154 responses to “Corporate Governance Awry At Caves Of Barbados”

1. This ‘family’ ALL DLP connected has really being doing the ‘dog’

2. Bushie and Onions
    Dont forget the mantra of the dead king…….Families first….then follows the Fatted Calf brigade.
    Reminds me of a similar priority list of succession by the late EWB…after me is Sandy,after Sandy is Philip,after that any number can play.From then on Brandford went into his shellshocked state of dumfounded disbelief.

3. Hadley and Richard are brothers cut from the same cloth.

4. @ David, point well taken: “The problem …rests with the Board and the minister who had oversight.”

The statement by Caswell “..statutory corporations and Government-owned private companies are set up by politicians to be avenues for misappropriation of government money” confirms the rampant corruption.

As you know a bottom-feeder provides nourishment for someone higher up the food chain so the question which none of us can answer with EVIDENCE is who directed this misappropriation and will soon enjoy this monetary nourishment.

Based on the news reported this is certainly within the review of the office of the Ombudsman who can ”… investigate any course of conduct or anything done or omitted by any person in the exercise of administrative functions in respect of any business of the Government, including the administration of any board or department”.

So will a complaint be filed.

Realistically in the small community as is our lovely island home everyone is so connected by family ties, school ties, political ties or whatever, that something of this nature will simply be swept away from public view eventually and no action taken.

Sad but true!

5. @ Dee Word

Hadley Byer as a former Chairman (at the water company) had to be appointed I assume by a Minister.

His brother Richard Byer the lawyer under the same Minister (dealing with the cave) have BOTH GOTTEN AWAY WITH MURDER

6. I now also understand WHY Hadley outside of playing golf every day during the week was mostly camped out at Richard’s office in St. Michael during the DLP first term.

I had no idea such high ‘fleecing’ was going on.

7. Anthony, there was a comment attributed to Byer in the news report, he said allegedly in a letter demanding that his money be paid: “I suppose if I was a lawyer with upper or middle class breeding my fee would have been [paid]. But I am neither,”

In sum, he is suggesting that the white and high-class folks get their graft all time so why is the CEO playing the backside and pissing around with his fee.

This very clear perspective of several of Barbados’ professional class is an absolute guarantee that the ‘high fleecing’ to which you so aptly refer will continue unabated.

Many are people of integrity but too many see it as their chance to cash in after the excesses of others.

Unfortunately that type of rationale plays into this notion that ‘thiefing is good’ because the government corrupt anyhow and I need to ‘get mine’.

Can our country really stand up to an unbiased, no-holds barred investigation of the many scandals like this little one.

I think not. We would be decimated because the sad fact is that many of our current and former top politicians would be indicted for financial malfeasance and likely so too many of their extended families and friends.

8. ” A Nation of Thieves” …..Errol Walton Barrow

9. What is the fee that should have been charged ?

Were any laws broken?

Is this type of work regulated by the Bar Association ?

Can anyone answer the above in less than 20 words?

10. How many hours does it take to review a financial proposal and write a decision? Then what are the hourly rates for this type of work, based on the years of work and expertise of the lawyer?

11. Hants… Asking some pertinent questions, hopefully someone with more evidence can respond.

—What is the fee that should have been charged ?
    An attorney charged $17K for similar review of loan. Mr. Byer charged 39 times more – $660K. Why? (17 words)

—Were any laws broken?
    Possibly. A lack of fiduciary responsible by Board. Such an overcharge should be investigated for possible fraud. (17 words)

—Is this type of work regulated by the Bar Association ?
    Yes.

Their ‘Legal Profession Remuneration …’ suggests fee determination by a gross sum, percentage, commission, retainer or otherwise (presumably other mutual agreement). (20)

On the face of it this screams, “..statutory corporations and Government-owned private companies are set up by politicians to be avenues for misappropriation of government money”

A basic loan agreement. From the CDB (a ‘friendly’ regional quasi governmental organization). CDB attorneys vetted the loan contract. What additional legal work/review/administration would require such a fee?

12. @Dee Word

What are the pertinent questions? Hants has been BU long enough to know how this works. Byer tief the Caves and government. It does not matter that he was able to be unethical in his billing. The buck stops with the minister and government.

On Friday, 21 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

13. @ David, I gotcha.

But, Mr Byer’s actions as condoned by the Minister go a bit beyond unethical. Even lawyers can’t just over-bill under false pretense. That’s illegal. That legal billing variance is also administrative misdeeds. People can be held accountable surely.

I realize that bro Hants was simply playing his ‘agent provacateur’ role and from reading old blog posts I see that he is a longtime blogger here who knows well the dirt that mucks up local gov’t.

14. @Dee Word

We would have to see the time sheet for Byer to critique constructively. But BU is of the certain view steal in there!

15. This has to be the biggest pay day Richard Byer has had as a 2×3 piece-a lawyer.

We the taxpayers are real suckers! They laughing at we!

16. De licks ent done yet.

“Royal Bank of Canada is refocusing its wealth-management arm and cutting jobs as it parts ways with the division’s Caribbean business”

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/royal-bank-to-shake-up-wealth-management-division-job-losses-expected/article21688531/

17. @ Bajanfuhlife | November 20, 2014 at 10:29 PM |

“Prodigal will also admit that the BLP government in which Mottley sat for 14 years was filled with examples of over billing, phantom houses at Urban, hundreds of Millions in cost overuns and many other issues raised consistently by the auditor general.”

Typical response as expected from a DLP yard-fowl. Your party should really try to improve the intelligence and quality of those persons they choose to represent them on BU.

Are you trying to tell us because, in your opinion, the BLP’s “14 years was filled with examples of overbilling”, this makes it right for Richard Byer to overbill Harrison’s Cave?
    Are you saying we, as citizens, voters and tax-payers of Barbados, don’t have the right to comment on Byer’s or any other “shady” transaction that occurred under this DLP administration?
    In other words, you saying “the BLP do it and wunnuh ent say nutten, so if the DLP doing it now, why wunnuh should comment?”

But now after all the financial improprieties that has occurred under this DLP administration so far, [perhaps you stopped reading the Auditor General’s Reports from the 2008-2009 financial years to present] and the fact they have demonstrated they don’t want anything to do with “transparency and accountability” [remember, they were to implement transparency legislation within 100 days of assuming office in 2008, it’s almost 7 years and no legislation], you now want to “insult our intelligence by having us believe that” Denis Lowe, Michael Lashley, David Estwick, Chris Sinckler, Fruendel Stuart, Esther Byer-Suckoo, Patrick Todd, Jepter Ince, et al…… are the DLP’s “answer to raise the standards of transparency in Bim.”

18. Hants | November 21, 2014 at 6:16 PM |

Mr. Hants, why don’t you ever focus on the topic that’s being discussed?

19. Bajanfuhlife | November 20, 2014 at 10:20 PM |

“Now that the Cave is under the Ministry Of Tourism, Irene will ensure that all the facts come out.”

I hope so too as well. The same way they dismissed former CEO Grant, let’s hope she exposes Denis Lowe and Denis Kellman for the roll they played in making sure Byer got his fees, for ignoring Grant’s and former chairman Dottin’s requests for them to intervene in the matter, and that she is instrumental in having them brought before the law courts or asking the PM to dismiss them from the Cabinet.

20. @Artaxerxes,

If you don’t like what I post ask David to ban me.

21. @ David the owner of BU

10 hours and 40 minutes. The real drama begins,

22. 60:40 = LH

23. Artaxerxes | November 21, 2014 at 6:57 PM |
    @ Bajanfuhlife | November 20, 2014 at 10:29 PM |
    Are you trying to tell us because, in your opinion, the BLP’s “14 years was filled with examples of overbilling”, this makes it right for Richard Byer to overbill Harrison’s Cave?

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Absolutely NOT ! however what is missing here in the war of words is the misappropriation of truth, and how its is applied,, therefore to the critical thinker and those of us bog down in facts, it begs one to present both sides of a truth even though the timelines might be different but should be presented at this time

24. @ Hants | November 21, 2014 at 7:15 PM |

“If you don’t like what I post ask David to ban me.”

Wuh skipper chief, the blog ent mine and I ent gine ask David to ban you either. Iffen de blog did mine, I woulda had you ban eva sents.

However, I have taken a better and more mature way of handling this situation, if what you contribute has no relevance to the topic being discussed, I move on to the next post….. simple.

25. The subject of this blog is a group of DLPites under a DLP government who conspired to rob taxpayers of about $500,000.00. This is the issue and not the political party rabble BS which some are only capable..

26. David | November 21, 2014 at 7:45 PM |
    The subject of this blog is a group of DLPites under a DLP government who conspired to rob taxpayers of about $500,000.00. This is the issue and not the political party rabble BS which some are only capable..

COULDN”T HAVE SAID IT BETTER.

What was in the CEO contract that to review that initially was billed at over $30,000?

27. ac | November 21, 2014 at 7:43 PM |

“Absolutely NOT ! however what is missing here in the war of words is the misappropriation of truth, and how its is applied,, therefore to the critical thinker and those of us bog down in facts, it begs one to present both sides of a truth even though the timelines might be different but should be presented at this time..”

That is bare shiite you write there. “The critical thinker and those of us bogged down in facts” would want to know why would you want to present both sides of a truth at this time when the focus is on the DLP.

During the lead up to the 2008 general elections the DLP want the length and breadth of Barbados telling all and sundry the BLP administration “raped the treasury” by cost over-runs, the ministers stole millions that are stashed in foreign bank accounts, financial infelicities at UDC, Dodds prison, Hardwood Housing, etc., and on a daily basis, they talked about the “mess” they [DLP] found on assuming office in 2008.

The critical thinker will ask himself, in view of all these statements and this DLP administration has been in office for almost 7 years, why have they not
    presented any proof or supporting documentation to the public to verify the “mess” and why has not one person accused of these financial improprieties have not been brought before the law courts?
    Instead, you choose to focus on poor people like a former Transport Board employee who went public asking for her severance pay, by presenting, to the public, information from her personal file.

The critical thinker would also say, since we have proof of what, in our opinion as citizens, voters and tax payers of Barbados, are financial infelicities occurring under this administration, [especially against the background of they promising to implement transparency and freedom of information legislation and accountability of ministers within 100 days of assuming office in 2008], let us not have an occurrence of what happened in the past, but investigate these matters and if “steal in there” have the perpetrators brought before the law courts.

What sense does it make telling us that Mottley or someone in the BLP stole, when none uh dem ent get lock-up?

Just like the typical yard-fowl, you choose to bury your head in the sand. It’s time to end the blame game and seek assertive action.

28. Artexeres u choose your thinking from that side of the political fence your are so alligned .However for those on the outside looking in a clear and percise view of”all things”consider including past administrations should be taken into account and not just a spin a to admonish the present while erasing the past

29. @ David wrote, “conspired to rob taxpayers”.

Deja vue ? Same old, same old ?

30. Mr Hants like he forgot which blog he on…LOL.. He always off topic.

31. David | November 21, 2014 at 7:45 PM |

The subject of this blog is a group of DLPites under a DLP government who conspired to rob taxpayers of about $500,000.00. This is the issue and not the political party rabble BS which some are only capable..
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    david u are a real speckled fowl fuh trut dooh..

the heart of the matter undoubtedly is the money
    however i failed to see which part did govt play in handing over the initial payment to byer, as a matter of fact it took almost three years and govt involvement from the stated dated of the first request from byer asking for his money for byer to receive a lesser amount for which he requested,
    the real problem lies in the board of management team who had granted this absorbent amount in the first place, all their asses should have been fired , now it seems like the not me blame game is being used by the players and jac asses involved as the appropriate way of defense .

32. hants is no fool .he likes to play it safe ,afraid to get a good ass whopping,

33. Artaxerxes | November 21, 2014 at 7:00 PM |

Hants | November 21, 2014 at 6:16 PM |

Mr. Hants, why don’t you ever focus on the topic that’s being discussed?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….. because i don’t want nobody squeezing my nuts,, them things can hurt fuh days,

34. Do you know that overpayment to Byer & family could have paid those poor NCC workers who were referred to the Employment Rights Tribunal by the Prime Minister months ago?

35. Agreed

36. David,
    Do you know that the 2 cheques , totalling $ 67,000.00 , Joe ann Grant paid to herself, could have paid the said NCC workers?
    So while she ‘pretended’ to be concern about payment to other persons…..she CROOKEDLY wrote the 2 cheques to herself.
    Presumably upon the advice of David of BU fame.
    Well she has been rightly fired for her tieffing acts.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You seem not to understand the concept of the fatted calf. NCC workers were not meant to participate.

This is how politics work in Barbados: the masses are whipped up into a frenzy by the campaign rhetoric; they vote for the most persuasive party; that party forms the Government, and there ends the usefulness of the masses until the next time.

Giving them money now would not help win the next campaign. You allow them to suffer right up to the next campaign then give them some handouts, which might include a job, and all their pass sufferings are forgotten and forgiven and they vote for the persons dispensing the loot.

You should recall that some of the workers who were laid off from Beautify Barbados and the Drainage Division claimed that they were given jobs to vote for particular candidates. They were laid off shortly thereafter.

38. @Fractured BLP

How does one act negate the other IF true?

Send BU the cheques or shut the hell up.

On Saturday, 22 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

39. I wonder which OTHER Ministries and Statutory corporations Richard Byer also worked (fleeced).

40. @ Artaxerses
    “years, why have they not
    presented any proof or supporting documentation to the public to verify the “mess”

You BLP yardfowl;, take your head out of where the sun does not shine. Sir Stanley Goddard ,former independent Senator went to his grave begging the BLP government to produce financial statements for the Gems project. Even “two mouthed” Clyde Mascoll take a media team down to Eastry house and show them an old derelict buiding on which a couple million was supposed to have been spent. Where did the money go?
    A man who was listed as a contractor told me of how he would go into UDC under the BLP government and put the cash in the directory on the boss man desk while having his conversations. How you going to prosecute a man for putting money in a directory after asking to see the phone book?

Because you do not see anyone charged does not mean that there was not financial impropriety but Mascoll, the lead witness for the prosecution took his 30 pieces of silver and jumped ship to join the tiefing Lynch, Mottley crew.
    Day does run till night catch it – ask one of the men who helped to finance recent BLP campaigns – RODNEY WILKINSON.

41. @Bajanfuhlife November 22, 2014 at 9:49 AM “A man who was listed as a contractor told me of how he would go into UDC under the BLP government and put the cash in the directory on the boss man desk while having his conversations. How you going to prosecute a man for putting money in a directory after asking to see the phone book?”

Install cameras/microphones smaller than the rubber on the top of a pencil and catch the rascals in the act. I have an electronics engineer friend who did extensive worked for Litton when Litton was enjoying big contracts from Uncle Sam. Said Bajan friend can go into the building at 2:00 am. and be outta there by 4 am and would have installed enough invisable equipment to catch the crooks in the act.

But once they are caught. Will we prosecute?

42. Bajanfuhlife November 22, 2014 at 9:49 AM ” ask one of the men who helped to finance recent BLP campaigns – RODNEY WILKINSON.”

So why did the BLP “big wigs” think that a 2-bit accountant could fund their campaigns?

I knew it was tief money. They had to know that too..

43. The fact is the country is at breaking point.

Prosecute ALL whether B or D party, Minister, lawyer, accountant, friend or business associate and recover the hundreds of millions that has been siphoned off.

It will save the poor taxpayers further grief and suffering.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ simple Simon

You said “But once they are caught. Will we prosecute?”

De same Guyanese fellow a fellow compatriot of Pachamama dat you did talking bot pun de udder blog.

Wunna know dat if we was to start locking up de divergent peeple dem dat tekking bribe bobol, teiffing, and de rest uh illegal activity dat only de chilren who ent tek dem 11+ exams we’d be lock up?

Bulbados is very corrupt and by de time dis lot finish wid we we bettah pray dat wid de rampant unemployment dat escalating bout heah we ent descend to Laventille in Trinidad or Jamaica

45. @pieceuhderockyeahright November 22, 2014 at 10:40 AM tekking bribe bobol, teiffing.

You forgot to add that lovely Bajan term prouge.

As in I wanted the 100 cars for my hired car business cleared from customs without delay and with low, low or no no duties so uh give an offcial bout day a “prouge” or she does tek prouges.

Also note the lovely Nigerian term “dash” as in I wanted the 100 cars for my hired car business cleared from customs without delay and with low, low or no no duties so I “dash” an official there.he.

It just occurred to me. You know if we can compile a dictionary of the words in every language and dialect that means bribe we would have a big fat book, which might be a hot seller on Amazon etc.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright November 22, 2014 at 10:40 AM ” dat only de chilren who ent tek dem 11+ exams we’d be lock up?”

You do know don’t you that the psychologists have documented that children practice deception even before their 2nd birthdays. Being dishonest, liard, deceptive, tiefing is ingrained in our DNA. Apparently other primates know how to lie by their actions. So there is no hope for us…except always, always to be on the lookout for dishonesty…and to call out the dishonesty each tiime.

Tell the truth Piece, study ya head and you will find that one or more of those sweet little gran grans, try to pull a fast one or two on de ole man.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Heheheh you know you right Simple Simon but De ole man ent get $500,000 fuh dat sorta purse doah when I did receiving it I did feel like a millionaire

I fine bet you dat by year end Richard dun got dat spend pun de same ting doah

48. What contractor putting money in directory what? Stupse.