Two New York Police Officers Murdered

Submitted by CARIBBEAN GUYANA INSTITUTE FOR DEMOCRACY (CGID)

BROOKLYN: The New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) joins New York City’s elected and community leaders in condemning the assassinations of NYPD Officers Wenjin Liu and Rafael Ramos, who were killed while on duty in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn last Saturday. This barbaric act has no place in our society and is antithetical to goals and values of the current movement for justice in our City.

CGID morns the loss of these heroes and expresses sincere condolences to the family and friends of officers Liu and Ramos, and to the NYPD.

We join our elected leaders in appealing for tranquillity, as well as a suspension of all forms of protest against the NYPD; until our heroes have been laid to rest. Currently, large portions of our City are seething with anger. Consequently, all of us as stakeholders have a responsibility to tone down our rhetoric and passions.

The attacks on Mayor Bill deBlasio by the President of NYPD’s Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association, Pat Lynch and others, are odious. Such unsavoury and divisive rhetoric dishonours the memory of officers Liu and Ramos and desecrates this period of bereavement. It should therefore be repudiated. The Mayor deserves our commendation for demanding equal treatment for all New Yorkers. It is a constitutionally enshrined right which the PBA must also respect and not diminish.

Police Commissioner Bill Bratton can help to calm tensions between the community and police by implementing urgent measures to ensure the law is enforced equitably in all communities. This will assure citizens that their voices have been heard. The Commissioner must also guarantee the efficacy of extant provisions in the law to address allegations of Police abuse and misconduct, and urge that they be utilized fearlessly when appropriate.

Moreover, all citizens; especially our young people, must be admonished of their lawful obligation to obey and respect Police officers; whose commission is to keep our streets and communities safe and to protect life and property. Police officers are human beings with valuable lives, families and love ones just like all of us. Hence, they deserve our respect and gratitude. Most important, they have a right to return safely to their love ones at the end of their tour each day.

120 comments

• Behind every successful man is a woman telling him he is wrong…..please feel free to interchange woman with Bush Tea. I am sorry that as this year is drawing to an end I have made no headway in trying to bring you and others to at least one self doubt and say you know maybe all whites are not out to get me. Hopefully you have the a great Christmas

• A very happy and enjoyable Christmas to you and yours too Lawson.

…YOU made no headway…!!?
    Boss…
    Please do not underestimate your impact here on BU…. Bushie has been trying now since the beginning of BU to deal with the lotta brass bowl blacks ’bout bubados …… with ZILCH success so far… but there is always 2015….

Listen….
    While we all KNOW that not all whites are out to get blacks, Bushie still maintains that it was a tragic tactical error made back in 1767 (or thereabouts), when that slave fella called “Moutha” Blackman convinced his friends and family that “all whites are not bad people”.

Had he instead (falsely) affirmed that “all whites are out to use and exploit our asses – so do not trust a single fella” the consequences for bajan brass bowls in 2015 would have been MUCH brighter…..

…shiite man, at the VERY least we would not be looking to buy an abandoned hotel for $100M, pay to demolish it: BORROW $500m to build um back and then GIVE it to a white fellow from over and away….
    ….or to impose a shiite tax on black people who scrunted to own a property ….so we can give the money to a white fellow who already own almost half of the damn place…
    …or to borrow $2B more to waste just like we wasted the last $4B we borrowed….

you think um easy bout here nuh….?

Man drink a sorrel pon Bushie do!!!

Liked by 1 person

• “COPS SHUN MAYOR AT FUNERAL: NYPD, police from across U.S. turn their backs on de Blasio as he eulogizes Officer Rafael Ramos”— NY Daily News Headline.

When does the discipline and respect for authority that is associated with ‘quasi’ military organizations like the Police Dept. kick-in and the NYPD realize that this type of public behavior is unacceptable.

These supposedly reasonable and just men and women are showing utter disregard for the authority of the Mayor.

How then is it surprising that there is such rancor and disrespect by persons of color with their day-to-day interface with police officers, considering the underlying years of distrust.

We do tell our kids to respect and obey police officers but don’t they also have to be respectful to their authority figures.

Deepest condolences to the families of Officers Ramos and Liu.

Liked by 1 person

• YUP…
    These are the same COPS who shoot young blacks for failure to respect THEIR uniform, position and authority….
    We ALWAYS have to judge a tree by its fruit … and it is not difficult to judge this NYPD tree…

• Don’t know what we are missing but they are behaving like some spoilt children

#NYPDidiots

On 27 December 2014 at 22:13, Barbados Underground wrote:

• Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

To pull
    together
    is to avoid
    being
    pulled
    apart

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Dee Word, Bush Tea and Davi [BU]

You gents surprise me.

These few 100 NYPD cops in blue turning their backs ARE NOT ALL, contrary to popular belief, part of the intelligencia or New York s finest brains.

Let me dispel the CSI augmented myth that US policemen are all bright sharp thinkers.

They are quite stupid and Hollywood has contributed to us believing that they are Einsteins.

Pat Lynch has riled up these few idiots in blue and they are going to act like this, turning their back on de Blasio, until someone else induces another knee jerk reaction

Answer me this, why would officers, attending the funeral of someone that they are purportedly showing their respect for, cheapen that overarching issue with this puerile act?

The Illiterati of our world

• pIECE

IS DEBLASIO GOD?

WHY CANT THE COPS TURN THEIR BACKS ON HIM?
    EVERYDAY PEOPLE TURN THEIR BACKS ON THE LORD JESUS WHO DIED FOR THEIR SINS. ah lie?

• FELLAS

TELL ME WHY IS IT THAT THE NATION OR BARBADOS TODAY CANT SEEM TO GET THE PUBLIC TO BLOG IN RESPONSE TO THEIR DAILY ARTICLES?

CAN ANY ONE SAY?

• Breaking news

Another Malaysian based Airline is reporting a missing plane, what’s going on in that region?

• the fall out and repercussions felt from the lack of justice deserved for eric garner and michael browne is gut wrenching. and undeserving for all the families involved,
    With many asking questions and seeking resolution by peaceful protest for what now has evolved into police force at odds with its leadership the evedience boldly states that the blood stained writing on the wall requires that the actions by the few would affect the actions of many and its is time for ALL to follow the Law or be subjected to the laws of lawlessness,

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Georgie Porgie

Regarding your first question I am not saying that he the mayor is infallible and you can’t turn your back on him, no siree ” I am however saying that the reason that the y have so done, more so the mechanism, displays how like a mob they are; so easily swayable

Regarding your second query about people commenting on the Nation.

First and foremost, the Nation censors everything that is submitted, whether it is controversial or more pertinently contra Nation views which equates to contra BLP and/or Vivianne Gittens.

Secondly, all submissions are tracked to the submitter so there is no anonymity whereas, for the time being, or until Adriel Nitwit Brathwaite the current Attorney General or Dale Marshall, the former and future Attorney General are able to force WordPress to shut down BU, or get permission to trace us to our homes, we are somewhat safe to “publish-it” here

Finally, this is really the final bastion of free speech which, unlike Facebook affords us the luxury to mouth off until Adriel, Dale, Mia come or Darwin Dottin comes back in 2018.

Enjoy it while it lasts and pray that the Government of Bulbados does not get the People’s Republic of China to send a hacker team under a bilateral aid agreement to hack the site and your laptop and allow them to test the Computer Information bill on us ole fogeys

• Police Commissioner Bill Bratton’s Eulogy excerpt:

…”Maybe that’s the reason for the struggle we’re now in–as a city, as a nation. 
Maybe it’s because we’ve ALL come to see only what we represent, instead of who we are.

We don’t SEE each other.

The police, the people who are angry at the police, the people who support us but want us to be better, even a madman who assassinated two men because all he could see was two uniforms, even though they were so much more.

We don’t SEE each other. If we can…

If we can learn to SEE each other… to see that our cops are people like Rafael Ramos and Wenjian Liu, to see that our communities are filled with people just like them too.

If we can learn to SEE each other, then WHEN we see each other, we’ll heal.

We’ll heal as a Department.
 We’ll heal as a city.
 We’ll heal as a country.”—-

There are many different ways to extoll Aretha’s vocalized message but it always come back to : R-E-S-P-E-C-T .

Indeed when will we SEE.

Liked by 1 person

• LIVE TV DISCUSSION ON NYPD & COMMUNITY RELATIONS; POLICE AND JUSTICE REFORMS ON CARIBBEAN CLASSROON: ON QPTV 8:00 P.M.

Tune in @ 8:00 PM, to QPTV channel 34 in Queens on Time Warner and Verizon Fios. Others check guide. LIVE stream on http://www.youstream.tv/caribbeanClassroom. Viewers can participate by calling on air at 718-460-9802.

Panelists are: Rickford Burke, President – Caribbean Guyana Institute of Democracy (CGID), Wanda Best DeVeaux CEO of Citizens Against Recidivism, Brother A U of I Love My Life, Richard Greene,CEO of Crown Heights Youth Collective. John Crow is the Producer & Host.

• re If the NYPD treats the mayor this bad in public, imagine what they do to black men when no one…

Really David?
    that sentence/argument is a clear NON SECQUITUR

• @GP

The statement was not crafted by BU.

• OK SIR

• @ Georgie…Really David? that sentence/argument is a clear NON SECQUITUR——

How illogical and non-sequitur is it really.

If these very reasonable men and women can show this level of utter disregard for the authority of the Mayor (by turning their backs when he speaks) and display IN UNIFORM this unprofessional, disrespectful, ill-disciplined behavior that is unbecoming of their status in society what will they do in their day-to-day interactions to show how decorous and respectful they are?

Let me say it clearly: I appreciate, like, honor and respect police officers in their capacity as protectors of our society; always have. But this level of ill-discipline in the uniformed services is unacceptable.

This is union posturing over upcoming contracts. And thus unseemly.

No upright, law abiding black or pink citizen wants to hurt police officers and they damn well know that. Just as every police officer is not a Volpe (who sadistically shoved a plunger handle in a man’s rear, or any of the other cretin who have abused their power) so all black people are not perps or disturbed assassins.

Why are they continuing to react like this over inarticulate remarks from the Mayor and because he questioned some of their tactics during his mayoral campaign.

This behavior confirms clearly that police officers can act as stupidly as the average idiots in society.

The problem is that we expect them to be lucid and adept because their and our lives may depend on it.

Read that their commissioner says that they basically have no damn RESPECT.

So yes, the statement has a strong logical progression from public ill-discipline to private ill-discipline!

Doesn’t have to be confined to interactions with black people

• I am going to make an assumption that among those who gave the “Bronx cheer” to the Mayor were some newly minted graduates of the Academy. If these people haven’t even hit the streets and they are acting this way I can only imagine what it will be like after a few years’ of their indoctrination by New York’s finest.
    The Police don’t like oversight, they don’t like civilian authority, they can’t stand criticism and in their eyes everything they do is justified. We are constantly being reminded how tough the job is and how when the need for assistance arises that they are the ones who are called, its as if they were forced into the job. The DA who was in charge of the Grand Jury that cleared the officer in the Eric Garner Case is being courted by the Republicans to run for a seat vacated by one of their crooked representatives who resigned two months after being re-elected after pleading guilty to defrauding the Gov’t.

By their fruits you will know them.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s