Submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy
Late Dason Peters with his one year-old son Dylan

The Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) expresses shock at the horrific double–murder of thirty-three year-old Dason Peters and his one-year old son Dylan Peters. Both were shot to death on Monday by New York City Police officer Rosette Samuel, forty-three, the mother of the baby who subsequently shot and killed herself. Dason Peters was born in Guyana and Samuel in St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The institute expresses its deepest sympathies to both families.

CGID officials met in Brooklyn Tuesday with Peters’ parents and were dismayed to learn that they had not received official notification from the NYPD of their son’s death or the location of his remains. “The Peters family is eagerly following developments in the press which is their only source of information. This is unfortunate. No grieving family should endure such disrespect. This must be corrected by NYPD immediately” said CGID President Rickford Burke in a statement.

Following representations to the Police Commissioner’s office the family was immediately contacted and a meeting arranged.

Dason Peters was packed and booked to travel to his native Guyana on the said day he was murdered by his son’s mother. It is believed that she was distraught over him traveling to Guyana alone. Samuel reportedly left two suicide notes indicating that she had given up on life and apologizing for her actions.

Mr. Peters lived with his parents Colburn and Rosamund Peters three blocks away from Samuel in East Flatbush, Brooklyn. He had gone there early Monday morning to pick his son up to take him swimming before departing for Guyana. While there he and son were brutally gunned down by Samuel, who then turned her service weapon – a 9 mm Glock, on herself.  Mr. Peters sustained two bullet wounds; one each to the chest and arm. Both son and mother were shot once in the chest.

Mr. Peters’ parents described him as humble, generous, caring and loving. His mother said that he was her best-friend and her entire world. She emphasized that he delighted in assisting his family and friends back home.

Dason Peters migrated to New York from Guyana in 1995 at age fifteen with his mother and two other siblings to reunite with his dad who came prior.  He attended Erasmus High school and Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC). He gained employment with the New York City Transit Authority in 2001 where he has worked ever since and was a supervisor at the time of his death.

The institute urges individuals to without fear of embarrassment or loss of standing in society, seek urgent professional help whenever confronted by the challenges of life that lead to a feeling of hopelessness, insecurity and despondence.    Immediate treatment of depressive feelings can avoid the escalation of such feelings to extreme acts of violence.

1. They, the NYPD, do tend to act callous at times, that’s why they are sued so often. Very sad situation for all involved.

2. @Well Well

How have you been able to implicate the NYPD in this matter? Isn’t this a domestic matter where one of the parties happen to be a NYPD officer.

3. @ Well Well

You are apparently Bajan but a New York resident. Brooklyn in New York has a large population of Bajans, guess you’re one of them. The NYPD may at times be callous and are often sued but the incident focused is clearly domestic.

No, I’m not a New Yorker and will not meet you after hours. Just adding some commedy. I’m not totally militant, capable of producing laughter.

4. David and Look…..I was referring to the way they treated the death of the child’s father in not giving any information to his mother and “disappearing” the body, so his mother was clueless as to what was happening, that is deemed callous, why they might now have to not only apologize, but also have a lot of explaining to do about the mental tsate of mind of the child’s mother, their employee. NYPD has lots of psychologists on staff, and superiors often time knows of any problems employees may be facing mentally, eg postpartum depression, etc…………….lots of different ramifications as you would know LOOK.

5. That would be the state of mind of the child’s mother………..NYPD did not notify the next of kin, something that should have been done before we all knew about the whole sad affair………..I have been following since it broke.

Look…………..old home town NY.

6. @Well, Well

What you outlined is exactly how it would have occurred, if it happened here. Domestic issue or not, a violent death(s) like those are reported to the family by the police, who most often take along psychologist, or someone trained to deal with ‘death and dying’, to break the news and comfort the family.

On another issue, I get a kick out of the info you have on everyone and everything in Barbados. You must be related to Burton Hinds…..

7. “Rosette Samuel, forty-three a New York City Police officer”
    Middle age new mother working in a shift work job

“Mr. Peters lived with his parents”
    Living alone with an infant

“Mr. Peters lived with his parents”
    Living apart from the one who impregnated her.

“Dason Peters was packed and booked to travel to his native Guyana”
    The one who impregnated her and does not live with her is taking a holiday, while she does what? Go to a demanding job, and look after an infant?

“His mother said that he was her best-friend and her entire world
    Was there enough left of him to share with a woman and child?

I smell enormous stress.

She has a gun.

She knows how to use a gun.

8. Pst girl……………the way things continue to play out on BU, I can’t even say who I am related to, even though they are all out of Barbados.

9. Sorry………..meant to type Pat.

10. Simple Simon………………..and there in lies some of the problems she may have been experiencing…………..all types of stresses acting as a trigger.

11. Simple Simon
    This simplicity seem to beyond me; are you saying that men who live with their mothers should have girl friends who own a gun and know how to use it. Are you saying that stress would make you do anything. Or are you saying going on a trip could be a deadly choice. What the hell are you saying!

12. @Lemmie

Individuals all will react different under the same stress conditions if we could control test it.

13. She may have been suffering from postpartum depression

Postpartum depression symptoms may include:

Loss of appetite
    Insomnia
    Intense irritability and anger
    Overwhelming fatigue
    Loss of interest in sex
    Lack of joy in life
    Feelings of shame, guilt or inadequacy
    Severe mood swings
    Difficulty bonding with your baby
    Withdrawal from family and friends
    Thoughts of harming yourself or your baby

Untreated, postpartum depression may last for many months or longer.

14. Postpartum Depression coupled with a high stress job = recipe for murderous disaster. Most women are not even aware they are depressed until they murder their children, spouses or whomever crosses their path.

15. Because the NYPD is well aware of this threat, in my opinion, mandatory treatment and counseling should be part and parcel of their medical insurance package before a new mother is allowed to return to such a high stress job………………..watching to see how this plays out.

16. @ IslandGIrl246

I would tend to agree with the PPS syndrome perspective.

I do not mean any disrespect here but at 81, i have seen/experiences what PPS does to women as can menstruation and (the early onset of) menopause.

How does one deal with it? As a matter of fact how does one identify it?

For the mother and family members who remain i extend my sincerest condolences and prey you the strength to deal with the relentless onslaught of the Inquisition that is going to follow from the agents of the nameless one, FOX, ABC, NBC and the numberless news media that abound in Amurica.

Couple this with the latent xenophobia for West Indians in the USA and your period of suffering is going to be extended by 50% more exposure to the public eye.

I pray you peace.

For the NYPD losing the body and their breach in protocol re the notification of the family is par for the course, we might wear the blues but we are not Americans so this nuance and instance of disrespect is par for the course

17. “pray you strength” not prey, that was a Freudian slip related to the news media experience that you are destined to encounter in the coming months

18. Indeed this is a tragic matter.

19. How does one deal with it? As a matter of fact how does one identify it?

Piece……………….in trying to answer your two questions, both are very difficult. It is known that women are emotional creatures due to severe and erratic hormonal changes before, during and after pregnancies…………you may see a change in personality, but you have to remember women are also stronger emotionally and are better able to hide emotional problems. Some would cry, some would just be stronger and chalk up what they are feeling to life experiences, some would just blackout and go on murderous rampages………it’s a slippery slope…………I know of one female, quite close to me who suffered postpartum blues for 10 years after the birth of her last child,,,,,,,,,,luckily for her she recognized it for what it was and managed to heal herself without the help of therapy, these emotional problems however do leave scars…….they are still conducting studies in these areas.

20. Before, during and after giving birth, women need a lot of support to help them through hormonal upheavals……..that is one way and in my opinion and best and only way.

21. Women don’t have to be bare foot, pregnanct and in the kitchen. They certainly should NOT be police officers.

22. I won’t go to that extreme………………some of the best female officers are female, one bajan I know personally was given an award for bravery, shot a suspect in a beauty parlor who thought he was cute………………..however, after giving birth, there should be psych tests administered for this reason and they should be mandatory……………remember, this lady gave birth in her 40’s, nearly ten years later than doctors recommend women should be giving birth…………she was a prime candidate for a psych evaluation.

23. Should have read……………some of the best police officers in NYC are females.

24. @Lemuel April 18, 2013 at 6:54 AM “This simplicity seem to beyond me; are you saying that men who live with their mothers should have girl friends who own a gun and know how to use it.”

Non, no, no, You misunderstand my simplicity.

It would be a better world if we would all beat our spears [and guns and tanks, and nuclear weapons] into plowshears, and NEVER make war any more.

But in this case I intended to note that the lady was under stress from multiple directions.

A late in life baby
    The lack of sleep that many, many new mothersparents must endure.
    The sheer physical work of caring for an infant, the physical demands of breast feeding, or bottle washing and sterilizing, changing diapers and bathing, the unending piles of diry clothes to be washed, the shopping
    A high stress job
    A shift work job
    Living with her infant and without the child’s father in the house to help her with the child’s minute by minute needs (see above)
    The fact that the child’s father was going away on vacation. While he was away who would help her, who would get the baby from one place to the next while she went to work?
    Any human being, man or woman is capable of snapping if the stress becomes too much.
    We can only bear so much
    All parents of infants, toddlers, young children deserve the loving physical, financial, and emotional support of the other parent, as well as support from grandparents, siblings, aunties, paid care givers etc.
    All I was saying is that parenting an infant is hard work and it seems to me that this woman either did not have enough support, became overwhelmed, and snapped, or felt that she did not have enough support, became overwhelmed and snapped.

I doubt that she wanted to die.
    I doubt that she wanted her infant to die.
    I doubt that she wanted her man to die.

25. Post-Partum depression is indeed serious but which BU doctor examined her? Let the facts come out before rushing to diagnosis and treatment.

I thought that 33 year old men living with Mum & Dad was a trait shared only by Bajan & Italian men but looks like this is widespread in the Caribbean. His living at his parents’ home also underscores a lack of commitment perhaps there is more in the mortar than the pestle.

26. Sargeant………..all women who give birth suffer from Postpartum Depression, but in varying degress……………

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sargeant

No BU doctor examined her, kind sir, we are all speculating based on our experiences and positing perspectives for consideration.

That, kind sir, is the premise upon which a blog is based.

You too make a posit as per the nature of a 33 year old man living with his parents is a cardinal sin.

What if I countered with the following statements and interwove fact with supposition

1. The fact that they were living at two different venues coupled with my unfounded supposition that they seemed to be having marital problems that forced them to live separately
    2. The fact that living in NYC at her rented apt, with her child, would have incurred a monthly expense coupled with my supposition that after his separation from her, his economic situation did not permit him to rent expensive, not readily available apartment in proximity to his child or place of work
    3. The fact that the father was able to access his child and was in a practice of taking child from mother to other venue suggest that there was an amenable relationship re alternate parent custody. My supposition is that such visitation was not one enforced by a legal court
    4. The fact that he had a ticket for travel for his child suggest that one of them had applied for and signed the passport application for and that he was in possession of a valid travel document. My supposition is that since she was not part of the traveling unit that this was a major trigger to the incident

The point kind sir is that you seem to think that a man removing himself from a stressful environment to a place where his family was able to provide care for his child, is considered, “a lack of commitment”

If the man had never visited the child he would surely have incurred you ire and been called a cur and village ram, like all them bajan men who father children, and don’t support them

None of us even know the number of times she in her unbalanced state threatened to kill him and/or the child before this yet you get on this righteous horse about commitment.

Maybe, just maybe, that was what was in the mortar, you think?

At David[BU] it is time to start banning nincompoops and twits from this site, start with me.

28. @ Piece ah de rock
    One thing ’bout wunna old men….wunna mouth ain’t got nuh cover…
    Well said!

If you would just take your chops off Islandgal you could be an OK fellow you know….! 🙂

29. @Piece uh…etc
    At David[BU] it is time to start banning nincompoops and twits from this site, start with me.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Couldn’t agree more let me add twats to that list but we must be in Buhbados there is always something or someone to be banned, still trying to get the ban on ZR drivers for doing anything enforced.

Which comment mashed yuh corns? Did you take offence at the “Doctor” remark or the superannuated teenager living at home? Was it the mortar and pestle viz. a simple reminder that we can speculate all we like but we don’t know what went on between the two people? The law agencies always advise that the most difficult calls are the domestic ones as the situation can be volatile and can spin quickly out of control, thus I will refrain from flights of fancy about their domestic arrangements or any possible financial hardship/arrangement or how involved he was with their child or how many times she threaten to Bobbitize him.

To paraphrase Rumsfeld “we don’t know what we don’t know”

Personally I enjoy many of your comments and I love the spectacle of two men in their dotage (Bushy) competing for the charms of the lady gardener, not that wunnah have any capability of executing any action anyhow but Lotharios on paper always turn out to be paling cocks.

David leh muh know when yuh impose de ban on yours truly…..………

30. Those deaths at Britton Hill, family of five, that also was a shock and pre-meditated murder. Mia Mottley, Mark Cummings, etc should be persecuted and convicted.

31. Dale Marshall too, should be persecuted and convicted. “It could have happened to anybody” he said. Should not have happened, building on that land should not have been allowed.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ look

You mean prosecuted not persecuted.

Smiley Teets Dale does not fall into the category of a saint or other person of character or standing to be persecuted.

No nails in the hands for that clown.

electric shocks to the hypothalamus are more in keeping with the treatment that Foolbert deserves

My next door neighbour kills pigs using a wet cloacus bag and an electric shock.

Could someone please send Dufus Dale up here next week to hold de cloacus bag WHILE the electric leads are being applied to the pig this coming Saturday?