154 responses to “Corporate Governance Awry At Caves Of Barbados”

1. @ Enuff
    …more like Swiss Banks….with those levels of “over-runs”…

2. Bushie you got me shame…I never thought that you would fall for the over run argument. Here I was thinking only yardfowls and the illeterati fell for that con by Thompy.

3. @Simple Simon | November 22, 2014 at 10:09 AM |
    Install cameras/microphones………………………….
    But once they are caught. Will we prosecute?..
    …………………………………………………………………….
    What more do we need?. Every five years these suckers are brought before the highest court in the land, The People of Barbados, consisting of a jury of 236,000 persons , made up of eye witnesses, supporters and accomplices and are generally found NOT GUILTY,and given the mandate to carry on smartly.
    Prosecute or execute? The death penalty (the state sponsored one) should be retained ,for these corrupt public officials,and their accomplices, as well as crooked bank and insurance officials like D’Andrade and Leroy Parris, if nothing else. Some of whom may doubly qualify for the noose.
    ……………………………………………………………………

@Prodigal Son | November 21, 2014 at 6:04 PM |
    We the taxpayers are real suckers! They laughing at we!
    …………………………………………………..
    And all the way to the bank.

4. What is this item?

Mother knows best

Talking about songs.

A gospel singer was recently overheard singing Swing Low Sweet Chariot and, when asked what had him in a depressed mood, he loudly proclaimed that he did not intend to allow anyone to trick him, not even those related by blood.

He had mounting legal bills, his ministry was in trouble and things were falling apart. But some of those worries are now all gone.

Speaking like a southern Baptist, he credited his good fortune to a hefty bank account from his mother.

His mother, who was a labourer, had been given this large sum of money by one her sons, whom she would often call “Dennis the Menace” after the popular newspaper cartoon.

The money was apparently given to her for safe keeping.

Knowing that he had grown into a sickly young man, she decided to do the things a mother would do and signed off at the bank as the money being hers. It was safe and sound, until she passed away.

“Dennis the Menace” wanted to get his money. But, low and behold, brothers and sisters started shouting out that they wanted their share of mummy’s earthy achievements. After all, she had worked hard, prayed often and lifted up her voice in praise.

Some even got down on their knees, as they were taught to do, and were overheard asking for spiritual intervention, quoting Abram not to let this be a repeat of an Isaac getting all and they only receiving gifts.

The sweet gospel singing brother of “Dennis the Menace” re-invigorated was last week seen and heard in Fairy Valley, Parish Land and other Christ Church districts singing another old time favourite, His Eye is on The Sparrow.

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59658/fling-fish-cou-cou-licks-peas-east

5. David | November 22, 2014 at 4:23 PM |
    What is this item?
    ………………………………………………..
    Sounds like a lowed of garbage to me.

6. @ Bajanfuhlife | November 22, 2014 at 9:49 AM |

“A man who was listed as a contractor told me of how he would go into UDC under the BLP government and put the cash in the directory on the boss man desk while having his conversations. How you going to prosecute a man for putting money in a directory after asking to see the phone book?”

Typical yard-fowl response again, perhaps you should rename yourself DLPfuhlife.

You are missing the point…. if you and the DLP have all this proof about all the financial improprieties that occurred under the BLP, why not use it to get some of them locked? If the DLP was serious, they would have the Attorney General form a case and subpoena all those who you say are giving you all this information, and have them testify, under oath, in court.

My friend, I was informed by many artisans [and I know it for a fact] that the former chairman of UDC under this present DLP administration, had office space in the corporation and the artisans had to go to him to get contracts for house repairs; essentially, he superseding the power of the director, Derek Alleyne. The former chairman also set up a company under the name of a know DLP supporter [who was charged for fraud and theft], and approved majority of work for the said company.

“Day does run till night catch it – ask one of the men who helped to finance recent BLP campaigns – RODNEY WILKINSON.”

I agree with the above statement…… that means for sure the day for LEROY PARRIS, who helped to finance recent DLP campaigns, IS COMING SOON. “Today for me… tomorrow for you.”

7. ac | November 21, 2014 at 9:11 PM |

“Artexeres u choose your thinking from that side of the political fence your are so alligned .However for those on the outside looking in a clear and percise view of”all things”consider including past administrations should be taken into account and not just a spin a to admonish the present while erasing the past..”

First, let me inform you once again, unlike you, I AM NOT ALIGNED TO ANY POLITICAL PARTY. Secondly, you cannot be considered as one of “those on the outside”, because you NEVER look at any situation, political or otherwise, without a DLP point of view…. everyone one on this BU knows this is the standard you have set in this forum.

Thirdly, where in my contribution have I sought to “erase the past”. All I’m saying to you DLP yard-fowls is this…… stop all the talk and act on all this information you have on the BLP to get some of them before the law courts.

The same way you went to all the trouble to bring information from former Transport Board employee Lisa Marshall’s personal file to BU, in which she was reprimanded for allegedly stealing $403.00 [and you were one of the most vocal DLP supporters who was calling her a thief], the DLP [or they could use Douglas] should also present files in the public domain that proves BLP operatives and politicians stole.

Or is it the DLP prefers to go after poor people?

8. @Boy Blue
    What is this item?
    Yuh gotta keep up to date with local happenings, it is a modern day take on the parable of the talents, they were initially entrusted to one person but eventually distributed to ten.

9. The bottom line is that the public allows itself to be duped by BOTH political parties who make sounds about intending to prosecute corruption but it will never happen because it interrupts the arrangement between Twiddle D and Twiddle B.

On 22 November 2014 at 23:59, Barbados Underground wrote:

10. for the life of me, i am finding it more difficult to really understand why black, nigga men who have ‘attorney-at-law’ attached to their careers feel comfortable robbing their own. do they sleep at night? He is a broad face old thief and at some point in time, he will pay. how could he charge that amount for legal fees? he could cry ’til the cows come home, i would not have given him that amount. he would be treated like Barrack, who i suspect will NEVER get the amount he won and that lady who owns kensington and half of bridgetown..delay and delay and still he would not get a cent from me. no wonder he aligned himself with the DLP…what a pathetic monkey in suit, piece of defecation …Barbados is one island where u are certain that many white collar jobs are had by bands of thieves

11. Smooth Chocolate | November 23, 2014 at 12:01 AM |

for the life of me, i am finding it more difficult to really understand why black, nigga men who have ‘attorney-at-law’ attached to their careers feel comfortable robbing their own. do they sleep at night?
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

first of all i find your above reference to people of color as niggas, as racist , having said that,,,there is an underlying truth that is being obscured , that being that the board of management CEO and and whilstle blowers included made a decision prior to given the job to the lawyer ,they all must have known his cost upon agreement,

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC (the sensible one)

Perspectives on Smooth Chocolate’s “Nigga” term

If a hunkie or cracker during any conversation calls me a nigga well then IT IS ON

If a non black, not a whitey, during a conversation calls me a nigga the, depending on the context, IT MAY BE ON

If a black man calls me a Nigga and he is a friend, and it is said in an amicable way, the word passes without incident. If it is said with acidity, IT IS ON, BUT NOT WITH THE SAME DEGREE OF INTENSITY LIKE SCENARIO ONE AND TWO ABOVE

IF I CALL A BLACK MAN A NIGGA he may be (1) a negrocrat as per OSA (2) my nigga friend an standup guy and (3) THE ONE OF US THAT THEY EXPECTED TO FAIL AND HAS NOT FAILED AND HOLDS HIS/HER HEAD UP HIGH.

It is a black thing and if you ain’t black you won’t get it

I liken it to period pains or blue balls for a man or a woman, respectively, you can NEVER experience them by proxy

13. in the context ,as to how the word is used or express, PDYR i reference your earlier post on another thread where u used the terminology to engaged the reader with the perspective that OBama was being (used) by and looked down (upon) by certain groups organizations in being classified as a nigga,, understood!, no problem with your artistic wording to make a point,

14. ac | November 23, 2014 at 6:46 AM |

“…….having said that,,,there is an underlying truth that is being obscured , that being that the board of management CEO and and whilstle blowers included made a decision prior to given the job to the lawyer ,they all must have known his cost upon agreement..”

Utter rubbish!!!!!

In your usual effort to protect the DLP, you are trying to “spin” this issue in such a manner to apportion blame to the board of management and CEO of CBL.
    However, the facts, as revealed, do not absolve Denis Lowe and, for some period of time, Dennis Kellman, from any responsibility for what occurred, or from their duty as minister and acting minister respectively, to resolve the matter.

The significant points you choose to ignore are:

1) Byer was CBL’s lawyer [retainer], and in keeping with protocol, he was either chosen by the minister to fulfill this role. Otherwise, if he was chosen by the board, his appointment had to be ratified by the minister.
    2) As CBL’s lawyer, there would be no need to negotiate fees in the same manner as if CBL sent out tenders for legal services specifying the scope of work and asking lawyers to submit bids, or if CBL hired a lawyer to perform a specific task and ask him for a quotation.
    Hence, if asked to perform legal duties, Byer would undertake his assignment and submit an invoice after. As such, the CEO and board would not have been aware of Byer’s fees until he submitted his invoice.
    3) Then chairman, Dottin, wrote to minister Lowe on March 3, 2010, expressing concern about the fee Byer charged. Lowe refused to intervene in the matter.
    4) In April 2011, then CEO Grant raised the matter with acting minister Kellman and he did not address the matter either.
    5) A resolution to the matter came when then chairman Broomes negotiated with Byer for a reduction in fees, with minister being informed after the fact.
    6) Minster Lowe also refused to intervene and reprimand Byer for disrespecting CEO Grant.

Lowe has to take the blame and full responsibilty for this fiasco since he failed to intervene to save CBL a payment of $500,000.
    However, in an otherwise attempt to save his ministry money, he was quick to sign off on the retrenchment of workers from the Drainage Unit, who were unceremoniously sent packing, without notice, on December 31, 2013. As I mentioned in a previous post…. seems as though the DLP likes to target poor people.

This matter is another instance where it has been proven Lowe is a weak minister and calls for him to go are justified.
    Essentially, AC, there isn’t anything you can say to change the facts and in attempting to do so is indicative of one who lacks intelligence and is willing to sacrifice their integrity for the sake of a political party.

What you have going for you is the face anonymity has saved you from facing embarrassment.

15. “A specially commissioned study, A Strategic Review of Caves of Barbados Limited, done by Dr Justin Robinson and Dr Akhentoolove Corbin of the University of the West Indies Cave Hill campus in 2010, forecast that CBL could, with implementation of key recommendations particularly on marketing, start being profitable from 2016. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59708/cave-holes#sthash.Oa25Jvfz.dpuf

16. @ Artexeres

Since you were are one of the Board or managers at CBL and were privy to all private and relevant information as to who approved or disapproved ac bow to your expertise,,

17. After the spin the issue remains: how is it possible for the Caves management i.e. Chairman and minister to pay a low feeder lawyer $500,000 for an opinion on a loan agreement.

18. @ David
    “….how is it possible for the Caves management i.e. Chairman and minister to pay a low feeder lawyer $500,000 for an opinion on a loan agreement.?”
    +++++++++++++++
    Why do you like to complicate everything Boss? 🙂
    …because we are dealing with a bunch of crooks who have the keys to the treasury of an island of brass bowls….

Apply that analogy and see if it don’t all make sense….

19. While some debate if it is BLP and DLP problem, bear in mind we have a situation here where some justify the payment but cant do similarly for Barrack whose was supported by a court order.

20. Truth is that that whole Caves shiite was flawed from the very beginning.

We have the ability to take a perfectly good idea and to apply political thievery and fatted calf mentality to concert that good idea into disaster…

On what basis was it decided to spend tens of millions of dollars on this cave? shiite man….. how much is a fella willing to pay to spend an hour in a hole?
    Careful analysis will likely show that this was done for the same reason that the Waterworks building at Wildey has been built…. because a way was needed to pass money to some particular body….
    Pity that that ‘body’ don’t deal with leaking pipes….we may have got some useful work done.

When yuh start wrong, you haffa end wrong.

….and did someone say that Justin Robinson did some “study” of the cave back in 2010? …. Him again?
    …What is the opposite to the “Midas Touch”?

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

Can one say the opposite of “Midas Touch” is “Medusa Look” ?

But Bust Tea I would ask you in your wisdom to answer this question

From the perspective of King Midas’ daughter who is said to have been called Marigold, was the touch, given how she when transformed, was lifeless, of any value to Marigold?

In brief can valued gold really have an opposite of valueless stone when in both states one is lifeless?

What is this life if full of care we have no time to stand and stare…..

22. @ ac | November 23, 2014 at 10:18 AM |

“@ Artexeres: Since you were are one of the Board or managers at CBL and were privy to all private and relevant information as to who approved or disapproved ac bow to your expertise,,”

Thank you for acknowledging my expertise. I’m sure you have noticed, whereas you are an expert in every single topic that comes to BU for comment [there is no topic you don’t ever comment on], I chose to respond to issues I have knowledge of and expertise in. And I apply my common sense as well [an attribute that seemed to have eluded you].

I worked as an assistant accountant for a statutory corporation and in the absence of the accountant, I had to present and explain monthly financial statements at board meetings. This has provided me with more than enough of the requisite knowledge of how quasi government departments operate.

Both BLP and DLP use these organisations to provide jobs, services and largess for constituents in the hope of receiving their votes at election time.

23. Artaxerxes | November 23, 2014 at 11:50 PM |

Both BLP and DLP use these organisations to provide jobs, services and largess for constituents in the hope of receiving their votes at election time.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

But yet it took you these many years to pounce only when time and circumstance fits your purpose you recoiled and see an injustice,,You have admitted that you have seen these deficiencies under the past govt (BLP) but kept quiet ,,however,,however under present govt,, you now have a presence of mind and have dusted off your accountant log as a reminder to ac that you have seen this all before ,, Disgusting ,,

24. Who has been elected to govern Barbados for the last seven years and why? Ignorance knows no bounds.

25. we all know who has been governing Barbados ,,however not to confuse or orchestrate one own agendas ,one must be mindful of the fact that the operatives on the BLP camp has no moral authority to do finger pointing when in fact they sat tight lipped while cognizant and in contact with deficiencies and illegalities under the BLP,,Sickening.

26. Oh shut up for crying out loud AC…
    …the damn DLP were elected on the DEFINITE and SPECIFIC promise of ending the lotta thieving…. within 100 days was it not…?
    The BLP were voted OUT (and not re-elected last time) because they were CLEARLY a bunch of thieves …and then they came back with the same damn crooks…
    Bajans gave the DLP another chance under Fumble because the first DLP trickster spent most of his time as PM being sick….

The REAL question here for the DLP is one of not only thieving, but of bold faced deceitfulness….
    Bushie can understand you …cause you are anonymous (…well to most people 🙂 ) but how the hell does Freundel and his gang of crooked deceivers manage to stand in front of people and give speeches?…..or to sleep at night?
    steupssss….

27. @ ac | November 24, 2014 at 6:52 AM |

“But yet it took you these many years to pounce only when time and circumstance fits your purpose you recoiled and see an injustice,,You have admitted that you have seen these deficiencies under the past govt (BLP) but kept quiet ,,however,,however under present govt,, you now have a presence of mind and have dusted off your accountant log as a reminder to ac that you have seen this all before ,, Disgusting ,,”

Your response as outlined above, reinforces the reason why I promised to not to respond to any of your post. I suspect if David were to ever close BU, you would certainly go insane, because you seem not to have anything constructive to do with your time, other than frequent BU with your usual party political rhetorical diatribe. You must be awarded as BU’s most frequent contributor [of shiite] to EVERY topic, even though, as proven by your posts, you have ABSOLUTELY NO KNOWLEDGE OF THE TOPIC. Disgusting…….

You are not even a good “spin doctor”, as your lack of intelligence caused your attempt to spin my post to suggest I admitted having “seen these deficiencies under the past govt (BLP) but kept quiet”, has failed miserably.
    It’s ironic you accusing me of “KEEPING QUIET”, yet you refuse to acknowledge the DLP forms the government for the past 6 years and 9 months and has to be accountable to the people of Barbados for the lies; sleeping “beauty” as a prime minister; mismanagement of the economy, which has led to numerous downgrades and a lack of confidence in Barbados by investors; preferring to retrench public sector employees rather than trim what has been described as the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados [during the recession, which is mentioned only when convenient]; all the financial improprieties presently occurring; an increase in the number of taxes and so many other issues affecting the people of this island.

Now, what can be more “DISGUSTING”……. with all that’s been happening in Barbados under this DLP administration, you have chosen to REMAINED SILENT.

28. @ Bushie

” There shall be no lay offs”….said a Fumble that night in the NCF car park to an uproar of idiots like ac……”There also will be no PRIVATIZATION”….yeahhhh!!!! was D uproar, at the Sleeping GIANT continued to please the crowd …at that last meeting before elections.

Now it is a different scenario….Blackbird Soup for some…caviar and champagne for others….IMPEACH DEM ALL !

29. @Bush Tea
    On what basis was it decided to spend tens of millions of dollars on this cave? shiite man….. how much is a fella willing to pay to spend an hour in a hole?
    ++++++++++++
    You claim to be a man of the world and ask such a stupid question, would you like to rephrase it? It’s about 10 minutes and the answer is an entire fortune.

About the cave, I went once when my kids were young on my return visit they said you can’t go in because you have a camera so I didn’t go but bought a crappy video from the kiosk, haven’t been back since. It is a unique feature and properly managed it should be an asset but the tourism tide is not rising and the boat is stalled in the water.

30. AC wrote: ac | November 23, 2014 at 10:18 AM |

“@ Artexeres: Since you were are one of the Board or managers at CBL and were privy to all private and relevant information as to who approved or disapproved ac bow to your expertise,,”

This was my response to the above post:

Artaxerxes | November 23, 2014 at 11:50 PM |
    “Thank you for acknowledging my expertise. I’m sure you have noticed, whereas you are an expert in every single topic that comes to BU for comment [there is no topic you don’t ever comment on], I chose to respond to issues I have knowledge of and expertise in. And I apply my common sense as well [an attribute that seemed to have eluded you].”
    “I worked as an assistant accountant for a statutory corporation and in the absence of the accountant, I had to present and explain monthly financial statements at board meetings. This has provided me with more than enough of the requisite knowledge of how quasi government departments operate.”

Please tell me, where in my response to AC’s comments did I admit having “seen these deficiencies under the past govt (BLP) but kept quiet”?

31. @ Sargeant
    “….It’s about 10 minutes and the answer is an entire fortune.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Touché …yuh got Bushie there

32. @ ac | November 24, 2014 at 7:25 AM |

“…..one must be mindful of the fact that the operatives on the BLP camp has no moral authority to do finger pointing when in fact they sat tight lipped while cognizant and in contact with deficiencies and illegalities under the BLP,,Sickening”

Wuh shiite, that statement sound as though it came from Irene’s hymn book.

Okay……. “one must be mindful of the fact that the operatives on the BLP camp has no moral authority to do finger pointing when in fact they sat tight lipped while cognizant and in contact with deficiencies and illegalities under the BLP……”

Now pray tell me, you have CHOSEN TO REMAIN SILENT on the $766,000.00 issue at CBL, while absolving blame from the two DLP THIEVES, Richard Byer and Denis Lowe and apportioning blame to former CBL CEO Joe-anne Grant, what gives you the “moral authority to do finger pointing” as well?

Perhaps it would be best if all you ACs [Irene and Donville too] took a sabbatical from BU, refocus and return with more coherent and sensible comments to the issues. As it presently stands, you are not representing the DLP very well in this forum, and your posts are reflective of the mismanagement of Barbados.

33. Bushie a good long winded speech coming from a bon a fide hypocrite.

34. Is it not refreshing sometime to debate issues? Some of you have become like an old horn.

35. @ Bush Tea | November 24, 2014 at 7:48 AM |

“……but how the hell does Freundel and his gang of crooked deceivers manage to stand in front of people and give speeches?…..or to sleep at night? steupssss….”

Bushie, you is a man dat I does credit wiff nuff intelligence and understanding. You were going along quite well in your comments, until you wrote the above.

How can you ask if Froon does manage to sleep at night, when um is obvious de man sleeping during the day [and on the job too], so, he don’t be sleepy at night.

36. Old horn!ole shoe! it seems that when issues of this nature is brought to table,a distinct line of political grandstanding is drawn in the sand with a intent to hold back ,pushback,and deny forcing those of differing opinions to withdraw when all that matters is truth how and where it leads.
    If one brings attention to oneself through admittance of seeing wrongs and say nothing until political expedient one should be condem as their credibilty becomes questionable

37. Ignorance has no bounds.

38. @ ac
    Do you read what you write on
    Bu as always you are not coherent, you comments are not sensible and yet you try to make the DLP what its not, are
    you one of the MPs wife/ outside woman who have arisen from poor in 2008 with the help of the blood money from policy holders and now
    the taxpayers , be mindful if
    you can , you are a disgusting sick minded what ever you are
    overly INSANE

39. @ David | November 24, 2014 at 10:26 AM |

I agree with you whole-heartedly and 100%, David, Ignorance definitely has no bounds.

40. @ Artax
    shiite man … Bushie going back to bed… 🙂
    First Sargeant catch the bush man off guard and in a deep hole…. now you drive another bushie yorker to the boundary …and with a lotta flourish too…

Clearly this in NOT Bushie’s day…..

Thank God there is always ac around to make everyone else feel smart…

41. @arterexes
    of course u agree with David as the ole addage say birds of a feather.just take notice how the same David resuces the hypocritcle demagoue Bush Tea

42. @ Bush Tea | November 24, 2014 at 11:23 AM |

Hahahahaha….. don’t worry Bushie, many of us experience an “off day” occasionally.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

“Thank God there is always ac around to make everyone else feel smart…”

Wait, Bushie, you forget ‘bout Dompey, Life Changer ++ and de “Left Brain” fella that does be pun Brass Tacks?

43. @arterexes

see u have rightfully removed your presence from the table of “moral debate”having so effortlessly exposed yourself as a witness to past discretions and deficiencies by those with whom you are highly supporative but rather choose a path to hid or “cover up”
    Anyway when time permits and in the event u should so wish to engaged make sure your plate is squeaky clean and no left over dirt or grim is visible to fall on the table ..hav a nice day

44. @ ac | November 24, 2014 at 1:48 PM |

“@arterexes: see u have rightfully removed your presence from the table of “moral debate”having so effortlessly exposed yourself as a witness to past discretions and deficiencies by those with whom you are highly supporative but rather choose a path to hid or “cover up..”

Jackass, whether this AC be Irene Sandiford-Garner or any other DLP shiite hound, CAN YOU POINT OUT TO ME WHERE IN ANY OF MY POST I ADMITTED BEING “A WITNESS TO PAST DISCRETIONS AND DEFICIENCIES BY THOSE WITH WHOM I AM HIGHLY SUPPORTIVE BUT RATHER CHOOSE A PATH TO HID OR “COVER UP..”?

But if you feel strongly about your baseless accusation, then I must tell you, if in your opinion I have chosen to “cover up” past [in] discretions and deficiencies, it seems as though you are doing an equally terrific job of choosing to hide or cover up the deficiencies by those with whom you are highly supportive.

You have sought to blame former CBL chairman and former CBL CEO for Richard Byer charging that organisation $766,000 for a legal opinion, when a similar transaction was done for $19,550 [$17,000 + VAT], while trying to absolve crooked Denis Lowe of any responsibility.

Your integrity always comes into question each time you contribute to BU.

45. @ ac | November 24, 2014 at 1:48 PM |

“@arterexes: see u have rightfully removed your presence from the table of “moral debate”having so effortlessly exposed yourself as a witness to past discretions and deficiencies by those with whom you are highly supporative but rather choose a path to hid or “cover up..”

You want to talk about morality, and being a witness to past indiscretions and deficiencies? Okay, let me reveal some.

I worked at a statutory corporation from 1986, where I applied, was interviewed and given the job. Shortly after my appointment, the DLP was elected and on assuming office, they automatically thought everyone one employed there were members of the BLP. With this in mind, the newly appointed chairman, under direction of the minister, went on a rampage of firing people, changing the job description and hiring person belonging to the minister’s constituency…. even those who were not qualified for the job.
    The DLP lackies were given higher salaries for performing jobs similar to those individuals who were there before them.
    Rules were broken [and APPROVED BY THE MINISTER] to accommodate the newly appointed DLPs [there were instances where non-travelling or desk bound officers had the luxury of being paid a fixed monthly travel allowance and access to the car loan fund]. Only DLPs were chosen for courses at the government Training Division or abroad.
    Office stationery and other supplies OR materials were bought only from businesses that supported the DLP, while maintenance of property was undertaken by DLP operatives [sharing the fatted calf].

46. @ ac | November 24, 2014 at 1:48 PM |

Since you want to bring up past indiscretions, let me reveal some more about occurred under your precious DLP administration after the 1986 elections. I was reliably informed about some of following “indiscretions” that occurred at the NAB:

1) A former NAB secretary was dismissed [for insubordination] after questioning why she should type a report for the Task Force on the Youth, when the only thing it had in common with NAB was the chairman of both was the same person. She received no help from NUPW. [Joseph Goddard and Dennis Clarke are known DLP supporters].
    2) Those persons employed after the 1986 elections were appointed to the board, and such appointments were made retroactive so they could be repaid the overpayment of NIS. The other employees sought the NUPW assistance to no avail.
    3) A board member [who is now director of a similar organisation] was paid $100 per meeting while at the time studying at UWI, sometimes earning as much as $1,400 per month. A goodly reverend [also known as “Tenant Hog”] witnessed and was privy to these indiscretions. But I guess him writing about God in the Nation makes him more moral than me.
    4) House repairs and assistance was given to ONLY those individuals who lived in DLP held constituencies.
    5) All artisans were hired from DLP held constituencies.
    6) All goods and services were provided by DLP supporters.

I will deal with another board next.

47. Why the rush to pay Byer but the sloth with Barrack and others.

48. Artaxerxes | November 24, 2014 at 2:44 PM |

Jackass, whether this AC be Irene Sandiford-Garner or any other DLP shiite hound, CAN YOU POINT OUT TO ME WHERE IN ANY OF MY POST I ADMITTED BEING “A WITNESS TO PAST DISCRETIONS AND DEFICIENCIES BY THOSE WITH WHOM I AM HIGHLY SUPPORTIVE BUT RATHER CHOOSE A PATH TO HID OR “COVER UP..”?

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Artaxerxes | November 23, 2014 at 10.18 am|
    I worked as an assistant accountant for a statutory corporation and in the absence of the accountant, I had to present and explain monthly financial statements at board meetings. This has provided me with more than enough of the requisite knowledge of how quasi government departments operate.

Your words not mine,,,, ,there are “those” who advocate themselves as champions of “the truth” but “a truth” which only themselves are familiar with /while castigating and demeaning those who dare disagree ,
    Your account of what you know and what you dare say can be conflicted especially when truth gets in the way,, Your above comments speaks clearly to that mindset.

49. @ ac
    The truth is the PM and his Ministers never had the knowledge before 2008 to run a rum shop , the stolen money from clico policy holders to buy people like you pave the way for the state Barbados is at , a lot of crying to God for help with and for this DLP
    Government have gone up
    your loyalty to the DLP have gone so deep in your mindset it conflicts with the very food you eat to stay alive , therefore you have a problem with shit/ piss so you must take dumps ac the B in BU is not the bucket in your backyard , stop dumping on BU, you are
    making people sick

50. @ ac | November 24, 2014 at 7:01 PM |

You have once again failed in your effort in trying to juxtapose TWO COMPLETELY DIFFERENT STATEMENTS THAT REFERRED TO TWO DIFFERENT RESPONSES. There is absolutely no correlation between the two statements.
    This is expected of a political novice who wants to score cheap political points by trying to take the focus away from two dishonest DLPs, Richard Byer and Denis Lowe. But if this is as far as your intelligence takes you and makes the day for a shiite bucket like……. so be it.

However, I need to remind you this post, “Corporate Governance Awry at Caves of Barbados” is not about me. It’s about all the financial infelicities occurring under the portfolio of Denis Lowe and specifically Caves of Barbados Limited.
    Therefore, questioning my integrity or on what issues I chose to remain silent [perhaps I’ve taken a leaf out of the PM Freundel Stuart’s book] is not important.

Moreover, since you are advocating yourself as a champion of truth, it would serve you better to go amongst your DLP comrades and seek the truth pertaining to this matter of Richard Byer charging CBL $766,000 for rendering legal opinion services and why Denis Lowe, as minister responsible, did not questioned the authenticity of this transaction, even when the matter was brought to his attention and against the background of similar services were provided for $17,000 + VAT. This is what you need to deal with.

But as you stated….. there are “those” who advocate themselves as champions of “the truth” but “a truth” which only themselves are familiar with /while castigating and demeaning those who dare disagree [and there is no one more guilty of this than you…….. I refer you to the post on ex Transport Board employee Lisa Marshall…… you were the only respondent that chose to assassinate the lady’s character calling her a thief]. Your account of what you know and what you dare say can be conflicted especially when truth gets in the way [proven by the fact you prefer to question my integrity than the dishonest motives of Byer and Lowe, and your refusal to admit to any impropriety committed by your precious DLP administration.

Evidently, ALL your comments on BU speak clearly to that mindset.

No wonder Barbados is in the state its in…..if you are what the DLP pays to represent them on BU. The truth I dare say is the DEMS should hire someone with a bit more intelligence.