duck, xenophobe chick, Xworker Tb, Yagga Rowe, Yardbroom, Zack, Zandra, Zeus, Zoe, !, 2-ESS and Carl “Sniper Mout” Moore
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ BAF
We thought you were not part of this religious thing.
How yuh doing!
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ BAFBFP December 24, 2014 at 11:07 AM #
Thank you, much appreciated, and same to you and your family.
Your list is the perfect answer to the guy/gal who said only 5 people are posting.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Bafbfp
Merry Christmas to you too Bafbfp, and all the bloggers here on BU.
I hope you will have a happy holiday season and go easy on all the goodies. I, myself am having vegetarian dinner tomorrow.
by the way Bafbfp, your nemesis passed this March gone.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Big Up BafP
Lawson you should change your lyrics and sing along with BU
Dub is of the essence
People only venting here and not fighting and killing each other in reality
It Cool
LikeLike
Bush Tea
Black thing
African roots
Go there
LikeLike
TO THE ENTIRETY OF THE BU FAMILY:Where possible have a very merry Christmas. To my boy baffy I am convinced that you mad as Sh.te but yours is a most endearing method. MERRY CHRISTMAS …If at all possible.
LikeLike
@Pat
But Sargeant still kicking … Who dis person is ..? Surely not Moneybrain .. ha ha
LikeLike
Re: Burning Question
Still Cooking (nearly done)
You don’t need a burning bush to recognise an epiphany that the Root of Spirituality is the Root of Man
LikeLike
@BAFBFP
Here I was wondering who your nemesis is/was never knowing that I was at the top of your list, I thought it was Bimbro or one of those people whom we haven’t heard from for a long time, since you had also been absent for a while I was ready to complement you for finally earning that forex that you was always going on about. Ah mean I would expect to hear that sort of thing from Bushie but he seemed to have mellowed a bit something about horning OOB wid some sea cat woman, now I feel like a jilted lover……. always the last to know.
Any way to be forewarned is to be forearmed so I will be bringing my food taster along with me the next time we have a meal or libation of any kind.
Pat could you let us know the name of this “nemesis”, we don’t want to call in Sherlock Holmes to solve this mystery.
Merry Xmas and a Happy New year to you (BAFBFP) and your Sunday go to meeting café au lait woman ……. I think.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Florida police department rocked — again — by officers’ alleged Klan membership
DON TERRY, SOUTHERN POVERTY LAW CENTER
Share 112 45 8
This article was originally published by The Southern Poverty Law Center.
In the winter of 2009, a young patrolman named James W. Elkins was forced to resign from the 12-officer Fruitland Park, Florida police department when it was discovered he was a recruiter for and high-ranking member of the Ku Klux Klan.
After Elkins turned in his badge, the police chief at the time, J.M. Isom, declared, “I can guarantee you that none of my police officers who work here are members of the KKK.”
“That was completely wrong,” Elkins told Hatewatch today. “They knew I wasn’t the only one then. They just swept it under the rug. I hope they don’t get away with doing it again.”
Over the weekend, the Fruitland Park police department’s deputy chief, David Borst, 49, resigned and another longtime department veteran, Cpl. George Hunnewell, was fired because of their alleged membership in the same group Elkins belonged, the United Northern and Southern Knights of the Ku Klux Klan.
American law Enforcement appears to be infested with KKK members.
LikeLiked by 1 person
A Missouri chapter of the Ku Klux Klan is planning a fundraiser this weekend for the Ferguson police officer who shot and killed Michael Brown, an unarmed black teen.
“All money will go to the cop who did his job against the Negro criminal,” according to New Empire Knights of the KKK.
** KKK members= White cop
LikeLike
No police screening for KKK, hate group membership, Florida case shows
Police department fired two cops for reported KKK involvement, highlighting lack of national legislation on issue
July 15, 2014 2:30PM ET
by Renee Lewis
There is no national requirement that aspiring police officers be screened for hate group membership, a fact brought to light by a recent incident involving Florida police officers who were reportedly linked to the Ku Klux Klan, according to a confidential FBI report.
On Saturday, Florida’s Fruitland Park Police Chief Terry Isaacs was given a confidential FBI report containing allegations that a deputy chief and a former police officer had links to the KKK, according to the Orlando Sentinel.
The report led to the resignation of Deputy Chief David Borst and the dismissal of officer George Hunnewell. Isaacs would not confirm the report specified the group as the KKK, describing it instead as a “subversive organization” because he was unauthorized to release details.
“It’s unfortunately a very widespread phenomenon across the United States,” said Michael Novick, of the Los Angeles chapter of Anti-Racist Action (ARA). “You’d think there would be laws against this stuff, but there aren’t. There’s no law against being in the KKK and being an officer — though clearly it indicates a bias.”
Hiring is a decision left to each local police department, and in Florida there is no state-mandated screening process, Gretl Plessinger, a spokeswoman for the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, said.
Although the KKK is considered a hate group by the U.S. government, it is not illegal to be a member of the group, and most police departments do not screen for such membership anyway, said Heidi Beirich, director of the Southern Poverty Law Center’s Intelligence Project, which tracks hate groups.
LikeLike
Police Union KKK , ISIS Police on the streets , The want a reasons to get more Military gear, Standing Army , Mayor need to Fire who not doing their work , If the Union go on strike Fire them also.
They need diversity training for they are so RAC”ISIS”T , if they need that , then they in the wrong job,
LikeLike
Compilation by Paul Wolf with contributions from Robert Boyle, Bob Brown, Tom Burghardt, Noam Chomsky, Ward Churchill, Kathleen Cleaver, Bruce Ellison, Cynthia McKinney, Nkechi Taifa, Laura Whitehorn, Nicholas Wilson, and Howard Zinn.The Ku Klux Klan
During the 1960’s, the FBI’s role was not to protect civil rights workers, but rather, through the use of informants, the Bureau actively assisted the Ku Klux Klan in their campaign of racist murder and terror.
Church Committee hearings and internal FBI documents revealed that more than one quarter of all active Klan members during the period were FBI agents or informants. 44 However, Bureau intelligence “assets” were neither neutral observers nor objective investigators, but active participants in beatings, bombings and murders that claimed the lives of some 50 civil rights activists by 1964. 44
Bureau spies were elected to top leadership posts in at least half of all Klan units. 45 Needless to say, the informants gained positions of organizational trust on the basis of promoting the Klan’s fascist agenda. Incitement to violence and participation in terrorist acts would only confirm the infiltrator’s loyalty and commitment.
Unlike slick Hollywood popularizations of the period, such as Alan Parker’s film, “Mississippi Burning,” the FBI was instrumental in building the Ku Klux Klan in the South,
“…setting up dozens of Klaverns, sometimes being leaders and public spokespersons. Gary Rowe, an FBI informant, was involved in the Klan killing of Viola Liuzzo, a civil rights worker. He claimed that he had to fire shots at her rather than ‘blow his cover.’ One FBI agent, speaking at a rally organized by the Klavern he led, proclaimed to his followers, ‘We will restore white rights if we have to kill every negro to do it.'” 46
Throughout its history, the Klan has had a contradictory relationship with the national government: as a defender of white privilege and the patriarchal status quo, and as an implicit threat, however provisional, to federal power. Depending on political conditions in society as a whole, vigilante terror can be supplemental to official violence, or kept on the proverbial shortleash. 47 As a surrogate army in the field of terror against official enemies, the Klan enjoys wide latitude. But when it moves into an oppositional mode and attacks key institutions of national power, Klan paramilitarism – but not its overt white supremacist ideology – is treated as an imminent threat to the social order, suppressed, but never destroyed, unlike other COINTELPRO target groups.
These roles are not mutually exclusive. As anti-racist researcher Michael Novick warns: “The KKK and its successor and fraternal organizations are deeply rooted in the actual white supremacist power relations of US society. They exist as a supplement to the armed power of the state, available to be used when the rulers and the state find it necessary.”
LikeLiked by 1 person
Men in Blue out in full force to represent!
LikeLike
xfiles your commentary is right on target and provides valuable information to expose the truth of an ailing justice system a basket laden with deception and unbridel racial practices which continues to eat away at the core principals that are necessary to protect and serve
LikeLike
How come it is so clear to you, the post by xflies. But when we implicate Obama in these things you hesitate. Even to overlay these very policies internationally are problematic to some.
LikeLike
Some of the NYPD officers carrying a joke too far turning their backs on the Mayor.
LikeLike
An overview of what transpired recently with the death of the two police officers was predictable as anguish and undeniable grief spilled on the streets of america cities giving a right to seek justice however rightly or wrongly administered …induced partly by a corrupt prosecutor with signifcant influence to deceive and dismantle the jury system
LikeLike
pacha the politics of an individual and politics of selfinterest are not the same.There is a distinct separation of the two.indiviual politics is laid out and formulated with a passion of emotionalism without having being put to test.
The politics of selfinterest is closed and practiced with a given outcome .obama has been living in both. worlds simultaneously walking a tight rope with little or no room to compromise
LikeLike
Lest we forget.
http://atlantablackstar.com/2014/12/26/alabama-senator-hank-sanders-schools-charles-barkley-slavery/
LikeLike
Another airplane missing!
LikeLike
LikeLike