Has Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader, been issuing 'invitations' to her upcoming fete to avoid paying VAT?
Has Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader, been issuing ‘invitations’ to her upcoming fete to avoid paying VAT?

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler revealed earlier this month that the Value Added Tax (VAT) has been abused by some promoters and corporate sponsors. He warned that government will not continue to ignore the abuse. It is interesting to note Sinckler admitted that the VAT Office had not been strictly enforcing the rule and as a consequence promoters have taken advantage to avoid paying VAT. According to Sinckler the Value Added Tax does not differentiate between what is a free or complimentary ticket, that is, all tickets attract VAT. On the face of it BU supports minister Sinckler’s effort to enforce the law. It is the reason the Barbados Revenue Authority was established, to plug the leaks. Promoters need to make representation to the Minister if they believe there is a good case to amend the law.

There has been some concern expressed about the upcoming fete to be staged by leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. BU understands invitations have been issued with the expectation that on acceptance the attendee is expected to shell out $350.00. One is left to question whether Mottley, a law maker, has deliberately designed the request to attend her fete to avoid paying taxes.  One wonders also if minister Sinckler has gotten wind of Mottley’s approach to making money from her fete and has responded. There is a saying when elephants fight ants get crushed. Unfortunately all the other promoters who have had to use ‘ticket giveaways’ as an incentive to lure sponsorship will have to pay VAT or find other ways.

Is this a matter of the public’s trust being tested in our lawmakers, again?

54 responses to “VAT Loophole Plugged!”

1. We in the PDC have scoured this despicable wicked oppressive VAT Act of Barbados.

And no where in this VAT Act is there any provision for dealing with the question of any promoters of entertainment events handing over of any monies to the VAT Office or any other TAX office on account of the said promoters issuing complimentary tickets to prospective holders for any such entertainment events in Barbados.

Absolutely NO where!!

With regard to the up coming Hennessey Artistry Show in December our unsolicited advice to the promoters of the FAS event is to hand over not one red cent or figures in VAT to the government on account of any complimentary tickets.

Many journalists in Barbados need to do their homework first before publishing such rubbish that reportedly comes out of the mouth of any relevant minister/bureaucrat of government of this country.

2. At present we are told that in excess of $500,000 is owed in VAT. Why has this figure been left out there uncollected is not only due to ENFORCEMENT but mostly because of not wanting to draw in BIG maguffy “friends” to pay up.

Some of these culprits are those who owe the MOST in VAT…..(recall Thompson Associates and the $3.333 million invoice attracting $499,500 in VAT still unpaid)..It is tIme Govt rakes in some of that outstanding VAT and stop asking poor hard working tax payers…whom have placed that money there in the first place in the merchant coffers to be paid into Excise..

How much more taxes can lower end workers (under $25,000) pay anyway?….Such a measure is unconscionable and will bring even more hardship these people at the ladder bottom. If you recall the $1,000 tax rebate that was given under the BLP administration.. that money was supposed to allow money to circulate in the bottom echelons of the community for good reasons.

In summary over taxation will only be counterproductive in the long run and will contract the economy even more.

3. ole onions bag you sounding more like a speckled fowl everyday,,,just maybe u are one of the same,

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If you believe that the BRA was established to plug leaks, you are naive. That statutory board was established for the same purpose as all the others and that is to move large segments of workers out of the Public Service so that some minister of government could have control of Government money with the least possible oversight.

If Government wanted to plug the leaks, they would have provided the revenue collection departments with the necessary resources, including human resources, to do the job. Also, they would not have been intervening to prevent officers from collecting the taxes from their friends.

I hope that the allegations about Mia finding a way to avoid paying VAT are true. It would prove beyond any doubt what I have been saying all along and that is: she has no moral authority to lead this country.

5. @Caswell

Have you not been at the vanguard of those critical of statutory corps and other ineffective central government agencies? If BRA forces amalgamation of a few of them what is the problem?

On 23 November 2014 at 12:52, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. @ ac
    ……..there was interference when I wrote that piece….one “Plugin Script” interference…..ever heard of it?…Nowadays I see it a lot…. such is the outcome…but people can still get the jest of what is written….

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If the amalgamation lead to efficiencies, I would have no problem but BRA has made matters worse. Also, the amalgamation should have been done as part of the restructuring of Public Service departments and not as an out of control statutory corporation.

Civil service commissions were established for the express purpose of removing politicians from the recruitment and promotion processes in the public service. Statutory corporations are created with much the same reasoning as you attribute to Mia in this post, that is trying to get around the system.

8. If you recall the $1,000 tax rebate that was given under the BLP administration.. that money was supposed to allow money to circulate in the bottom echelons of the community for good reasons.

>>>>>>>>>>>>

AC….tells why this $1,000 tax rebate was firstly reduced to $500, and later totally withdrawn?…since we wanna talk bout speckled…

9. Just tell me how much can government collect from these “FREE” tickets? There are bigger fish to catch with consultants, lawyers, doctors, contractors and trades people who pay no VAT at all. Have those loopholes been closed?

10. Shouldn’t we be concerned about supporting a culture of efficient enforcement? It should not matter the quantum. It is this lose and indiscipline approach to governance which is affecting our governance system.

11. Mia Fired For A Second Time Avatar
    Mia Fired For A Second Time

So David are you telling the public that even after Mottley diverted the funds of the BLP to a private account that no senior member of the BLP was aware of and those funds that were left on the BLP account were stolen by Mottley and used by herself and that en0ven after raiding thr Four Seasons Project and the NIS office of over $ 6 Mil in legal fees that this woman still finds it necessary to find means and ways ti illegally avoid paying what she should pay to the VAT Office ? If this is the caes she is even more sick than I first thought her to be, this is disgusting and sick.

12. When MAM invoiced for services rendered on the Paradise project did she do so on the basis of hours worked or as part if a retainer?

13. Mia Fired For A Second Time Avatar
    Mia Fired For A Second Time

It is clear to all and sundry that this woman is not only greedy for POWER but she is even more greedy for MONEY. I assume in her outlook that MONEY will follow her once she has POWER.

14. old onion bags | November 23, 2014 at 9:29 AM

AC….tells why this $1,000 tax rebate was firstly reduced to $500, and later totally withdrawn?…since we wanna talk bout speckled…
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    it was not delivering the intended financial support to the economy. furthermore there was evedience of substantial abuse which was negatively impacting govt revenue

15. Dr Clyde Mascoll in his column piece in last Thursday’s Daily Nation newspaper was reported as having thought that the TAXATION system is the fundamental tool available for influencing the allocation of our ‘scarce’ resources by the government

But, what arrant foolishness from a so-called economist!

Economists are among the most asinine backward and unstudied of all paper pushing and computer typing professionals in this world.

The fact of the matter is that there is absolutely no connection between TAXATION and of all these so-called scarce resources in this country or any where else.

For, whereas the evil wicked TAXATION system, et al, prevents greater amounts of remunerations from coming about in this country at any given time, and at the same time criminally steals and rubs the relevant people, businesses and other entities of the relevant portions of their own rightful legitimate remunerations, it is the relevant human social technical mechanical commercial industrial activities that drive and allocate ‘scarce’ resources in this country.

16. outside the Barter system what else could PDC have in mind and even that would be problematic, cause not everyone in society are professionally or artistically skilled , you have been pushing this NO taxation agenda for years and this seems to be a secret that only you and a few have the answer for,

17. Effective midnight, Barbadians will be paying slightly less for petroleum products.

The retail price of gasoline decreases from $3.62 per litre – a saving of 49 cents.

The price of diesel also moves from $2.87 to $2.78, down by nine cents; while the retail price of kerosene will be 14 cents less at $1.61, down from $1.75.

18. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES

Has Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader, been issuing ‘invitations’ to her upcoming fete to avoid paying VAT?

Mia need to be in jail, and all the vat she never paid is due plus late fees
    Brittons Hill cave , murder and blood on her hand ,

you can not plug fraud and a clear title deeds , We have the Plantation deed MIA you dam crook
    PAY your VAT MIA from 1997 to now and all your PIMP title Ministers and family,

19. Man this next election going to be berry berry interesting.. MIA got a lot to answer for and not the economy….

20. I only asking ???? Avatar
    I only asking ????

AC The forces against Mottley leading the BLP into the next Election are significantly greater than the forces who want her as Leader, Time Will Tell.

21. The public will not be fooled next election by allowing JA politicians to avoid discussing the issues. Imagine the economy is going to hell in a hand basket and we continue to get the braying from political supporters.

22. We in the PDC will continue to expose the intellectual and philosophical weaknesses and aberrations of Dr Clyde Mascoll, whenever he has published in any local communication media, any views of his on the nature and performance of the political economy and services industry sectors of this country, for the main purpose of showing how he and other so-called economists constantly present so-called economic statements that do not make any sense what so ever, or that do not reflect, harmonize or juxtapose with any thing that is or that is not actually happening in those said sectors in this country.

So therefore how else can we judge the statement that is attributed to Dr. Mascoll in his last column piece in the Daily Nation newspaper of Thursday, November 20, 2014, that ‘it must be noted (by whom?) increasing the fiscal deficit and the national debt can assist in increasing GDP that is growing the economy’?

However, the fact remains that money and its uses, and financial numbers and figures and their uses by any individual or group of individuals in the financial system in Barbados do not have any causal or non-causal connections with one another sufficient that in and of themselves ( the money, the financial numbers and figures and their uses by the relevant individuals) will actually lead to any kinds of deficits or debts any where in this country.

Moreover, the fact remains also that any kinds of deficits and debts do not have any objective existence of their own. They do NOT exist!!

The fact also remains that no matter how much money that is in stock, or that is in store, or that is temporarily set aside for later uses by the relevant individuals, and that is actually circulated used by any one; and that no matter how many financial numbers and figures that are capable of being generated by persons, computers, etc., whatever the reasons, and that are actually generated, CANNOT lead to any coming about of any fiscal deficits and the national debt of the government, and any emergence of any increases or decreases in them, far less any emergence of assistance by them in increasing GDP that is growing the economy.

Too, what is very absurd and outlandish is his false insinuation that GDP ( a mere statistical measure/indicator) can grow an economy, when such is impossible to happen.

So therefore it is wholly illogical and unrational for Dr. Mascoll and some other so-called economists in this country to think that the statement that he was reported to have thought in his last column piece is consistent with any such things that he falsely believes are happening in the financial affairs of this country, when in truth and in fact nothing of the sort are happening.

23. Inadvertence,

In the four line from the top it ought to have been: ‘whenever he has GOT published……”

24. I only asking ???? Avatar
    I only asking ????

I expect that Friday will be a good day in parliament. Let us wait and see. The returning Leader of The Opposition will make his return to Parliament.

25. Some of the above rationalizations in the particular PDC post three contributions above must not be confused with the following philosophy: that money can however be used by the relevant individuals or groups of individuals in this country in certain circumstances TO REPRESENT AND MEASURE remuneration debts – debts which have only come through portions or whole amounts of remunerations that have been lent by their owners to the relevant others and that remain returnable – in the equivalent amounts lent – by the beneficiaries of the original lent portions/amounts of remunerations to the owners, unless there are certain modifications changes to the terms and conditions of the original agreements entered into by the parties, leading to more or less than the equivalent amounts of remunerations lent, that are returnable.

26. @ The People’s Democratic Congress | November 24, 2014 at 8:44 PM |

“………for the main purpose of showing how he and other so-called economists constantly present so-called economic statements that do not make any sense what so ever…”

What is written in this posts makes absolutely no sense to me as well. Actually, I’ve been trying to understand your posts, but have encountered great difficulty in doing so, since your style of writing consists of many rhetorical and ambiguous statements. In fact I understand “The Canterbury Tales” by Chaucer more so than what you write. But, this is just MY OPINION, and does not take anything away from the message you are trying to bring.

Your opinions of economics are ours and must be respected. However, your opinions on governing the economy, on money or taxation, are just that……. your opinions.
    What is more confusing is, if by some miracle the PDC is elected, how do you propose to pay for social services and public goods, such welfare assistance to the poor, home care service, law enforcement agencies, street lighting, primary and secondary education, transport, etc.?
    How do you intend to pay public sector employees, government and NIS pensions, especially to those who would have been receiving such pensions prior to “PDC being elected”?
    Will we see an abolition of the national insurance scheme?
    How will PDC fund organizations such as Student revolving Loan Fund, the Enterprise Growth Fund, Fund Access or the Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme?
    How will PDC measure the performance of the economy?
    These are issues that need explaining.

Perhaps if you were to guide me to the source of your information, I could read it and be in a better position to understand PDC’s philosophy.

27. Artaxerxes,

The People’s Democratic Congress has been long repeatedly stating on here and elsewhere that nobody pays for social services and public goods, such welfare assistance to the poor, home care service, law enforcement agencies, street lighting, primary and secondary education, transport, etc.

We have also been long repeatedly stating that nobody pays public sectors employees, government and NIS pensions, etc.

We have also been reporting that it is only the relevant people that have been receiving nominal transfers, by certain people within the core financial institutions – monetary authorities, money banks, so-called credit unions, etc.. of this country – of money from within certain parts of the core financial system to other parts of it, enough to see the respective public servants, the respective persons having earlier done business with the government and entitled to such transfers, and the respective pensioners, eventually getting such nominal transfers which themselves can only be expressed and measured properly in money terms.

The use of the term ‘pay’ wrongly falsely implies money being exchanged for goods and services rendered by the relevant persons – public servants business people etc, when it is clearly the case that such is not happening; only that there is the use by many different persons of money in many different circumstances in various social commercial industrial sectors in this country.

28. The People’s Democratic Congress | November 24, 2014 at 10:44 PM |

I’m completely confused now, what you posted makes absolutely no sense to me.

Is the PDC implying, for example, a policeman would exchange his services for goods and services instead of receiving a monthly salary?

29. Wait a damn minute Artaxerxes….
    …somebody like they pray for you yuh!!!

Bushie was here waiting to see how long before you worked out for yourself ….that AC is a retard planted by the DLP to confuse all issues… and you gone now trying to rationalize PDC…????

Boss, sprinkle some salt on your doorstep and walk outside backwards at midnight ….or some such shiite hear?

..else next thing we know um going be you and Dompey debating “American hospital life” and “apartment fires”…..

30. @ Bush Tea | November 24, 2014 at 11:33 PM |

“Bushie was here waiting to see how long before you worked out for yourself ….that AC is a retard planted by the DLP to confuse all issues… and you gone now trying to rationalize PDC…????”

Bushie, your comments are true, I managed to work out the AC bit, but there are so many of them, I don’t which one I should paint with the retard brush….. perhaps all.
    I will definitely stay far away from debating with Dompey; he is a jihadist suicide bomber… just look at the terrorists attacks he unleashes on the English language each chance he gets.
    However, the PDC continues to be an enigma, and trying to rationalize them will be a tall order. I believe the left brain fellow on Brass Tacks is a member.

31. Artaxerxes,

The notion that one is PAYING FOR anything or its use/s is entirely backward and misplaced within the sphere of using words to convey the truth of what is really happening from various ‘minds’/senses to many other ‘minds’/senses, which might otherwise recognize or not what is really happening within that sphere or other spheres.

In a popular dictionary, the word ‘for’ is defined as: ‘in order to have, do, get or obtain something”. So by any person using the term ‘ to pay’ – which can also be defined as to give over ( a certain amount of money) in exchange for something – along with the term ‘for’ which makes it ‘to pay far’, imports that the use of money at any time in such commercial transactions in Barbados is why one gets to have, to do, to get or obtain something (a good) or use of something else (a service).

But the reality is that the latter consideration does not reflect, harmonize, or juxtapose with what is actually physically happening in regard of the same commercial transactions, where money, goods and services are being used by different people across various commercial transactions at the same time.

What happens is that money is simply PASSED from the person/s – who get the good or use of a service – to the person/s who give the good or provide the person or asset/s for the same other person/s to use.

Alternatively, too, what happens is that the good or the use of the service of the person or asset/s that is rendered by the person – who is receiving the money – to the person who is giving the money to the other – under the same contractual arrangements, irrespective of what ever times each party to the arrangements performs their part of the said contractual arrangements – once each is able though to complete properly their part.

The fact is that this described way and mode of thinking and behaving of most human beings acting in the commercial space of Barbados is actually replicated millions upon millions of times pet year in this country.

But again, in such circumstances there is NO connection what so ever between the money that is used by whomso ever and the goods/services used by whomsoever.

So realistically NOTHING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING is being exchanged in such circumstances as herein described.

And too most importantly the use of money in such circumstances of such commercial transactions really taking place, is NOT why such goods are actually passed on or why the services are actually used. For they are passed on because of the capacity will power energy of the relevant persons to give them to the relevant persons and the relevant persons to receive them too. And the services are rendered used by whomsoever what so ever because of the capacity the will power the power of the relevant persons machines vehicles etc. to help render them them, whether or not goods are involved too.

So it is clear that this evil wicked Taxation system in Barbados is not only antithetical to the proper and rightful and actual functioning of such commercial transactions when wrongly wickedly foisted imposed on such commercial transactions, but also distorts wickedly -via the use of terms – such as ‘paying Taxes’ – the real meaning and purpose behind those commercial transactions – to determine who gets what when and where within the local market system, even when it – the criminal illegal taxation system – fails tremendously to behave like the persons and other entities at the center of those transactions do behave.

32. Professor brass bowl(bush tea) u ought to mind your mudder f..kng business u two bit a.ss licker even the new a.ss u find time to kiss called uh dumb a..ss a two faced hypocrite uh dysfunctional ole boar

33. Professor brass bowl since. Ugot my a..ss started u liitle pissy antelope u dead a.ss need to stop tailing gating and stealing other people comments and using them as yours. u yellow belly scaliwag u dead a.ss need to be arrested for petty theft

34. Class is class, crass is crass.

On Tuesday, 25 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

35. Class is class ..Crass is crass according to whose standards for sure not yours David as blog master u have allowed this space to become the store house of unwarranted attacks on those of differing views. U too have no moral authority to wave or point the finger of ethics

36. Inadvertence,

There ought to have been in the last PDC post prior to this one now, in line 7, in the 5th paragraph from the top, the words ‘is rendered’ inserted there in between the comma and the word ‘irrespective’ in the body of the post.

Our apologies.

37. PDC all of you belong to the asylum. Your rhetoric is contorted and senseless. The only ones who comprehend your post are maybe lunatics. Your style is incoherent and lacking sensible content. I knew that Mark was a crazy loose screw since our days at UWI. Do you really expect to be taken seriously?

38. PLUG MIA’S vat LOOPHOLE!!!!
    What an OPTION.

I feel that Mia’s V ery A ccomodating T wat, is about as pluggable as the Amazon.

What a Woman??

Yes that’s a QUESTION

39. PDC look like your system of NO TAXATION is a reality on the come back

What is a Barter System?

A barter system is an old method of exchange. Th is system has been used for centuries and long before money was invented. People exchanged services and goods for other services and goods in return. Today, bartering has made a comeback using techniques that are more sophisticated to aid in trading; for instance, the Internet. In ancient times, this system involved people in the same area, however today bartering is global. The value of bartering items can be negotiated with the other party. Bartering doesn’t involve money which is one of the advantages. You can buy items by exchanging an item you have but no longer want or need.

40. Artaxerxes,

We sincerely hope that you would have read – and very carefully so – our last post before this one on this BU network.

For, we will continue to seriously put across to the general publics in Barbados and beyond, theories, themes and perspectives on many political economic financial happenings in these regions, that must undoubtedly by their natures and essences illustrate why there must be usurped and displaced many of those still existing false, regressive and unrational ideologies, mythologies and psychologies that have been deliberately used by many people in this country and beyond to help wickedly exploit, oppress, suppress the broad masses and middle classes in this country.

Thus, being a political party that is primarily about the promoting securing and defending of the fundamental social political material financial interests of the said broad masses and middle classes of this social system and culture called Barbados, we will continue to ever so often point out and excoriate these very said wicked infernal ideologies, mythologies and psychologies that altogether have been and continue to help do untold damage and harm to the well being welfare of these social categories and more, for the ultimate benefit of the understanding and acceptance of as many of those people as possible that such is actually so, and, too, to do so with a view to their doing the correct things to help them and us remove such idiocies falsities from their minds.

Where it concerns the propounding and expounding of alternative ideologies, philosophies and psychologies, we shall continue to advance such for the benefit of the understanding and knowledge of many of the said broad masses and middle classes in Barbados.

Therefore, in both of the above regards we shall here now advance on the last PDC post before this current one by stating quite briefly for your understanding and that of many others who read our posts on BU, that where as the language of some so-called economists in Barbados and beyond falsely and wrongly portray two separate commercial transactions taking place under a contract between, say, two parties – A and B – whereby A gives B a sheep and B gives A 100$ – as an exchange – one exchange – one transaction – we must correctly argue that such is not the case, that there are really two different and unrelated transactions that are taking place under the said contract, fundamentally because there is no connection what so ever between the 100$ that A gets, and the sheep that B gets.

So, by these so-called economists continuing to falsely erroneously view – and in a case like those two transactions exampled just above – such transactions as one single transaction, must mean that the false and bankrupt ideologies, mythologies, and psychogies underpinning such an uninformed unstudied of theirs must have serious and fundamental implications for many of the broad masses and middle classes properly rightly understanding and accepting that the money system market must be viewed by many people in Barbados and beyond, on its own historical, synchronic, functional, representative, use and other terms, in this island, and that the non-money commodity and services systems markets must be viewed by many people in this country on their own historical, synchronic, functional, use and other terms, in Barbados, and not be falsely fallaciously illusorily psychololically viewed by such people – as is currently the case – in such impossible terms – money – in terms of the others – non money commodities and services – and the latter in terms of the former – and as if they were on and the same.

41. @ The People’s Democratic Congress | November 25, 2014 at 8:34 PM |

“Artaxerxes: We sincerely hope that you would have read – and very carefully so – our last post before this one on this BU network.”

Yes, I read your post, carefully and more than once……. unfortunately, I did not understand what you were trying explain and your post did NOT clearly addressed the issues I raised.

As it presently stands, and I’m not trying to be critical, but your writing style contains many rhetorical statements and redundancies, which makes it quite difficult for me to understand.
    Once again, I beg you to direct me to your source of information relative to the theories you have advanced in this forum, so I could read and avail myself of views contained therein.

42. History of Bartering

The history of bartering dates all the way back to 6000 BC. Introduced by Mesopotamia tribes, bartering was adopted by Phoenicians. Phoenicians bartered goods to those located in various other cities across oceans. Babylonian’s also developed an improved bartering system. Goods were exchanged for food, tea, weapons, and spices. At times, human skulls were used as well. Salt was another popular item exchanged. Salt was so valuable that Roman soldiers’ salaries were paid with it. In the Middle Ages, Europeans traveled around the globe to barter crafts and furs in exchange for silks and perfumes. Colonial Americans exchanged musket balls, deer skins, and wheat. When money was invented, bartering did not end, it become more organized.
    Due to lack of money, bartering became popular in the 1930s during the Great Depression. It was used to obtain food and various other services. It was done through groups or between people who acted similar to banks. If any items were sold, the owner would receive credit and the buyer’s account would be debited.

43. @ The People’s Democratic Congress | November 25, 2014 at 8:34 PM |

“………..say, two parties – A and B – whereby A gives B a sheep and B gives A 100$ – as an exchange – one exchange – one transaction – we must correctly argue that such is not the case, that there are really two different and unrelated transactions that are taking place under the said contract, fundamentally because there is no connection what so ever between the 100$ that A gets, and the sheep that B gets.”

As it relates to your above statement, I think your analysis of the transaction as described is erroneous and complete rubbish, and until you can present some form of documentation to prove otherwise, I cannot agree with you.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but as I understand, Mark Adamson is a member of PDC. Let’s say for argument sake, I Artaxerxes approached Adamson with the intent of purchasing a pair of socks. He offers to sell me his socks for $10 a pair and on agreeing to purchase, I gave him my $10 and he gave me a pair of socks. Are you trying to tell me the transaction that took place between us is separate and distinct?

Okay, you have dismissed the economics involved in the transaction as described above, and I have absolutely no problem with that.
    However, when Adamson made an offer and I accepted, we entered a legally binding agreement [contract]. Supposed I recognized an illegality arising out of the sale and I had to resort to the law court to resolve the matter. Surely you must agree that within the context of the law, the court would view the exchange of money for the good, as ONE TRANSACTION.
    Hence, how would the court view Adamson’s argument that “fundamentally there is no connection what so ever between the $10 that he got and the socks I got.”?

Therefore, under these circumstances, are you prepared to state that the law also has similar misgivings you applied to the economic theory of the sale?

44. Hi David,
    The photo of the cheshire CAT you have grinning at the top of this…….does she have a name?

45. This page

46. ac,

There will – one of these good days in Barbados – be the Abolition of Taxation, and the development of a post-Taxation society for this country.

That put forward though, we have to relay to you that a barter system CANNOT be a dominant mode for persons, businesses and other entities distributing goods in Barbados, whilst the money system is and continues to be as pervasively commonly used by money users as it is in this country.

And, so contrary to what you are suggesting too – that – by our promoting and agitating for the Abolition of Taxation, its means simultaneously (for you alone though) the Abolition of Money and its uses, we can only state in response to you that such a suggestion is so far from the truth.

Also, there is no meaning that because we are absolutely for a post-Taxation society for Barbados, we have to be supportive of a barter system operating in the country.

For, contrary to such an implication of yours, what we do know is that it would be foolhardy for any one to really support such in a context where money is so pervasively used by so many people.

47. @ PDC ac did not suggest any such thing, i flew a kite to catch the wind and you respond accordingly ,thanks for your reply ,,however it takes one back as to what PDC proposed as an alternative to TAXATION,, this question has been asked of PDC for many years and as yet all who have asked ( and there are many)have not received an answer,

48. Artaxerxes,

A proper understanding of contract law must reveal that in the example we have provided involving A and B, that there are  two considerations – the 100$ and the sheep – not one consideration.

Any person believing that – in such an example we gave – there is only one consideration must have a bias towards money, and/or one against non-money commodities, or their having no consideration at all for non-money commodities, which too are absolutely important in persons actually fashioning the relevant contracts that would see such commodities come under such contractual arrangements.

Any independent and impartial court directed by an enlightened judge must also realize – in a real case being tried before him or her – and following in the likeness of the example we provided -that there would be two considerations – not one.

The two transactions, in the example we have provided, involve (1) transaction -the 100$ being passed from B to A, and the (2) transaction – the sheep being passed from A to B.

Too, though A and B are conducting business with each other at the SAME time and in the SAME context, there are two DIFFERENT and unrelated transactions going in two DIFFERENT directions. 

So there we go.

49. @ The People’s Democratic Congress | November 25, 2014 at 10:49 PM |

“Too, though A and B are conducting business with each other at the SAME time and in the SAME context, there are two DIFFERENT and unrelated transactions going in two DIFFERENT directions.”

You are incorrect!! Your reply demonstrates you don’t fully understand contract law.

I have done a lot of reading in my time and never have I read anywhere these far fetch ideas PDC presents to BU. Essentially, you are misleading this forum with your erroneous theories and self constructed ideas, which in actuality, makes absolutely no sense at all.
    Rather than explaining what you present to BU, you prefer to be sanctimonious and condescending to those who question your beliefs.

I have asked you to post information relative to your policies, so those of us who are interested, could read it for ourselves. However, you REFUSE TO DO SO ON EACH OCCASION WHEN ASKED.
    As I will ask you ONE more time…… please refer me to any documentation that would explain what you have written here, so I could read it and try to understand your policies.

Failing to do so, I and any other person of reasonable understanding will have no choice but to dismiss your posts as the ranting of a few disgruntled members of this society who probably misinterpreted what you read and are exhibiting traits of anti-establishmentarianism.

So there I go.

50. The best brains on BU now and in the past have tried to unravel the PDC doctrine, without success. Be guided accordingly.