Has Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader, been issuing 'invitations' to her upcoming fete to avoid paying VAT?
Has Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader, been issuing ‘invitations’ to her upcoming fete to avoid paying VAT?

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler revealed earlier this month that the Value Added Tax (VAT) has been abused by some promoters and corporate sponsors. He warned that government will not continue to ignore the abuse. It is interesting to note Sinckler admitted that the VAT Office had not been strictly enforcing the rule and as a consequence promoters have taken advantage to avoid paying VAT. According to Sinckler the Value Added Tax does not differentiate between what is a free or complimentary ticket, that is, all tickets attract VAT. On the face of it BU supports minister Sinckler’s effort to enforce the law. It is the reason the Barbados Revenue Authority was established, to plug the leaks. Promoters need to make representation to the Minister if they believe there is a good case to amend the law.

There has been some concern expressed about the upcoming fete to be staged by leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. BU understands invitations have been issued with the expectation that on acceptance the attendee is expected to shell out $350.00. One is left to question whether Mottley, a law maker, has deliberately designed the request to attend her fete to avoid paying taxes.  One wonders also if minister Sinckler has gotten wind of Mottley’s approach to making money from her fete and has responded. There is a saying when elephants fight ants get crushed. Unfortunately all the other promoters who have had to use ‘ticket giveaways’ as an incentive to lure sponsorship will have to pay VAT or find other ways.

Is this a matter of the public’s trust being tested in our lawmakers, again?

54 responses to “VAT Loophole Plugged!”

1. Artaxerxes,

That aspect where we have stated: ‘Too, though, A and B are conducting business with each other at the SAME time and in the SAME context, there are two DIFFERENT and unrelated transactions going in two DIFFERENT directions’, has been, yes, in case you did not know -based on divinely inspired people centered well founded and valid ideologies, philosophies and psychologies, and, yes, too have nothing to do with any interpretations of contract law.

Rather, that statement was made by us to support our theory that there are two transactions that are really happening in any real life cases that are like A and B’s.

So therefore you have misinterpreted that aspect.

Also, you have nade the charge (in your November 24, 2014, 11.35 pm BU contribution) that rather than explaining what we present to BU, we prefer to be sanctimonious and condescending to those who question our beliefs.

That is clearly a false and unfounded charge by you.

For, we have been doing so much careful and proper describing, explaining elucidating on BU of ALL of the PDC’s ideologies, philosophies, psychologies and policies over the years, that it still has not been enough, as that we will continue the process of getting more and more people enlightened about our many intellectual and social values, concepts and positions, on here and elsewhere. Any persons who really have been following our posts and contributions on BU can readily support our contention that we have long been educating many people on here about our principles and perspectives.

Actually, a little more research by yourself of many of the PDC’s posts and contributions on BU – and we assume you hardly research our posts and contributions on here – would help take you to so many of the said PDC ideologies, philosophies, psychologies, and policies on BU, and where upon – in reading the most relevant ones to your re/search – you may then try to understand comprehend them.

For, your information too – and as if you have not really known this, BU and WordPress have been – since 2007 until now – DOCUMENTING electronically digitally thousands upon thousands of persons and political organizations and other entities’ contributions submissions on this network – including yours and our party’s. Even at this juncture BU and WordPress are continuing to document electronically digitally your and our party’s views. As such, why do you think that there are BU archives? Why? So, really you do not have to go very far to see what documents that are around to support our very vaunted revolutionary transformational didactic expansive social political financial ideologies, philosophies and psychologies and policies, when some of them are already here on BU.

So, Artaxerxes, just do a little more research, investigating, synthesizing and rationalizing of our efforts on here.

2. @ The People’s Democratic Congress | November 26, 2014 at 10:29 AM |

“So, Artaxerxes, just do a little more research, investigating, synthesizing and rationalizing of our efforts on here.”

NO, NO, NO, NO PDC, don’t come to me with that crap. Your political organisation advanced its policies, therefore the onus is on PDC to provide the relevant documentation to support such policies.

This “cop out” by PDC only serves to confirm what I have been saying all along. Since you refuse to refer me to any information which would serve to clarify your policies, and saying I should do my own research, does significant damage to your creditability and proves, beyond reasonable doubt, that PDC is just a bunch of frauds masquerading as a political party.

How do you expect to be taken seriously as a political organisation and as an alternative political solution to Barbados, when you can’t explain your policies or bring any supporting documentation to substantiate them?
    What is most disturbing are your unwarranted attacks on individuals educated in disciplines such as economics, accounting and finance, especially Dr Clyde Mascoll. Dr Mascoll’s expertise lies in the area of public accounting and, unlike PDC, his years of research has made him an authority on the subject.

I’m done with this discussion, it’s getting us no where.

3. I think what we should concern ourselves with is; if A’s 10$ sheep was sold to B for 10$ and as it was sold and the exchange took place.
    Sleepy DEVALUED 10B$ = 1US$

I wonder would B get a good Lick in de mout and A get he “stones” rearranged by B??

PDC we await yuh conclusion:)

4. In this week’s 10 minute Manager segment of the Business Authority Dr Nicholas Kelly – Chief Executive Officer of the Natural Medical Center – is read by the PDC as having been asked – the question: “If you had the chance to manage Barbados for a day, what would you do?” And in response is read by us as stating: “I would simply rearrange the whole structure of the economy and government to allow Barbados to prosper. If I only had one day I would use it to abolish duty, personal income tax, and foreign exchange controls. I have been preaching this scenario for the 25 years I have been in business in Barbados! As a “free” economy Barbados would flourish. Foreign investment would flow in, business would pop up all over the place, every one would have a job and the government would collect all the money they need with Value Added Tax”.

Aside from our fundamental differences with him with regard to his support for this evil wicked so-called VAT system, and with regard to his support for backwardistic employment of individuals by other individual, we must however state that Dr Kelly is indeed heading in the right direction as it relates to the question of the tremendous political material and financial take off and development that would come about in Barbados with the creation and sustainment of a post-Taxation society for this country.