Op Ed  – by Rickford Burke, President of the New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)
Ex-Chief of Department Philip Banks (l.) sat shoulder-to-shoulder with top cop Bill Bratton in March, but they could not see eye-to-eye on promotion
Ex-Chief of Department Philip Banks (l.) with top cop Bill Bratton in March – photo credit NY Daily News

The resignation of Chief Philip Banks, the highest ranking African-American official, of the New York City Police Department (NYPD) is an unfortunate circumstance that should be troubling for Mayor Bill deBlasio and Police Commissioner Bill Bratton, as it is for the entire City.

It is disgraceful that, in 2014, the NYPD now has no minority representation among its top echelon, which is dominated by white males. This failure rests squarely with the Mayor and Police commissioner!

Many believe that black and brown populations in New York City have historically been subjugated and policed by the NYPD as if it were Ferguson, Missouri.  This has shattered trust between these communities and the Police and pushed the department’s credulity to its nadir.

Chief Banks worked tirelessly to build relationships, reestablish trust and create strong, vital  ties between the community and Police department. His endeavors helped restore a measure credibility and confidence in the NYPD. We will be watching keenly to determine if Mr. Bratton, Chief Banks’ replacement and the department in general will build on this effort.

There’s already cause for concern. Commissioner Bratton’s expressed commitments to a diverse force and improved relations with the African-American community have been hollow thus far. Much like his predecessor, Mr. Bratton has not fostered diversity in the department. He has not been predisposed to meeting with Caribbean-American leaders to discuss serious concerns about the NYPD.

A group of thirty-four Caribbean-American leaders, representing a myriad of communities, wrote the Police Commissioner months ago requesting a meeting but received no response. The people voted for change but are getting more of the same!

NYPD’s Patrol Boroughs and precincts command lack diversity as well. Patrol Boroughs of Brooklyn and Queens, and precincts within those Boroughs have an appalling lack of diversity at the commanding and executive officer levels.

Almost one year after the mayor assumed office, the Police department looks the same. Some argue that the NYPD more resembles an archaic and unacceptable apartheid structure, rather than contemporary New York City, with rich, vibrant ethnic and racial diversities.

This violates the covenant Mayor Bill de Blasio entered with minority communities, and desecrates the mandate which empowered his mayoralty. The African-American; including Caribbean, Hispanic and Asian communities in New York City overwhelming voted for candidate Bill deBlasio because of the progressive policies he espoused. He was elected with a specific mandate to affect change within NYPD.  Without these essential reforms, his tenure would be nugatory.

Cosmetic changes at the regular patrol officer level are disingenuous and unacceptable. What is needed is genuine diversity from top to bottom of the NYPD. This responsibility clearly cannot be left alone to Commissioner Bratton. Mayor deBlasio owes it to his constituents to establish a diverse and transparent administration, not least among which is the all important Police department.

It would be of lasting shame for the Mayor to come up short on implementing genuine police reforms and breaking with a distressing history of institutional racism within the NYPD, and of poor police-community relations, understanding and collaboration.

All of our elected officials should work to attain this objective and the citizenry should hold them to account

145 responses to “NYPD Chief Philip Banks Exposes Police Department Top Echelon is Unacceptably Dominated by White Males”

1. Guys, I might not have made myself clear, I am talkig about 2014 and not 1914.

2. Look how the verbal Jihadists consolidated the power against this lone veteran who is up to the challenge. If a Top Secret Clearance is required in the Airforce to operate certain sensitive technology, how is it that a lot of the Airforce jobs are in demand around the world? YOU OBVIOUSLY DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU’RE TALKING ABOUT SO IT IS BEST YOU KEEP YOUR TRAP SHUT.

3. Anthony

Let me give you an example from the Army perspective: Communication in the Army, requires a Security Clerance, far less more the sensitive technologies in the Airforce brother. So how are those jobs transforable to the civilian sector buddy?

4. @ Dompey ,
    If a Top Secret Clearance is required in the Airforce to operate certain sensitive technology, how is it that a lot of the Airforce jobs are in demand around the world? YOU OBVIOUSLY DO .
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Bro, this is standard in most military organisations. I was trained and qualified to work on, and drive a range of military vehicles, but if that vehicle was fitted with sensitive technology , before I set foot in that vehicle to carry our repairs, I had to sign a special clearance document, irrespective of the fact that I was ,and still am, subject to the Official Secrets Act of the UK.

5. I am talking about the United States Armed Forces Colonel. So you’re telling me that mechanists who have worked on the F16, can take they skills elsewhere in the world? It that what you want me to believe sir?

Colonel Buggy

You all made the claimed that the Airforce jobs are transferable throughout the world. And my question to the verbal Jihadists is: how are jobs relating to the Nighthawk Stealth Bomber transferable throughout the world?

6. To provide some relief here is a question for all EXCEPT DOMPEY. Why would a Navy Seal setup as being the intelligent arm of the discipline forces admit to firing the Bin Laden kill shot? To BU it seems like a JA moment but what we don’t known everything we will admit.

7. @ David

SEAL commanders have written angry letter freezing him out of Special Forces circles for going public

Family man, 38, spent 16 years as elite serviceman, and heroics have inspired three Holllywood movies

Went public after telling families of September 11 victims when he met them for opening of memorial in New York and said it gave them ‘closure’

Donated his SEAL uniform to museum where it is now on display

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2824136/Fellow-SEALs-turn-Team-Six-member-going-public-bin-Laden-killing-Rob-O-Neill-not-truthful-telling-fired-three-bullets-terror-mastermind-s-head.html

8. David

The Navy Seals aren’t true Special Forces. They’re what we would called in the Army, a Quick-Reactionary-Force. The true Special Forces are the Delta Force, Green Beret, 57th Ranger Batlilion, guys you never hear or see in the news but they conduct a lot of America secret wars. So one would expect that kind of behavior from a Navy Seal?

Go on utube right now a put in a request for Delta Force and you would never see anything about Delta because theyre highly secretive, not even they family member are aware of they job. But if you put in a request for the Navy Seals, you’ll find them all over utube showing off.

And Anthony, before you shoot off your dumb ass mouth. The 57th Ranger Battalion is fundamentally difference from the Ranger Battalions spread throughout the Army.

9. @ Dompey

I know that I shouldn’t respond but the below information will be enlightening for others on BU.

All the job positions you have highlighted as it relates to the US Airforce above; the enlisted personnel fulfilling those positions would have had top secret security clearance.

Secondly once they had graduated the 6 weeks of initial basic training they would have been assigned what is called tech school for specialized training in their assigned AFSC (for example Aircraft mechanic). The individual would then undergo specific technical hands-on training in both a classroom and in an Aircraft hanger working hands-on with fighter or support aircraft.

The classroom and hands-on training could be a little as 13 weeks or longer up to 9 months depending on job specialty.

In the training they would have learnt skills that are easily transferable to civilian roles even if they needed cross training once they fulfilled their enlistment of 4 years or more.

After the training is completed they are then sent to an Airforce base stateside to take up a job position in a squadron for as little as a year before they may be be assigned at another Airforce base in the US or remote (outside the US).

These guys are also smart enough that when they do become civilians can easily cross trained if necessary into other careers.

At each Airforce Base especially in the US, there are a number of major Universities with campuses on the bases and both Airmen and Airwomen are encouraged to complete Associate, Bachelors and in some cases Masters Degrees as the Military pays 90% of the tuition.

10. @Anthony

Yes, you shouldn’t because ignorance knows no bounds.

11. Anthony you should take David counsel because I am not concern with anything the Airforce does. AND DAVID, IGNORANCE CAN BE CURED BUT STUPIDITY IS FOREVER BROTHRER. Anthony, I have been in the Military so please sir!

12. @Colonel Buggy

Please advise if NAVY SEALS is a generic label of a special operations force comprised of many divisions.

13. Anthony, I am sure the Airforce encourages its members to complete they college education, while the soldiers and the Marines are sent home in bodies bags fighting America’s wars. That’s why yall are called civilians in uniform buddy.

14. @ David

For the record in my former life I served in the US Airforce.

15. @ David

The United States Navy’s Sea, Air, Land Teams, commonly known as the Navy SEALs, are the U.S. Navy’s principal special operations force and a part of the Naval Special Warfare Command and United States Special Operations Command.

The SEALs duty is to conduct small-unit maritime military operations which originate from, and return to a river, ocean, swamp, delta or coastline. SEALs can negotiate shallow water areas such as the Persian Gulf coastline, where large ships and submarines are limited due to depth.

“SEAL” is always capitalized in reference to members of the Naval Special Warfare community. The Navy SEALs are trained to operate in all environments (Sea, Air, and Land) for which they are named. SEALs are also prepared to operate in climate extremes of scorching desert, freezing Arctic, and humid jungle. The SEALs current pursuit of elusive, dangerous and high-priority terrorist targets has them operating in remote, mountainous regions of Afghanistan, and in cities torn by factional violence.

Historically the SEALs have always had “one foot in the water.” The reality, however, today is that they initiate lethal direct action strikes equally well from air and land.

All SEALs are male members of the United States Navy

16. Colonel Buggy

The Navy Seals are the Special Operation component within the Navy. And Like the Army Rangers: soldiers who are drawn from the Combat Arms MOS Military Occupational Speciality, can try out for the Rangers component of the Army. Pararecue is the Airforce equivalent of the Army Special Forces. They job is to recue pilots shot down behind enemy lines. Right Anthony?

17. Army Rangers always strike from air, land and Sea. And the Army also has Airborne Rangers whose main job is to parachute between enemy line, take Airports and support Special Operations.

18. The Army has the most Special Operations Units

1) The Army Green Beret
    2) The Delta Force
    3) The 75th Ranger Battlion
    Supporting Divisions like the
    1) 82th Airborne Division
    2) 10th Mountain Division, ready to deploy anywhere in the world within Forty- eight hours. I THINK I HAVE EDUCATED THE VERBAL JIHADISTS ENOUGH TO NIGHT ANTHONY. GOOD NIGHT GUYS AND I HOPE YOU HAVE LEARN SOMETHING FROM MR. EGO?

19. I wish Dompey had some kind of support here on BU becausing most of what Dempey is telling wunnah can be validated and verified. But wunnah still think Dempey is aa fool, but Dompey has a Higher IQ than most of wunnah and in many areas of academics. And Anthony, Dompey in got naa inferiority complex, if anything soul, Dompey has a superiority complex but gaa long with yaa voodo psychology Anthony.

20. @ Dompey
    Serious though Fenty…..
    …you carrying a joke too far now. you getting on like a real rabbit of the female gender.
    shiite man you got the BU family really EMBARRASSED for you now…

…all joke aside…..

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As Anthony the real soldier pointer out the Military Operation Specialty predicated on one’s training, the time for that training and by extension if you are qualified for specific jobs as a civilian

What this means in layman s terms is that if you are trained as a cook in whichever branch of the armed forces you CANNOT QUALIFY AS A POLICEMAN EVEN IF YOUR SECURITY CLEARANCE ALLOWED YOU TO COOK FOR COLIN POWELL

There is a code here that auto categorizes Dompey as a charlatan who served in the National Reserves at best

Real Warriors SHOW ABSOLUTE RESPECT FOR OTHER WARRIORS IRRESPECTIVE OF WHETHER ONE PERSON SERVED IN 1914 or 2014

Real soldiers, marines, navy, airmen are equalized by the trenches and will never make a remark like the pretend warrior Dompey

It is the fccking code David and that is why that SEAL team member is going to be ostracized until he dies

He has put numerous combatants at risk as he seeks two minutes of glory

You have to serve to understand that shvt

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

He has singlrhandedly brought the blog to a serious low where even if one may sometimes err with a submission the fvcker ers with every single one of them

He is mad as a hatter

I would bet you a cool thousand dollars that if he has a DD214 (the discharge papers for every member of the armed forces) he was a fccking flag raiser or some other female rabbit
    The fvcker says goodnight and comes back in two minutes!!!

23. Piece

There is real dislike between the four branches of the Military and anyone who served In the Military knows this be a fact. And I don’t care how you endeavor to describe my response to the constant attacks from several members of the Blog; how easily you forgotten that part of the discussion here. And also, it must not be forgotten that it is ya ll guys who are attacking one person who must defend his honor the best he can.

And Piece, is there anything here that I have said that you can prove it to be incorrect, or are you following these fools with this band wagon mentality. WHAT I HAVE STATED HERE TONIGHT ARE ALL FACTS. NOW HAVE YOU PROVIDED ANY INFORMATION TO THE CONTRARY? Extraodinary claims requires extraodinary evidence Piece.

24. Dompey | November 7, 2014 at 9:40 PM |
    Piece

There is real dislike between the four branches of the Military and anyone who served In the Military knows this be a fact.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………..
    I would think that this is more ” Friendly Rivalry” in nature , rather than outright hatred.

25. @pieceuhderockyeahright
    Real Warriors SHOW ABSOLUTE RESPECT FOR OTHER WARRIORS IRRESPECTIVE OF WHETHER ONE PERSON SERVED IN 1914 or 2014

Real soldiers, marines, navy, airmen are equalized by the trenches and will never make a remark like the pretend warrior Dompey
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    Amen to that ! I was just about to point out the same. And that is something that I’ve learnt very early in my service career. A section of men from my group, during a smoke break were discussing one particular unpopular officer, within earshot of the Officer-in -charge of us.Immediately that officer piped in, ” I do not know that particular Officer who you are discussing, but I will not stand here and allow you to tear a fellow officer to bits.”

26. Colonel Buggy

I have nothing but respect for the men and women who have served in the Military, but that still does not negate the fact that Army and the Marines do alot of the difficult work. Now, if I have touched a pressure point with respect to my comment, that the Airforce is soft I am sorry but it is. Now, Piece and Anthony, I have Spent a month during the winter time in the back woods of America conducting military exercises, while the Airforce members were laying in they great barrack. I have spent months in the woods of Lousiana amounts the snakes, spiders and alligators while Anthony and his boys were enjoying the comforts of they beautiful accommodations, but I ain’t complaining though. One Joint Effort: Army, Marines, Navy and Airforce ……..

27. Colonel all jokes aside but the Army and the Marines have real hate for each other, and when I was in, we fought every time we met. The Marines thinks that the Army is weak and the Army thinks the Marines is all talk. But I have found the guy from the Marines to be great Marksmen because they’re are taught to shoot from the prone position, the foxhole position and the sitting position. Whereas the Army, were are taught to shoot from the prone and foxhole positions only. I have worked with some of the guys in the Marines, in joint operations at the National Training Center and they’re great guys skilled in the application of violence.

28. @Dompey
    I recall on my way to an operation in a violent British City,we were the first unit in the British Army to be issued with what is now called Disruptive Pattern Material, or Camouflage ,combat suits,and a newly issued sand coloured beret.
    We stopped over at an Airforce (RAF) camp to board a troop carrier , but before doing so, we were to have dinner at the Camp Cookhouse . We queued up, and for some reason the RAF bods would not come near us. Perhaps with our strange outfits, they thought that we were some type of Special Forces.

29. Colonel

Have you ever been to a military recruiter office? And have you notice that the Army, Marines, Navy and Airforce recruiters, never ever interact with each others? In any event, I am going bed now Piece and no, I am not mad. what an insensitive thing to say from man your age. I am a littte disappointed in you Piece because you ought to have know better than that. We could at least respect the opinions of others even if they affronts your own Piece. GOOD NIGHT BUDDY NO HARD FEELS. GOD BLESS!

30. I hear yaa Colonel …. And by the way, thanks for your service from one soldier to another. Later!

31. @Dompey
    The same here , Brother. Arte et Marte ,(By Skill and by Fighting)

32. I hope he gone sleep.

Back to the topic.

The same way that the NYPD has shown the disproportionate representatives of minorities in key positions one finds the same issue across several bands of the spectrum of private and public sector endeavour, not only in US society but across the world

The issue for this ole man lies not in the institutionalization of racism over the centuries but the seeming inability for successive generations to change it.

Respect is earned or ceded sometimes through the violent wrenching of that right from the hands of the oppressors.

Frederick Douglass makes one of the most pointed speeches regarding what independence means to the Black man In 1852 and incredibly WAS NOT LYNCHED!!!

It is interesting how he weaves the revolution of the colonists from their former British masters/king in clever juxtaposition against the lack of enfranchisement of the nigger, recently emancipated slave yet still enslaved black man.

I have long accepted that we remain shackled if not by manacles around our wrists by those around our minds but the thing is that unlike the (misguided?) jihadists we have abdicated the battle to demand what is our Gog Given Right and then stand in the apologist limelight to remark on the iniquity of NYPD like policies of the white establishment worldwide

The point that we have conveniently forgotten in this discourse is how, even at 95% of the people on this Rock we are the poorest segment of this society, irrespective of our numbers, irrespective of us being the ministers of whatever the shvte we want to talk bout, the principals of this, the Queen Counsel, the Doctor so and so the Presidents of most of the black infested African states and the president of the United States

We seek to ascribe our lot to externalities but we continue to delude ourselves thinking that by shifting the blame to whitey that this is adequate balm

Respect is not ceded by any grouping it is violently and begrudgingly ripped from the hands of one’s silent entrenched oppressors through the studied actions of a people who understand that right of collective self determination of a people and not us niggers who are lost and unable wherever to demand and take what is ours

33. Old One

Let’s us first acknowledge the fact that the past with its good as well as evil lives in our collective conscience as a race of people, and it should because our foreparents were shackled both physically and psychologically to the evil-insitution of slavery. In that respect the European bears some responsibility for the plight of the Black race. And in much the same light as when Adam the father of the human race wh contravened God’s divine prerequites causing present day man to ceases his temporary existence of life.

And furthermore, the exslave, and abolusionist Fredrick Douglas spoke more about Social Justice for Black people in the America’s, but what the present day Black world is in need of is economic Empowerment. But Douglass social rhetoric was seem as mere words which failed to galvanized a generation in need of direction. But, here come Marcus Garvey, a man who through social rhetoric and practical example was able preached a universal message which aroused the collective consciousness of Blacks every. So Piece, it is economic empowerment we now seek as a people; gone are days of social rhetoric which seek mainly to aroused the passions and fears of the Black masses.

34. @ Dompey
    Who was that man again who saved your ass when your place was burnt down last January..? …was it Peter?
    Bushie would really like to put a cussing in his tail…

35. Piece

Do this young boy a big favor: I want you to take sometime and read Marcus Garvey autobiography because if you had done so you would be quoting the words of Fredrick Douglass. If it is change you’re seeking in the present conditions which afflicts the modern day Black world. It is our history we ought to meticulously search in order to ascertain the answers to the present state of the Black world. And in much the same light as a medical doctor would search throughout one’s family history to ascertion etiology and not the symptomology, of the afflicting pathology. And in much the same light as criminal psychologist would investigated the childhood past of a psychopath to understand the source or sources which gives force to his or her antisocial behavior. In closing Old One, Marcus Garvey came quite close to accomplishing the realization of a united self-sufficient Black race, but there were many impediments to the fruition of his dream, even his own. But, Garvey, still remains to me: the only Black leader past and present, who has been able to preached a universal message of self-respect, self-reliance, self-determination and economic-empowerment.

36. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Dread Up Your Head

37. Bush Tea

I haven’t the slight idea what your talking about bro. And if what was said had been true, would you wish such a thing on another human being? Waa Looka hair: how long have you and your rum buddy the Devil, have been slamming dominoes?

38. @ Dompey
    ..a word to the wise is sufficient…
    what do you need? an essay?
    Shall Bushie get his pal Finnegan to detail it for you….? 🙂

39. Bush Tea

I have said numerous times here, that it is not about Dompey. It has more to do with the: social, political. economic. moral, academic, epidemiological, intellectual, religious and cultural issues which confronts the infnitesimal island of Barbados.

This fixation and what seems to now borders on the periphery of obsession ,it sicking to say the least. I am not concern with Bush Tea neither do care from many toes PG has on his left foot. That is PG personal affairs and it ought to remain that way Bush Tea. You’re thinking as child would and, I expect better from you, being that you’re elder generation of Barbadian. I am here on this blog to discourse with my fellow Barbadians, some of the issues which afficts the little rock, I am hoping to return to when the natural law of time renders this fleshly body weak and decreptitude. Bushie, just tell me if I am your Socratic gadfly?

40. No need for the lotta long talk Dompey…. Bushie just want to cuss the joker who, by saving your sorry tail, has inflicted you on this (and so many other) blogs….
    So why do you think there have been so many attempts to ‘get’ you….?
    Are you as much a pest to your neighbors as you are here?
    Have you considered changing your behavior?

41. Bush Tea

You mek laugh buddy. What is so secretive about a fire don’t childish sir. Come on now I am very disappointed in your thought process right now. You’re beginning to think like a two year old right about now. Bushie, go right ahead and let’s hear pal Finnigan version I am all ears brother. Is this an attempt to blackmail me? Oh lord can stop laughing.

42. Bush Tea

How am I a pest? AC, Ross and Moneybrain, see some value in my conversation here.

43. Bush Tea, I am sure you can see no value in my conversation because I have taken the spotlight away from you with a perpective fact, rather than the hypothetical analysis you incessantly display here.

44. Bush Tea, the first time I made a comment on the BU blog, you jumped on me like some kind of a verbal bully. And now you have the unmitigated gall to preach to me about the ethics of social decorum, as it relates to the social discourse.